Average rating:

4.5
out of 195 ratings.

Thinking Allowed

by Katie Joy B. on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

David and his wide variety of knowledgeable guests have done an excellent job at building a platform on which everyone is equally entitled to their own opinions. If you’re looking for a place where you're encouraged to use your own mind to learn and grow intellectually then you’ve come to the right place. Thanks for putting out such a superb show David- keep up the great work!

Excellent

by RoseBlue373 on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and entertaining. I appreciate the honesty exhibited by Dr Dave and guests. Although, I must admit that I skip the reader's mail most of the time, because it's so depressing, and I need to buffer myself in that way. But I think it's amazing that you let those voices be heard!!!! Feeling alone is horrible & dangerous, and you help alleviate that.

Love it ❤️

by NINE IF YOUR on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it ❤️

Get wrapped up!

by j3st3r999 on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great resource!

Host and Intern Ask Great Questions

by Lobita on Jul 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The guests are great, but the questions asked really cover what I want to know most.

Great podcast, incredible resource

by nadighost on Nov 02, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're a therapist/mental health professional or not (i'm not), this is a wonderful podcast. I find the topics very current (hip even!) and Dr. Dave is one of the greatest interviewers available in my mind. His questions reflect a thorough grasp of the content of each guest's books and his reflective manner adds perspective to every episode. check it out, you won't regret it.

Great

by Nightfiresown on Sep 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Only wish there was a bit more of practical application of psychology principles for they lay person. Great info generally

I could listen to this ALL DAY

by BEEEFSTAA on May 30, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Extreemly though provoking but best of all is makes conversational enough with other poeple to get their buy-in and to push you down your independent readings and reseach.

Best podcast on iTunes

by BVC7X on Apr 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Shrink Rap Radio for over a year now I recommend this podcast to anyone that loves psychology or learning in general!

Excellent

by Cgunnyon on Jul 26, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

The content is in depth yet comprehensive to the lay person. The talk radio format may take a half an episode to get used to but it is well worth it.

!

by Hobblefish on Dec 07, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is most excellent. Great host and topics. Thanks Dave.

a breath of fresh air !

by CthulhuRises on Sep 19, 2009
Rating: ★★★★☆

Dr Dave is a great interviewer -- these exchanges are not the pressured, interruptive kind you hear on mainstream radio or TV. He actually lets the guest finish their sentences for a change. Every episode is unique in that he brings a great variety of topics to the table. Very informative.

My Favorite Podcast

by clcollin on Jul 31, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I am nuts about this show! Fascinating and eclectic subjects. Most of all, I love Dr. Dave's ability to actually listen to his guests. He lets them talk quite a bit, which brings out all sorts of interesting nuggets of information. Nothing is too weird, "woo-woo", touchy-feely, or spiritual for this show. Everything is taken very seriously and respectfully. Great show.

Highly Recommend Shrink Rap Radio to Everyone!

by wizbird on Apr 19, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Shrink Rap Radio is such an excellent podcast! It is not just for psychology students. Everyone can benefit from learning more about the studies of different areas in Psychology. I especially like Dr. Dave's approach in conducting his interviews. I am sure you will enjoy Dr. Dave's podcast too.

Truly the world's premier psychology podcast

by Miranda Susan on Apr 09, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

With a doctorate in Educational Psychology, an M.B.A., and degrees in agronomy, French, polical science, and plant pathology between the two of us, my husband and I are disparate spirits with a common thirst for learning. We couldn't be more different in our "day jobs"(i.e. teacher and commodities trader), but every week this podcast consistently gives us topics for conversation and information immediately applicable to our personal and professional daily lives. Dr. Dave is an astute, skilled podcaster who is a great interviewer and teacher. Thank you, Dr. Dave, for showing us that the real work of life may begin when it seems that one's official"career" is waning. What a service you do and what a gift you give to your listeners! Impeccable, varied, treats every week!A+

shows a complete lack of critical thinking

by PsychProfessor on Mar 11, 2009
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

My background is in experimental psychology; I subscribed to this podcast in the hopes of learning something more about research in clinical and personality psychology. I have been sorely disappointed in the quality of discussion. Although the host is clearly knowledgeable about his guests' ideas, there is almost no critical thinking about those ideas exhibited in this show. Extraordinary claims are not followed up with hard questions to see if they can stand up to scrutiny. For example, in the interview with parapsychologist Dean Radin the host failed to ask his guest about the possible exclusion of null results from meta-analyses that seem to show evidence of telepathy. Instead, outrageous claims seem regularly to be accepted at face value. I am personally embarrassed at the way this show presents my discipline.

Interesting topics, Great questions

by MattCarson on Feb 21, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave brings great energy and curiousity to very interesting topics. Engaging guests, fascinating dialogue.

Dave Will Blow You Mind!

by jimp1947 on Feb 09, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dave presents a plethora of subjects on modern Psychology in a way that is both entertaining and informative. I found that even those 'casts that I thought I would not like ended up giving me new insights about areas I had never considered before. Dr. Van Nuys has a real knack for tracking down very interesting people with fascinating ideas and approaches. This program will truly stretch your mind and I highly recommend it. As Dave continually reminds us; it's all in your head!

