Average rating:

5
out of 23385 ratings.

......this narrator though

by eqluv247 on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Why does his narration sound like robo software ....

Review by Patrick

by i2! on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I am coming to this podcast very late and I’m okay with this. The surplus of episodes allow me to continuously binge this show to catch up. This is one of the two podcasts that got me to enjoy podcasts. Before, I thought them a waste of time.

Outstanding

by Jeremy Ruan on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Literally amazing. Why couldn’t school be taught like this. Aaron actually makes history interesting listen to, in an almost poetic way. I am addicted

A podcast worth sharing with others

by jjake55 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lore is such a fun listen and is on my weekly rotation. It gives me great conversation starters and others always appreciate the podcast recommendation.

So good!! Highly recommended!

by lavender1742 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a listener since close to the beginning and have watched the show get better and better as Manke hits his stride. The tv show is pretty good too but I must say I prefer the podcast!

Alex Serrano

by Highlander of Leon on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent show. Do you happen to have any episodes about St. Augustine, FL. With it being the oldest city in America I figured there should be some good Lore stories.

So Good!.!...!.... but...

by Phenomenal. on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Hey! I really like the show! But I liked it way more before you got picked up by Amazon. Since then there’s always a noticeable.. if subtle.. but definitely ideological.. slant. I won’t say what type of slant, because you already know what type.. and b/c now you can’t cite this comment for any sort of point-age in a conversation— “What does that comment mean by slant? I bet it means XYZ idealogical or political muck.”YOU CAN’T PROVE STICK!Anyhoo. I’m sure you’re working in an entirely new atmosphere. Going from a podcast to books and live series has got to introduce crazy new elements to your profession. (Haven’t read the books but I do like the Amazon series)But, as many fans of artists and the like have bellowed to the objects of their fandom before: DON’T SELL OUT! ..and/or DON’T MAKE IT POLITICAL!Thanks much.

Can't stop listening

by WrightMeggs on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've got a long commute and I've listened to all of the episodes of low in the last month and a half... Just not when I'm driving home in the dark. Aaron Mahnke does a great job including the history behind the legends without taking away from the spooky side of the story. A must listen for October! 👻🎃

Fun and creepy

by NameShakin' in Seattle on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast if you like strange stories about history that just might be true.

Education & Spooky!

by delrae92 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So I love hearing about weird historical facts, especially if they’re sorta creepy. This podcast satisfies that need better than any other I’ve looked into! It’s educational, creepy, and well written. I highly recommend!

Fantastic!

by Ashlien2 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Aaron keeps me engaged in every tale! I can listen for hours and frequently do while I work or do tasks at home. I’m absolutely a fan!

BEST PODCAST EVER!

by 70MamaLisa on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Honestly, I have yet to find another podcast that pales in comparison to Lore. Its always new, intriguing, mysterious, unexpected, mesmerizing and much much more!! I have a hard time waiting for the next weeks podcast to come out, so I always go back and listen over and over to older episodes. I love the music and Aaron’s voice is so relaxing and completely draws me in..I look forward to what my kids call “Moms quiet Lore time” every week..

Fascinating

by eclaire90 on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want to hear about some real life spooks leading up to Halloween, you are in the right place!

Awesome

by Aelorien on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just started listening to Lore about 3 weeks ago and love it!!! It makes my commute to work something to look forward to. Wouldn’t change a thing.

Lore

by PennyBloom on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Can you do a episode on the Donner Party. Thanks!

Excellent

by Lizizlovely on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've just started listening (only on episode 9) and I am excited to continue, through each and every episode that follows. Such an excellent podcast; what a genius idea, to compile these stories and tell their history. The way Aaron puts them all together is great - not over the top and trying to scare you. He truly has the best way of relaying these horrors... Just letting them be the chilling stories they already are at their core. Oh, and he has a perfect voice for this, truly.

Love the stories ... but ...

by texansteve on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the stories and the presentation. The melancholia is soothing and somewhat addictive. I know that there are 98 of them and I have loved them all, but Episode 4 still sticks in my craw a bit, and it’s why I can’t give five stars. The McMillan/Afterglow story is fascinating and full of occurrences that are well-documented and still ongoing. However, why did the author feel it important to shame and belittle the residents of the island. I’ve lived on San Juan Island for more than a decade, and I have no idea who this wrestler he mentions might be. We have amazing residents, many of whom can trace their ancestry back to the original settlers. The community is strong here, boasting many world-renowned and not so renowned but highly talented artists and musicians, CEOs and leaders of industry, great inventors and forward thinkers, but, most importantly, simple and compassionate people dedicated to conserving the earth, the environment and our small-town community from over-commercialism. Many like me are spiritual refugees, who were drawn to the islands for healing and realized once we arrived the strong connection our souls have to the islands, recognizing places and people as if we had been here many times before through many lifetimes. So there really was no need to make us out as ill-educated country bumpkins living isolated on a rock in the middle of nowhere. We are a thoughtful, well-grounded and open-hearted group of people who care for one another and know exactly where we are. Furthermore, the island chain is and has been a place of solice and spiritual transformation for centuries going back millennia to the original inhabitants. I realize your comments might have been meant as poetic license intended to somehow add humor to your story, but the end result was really quite demeaning to some very lovely people who extended courtesy to you with open arms.

