Average rating:

4.5
out of 1085 ratings.

What a shame

by HeartNicole on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's so sad that the Splendid Table has gone so far downhill. After Lynne retired and passed the baton to Francis Lam the show is a mere shadownof itself. Gone are the passionate calls with listeners, exuberant talks about foos and off the cuff recipes. Gone is the love. Francis is more interested in people than the food they make. His knowledge is nothing compared to Lynne's. Not to mention it seems like 3 out of 4 episodes are now complete repeats or combinations of past interviews. I can't bear to give TST less than 3 stars because of the decades of beauty Lynne left us, but Francis is so milquetoast I hardly ever listen anymore.

One of my favorites

by Newbie homeowner on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate the cultural history aspect of this podcast. I love to cook, and I love to eat, and I really love hearing other people’s stories. Listening to The Splendid Table grows my culinary know-how along with my human empathy. Thanks for all your hard work, Sally, Francis, and everyone!

Love this!

by SChand on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I learn SO much about food and cooking. And beyond that, it exposes me to different perspectives —it makes me think. Francis is a wonderful host—funny, knowledgeable, and curious.

Too much politics

by Laura747100 on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The show was great with Lynn. I’m sad with the way the show has turned into a political agenda. The last straw was Cecile Richards “baking pies” which was not at all about cooking. No more of this podcast for me.

Used to be better

by Heather @mymotherlymusings.com on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Splendid table used to be my favorite podcast (Lynn was the host)... when I heard Frances was going to take it on- I was sad but decided to give him a try. There have been good episodes, I’m just a bit surprised Splendid table would put someone on as host, who isn’t as culturally rounded as Lynn. I was actually embarrassed for the show in the more recent episode when Frances and guest joke about ‘carrying a mantle’... they had no clue what it even meant. (Psst... it’s not a fireplace mantle! 🤦🏽‍♀️)Bottom line- The guests are generally interesting, I hope the hosting improves over time.

Losing interest

by fuiluhfegfbyhjm on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have been hearing a lot of “repurposed” segments in the new format. It’s frustrating to get into a podcast on a commute only to realize that parts are reruns.

A foodie must

by Debiker on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is something every foodie should listen to. I have learned so much about food history, new cookbooks and books about food. Also news about food trends. What more could a foodie want to know. Very interesting and entertaining.

Francis Lam is magnificent

by Rewchan on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Topics are diverse but host Lamb approaches all with curiosity, intelligence and generosity. The Edna Lewis special is a perfect example of this podcast’s blend of cuisine and culture.

Love it

by Shams W on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have loved this podcast for many years and am so grateful to have it for my commute to work. Thanks Francis, for the fabulous job you’re doing, and thanks to all the folks who make this podcast possible. Mwah!!!

Impressed by Francis Lam!

by lnz789456 on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so impressed at the job Francis Lam is doing since taking over the show!

Show’s new agenda disappointing

by HomeCook35 on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have been a loyal Splendid Table listener for the past ten years. I, like many others, was sad to learn that Lynne would be retiring, but have continued to listen each week, hoping that Francis would find his stride. That may have happened, but the show is almost unrecognizable in relationship to what it had been in the past. I’ve always listened to the show for seasonally relevant tips and recipes, to learn new techniques, and to hear from others as to what they’re facing in their home kitchens. Now, when I tune in, it seems as though every week the majority of the show is food politics, and the like.(As background, I’m a mid-thirties, liberal Democrat, and even I’m tired of the arc of the show. The last show I listened to was about vegetarian-ism and masculinity issues. Seriously.)It’s not that I think Francis’ new turn to the show is wrong. It is that it has fundamentally changed the nature of the show and what it has always been. I’m very disappointed.NPR has lost my donation. Here’s to hoping Lynne might return at minimum, for Turkey Confidential in November.

Lynn >>>>> Francis

by Andria I on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Francis hasn't improved the show much, and his voice doesn't even compare to Lynn's beautiful one.😜 Since he started hosting, there have been so many repeat shows. I'm pretty sure there's one at least once every other week, and the worst part is they're presented as new shows in your feed. Also, the show is much less about food now and much more about politics, racism, culture, etc. I'm just here for the food and recipes, and I don't care about that stuff. There are still some good elements to the show- the listener questions are always my favorite part. But most of the time I'm just like "really, Francis..?"

Please recommend other food podcasts

by Rum P. Raft on Jul 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

While I agree it is important to tell the stories behind those who make food and advocate for justice every part of our lives, this podcast has ceased to satisfy me. Most of Public Radio/podcast media I consume informs me of social ills and how to affect change. I just want a podcast that takes me on a gastro adventure and guides me to imagine new flavors. Can anyone recommend some alternatives? Since Lynn left Francis has watered down the experience significantly.

Francis!

by Bev the podcast addict on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Francis is amazing. Really thoughtful topics on more than just cooking. His rapport with and respect for the people he’s interviewing is clear. And when he laughs, I laugh.

