Average rating:

5
out of 5277 ratings.

mcelroy content never disappoints

by birdsandsuch on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this is honestly the most enjoyable podcast i have ever listened to and im so glad they started a d&d podcast

A Masterpiece

by AmericasSwtHeart on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is absolutely incredible and I would recommend it to absolutely everyone. It's so good that it almost makes me sad or angry at times as I feel like I may never write anything as interesting and also deeply touching and beautiful as season 1 of the show. It is a real triumph that should not be missed.

HOLY MOLY YES

by GuacSomeMolé on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much!!!!! I started listening to it three months ago, and caught up to hear the finale when it finally came out!! This has been a major source of joy for me for the past three months and has inspired me to get together some friends and begin a DnD group!! I'm so excited to play and extremely excited to hear more in the future!! Keep up the good work guys!!

;~;

by ColouredTea on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's over.

How is this so good?!

by lukebee1 on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Adventure Zone is funny. That's basically a given, since it's a McElroy project, and they are the funniest people on the planet in my eyes. TAZ is hilarious, it has made me laugh until my sides ache, and continues to over and over. That isn't surprising, but what is surprising is how engaging and emotionally gripping the narrative DM Griffin has crafted with his players is. It's a thrilling story with a lovable cast of characters, and has made me cry on multiple occasions. I'm genuinely in awe of how good Griffin is at storytelling, and how good this podcast is.

One of the Best Stories

by Detective-Yoite on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best stories that I have ever come into contact with. The characters are well developed, the plot is interesting, and the story as a whole is powerful. I general I do not enjoy podcasts or the inappropriate types of jokes that the McElroys make, but I loved the story regardless. I'm currently experiencing whatever the podcast equivalent of a book hangover is following the finale of this fantastic podcast. I sincerely recommend giving it a try.

Wow

by haroldino on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What more can I saw than, WOW. This was an incredible series and I cannot believe how well the story was crafted. Great stuff and I hope to hear great stories to come.

The Adventure Zone Changed My Life

by StillSobbing on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When I first started listening to this podcast, I thought it was just gonna be me listening to this sweet, goofy family play D&D. But it turned into so much more for me. Griffen has inspired me to become a better writer and DM for my players. His way with words and the time and love that he put into this narrative has shaped and changed my heart for the better. Travis, Justin, and Clint's love for their characters and this story created lovable and related icons and slogans that I'll probably never forget. The time and care they put into thinking about how their characters grow and change is nothing short of admirable. They played such a huge role into the wholesomeness of this podcast and I also want people to know that. I'm the end, this is my favorite podcast ever. As this chapter of TAZ comes to a close and they go onto create and tell new stories, the Balance arc will always hold a special place in my heart and I will always love it and these good good McElboys!! If you have a chance to listen to this....I highly suggest you start from the beginning. It's a lot but it's 100% worth it!

This is hilarious

by Walker917 on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And entertaining. What else do you need to know?

Everything is Beautiful and Nothing Hurts

by MrFribbles on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Do you like stories? How about you listen to this, eh? Because it's a great ol' story. There's also some dice and magic and stuff.

As Amazing As Istus Predicted

by caligynamelie on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TAZ: Balance started as three idiots bumbling their way through a cave and ended with an epic battle to save the world. It was a ride from start to finish and I would be lying if I said that I didnt cry multiple times throughout the finale. Everyone should give it a listen because you sure as hell won't regret it.Griffin wove a tale so masterful and colorful, and Clint, Justin, and Travis gave Griffin's words life and meaning. You can tell this was a project beloved by its creators, just by the obvious amount of love and work that was put not only into writing it, but also the music and editing.Five stars just isnt high enough of a rating for this masterpiece.

i'm not crying you're crying

by ogdredweary on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i love this podcast. this is a perfect story and a perfect podcast. please listen to it, you have to. it's so good.

the best story ever told

by halplease on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

a truly hilarious, heartstrings-pulling, beautifully crafted show. this family has done so much for so many people, least of which is creating the best story ever told.

Touching finale

by Tollofdays on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Real tears on the final episode. Thank you for the amazing journey. Eagerly awaiting the next installment. Love you guys!

What else can I say?

by Fanboi1998 on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just listen and see. It's going to be amazing.

Wow. Just wow.

by Hvsthh on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard to articulate how incredible this show actually is. The slow beginning of the firsts episode is misleading. You may think at the beginning that it's a couple of nerds who don't know how to play D&D playing D&D, but it's not that. Well, it's exactly that, but so much more. It's a perfect mix of fun goofs and heart wrenching moments, all improvised by the McElroy family. Griffin is an incredible DM with incomprehensible capacity for imagination who pours his heart and soul into this show. On surface level, you might just see dumb jokes. But the more you listen, the more attached you become to these incredible characters. I can't even begin to scratch the surface of how much this show means to me. Greatjob, McElroys. Greatjob.

Great job griffin.

by Tinybaph on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Now write an arc about ruby and what she was up to.

