The Tape
The Tape
Bloomberg
Reviews
via Podcasts
Ads are 2x the volume
The ads literally blow out my eardrums when I’m wearing earbuds. If I turn down the volume, I can’t hear the regular programming. Awful.
Justin1364
Keyboard noise
Background noise of someone typing on their keyboard is driving every listener crazy.
Moi_03
Content is Great but Audio Quality is NOT
I’ve been listening to this podcast for a few months now and have been really enjoying the content. However, the audio quality, mixing, and volume changes make this podcast almost unbearable to listen to. Whether the issue is interviewers breathing into their microphones, the gain level turned all the way up on the microphones, poor audio quality from interviewees, commercial audio being far higher than the interviews, etc. the list of audio issues with this podcast is endless. I find myself getting distracted by an audio issue in nearly every single episode. Seems like an easy fix to hire a sound engineer or to fire your existing one, and Bloomberg should certainly have the resources... it’s too bad because this is otherwise a solid podcast.
Read more
b unittt
Used to be a good podcast
It used to be a pleasure to listen to this podcast and the conversations were constructive and relevant. Since sometime early 2021. The new host Matt Miller just made it kind of insufferable. His questions to the guest almost always steer the conversation towards some kind of muscle cars/motorcycles topics, or penetrating false stereotypes of nationalities, regionalities, ethnicities. There’s also misinformation that was passed along in interviews as facts. The overall persona of the new host screams a privileged older white male which really gear towards a much more conservative audience than the previous editions of the show. Really odd since Bloomberg in generally is pushing towards a centrist platform with some progressive vision in terms of racial equality, environment and diversity.
Read more
1 Star Since 2021
Voice quality isn’t good
The voice quality of the people being interviewed is sometimes terrible. Maybe some software can be used to improve it? On April 12th, it was almost impossible to understand what a person talking about Peloton said.
madame miss mumi
Typing
Stop typing over guests. Absurd
Darren O'Brien
Finally She is Gone!!!
I used to listen to this show regularly up until a year ago, when I came to the conclusion that life is too short to submit myself to the banality of Vonnie Quinn. The content of the show is excellent, as are the current presenters, and it’s great to be able to enjoy this product again.
Multatuli2
Please let the guests speak
The new host is extremely pretentious for someone who has so little knowledge in finance or economics. We get it you live in Europe and drive a 911, but we tune in to hear about the thoughts and comments of your guests, please leave some time for them
hillwang0630
Awful New Host
Who is this awful new host (listening on 3/12/21) with stupid arguments with “alternate facts” —-75 million dead in WWII??? And No knowledge of inflation rates or economics. And if I want “alternate facts” (which I don’t ) I would listen to Fox not Bloomberg. Thankfully you had an informed and intelligent guest who diplomatically corrected your ignorant host. Let this new host go work for Trump and please get back to intelligent informed discussions on your show. Thank you.
Read more
trillionshelper
Poorly hosted; save yourself & listen to a different pod
The audio is terrible quality. You can hear constant mouse-clicking, typing, heavy breathing/sighing, etc. throughout. Paul and vonnie [vonnie is no longer hosting evidently (she disappeared from the pod)] interrupt all the guests to interject with their own uninteresting, unrelated life stories; along with reminding the guest that we’ve “got 5 seconds left”. Blah. Additionally- the content (when actually discussed) is aggregately worthless. I appreciate the effort. But, in my opinion, this podcast is a complete waste of time.
Read more
blah0101
Bring back Vonnie
I miss Vonnie Quinn! This new guy needs to stop talking about himself, he’s not that interesting. And we get it, you live in Berlin!
Crzzzzzzzx
How many times the will change the host
I really enjoy this podcast, but unfortunately is very difficult to keep listening when the voices keep changing every week or two. I don’t understand why they change host like that, and without telling the audience about. Like we can’t tell the difference. Is fine if you have a lot of rotations hosts, but disclosed please. I look like the production don’t care about who’s listening.
EnzoMMM87
Suspect reporting
I enjoy the podcast but they botched the WSB/GME/Silver story. Blatant lies or lazy journalism.
gaspnin
Better without Quinn
I used to love this podcast, until Quinn joined on it. Always rude to guests and always putting her opinion into loaded questions. Bring Lisa back, because I’m out. ....unsunscribe
4mer Listener
Shshshsh
Great podcast that provides relevant updates to keep listeners informed.
987362847
Interviewing needs improvement
I enjoy the podcast, however a majority of their interviews end abruptly and feels rude
Rashad T.