Better and better

by DearlyAshleigh on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is just getting stronger, more accessible, and more relevant every week. Kudos to Francis and the team!

I love that it’s mostly about people

by eastendfan on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dear Francis,I love the direction you are taking the show.I fully agree that food is about the people who produce food, who cook food and who share and eat food.Your energy and style are such a welcome and civilized reminder of respect and kindness so very needed in these challenging times.Thank you.Kind regards,Christina Lindstrom

Great podcast

by Jolene111_9 on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to “The Splendid Table” for several years. I think I have listened to almost every episode. I enjoy the wide variety of interviewees. I liked the Lynn Rosetto Casper, but also really enjoy the younger version with Frances Lamb.

Please get better music

by localfoodlover on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the show and the new direction. So why are you using the same lame music? It’s distracting from his otherwise very smooth and relaxing delivery. keep the great interviews, but change the music please!

Dying for NEW content

by MC NGG on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

When Francis took over for Lynne, I was excited because I thought there would be a new show every week. I assumed that the reason that the show recycled so many segments so frequently, and recycled them multiple times, was because Lynne was getting ready to retire and couldn’t devote herself to creating new shows all the time. Needless to say, I was disappointed to hear shows repeated almost as soon as Francis took over. Yes, they were the shows he had done last year, when he and Lynne were alternating weeks, but they were still repeats. I’ve been listening religiously since at least 2006; I feel that I know most of the episodes by heart. So I can tell when shows are being recycled. It wasn’t only the Splendid Table, either: many other public radio shows were doing the same thing, such as Speaking of Faith, which has now been renamed On Being. Apparently the economic situation is still dire for public radio. Keep contributing folks!

Good show!

by char476 on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I used to listen to the Splendid Table a few years ago but got a bit burned out. Just downloaded an episode today for my run and I really enjoyed it! Good variety, enough depth on each segment, fun content. I'll be back!

I used to love her

by kareykareylou on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to adore this podcast. I love Lynne’s enthusiasm. I do like Francis’ inclusion of diverse foods/food topics and non-European foods. I’ve since attempted making pho. But lately it’s ALL RERUNS. Reruns from when I started listening 2 years ago. It’s almost offensive how lax this podcast has become. I’m wholly disappointed. The most recent podcast had an interesting title. The first segment was fascinating...then reruns

Still wonderful

by Martashea on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Splendid Table is the first podcast I ever listened to. It became a Sunday morning treat to listen to after church every week. Lynne Rosetto Casper was an awesome hostess and commentator I came to consider a friend. I was hesitant that anyone could fill her shoes. Frances Lamb is doing an admirable job in my opinion. It is still my favorite podcast!

The Splendid Table is excellent!

by Brooklyn Brendan on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Do you like to cook? Are you a restless cook, always on the hunt for fresh ideas? Looking to pull off something amazing for your next dinner party? If any of these descriptions fits you, I could not recommend any other podcast more highly. Inventive, informative, filled with interesting segments, powered by people who really have their fingers on the pulse of food today. Not “stunt-y” or “molecular” but practical and delicious. Sign up for their “Weeknight Kitchen” emails, too. Really fun, and useful no matter where you live.

A beautiful show

by Kodiak Julian on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lynne Rossetto Kasper taught me how to cook over years of the show, and she felt like family. The new host, Francis Lam, has taken this show in a wonderful direction, bringing in diverse voices and multiple views on important subjects. I am deeply grateful for both the show's past and its future.

less food noises please

by MisterSanuk on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoy this podcast, and Francis Lam has been great! BUT...I realize podcasts are an audio medium, and that the subject is food, but PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE can we have less closely mic'ed sounds of people slurping, chewing, lip-smacking, etc? These are intensely repulsive and appetite-killing sounds in real life, and the effect is magnified X1000 when experienced through earbuds. Don't even get me started on Bridget Lancaster's dog...

I’m hungry

by PodcastAddict719 on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite food podcast

I love thus show

by chuckstrong on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always loved this show! It informs and inspires me in my kitchen. It has made me a much better foodie.

Relevant and real

by Owll on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Powerful teaching bites. Appreciate the energy as it forages the relevant. I’ve enjoyed The Splendid Table for years even as it morphs. Thank you Lynne! And now thank you Francis!

One of my favorite podcasts!

by Lnda S on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great topics, covered in a very approachable way. A nice diversion from all the anxiety in our society these days.

Fantastic

by JAGSC on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love that Americas Test Kitchen now contributes to this show

Nice variety and helpful

by Kingrockafan on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like learning from the various guests.

Rewards Repeat Listening

by Mishalak on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Splended Table often goes back in my playlist to listen to again. Pieces of advice that were not relevant months ago suddenly connect with a problem or idea I am working on. It is an excellent replacement for my America's Test Kitchen Radio podcast. Thank you for all the variety of useful and entertaining information.