Best new fantasy story of the last decade.

by EminentEmily on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Inclusion of all kinds of characters! Hilarious goofs! Sensitive story telling! Love, adventure, and thrills! The balance arc was incredible! I can't wait to hear what comes next!

fantastic

by KirstyDianne on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Adventure Zone is the best podcast I've ever listened to. Even if you're not into dungeons and dragons you will probably enjoy this podcast. The DM Griffin manages to weave a comprehensive mystery in a total of 69 episodes that keeps you guessing and surprised up until pretty much the end. It is a fantastic podcast and everyone else I know who listens to it thinks the same.

Spectacular!

by ViktorNikis on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So sad the tres horny boys' story is ending. But it's been an amazing ride. And Magnus always makes me cry, gosh dang it.

Flawless

by pinkrabbitagogo on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Taakos good out here

Best Work of Fiction to Ever Exist

by The Premiere on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast is like watching Avatar: the Last Airbender or playing Undertale. It starts out innocently enough- three bros and their dad basically learn how to play D&D-but without warning evolves into a rich, masterfully told story. The focus is on comedy and the immediate story conflict. It starts out far from perfect, but charming and entertaining. However, like those other examples, soon it becomes clear that this is bigger and deeper than anyone, even the McElroys themselves expected. Griffin probably has the complete story planned out near the end of the first arc and from there he subtly and masterfully sets up everything he needs for the finale. He takes care to ensure that there are no jarring coincidences or cheap tricks. Everything in the finally feels logical and makes sense because it we so properly set up in advance. It's like watching The season 1 finale of Avatar, or ending your first blind play through of Undertale. You realize that this lighthearted, almost inconsequential entertainment suddenly has weight and depth and meaning. At some point, you don't remember when, this stopped being just a kid show, or a goofy rpg, or a comedy podcast with an elf wizard named Taako, and became a piece of emotional, legitimate art. Suddenly you find yourself caring about the characters--rejoicing in their successes and lamenting their failures. You feel their emotions. You're at the edge of your seat because you need to know what happens to them. The characters and story and setting become real and you're immersed. For many, this happened in Petals to the Metal. Personally, the Eleventh Hour marks the first time I'd obsessively listen to each episode because I just had to know what happened next. Whether you are even interested in D&D or not, this is the perfect podcast for lovers of comedy and storytelling. It is hilarious, captivating and inspiring at the same time.

it's just so very good

by Icybergzzzz on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

just finished ep. 69 ( nice) and drying my recently wetted cheeks. please dive into this.

Best D&D podcast out there. Best podcast out there. Best piece of media I have ever consumed.

by CoolcatAJ on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The single greatest story I've ever heard. I never thought a podcast could make me laugh so hard and cry so profoundly... and it's also Dungeons & Dragons.

My absolute favorite podcast.

by Pacbrown on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Superb storytelling, and the hardest I've laughed in a long time.

Literally the best fiction

by HailAndWellMetMyDude69 on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite piece of media ever produced, bar none. Three earnestly upbeat and wonderful boys playing nerd games with their radical dad. I don't throw around the word life-changing, but everyone needs to listen to this. I am leaving a 5 star review because I want this to top charts so hard that everyday people are left wondering "what the hell is an adventure zone and why is it at the #1 spot on itunes?"Do yourself a favor, do us all a favor, and listen to the McElroys.

Perfect

by Embulk on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast made me cry.

This thing is so well written I'm shook

by Zaparoonie5000 on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this thing so much I've cried real tears on several different occasions. The character development of not just the main three but also a lot of the NPC's are really heartwarming and I just love them all so much. The McElroys are hilarious as always so you get 10 good goofs for every heartwarming/heart wrenching momentMy one complaint: I'm really upset that a man who puts plastic toys in his mouth for part of his living has made me cry so many times.

Probably the best show ever

by npalumbo58 on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is incredible. I've seen the McElroys live in Chicago and can safely say that they are the funniest people I know on the Internet. Keep up the good work guys!Update: This podcast has the production value of a radio drama. I've never heard a podcast produced this well!Update 2: The finale of the Balance campaign is nothing short of incredible!! (That's Episode 69)

More Exciting than Game of Thrones

by Jake'sMusicReviews on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Who needs three dragons when you have three goofball players running around the most exciting world created by a brother/son this consumer has ever known!?! With both soul-touching and belly-rolling moments, this roller coaster of emotion has been satisfying for all three listen-throughs I've had, and now as I begin the finale, it's the best time to start, because the story is all packaged up and ready for you! Tres Horny Boys 4life! Thanks McElroy's!

So much fun!

by Delos33 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I typed 'Adventure podcasts' into a Google search and I figured this only popped up because it has adventure in the name. I read the description and was hesitant at first because I have zero DnD experience. Wouldn't it be boring? Am I really this nerdy? Turns out those answers are "No" and "Absolutely!" The McElroys are fun to listen to and have a great, entertaining dynamic between them. Griffon has taught me that if I want to get into tebletop RPGS, a good storyteller is a must. Clint, Justin and Travis have taught me to think outside the bun and never take anything (and I mean anything) seriously.

