Innovation Metrics
Innovation Metrics
Elijah Eilert
Welcome to the Innovation Metrics podcast where we geek about Innovation Management. We bring you insights on how to measure innovation, innovation accounting and managing the uncertain process of developing new, sustainable and profitable business models.
#10 - Retrospective
https://www.linkedin.com/in/elijahteilert/ (Elijah Eilert) is talking to https://www.linkedin.com/in/oliverdurrer/?originalSubdomain=ch (Oliver Durrer). Oliver is sharing insights from his accomplished career in corporate innovation. He is also helping Elijah do a Retro on the podcast for this 10th episode: What went well? What didn’t go well? What to do next? This episode is a bit different from others as it focuses less on specific lessons for https://innovationmetrics.co/how-to-measure-innovation-teams-with-tristan-kromer/ (innovation teams) and leaders and more on personal experiences. “Vulnerability is the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change” – https://www.linkedin.com/in/brenebrown/ (Brené Brown)
Aug 23, 2022
45 min
The Importance of Evidence Based Storytelling in Innovation
About the Episodehttps://www.linkedin.com/in/elijahteilert/ (Elijah Eilert) is talking to https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tendayiviki (Tendayi Viki) about the power and pitfalls of storytelling in the context of innovation management. A well told story has the power to move us, we are biologically programmed to buy into storytelling. The problem is that often in an innovation context a well told story bypasses logic and reason, selling a tall story devoid of facts. This lively and fun conversation will challenge your thinking and approach when it comes to storytelling in an innovation context. Whether a sceptic or a fan of well told stories, the question arises, how do we best design a system that fosters evidence-based storytelling? To what degree does storytelling need to be encouraged or even regulated? We are trying to use evidence to make investment decisions. The thing that’s hidden from us is the quality of the evidence because we weren’t there when the experiments were being run. – Tendayi VikiTopics and Insights (01:00) Introducing https://uk.linkedin.com/in/tendayiviki (Tendayi) and some of his professional biography (03:00) Elijah asks “Where is the middle ground? How should we use stories appropriately and where should we not use stories?” (Tendayi recommends the book https://www.amazon.com.au/Stumbling-Happiness-Daniel-Todd-Gilbert/dp/1400077427 (Stumbling on Happiness) by Daniel Gilbert.) (08:00) Tendayi speaks about visual storytelling and mentions the following book: https://www.amazon.com/Resonate-Present-Stories-Transform-Audiences/dp/0470632011 (Resonate: Present Visual Stories that Transform Audiences) https://ch.linkedin.com/in/osterwalder (Alexander Osterwalder’s) https://www.bookdepository.com/author/Alexander-Osterwalder (books) (09:00) On how the best storytellers will always win. Good stories are irresistible. This means that the business environments need to be constrained and the question is how to do it well in order to extract stories that are more likely to be true (11:00) On the leap of faith component of investing in innovation (12:00) To what degree are all numbers in a financial/forecasting model for wacky? (16:00) Placing a lot of bets is the fundamental principle to increase the chances of success for an https://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-accounting-innovation-funnel/ (innovation portfolio). It is also an antidote to the negative impact of an infactual story. (18:00) How https://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-accounting-a-historical-perspective/ (history) is packed with scientists refusing data and evidence (23:00) Elijah starts coming to terms with the fact that storytelling will always play a role in investment decisions. If a story is not provided the other person will make one up. (24:00) On the fact that investment decisions should be made based on evidence. (25:30) Storytelling should have a format, https://innovationmetrics.co/tendayi-sprint-report/ (get Tendayi’s template): https://innovationmetrics.co/tendayi-sprint-report/ (S) https://innovationmetrics.co/tendayi-sprint-report/ (GET THE TEMPLATE) (26:30) Innovation as a wicked problem (28:30) How humans are not designed to think probabilistic (32:00) Storytelling after scaling and IPO (33:00) Where storytelling in innovation is helpful (34:30) https://tendayiviki.com/can-innovation-teams-trick-leaders-to-invest-in-bad-ideas (Running a con) is possible with or without storytelling You can run a con without telling stories by faking the data You can run a con without data by just telling stories You can run a con with the data by deliberately misinterpreting them (37:00) Forensic innovation accounting roles – innovation bookkeepers and innovation accountants (38:00) The use of qualitative data...
