Average rating:

5
out of 6846 ratings.

AMAZINGLY ADDICTIVE

by Awest23 on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to the first few episodes a skeptic because I didn't want "fake" stories. I am a huge fan of books on tap/someone reading to me so I am always looking for a good book/voice.Aaron's voice is captivating and expressive... it keeps you engaged in full wonder! I am originally from New England and many of these lore stories have connections in the New England area which has such a crazy but interesting history. I was halfway through the episodes and I made my husband start listening to them with me... he got hooked quickly too!Aaron has books he has written but they are tough to find if you don't have a tablet. I tried all the stores in my area and everyone says buy it/download on their website... I want paperback.Come to northern va or wash D.C. And share your stories Aaron!!!

One of the best

by Monandez on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

On a long road trip I convinced my mom to listen to a bunch of episodes with me, after I explained to her what a podcast is and that no you cannot order them on CD. The storytelling is dynamic and the piano gives it an incredibly creepy, almost ethereal feel. It's one of my favorite podcasts. My mom ended up loving it so much that now I call her when the new episode hits so we can listen to it together.

I really tried...

by Oooorileyy on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love the stories the host tells and the production quality of each episode is amazing. However, I cannot get past his "story telling voice". His voice reminds me of Keith Morrison from Dateline and I can't stand his voice either.

Obsessed

by WitTea on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this podcast less than 4 days ago and I've already hit episode 35. I can't stop listening. Aaron is such a talented storyteller. Theres very few episodes where I'm not left gasping or letting out expletives under my breath with wide eyes as he drops that last sentence. Such a great podcast, please do yourself a favor and listen!

A wonderful podcast, I've heard every episode at least twice.

by trinatopolis on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lore is perhaps my favorite podcast. It's cozy, intriguing, and my week is immediately made when I get a notification for a new episode. They make my drive to school enjoyable, they make doing house and yard work enjoyable. This podcast makes EVERYTHING enjoyable. I've learned so much about cases of strange phenomena that I simultaneously annoy and enamor my friends with everything I've learned. Give it a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Awesome!

by sometimesRiley on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always enjoyable, always creepy, always fascinating!!

Fantastic

by marla1ks on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Always compelling

Haters

by Almightygin on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a firm believer in the "if you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all" all of these hateful reviews are disgusting to me. If you don't like the show, don't listen to it. Don't write terrible reviews because you...You... dislike something about it. Terrible people always needing to breed drama for no reason other than they are unhappy in life! This show is amazing and the host is an excellent story teller! I can not wait for more and more.

Love

by mandyTX2012 on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect as a wind down before bed!

Engaging

by SaeCreole on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! He discusses folklore from different cultures with the most engaging language and respect and obvious research and knowledge. His commitment to providing citations satisfies additional curiosity. Give it a listen.

My first podcast

by INSANELY PICKY PHOTOGRAPHER on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't tell you enough how much I enjoy these beautiful written and read stories of folklore. Aaron and Chad are a perfect team with both the stories and music complimenting each other. I was brand new to podcasts when my roommate, who has been listening since the beginning, told me I HAD to start listening to this one. She had purchased tickets to the live show in SF and I needed to come with at least some understanding of the podcast beforehand. I ended up listening to all the available ones within one week with the live show right in the middle of that week. I'm in awe of how charming and interesting each and every story is! I leave each episode wanting to research the story further. I've spent hours just discussing them with my roommate. One of my pet peeves is radio or podcast hosts sounding fake or over the top cheesy. This is so far from the truth with Lore. Aaron's voice has become a familiar and comforting thing as well as Chad's beautiful scores. Do yourself a favorite and add this to your list of podcasts. Each one is a brief vacation from the real world and will leave you wanting more. Thank you Aaron and Chad for creating such a lovely place to escape to.

The greatest podcast

by punk_lawyer on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfectly researched and perfectly presented. This podcast has even made me and my father closer!

I can't wait for each and every episode!

by Saraja013 on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Exciting. Educational. Interesting. Enticing. Artistic.

Just the right thing

by _s_a_r_a_h_ on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my antidote to big data and dubious scientific studies raved over in TED talks. It talks respectfully about humans from the past who lived all over the world and believed in different things than we believe now, and how these beliefs still linger in modern life. The stories are well researched and always just the right length.

