Spanish Grammar Review
Spanish Grammar Review
Molly Martin, MD
Interactive audio lessons reviewing advanced Spanish grammar.
Adjectives Before Nouns in Spanish
Quick Navigation Inherent CharacteristicSubjective, OpinionFollowing the exclamation “QUÉ”Quantity Hola! Me alegra mucho estar de vuelta. I am very happy to be back podcasting about Spanish grammar! My last grammar podcasts were in June, when we covered Spanish verbs with prepositions. In this lesson, we are going to learn why the adjective sometimes goes before the noun in Spanish.Where have I been all summer?I also host the Medical Spanish Podcast and with the help of my Spanish teacher from the San Pedro Spanish School, Elizabeth Cortez and my friend and interpreter, Sonja Um-Siri, I have been busy making audio lessons that cover Spanish for prenatal care. We cover a lot of grammar in the medical Spanish lessons and they are made to help us communicate with our patients. Therefore, even non-medical providers understand them and find them useful for learning conversational Spanish.What motivated me to start podcasting about Spanish grammar again?I just took part in an incredible course called Deliberate Spanish offered by a guy named Nacho from Spain. He also has a  fantastic YouTube channel: NachoTime Spanish.  As the name implies, the Deliberate Spanish course taught me to be more deliberate when I practice Spanish. For example, instead of just watching Casa de Flores, I often make it into a study session. When I hear a new word or phrase, I write it down to study later.  Then I organize what I learn into mi cuaderno de dudas, and mi cuaderno de dudas has now become the inspiration for the Spanish Grammar Podcast!Why does the adjective sometimes go before the noun?2:25Now let’s talk about adjectives and the where and why of adjective placement. When you are first learning Spanish, you learn that the you must place the adjective after the noun. However, as you advance in your Spanish-speaking ability, you start to notice that the adjective often goes before the noun.  You may even find yourself instinctively placing an adjective before a noun, but when you stop to wonder why, you can’t say. Well, in this lesson, we are going to learn why the adjective sometimes goes before the noun through interactive examples. I hope you find it helpful. Onward!Inherent Characteristic3:03Usually adjectives follow the nouns they describe, but when an adjective describes an inherent or assumed quality it is usually placed before the noun.The city is covered in WHITE snow.La ciudad está cubierta de BLANCA nieve.OJO: Note the use of the preposition DE in this phrase: “cubierta de nieve.”I want to see the TALL building of New York.Quiero ver los ALTOS edificios de Nueva York.Be careful in the STRONG mountain winds.Ten cuidado con el FUERTE viento de las montañas.OJO: Note the use of the preposition CON in this phrase: “ten cuidado con….”We must take advantage of this PRECIOUS life.Hay que aprovechar esta PRECIOSA vida.OJO: Note the absence a preposition after APROVECHAR: “aprovechar esta vida”In all the above examples, the adjective adds unnecessary information. O sea… If you omit the adjective,
Oct 4, 2019
10 min
Spanish Verbs with Prepositions
Welcome to another lesson covering Spanish Verbs. In this Spanish grammar audio lesson, we practice using common Spanish verbs with prepositions. As with all my audio lessons, I invite you to speak Spanish with me.  This lesson will focus on verbs with prepositions, followed by the infinitive of another verb.  For example, Verbo + Preposición + Infinitivo Trato + de + hablar. Table of Contents * 1:24 Verbo + A * 3:40 Verbo + CON * 4:59 Verbo + DE * 6:35 Verbo + EN In this free audio lesson, we practice many of the verbs below. In the premium lesson: VB04 Spanish Verbs with Prepositions, we practice all the verbs below and the full transcript is included in the show notes.  