Average rating:

4.5
out of 2525 ratings.

Let's talk about how terrible the world is

by Sizing info?! on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to really like this podcast. They talked about pop culture and women's issues and it was kind of funny sometimes. Since the election all they talk about is politics in this really "the world is a trash fire" way. I'm aware the world is a trash fire right now, but constantly hearing this from them is pretty depressing and redundant. They never really leave off on a positive note of any kind. It's just annoying. I think at this point they're taking themselves too seriously and have stopped having fun with the podcast.

Yaaas

by chelsearmerrow on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast! As a woman I always feel so inspired, empowered, and ready to take on the world after listening to an episode. I love the women interviewed and their range of expertise. I’ve read and watched so much because of this podcast, ugh love you ladies!

Snobbish & Boring

by nutellakell on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I liked this show in the very beginning. But then it seemed to become all about the guests they had on and sort of “sold out”. I realized the women saw everything only from their perspectives and were extreme about everything political. It made me uncomfortable and actually turned me off of the feminist movement I used to be interested in. There are plenty of smart and interesting podcasts out there, don’t waste your time.

Stopped listening after the feces episode

by Alice Nonymous on Dec 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was on the fence with CYG for a while; though they have great guests, the hosts don’t question their privilege as upper-class cis women, and I felt left out of their conversations. Their episode about feces got me to finally unsubscribe. Talking about women’s health is one thing, but discussing the joy you get from eliminating your bowels is another. Hard pass.

Oh, The Bounty of CYG !

by jenielsen on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Where do I begin ? A&A are my right and left hands. I start my days with them, I end my days with them, we walk to work, we work out. Oh the places we go ! The quintessential voices of thorough, thoughtful, authentic, honest reflection on what it’s like to be women, specifically woc today. As a white woman, I feel so grateful to witness honest exchanges about race w each other and their guests. I feel full of sunshine and rainbows even when the discussions are bleak. Hearing women support other women always uplifts my day. I spread the gospel of #shinetheory everywhere I go. Thank you ! Oh, I also j’adore all things Gina D. and I’m obsessed w Carolyn Pennypacker Riggs’ interstitial music.

Great content overall. Too bad about the vaccine propaganda.

by #NEGUI# on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great content overall. Too bad about the vaccine propaganda. Speaking of women deciding over their own bodies, it’s irksome to have the hosts views on what vaccine I should be taking shoved down my throat at the beginning of a podcast.

Smart Besties

by kdog22 on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so much on this podcast. I’ve been listening for years, but the most recent episode with Alexis Coe was so so great. Can she come back more often?? Thank you for being a podcast that constantly highlights amazing, passionate women who are changing the world.

Thanksful for this show

by madison.safer on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to CYG coming into my feed. Both Ann and Animatou have such insightful and funny perspepctives to offer. Cannot reccomend it enough!

Best Podcast of all Time

by L-Birdddddddd on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They are constantly teaching me new things, both supporting my rage and giving me new things to rage about. They also remind me of the importance of investing in adult female relationships and non-romantic relationships, generally. I feel so SEEN by them and am grateful for the high quality show they deliver FOR FREE. Thank you Amina, Ann and Gina for doing Goddess’ work. Can’t wait to see you live in NYC!

The. BEST.

by Wolfpack Momma on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for giving us your best, truest, most honest bestie chats every week.

Call Your Girlfriend has helped me so much

by FrenchYoast on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Many of my best friends are really far away and it’s lovely to know Ann and Amena know what I’m going through. They gave me the confidence to found my own podcast Achingly Polite. I love them.

Increasing self-righteousness

by hwpw on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I was a huge CYG fan for several years but as with everything under the Trump administration, this podcast has gotten mean and self-righteous. I continue to ADORE Amina and think she is an incredible, funny, and wise voice, but Anne spends a lot of her time on this podcast pretending very strenuously not to be a white woman. We get it, girl, you’re “one of the good ones.”

Smartest humans on the internet

by geokels04 on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love learning from these two brilliant women every week <3

Smart, cutting, and entertaining. Force your male friends to listen.

by rubergly on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ann and Amina have great chemistry together (as one would expect of besties) and generally have very, very thoughtful discussions about feminism and other politically charged topics. Whenever a person (usually a man) goes on a rant to me that liberals have taken everything too far and nobody thinks through the repercussions of social reform, I tell them to listen to this podcast. (Whether they actually do listen to this podcast, well, that's different; much easier to go on thinking liberals are all a hivemind who see things in black and white, I suppose, rather than listen to thoughtful ladies break down the good and the bad and the bloody.)

