Average rating:

5
out of 299 ratings.

Fantastic storytelling

by Evbooooo on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful representation of southern food and the culture that is woven through it

Must listen

by Father to 3 yr old twins on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best food podcast there is

a beautiful food show

by rap_mogul on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's really nice to hear a food show that's not about cooking or restaurants I'll probably never go to, but instead about bigger issues. It's basically This American Life that makes you hungry.

I love Gravy!

by KnittingLea on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always learn something new... all by talking about food! Yum!

My favorite podcast

by asdef2018 on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Only flaw there aren’t enough of them! But quality takes time.

All

by Beaver Pond Ben on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and entertaining

Taste of home

by JessCkah! on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My family is from Appalachia, but I live up north now - this podcast makes me feel like I'm back in grandma's kitchen. It's the best.

Delicious

by JennyfromOhio on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful stories, so happy I found this podcast

Great stories

by hungrymarshall on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stories from the South and how people eat come through in this great podcast. It's a great resource on culture and eating.

southern food ways

by JAGSC on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

a decent overview of modern southern food ways with good stories of out of the way places

Good stuff!

by LeslieNBTX on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gravy is always informative, interesting and important. It serves up good, old Southern food traditions with a generous side of new offerings, thanks to a generation of immigrants.

One of the best Food history podcasts (also podcast in general)

by Simergh on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is where history, poetry, stories, and food melt into one amazing podcast.

The South is Everywhere

by Squirrelhenge on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Gravy podcast is the embodiment of my believe that wherever you go, you'll find the South. It offers a wonderful, insightful view into the way our food and our culture are not exclusionary, but all-encompassing. Well done, y'all.

Wrong Audio this week

by EdmundPerry on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think you guys sent out the wrong tape. I'm listening in to 12 min editing session. Look forward to the episode

Love it.

by Allihagi on Sep 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautifully produced, wonderful insights and excellent story telling.

My actual favorite podcast out there.

by Saakimba! on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a longtime, avid podcast listener, I have many, many favorites. Though not raised in the south myself, I have long had a love and appreciation for southern cuisine as perhaps the only truly unique American cuisine in existence and, as a devout lover of all things excellent food-wise and an adroit cook, the relevance of this work has not escaped me. When you add to the SFA’s work as a whole the extremely polished and sublimely southern vibe of the finished podcasts with a healthy dose of integrated cultures and social justice, you have a podcast that has soundly made it to the top of my most favorite 'casts out there. They also shine a valuable light on the loving, community focused, tolerant aspects of the south, which is much needed in these troubled times. Their work is invaluable to me and, I’m certain, many others. I deeply appreciate their efforts.

Easily my favorite

by Ebeehj on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore this podcast. It is entertaining and well-produced, and really shows the diversity of the South and all the people who make their home there.

So excellent

by Annaeliza on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to every episode of this podcast - it's a smart, refreshing look at food and culture (and so much more) in the modern south, and the intelligent look at the intricacies of southern regional culture makes me feel seen and understood as a liberal southerner in a modern world.

Best Podcast

by Pranksterking on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts and this is the best one of them all. As a child of immigrants who was born and raised in the urban South and went to college in the rural South, this podcast speaks to me.

Excellent

by Coach muscle hamster on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great

Beautiful, Smart Storytelling

by alm and boo on Jul 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I meant to only listen to one episode this morning. Im four in now. My Granny, from Tennessee, passed when I was in high school and listening to the voices and sounds of the South are bringing her into my Arizona home. I'm also learning so much about a people and place that I have ties to but unfortunately not a lot of knowledge of. Also there's some food thrown in.

Some interesting episodes but too much identity politics

by Hamiltonl87 on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

There are some great episodes in here but it focuses a lot on highlighting different populations' contribution to southern food. A lot of it sounds like intellectual narcissism and is full of factual errors.

Best food podcast to date.

by Hungry Podcast on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gravy was one of the shows that inspired me to become a podcast producer a couple years ago. As a food/story lover, I was often disappointed when podcasts started taking off because all these food shows had excellent content but were dry and uninsiring. Finding the Gravy podcast was a breath of fresh, fried-chicken scented air. The show is beautifully constructed and gets to the stories about food that need to be told. It is a poingnant portrait of the South that ropes in influence from all over the world. If you need a food podcast with some bite, you best be listening to Gravy. Much love - the Hungry podcast

OUTSTANDING!

by Mamasbelly on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast and I listen to them all day long while working. It is honest, interesting, thought provoking and absolutely needed. The lessons you learn while listening are something none of us got in school and are vital to understanding the landscape of this country! I often recommend this poscast because it will grab you and take you deep into the South! Bravo!

Fun AND Scholarly

by Badger08 on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When a podcast leads you from oral histories of farm wives recalling the excitement of being able to make jello - along the way teaching you about the Rural Electrification Administration you know they are cooking with gas!I LOVE this podcast!

Incredible podcast

by Paul Simon is awesome on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful, insightful stories. Keep them coming!

Wonderful Conversation

by Ewbietoo on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great variety, intelligent conversation, responsible topics. Well worth the time and very entertaining.