Verbo + A 1:24 ACOSTUMBRARSE A ENSEÑAR A, APRENDER A (To teach / learn) ATREVERSE A AYUDAR A EMPEZAR A, COMENZAR A, ECHARSE A, PONERSE A (To begin) DISPONERSE A. DECIDIRSE A INVITAR A OBLIGAR A NEGARSE A RESOLVERSE A LIMITARSE A VOLVER A Verbo + CON 3:40 AMENAZAR CON CONTAR CON SOÑAR CON CONTENTARSE CON Verbo + DE 4:59 ACABAR DE ACORDARSE DE, OLVIDARSE DE ARREPENTIRSE DE CANSARSE DE DEJAR DE, PARAR DE (To stop doing something) ENCARGARSE DE, OCUPARSE DE (To take charge of something) TRATAR DE OJO: TRATAR DE is also used to say “to be about.” Learn the difference between TRATAR DE y TRATARSE DE and why it is probably wrong to say, “El libro se trata de su vida,” at least according to strict grammarians. 😉 Verbo + EN 6:35 DUDAR EN CONSENTIR EN, CONVENIR EN, QUEDAR EN (To agree to do something) EMPEÑARSE EN INSISTIR EN ESFORZARSE EN TARDAR EN Rellenemos los Huecos This audio quiz is part of the premium lesson: VB04 Spanish Verbs with Prepositions. I read a short story about our cat Schnookies.  As I read, I leave pauses for you to fill in the blanks with the correct preposition.  Nuestro gato siempre insiste __ salir. Se niega __ quedarse en casa más de cuatro horas por vez. Y si tardamos __ llegar a la puerta para dejarlo salir, se pone __ llorar. ¿Y por qué se empeña __ salir? Porque sueña __ cazar conejitos y pajaritos. Justo después de salir por la puerta se echa __ correr al bosque para cazar. Mi marido, a quien le encantan los pajaritos, se cansa __ ver a nuestro gato cazándolos. Por eso, se esfuerza __ enseñar a nuestro Schnookies __ no cazar los pajaritos. Cuando ve a Schnookies persiguiendo a un pajarito, comienza __ gritar, “¡No! ¡No!” Y amenaza  __ mojarlo con un balde de agua. ¿Qué opinas? ¿Schnookies va a dejar __ cazar pajaritos? ¡Lo dudo mucho!; Schnookies es muy listo pero es un gato, No puedes entrenar a un gato. ¡Gradias por Escuchar! If you have any questions about this lesson, please leave a comment below.
Jun 6, 2019
7 min
How People Are Named in Guatemala (from Medical Spanish Podcast)
This episode is a rerun from my Medical Spanish Podcast. If you have already heard it there, I do have more to come for the Spanish Grammar Podcast. I will be back within the week to cover common verbs followed by prepositions. Ever wonder why people from Spanish-speaking countries have long names? Today’s episode is an off-the-cuff interview with my teacher at the San Pedro Spanish School, Jesus Elizabeth Cortez Cox. She tells us how people are named in Guatemala. I hope you enjoy! Elizabeth and I studying at the San Pedro Spanish School. Table of Contents * Introducción a la Entrevista 2:21 * Su nombre completo 2:55 * ¿De dónde viene cada nombre en tu nombre completo? 3:03 * El segundo nombre 3:51 * Los dos apellidos 5:53 * Machismo tras los nombres 7:33 * Origen de cada nombre 8:39 * Conclusión 9:13 * Upcoming Audio Lessons 9:34 Entrevista Molly 2:55 OK. Tu nombre. Yo quiero escuchar tu nombre completo. Eliza   Bien. Me llamo Jesús Elizabeth Cortez Cox. Molly     3:03 ¿Y nos podrías explicar de dónde viene cada nombre en tu nombre completo? Eliza Perfecto. Generalmente nosotros siempre pienso que vamos a estar hablando con respecto a las costumbres, a las tradiciones. Aquí específicamente una de las costumbres es que cuando en una familia nace un bebé, sea niño o una niña. Por lo general, lleva el primer nombre tiene que ser el nombre del abuelo de este bebé. En mi caso, por ser niña, mi primer nombre es el nombre de mi abuela, la madre de mí, de mi padre. 3:51 Y el segundo, pues, fue la elección de ellos. Y esto es algo muy común para nosotros. Siempre es eso y ya llevamos muchos años. Y quizás por esa misma razón, en nuestra comunidad, hay muchas personas que llevan el mismo nombre. Tenemos muchas Marías, muchas personas que se llaman Juana, Juan, José, Pedro, porque se van repitiendo. En las familias, por ejemplo en mi familia habemos 5….6 personas con mi primer nombre. Entonces, para hacer la diferencia se nos da el segundo nombre. Tengo primas que se llaman Jesús, Elvira Jesús, Leyda Jesús, Zulmy Jesús…. todas estas llevan Jesús en su nombre. Molly Jesus el nombre de tu abuelo…. Oh, de tu abuela? Eliza Es el nombre de mi abuela. Um hm, de mi abuela. Entonces esto es muy común en estos lugares. 