Always looking forward to the next episode!

by Landon T Stone on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

To sum Lore up; A drop of history each time you listen!

Hooked from the beginning!

by IK the Troll on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Lore Podcast became my very favorite podcast from the very moment that I discovered it. I ended up binge listening to it until I was caught up, and since then have been eagerly awaiting every episode since. Octobers are a blessing in that we get twice as many episodes, and now thanks to the addition of Cabinet of Curiosities and Unobscured, we are gifted with the bizarre education of even more historical abnormalities! I take every chance I get to share the existence off Lore with my friends, because I don’t want them to miss out on the intriguing knowledge therein, and thus far none I have exposed the podcast to have been disappointed.

I love it!

by Szaraparamo92 on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t get enough of this podcast! Each episode is the perfect mix of creepy and interesting and Aaron’s Mahnke soothing voice tops it off!

Just say hi

by Labs96 on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You always say you like when people say HI I move from ct to ga this year and this so nice that this hasn’t (like radio stations) Keep up what you do Thank you

Great podcasts, wonderful live shows/book signings

by pantrog on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just attended a book signing here in ATL, and it was so much fun. Mr. Mahnke is witty, entertaining, well-spoken, and not only fully engaged with his audience; his enthusiasm and willingness to engage with attendees was clearly heartfelt. He made every one of us aware how appreciative he is of our enjoyment of his podcasts (especially context/style) but also that he was interested in audience feedback and wanted to hear our voices. So refreshing; its very powerful to have someone who's tasted success still connect with regular folks. Please check out his podcasts; if you're interested in quirky, often spooky or unsettling history you'll enjoy, if you're interested in the more unusual aspects of the historical record, you'll get hooked. His podcasts make driving in traffic something to look forward to instead of dreading. He also got us through Hurricane Irma (batteries and downloads before power loss). Cheers, so glad to be able to enjoy his perspective and creativity in presenting historical nuggets to us.

good

by 6515storycraze on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

enjoy the real stories and story telling of this podcast hope to have more enjoy more than no sleep which says alot but really love these story pods especially this particular one

My Favorite Podcast Ever

by mrshall26 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, fantastic story telling, and straight to the point! He jumps right in and never looks back. My favorite podcast and a Great Show. Super excited for season 2!

Tantalizingly weird

by MissyMom44 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't usually dig horror. But ghost stories, dark folklore, and general creepiness is just enough to get the spine tingly & impart that teeny shudder that comes with the unexplained. Listening to Lore is one of my very favorite things. I find Aaron Mahnke's voice & style to be, well, comforting, actually. The stories, while enjoyable at any time, pair perfectly with a hot beverage & a grey Autumn day. It's just that barest spookiness that captures the imagination & is reminscent of The Legend of Sleepy Hollow told while huddling safe in your house. Just lovely.

One of the absolute best podcasts out there

by mcatpeery on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is nothing not to love about this podcast. The storytelling is top notch, the research is excellent, and the content is creepy and spellbinding. The only problem is that it was my "gateway drug" to podcasts, thus ensuring that all of my free time is immediately filled with them! One of my top podcast recommendations. Thank you!

My favorite podcast

by zombie143 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been following this podcast for a few years now. The mixing of facts and lore paired with Aaron’s delivery make every episode a wonderful story.

Hi

by lindsssz on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi

Out of Stories?

by LeeMiro on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I fear Aaron has run out of ghosts. Lately, I'm hearing a number of stories that are so "classic", I expect every one of his listeners has heard it before. The ghost hitchhiker and the girl with the black ribbon around her neck come to mind. As it happens, both stories are in a popular 80s anthology for kids titled "Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark." Aaron, please tell me you aren't just re-writing from you dog-eared copy! I've always thought the strength of your show was your research. If you're out of material, I'd rather hear you delve into new terrain than rehash these oldies.

Great narrative of things that “go bump in the night.”

by LisaMT27 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nicely done! I like how the narrative is combined with the melodic music in the background. Reminds me of The Twilight Zone and certainly got me in the Halloween mood without the “I’m too scared to sleep” aspect! The tales are fascinating and make me want to explore some of these places, too. Thanks!

