Average rating:

5
out of 122 ratings.

For anyone into animation!

by RafaMrtz on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Pleasant and informative! Great show; tried it, got instantly hooked, been listening to everything they have since then!The Bros. seem like pretty great guys, to whom you could connect in a casual conversation too!Strongly recommend it to animation buffs and rookies (like myself)!

Upbeat and inspirational

by Ropesman on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys share a positive attitude with us while giving us a chance to hear from some of the leading Artists in the industry. It may be insightful and educational but it's always entertaining.

Very Entertaining!

by TX_EP3 on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brother against brother. We need an animation face off.

The best animation podcast out there!

by SimpSeven on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I sincerely love listening to this podcast. Not only is it full of behind the scenes information from some of the top talent out there but it also is very entertaining to listen to the brothers interact. A must listen to if you want to keep your finger on the pulse of the animation community.

Great for Students and Animation Fans

by The Hullinator on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an animation junkie, I absolutely adore the art form and study everything I can about the craft. The Bancroft Brothers' podcast is an amazing treasure trove of animation history and technique. I just can't get enough of it! Two thumbs way up!!

LOVE this podcast!!

by Aspiring Illustrator :) on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Both of the Bancroft brothers are so inspirational in their careers, project experience, and artistic advice! They offer insight into the world of a person working and living in the animation industry. My friends think I'm such a dork for listening to a podcast, about animation especially. But as a teenager who wants to be a children's book illustrator, listening to this podcast has really helped me define where I want to go artistically (and hopefully career wise!) Good Job! Can't wait to see whatever projects the Bancrofts put out next.

Very enjoyable

by Kal Martian on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great animation podcast from a couple of pros!

Love this podcast!

by @itsonlyug on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As an artist working alone in a home studio all day, the Bancroft brothers are my invisible co-workers and teachers at the same time - thanks guys!

Really insightful and Entertaining

by CloudCrow on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy these podcasts. As someone working on breaking into the Animation industry, I find this really inspiring and super helpful to listen to. I also love hearing about creative people's journey and learning about how they broke in to their industry if choice.

Animator Essential

by TheJohnIrvine on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a full time freelance animator/art-director for almost 2 years and this podcast became the soundtrack to my workday. I discovered it only last summer and binge listened to it over a couple especially grueling weeks of all-nighters. Their interviews are always entertaining and enlightening. Each interview is peppered with anecdotes from their days as animators, directors, and character-designers during the Disney renaissance. As a freelancer who did not go to art school, their advice and views on the subject are always heartening and inspiring to me probably because they ANIMATE FROM THE HEART. #SportsSuck.

Great podcast for animation enthusiasts!

by Jessicahihi on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Anyone that loves the art of animation will enjoy this podcast. Wonderful for Disney fans and beyond. The hosts are informative and insightful.

My mornings are better now

by Alex de Vil on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fun podcast for animation geeks like me! Wanted to change up my morning routine (podcast and coffee of course), and The Disney Elite keeps promoting them, so I finally gave in and gave this a listen. Six episodes later, I'm hooked!

Delightful and Inspirational!

by MarkEng on Feb 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a new listener, I'm THRILLED to have found the Bancroft Brothers Animation Podcast! I love their positive attitude, their devotion to animation and other creative disciplines, and even their brotherly ribbing of each other. Casual without being amateurish, informative without being didactic, and humorous without being obnoxious. In other words, the perfect podcast. I'm a professional cartoonist and illustrator who has always been in awe of animators (i.e. "sorcerers"), but despite that, I can always find principals and artistic inspiration I can apply to my unique "realm" from their podcast. Thanks for the great podcast, Tom and Tony! You've got a new fan and friend!

Fascinating and Informative

by LittleLadyRat on Feb 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There's nothing like hearing from people who have been so involved in animation and haveso many stories to tell.

Great stuff for me!

by Natebrox2788 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a busy mom of 3, I simply love this podcast more than 2 of my kids!

Smart, Informative and FUNNY!

by Ju-osh on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Week after week I listen with delight as the Bancroft brothers interview animation legends past and present. It's a real treat for cartoon fans, and a great source of inspiration and education for aspiring AND established animators!

Enjoyable & informative!

by BinaryStars on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is always entertaining. My husband is an animation fan, and when he plays this podcast, I find myself listening intently. In addition to great interviews about the creative process, there are insights into the history of animation and industry insider experiences. Tom & Tony have an enjoyable quick-paced conversational style, and generously share their knowledge and passion for art & animation.

They get it

by CrlneMrr on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love animation, love this podcast.

5 stars!

by storyartist.de on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most entertaining and informative podcasts about the animation industry out there at the moment. Keep it up!