An anthropological look at the Southeast through food

by AUSail on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a wonderful Podcast, I love the tackling of all topics big and small, easy listening and difficult subjects. Expertly executed

My favorite podcast

by Beehivesteph on Feb 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn, I feel more connected to the people around me and their quiet stories revealed through food, and often there are tears in my eyes by the end. The best!

Mouth-watering and heart-warming

by millerheirschfeldt on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Honorable coverage of the many layers of Southern life. Gravy tackles difficult and fascinating issues while inspiring me to innovate in the kitchen

lovely, fascinating stories about food

by whydoesappstoreneedanewnicknam on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a lovely podcast; well constructed, the stories are delightful and thoughtful, and one of the best additions to my collection of podcasts. Narrators are very well spoken, it sounds highly professional, while being very down to earth with its material.

Always Interesting

by Islington 2 on Dec 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories. Always an interesing listen!

Deserves More Attention

by CrossingWaters on Dec 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast. The stories are varied, really interesting, and Tina's voice and narration delivery is spot on! Love, love , love what you guys are doing!

Tasty AND good for you

by FormerlyRobert on Nov 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Rich, intelligent storytelling about the South. Especially wowed by the Shirley Sherrod episode. Keep it up.

History and Food Unite!

by p-an-c-baby-co on Nov 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this. So many interesting stories. Gives me great ideas for my classes on culture.

Best Podcast

by BL657 on Sep 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Gravy is everything I have been looking for in a podcast...smart, thoughtful, refreshing & SOUTHERN.

Fascinating view of the American south

by GoGoActionKatie on Jul 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Always engaging and interesting. My most looked forward to podcast!

Makes me ache for cornbread every time

by hannannannannah on Jul 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love podcasts with such a specific focus, and "the changing American South by way of food" is just such a great hook for a show. I love the multicultural aspect, helping correct my ignorant Yankee misconceptions about the diversity of the South.

Love this podcast!

by jblong3 on Jul 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

As a Southerner who lives in NYC now, this podcast offers a chance to spend a little time at home. In fact, the episode about the Mobile Bay Jubilees hit EXACTLY at home and I got to learn a lot about a tradition that I've actually grown up with!

I truly love this podcast!

by Downtown Mark on Jul 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Time for some honesty. As a California boy who has had a lifelong fear and, to some degree, distaste for the South and the cultural traditions that came to me in school books, I approached this podcase with some trepidation. But my love of regional American food drew me in. This podcase offers so much more than food, however. I am beginning to understand Southern ways more than ever before. The journalism carried in the epidsodes of this podcast is a marvel, and Tina Antolini is a great host. Couple listening to these and combine it with the website The Bitter Southerner, and you will see many sides to the South that you haven't before. I hope to be adopted by a Southerner soon. Bravo, Gravy!

Perfect as ...

by bobhille81 on Jun 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A fried chicken liver, crunchy giving way to creamy ... a mess of turnip greens flecked with ham hock and doused with red pepper vinegar ... a sky-high meringue over a coconut cream ... a bottom-shelf bourbon ... and so much more about the South and Southerners and Southernness. It's perfect.

Too Political

by Southern Native on Jun 06, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

While I appreciate the commentary on Southern culture and Southern food, there seems an attempt to shame Southerners for their history as well as an overt attempt to replace Southern culture with another culture that someone else thinks is more suitable. Specifically, I will cite the "The New Old Country Store, Ep. 36" commentary about Cracker Barrel. The individual's perspective is more subjective commentary than objective historical commentary. The individual comes across with a moral superiority that is totally not Southern. Where's the humility that characterizes the South and the truly Southern people, of all races and genders? It's not in that particular commentary. I'm sure liberal Southerners and academia will praise her commentary to high heaven, but how is she any different than any other "outsider" journalist or photographer who came in and portrayed the South as a backwards, racist, ignorant mass of people? At our local Cracker Barrel, ironically you'll find more blacks than whites dining and enjoying the food. I wonder what she would think of that and how she would explain it with regards to food culture?

What a treasure.

by Demiwetzel on May 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you! This podcast is exactly what I needed.

Beautiful.

by Tyson R on May 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. So well made and interesting. As a northerner I still find it incredibly interesting.

GRAVY!

by Mr.DrewJ on May 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so happy I found this podcast. Great stories about wonderful people in familiar places. Love this podcast!

Tasty stuff, y'all

by bobhille81 on Apr 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect intersection of the South and food. Good twists too. This is a joy to enjoy.

Good and beverage nerds delight!

by Mixology mer on Apr 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a fun overlap food and culture! SFA and its various publications shed light on the rich history and complexities of the kitchen tables (and bars and whiskey barrels) of the south with mouthwatering reporting. Thanks SFA!!

Simply wonderful

by NatG8R on Apr 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A beautiful podcast, both in content and production quality. I'm from the south and often struggle with how I feel about southern culture due to the nasty history from which much of it was born. This podcast confronts that history, but allows you to relish in the beauty that was often born from hate. It's changed my perspective and has helped me gain a new appreciation for the south and its food! Start listening - you won't regret it!

Absolutely fantastic!

by DissectingThe80s on Apr 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these bite-sized tastes of various southern food culture. Always feel like I'm learning something, and "meeting" great characters.

So Amazing!

by Philip-a-chef on Mar 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all the insights into the different parts of southern culture. I've learned so much.