May 22, 2022
49 min
Innovation Accounting – The Second System
01:00 Introducing Esther 03:00 Esther's reasons for writing the Innovation Accounting Book include finding an answer to corporates hindering governance structure to transformational innovation by outlining a second system that operates in parallel to the core. 06:00 On the process of writing a book and, moreover, a book that is pushing the boundaries. 09:30 Defining innovation accounting “The tools, processes and systems an organisation needs to monitor the progress of high-risk disruptive ventures”. This is more than just a set of indicators, it is several levels of governance indicators to enable decision-making. The three core layers of innovation accounting abstract information to the one above. The three core layers of innovation accounting as defined in the book are Tactical Innovation Accounting Managerial Innovation Accounting Strategic Innovation Accounting Interlinked, but not in a way that information can be abstracted as directly to the higher level, are Innovation Accounting for Shareholders Innovation Accounting for Culture and Capability 12:30 How innovation accounting can help shareholders value innovation efforts 15:30 Innovation success depends on the number of bets a company can place. Companies need to test at least 50 ideas in their funnel and increase confidence about or kill them early on. As Tendayi Viki says “You can not pick the winners!” 20:30 High-risk new business models take a long time, often 5 - 12 years. Startups often look like an overnight success but that is rarely ever true. How empathy is often a desired trait of innovation teams engaged in building better products. It is also needed by innovation managers for senior leadership and shareholders, in order to build a better system 24:00 Accounting must evolve when it becomes insufficient for what it has to account for and model 25:00 How to get CEO’s and CFO’s to accept and get used to different measures 29:00 The differences between an innovation funnel and an innovation portfolio or pipeline, and the importance of being internally aligned in defining them 32:00 Innovation Portfolio vs Portfolio 40:30 How often should CEOs be involved in portfolio management, and how often they need to look at the dashboard - as so often it depends 42:30 The funnel is the execution of the innovation strategy 43:00 Innovation accounting should be a part of business intelligence 44:30 People from corporate accounting, controlling and governance are reaching out to Ester to better understand how they can provide value to the company in this space, specifically as more and more of what they are doing is getting automated. 46:30 The future job profiles of innovation accountants and bookkeepers 49:00 Esthers vision for innovation accounting in 10 years “As an accepted system for high-risk search that has its own place possibly within the accounting function of corporate.”
Apr 21, 2022
51 min
Unit Economics: How to Calculate CAC & LTV - It Depends
About the EpisodeElijah Eilert speaks to https://www.linkedin.com/in/porlando/ (Paul Orlando) about his book https://www.amazon.com/Growth-Units-calculate-Acquisition-businesses/dp/B08HB68NL6/ (Growth Units) to discover how to best calculate Customer Acquisition Cost and Lifetime Value. Paul tells us how to significantly improve common calculation methods and how to use those to make critical business decisions. Understanding revenue and cost on a per unit basis for Startups/innovation projects is vital but even established businesses have a lot to gain from doing it right. Topics and Insights(01:00) Introducing https://www.linkedin.com/in/porlando/ (Paul Orlando) and his book https://www.amazon.com/Growth-Units-calculate-Acquisition-businesses/dp/B08HB68NL6/ (Growth Units), the foundation of this episode. Paul initially wrote the book as a reaction to the change in teaching environment caused by Covid 19. This insightful and entertaining book was originally designed to assist with the teaching of University of Southern California students. (06:30) An overview of Unit Economics, Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) and Customer Lifetime Value (LTV). (09:00) Exploring the value of analysing the unit level like price per unit cost to serve that unit number of times someone stays to buy that unit over the business level like total revenue total cost ... The aggregate or business level doesn’t help when the product is still being developed, Product/Market-Fit is not yet established, a profitable channel is still to be determined, and so on. (11:00) Customer Acquisition Cost means how much money it takes a business to bring someone in and turn into a customer such as word of mouth, paid advertising, sales team, and so on. Lifetime Value is a measure of gross profit a business earns from a customer over time. It often takes more time to understand this than it does to understand CAC. (15:00) CAC over LTV is fundamental to understanding product performance and analysing specific customer segments. It provides a much more forensic look into the performance of the business. This is not just helpful from the product development side, but also for figuring out the best way to grow, what kind of customer should or should not be acquired through paid advertisement, referral or stick around for as long as possible. (17:30) To properly calculate CAC, one has to look more granularly into the sales funnel. What happens when a customer comes “in the door”, either physically or online, when and how do they become actual customers. There are essentially two parts to this. (19:00) The different steps in a conversion funnel depend on the type of business and customer behaviours. https://www.inc.com/walter-chen/aarrr-dave-mcclure-s-pirate-metrics-and-the-only-five-numbers-that-matter.html (Pirate Metrics) is a great default framework to establish this. (20:00) The boundary between Acquisition and Activation is not always clear, teams have to ultimately figure it out for themselves, as so often - it depends! (23:30) How to calculate Customer Acquisition Cost An Unhelpful way of calculating CAC: total spent on marketing in period / number of new customers in this period A reason why this is not helpful, is because it misses the time factor. The marketing dollars spent in a particular period might not be related to the customers onboarded during this same time frame. Another reason is that it does not take customer segmentation into account. It subsequently won’t tell us what segment is particularly lucrative or what segment we don’t want to attract going forward. A better way of calculating CAC: cost to get a potential customer “in the door” / becoming a customer For example, if it costs $10 to get someone “in the door”, and 10% of those people convert, then the CAC will be $100 An even better way of calculating CAC: The cost of getting a customer into...