Insightful, engaging, influential, and functional...

by Jphubbard on Sep 28, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Dr. Dave's podcast for about half a year now and will continue to listen, provided he continues to broadcast. I am a currently a personal trainer and aspiring psychiatrist. I have always been fascinated with the human body, especially the brain, and Dr. Dave's podcast provides me with pertinent information as well as great suggestions for reading material. He is very easy to listen to, even for a novice like me, and his guests are top-notch. Check out Dr Dave's other podcast; wise council.

It's good for you, really

by DaddyCast on Jun 12, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Got a problem- Dr. Dave can take care of you. Get some help the most convenient way possible with Shrink Rap Radio and take a seat on Dr. Dave's sofa for a little while- you'll feel better. Love the show!

I love this podcast!

by damarisfromTexas on Feb 18, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a psychologist or a psychology student but I find this podcast fascinating! I really enjoy it and hope you keep making it because it helps me get through my work day! I usually listen to it at work :) -A fan from Texas!

outstanding

by Interested in religion on Jan 16, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

This is what podcasting should be. Outstanding! Thanks for offering this service.

A WEALTH OF INFO!

by sanjosesongbird on Oct 11, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

No psych. degree required to listen and understand! All topics current and relevant, excellent interview style. Dr. Dave's personal anecdotes and reading of listener email at the end of interviews creates a definite feel of community. Thanks, Dr. Dave, for continuing to bring such a high quality podcast!

Stellar Podcast!

by Trevron0 on Aug 22, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most consistently informative psychology podcast available! I can't get enough of Dr Dave's awesome interviews. He has wonderful guests, thought provoking questions, and awesome insights. I am still trying to catch up with the entire backlog of episodes. I especially like topics of dreams, relationships, and cbt. I look forward to each new episode. Please do keep up the good work!

Student

by Archetype Goddess on Feb 23, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, Dr. Dave for everything that you contribute to the ever-expanding world of psychology. I am a new listener and have learned a great deal already. Keep it up!

A great podcast for those interested in psychology

by zavodvirus on Jan 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast for those interested in psychology. I am so thankful that this exists and hope that it continues to spark interest. I recommend it to almost everyone I meet.

!

by Hobblefish on Dec 07, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is most excellent. Great host and topics. Thanks Dave.

a breath of fresh air !

by CthulhuRises on Sep 19, 2009
Rating: ★★★★☆

Dr Dave is a great interviewer -- these exchanges are not the pressured, interruptive kind you hear on mainstream radio or TV. He actually lets the guest finish their sentences for a change. Every episode is unique in that he brings a great variety of topics to the table. Very informative.

I recommend this podcast.

by buster mcphie on Sep 05, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Shrink Rap Radio provides a balanced and thoughtful approach to reviewing the practice of psychology and psychotherapy. This podcast breathes life back into the heart of my profession. I listen regularly.

My Favorite Podcast

by clcollin on Jul 31, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I am nuts about this show! Fascinating and eclectic subjects. Most of all, I love Dr. Dave's ability to actually listen to his guests. He lets them talk quite a bit, which brings out all sorts of interesting nuggets of information. Nothing is too weird, "woo-woo", touchy-feely, or spiritual for this show. Everything is taken very seriously and respectfully. Great show.

Shrink Rap Radio - My favorite podcast

by Yassi_moghaddam on May 10, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave does such a fabulous job of his podcasts. He interviews quality professional, and his programs are extremely informative, very engaging and entertaining. I've been listening to Shrink Rap Radio for the last 4 years and have enjoyed every episode. Thank you Dr Dave!!!

Highly Recommend Shrink Rap Radio to Everyone!

by wizbird on Apr 19, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Shrink Rap Radio is such an excellent podcast! It is not just for psychology students. Everyone can benefit from learning more about the studies of different areas in Psychology. I especially like Dr. Dave's approach in conducting his interviews. I am sure you will enjoy Dr. Dave's podcast too.

Truly the world's premier psychology podcast

by Miranda Susan on Apr 09, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

With a doctorate in Educational Psychology, an M.B.A., and degrees in agronomy, French, polical science, and plant pathology between the two of us, my husband and I are disparate spirits with a common thirst for learning. We couldn't be more different in our "day jobs"(i.e. teacher and commodities trader), but every week this podcast consistently gives us topics for conversation and information immediately applicable to our personal and professional daily lives. Dr. Dave is an astute, skilled podcaster who is a great interviewer and teacher. Thank you, Dr. Dave, for showing us that the real work of life may begin when it seems that one's official"career" is waning. What a service you do and what a gift you give to your listeners! Impeccable, varied, treats every week!A+

I always look forward to new episodes!

by Meg in Manistee on Apr 05, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave has wonderful guests who are thought provoking and often inspire me to learn more. Dr. Dave is a great inerviewer. His listening skills really come through with his thoughtful questions. I am a counseling student and have found this podcast to be entertaining as well as a source of cutting edge information and knowledge in the field of psychotherapy.

