Average rating:

5
out of 3446 ratings.

So great!

by MyLastAtemptAtANickname on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all the hours of content! This podcast makes my workday fly and also scratches my fantasy/D&D itch without getting bogged down in rules and mechanics. It’s just the fun role playing aspects and it’s hilarious!

Chunt please

by CarterFromTheBlackLagoon on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So funny and so many buttholes.

A shapeshifting badger, a wizard, and a human

by ginjaninja9110 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A friend reccomended this podcast to me, and I have not been dissapointed. These guys really know how to hold an audience, and I can't wait to see where the story line goes.

The perfect improv podcast

by Emancipor on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Consistently funny, amazing chemistry and improv, great guests, well produced. How is it that Lore has its own TV show and this doesn't?

Perplexing

by Lonijae on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Although I’m unsure if I am doing you a disservice or an honor by continuing to listen, I just really adore this podcast.

Fight the Dark Lord!

by Masked Brute on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these guys.

Hilarious

by cowboysfan87 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Chunt please!!

Is it wrong to love a wizard?

by William Weightly on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I find my self falling more and more in love with Eusador the wizard(spelling). Not sure if he’s in to guys but if so..back off guys!

Praise

by Dennis the Plaid on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am only up to episode 51, but I am taking my time and enjoying it. Usidore is an Uber Mensch and needs his own podcast. Just wanted a chance to rate you guys at 5 stars because six is unavailable.

Trust me just listen to it

by Mayor Honey on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Honestly if you want to laugh and enjoy your down time this will do it! 😹 These guys are perfect lololol

Funniest podcast in Foon!

by hadrianvii on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just wrapped the Happy Hagbum episode with the Great Blue Tigers - I don’t know how they do it, but this podcast gets better and better every week. The guests are always tremendous, but it’s clear that the heart of the show is the joy and camaraderie between Arnold (“it’s Arnie”), Usidore, and Chunt. Nothing but love, actually for this wonderful podcast.

So much fun!

by @SamKulper on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoyed the show, keep it up! If you like Podcast, please check these folks out and support other independent podcasters. Keep listening! #PodTester #PodernFamily #100Pods #PWLT #UnderDogPods ~Sam

Silly

by CoolCat25@ on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just silly and fun. Thanks, I need that sometimes.

Can’t wait for the quest!

by Earth vs Soup on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s a super comforting formula.. feels like mst3k

Hilarious

by JessCkah! on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The best comedy podcast I've heard in a while. Some of their jokes go a little far, but the character work is great.

My new favorite podcast

by SteveNashMVP on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this gem and can’t stop listening to it. Absolutely amazing chemistry between the hosts. I laugh out loud every episode. Start from episode 1 and enjoy.

Love it!

by Carnasys on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m new to podcasts. Still exploring a bit but so far this is my favorite!