Can’t stand Bonnie
Love most Bloomberg podcasts as they had god questions and are impartial. Bonnie, the host of this podcast is horrible. If a guest has a different view of the world than her she cuts the off and belittles them. Can Bonnie and I’ll resubcribe.
happyadobepdfuser1234
Bring Back Pimm Fox
This is another example of a privileged white person getting a position in which they are no way qualified for. Vonnie Quinn’s interviewing skills are horrible. I do enjoy the topics being discussed and the expert guests.
Rochester Sports
Missing podcasts
Enjoy the podcast very much but no episodes available since 8/21/20. Looking further online it appears the shows are happening just not getting uploaded to iTunes for some reason. Let’s get it going again Bloomberg!
Crboynton
No more updates?
I enjoy the podcast but it has not updated since August 21. Why?
Uscneil
The Tape — catchy new podcast title
Pail and Vonnie add context and ask thoughtful questions prompting guests to give deeper expert insights.
+PoSo+
Just bad
They awkwardly cut off guests and Vonnie Quinn cannot speak only complete sentences. Rough.
Carry223333
Bloomberg is full of anti-Trump hype and hysteria
If Bloomberg fired all of their anti-trump reporters and writers, they could just post DNC and CCP/PRC press releases, save lots of money and make bigger profits for Michael. And how can you seriously say that New York managed the virus well. I’ve heard that lie twice on your program. New York’s Covid handling was an example of horrible leadership from your governor and mayor. Just look at the statistics of how many people were infected and died in New York, far more deaths than any other state, including states with bigger populations. Job well done Bloomberg. Get a clue. The rest of the country doesn’t believe your NYC liberal lies and fake news.
Read more
BGreig3
Sound equalizer
I love almost all Bloomberg podcast. But only I don't like it and sometimes I have to stop to listening is sound level. All contents and host and guest are doing great job. However, sound effect is awfully bad. I really think even high school radio club could do a better job of sound level equalizer. There is big gap of sound level of host and music and commercial are all too loud compare with poorly small sound volume of the guest. Please adjust the sound level.
Read more
pandacat_robo
Editor Emeritus
You are meant to be the news but have an absolutely one sided view with thus interview. Fine if it’s a random joe. But to have someone with this stature is an integrity destroying. You too could be the next MSNBC. Boo
SuperJaded5
Biased covid coverage
Not helpful
giannisante
Editing
Love the podcast but the editing is awful. Don’t play random music between every speaker - structure the podcast so we know who is speaking and when, and make sure the volume differentials aren’t so drastic. Have a real start and end to the podcast.
CtJd2020
Stop cutting speakers off.
I enjoy this podcast but it really bothers me that they seem to always rush the guest speakers and most of the time they end up cutting them off mid-sentence. I wouldn’t mind if the podcast was extended in time and I’m sure others will still listen if it did.
Fuentes 667
Back away from the microphone
This is a good podcast but please back up from the microphone! Nobody wants to hear you breathing through your nose the entire podcast
mpdtuzqrt
Superb
Great to hear journalistic excellence without quotidian political bias so common in other US media. Superb presentational skills in the lost art of USA audio communication. For me an exemplary service in civic responsibility.
August Consumer
JS
Love the show, Lisa and Paul are awesome. However, sometimes Lisa abruptly interrupts the guests when they are speaking and that can be kind of frustrating as a listener. That would be my only negative feedback.
............................?
👍👍
👍👍
CHIEFJTG
Ms. Abramowicz makes me not want to listen
Ms. Abramowicz please stop making grunting noises while your guests speak. Also can you make your comments concise. It is very frustrating when you tell you guest they a minute and you go on with your dribble for 2 minutes. Thanks
Dancerbum
Biased reporting at best.
Littered with real facts and statistics you’ll find bias on par with Michael Bloomberg’s political leanings. The hosts never do any real reporting, just push political stories of the day and have guests that are never challenged and allowed to spread false information.
dogi smeeth
Audio volume is too low
It is very hard to listen during driving.
Cityhuntermx
“Authentic unbiased and up to date”
Great show! Always lets you know what markets people at Bloomberg are trying to get out of
Eakjb
BS
Just stop it.
umniq
Pimm Fox is Great, his co-host is too political
Pimm Fox is great, as he's always been. Whether he knows the topic or not, he consistently asks insightful question. Pimm's co-host, Lisa, expresses too many political opinions in me. If it weren't for the fact, Lisa alienates me with her bias, I'd give the podcast 4.5stars.