5:04 O también otra de las costumbres y quizás esto es más religioso, porque a veces se le da el nombre al bebé que nace dependiendo del día que nace. Si hay una fiesta… Entonces, por ejemplo, hoy estamos en día 25 de abril es la fiesta de San Marcos. Entonces, si un niño nace en esta fecha o hoy, estas personas le dan el nombre de Marcos, como para recordar el día que el niño… o el día de su santo. Entonces, esas son algunas de las tradiciones, de las costumbres con referencia al nombre. Molly 5:53 ¿Y los dos apellidos de dónde vienen? Eliza Bien, los dos apellidos. El primer apellido es de mi padre y el segundo apellido es de mi made. Y el segundo apellido se va perdiendo con el tiempo. ¿Cómo? Al momento de que la mujer se casa, se le otorga el apellido del esposo. Entonces, de esta manera se va perdiendo el segundo apellido, y generalmente el de la madre. Pero siempre contamos con dos apellidos. Molly 6:28 Y cuando tú me dijiste tu nombre completo…. ya no, ya no sale el nombre de tu madre. Eliza
May 17, 2019
10 min
The Spanish Verbs Traer and Llevar
Quick Navigation Sample DialogueDirection Implied with Llevar and TraerSituation 1 – Bring Your Books to ClassSituation 2 – I Brought the Dog to the VetSituation 3 – Bring Me the ReportThe Reflexive Verb LLEVARSEConjugate the Irregular Verb TRAERWant to learn more?Member?Leave a comment! Share0 Tweet0 Share0 Pin0 Kate TownsendIn this audio lesson, we practice when to use the Spanish verbs TRAER and LLEVAR.  TRAER is used to say “to bring” and LLEVAR is used to say “to bring” or “to take.” Unlike their English counterparts, the Spanish verbs TRAER and LLEVAR imply a certain direction of movement. This can be a bit confusing for non-native Spanish speakers. Pero no pasa nada. After listening to this audio Spanish lesson packed with examples, you’ll know exactly when to use TRAER and when to use LLEVAR.But wait! There’s more! After we pin down when to use TRAER vs LLEVAR, we’ll focus on the reflexive verb LLEVARSE and then practice conjugating the irregular verb TRAER in the present and preterite tenses.Sample Dialogue0:55 Skip to the Sample DialogueMolly (M) está en la sala de estar y Aaron (A) está en la cocina.M: ¿Me traes una cerveza?A: Cómo no. Te la llevo.(Aaron va a la sala de estar y ahora está con Molly en la sala de estar.)A: Aquí tiene. ¿Te traigo algo más?M: Gracias mi amor. ¿Me traes un sandwich?(Aaron regresa a la cocina.)A: Te lo llevo enseguida.Direction Implied with Llevar and Traer2:27 Skip to ExplanationLLEVARLlevar is used when you are taking something from your current location to another location. Llevar often translates as “to take” in English.If I’m in the cocina and my husband is in the sala de estar, how would I say, “I’ll bring it to you”?Te lo llevo.TRAERTraer is used when you are bringing something to your current location. Traer usually translates as “to bring” in English.If I’m in the living room with my husband, how would I say, “I’ll bring it to your”?Te lo traigo.Situation 1 – Bring Your Books to Class3:48 Skip to Situation 1(En clase)Profesora: Por favor, traigan sus libros a clase mañana.(En casa)Estudiante: Llevo mi libro a clase hoy.Situation 2 – I Brought the Dog to the Vet4:28 Skip to Situation 2A husband is talking to his wife. They are both at home.Llevé al perro al veterinario ayer.Y cuando llegué, vi que nuestro vecino había traído a su perro también.Situation 3 – Bring Me the Report5:10 Skip to Situation 3(En la oficina) Two colleagues are at work. Colleague A goes up to the desk of colleague B and asks….A: ¿Tienes el informe que te traje ayer?B: No. Lo llevé a casa.A: ¿Me lo traes mañana?(Colega B en casa) Colleague B says to her husband…B: Tengo que llevar este informe al trabajo mañana.6:19 OJO: When you could use “take” instead of “bring,” use LLEVAR.The Reflexive Verb LLEVARSE6:40 Skip to LLEVARSELLEVARSE – to take away, to take with you.When you notice your purse (cartera) is missing….Alguien se la llevó.
