Average rating:

4.5
out of 529 ratings.

State of the Union

by ModehAni on Feb 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to several podcasts. I just found you this year, 2019. I enjoy your podcasts. I found Zach to be sour in his personality, unhappy sounding, a glass half full kind of guy. The other podcasts were much better than this one. The other co-hosts more upbeat. You’ve got a good thing going on here. I’ll keep listening.

Used to be good

by bmd20199 on Feb 11, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to be good. Now it’s very clearly biased

Lacking Nick

by Springfield Daddy on Feb 10, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just another far left hater...

No more Zach

by stroskez on Feb 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. I appreciate the different perspectives and rational discussions. The ability to see a different point of view is something I appreciate. I'm not a patreon supporter so please listen to those who help financially support the castMike and Jay are great - I miss them when they are not on. Trey whom I most agree with is also good although he overuses the word "fascinating". Ken can have an annoying viewpoint but he uses rational arguments. Will is a decent fill in as were the the recent hosts with a female perspective. I found Zach to be not representative of the above. He failed to provide rational discussion points. For example I believe there are several good arguments supporting universal basic income but the fact that people Zach knows in the Tech industry that are paid for not working is not one of them. Additionally his characterization of the governor of Virginia as typical of the people of that state was baseless. Please don't bring him back.

Great but...

by anothercoolsandwich on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the reasoned debate, but I often wonder how it would look it Jay was actually challenged on the way the current admin is run. It comes across as a bunch of “we will agree to disagree”. I want him to be actually pushed and defend what his party is doing. Stop softball-ing him.

Thank you

by SusanRo on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For striving to debate issues in a civilized manner. I’ve given up on most media news since they continue to push their views for rating rather than report facts.

Balanced discussion

by dis blood runs preeeet on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Overall good political discussion providing some much needed neutrality and civil debate.Jay has gotten way harder to listen to, but I guess that’s the point of the show. Seems more partisan than before in that he voiced support for national level GOP stances which to my ear do not necessarily align with his well enunciated underlying political philosophy.

Phone line.

by mreyes1225 on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

They never shout at each other due to Right guy has dry personality or little passion in his voice. The Left guy is more interested in hosting the show and is not really putting his real passion into the politics. It’s like they both live in a bubble or fish tank. Like a weird political doctor Katz from 90’s.

Great alternative to MSM. I learn something every time.

by California searcher on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The discussions are respectful, focused on issues, well-informed and insightful. Great way to try to understand what's happening in politics.

Difficult to listen to!

by HomeisJax on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I found the guest extremely difficult to listen to and almost felt like I was listening to a beauty pageant Q&A! Talking slow and “whatnot” and “so-on” and “you-know” and slowwwly enunciating each word WILL NOT fool the listeners into thinking that you know what you’re speaking about. And regurgitating an old article about President Trump’s tax returns, as well. Even going so far as to bring his dead father into it. Making a “generational-crime” tie, yeah, that’s the ticket! Not! If Trump’s tax returns are illegal, I suspect that it won’t be the newspaper breaking the news, but that the IRS will be taking care of business. They Have Zero Love for the “Right”! I have yet to see a Dem OR a Rep. pay in more than they have to or bypass a loophole or a deduction they can legally take, and rightfully so! Until laws are changed it’s not illegal, but quite smart! You know how that ol’ greedy man in the White House is, trying to get double the pay; oh wait, he’s not taking a salary at all, is he? Pfft Try Again! It’s sad really, this was my first episode, as I was excited when I read this was a bipartisan P’cast! To the riches goes the spoils; or something along those lines! Bipartisan Lines, of course! heh Sayonara Sheri F.

Interesting

by Beneatnwheaties on Sep 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting and CIVIL unlike most of what is on TV. They should keep working to make it better. A recent episode for some reason had one voice on the left channel and the other on the right. That was extremely irritating and I hope that was just a production error.

Great commentary

by ElSteve0Grande on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are awesome to listen to. They keep an even kilter when talking about hot button issues and give you a good insight with a practical bipartisan discussion of events. I even like them more then npr. This is the only podcast I actually frequently check to see when a new one is out. Keep up the good work guys.

Balanced, well-informed discussions

by andrew.conkling on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are well-read and intelligent, and they disagree civilly and often. It’s a great discussion, and helps me stay well-rounded in my understanding. Mike, Jay, Trey, and Ken all bring nuanced perpsectives from different viewpoints and are very worthwhile to describe and to discuss topics.