Mar 17, 2022
57 min
Understanding the ISO Standard for Innovation Management - Concepts & Benefits
About the Episodehttps://innovationmetrics.co/about-elijah-eilert/ (Elijah Eilert) speaks to https://www.linkedin.com/in/andycars/ (Andy Cars), the founder and CEO of https://leanventures.se/ (Lean Ventures) International, about ISO standards for innovation management. Having participated in the ISO creation process, Andy Cars will discuss the concepts around ISO standards and how organisations can benefit from them. The aim is to create a long-term innovation strategy and transform an organisation's culture into a value creation mindset. Topics and Insights(01:09) Introducinghttps://www.linkedin.com/in/andycars/ ( Andy Cars) owner of Lean Ventures International AB (03:52) Discussing Andy's contribution to thehttps://www.iso.org/about-us.html ( ISO) standards for innovation management (05:31) Providing an overview of thehttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ISO/TC_279 ( ISO standards for innovation management) and its structure: https://www.iso.org/standard/69315.html (ISO 56000) - Fundamentals and vocabulary, 2019 https://www.iso.org/standard/79278.html (ISO 56001) - Innovation management system - Requirements, 2026 (TBC) https://www.iso.org/standard/68221.html (ISO 56002) - Innovation management system - Guidance, July 2019 https://www.iso.org/standard/68929.html (ISO 56003) - Tools and methods for innovation partnership - Guidance, Feb 2019 https://www.iso.org/standard/69921.html (ISO 56004) - Innovation Management Assessment - Guidance, Feb 2019 https://www.iso.org/standard/72761.html (ISO 56005) - Intellectual property management - Guidance, Nov 2020 https://www.iso.org/standard/72621.html (ISO 56006) - Strategic intelligence management - Guidance, 2021 (TBC) https://www.iso.org/standard/75068.html (ISO 56007) - Idea management - Guidance, 2021 (TBC) https://www.iso.org/standard/78485.html (ISO 56008) - Innovation Operation Measurements - Guidance, 2022(TBC) (07:05) This ISO series is better seen as “centred around a number of core principles that are there as a guide for organisations to have when they are trying to implement anhttps://innovationmetrics.co/learn/ ( innovation management) system” and less as a standard where a company can receive an actual certificate (10:36) Why it is important to define innovation and how the standards can help (12:57) The principles ofhttps://www.linkedin.com/pulse/agile-manifesto-reexamined-andy-cars/ ( The Agile Manifesto) and their similarity to ISO 56000 is discussed as a set of principles rather than as a traditional standard the ISO establishes (14:31) The 8 principles of ISO https://www.iso.org/standard/69315.html (56000:2020): 1. Realization of value 2. Future-focused leaders 3.https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/you-think-have-strategy-innovation-again-andy-cars/ ( Strategic direction) 5. https://innovationmetrics.co/metrics/culture/ (Culture) 4. Exploiting insights 6. Managing uncertainty 7. Adaptability 8. Systems approach (15:42) On the axiom for innovation management to identify and focus on the barriers to innovation (16:27) How to use ISO to optimisehttps://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-ecosystem-design-using-liebigs-law-of-the-minimum/ ( innovation ecosystems) systematically (16:28) Why innovation is a long-term marathon rather than a 100-metre sprint, and why organisations need to consistently develop ahttps://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-accounting-innovation-funnel/ ( muscle for innovation) (18:48) Changes in the organisation's culture and insights start with an entrepreneurial mindset Going into the specifics of principle 6. Managing Uncertainty that is defined by the ISO. The definition nicely illustrates the general nature of the standard “Innovation activities need to address high degrees of variation and uncertainty, particularly during the early creative phases. They're exploratory and characterised by search, experimentation and learning. As the process progresses, knowledge is gained, and uncertainty is...