shows a complete lack of critical thinking

by PsychProfessor on Mar 11, 2009
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

My background is in experimental psychology; I subscribed to this podcast in the hopes of learning something more about research in clinical and personality psychology. I have been sorely disappointed in the quality of discussion. Although the host is clearly knowledgeable about his guests' ideas, there is almost no critical thinking about those ideas exhibited in this show. Extraordinary claims are not followed up with hard questions to see if they can stand up to scrutiny. For example, in the interview with parapsychologist Dean Radin the host failed to ask his guest about the possible exclusion of null results from meta-analyses that seem to show evidence of telepathy. Instead, outrageous claims seem regularly to be accepted at face value. I am personally embarrassed at the way this show presents my discipline.

Excellent

by JJW7 on Mar 06, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

These podcasts are a great blend of popular psych topics and psychological science. Dr. Dave has real warmth in his interviewing style and terrific range in his knowledge of the field. This is the best podcast I know of on any topic!

Interesting topics, Great questions

by MattCarson on Feb 21, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave brings great energy and curiousity to very interesting topics. Engaging guests, fascinating dialogue.

Dave Will Blow You Mind!

by jimp1947 on Feb 09, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dave presents a plethora of subjects on modern Psychology in a way that is both entertaining and informative. I found that even those 'casts that I thought I would not like ended up giving me new insights about areas I had never considered before. Dr. Van Nuys has a real knack for tracking down very interesting people with fascinating ideas and approaches. This program will truly stretch your mind and I highly recommend it. As Dave continually reminds us; it's all in your head!

Conscious Psychology

by LuvLotus on Oct 26, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show from David. His combination of a more enlightened approach to psychology and his conversational approach are such a pleasure. Plus, he has an amazing archive of knowledge.

Insightful, engaging, influential, and functional...

by Jphubbard on Sep 28, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Dr. Dave's podcast for about half a year now and will continue to listen, provided he continues to broadcast. I am a currently a personal trainer and aspiring psychiatrist. I have always been fascinated with the human body, especially the brain, and Dr. Dave's podcast provides me with pertinent information as well as great suggestions for reading material. He is very easy to listen to, even for a novice like me, and his guests are top-notch. Check out Dr Dave's other podcast; wise council.

It's good for you, really

by DaddyCast on Jun 12, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Got a problem- Dr. Dave can take care of you. Get some help the most convenient way possible with Shrink Rap Radio and take a seat on Dr. Dave's sofa for a little while- you'll feel better. Love the show!

Entertaining and scholarly!

by In Your Psyche on Jun 10, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a graduate student in clinical psychology so this podcast is right up my alley. I've been listening now weekly for about 6 months and I love it! Dr. Dave covers a wide range of topics in psychology and appeals to all audiences. Be sure to check out the website and listen to the older shows online. Perfect for people who love to learn about psychology!

Keep Up The Good Work

by David Jackson on Jun 10, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr Dave does a great job of taking topics and making it easy to consume. I've met him in person, and he's just as cool "off the air" as he is on.

So that is how it works, eh?

by Eban_Crawford on Jun 09, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews, always entertaining, and never fails to deliver. Check out what this show has to offer. The insights of the guests on that thing we call our mind is worth the price of entry, which just happens to be free, which is a great bargain. Add it to your subs now.

This show really gives me some things to think about

by Licorice Pizza Press on Jun 08, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

There aren't many podcasts out that give you something to think about and Dr. Dave does that with every show.

my favorite podcast

by tzulu on May 24, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

smart, informative and interesting. Every show is an opportunity to expand your understanding of human psychology. Iam truly grateful that Dr. Dave gives so much of himself in providing this cohesive and well considered program. i've never missed a show - and I expect that I am a better person for it - thanks Dave.

Stop talking and listen to each other!!!!!

by pamalajane22 on May 22, 2008
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The hosts often talk over each other and do not seem to even listen to what the others have to say.

Amazing

by JWillmore2 on Apr 15, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

For someone who wants to learn about the mind or just how to understand the different personalties that are out there, this is a great podcast. Thanks Dr.Dave, i love this podcast, it really has gotten me excited about Psychology.

Amazing journey through the most important psychological venues

by Fer69 on Apr 01, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr Dave has accomplished an amazing journey through the most diverse topics that there are in the psychological space and I'm sure he will continue bringing to his listeners much more, always tries to add whatever seems to enrich the show, I definitely reccomend to spend some time listening to all his shows either to catch up or to enrich your knowledge in this matter. Fernando Blanco

Shrink Rap Radio: Excellent spectrum of topics

by Detroit Listener on Feb 01, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

The range of psychology related topics is very broad. More importantly, Dave Van Nuys has proved to be an expert interviewer who can stimulate a genuine dialog by way of thoughtful but probing questions. Dave's enthusiasm for the subjects and the process of podcasting also adds good feeling to all the shows. Enjoy!