Thoughtful, intelligent, insightful and balanced news about politics

by CNB080109 on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate this show for how well thought-out each episode is, for the wide-ranging representation of political philosophies, for the lack of unproductive yelling, and for the general respectful exchange of ideas. Whenever something happens in the news, this show is one of the first places I go to inform and clarify my own thoughts on the events...since mainstream news can be so hysterical and emotionally charged. Thank you for all you do!

Has turned just as awful as cable news

by PodcastAfficionado917 on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This started with, I think, a genuine desire to create a show that was factual and civil. It has now evolved into something that in terms of quality of content, factual integrity, etc, is no better than standard shouting matches on cable news channels. Serious need for fact checking, as partisan speakers throw in lots of unsubstantiated claims. And serious need for thinking about the format, role of moderator, etc. Deeply disappointing. Do not waste your time on this one.

Nope

by vhhshdhx on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Two white dudes faking like they’re super rational while discussing the political pros and cons of separating children from their adults. Into kid jail. Nope.

Decent balance.

by I domt want a nickname on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Found these guys because they had dan Carlin on and I enjoy him. Ended up staying with them since that interview. While jay will continually tow the party line on most issues, I find mikes thoughtful deconstruction of an issue educational. While they don’t get to deep into the weeds on issues, they still manage to give each topic a decent length of time. I listen to quit a few podcasts and these two tend to be the most balanced.

The Best of the Best

by Anne HW on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't remember how I found this show, but I'm so glad I did. I can't recommend it highly enough. Mike and Jay are a great team who give both sides of the political perspective on current topics. They often don't agree, as expected, but they often do. I tend to be slightly more conservative and I truly appreciate hearing Michael Baranowski's more liberal side of the conversation. Things occasionally get a bit heated, but they are never disrespectful towards one another or their audience. I've learned a lot more about "policy," which is what is lacking in a lot of the online rants.

Civil, intelligent discussion

by StephanieV10 on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of political and legal podcasts, across the political & ideological spectrum. The Politics Guys is one of my favorites. It is possible for intelligent, rational people to disagree without demonizing one another. They have interesting discussions, and they explain their reasoning in a civil manner. I highly recommend!

Level Headed Conversations

by TheCuriousFool on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I get very frustrated with the partisan ranting that colors what seems to be the majority of our political discourse in this country. Its enough to make me want to pull back and just not care anymore. I love hearing the thoughtful discussion and debate on this podcast and nobody gets upset or makes wild and ridiculous claims about "the other side". There is disagreement for sure but they are very respectful in their criticisms of each other and this is a delight to hear.Highly recommended!!

Civil discourse? Really?

by dammitdave2001 on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In case you forgot what it sounds like when people disagree without fighting, (and you like politics,) this podcast is for you. The hosts have different political viewpoints and talk about current events. There’s no conflict or debates, just different points of view. Seems revolutionary these days......

Repeat Offenders

by 5674inCincy on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Listened to a few, and as with most political pods, both hosts just repeat whichever tv channel's points they agree with. Was sad by this, since I was excited to listen to a local pod. Keep on keepin' on, I'm just crotchety

Just another unbalanced political podcast

by purdue09 on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This isn't thoughtful or constructive political podcasting. Both of these gentleman (Mike and Jay) are extremely biased, and any time Jay attempts to express an opinion, Mike loses his mind and is downright condescending. Being a progressive liberal myself, I'm downright embarrassed by his behavior. I'd recommend Steele and Unger Rational Radio to anyone in the market for truly bipartisan debate and solutions.

Insightful

by PWadd1062Ab on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Thank you for this insightful reporting.

bleh

by durnanuhr on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

this claims to be a bipartisan podcast, but it's really more like ultra conservative and moderate conservative. so, one star for false advertising. the host (the moderate) NEVER, EVER pushes back on anything... just says "ok" and moves on. there is no debating, it is just "well let's agree to disagree" (IF they disagree on something, which is actually less frequently then you would think) and next topic. just. so. much. BLEH.

balanced and full of long ads

by Smegma McDermott on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

These guys put on a pretty decent show. There are opposing viewpoints and both parties are rational all of the time. It's nice to get a reasonable and dissenting opinion when they're hard to find in your personal circle.That said, the ads are ridiculous. They're always at least one and a half minutes long, and sometimes they even eclipse two minutes. This happens multiple times in a regular episode - it's not a one time deal. This is the only podcast that I skip the ads on simply because they make them so aggravating and drawn-out.As a side note, the sound quality could be improved quite a bit. Sadly, the ads also have the best quality, despite them being recorded by the same host who's talking most of the time.

Enjoy the balanced discussions!

by Primrose95032 on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a liberal, very anti-Trump. As much as I beleive my way is the right way, I don't want to have narrow minded thinking. i love hearing a calm and informed back and forth on the issues. I enjoy hearing the 'other side' of issues. Gives me a deeper understanding and maybe we can find a place for compromise.

