Average rating:

4.5
out of 287 ratings.

Great for new and old designers

by letgouser79 on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are easy to follow along and incredibly intelligent in their field. The duo provides different perspectives about the design world, staying up to date about the latest news and shares it through their podcast. I enjoy the one cool thing segment at the end and hearing the goofiness of the hosts. They take their work seriously, but not too seriously where it feels like you're sitting in on an British tea party.

My favorite UX podcast

by UX origami on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a grad student studying UX. I’ve tried out ~5 UX podcasts so far and this is the best I’ve found. They talk about real products (pros/cons), and useful design tools. The show name is accurate - they give actual details that are useful. As opposed to other UX podcasts that interview industry leaders who don’t really want to disclose their “secrets” and end up making a bunch of not-helpful generic/obvious comments like “it’s important to know your user!” You think? Maybe tells us some tips on HOW to know our users. Unsubscribe those and listen to this instead.

Best Design Podcast for Newbies

by Thisismeashton on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't write reviews often as I'm not much for writing. I also don't listen to many podcasts because they dont often hold my attention. This podcast, however, very well deserves a review and certainly has my attention. I'm new to design and at the very early stages of learning this career field. I'm a comercial advertising photographer so the design world is a brand new language to learn. These guys make it entertaining and make sense of the topics they discuss to someone like myself. Thanks for all the great content and for keepin' it real!

Design Details Podcast Review

by Quora Superstar on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Design Details is the best podcast for Bay Area UI/UX design industry talk. The tone shifts between serious and goofy, and discussion can be both insightful and awkward in a fun way. Brian is my favorite.

Best in design podcasts

by mikitty16 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to a lot more design podcasts lately and I think that Design Details is the best by far. I am about to graduate college with a degree in Interaction design and Marshall and Brian have inspired me and showed me that there is actually a community of people out there doing what I want to be doing. Keep up the good work.

Super chill and hilarious (design)comedy podcast

by Cameron-Campbell on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast and definitely on my short list of “must listen” shows. You can tell the hosts are having fun and it's great to have a design podcast that isn't so stodgy and not afraid to dive into engineering topics.

Great podcast!

by @mknepprath on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Being a fan of Brian Lovin’s Design Details blog posts, I had high hopes for this - and it’s meeting my expectations so far. I’m a designer, but most dev-related podcasts don’t touch on the design side of things, so this is something I’ve been looking for. Keep up the great work, guys!Update 08/27/2018: STILL LOVIN IT

New Show Format

by winterblock on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I actually prefer and really enjoy the new format of the show with the exception of the side project critique in the latest episode. While it was insightful, it was hard to follow along without being able to see the site, an obvious limitation of a podcast. I think the side project critique can still work, maybe just for a shorter amount of time as this past one seemed to have gone on for too long. Other than that keep up the great work, I love the show!

UX Folks

by JA Man Sk8 on Aug 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts bring guests from all over the industry to discuss how they code to design the world we sign on to

So good

by Fashion Girl NYC on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews, funny, relevant, thought provoking. I work on a design team of 1 so listening to this podcast is like sitting with the design colleagues I've always wanted lol.

Old fartette

by QuantumDottie on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Design Details offers a great window into working in the tech industry, including the adventure of going between freelance and employment, working at big old firms vs start-ups, being self-taught vs getting formal training. The program also gives the impression that the design component of the tech industry welcomes women as much as men. Great show!

Big fan

by jessica.l.barnes on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love what these guys are doing. It helps me.

Myopic cliques tangentially about design.

by Captain Easychord on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had a few recommendations from design peers to check out this podcast. The insights are buried. They encourage stigmas around software and occasionally locality. Much of the show involves name-dropping people the hosts know. Lots of gossip around product design in the host's locality. There are nuggets of knowledge from guests from time to time, but the hosts easily lose focus. If you are looking to actually enrich yourself as a designer, I would look elsewhere.

In regards to kale pizza

by Alexbateman on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I vote kale pizza.

Easy listening / For a longer commute

by Rohit Jesudian on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

With over 2 years of experience, these two rapscallions have amassed a following that spans a slew of countries and topics and guests with a wide range of experiences and biases. Focused around helping designers level up within their own roles and inspiring a younger audience of aspiring designers to attain consumable bites of industry nuggets.

Awesome

by DamnNicknamesggg on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've genuinely learned so much about the product design industry by listening to this podcast. Bryn and Brian offer a perfect blend between entertainment and learning, they have interesting topics of conversation and terrific guests. Keep it up guys 👌

Love me some Design Details

by Matthew Spiel on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening to DD since the beginning. The production quality is second to none. It's actually made me stop listening to other podcasts because the audio just isn't up to par. The content is hit or miss, but mostly hit. Sinc eit's interview style your subject matter can range pretty heavily, but Brian & Bryn do a great job of digging in to people's experience in design and tech. It's become a weekly must-listen for me.

