Average rating:

5
out of 14826 ratings.

Well done

by tammytalking on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I initially was disappointed in the sound quality when playing via my iPhone 7+. I started listening to the first episodes but now I’m listen in order from newest to oldest. I also am listening though a wireless speaker. I now have no complaint about the audio. I love how the stories are told... slowly, intelligently and thoughtfully. They are tastefully told so if your looking for graphic gory details this won’t be to your liking. Phoebe Judge’s voice is like butter. This is my favorite pod cast.

Love it.

by nesanet on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love listening to this podcast. I love their ideology of what encounters criminals and what causes them to take those actions. Is it simply by choice, fate, and destiny? Why do people choose to commit such actions. It’s quite fascinating. The interviews help determine the perceived understanding from different aspects. From the victims to the criminals. Truly great work.

Jump-a

by Flynnolery on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show, great choice of interesting cases. But just one question ... does everyone down under wear a Jump-a? What is a Jump-a? I envision people all wearing onesies running around there. Lol. But seriously, great show.

My Favorite Podcast!

by cupcake615 on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic storytelling in a snackable way. Phoebe is a smooth, smart host who allows these stories to unfold in the best way possible. They are human, they are interesting and this is my favorite podcast out there.

Stimulating!

by Sparklematica on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like this podcast. They’re well-produced, informative and entertaining. So many times I’ve caught myself saying “holy moly I’ve already driven this far?” Thats a sign of a great podcast. They’re always interesting and usually done in an upbeat way that makes the mind feel refreshed and stimulated. I wouldn’t mind if they were slightly longer too. Just sayin.

LOVE !!

by zoey2196 on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

this podast is insane and amazing! i love learning new things from it!

Always interesting

by Listening in Appleton on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

You never know what each episode will be about but know it will be engaging.

Interesting, fun and thought provoking

by PGR3 on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

The Criminal crew does an amazing job. I genuinely look forward to every new release, so much so I was inclined to write my first review. Not your typical crime podcast, so much better. Highly recommend.

Just Listen

by Markc222 on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

My fav podcast and one of the best out there. Quirky, suprising stories about criminals, crimes and all things related. Listen to one episode and you'll be hooked (I was!).

True Crime

by ShannenW37 on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like True Crime shows or Podcasts this one is exceptional. This is my favorite true crime podcast for sure but it’s so much more than true crime like when Phoebe interviewed the guy who started the Witness Protection program; I couldn’t believe how interesting that was.

Anywhere Anytime

by Lulu badger on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I could listen to Phoebe talk about anything and everything. This is an extremely well done podcast that is the perfect balance of entertainment and education. Phoebe Judge's ability to story tell are phenomenal and will have you thinking the same. I find you can listen to this podcast whilst doing very mundane tasks and you will find it adds some flavor to your day...

The best crime podcast

by yesmimi on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Criminal has heart, soul, and a conscience. A must listen!

Interesting Learning

by qwertyasdjlkcv,ansdfas.lfkl on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great way to open your mind to things you might not typically think.

Not exploitative

by Sakari on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Crimes and criminal discussed with dignity.

Far and away my favorite Podcast!

by WhitneyA on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast! The firsthand perspective is fascinating. All of the stories are more than what they initially seem and they are presented with care compassion by Phoebe and her team! Download them all!!

The best!!

by hollyfromflorida on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My all time favorite podcast!

Snooze fest

by Keekeepee on Dec 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I suppose the content could be great but Phoebe’s voice is a complete snooze fest. Some of the episodes are just uninteresting.

Addicted.

by KrustBucketz on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every inch of this podcast is what I look for. Immediately graves your attention and leaves you in complete awe. 10/10. Highly recommend.

Episode 82

by lbcnursienurse on Dec 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing episode!

So-so

by Nm12882431 on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Most of the stories are interesting but the episodes are so short that you don’t get as much information as you would like. The infrequency of the episodes is also quite annoying.

Nails on a chalk board

by Sheriff brazzers on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I feel like the narrator is intentionally trying to sound pretentious.

Can’t wait for Friday’s

by Albuquerue Turkey on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. And can’t wait for Friday’s when the episodes come out. All the best day to drive into work. A unique twist on crime and not your typical murder mysteries.

Well written and fascinating

by AJFriday on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast to listen to in bed because the host’s tone is so soothing, but you won’t want to fall asleep because the stories are so fascinating! From visiting body farms to interviewing airplane high jackers this podcast covers a variety of crime related topics. Phoebe Judge is amazing and I look forward to new episodes (but enjoy repeats for bedtime).

Fascinating listen

by LizinDE on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just finished going through the back catalog. I have to say this is one of the best true crime podcast I have tried out. Amazing work and wonderful stories.

Yikes

by Lemons1226 on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was so excited to listen to this because I love true crime. I usually don’t knock on the voice of the host if it’s irritating to me but this one is just awful. It’s an obvious choice, and a bad one at that and makes it hard to listen. I’m disappointed.

The stories are good but the host’s voice not so much

by Laaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmr on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I literally suffer through an episode at times, because I can’t stand the soft, breathy voice coming through my car stereo. Can we please limit the amount of time the host narrates the story? I think the stories are really compelling, and I do enjoy them. But the host’s voice GRATES.

Amazing “true crime” podcast

by Mollylorra1ne on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to every episode twice. I’m a true crime fan- but this podcast offers so much more. From the underground economy of Venus flytraps to art fraud to more typical true crime genre, it’s one of the best podcasts around. I can’t recommend it more highly.