Love the podcast

by thizzzz on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

But please stop with the slurping and chewing sounds!! I can't listen to the episodes that have them, drives me insane

Not A Cook But Love Splendid Table

by HairyNYC on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t remember when I discovered Splendid Table but loved it from the first. My favorite was when Lynne would create receipes from callers leftovers plus her allowed addition of salt, pepper, garlic and olive oil. I may not be remembering 100% correctly but she always amazed me with her creativity! Best to Francis Lam as he assumes the reigns.

Really Great podcast!

by Victor Apple Store on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is really the best podcast I have ever listened to!

One of my favorites.

by Dhei nfjcjemedjn Sarah on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, especially the variety of stories, recipes, and ways to explore food.

Endearing & Excellent all around!

by Caiman19 on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Well researched and produced. Informative and fun. If you like ATK, Milk Street, Radiolab or Sporkfull, don't miss out on this!

Episode 611

by Megan.dell on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love that this episode featured some food from areas of the world often forgotten. Melissa Clark is way to excited and i literally couldn't finish the episode. Which is sad because this is one of my favorite podcast.i think it was mostly the pitch of her voice that became intolerable and reaping the same phrases.

Absolute favorite podcast!

by rktoro on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening to the latest episode every week -- the hosts are super knowledgeable & friendly, the topics & guests are always fascinating & leave me hungry to try something new to eat or cook, the calls/ questions are fun to listen to too. All in all I always get a warm feeling from this podcast, love it!! :)

A change of hosts, but still the same glorious magic!

by tian.cellist on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lynne has been a fabulous voice to listen to over the years, providing such a joyful and beautiful take on the art of cooking. While I am sad to see her stepping away, I am so thrilled that The Splendid Table will be left in the immensely capable hands of Francis Lam. He has a different perspective which is just as valuable, and it is just inspiring to see him pick up the lofty role left by Lynne with such graciousness and sensitivity. I can't wait to listen for many more years to come!

Best Podcast

by Constently Learning on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast been listening for 3 years !! 🍻🥂☕️🍵🍪🍰🎂🍧🍨🍩🍮🍸🍽

Good Show

by luxuryoption on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good show with both the current and new hosts. Unusual topics keep things interesting. There has been a problem with iTunes in recent weeks, and the podcast will no longer download. Sad, I will miss the show.

No Lynne No good No listen

by lindabee222 on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

At least there's an archive of the older shows...

Sometimes not so splendid

by passepartoot on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I find myself enjoying this podcast (and the radion show) less each week. I've been fast forwarding through them when the segments get too virtuous. Today I didn't listen to it at all. One topic: Why we should tolerate Southerners." Seemed pretentions. Usually there is moralizing about social justice or scary ingrediants (toxins? GMOs?) Splemdid Table is at its best when it's sensuous, instructive or adventuous . The moralizing taints the sauce.

New Host, Same Delightful Show

by The Hearty Vegetable on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you love eating and/or cooking, I highly recommend this podcast. I fell in love with The Splendid Table years ago when Lynne Rossetto Kasper was still the host. The suggested techniques, flavor combinations, and interviews with experts on all things food were wonderful. The best part was Lynne's genuine enthusiasm and sweetness that made you feel you were there in the kitchen with her. The new host, Francis Lam, brings the same interesting food topics and warmth that I've come to expect from the show, while adding his own twist. Bravo!

Great Food Podcast for Everyone

by diamond007 on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Though I'm not a professional, or even well-experienced in the kitchen, but I LOVE listening to this food podcast! It encapsulates all aspects of food as well as food culture. It's also great to get a break from more news-driven podcasts.

Still Great

by MostlyMeg on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wasn't sure what this show would be like without Lynn, but Mr. Lam brings a vibrant energy that I find quite entertaining

Has taken a downward turn - Soapbox vs Podcast

by Steeler Craig on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This was one of my favorite podcasts. While it was always partisan and pushed the social justice narrative, it was at least somewhat balanced. Since Francis Lamb has come on board, every podcast has become a search for a victim, an oppressor and a soapbox from which to push division and social lament of the victim of the day and spewing of whatever "diversity" buzzword will draw the most attention. All important topics and discusion but the guise of informative podcast has all but been destroyed by the onslaught of political correctnes and victim oppressor rhetoric. No doubt there is an audience for this but those who listened in spite of the public radio social leanings, will only listen for so long... too many options out there to continue listening to accusatory, partisan rhetoric every week and hear excuse after excuse for complacency and diminished progress without balanced discussion and perspective. Tremendous potential but execution has taken a hit.

Quality Food Show

by EllyKeuthan on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Splendid Table is an excellent food show. The production is high-quality, the topics are various (about food, cooking, and eating), and I'm often walking away with new ideas.

Great show!

by Rambotrout on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting topics, relaxing and enjoyable to listen to. I learn something every time. I love having it on as I'm putting groceries away and cooking. The new host is great. Terrific show!!