EmmyL28
My go to finance podcast
Great quick take on different market issues and policy topics.
GhostfaceRob216
Advice To Bloomberg
Get an editor and bring back Pimm Foxx. The current format is unlistenble and it's a shame. This used to the best podcast for maket insight.
Bandboxxer
The
What happened to this show. It is mindless. A lot of chit chat and talking over one another. I don't need to be reminded that Carol is a Jersey Girl, so what. Where is Pimm Fox???
PHOakland
Go back to editing the podcasts!
The new format doesn't work for busy people. t listen to these podcasts in the car. Without the editing -- taking out the market updates, commercials, unnecessary segues, they've become unlistenable.
Sprout Fan
Format Change is AWFUL
Was useful, now just a dump by Simplepilot on Sep 13, 2014 Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ I listened to almost all the podcasts for valuable insights from their esteemed guests. Now, instead, I get - mindless banter - market updates that are, by definition, obsolete - sports updatesI did skip through them initially hoping they would change back, but I am giving up on it now. Just not worth it - takes 30 minutes to listen to 5 minutes of useful information Unfortunate Change by JEE_CFP on Sep 04, 2014 Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ I have to agree with other recent reviews: the change to hour-long segments (including the commercials, market updates, mindless banter, etc.) has GREATLY reduced the value of the Bloomberg podcasts!I originally thought the change was just due to somebody new filling in for someone on vacation. So I hung in there. But as time goes on, it's apparent that the change was deliberate and permanent.I've been a loyal listener for years (I even gladly paid for the service for a couple years). But in the current format, it's pretty much useless. I guess it's time to move on. retired engineer by Phil_in_Houston on Sep 04, 2014 Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ This was a great podcast for years (5 star). Unfortunately they have made 45 minute dumps of the radio show instead of short segments of the important interviews. I guess that is ok if you want up to the minute reports on yessterdays news. Sadly I can only listen to the occasional short interview that they still include. Went from Valuable Shorts to a Program Dump by cyberbiker on Aug 19, 2014 Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ The kinds of people who listen to Bloomberg Surveillance are busy. We needed a few shorts of wisdom from Surveillance guests as the podcast use to be designed. However, it is now a segmented dump of the entire Bloomberg Surveillance radio program. Bad move! Bloomberg podcasts - Downgraded from Buy to Don't Bother by 53Consulting on Sep 21, 2014 Rating: ★☆☆☆☆ They've ruined their very strong podcasts. Instead of editing their media streams and providing interviews with guests they now simply cut 30-50 minutes continuously. Evidently they think people who download their podcasts to listen at a later date are interested in news and advertising bits from prior days. Pathetic.
Read more
crbfile
Please Return to the Interview-by-Interview Format
Recently, some Talking Stock podcasts have been released as 45-60 minute continuous blocks extracted straight from the Bloomberg radio broadcast. I strongly prefer the interview-by-interview podcast format. It allows me to focus on the podcasts in which I’m interested. Alternately, maybe chapters can be added to the continuous broadcast to allow skipping ahead in the podcast. Thanks.
thejhellman
A must for investors
The host Pimm Foxx is sharp and inquisitive. Great for new and experienced investors. Covers broad range of market news and insight.
Gus and the kids
Awful
Pimm Fox is horrid when it comes to facilitating the flow of a conversation. Way too much interrupting, and he dives into "the devil's advocate" line of questioning before the guest can even lay out their thesis. Sadly, Carol Massar is even worse. As far as I can tell, all she is trying to add to the program is her ditzy irrelevant opinions, with an occasional "I can be a serious journalist too" questions. Absolutely unlistenable.
Read more
Leon_Phelps
From good 2 g8
I'm OCD with Taking Stock. BFF Pimm. jc
Jey Z
Excellent !!!
Always find the interviews very interesting and Mr Fox digs deep and is very thoughtful. However, I am not a fan of Ms Masser or her style and she appears to dominate the interviews often.
Need-More-News
Crashed my phone
Tried to download this and now the iPod app on my phone crashes whenever I try to run the podcast feature. Thanks.
LJD10293
I used to love it...
This used to be my favorite podcast when they had the whole show as one file. It was perfect to listen to while working out, or just to listen to while doing household chores. Now that it is broken into sections I find I don't listen to it as much. Its hard to know what order the podcasts are in and generally cumbersome to sync it. If they brought back the whole show as one podcast I'd start listening again!
Read more
leeidiot008
Load more