Average rating:

5
out of 570 ratings.

Great job guys!

by KipWinger777 on Feb 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Coming from a non-dev background, this is one of my primary stops for knowing which dev rabbit holes to go down. Each episode I feel like I’m following along better thanks to the explanations along the way.

Oops

by krauseling on Feb 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I think I accidentally resubmitted a review so I thought the best way to apologize is with another review. Still an awesome show. 7/5 would review again.

Awesome for any type of developer

by Hippie MX on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is probably the only podcast I hear. These guys are awesome, they talk about really interesting things, they are funny and have some really good advices.I really enjoy the talk, the jokes, "Survey saaaaaaaaaays", tip of the week and even the way they do ads for their sponsorsI always listen while I'm driving, it was about time for me to actually leave a review.I've learned a lot from you guys and really enjoy your podcasts, keep them episodes coming!

99 Episodes Later...

by SeanFinallyLeftAReview on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

First things first; To Michael, Allen, and Joe: Thank you. You are all fantastic and have helped me so much in my career. Now, onto the review:The coding blocks podcast is fantastic. It does a great job covering complex technical concepts from the perspective of a real developer, not an academic. The topics the hosts cover are immediately applicable to the programs that I write and I always learn something awesome when I listen to Coding Blocks. They focus on broad topics that are applicable across languages, so they maintain a certain level of "technology agnostic opinions", so no matter what language you work with, you can gain something from this podcast. Additionally the hosts do a great job of creating a culture of "always-be-learning". I highly recommend not only the coding blocks podcast, but the coding blocks slack for every developer, no matter your skill level.

Learning with joy

by Grunf on Feb 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting computer science topics explained with great nerrative. I can actualy learn something new while having tons of fun listening. Just like Top Gear, but for the programmers. Love it.

Excellent Podcast

by mikejg101 on Jan 22, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening for a while. This podcast includes a lot of good information that makes each episode useful over multiple listenings. The sound quality is great and the creators have evolved the flow in response to listeners. If you are interested in learning or improving your skills in programming, definitely check this podcast out.

Really good podcast

by khoitd1997 on Jan 20, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s fun and educational at the same time, thank you so much and keep up the good work.

Alexa, play coding blocks podcast!

by mukuljain.dce on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

"Alexa, play coding blocks podcast" and it worked!! It made my day today, I was preparing tea for myself on Saturday morning and was thinking how should I start my day. Then I tried Alexa to play my super favourite podcast and it worked, YAY!!You guys are awesome and it awesome^2 to hear you guys using my dear friend Alexa.

Best podcast for programmers

by Shdhdhahajdjdjsjajxheha on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I found this podcast earlier, I always learn something new and helpful. The podcast is also very entertaining. I think I laugh at least once an episode. I listen to it on my hour long commute to work, and it helps me get through the Tampa traffic. A must listen to podcast for programmers.I love how the hosts speak on the topics from different points of view.I loved the series on the clean code book... please please please do more book reviews. It was such a great series!

Great podcast to learn!

by is0mer on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m in the healthcare field and have had no exposure to programming and computer science until starting to use it to make my job easier. I started writing python scripts and using regex that could do little things like manipulate spreadsheets, but none of these were reusable. I felt that the tutorials out there were all either “starting from scratch” or “super in-depth detail”. I wasn’t sure how I could make the jump from super novice to intermediate novice without knowing basics like algorithms or data structures and how they applied. I stumbled on to this podcast from a recommendation off of another blog I was reading and immediately felt like the hosts were super approachable and funny, but good at teaching basics and advanced topics that they see in their jobs or day-to-day lives. Thank you for everything that you do. I don’t always understand all the topics, but I usually take your approach where I remember the gist of a topic, and if I see it in practice somewhere (github or work), then it gives me a solid example to look at and mess with to understand a bit more

Best Developer Podcast I've Heard

by MikeMacDev on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love coding blocks! Very informative and interesting. The Clean Architecture book episodes are my favorites. We did a Clean Architecture book club at work, and it really helped understand the material by listening to the podcast after each section. Some coworkers are now fans as well.Topic Requests: more search engine, ci and cd, and architecture booksThanks guys!

