Average rating:

5
out of 63 ratings.

Rev left fan

by RobertAnonymous on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just listened to your Vietnam episode with Brett. Anxiously looking forward to my commute so I can listen to more. Keep up the good work.

Good conversations

by JizzAugury on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The host has thoughtful conversations with leftist writers and others on diverse topics. Give it a listen.

Completely unique

by davidthereporter on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening almost since the beginning, and Nostalgia Trap has grown into an old favorite. There's nothing like it: conversations with historians (usually) and their lives on the left that touch on every aspect of the contemporary United States and the world, to the point they'd be interesting to any listener. And for those who are in academia, David has a running emphasis on career paths and the current collapse of humanities employment that he and many of his guests have faced.

Wonderful History podcast

by DubstepInDPRK on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast that captures both public and academic history. Really excellent to listen to!

Historians and their stories

by Geoffrey Dewan on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This has come to be one of my favorite podcasts. I love that David delves into the background of the guests that he has on. There's something deeply illuminating and human in finding out where someone comes from, how they grew up, what their ideas were and how they changed over time. It gives a depth to whatever topic they're discussing which broadens and illuminates the story they bring into the present. Thanks, David, for including me in these conversations.

Mainah

by gotmahmojo on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nostalgia Trap is one of my favorite podcasts. Unlike a lot of political podcasts, David puts things in a historical perspective and he always seems to have a really good rapport with his interviewees, which makes me feel like I’m at a party with some really smart and interesting guests. Although at times there’s a sense of existential dread in these discussions, there’s always that lefty idealism injected into the conversations that a better world is possible.

Excellent podcast

by xFORRESTx on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews with academics, activists and others about history, culture and society. The wide range of people interviewed means it's sometimes a bit hit and miss depending on your interests, but I've been listening for years and have continued to come back because some of the interviews are truly great.

Unique and excellent

by Kwbaker1974 on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the focus on people's backgrounds and intellectual formation. REALLY digging the AM/FM episodes.

Great weaving together of personal narrative and ideas

by chance grable on Dec 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Good variety of guest, some famous, some are not, all are interesting people with well thought out perspectives. Cool format of weaving together personal biography with intellectual and political development. Helps provide a more holistic understanding of scholars and their work. Conversations flow well, goes in different directions but stays in a general direction, like any good history.

Great way to gain broad perspective of 50's thru 70's

by MarkTraf on Jul 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, Dave. You do a great job! You engage intelligent and experienced people who are committed to making positive change and you've provided me with an opportunity to understand more of the dynamics of the upheaval, both during and leading up to, the 60's and 70's.

Nostalgia Trap

by Cheesegouda1974 on Oct 02, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

Interesting and engaging, but please, let the guests talk and finish their thoughts.

Progressive Thinking

by hey, you on Apr 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an interesting podcast: a thinking person's engagement with a changing world. I like mr. Parson's affable enthusiasm and intellectual chops. He steers the discussion in surprising & original directions. Now I want to read a paper on GI Joe as "chewable ideology."