I LOVE IT!!!

by NerdyGirlFashion on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is amazing! Tom and Tony dive deep into issues in the animation industry. I love their hash it out episodes and their interviews. I've learned so much. Whenever I have to ink comic pages or am working on animation I turn them on. It's so great! It's really inspirational to hear people discussing their journeys to success but also their failures.

Aspiring animators dream come true!

by Hifive Creative Design on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to these guys! Great info about animation. I enjoy their perspective and experience. I love how Tony is always trying to ONE UP Tom (it's hilarious). If you love art you must listen.

Amazing Podcast!!!

by Lythex1 on Dec 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The Bancroft brothers animation podcast is one of the best podcasts of its kind. The energy that Tom and Tony have is amazing, you can really tell how passionate they are and how knowledgeable they are about thier field. The two brothers work so well together in a way that most Podcasts don't there is never a moment of dead air and they both can see things from a different point of view. One of the best parts of the Podcast is the guests, and I'm not sure that is a good term to use. The people they bring on aren't just people that they read about and emailed hoping for a interview. They are friends and colleagues people that they know and have worked next to for years. So there isn't a awakard phase of the everyone trying to get comfortable. They just jump in and start laughing and telling stories about the old days. Even when they get off topic it's so great because they give insight into things that normal people wouldn't think to ask. But since they are all friends it just seems so natural to them. And I highly recommend this Podcast to anyone interested in animation either as a career or just general interest. Tom and Tony have done an amazing job with the Podcast and will continue to do so.

More TOM! This podcast rules!

by mushume on Dec 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

For a couple of old guys, these twins are kind of hip and entertaining. I really love animation and this podcast is all about it- its even in the title. The only critique I have is that I wish Tony would let Tom talk more. He's super funny, and I secretly have a crush on him. Tony just talks blah, blah, blah, but I live for the moments when dreamy Tom speaks. Keep it up guys- but moslty Tom!

Great Interviews and Industry Insights

by Steve Muench on Dec 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

As a big fan of animation, I've really enjoyed many of the interviews Tony and Tom have brought to their podcast "airwaves". The ones I've liked the best so far were Brad Bird, Glen Keane, and Andreas Deja, but almost all of the 47 episodes I've listened to so far were very engaging and well worth the time. Keep the interesting content coming!

Amazing Podcast!

by Peter Szakacs on Dec 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast to listen to, especially if you want to hear about the creative proccess and how the industry works. I am currenlty changing carreer paths and going to school for animation in a few months, this podcast is really helping me prepare for future goals and what I may encounter being an animator as well as side projects I may be interested in later on! Tom and Tony keep it up!

Drive & Learn

by Drew Hartel on Nov 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

For the past few years I've had a long 90 minute commute to school and 90 commute back. I was studying illustration at Art Center College of Design and grew up an animation nerd (still am quite frankly). This podcast made my commute a valuable part of my day where I would learn from the pro's I admired and loved the playful banter that would often turn into tagents where I could derive even nerdier information. Fast forward to now - had an internship at Pixar and working at Disneytoon Studios as a Set Designer - this podcast is still a big part of my commute and is even more valuable in my professional career. If you are serious about a career in animation, this podcast will provide you with so much wisdom and insight it will enrich your understanding of what it takes to get into this business. - Cheers to the Tom & Tony!

Nothing better

by httplovato on Nov 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

As a student just beginning in the animation world and trying to soak/learn as much as possible, this podcast is a goldmine. I love listening to everyonesdifferent experiences and insights through the interviews. I faithfully listen and learn so much. Keep doing what your doing!P.S Its would be awesome if one day you could do a Q&A with your listener's! I have lots of questions for you two.

Hell yea

by alex plosion on Nov 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love everything about this.

Nobody Does It Better

by Joe cool 99 on Oct 31, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

For any aspiring animator or fan of animation. They hit all facets of the industry; new, old, and reoccurring. If you want a double dose of inspiration, motivation, insight, and years of wisdom and experience packed into a podcast chock full of jokes and stories that just might make you laugh so hard you pee yourself a little, then look no further. Nobody is out there producing podcasts the way these guys do it. Industry professionals who give it. 5 stars every episode!

Solid

by JHMatthews on Oct 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great for anyone working or learning as an artist and love an inside peak of creative process of others.

Love This Podcast!

by irramos09 on Sep 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've seen this podcast several times before but never stopped to listen to it. HUGE MISTAKE! I have recently started listening to it and have loved every minute of it. I started at the beginning and am nearly caught up. If you love humor, animation, and hearing all the different aspects of this industry listen to this now! Love hearing what these guys and their guests have to say and the wealth of information and inspiration for anything art or animation related. Keep it up guys!