My favorite of all time!!

by LJ7891 on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute favorite podcast! I love hearing these incredibly intelligent and funny women talk about a huge range of topics from pop culture, politics, and their own lives. Some of the best conversations I’ve ever heard in a podcast. They will definitely challenge you and sometimes you may not agree with them but they are smart, thoughtful, and supremely entertaining. I can’t recommend enough!

Good pod but won’t subscribe

by mima604 on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I wanted to listen longer but you two should playback your pod and count how many times each of you say “like”. It made me crazy and I couldn’t focus on the context with so many “like”s peppered in every sentence. It’s distracting and diminishes your obvious intelligence.

Always insightful

by magicmaker95 on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amina and Ann always leave me stunned, informed, and like I’ve had a great convo with some old friends about the important stuff. I love their podcast and look forward to each new episode.

Like like like

by ️Ktb on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Seems like a really intriguing podcast but I could not get through the first five minutes because of the use of the word ‘like’ was way too excessive

Kamala Harris was unbelievable

by RunningT76 on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The episode brought tears to my eyes. If she ever runs for president, I will quit my job and campaign for her.

Surviving the Trump Era Via this Podcast

by Kris A.A on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tips for self care, call-ins and reminders that we’re not alone during this truly scary time. If you need to feel connected during this administration, this is your podcast.

Nurse-midwife endorses!

by elleboudreau on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My gateway episode was when Ann shared her sandwich-making, IUD-dropping story. As a nurse-midwife who works with vulnerable communities I’m always on the hunt for smart and sassy folks who are talking about bodies, sexism, politics, gender, and race. Now I’m a committed member of the CYG fam and it is my #1 podcast recommendation for anyone who needs a new podcast!

My Favorite Podcast for years!

by michellem5 on Aug 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to these smart, lovely ladies for years and always enjoy listening to their insights and news. They have really helped guide my thinking and I love their shine theory!

Love CYG

by Pinkfussion on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my new favorite podcast!

‘Like’ ‘Like’

by Elemenohpea77 on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

New game: drink every time they say ‘like’ 😆

The best podcast ever

by AllyBU2001 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to Friday more than ever now to listen to Ann and Amina share their perspectives on what’s happening around us. They feed my feminist soul on a weekly basis and have opened my eyes to many issues and ideas!

Needed

by trumpetcycle on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi Folks,This is a fabulous podcast with content for the temporal lobes! Thanks for the wit and activation of what's up.

Can’t get enough!

by Courtney A C Burke on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, relevant, funny, and real. These two women get it. They break things down if it is a topic that is maybe unfamiliar and also explore their own ponderings making for a true to life girlfriend convo. Wish we were gfs in real life. See you on the internet Amina and Ann❤️❤️

CYG BPF (best podcast friends)

by jeaninena on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ann and Amina are the smart, engaged friends you need in your ears these days.

This podcast is AMAZING!

by Noelu129 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Three years ago, one of my besties moved 900 miles away, and a few weeks ago, another of my besties moved 900 miles away. Call Your Girlfriend reminds me that long distance friendship is possible!

Thank you for consistent, engaging content.

by sanranros on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This episode (Buffet of Horrors) could not have come at a better time. It is totally overwhelming to stay current with terrifying daily reality of the here and the now, more than ever. It is also very hard to even keep my head above water sometimes, in my realm of what is happening in the world around me. Very recently it has also been difficult in my personal life - having just received a diagnosis for bipolar disorder and struggling with how this *thing* defines me and I define it. Without going into too much detail, your words about mental health were incredibly reassuring and wonderful to hear. Aminatou and Ann, you are like good friends in a way talking in my ears as I work and commute. Thank you for helping keep me and many others sane through these trying, terrible, Tr*mpian times. I appreciate you with my whole heart.

Too much giggling

by Ni_esha on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not for me. Tried my first episode and was totally turned off by the singing and giggling. Couldn’t get into the first episode and I wanted to like it.