Bravo

by puffycoqui on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like phoebes narrative and interviewing methods!

Great Content and Delivery But...

by Nietzsche66 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am shocked to hear the host ask/make some ridiculously stupid questions/statement. For example, in The Manual episode she asks the interviewee to explain what a book entitled something like “How to Carry Out a Murder Hit” is about. And then she states she thought the hiring of hitmen only happens in the movies. Say what?? Has she never watched a 48 Hours or Dateline NBC or 20/20 episode? Or read about a murder for hire in the thousands of true crime book examples? I mean come ON. Either she is really dumber than her podcast reflects or she thinks her listeners are idiots.

Production

by Houdini 1378 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the content and stories, but the audio on Phoebe’s voice is rough and rubs me the wrong way. Seems like there’s a lot of breaths and annoying “s”es in the mix. Other than her voice I like the podcast which opens my eyes to the world.

In love with Criminal

by xxxxxoooxoxox on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very much in love with this podcast - the stories are interesting, touching, odd, inspiring and sometimes very sad. The way these stories are told is phenomenal. Phoebe is a smart journalist and empathetic interviewer. Great work!

Bias

by Urpodcaster on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Very one-sided with very little journalistic integrity. There is a disservice done to the truth when the story isn’t told correctly. She is just as bad as everyone she mocks.

Best Podcast and Host!

by Hobojoe 55555598 on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Phoebe Judge’s voice, and I’m absolutely baffled that some people do not. Her voice and nature are very warm without being syrupy or inauthentic. I feel she is so relatable, and she asks the questions that I would ask and explains the things I want to know. Every episode is so different and so interesting.

Amazing show

by Caslabro on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t get enough

Can’t get enough

by BLUS CLUS on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So great, i have listened to all episodes! Some not so great but others so so good :) patiently waiting for more episodes

It’s Criminal not to listen!

by BrandyeKing on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such unique short stories, keeps me wanting more!

Consistently Well Polished and Interesting

by Dj disc on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to Criminal for years, and it never ceases to keep me engaged and interested. Phoebe has a great voice and excellent interviewing style. The content varies so much while still staying true to its theme. Some episodes (the tree poisoning one in particular) are less riveting than others, but in general the stories are unique and compelling without being sensational or exploitative.

Love it

by gimme tacos on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Shows are shorter and very interesting. I'm addicted!

Good except for narrator

by Grammarian56 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The topic are interesting and well researched. The biggest flaw is the soporific voice of Ms. Judge. When she is questioning a subject live, her voice changes and becomes lively, engaging. At all other times, she is so deliberately “professional” that the delivery is a monotone. Shame really.

Kinda like the Terry Gross of Crime

by Noopysma on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening since the beginning. It took a minute to digest Pheobe's voice but I am mesmerized. I think that has a lot to do with the draw of this podcast. Her delivery is unique & I rather think she has become a kind of Terry Gross of the Crime genre. The recent "Ride Along" episode was an interesting idea; right there with a regular officer on regular duty without all the edited hype like is presented on so many TV shows. Keep up the good work, Ms. Phoebe (and crew). You have made a unique program of a sometimes heartbreaking subject. I feel like, at some point, I might see a 60 Minutes episode featuring you because I truly believe there's "something" about you from the moment I heard "I'm Pheobe Judge...."

CRIMINAL is truly the most interesting and entertaining podcast out there!

by wannakittykitty on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Phoebe’s voice and narration style. She soothes me after a hard day and lifts me up ... when I want to be educated, she does let me down! Thank you Phoebe ! Keep up the good work!

I love crime stories but...

by Alexandra421 on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The way host reads is too much for me... if you’ve ever seen SNL spoofs of podcast hosts, I’m sure this is who they have in mind. The content is meh. I watch a lot of crime shows and there isn’t anything being offered here that you can’t get somewhere else with more artistic story telling. Also the music seems random and out of place. This one is a pass for me.

Criminal

by Liz Golder on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautifully written and hosted. Beyond thoughtful and engaging. I am mesmerized by each episode. Thank you!

I made it through one episode

by Funkbutter on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you’ve listened to Serial, this will be a let down. But, I gave a bonus star on pure fascination that multiple producers listened to the narration and said, “Yes, I want it to sound like outlaw bedtime stories read to convict toddlers.” I can barely hear the words through the exaggerated attempt to sound compelling. My five year old niece overheard it, and she said “What’s wrong with that lady’s voice?” A lot, dear child. A lot.

There at the beginning, still the best.

by bamchikkawowow on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to Criminal from the early days. Since then true crime has taken off, but in a sea of true crime stories Criminal stands alone. These are world class crafters of stories, produced with care, attention and nuance that is still as rare and remarkable as it was when they first started. Criminal is a treasure.

An Absolute Gem

by PiscesOfTheSkies on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been around since the beginning of the podcast and for four years now this has remained one of the most charming and well-made podcasts I’ve ever found. It’s mandatory listening if there ever was such a thing.

Great

by Chris-132 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is interesting and there's a large variety of true crime stories. This is one of the best true crime podcasts.

Insightful

by NMS12345 on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

And always interesting!

One of the best

by AStone68 on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best Podcasts out there.

Good god!

by Tucky03 on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How has this podcast gotten so many positive reviews? I feel like I can’t even concentrate on the content because the host’s voice or how it carries is beyond distracting. I can only describe it like she is trying to seduce you while reading off a script in a news anchors tone.