The best design podcast

by Karthik S Rao on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is definitely the best design podcast around at the moment. I love hearing about how other designers got into the field and I'm amazed at how much I can relate to most of them. The hosts are great and have a good sense of humor, which makes each episode quite entertaining. However, it is quite obvious that all the guests are within the hosts' network, so its always people from Facebook, Airbnb or Apple. This can get a little boring after a while. My suggestion would be to find designers from other companies/industries who would share a broader perspective on design. Other than that, this is a great podcast.

Where pun city and design interweave

by kskiviolin on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So I've been listening to Nice Boy™ and Pun Man for a while now - something like 2 years - and they have put together quite the little powwow. Each podcast features a lovely guest full of insight and wonder, letting you glean into the world of product design (spoiler: it's full of soft gradients). On a rare occasion even Nice Boy™ will whisper a pun worth a repeat listen. You too can become a well-2px-rounded designer 👩‍🎨 and join their slack team (spec.fm/slack) for a nice way to check your pixel fitting and its a nice extension of babble that you'd find on the show. I highly recommend this podcast as the jibber-jabber is of the finest quality. I also can't say that any other shindigs have gotten me my pixel mining gig so hats off to them 🎩. My only wish is that Nice Boy™ would whisper more puns… Oh, I almost forgot to mention that the lady that edits the shows is amazing at making the sweet talk between the boys a true gem. Big props to her!

The best design podcast, period.

by silassao on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an Art Director, Designer and Photographer based out of Portland, OR.I've always listened to design podcasts off and on, but Design Details is literally the first podcast I've ever listened to on a regular basis. I'm constantly relistening or trying to go back and listen to previous shows. I've loved every episode so far and I'm always anticipating the next one. Keep up the awesome work Bryn, Bryan and the rest of the team at Spec!Also, if you're reading this and enjoy the podcast, you should join us in the Slack!-@silassao

thank you!

by lienev on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am junior designer and listening to design details during my morning bus ride helps me gain some confidence to try different things. As a young designer listening to experience designers journey gives a boost of encouragement to dream bigger :) Thank you!

Favorite Design Podcast 😻

by Nate_Designer on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts & guests are awesome! I've been listening for two years.

Sterotypical podcast from the bubble

by monkeylavender on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've been listening to this podcast for the past two years and have really enjoyed the different guests that have been on the show but the last few months I've been getting uninterested in the show. First, they always feature a designer from Silicon Valley (which can bring a lot of arrogance/narcissistic comments) where I wish they had more variety in the different types of designers. They live in a very big bubble and the content shows it. Secondly, I really enjoy listening to Brian but Bryn comes off as extremely egotistical. The constant banter on what he knows or has done feels like he's trying really hard to get your attention, which takes away from the content of the show. I also wish there more women guests or hosts, they occasionally appear. I really appreciate that these two guys put a lot of effort in the show but feel like they're in a giant bubble that has become very crowded.

Great podcast - even if you don't design

by DonovanB on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A lot of their talks about about working and committing to your craft - not *just* designing. Good perspective and insights for all kinds of creatives and knowledge workers.

Great podcast about design

by Therese Okraku on Oct 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent interviews with designers. I enjoy listening to this podcast because I always learn new things and hear different perspectives on design topics

Great design talk show

by shining44 on Aug 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great if you want to keep up with the design community. It's not edited perfectly down to easily digestible chunks, but instead is like a radio show where there are weekly interviews with interesting folks, and that's why it's great.

Good stuff!

by Kindle Guy on Aug 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this podcast religiously. It's an easy-to-listen podcast with great guests. My fav part is when the designers are sharing their origin stories. I find them inspiring for folks who want to transition into this field or into tech. Definitely worth listening to.

The Life of a Designer

by JLbklyn on Aug 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

On of my top podcasts. The conversations are fun, loose, and often informative. The hosts can get a little annoying with there constant fawning over San Francisco and its tech community, but the majority of the episodes focus on the life of the guest and are overall pretty enjoyable.

Best design podcast ever

by Imajennation123123 on Aug 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast with awesome people

Design Echo Chamber

by Zukalous on Jul 26, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Every episode features a designer who has a) worked at Apple or Facebook b) is under the age of 40. The problem with this is you get a very limited view of the design world. As a designer myself it is important to get inspiration from a wide range of backgrounds. Just once I wish this podcast would interview an old fat guy who designs enterprise software. It would blow their mind to talk to someone who is older than Steve jobs.

Stories that inspire

by toxicdiney on Jun 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show with talented guests that discuss little design and inspire more!

Favorite Design Podcast

by der Quinrado on May 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts, engaging conversations and guests

SoloDesigner

by A.venture on May 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm the only designer at my company and that can be pretty isolating. This podcast has been great in helping me get exposed to more design-related conversations and thinking. Thanks!

Thoroughly enjoy the podcast

by SugaFire on Apr 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m currently on episode #109 and I’ve listened to every single one up until that point. Not to mention it’s been a bit of a binge since I started listening (it’s been that good). I do enjoy the structure of the conversation, where with every guest we usually hear the back story of how they became a designer, then we hear more about their current projects and their design process. I especially enjoy it when they throw in group podcasts because the interviews became more of a discussion of great design challenges. So keep throwing those in to provide variety!If I can add a suggestion it would be to interview people from more design fields because there are definitely a lot of product designers on there, maybe even designers that may not even deal with digital design, just an idea. I am a women and I run my own small agency, freelance, and make products with an interest in many things so I’d love to hear outside of the box things. Either way, keep up the good work, the show is dope!