Feb 2, 2022
1 hr 3 min
Fundamentals of Metered Funding & Stage Gates for Innovation
About the Episodehttps://innovationmetrics.co/about-elijah-eilert/ (Elijah Eilert) speaks to https://www.linkedin.com/in/tristankromer/ (Tristan Kromer) about the fundamentals of a VC-like funding approach for corporate innovation that releases resources over time in exchange for specific evidence. Funding a startup or corporate venture from idea to scale is becoming increasingly outdated. Applying traditional stage-gate funding models for innovation projects come with a set of issues on their own. Discover the fundamentals of what Eric Ries calls Metered Funding and how to design an effective incremental funding approach for innovation. Ideally, each decision point or gate is dictated by uncertainty. In reality, it does not really matter if the uncertainty relates to Desirability, Feasibility or Viability. If https://innovationmetrics.co/workshops/innovation-accounting-course/ (innovation accounting )techniques are applied we can quantify where exactly the uncertainty lies. Otherwise, designing the first gate around desirability is probably a good bet. As for the vast majority of cases, a lack of customer understanding is the biggest risk. Topics and Insights (02:00) Elijah skips talking about problems associated with https://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-accounting-the-failure-of-the-business-case/ (funding a project from idea to scale), preferring to start by discussing the common issues with stage-gate funding specifically for innovation projects. (05:30) Introducing the basics of metered funding/stage gates which are based on impact, not ticking boxes or https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I1WUYuBCxPo (entitlement funding). (06:00) How to call decision points in the https://innovationmetrics.co/innovation-accounting-innovation-funnel/ (innovation funnel) and who oversees them – stages gates, phase gates, scales gates, stakeholder meetings, innovation committee, steering committee, investment boards, https://kromatic.com/blog/measuring-innovation-boards/ (innovation boards), investor board, growth board and so on. (08:00) Using the analogy for innovation boards being gas stations at a decision point/stage gates. By default, innovators run out of resources – gas/petrol. The gas station gets paid in the form of valuable information that the project is good, i.e. it delivers value and can therefore fuel up again. (10:00) On the term “scale gates”, what it implies, the fact that Elijah may be the only one who has adopted it and https://recipeself.com/broccoli-ice-cream-recipe/ (broccoli flavoured ice cream) is mentioned! (16:00) Common names and concepts for decision points. Typically four stages are used. https://www.amazon.com/Corporate-Startup-Established-Successful-Innovation/dp/9462761507 (The Corporate Startup) book provides one of the best ‘off the shelf’ solutions for creating scale gates. (20:00) Designing the right https://kromatic.com/innovation-resources/stage-gate-process-criteria-template (decision points) (gates) depends on the type of innovation and industry we are looking at. (21:45) Any system needs to have adequate desirability, feasibility and viability. Validating these should ideally be prioritised by risk and nothing else. In most cases, desirability is the riskiest factor. (26:00) Brief overview and classification of innovation – Core, Adjacent and Transformational and whether they need a different funding system. (27:00) The reasons for different management approaches to innovation for managers and organisations as a whole may be different. Organisations long for better predictability and managers may also want to change the culture. (28:00) 99% of the time, customer demand is the biggest risk and it should usually be the first decision point. Ideally, the financial model is based...