Great show! Entertaining and enlightening.

by scoobybejesus on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heard some of a recent episode and decided to binge the show from the beginning. In ep. 25, JZ said he'd get a Microsoft tattoo if VS Code were made multi platform. I can't wait to catch up to the episode where he actually followed through on that!Cheers, friends! Keep it up!

Always something to learn

by Pendelgeist on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast -- entertaining & informative.excellent deep dives into topics that we all forget after working in the field for years.Survey says subscribe to this podcast

Can not recommend this podcast enough

by TimGraf on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The content and all of the conversations, stories, jokes, and anecdotes I think give someone a good idea of what it's like to be a software developer. For me, when I started listening to the podcast, it just felt familiar. Like Joe, Allen, and Zach were just three guys I had been working with for years. Also the way they approach important topics is very relatable and easy to understand.

Valuable resource

by SoundShop on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m just starting my journey into development and have been consistently impressed with how these guys dive deep into the technical details while keeping it accessible to someone like me. As they covered in their “learning how to program” episode, the sign of true mastery of a topic is being able to teach it effectively. It’s obvious to me they have a solid grasp on just about everything they discuss. For such a technical, nuanced subject, I feel like I retain a lot after listening. So glad I found this show early on. Thanks guys!

Best .Net Podcast

by BubbaCow on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love listening to this podcast and it makes me smarter about my job. They guys are funny which makes it an easy listen.

Essential for any programming student!

by SXENedger on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I actually absorbed more about Big O notation in one Coding Blocks episode than I did in two semesters of Intro to Comp Sci!

Compelling & Entertaining

by Saltoshi on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Coding Blocks offers a unique blend of original content, experience derived insight, and light hearted discussion. Coding blocks tackles the most challenging topics like algorythmic complexity, or the amount of cheese dust an individual can purchase for $3k in easily digestable segments that anyone can comprehend during their daily commute.

Best Programming Podcast

by code_in_my_robe on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I get giddy everytime these guys release a new episode, which thankfully is relatively often. I'm a long time listener, first time reviewer. I normally listen in my car, so I'm not near the old iTunes machine. The stars finally aligned, and I remembered to login to iTunes and leave a nice review while I'm at home on my computer. Whether you're an experienced programmer, or just someone who is remotley interested in computers, I would highly reccomend this podcast!

Good and relevant conversation

by JonMabale on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a novice developer, I am learning quite a bit. If I don't understand the subject, they discuss it in such ann easy manner, it somehow helps me to tuck the conversation away in my head for easy recall when I later encounter these concepts in my learning. I then go back to the podcast where I remember they spoke of it and drop in their conversation again. It is nice to hear industry developers flesh out concepts beyond just an academic or instructional viewpoint and place the subject matter in everyday contexts that an industry developer would encounter. Even though they are experienced developers, they seem to be genuinely interested in the subjects they discuss as if they were new to the industry and this is very encouraging for me.

Great Podcast

by Jla115 on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am pretty new to real development and the hosts are good at keeping thing at just the right complexity. I can understand almost everything they talk about and then on the things that are confusing, they leave plenty of links to help learn more. They also keep the podcast entertaining, which I feel is rather hard when talking about code for an hour.

Great learning-on-the-go

by JacobCastiglioni on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They give lots of interesting information on in-depths content and goes all over the coding world

Newbie here

by akaryrye on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey there! I have recently decided to teach myself how to program and hopefully in time, do a career change. I have been listening basically all day at my daily construction job and I have been getting a lot out of it (I think). The greatest benefit, imho, is the exposure to various topics, which I may or may not research more later. I also appreciate exposure to hearing how programmers talk about the code to each other. Some topics have been over my head, but after a few weeks of listening, I feel like my overall picture of where I want to go and what I need to learn is getting much more clear.Thank you for taking the time to do this, it helps!

Deserving of your time

by Stephen.C.Weiss on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

With the number of podcasts out there and amount of information you can access, it's hard to figure out what to listen to. Having listened to every CodingBlocks episode in the past 3 months, I can say with confidence that this is one of the best podcasts I've found on the world of software development. Perhaps my favorite part of the podcast, however, is not their banter or their tips of the week (great as they are), but the community that trio has built. Jump in. I think you'll like what you find. I know I have.