Recommending to all my girlfriends

by N-Ro1 on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and look forward to each new episode because these ladies speak about a variety of topics and perspectives I am not getting elsewhere. I appreciate hearing about different body types, microdosing, emotional labor and more. I feel good after I listen, comforted by hearing from women I can relate to and enriched by new information. I also like the newsletter and website and have been grateful to have them as a resource for follow up reading. Shine on CYG ladies. Thank you for your work.

Can’t get into it

by SWill17 on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’ve listened to at least 20 episodes because I really wanted to like the show, but honestly I just can’t get into it. There’s nothing truly substantial and there hasn’t been much of a structure. I’m all for random, but this podcast is the equivalent to a run away ADHD squirrel.

Simply uninteresting

by Twinkzzz on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have tried several episodes. It is difficult to listen to one young lady reminds me too much of a “valley girl” i find the content uninteresting. When i find the podcast that referred me to this podcast i will reduce it by a star.

Good content but the “like”s KILL me!

by lynseydesign on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I want to listen to this but the incessant use of “like” makes me cringe. I can’t get past it.

Yaasss!

by Chelbell Ride on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! This podcast is everything. My sister suggested I listen to CYG and I can’t get enough! Hysterical, witty, smart, and relevant. Thank you for being a virtual beffie. This podcast makes me feel like I’m hanging w my girlfrans. Keep the great content coming!

Yes!! Women!!

by Lady Digby on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Lots of wonderful women-focused perspective and eye-opening discourse on current events. I appreciate the multi-perspective provided by these amazing women putting themselves in the world without apology. Cannot get enough CYG!

Best part of my week!

by Jebrown951 on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t know I could find a one-stop shop for all my interests. CYG covers current events, politics, pop culture, fashion, feminism, books, and more, all while making me laugh. It feels like hanging out with friends

Great podcast!

by SueR on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m an aging boomer, so probably not the target audience, but I love love love this podcast and these fierce and strong besties!

Can't get enough

by j.ré on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I count down the days every week for this podcast to be released on Friday. It feeds the soul and keeps me going, Thank you!!!

Like Discussing the News with Your Best Girlfriend

by labrabrink on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to this pod for several years now, I think I found out about it on a tumblr post or something. It’s always made me feel joyful, informed, and entertained whenever I tune in. It feels really interesting to be in the middle of a conversation between two best friends without really being there, just a silent observer hearing their perspectives and watching the tangents they go on lead them into more and more great stories, takes, jokes, and comments. I always recommend this one to people who are looking to expand their podcast libraries, or their sociopolitical horizons!

My favorite podcast

by Annabrady9087 on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Each week I look forward to Friday because of the drop of this podcast. Amina and Ann feel like my cool friends/mentors. Love it!

I LOVE this pod!

by Gracetwood on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, funny, and something I listen to watching every single week. It's such a good one!

Love these cha Chas!

by Carlys Melendez on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Omg! These two are like my friend sisters and I j’adore them! Those who think they are annoying back the f up! This is real girl talk. Xo

Don’t be a dummy, listen to this podcast

by sneal93 on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s got news, it’s got culture, it’s got feminism, it’s got witty batter, what more do you need?

Thank you for Talking about the problems with SESTA

by Zsawetfvhhj on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I work in anti-human trafficking in Arizona (Home of SESTA supporter John McCain- whose wife, btw, is chair of the AZ Human Trafficking Council) and am appalled by how insidious this bill is and am so grateful you spotlighted this in your most recent podcast. People know I do this work and are constantly congratulating me for this ‘exciting new bill’ and I’ve had this exact conversation with every one of them. Thanks for being so woke.

Love these smart, hilarious ladies!

by LiveLife4 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always the best way to start —or wind down—my Fridays. Love the smart, honest humor. Never smug, always along this journey as two friends sharing their thoughts and lives with us. Lots of politics, pop culture, writing and finding the funny in life, even in the Trump era.

love this podcast

by addie_b on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

<3 <3 love their perspective

Fridays Give Me Life

by OhioCityTim on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful content that I look forward to each week. My favorite episodes are when it’s just A&A chatting and catching up. Having said that, I have learned about TONS of great books, artists and other media from CYG.

Thank You

by masprema on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

truth telling … you rock and shine. You make my life much better. Thank you. Love you three, love the podcast.