Invaluable Animation Resource!

by Dylan Holden on Sep 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a character designer and visual development artist. This podcast is fantastic. I highly recommend listening if you are looking for inspiration, encouragement as an artist, researching animation history, laughs, insider only information. Each podcast update is really diverse and new and not without the Bancroft brothers humor. I’ve made listening to this show a part of my work life and I always learn something new. When the brothers hone their episodes in on topics artists deal with personally such as, career not going anywhere, not finding inspiration, failures, how to stay motivated, personal projects, the show has added depth and shine. They are highly relatable and never forget the listener. I would even encourage younger artists to listen to this if they want to learn more animation history and information on how to grow their craft. Keep up the great work guys!

Wonderful!

by Keala Holden on Sep 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband and I listen to this podcast all the time. While I’m not an animator I am a huge disney and animation lover. The Bancroft brothers are so engaging and really get awesome interviews. Their brotherly jabs are also hilarious! Highly recommend this podcast whether you’re an artist or a fan!

Awesome Podcast

by FeistyFairy on Aug 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast from the beginning. The Bancroft Brothers are very entertaining. I love their banter to each each. They have excellent guest in their show. Often times I will listen to a podcast multiply times.

This show is fantastic!

by Wiffle Batman on Aug 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this show since episode 1! The interviews are excellent! Keep up the work you guys!

Wonderful!

by RocioCintron on Aug 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The best interviews, discussions & advice!!!

Awesome Animation Podcast

by ollietwist92 on Aug 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply excellent. Whether you are an aspiring animator/artist, interested in learning how animation is done, an animation fan, or simply a person, this podcast is for you. This show provides excellent stories from days old and new about the awesome careers of the two Bancroft Brothers and loads of other great artists in the animation industry. Easily 5 stars, love the show!

Wonderful

by Nerdin' About on Jul 31, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love hearing two wonderful, Christian men talk about their art, faith, and family. Thank you, you guys. (:

Amazing, funny, and informative animation podcast.

by Erick nieto art on Jul 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this podcast. The personel history of the bancroft brothers in the animation industry. The amazing and informative interviews with animation titans! The fun nature and tips they are constantly giving us who love art and animation. A most listen!!

A must listen!

by FelicitySm on Jul 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

THIS PODCAST. Tony and Tom are funny and engaging, and the insights they give into the animation industry are SO valuable. I don't live anywhere near LA, and when I found this podcast 2 years ago, I was completely overwhelmed by the industry and where to begin. I've learned so much about the industry and how to approach art in general thanks to them - this podcast is a must listen for anyone interested in art or animation. Thanks for all you guys do!!

Leading Animation Podcast Out There

by CG_Animator2413 on Jul 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Tony and Tom have created THE best podcast for veteran animators and student animators alike.This podcast interviews some of the best and brightest artists in the animation community. And the hosts ask true and honest questions about breaking into the industry, industry standards, and how to stay inspired as an animator. Thank you Tom and Tony! I've been a CG animator in the video game industry for 10+ years and this podcast is truly inspiring!Animate from the heart!

Entertaining & Inspiring!

by Fushigimonica on Jun 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Whether you’re a fan of animation or someone who’s pursuing a creative career, I’m sure you’ll be entertained and inspired by these podcasts! Between their ridiculously awesome banter, you’ll hear priceless pearls of wisdom on how to find contentment in life and pursue your dreams. Every time I listen, I’ve been inspired and encouraged by their anecdotes, and those of their amazing guests! Thanks to Tom & Tony for candidly sharing their experiences, advice, and faith.

Fills me with animation love!

by katersbonneville on Jun 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If you love the entertainment industry and animation, this is going to be your favorite new podcast! They go beyond animation and they really do interview the best of the best in the fields!

Very honest and sharing podcast

by Rubicon49bc on Jun 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Probably one of the most giving podcast with information about learning and working in animation. Also one them directed a disney movie.