One of the best!

by The Famous Enraged Bard on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's funny I listened to this and Drunks and Dragons separately and the both of you endorsed the other. This is one of the best RP podcasts out there. Great editing, story, great gameplay. Though the rules do get bent sometimes. 😒 Usually in ways that enhance the story. Recommended!

Love me some fantasy adventure

by Darkhaze999 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hell yeah

AHH

by Farsha456 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best. THE BEST. podcast you will EVER listen to. It is the best story you will ever hear. It is something you will hold near to your heart forever. It will make you laugh, that is a guarantee. It will make you cry. But it will also make you love. You don't have to like DnD to appreciate a good story, and this is the most funny, most precious, and life changing story you will hear in a while.

Bravo.

by Evan RH on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

'Nuff said.

Pure Fun

by Yinyangbeetl on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The joy given out by this podcast is so amazing and the story is so well weaved together that you can't help but binge this. Abracafuck you for making me experience so many powerful emotions throughout this wonderful podcast.

I recommend to all folks.

by CoralReif on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is incredible. These four guys know how to family. Yes, I mean they know how FAMILY! These guys are three brothers and their dad, and they know how to have awesome family fun. NOW, this family fun does get raw at times, so I definitely think no one under 16 should listen, but if you want your 3 year olds to jam down and cheer the brothers and their dad along in their quest, hey, you cheer on you little baby. I write this as I begin listening to the final episode, after having listened since the beginning. The list of pros for this podcast stretches on infinity. The list of cons is one note, and that one not is this, we must wait weeks between episodes. HOWEVER, this waiting makes the episodes SO much shweeter. Yes, shweeter. PEACE OUT FOLKS!

Thank y'all

by erinalive on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi, long time listener, first time reviewer. Just thank you all. For allowing all of us to be a part of this story, for inspiring us to create stories of our own. This podcast means a lot to me and I'm sure many others. Not only have y'all made us laugh with the shenanigans of Tres Horny Boys, but you made us care for them and a bunch of other characters as well. It means a lot. And I can't wait to see what's next.

Just amazing

by mollyisastorm on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously, this show has brought so much joy to my life. Congrats on the finale of the Balance arc. Can't wait to see what the McElroys do next.

Can you get addicted to a podcast?

by amandimalia on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Asking for a friend...

Humor and sincerity

by ChreasMozzer on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this show and these characters. Everyone should listen to this.

So gosh darn good

by BambooEarpick on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really, if you like comedy and just real good story telling then you'll love this podcast.

Best Podcast Ever

by Crola on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is hands down the best podcast ever made. Excellent story, well developed characters, hysterical content, you couldn't ask for a better show.

👍

by brendillon on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's very good

Love this show!

by Tzombus on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best DnD podcast out there, hands down.

LOOVVEE

by Goatman88 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't know know to much about d&d. I've only played it once with my friends, after listening to my first episode. But I love this podcast and the m brothers soo much. I was referred by a freind who is a die hard fan. I may only be on episode 30 but I'm in love. I just wish I found this 2 years ago. So I could subscribe and grab the extra episodes. But thank you so much for being my stress reliever and being my go to friends for when I'm in depression episodes.

Funny, well-crafted fantasy

by comiclazy on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wasn't sure if I'd be the type of person to get into a Dungeons and Dragons podcast when I listened to episode 1 of the Adventure Zone. Several months later it's made me laugh, cry, and just get really emotional in general. It's an actual-play podcast, but by the end it feels more like an improvised fantasy stage play. Griffin's worldbuilding is immaculate (after a slightly shaky start using a prewritten adventure, but that's ditched after a few episodes), and the player characters are both funny and well-developed. If you're a stickler for mechanics or you prefer 4th edition to 5th, this might not be the podcast for you; they sometimes bend rules, Griffin has a tendency to use deus ex machinas from time to time when setting arcs up, and they generally focus more on role playing than fighting (although they do get into some good fights!). But if you're okay with a slightly-less-traditional game for the sake of good storytelling, I couldn't recommend TAZ highly enough.

Can't get enough of these bros

by Nicpan05 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After running out of MBMBAM episodes I was pretty bummed, BUT BEHOLD another podcast series with my three favorite bros. This podcast is great. Super fun stories that have kept my interest throughout the many episodes. Also, I really liked the switcharoo episodes with the Flop House, which is another one of my favorite podcasts.

Love those McEroys!

by Imnotreallyhere4 on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This group is hilarious and the story really pulls you in! Thank you guys!

❤️❤️

by Concettina1992 on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for doing this. The McElroy family has just gotten me through a lot of tough times and when I'm down your media is the first thing I go to. I'm on third episode and I've already preordered the graphic novel. Thank you my beautiful boys ❤️❤️