Dec 13, 2021
51 min
Finding a Common Framework & Post Launch Metrics
About the Episodehttps://innovationmetrics.co/about-elijah-eilert/ (Elijah Eilert) speaks tohttps://www.linkedin.com/in/jael-kong-31959084/ ( Jael Kong) who until recently was working with a leading FMCG company. She is jam-packed with insights and will speak with us about the systemic problems large organisations have when making (kill, pivot, persevere) decisions specifically after launching new products. Jael also gives us a glimpse into an early post-launch tracking approach that leverages the Pirate Metrics Framework ((A)AARRR). Our favourite quote from Jael: “We often underestimate what we can achieve in a year and way overestimate what we can do in a day - that's the mother of stress.”Jael’s Cheatsheet for Metrics and Data Sources“Jael Kong’s Cheatsheet for Metrics and Data Sources” draws on the Pirate Metric Framework ((A)AARRR). Use it for pre and early post launch product tracking to support critical kill, pivot, persevere decisions. https://innovationmetrics.co/metrics-data-source-cheat-sheet/ (GET THE CHEAT SHEET) Topics and Insights(00:50) Introducing Jael and her company https://www.leveluppp.com/ (LevelUPPP) (03:00) 80% of product launches fail and how to define failure (05:00) The issues with lagging indicators (07:30) On Product-Market-Fit and the problem with placing too many large scale and expensive bets (13:00) Why it is hard to Pivot in a system that is designed for execution with siloed teams and different KPI’s (15:30) The accountability/non-accountability of early https://innovationmetrics.co/how-to-measure-innovation-teams-with-tristan-kromer/ (innovation teams) post-launch (17:00) How to improve the handover and knowledge transfer between teams (20:00) On the use of Experiment Report Cards / Learning Report Cards (23:00) The need for an Innovation Bookkeeper / Innovation Accountant) (27:30) A systematic approach to post launch tracking - Get Jael’s https://innovationmetrics.co/metrics-data-source-cheat-sheet/ (Cheat Cheat for Metrics and Data Sources ) “If it’s not measured, it's not treasured”(29:30) The issue with placing more bets than a company can handle and monitor (31:30) On innovation ecosystems that rewards the wrong behaviour (33:30) How the Pirate Metrics Framework / https://innovationmetrics.co/workshops/innovation-accounting-course/ (Innovation Accounting) can be part of the solution (43:00) Using Pirate Metrics for an ‘Early Post Launch Tracker' and introducing dog food as an example (46:30) How to measure customer satisfaction (or the dog food user satisfaction) (51:30) The importance for financial viability and the potential disconnect between innovation teams and business analysts/finance departments (54:00) Early indicators and Jael’s book https://www.amazon.com/Life-Happily-Ever-After-Commitment/dp/B08FKQNL12 (Living Happily Ever After ) (56:30) How alignment, clear goals, reward structure and open communication are essential for pivots and how to do it, including retargeting. (106:00) Jael’s biggest tips for corporate innovators About the Guest Jael Kong is passionate about developing people and teams to their most powerful selves, and no surprise, through innovating themselves and their contribution to the ecosystem around them. Jael has recently stepped down from a full-time corporate innovator leadership role in a leading FMCG company and started her own consultancy https://www.leveluppp.com/ (LevelUPPP) to dedicate more time to supporting teams, leaders, and individuals to better achieve their goals in a sustained manner. Jael Kong is a Certified Professional Co-active Coach and accredited by the International Coach Federation and a certified Agile Team Coach. With over 17 years of human insights experience in different matrix corporations and having lived and worked out of Singapore, China, and currently The Netherlands, Jael discovered her purpose and calling in supporting...