Ick.

by CRC1981 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I want to like this podcast. I really do. The topics are interesting and well researched. But the narrator is unbelievably pompous, pedantic, and overly dramatic. Just... No.

Love, love, love.

by PodcastFan0701 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this podcast. Honestly, the host can be a bit monotone, which can wear on your nerves if you binge episodes. But I think you're good to go if you examine self control while listening.

Great addition to the podcast world.

by Belongamick on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and entertaining. Makes me look forward to the new episodes. Good job!

Love it

by MineBoss25 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just went to see a live show and I was not disappointed! I love hearing these stories, and it's one of my ways to entertain myself when I'm doing chores.

Favorite Podcast of All!

by TheMsBrooke on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love Lore and wait for new episodes from the moment I finish one until the next. The stories and the history behind each Lore is addictive!

A painful listen

by manonthemount on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast treats tall tales as factual accounts without acknowledging the obvious, scientific conclusions. There's better, more honest podcasts for myths and legends.I might. Be. Able to stomach the. Format if. The rhythm of narration. Didn't. Read like this. Sentence.

Addicted

by Jmbrn11 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore this podcast. I wish the episodes came out weekly, but I respect the time that quality research and storytelling takes.

One of my favorites

by @TyInStL on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Short, very consumable podcast with interesting topics. The episode about Estes Park, The Stanley Hotel and Stephen King was my favorite.

Best podcast I have listened to in a long time!

by OceanOfStorms on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been searching for something to listen to for quite some time and this Podcast is great. Every episode is 20-30 minutes long so it's perfect for a short car ride or just straight up binging.I love watching and reading stories about the paranormal so this was perfect for me!

Addictive, Entrancing!

by GreatGuesserTerribleArtist on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent podcast created by someone dedicated to crafting a high-quality show. Mahnke has a distinct vocal delivery which lends additional depth to the already complex stories he retells, and his commitment to historical accuracy furthers the intrigue. I'll often listen to an episode or two when I'm winding down after a long day, each story's pacing and measured delivery is uniquely calming for me - even when the stories are anything but calm!TL;DR - This is a fantastic podcast for a number of reasons and if I could give it higher than a five star rating, I would. A+ 10/10 top quality content.

Absolutely brilliant

by Lacey Jo Greer on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

New to podcasts! (I know) A client of mine told me about Lore and thought I would like it! She was right! Aaron Mehnke is an incredible writer and story teller. I am a huge fan of history as well as unusual events and this podcast is a great combination of both! I cannot stop listening! So good!!!

I'm in love

by croll243 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts out there. Always at the edge of my seat. I really do appreciate story telling & think the host does a wonderful job at doing so. Definitely recommend Lore!

My Favorite Podcast!!!

by RCgaming 8290 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every time I listen to the latest episode, I just can't wait for the next episode! I LOVE THIS PODCAST, LISTEN TO THIS PODCAST!!! Thank you, Aaron Mahnke for making the best podcast ever! I love listening to LORE, and every time a new episode is released, I sync it to my iPod, and go straight to listening to it. Thank you so much for the best podcast ever!!! 😂

robot voice WHY? can't listen

by ejrsoft on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I'd love to listen to these well-told stories but Aaron Mahnke's ROBOT VOICE DRIVES ME CRAZY. Why is he so monotonous and staccato? Adios bye bye I just cant stand listening no matter how intriguing, well written, or well researched the content. How is this show so popular??? I really find his cadence disturbing

I used to like it

by Mayor Dana on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

In the beginning, it was bad. I could not stay awake during first episode. Then the castle episode came out, and I thought it was going to get better. But now all it is is the host speculating about "supernatural" things that are clearly just people hoping to make some easy money or get attention by faking supernatural experiences. Also, please stop with the religious stuff. It does not make me more likely to listen. It makes me less likely to listen. The ads are also very annoying.

My favorite podcast hands-down!

by RealBACONATOR2 on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every other monday I can't wait to listen to this awesome podcast! It finally offers explorations into creepy/scary history grounded in sense, but also with the great narrative tone of others. Lore is very very good at doing the podcast

My Nightly Bedtime Story

by iUsedtoBeSomebody on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I say to my husband every night - want to hear what this Lore was about. So interesting, I usually listen to an episode at least twice to get the details.