A Good Idea Poorly Implemented

by La Pirata on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've made it through nine episodes of Hello ("Goblins"), and this just isn't funny.The program started off with a premise interesting enough to try -- Human Male discovers that alternate universes are real, and this one is *magic*! -- but quickly devolves into the same tired "joke" multiple times.Arnie, the name of both the character and the program's apparently main creator, is an inconsiderate sod who constantly runs afoul of the "Stranger In a Strange Land" syndrome where he inevitalbly treads upon some social more of The Magical Land of Foom. His mainstay cohorts, Chunt the Shapeshifting-Into-Whatever-Animal-He-Sexes-Next-Currently-A-Badger and Usidore the Blue a-sort-of-Wizard, run off the premise that it's funny to always malign the Guy From Another World who doesn't understand their culture: each and every time, they act as if hapless Arnie should know these things already and clearly hold it against him.After a certain point, the joke wears thin. For me, it wore very thin by the third episode. Either Arnie needs to stop being so clueless and actually learn about the society he appears to be studying, or Usidore the Blue needs to transfigure Arnie into that stein as he threatened to do early on. Beyond that, there is NO payoff to this one-note joke. It's just "Arnie critically offends someone over some facet of Foonian society he doesn't know, or more likely just hasn't bothered to learn, Chunt and Usidore insult and belittle him, and we're on to the next repetition." If Chunt mauled him, or Usidore transfigured him into a variety of different things, perhaps there might be something. But it's just a series of people who get critically offended. The fact that Chunt sees Arnie as a friend, or the other way around, is beyond my understanding, as Arnie has done little to appear to earn the title & Chunt alternates between abusive and somewhat-less-abusive.I honestly don't understand why Usidore hasn't blown Arnie into his constituent particles or Chunt hasn't found the right rumor to drop that would cause the denizens of the Vermillion Minotaur to burn Arnie at the stake.This represents the main joke of at least the first nine episodes.That's not the only joke, of course, even if it is entirely overdone. HFtMT also features "Strange crossovers of Earth into Foon in *WACKY* ways!" with Arnie making the requisite wink-and-a-nod to the Earthlings noting how odd that is. Every. Time.As a for instance, the daughter of the keeper of the Minotaur is named Activia. Cue Arnie's giggling wink-and-nod, and his sidekicks' occasional singing of "Activi-aaa!" and the weak handwave of "sometimes we just like to sing it but we don't know why."The problem with this is, again, there's no real payoff. "Wow -- that's *WACKY*!" might work once or twice, but, at least nine episodes in, there isn't anything else to go on. There needs to be an explanation of *WHY* this has been happening. And if that explanation is still forthcoming, then it needed to come sooner.I've seen some people compare the vibe of HFtMT to "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy". I get it. There's a vibe there, but the problems noted above are what separates the Tavern from the Guide. Going by the original radio play, Arthur Dent (here, Arnie would be his analogue) at least starts learning things about his larger world (The Universe) at least by the time he's been flushed out of the Vogon airlock, where Arnie still stumbles every single time in his (The Magical Land of Foon). Arthur has grasped the idea that Vogons, as horrible as they are in literally every aspect, might still appreciate flattery of their equally repulsive poetry...yet Arnie still is making the mistake of ignoring the magical nature of his sideman Usidore (a freaking WIZARD) and sidething Chunt (a shapeshifter).Which again dovetails into the constant, flat, "joke" of how inept Arnie is at adapting to a new society and how horrible both of his side...things...treat him for it.Additionally, HFtMT feels largely unscripted and unrehearsed. I have no doubt that they've hammered out the main story points of each episode but I also would be unsurprised if that's as far as it went. Given some of the credits for the performers sound like they come from improv backgrounds, that would make some sense. Unfortunately, it just doesn't work because it feels so unpracticed: actors largely stumble through their lines, hemming and hawing as, presumably, they struggle to find something "in character" and not repetitive to say.Additionally, the only actor who, so far, has managed to consistently keep character is Matt Young, playing Usidore. The wizard is a perennial straight man, and has yet to even sound like he might be trying to hide a grin at some of the things he says. Pretty much everyone else cracks multiple times and laughs or smothers a chuckle where the jokes, such as they are, would indicate they should not laugh.Feeling unscripted is fine, but feeling unrehearsed is just bad form.At twenty to thirty minutes run-time for each, that represents an investment of about three to four hours. That is plenty of time to level the following criticism:HFtMT smacks of the failure of many comedy writers, who appear to set out to "write something funny" but wind up trying to force it. Yes, it is hard to write comedy. But that makes it even more important to not celebrate comedy that isn't good.And, at nine episodes in, Hello From the Magic Tavern just isn't funny.It could be: three-and-a-half hours or so is plenty of time for them to show the quality of the writing.The premise is sound. But they just don't quite get there.

Hilarious

by Idol Reaver on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is an absolute riot. In case you don’t know, Arnie fell into a dimensional portal behind a Burger King and wound up in the mystical land of Foon. He befriends a most powerful wizard named Usidore and a talking badger named Chunt. Arnie and his boon companions interview random inhabitants of Foon.If you enjoy fart jokes and high fantasy, subscribe immediately! Unless you don’t like your wizards with three anuses.

I don't want to talk about Earth podcasts

by Bretbubba on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As with most good improv, it is funny when it works and also funny when it fails.

Love

by Thoricfurball on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently started at the beginning. Best podcast ever!

Incredible concept!

by wilkywit on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the most creative podcasts I've encountered, with multiple layers of storytelling and meta-commentary. I love all the pop culture references disguised as fantasy worldbuilding and never get tired of the word games between the cast. It sounds like everyone is having so much fun!

Comedy genius

by YOEMLEVI on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has some real talent on it and I really can’t get enough.

Hilarious!

by RaphDS112 on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This thing is a joy to listen to. Strongly recommend for people who like smart comedy!