Nov 2, 2021
1 hr 8 min
Innovation Accounting - Ranges are Key
About the PodcastThe https://innovationmetrics.co/ (Innovation Metrics) podcast provides insights on measuring innovation, innovation accounting and managing the uncertain process of developing new, sustainable and profitable business models. About the Episodehttps://www.linkedin.com/in/tristankromer/ (Tristan Kromer) speaks with us about the pitfalls of early-stage predictions in startups and corporate innovation initiatives, and how to drastically improve them. “It’s ok to ask innovators how a business is going to make money and how much. The problem is the way we traditionally expect them to produce the answer. The way we frame it can’t be answered effectively.” An emerging concept, enabling effective Innovation accounting, is to express variables as a range of likelihood not as single numbers. Subsequently, the outcome of the financial or mission impact model can be expressed as a range of likelihood rather than a wildly optimistic estimation of a single number. This enables innovators to quantify the uncertainty of each variable and the entire project. The https://innovationmetrics.co/how-to-measure-innovation-teams-with-tristan-kromer/ (innovation team’s) job is to gather new insights and reduce uncertainty. Innovation accounting enables them to feed this back into the model by changing the estimated ranges and quantify what they have learned. By narrowing down the ranges based on a new insight teams gain the ability to demonstrate progress in a quantifiable way even before a product is launched. Topics and Insights (03:15) Nobody in innovation is happy with the way predictions are made. (07:00) Business cases tend not to be terrible when there is enough historical data available. (10:15) Human behaviour usually causes the most uncertainty. (12:00) There are legitimate reasons not to invest in innovation. (16:00) Asking if and how a startup will eventually make money is a fair question but the way the question is usually framed can’t be answered effectively. (18:00) Even businesses with a 10 year trading history have mostly terrible business cases. Warren Buffet who is known to only invest in companies with a long track record does https://youtu.be/3ETAFhWeY_Q (not listen to forecasters) when allocating resources. (“There is no business so lousy it can’t get a wonderful https://youtu.be/Tk8oxfumW44?t=99 (projection)” – Charlie Munger.) (20:30) Typical business cases don’t inform about uncertainty effectively. (21:30) Asking for best case, worst case estimation and dividing them by two is hardly an improvement. The solution to understanding uncertainty better is to allow for ranges. (24:30) Allowing for ranges is great for any type of project, not just innovation. (25:40) Expressing things in ranges has many benefits, amongst them, that it makes predictions more honest and more accurate. It also increases the sense of psychological safety and is simply easier. (28:00) If innovation accounting can assist in solving the problem of biases and favouring talented storytellers in securing funding. (29:30) Methods to battle certain biases during resource allocation. (31:15) On the usefulness of https://kromatic.com/innovation-resources (templates) for auditioning. (33:00) Innovation accounting can measure and demonstrate progress by narrowing down the ranges. (36:40) In a state of extreme uncertainty, a little bit of information is telling us a lot. (37:40) https://www.investopedia.com/terms/m/montecarlosimulation.asp#:~:text=A%20Monte%20Carlo%20simulation%20is,in%20prediction%20and%20forecasting%20models.andtext=Monte%20Carlo%20simulations%20assume%20perfectly%20efficient%20markets. (Monte Carlo Simulations) can be applied to the ranges thus making the predictions more accurate. (39:00) The art of entrepreneurship is the art of reducing uncertainty by getting information.
Sep 2, 2021
55 min
Why Innovation Teams have to be Measured Differently and How to do it - with Tristan Kromer
Title Why Innovation Teams have to be Measured Differently and How to do it - with Tristan Kromer About the Episodehttps://www.linkedin.com/in/tristankromer/ (Tristan Kromer) is talking to us about why innovation teams need to be measured differently from other product teams and how to do it. In other words, we are talking about how you can take practical steps to implement innovation accounting on a team level. Please let us know what measures you would add and why in the comments! Innovation Team Metrics Covered in this EpisodeExperimentation Velocity / % of teams that run experiments Insight Velocity / % of experiments that generate insights % of falsified hypothesis (validated/invalidated experiments ratio) Retrospectives / % of weeks teams have run retrospectives in the last month Qualitative data - team sprint demo (weekly, biweekly) Topics and Insights(01:40) The problem - why do we need to measure innovation teams differently (05:00) All teams should be measured against something they can control (06:00) For innovation teams, even product related lead indicators often can not be applied as the lead indicator might not yet be known (10:00) If https://kromatic.com/blog/ten-monster-projects-an-intrapreneur-must-avoid/ (Zombies) were chasing Tristan, he might be able to run 5 blocks (11:00) Nobody knows what product teams will win, but we do know that teams which experiment and learn faster, have a much better chance to achieve https://kromatic.com/innovation-resources/product-market-fit-storyboard (Product Market Fit). Tom Eisenmann from Harvard University just released https://www.institutionalinvestor.com/article/b1p6kjmh25s24b/The-Problematic-VC-Threatening-Study-That-Has-Split-Harvard-Professors?utm_content=bufferab895andutm_medium=socialandutm_source=twitter.comandutm_campaign=buffer (data) to back up that claim (14:30) The solution - how to fairly and effectively measure innovation team (15:00) Separating the measurement of the product from the measurement of the team (15:40) https://kromatic.com/blog/defense-experiment-velocity/ (Experimentation Velocity) and Insight Velocity (19:00) Accounting for experiment and research cost (22:20) Elijah is having problems formulating a proper sentence and https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene (Yoga with Adriene) comes up (23:30) The difference between an evaluative experiment and generative research (29:00) Should the evaluative experiment and generative research ratio be measured? (31:00) Product teams should never stop https://kromatic.com/real-startup-book/customer-discovery-interviews (running interviews) (31:30) Teams are likely to be more successful when they use a greater variety of experiments and call for more academic research into this topic! (33:15) We need better tools to record experiments and insights from innovation teams. (36:50) Tools for recording experiments (41:30) Going deeper into measuring Experimentation and Insight Velocity. (46:20) The amount of falsified hypotheses are another team performance indicator (52:00) https://kromatic.com/blog/defense-experiment-velocity/ (Measure but don’t count) (52:50) Teams also need to be measured against lead product/project indicators but each team needs to find out their own indicators or levers for success (55:00) Retrospectives, another important team measure (56:00) The importance of qualitative data like sprint demos Questions for our ListenersWhat team metrics do you recommend? How do you record experiments in your organisation? What can you recommend? Please comment below About the Cohost Tristan Kromer helps product teams go fast. As a Silicon Valley-based lean startup coach and founder of https://kromatic.com (Kromatic), Tristan works with innovation teams to run at least one experiment/research per week to improve their product...