Love The Politics Guys!

by Orwell2611 on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for bringing a refreshing, truly bipartisan approach to tough political issues - finally! I love the interviews, spectacular guests, the hosts (Mike and Jay) are thoughtful and have fantastic chemistry. I'll be a long time listener!

Excellent

by Nancy03218 on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Often times news media is filled with hyperbole, irrelevance, bias, and aggressive grand-standing. Not this podcast. Deep and thoughtful conversations that include flexibility of thought and provide different yet intelligent perspectives on significant political issues of the day.

Finally had enough and unsubscribed

by Politics geek70 on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have listened to Politics Guys for over a year (maybe two) and have had some moments that have driven me crazy, but in my pursuit of getting out of my liberal echo chamber and hearing other perspectives, I continued listening. That is until today when I heard Mike interview Kurt Schlichter. There was no attempt to have a dialogue. Instead, Mr Schlichter was allowed to spew his theories without critical comment or questioning from Mike. I was appalled at how he described the "ideological" opposition to President Obama with no mention from Mike about birtherism or accusations of being Muslim (like that is supposed to be something bad or evil.) Also, when speaking about the Russia investigation, which I agree is dominating the news too much, Mr Schlichter was allowed to characterize democrats as being unable to accept the results of any investigation into the matter that would clear Trump and his associates. Mmmmm, Benghazi much? Mike neglected to mention how republicans could not let that go to the point they were promising to continue that investigation non-stop had Hillary been elected. Mike- you are supposed to be the left side of the argument and you completely abdicated your role in this episode. I am so disappointed. I have not always been pleased with your views, but this was too much. I am willing to offer one compliment to Jay (but it's not enough to keep me subscribed). i appreciated his compliments of Bryan Stevenson. Ezra Klein did a great interview of him on his podcast and it was awesome. I would recommend people listen to that podcast and/or read Bryan Stevenson's book.

Great!

by Logins bhifdgv on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best political podcast.

The only fair and balanced politics podcast out there

by dac596 on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of politics podcast, the majority of which are liberal podcasts which spend a lot of their time fretting about every single controversy that comes from the Trump White House. While this attention to the foibles of the White House are inevitable today, I do appreciate the focus to policy and policy implications that the politics guys provide. Moreover, I listen to each episode and end up optimistic about the future of government and politics because of the cordial nature that the two hose share their differences and similarities and beliefs. By not getting bogged down by the rhetoric and Pardison and pull arise the nature of politics, The Politics Guys provide listeners with the nuts and bolts of liberal and conservative viewpoints, and I appreciate that. I'd recommend this podcast to anyone who wants a more deeper understanding of the policy that are coming from Capitol Hill in the White House today while learning to express and share opposing viewpoints peacefully and respectfully.

Unbiased? "Both sides?"

by independentthinker4u on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

What a joke. Solid, uninterrupted trump bashing with no conservative expressions. Their so called "Conservative " never defends the conservative viewpoint and makes Joe Scarborough look like Barry Goldwater.

Calm down and listen!

by BasicWalker on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only podcast that almost forces you to listen to the "other" side - and, I'm grateful for that. It helps me understand (though not convinced at all) what they are feeling, thinking and viewing the current situation. Also, the sheer politeness of the hosts is such a refreshing change! For context - I listen to 7 political podcasts everyday :)Thank you!

Fair and balanced

by sewer_geek on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think you guys offer a fair and balanced look at current politics across the whole spectrum of viewpoints. Being somewhat of a novice in understanding politics and history, I appreciate your objective discussions. I find them to be a relief from today's hyper-sensational news media.

Balanced/great interviews

by Kerkjohn1981 on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm Conservative leaning listener and really enjoy this podcast

A poor man's Hannity and Colmes

by 4297465 on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast is a lot like watching the VP debate from 2000 with Dick Cheney on the right and Joe Lieberman on the "left." Essentially, you've got a staunch conservative host and a moderate co-host who pretends to represent the left. Jay throws out the usual conservative bombshells and Michael chirps, "Well, we'll have to agree to disagree on that, Jay." There's little fact-checking and the discussions are pretty shallow. I tried to give them a chance and listened to 20 or so episodes, but it never got any better.

Love this!

by Steelerchick2120 (Beth) on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the balanced views and great explanations of what is going on in the US government.

Most balanced political podcast

by Lexi311 on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's a pretty standard reaction for people to just laugh when you say you're looking for a nonpartisan podcast to listen to. The politics guys is by far the best I've found that balances/give both sides of the news and analysis on it. Bravo!