Hilarious

by ZackBANG94 on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys crack me the hell up. Very goofy, satirical, and just SO funny. I literally look forward to my commute thanks to this podcast.

Surfing the Multiverse!

by Sledge Granitehands on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a lovely tavern. What a great theme song! What a mediocre wizard....I mean, a great one! Love the pod. Hope you get home soon, Arnie.

Amazing. Hilarious fantasy improv

by Poop mgee on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this. So glad I did. The premise Is great. The cast is hilarious. Very fun to listen to. Great improv always funny. Give it a listen you won't regret it :)

So funny!

by Annonymouze on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show every episode is better than the last I love exploring foon with Arnie

Monday morning motivation with humor

by Kingsridge on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening since episode 6, and I'm still loving this podcast. Silly and absurdly fun, I got to keep coming back to find out what new shenanigans are going down in the in the town of Hogsface.

Great comedy podcast

by Spacenugget82 on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening non stop for the past three months. I love the live shows.

Great but hard to maintain

by Flowcabulary on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorites but it feels likeIt’s starting to stagnate after 2 seasons, then again, that seems to be what Arnie’s character is all about so maybe it’s purposeful. Either way, I’ll continue to listen. Always good for a laugh.

love this

by zephyr42 on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

absurdist fantasy improv? with an extensive and ever-expanding canon? yes pls.

Must Listen

by ZacharyBorgman on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hello from the Magic Tavern is the cup of coffee to my week. Start from the beginning. It's so worth it.

You do words well

by Girl who hates this game on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good job

Obsessed

by Cheerforlife5130 on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So far I’m really impressed with the improv and witty banter!

Boys NIGHT!

by lalababayaga on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I could come to Foon and drink a rainbow bowl win my goon companions.

Sweet fun

by tingalls74 on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yay for making me laugh out loud. I can’t wit for the next episode

Great Podcast!!!

by bcaff2017 on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Always makes the day more fun!

I still listen.

by Gunsmith3000 on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening still listening... You should too!

Still my fav

by Rythelastman on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After all this time, this is still my favorite podcast. So worth a listen!

A fantastic world of splendifourousness!!

by MisTerWiseGuy on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Firstly I must state that I am in individual of wonderful and beautiful fantastical thoughts. Being such an individual it would be a travesty not to applaud the unapologetically wondrous accident that is FOON. I implore you dear reader of this review to dive in head first into the seemingly never ending depths of foonish lore that your eardrums beg for. 🎭🍄🧙🏻‍♂️🧔🏻(and shapeshifting badger)

Hilarious, wildly entertaining!!

by Ritney on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love!

Weird fun fantasy

by Wes.s.robertson on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a strange, delightful podcast. I've been missing the Thrilling Adventure Hour terribly, and while it's a very different show its filling that comedic fictional podcast hole. Edit: A couple years in and still loving the show. Arnie, Chunt, Usidore and friends (or enemies) always make for an entertaining show!

One of the best

by Remy Strange on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank god this is a weekly podcast! Hilariously entertaining and who truly gets enough butt jokes in their day? Arnie, Chunt and Usidore, Wizard of the twelfth realm of the sneeziest are three very talented hosts that keep this show at the top of my list. It's the best part of my Monday morning and I awake eager to hear the latest debauchery. Keep up the great work and why not..."BOY'S NIGHT!"

Do more ads!

by David Thundah on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think your guys’ ad reads are super fun!

A delightful world of buttholes and spiced potatoes

by Anastasia cooper on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mind numbing and glorious all at once! After one episode I was hooked. The strange and random array of guests on each show is refreshing. The show takes random turns through out. I’m digging Usidore. Def my fav! Keep it up! Good luck Arnie!

Engrossing

by Bredoth on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled on this podcast several months ago - I don't even remember how - and figured I'd try it out for an ep or two. Now, over 100 episodes later, Usie, Chunt, and Arnold have become my boon companions. Where did the time go? Does anyone care? What are the other elevel realms of Ephysius? Is that even how you spell Ephesious? Bah, who cares. Pass the spiced potatoes!

Salsa

by Bobbyquarrier on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is what all high fantasy meets comedy podcasts ought to aspire to. Delightfully lewd and overflowing with cooking tips. Loved the spiced potato advice.

Usidor's name...

by Hot Uvan on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Delightful!!

Favorite podcast

by LindzoDub on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just stumbled on HFTMT and love it. Hilarious and definitely binge worthy.