Jul 12, 2021
57 min
From Quarterly to Weekly Learning Cycles or “The Man in the Mirror” – with Oliver Durrer
From Quarterly to Weekly Learning Cycles or “The Man in the Mirror” – with Oliver DurrerHosts/Guestshttps://www.linkedin.com/in/oliverdurrer/ (Oliver Durrer), https://www.linkedin.com/in/elijahteilert/ (Elijah Eilert) About the EpisodeOliver shares his hands-on experience on corporate entrepreneurship, innovation, leadership and learning from his time at https://www.nestle.com/ (Nestle) and https://www.migros.ch/de.html (Migros), building corporate startups and developing an innovation lab. He explains how they went from quarterly learning cycles to weekly and what it takes to get there. Finally, Oliver is going to tell us his biggest secret/takeaway for innovators, especially within large organisations. We hope that you enjoy listening to – “The Man in the Mirror”. Topics and Insights 04:00 Overcoming challenges in communicating with leadership in the pre-revenue phase when https://kromatic.com/blog/build-measure-learn-vs-learn-measure-build/ (learning) is the primary focus. 11:30 Setting expectations about the (learning) roadmap with leadership. 14:50 The journey to shorter experiment and insight cycles - “Go fast go alone, go far go together”. 18:00 The importance of managing the scale-up challenge from the beginning of the process - from innovation accounting to standard financial accounting. 20:15 On the need for a https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lean-enterprise-transformation-oliver-durrer/ (learning organisation). 20:50 Measuring teams, reporting on learning and insights. 25:00 https://kromatic.com/blog/templates-suck-heres-our-lean-startup-template/ (Recording insights) and knowledge management 32:30 Collaborating and creating a shared vision within large organisations. 37:00 Oliver's biggest secret for how to change the way large organisations innovate. About the Co-hostOur guest and co-host https://www.linkedin.com/in/oliverdurrer/ (Oliver Durrer) is a Swiss global citizen with a love for life and learning. Passionate about people, tech, lean innovation and social impact, Oliver is on a mission to empower purpose-driven pioneers to unleash their full potential for impact. He has 15+ years of experience in fostering corporate entrepreneurship, innovation and learning, with large enterprises, SMBs and tech startups across Europe, Southeast Asia and Silicon Valley. Oliver is the founder of https://www.swissleap.com/ (SwissLEAP) which was set up to help leaders, teams and organizations navigate uncertainty, lead change and innovate with impact to sustainably create shared value. SwissLEAP’s signature Lasting Enterprise Action Practices (“LEAP”) combines the business excellence and stability of successful enterprises with the speed, learning and innovation capabilities of lean startups. Oliver holds an lic. oec. in Business Management from Lausanne University. He is a certified lean innovation coach, trained market opportunity navigator and lecturer of innovation and intrapreneurship at HWZ Business School Zurich’s Executive MBA in Digital Leadership. A fan of foreign cultures and languages, Oliver enjoys connecting with people in (Swiss-)German, English, French, Italian and Spanish. Connect with Oliver https://www.swissleap.com/ (Website) / https://www.linkedin.com/in/oliverdurrer/ (LinkedIn) / https://twitter.com/OliverDurrer (Twitter) / Email
Feb 8, 2021
43 min