Very good

by bloglo on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is probably one of the best podcast being produced right now. Very entertaining and well thought out and written

Great Storytelling

by June126 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always fun to listen to.

Fun and creepy every night

by aliscar19981 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I watch Aaron mankes lore every night because it’s just fun and awesome 👏 to watch ( clap mean applause and awesome 😎)

Intelligent, rich, and spooky story telling

by ADBZFamily on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Our family loved to listen to these during this summer at night around a campfire at the lake... a few made us hustle back into the cottage!

Amazing!❤️

by kelly daugherty on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s creepy in a good way and is very well written. My favorite - wait for them is to come out all the time. They’re really entertaining and fun to listen to. Love this podcast!

Literally my favorite podcast

by admarks on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is AMAZING. Every time I get a notification of a new episode and I listen right away. The story telling is captivating, and I hang on every word. I CAN NOT recommend this podcast enough. If the paranormal, folklore, and supernatural history are your jam, then this podcast is your new best friend.

Used to be great

by Alec Pflaumer on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I used to love this podcast but I feel like the stories haven’t been as good lately. The earlier episodes talked about ghosts, creatures, mystical objects, killers, ACTUAL FOLKLORE, etc. but now I feel like episode after episode it’s the same story about some spiritualist or medium followed by a story about widespread disease. It’s been getting old. I also don’t think it would hurt if Aaron tried changing up his narration style every now and then.If you like this podcast you will probably enjoy Unexplained, which I’ve found satisfies my need for spooky podcast stories much better. It’s vibe is a lot darker and more mellow and the content is superb.I’ll keep listening to Lore one but in hopes that it improves and I think it has great potential, but it could use some work.

Ugh

by like_I_said on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This guy’s voice and his style of storytelling is so boring and sophomoric. It’s been recommended to me by a lot of people, but I found it insufferable.

Keeps me up at night

by Cjbrosy on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am already obsessed with this podcast it’s creepy and intriguing. I never thought I would get into a podcast until LORE!

love it.

by Brunette1122 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy listening to this podcast at night. I don't think it would be as entertaining during the day, even though the historical elements are interesting. At night, I find the stories mixed with his soothing quiet voice creepy. The history makes it interesting and more real, even not being much of a supernatural believer myself. The episodes that I find the most chilling are the crimes/stories commited by humans. I really enjoy these podcasts and look forward to more!

This usually isn't my thing...

by sarahtonin16 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But I love this podcast! I started listening to it yesterday and I'm hooked! I'm gonna eventually listen to every episode, it's addicting and so good.UPDATE: this is one of my favorite currently-airing podcasts. I currently have a couple episodes backlogged and I cannot wait to catch up!

Creepy and oddly calming

by Crualla on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The narrator of this chilling podcast has a calming voice which brilliantly juxtaposes the eerie content of this podcast. These stories keep me awake at night is the best way. I love to listen to this while I work. And it is so interesting to hear all of these true accounts from across history and the world.

Still one of the best

by Urpso on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lore remains one of my favorites. It remains just as fun and fascinating as when it started.

Lovelovelove!

by MaddyTheCatGirl 🐱 on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for the podcast! And a huge thank you for the Hamilton reference in episode 64!!!! Hopefully, "tomorrow there'll be more of us" fans😂. Keep up the good work!😄😄👍

Great Podcast!

by DracheMithfaher on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Content and presentation is fantastic!Aaron Mahnke is an excellent story teller. Highly recommend Lore, Cabinet of Curiosities and can’t wait for Unobscured

Fun show

by Pursuit702 on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great little snippets and well researched!!

Long and repetitive

by ChristineJack on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m sure it was better when it came out. However it’s Repetitive info is annoying and as a binge-listen, it’s longer than I would like

Just yes. Please listen

by Fleetingss on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Lore since late 2015. I am still a religious and avid listener, and would encourage—especially in the month of spooks—anyone to listen. Always my first podcast to recommend. Make sure to listen to every episode! Well worth your time. Aaron, keep doing what you’re doing. Much love

Well researched, well presented, well loved

by Morrigan Corbeau on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't think that I will ever properly state how much I love LORE. I've been listening since the fifth episode and have been patiently waiting for each and every episode as they are released since. Aaron's delivery is engrossing and engaging, there are times where you'll catch on to where the info or lore is going but you don't ever feel like you want to miss the way Aaron delivers it or unravels all the threads to reach the conclusion. Give this podcast a chance if you love myths, legends, and lore with the human side showing that "sometimes the truth is more frightening than fiction" - you won't be disappointed.

GREAT!

by Wog75 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it-so creepy, sometimes shocking, always insightful. I love the way this adds such an interesting layer to my understanding of history. Totally recommend!Hi Aaron! (He likes it when people say hi 😁)