Oct 11, 2018
11 min
Giving Directions in Spanish Within a Hospital
This free Spanish audio lesson introduces the “Giving Directions in Spanish” series at docmolly.com. As requested by Bien, a listener, we are going to practice giving directions in Spanish within a hospital. First, we will review the vocabulary. Then, we will put this vocabulary to use to give directions in Spanish. Normally we are speaking with strangers when we ask for and give directions. Therefore, we will use the usted conjugation for all the verbs. Vocabulary Perdone Excuse me. La cafeteria Cafeteria El sótano Basement Baje al sótano. Go down to the basement. El pasillo, el corredor Hall(way) Siga el pasillo. Follow the hall. A la derecha / izquierda To the right / left El ascensor Elevator Al salir del ascensor As you leave the elevator Doble/gire a la derecha/izquierda Turn right/left A mano derecha/izquierda On the right-hand/left-hand side Asking for and Giving Directions Perdone, ¿Dónde está la cafetería? Excuse me. Where is the cafeteria? Está en el sótano. It’s in the basement. ¿Cómo se va / se llega allí? How do you get there? Siga (por) este pasillo y usted verá el ascensor a la derecha. Follow this hallway and you’ll see the elevator to your right. Baje al sótano. Go down basement. Al salir del ascensor, doble/gire a la izquierda. As you exit the elevator, turn left. Verá la cafeteria a mano derecha. You will see the cafeteria on the right-hand side. Want to learn more? Become a premium member and access all the Spanish Grammar and Medical Spanish lessons at docmolly.com. Already a Member?  Access the Premium Series: Directions in Spanish Update to Audio on 7/22/2018 Listened to this episode again while driving in the car and decided to make the following changes: ~ 1 min – Since I start the sentence with hopefully, I decided to conjugate poder in the subjunctive, rather than the future tense: “Hopefully, the next time someone asks you, ‘Dónde está el vestíbulo,’ where’s the lobby, puedas responder con fluidez. ~ 2:40 min – I added the audio flashcard: “as you leave the elevator” >> “al salir del ascensor.” This was missing from the original episode. BTW, if you ever notice that I goof, just leave a comment or send me an email at molly@docmolly.com. ¡Gracias! Hasta la próxima. © 2018 Molly Martin, MD. All rights reserved
Jun 29, 2018
6 min
Spanish Prepositions – Por vs Para
Do you know when to use POR vs PARA? Today’s podcast is a quiz on the Spanish prepositions POR y PARA. It kicks off a series of audio lessons that will cover these two prepositions at docmolly.com. Audio Quiz Want to learn more? Subscribe to the premium audio lessons at docmolly.com. This quiz introduces a series of audio lessons covering the Spanish prepositions, POR y PARA. The first premium audio lesson will cover PARA. Then we’ll cover POR. Finally we’ll wrap things up with an audio lesson comparing the two prepositions. Therefore, depending on when you listen to this quiz, it will either serve as a preview or a review for the POR vs PARA series at docmolly.com. Listen to more free audio lessons covering advanced Spanish grammar. Member? Access the premium series: Prepositions  
Jul 25, 2017
7 min
Grammar from Folk Medicine Interview
Learn Grammar with the Medical Spanish Podcast This podcast reviews some of the grammar points covered during an interview I did for the Medical Spanish Podcast. I interviewed folk healer, Francisco Chavajay, while studying at the San Pedro Spanish School in Guatemala. The clinical dialogues and interviews presented in the Medical Spanish Podcast provide an effective method of learning key grammatical concepts used in everyday Spanish conversation. In this free grammar podcast, we go over a sampling of the grammar points covered in my interview with don Francisco. Grammar Points from the Interview “Fíjese que para ser curandero uno no aprende, no le enseñan.” Fijarse Fíjate que son muy caros. Look, they are very expensive. Fíjese que para ser curandero uno no aprende. You see, to be a curandero one doesn´t learn. Want to learn more? Subscribe to the premium Spanish Grammar podcast at docmolly.com. Listen to the Part 1 of the interview with a folk healer, Francisco Chavajay. Member? Access the… * The premium grammar episode * The premium Folk Medicine series I highly recommend San Pedro Spanish School in Guatemala. My niece and I had an amazing experience living with a host family and studying at the school. Listen to this podcast to hear more about our experience.