Jay is dismissive and rude.

by Loreli1212 on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've been listening for about three weeks and every episode I've thought Jay was nearly unbearably rude and dismissive of the liberal viewpoint. But I kept second guessing myself, thinking it might be my personal bias and I should continue to grit my teeth and listen with an open mind to get out of my echo chamber. This week was the last straw. When Jay actually espoused the belief that people at town halls were bussed in by professional organizers and that this form of civic engagement was nothing but meaningless noise that wouldn't make a difference... I've had enough and I will not listen again. Involvement in the political process is not meaningless noise, it's already made a difference (see e.g. Issa's call for special prosecutor), and to dismiss this grassroots movement as manufactured is the height of disrespect. You can't call yourself a respectful politics podcast as long as Jay says things like that and you've lost a listener.

Worth a Listen but the host doesn't deserve respect

by Steven Pertle on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I still listen to this show because I like the conversations and seeing both sides of the argument but just like most liberals I know the host undermines his own well-reasoned arguments by making inappropriate jokes about actions of Republicans in an attempt to belittle his co-host. The informed arguments he makes should be enough but he can't keep composure when it's needed.

Yay Politics

by Tbird0806 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! It's so nice to hear a cordial political discussion between opposing parties.

Thumbs Up!

by Manuel Rocker on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TPG is a must have tool to have in your tool box if you have an interest in keeping up with politics after the polarizing election of Donald Trump. Whether you lean L, R, or somewhere in between... listening on these two friends discuss them viewpoints from opposite sides of the spectrum is entertaining & informative. Listen for yourself and help support/promote political dialogue at this critical junction by subscribing and eventually leaving a review. -MDC,SoCal

Honest

by Josh - South Dakota on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone that is currently going to school to be an attorney, it is refreshing to hear informed civil discourse. I only wish these postings would pop up in my podcast feed more often. Mike and Jay present a terrific contrast in opinions, and constantly produce engaging content. Thank you guys for taking the time to share these discussions, keep it up!

balanced insights

by crods99 on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The real trick of this podcast is to present alternative political views without criticizing or belittling them. Everyone will find views here that they disagree with - that's kind of the point of it. But it is well balanced and avoids descending into argument or condescension. So it's a great way to hear sensible views from both sides, and avoid simply confirming your biases, without getting too wound up. It gives insights into alternative viewpoints on political events, but it's not the place to go for up to the minute political news. There's no shortage of other places to find that.

Great info

by 2amhookup on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these guys lay down the facts then give opinions! Good source of consistent news!

Worth a listen!

by Minnow303 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Hearing both sides of political issues is such a joy after being bombarded with one-sided opinions for so long. Thanks so much for what you do, I'm always looking forward to the next episode. Keep up the good work, it's much appreciated.

Required listening

by Tarcisius5 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you enjoy political podcasts you need to subscribe to this one. It's the only place you can hear both sides discussed rationally without nonsense talking points. America would be better if political media emulated The Politics Guys.

Great political perspectives!

by lcra45 on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a PhD student who often finds herself working too many hours in lab to effectively keep up with reading my usual news outlets. A few months ago I turned to podcasts to help stay informed and randomly came across The Politics Guys. The intellectual conversations that Mike and Jay have present coherent liberal and conservative arguments. Living in Berkeley, I tend to be stuck in a liberal bubble so hearing well-thought-out perspectives from opposing sides is very valuable even if I still may not agree with some of the statements in the end (sorry, Jay). Having these kinds of conversations are key to bridging the gap that is dividing our country so strongly. Anyway, I greatly appreciate this podcast and always recommend it to my friends. Thanks Mike and Jay for all of your work! I haven't missed an episode since I've started listening!

Polarization Claims Another Victim

by tstartrekdude on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Jay doesn't seem to want to engage anymore, he no longer tries to make arguments that people on the other side would be open to, arguing more with an imaginary democrat than the person in front of him. Mike seems frustrated in his inability to even find facts in common much less what they mean and Mike ends up triggering Jay by having to revert to arguments Jay sees as coming from untrustworthy media. The value of this show is not only throw opinions past each other and then saying at the end we agree to disagree, that doesn't have any more worth than the opinion slinging without token nod to conciliation.Both hosts have backed into their respective media bubbles to the point of stating outright mistruths on the show(not a large number, but much more now than six months ago). And worse being stuck in the quagmire of the arguments made by the sides on policy rather than trying to zoom out and find more root causes of problems. Disappointing (if understandable) that they were not able to keep the good spirit discussion under the pressure of the current political environment.