Love this podcast!

by goonygoohoo on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Addicted since I was introduced to it a little over a year ago

The Best Podcast Out There

by oopsmith on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The art of storytelling is had by few, but Aaron Mahnke is a gifted storyteller, with a fantastic voice. His stories are riveting and historically accurate. I can not say enough about how amazing this podcast is. I believe people are hungry for great story, to step away from the isolation in social media and technology to just listen; truly listen and appreciate a great story. This is a gem, a dark, black, macabre gem! It is not often I financially contribute to a podcast, but this is one I do not want to see fade away. I am a big fan.

Great story telling

by Bobmouse65 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent short stories. Robert the doll creeped me out. As he says in the podcast, he is a horror fan and you should expect that kind of story. If you what to listen to a lecture go to that podcast that sponsors him. I forgot it title. Sorry Arron. Keep up the great work.

Amazing, fascinating, and wonderfully written!

by jmk3482 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The topics covered are extremely varied and diligently researched. There are stories and history that are unknown to me that are fascinating but also old favorites retold in excellent detail. I would highly recommend this podcast to anyone who enjoys fairytales, history, and stories of the macabre.

Excellent & informative

by Andruw Hart on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. He does his research and presents the tails in a way that makes listening very enjoyable.

Simply the best

by TiggerMKO on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome research, can't wait for TV show!Tina from Gilroy, CA

Afterall... it seams

by StupidRabbitKillYourself on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

fun. stories. told. like. this. it seems.

Great!

by Hellenmist on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast. Very nice story telling.

Still one of my favorites

by Urspo on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He does a splendid job telling a tale.

Love Lore

by cooper_am on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been a long time listener. And I absolutely love Lore. It's a perfect balance of spook and story.

Fantastically creepy

by Janelleam on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the fascinating and creepy stories Aaron tells. High quality production on top of the high quality writing and storytelling.

Amazing

by Naome2323 on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think the stories are great and different. These aren't stories that have been told over and over. The background music is Perfect for the content and I might even be interested in a LORE soundtrack! lol I also think his tone and voice are perfect for the stories he tells. Amazing job!

Great!

by Kyrptos on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast and the sound quality is amazing

Love it

by Nancy On on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I LIKE Aaron's voice and his storytelling style. It's calming and perfect for the tone of his stories. I can tell he put a lot of thought and care into each episode. From the writing, to the storytelling, to the music he chooses. His stories bring me "back in time" into different eras, different parts of history and locations, which has always been fascinating and intriguing to me. LORE gets me through my morning commutes to work. Just for a moment, I'm in another world, another time, and gaining another perspective. Keep up the GREAT work Aaron, I am now a loyal fan of your work!

Love his narrative approach!

by Cottonwisp on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I know a lot of people don't enjoy his voice, which I get. But I find his theatrical narrative and slow pacing relaxing. It's great to listen to while I'm working and I don't want to bother trying to keep up with fast paced podcasts. The content is definitely "ghost story" esque. Don't be expecting facts and history, but the eerie-ness to it is fun and it's interesting to hear about the superstitions that have occured.

Addicting, intriguing HORROR!

by Mercyvilla on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far the best podcast. Talks about folklore that formed our past and current society. I binge listened for a week! I'm addicted!

An amazing show by a talented writer

by Catnat235 on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am extremely fascinated by the mystery and psychology of mythology, folklore, and true retellings of unexplained events, and this show has all of that and more. The atmosphere, organization, writing, and research that goes into all of the episodes are all amazingly high quality and it has become one of my favorite things to listen to. If you're someone who likes the dark, strange, and mysterious, but also is interested in the human psychology behind the development of folklore and mythology, I highly recommend this show.

Great podcast!

by cboisvert812 on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the presentation of the material and the research put into each episode to make them compelling. I've thoroughly enjoyed all of the episodes I've listened to. I'm nearly caught up!

Astonishing!!!

by Natasha333 on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast immediately got my attention and I am now and forever a Lore fan. I have recommended this to many friends who have also become hooked. The music and storytelling are chilling. It feels like ghost stories for adults but with true facts. I look forward to hearing these stories for years to come. 😀