Made a cross-country trip fly by

by hartzell.jkh on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently I had a cross-country drive and a lot of time on my hands. Fortunately I found this podcast. 20 hours later I was a die-hard fan. Incredible content and commentary.Thank you!

Excellent technical podcast

by Raj Agz on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These folks provide excellent technical information about software architecture and other areas of software engineering. It is in an easy to digest format and I use it often during commute or whenever I have some free cycles. They topics discussed are current, well presented and very relevant to a techie job.

The Technical Panda

by Techanda on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to these guys when I have to make longer trips. Though they are far more accomplished than I am in their careers, they remind me that I am one of them. Their jokes and self deprecating humor coupled with their ability to talk about complex things in a simple way are refreshing and helpful.I recommend that anyone who listens to this podcast really follow their advice on books to read. I am on my second book that they recommended and so far both have been great!

Great coding podcast

by Kitchener16253 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm new to coding and I really like this podcast. It gives a good mix of general advice that I understand and can apply to my codes and discussions that are over my head but seemingly helpful and comprehensive. Also they have good banter.

Great Podcast

by Bballdaniel3 on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a sophomore studying Software Engineering and this podcast is great. I had recently learned how to use Git and then I found this podcast and what do you know, the most recent episode is about Git. I listened to that one and loved it. Now I'm just going through and finding podcasts that I can learn from and let me tell you, I've been learning a lot.Would love to see an episode on data structures because I'm currently in a data structures class.

Marvelous!!!

by Rick Wolter on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is awesome. It's the perfect bledn of insight, information, and entertainment. The guys are really funny as well as informative. I find myself listening for their advice concerning my own software career. Thanks Guys!!!--Rick

Best podcast ever!

by Voxitile on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are exceptionally entertaining, informative, knowledgeable, and fun. This is by far my favorite podcast I listen to.

You guys rock!

by Arezx27 on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for recommending the Impostor's Handbook - it arrived the other day and has already been upgraded to the spot on my nightstand!

Fun casual and informative podcast

by lawfej on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an aspiring programmer, these guys help me understand a lot of topics that I have struggled with even though I have a CS degree. It is definitely my favorite podcast to listen to while driving to and from work.

Very informative insight!

by Rick_foil on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am new to the programming arena and a self taught python developer . I have been listening to this podcast at work to familiarize myself with programming. These guys are funny,smart, and awesome! For the horde!

Fun and informative

by BootManagerIsMissing on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great guys having a good time talking about complex development issues. It’s entertaining, and they break complex subject matter down in a way that it can be easily understood. Easily my favorite podcast.

If you listen, brains will come.

by gnargnor on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started developing just over a year ago now and quickly realized the value of immersion through aural saturation. Out of all the development podcasts I've spent some time with, I find myself coming back to Coding Blocks more than any other because interpersonal dynamics matter once you get more than one mainstay podcaster involved.These three fellas are clearly passionate about the craft and also have a pretty hilarious perfectly nerdy/normal/good dude vibe, which is exactly what I'm looking to break up some dense concepts. I particularly enjoy the deep dives on some of the most important and influential books/concepts in the industry. I've listened to well over half of these episodes and don't know what I'm going to do once I get to the end of the Coding Blocks rainbow. Probably look like the accompanying pictures in the last square of one of those mind blown memes.So far my favorite part in the series was when none of them knew what The Weeknd was singing about in the 'I Can't Feel My Face' song and subsequently decided that while they liked the songs, they couldn't imaging saying that to their significant other. Stay in school, drink your milk, and don't do drugs kids.Never stop!