Gimme more stars

by Jared Lodwick on Apr 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t rate this podcast highly enough. There’s immeasurable value in a podcast like this. You don’t even have to necessarily be a designer or even work in the creative industry to enjoy listening to these guys talk. The hosts and their guests provide valuable insight on everything from design to general problem solving to how to boost your career – advice that isn’t limited to just tech. It’s immediately clear that everyone involved with the show loves what they do and have a great time discussing it.The hosts are great. Due to similarities in both their names and voices it can be a little difficult to differentiate the them from each other (and sometimes their guests, too) but you get used to it. They’re both so engaging that you feel like you’re actually there, a part of the conversation, having a good time, and they’re so relatable in their discussions that you’ll start to feel like you’ve known them for years.7/5 stars, keep up the great work.

Good to listen to while working

by Unhappy Apple on Apr 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

As a designer it’s nice to have informal + relatively informative discussion going on in the background while I’m working. It's basically just two designers having a conversation with their guests and pulling out little nuggets here and there.

Good stuff

by MooseDesign on Apr 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I dig the casual nature of the interview style, and they get some great guests with some really insightful thoughts.Only minor nit, and it only happens with this podcast of all the ones I am subscribed to, is that it jumps backwards and forwards podcast tracks seemingly at random, mid-playback. Evidently a long standing iTunes issue that only affects certain podcasts, but man o man is it annoying.

More art !

by Monkeybizwak on Mar 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great background info from guests. Heavy on geeking out on ui. I enjoy the level of banter.Most guests are top developers in the industry (from child prodigy to CEO stories)As a suggestion, more illustrators, art directors, animators, people in brand would be awesome. Peace ✌🏼️

Love it!

by MaripiliMP on Mar 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to these podcasts while designing. Great subjects, interesting guests and it really inspires to do more with all aspects of design. A listening must!

Always Engaging

by Bright_Side24 on Mar 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Being a young designer and team of one, I listen to Design Details almost every morning on my way to work to get inspiration and motivation. Bryn and Brian are the perfect hosts, always steering the guests to interesting topics and knowing when to let them get sidetracked. I love it, keep them coming.

A punny show

by Kaelig's on Mar 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Puns. An ad. More puns. Some interviewing. Then a bit of punning. And also fantastic insights from people in the design industry who tell their invaluable life stories.I definitely recommend this podcast if you're a designer of a front-end developer.

Both humbling and inspiring

by sstriegs on Mar 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Designers talking about design... sounds like terrible dialogue but it's quite the opposite.

Great podcast about design

by aroduribe on Mar 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy the vast array of design individuals they bring every week. Personally, I would like to see more people of color get featured on the show. Overall, I enjoyed the layout of the show and the casual ness to it. The show notes are also a great reference point if you wanted more interest in the topic. That being said, every week, I learn something new from this podcast.

You will learn so much

by The faceless woman on Mar 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

There are so many awesome ideas packed in this podcast!

Good stuff

by JTmoneyhands on Mar 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Kudos

The Wiggle!

by Manystyles on Mar 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very cool to hear a local (SF Bay Area) on her path as a designer... Oh, get on a bike and go find the Wiggle 👌

Story-filled podcast that touches on life, truth, and design

by TherealCL on Mar 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent way to stay updated on what’s happening in the design world, and is the number one podcast I recommend to aspiring, young or experienced designers when I’m asked about what design resources I enjoy. In fact, I love this podcast so much that I listen to it while I run, and I find myself running farther and longer than I planned, just so I can finish an episode. That’s love right there.I like that I get to learn more about the design cultures at different companies, and learn about the varying perspectives and workflows each guest designer has. Oh, and gain more awareness of what tools, methodologies, conferences, events are out there.I enjoy listening to the different life stories, design backgrounds and current projects each guest brings to the table. I’m inspired by the hard work, humility and drive that each guest designer displays, and challenged by the excellence of their work and side passions that reminds me of how much I have to learn and grow. I especially loved the episodes with Vicki Tan and Julie Zhuo.Some listeners of this podcast seem to want more design content, (meaning technique? how-tos?) but I like this podcast specifically because Bryn and Brian intentionally let the conversation flow naturally towards where it will — diversity! motorcycles! research! team-building! art! — and when needed, refocus the conversation on design gently and naturally. I very much appreciate the thoughtful and considerate interview style and questions Bryn and Brian prepare for each interview as well — thank you Bryn, Brian and Spec.!

Awesome Podcast

by Jisi Guo on Mar 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it! Casual, fun - get the inside scoop.

So good

by Connorburtis on Mar 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

In a world of design podcasts saturated by either 40 year old designers complaining about not being able to sell posters, or wildly successful design gods talking about how godly they are; Design Details is by far my favorite design podcast. These guys are great at having down to earth discussions with inspiring people.

Sounds good

by natejohns3 on Mar 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

No clue what they are talking about half the time. (because I don’t code) but they are funny.