Podcasts #46 and #47

by Versatile Horse on Jun 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This review is specifically upon Podcasts #46 and #47, but I'm also going to discuss the overall podcast:I've been a longtime listener of the podcast, avid animation hobbyist, and I draw almost every day. If you are looking for Animation Inspiration and Disney History, the Bancroft Brothers are a great place for being inspired. After listening to them for so long, I don't even identify them with Disney anymore, as much as with them as individuals.That said, they spend a great deal of time repeating the core tenant of "Draw every day if you want to get a job at Disney." Personally, I do draw every day, and I'm a bit beyond hearing that reminder, and I would like to hear a different mantra at this point. To put things in perspective, there are probably 10,000 Animators globally, 2D and 3D animation is an extremely small nitch; there are a lot of people who want to do animation, but there aren't a lot of jobs available, Art School is prohibitively expensive for most, and most don't have the patience to learn from scratch on their own time. With that said, The Bancroft Brothers are looking to expand the appeal of their show by discussing popular animation over animation instruction on the podcast. That's not to downplay the tremendous contribution to the small animation community: they continue to make great Animation Instruction at affordable prices on their website, and I would consider the brothers to be Authorities on their craft. If you are one of the 10,001 who wants to actually learn this craft, you are better off paying for one of their courses/textbooks instead of listening to the podcast. You need about $1000 dollars on hand to buy the equipment, books you need to self learn. (Wacom Tablet, Light-Box, Col-Erase Pencils, PhotoShop, ect), but that's much less than 40,000 a year at one of the major art schools, and you'll come out with good skills. Specifically on Podcast #46:This podcast inspired me to see the new Angry Birds film.... Whcih I was very dissapointed with after viewing. I loved the first trailer that came out in September 2005, The Animation and Character designs were excellent. However, the story was pretty awful as a whole. The movie is a bunch of flash-carded sequences, which work well on their own and as trailers, but not together. Instead of discussing specific animation-related techniques or approaches to the medium, the interview mainly revolves around how Clay Kaytis and Fergal Reilly got the dream job of most aspiring animation students of directing a studio feature, and some student-friendly inspirational quotes. The Bancroft Brothers have staged numerous interivews such as these over the past two years, with big names such as Brad Bird, Pete Doctor, Travis Knight, Don Hahn, Brenda Chapman, ect. There's often more discussion about Studio Politicing that you would see on Cartoon Brew or the TAG Blog than technique sharing that you read on Mark Kennedy's blog.A notable exception to this trend was the interview with Paul Briggs, head of story on Frozen and Big Hero 6, who took the time to deconstruct the key story points of his movies on tape, and discussed viable strategies for brainstorming and storyboarding.I probably won't listen to another Bancroft Brothers interview with a big name, unless there's going to be a discussion relevant to me as an animation filmmaker. But, if you are interested in Disney history as a casual fan, there's no better source than the former directors and supervising animators themselves. What I can say about Tom and Tony, is that they don't give the BS about Disney's history that you read in the opening chapters of Illusion of Life, and describe the pros and cons of working there.For Podcast #47:I was looking for some inspiration and creative perspective this morning with my cup of tea, and I was not dissappointed. I think the Bancroft Brothers did a really nice job with this one and I would start it as a five overall. This was not the standard 'Draw every day" mantra we hear agan and again from EVERY person in the industry, but instead a critical discussion of understanding and evaluating your life goals. Some statistics from me:I generally listen to the podcast until about the 30 minute mark on most episodes, I often don't have a full hour in one sitting to listen to the whole thing. My suggestions for the future:More art instructional materials: Lecture about some art tips and tricks, supplementary materials to the Taught by a Pro website. If you have guests on the show, ask them the specific technical questions inexperienced people can't generate in 10 seconds. I would be happy to pay money monthly on Patreon if I felt I learned something I could directly apply to my work every time I tune into the podcast.

Charming, Educational, Encouraging for Artists.

by Ben Bones on Jun 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Solid interviews with real pros. Plus, Tony and Tom always poking fun at each other is hilarious. Keep it up, guys.

Very insightful and delightful Podcast

by AnthonyHaddix on May 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The Bancroft Brothers take Podcasting to a whole new level. It's neat how animators, clean up artists, producers, character designers, composers, voice actors/actresses, directors, writers and so on reflect on their processes and past work. It's also really fun banter to listen to while driving home after a hard days work. Definitely my favorite podcast. I love animated movies, especially the Classic Disney ones in which we all have grown up with.

So much knowledge

by nizzbot on May 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Pretty amazing time we liv win to be able to listen to great artists share their knowledge about animation, illustration any more, and tell so many the behind-the-scenes stories form their time at Disney. I you’re a fan of animation, Disney or are trying to make it out there as an artist of any kid this visa great show to listen to.

Excellence in podcast

by MountainPowerLineman on May 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I only recently found this podcast, and have already found myself binge listening. If you enjoy learning about the history of animation, meeting the people who made all the stories and characters you love, then this is a place you want to be.

Funny and Informative! A must for animation fans!

by Tosh913 on May 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Tony and Tom are an amazing duo. Their comedy just cracks me up. That fact that they rag or rip on each other just makes it that much more fun. But seriously these guys get some great guests in animation. They ask some good questions and have a good time with their guests.. What a way to beat the traffic blues in Los Angeles! Keep going guys, I have no doubt episodes will keep coming into the triple digits and more!