Codeine Blocks

by Char Broiled String Cheese on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love your show guys!I’m in a bit of a career rut, so I’m following the advice of a couple friends to try learning Java. One nice thing is I can listen with earbuds all day at work. Programming has a steep learning curve for me. I don’t understand half the stuff you guys talk about lol, but it’s great hearing about current trends.Michael - when you pause then shout out “Survey Says!” and “It’s the Tip of the Week!” it gets me so hyped.Allen - you’re a genius.Joe - you’re hilarious.I recently did a 30-hour road trip and had your podcast bumping the whole time! There’s a few shows I listen to. But yours is the most well rounded, covering a wide range of topics. I appreciate the unique character of your show - you guys keep doing you.

Tech-Newbie Friendly

by TEKsystems on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a development specialist recruiter in the .Net and Java space for around a year now. The technical world is not my strength-people and culture are. However, I called Allen one day (because he’s got great background/experience) and our conversation was different from the ones I usually have. He suggested some different websites and places I could go to learn more in order to engrain myself in the dev world. It was then that I began listening to this podcast while I run to train for my next half marathon. I don’t understand all of it, but this podcast is fun, upbeat and informative-even a nontechnical gal such as myself can enjoy it! These guys have a good time and share great insight along the way. Thanks for the suggestion Allen! You guys are gr8.

Amazing set of gentlemen

by PS2178 on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you guys so much for helping me out on my journey of becoming a self-taught developer. These deep insights and quirky lol-moments are very welcomed :D

Helped Me Survive My Internship!

by LegoParsons on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are are a great crew that help break down complicated topics into digestible chuncks. This summer I have been sucking down as much as their content as possible to help wrap my head around all of the topics that my first internship has thrown my way. It all paid off today when I was able to be the team expert on Docker containers along with a number of security issues. Keep cranking out the great content!

Podcast I’ve been looking for

by ArdeChris on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been looking for an software development/architecture podcast for years to help me expand my knowledge and skill set as a developer. Finally found it here!

Discussions are a great way to learn.

by Joel F on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a long time programmer and someone who is a latecomer to Coding blocks (Episode 84)... I stayed away for a while because of the .NET on the title (I write in Java).The discussions are generally language agnostic and packed full of information that is useful no matter what language you use.

Interesting discussions about a variety of CS topic in a fun and useful way

by Detroit++ on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Coding blocks provides an informative discussion about topics in the programming profession. It is done in a fun and conversational style in which the three hosts discuss and explain these topics to us and to each other. This is one of my favorite podcasts and I immediately listen to each episode as soon as it is released.

Informative and fun podcast

by Nic__key on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast. Love listening to these guys on my commute. I’m a student and this podcast has helped me gain exposure to areas of software/the tech universe that I otherwise would have been blissfully ignorant to. Highly recommend to programmers of any level - there are nuggets throughout that can help anyone!

Learn something new every podcast.

by jamesk479 on Jul 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Title says it all for me. I've only sheard a couple episodes. Just finished the NP/P complexity episode though and I am a math major. It was not too bad. Also, I cannot describe how frustrating it is to be using iTunes now.

Awesome podcast

by iPawan85 on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast .. Love it.. you guys are awesome ..

WFH

by Matt Kotwicki on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Working in the field it’s nice to hear from difference perspectives and alternative mind sets

Awesome work!

by jones_dad on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve recently switched from a java shop to a dot net shop. My commute extended as well. So, I decided to fill the time with your podcast! I have no regrets for my decision. Keep up the great work!

Nice Cast for Commutes

by nemonymous on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been meaning to leave a review about how awesome this podcast is! I've been listening for a little over a year now and it never gets old. I get to learn about various topics, consider self improvement needs, and enjoy some humor - all in my commute to and from work. Can't say enough good things about these guys.Keep up the good work!*Also, they're very interactive within the Slack channel!

Level Up Your Programming

by RowedRage on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am continually searching out podcasts to help me improve my skills as a programmer, and no other one has come close to providing the practical value of this podcast. Every episode they take on a programming topic to dig into togethe, and discuss and summarize their findings with each other. It's really great for people who want to bone up on old topics you might have forgotten, or get an intro into something new.If you are trying to figure out where to start, I highly recommend their Clean Code series. That book is excellent, and listening to their discussion provides new insights and analysis you might not have just reading it by yourself. It's like having a book club.Thanks for the podcast, Allen, Joe, and Zack. Keep it up!