Jul 7, 2017
6 min
Quedar y Quedarse – I am back with a quiz!
Spanish Grammar Audio Quiz This is my first free podcast since September and my first free grammar podcast for over a year! As many of you know I host two podcasts: the Spanish Grammar Review and the Medical Spanish Podcast. In 2016, I finished up the premium series on the Subjunctive for the grammar podcast and then kept busy making premium lessons for the Medical Spanish Podcast. More recently, I took a break from podcasting to build this new website at docmolly.com. Since building this site I have added two premium lessons to the Verbs series of the Spanish Grammar Subscription covering QUEDAR and QUEDARSE and today's free podcast is a quiz reviewing what we learned in these premium lessons. Member?  Listen to the 2 premium lessons covering the uses QUEDAR(SE) in our member-only verb series Verbs Series.Table of Contents * 2:57 Intro to Lesson * 4:05 Audio Quiz  QUEDAR Y QUEDARSE4:05Me quedé en casa de un amigo.(I stayed at a friends house.)Quedamos a las siete en la plaza.(We're meeting at seven at the plaza.)(Ellos) quedaron en ir hoy.They decided / agreed to go today.Nos quedan tres invitaciones por escribir.(We have three invitations left to write.)Quedan cinco días para navidad.(There are five days left until Christmas.)Él siempre queda bien con las chicas.(He always makes a good impression with the girls.)Esa corbata queda bien con tus ojos.(That tie goes well with your eyes.)Se quedó pensativa un largo rato.(She remained deep in thought for a long time.)Aún queda comida.(There's still food left.)La escuela queda a tres millas de aquí.(The school is 3 miles from here.)Siempre se me quedan los guantes en casa!(I always leave my gloves at home.)No nos queda más remedio.(We have no choice.) >>> Get access to the full transcripts and the premium interactive audio lessons that accompany each free lesson. Login or click here to become a premium member.
Apr 10, 2017
8 min
Subjunctive Quiz #5
Are you ready to take on some advanced Spanish grammar? This audio quiz reviews the material covered in the following premium audio lessons. Subjunctive 15 – Conditional (If… then… ) Statements About the Present Subjunctive 16 – Conditional Statements About the Past Subjunctive 17 – The Subjunctive Following “Como Si” Subjunctive 18 – The Subjunctive Following “Ojalá” Subjunctive 19 – “No Matter How Much” in Spanish Subjunctive 20 – La Forma Reduplicativa Continue Reading
Feb 26, 2017
8 min
Quiz # 4 – The Subjunctive in Adverbial Clauses
This audio lesson is a quiz on the use of the subjunctive in adverbial clauses. It reviews the material covered in the following premium lessons. * Subjunctive 10 and 11 – Conjunctions that Require the Subjunctive (e.g. a menos que, con tal que) * Subjunctive 12 and 13 – Adverbial Clauses of Time * Subjunctive 14 – Adverbial Clauses that Describe How or Where Continue Reading
Dec 6, 2015
10 min
Load more