Average rating:

5
out of 13099 ratings.

If there’s one podcast to listen to, it’s this one

by sconemalone on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam caters to a diverse range of viewpoints in an intellectually honest and engaging way. I truly cannot state enough how much listening to the waking up podcast has helped me become a better listener, learner, and person. The subjects he tackles are diverse and while he describes himself as a ‘liberal’ he’s able to see situations and arguments for what they are as he manages to leave out the negative emotions that seem to permeate culture and impact out social decisions.

Level-headed

by XanCam2727 on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is truly worth listening to. He discusses various subjects (with interesting expert guests) from a factual perspective so there’s no one-sided hysterics. Guns? Artificial intelligence? GMO’s? This guy’s your man. Enjoy!

Great Podcast!

by Emonster2k on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I find the people and discussions on this podcast to be very entertaining and informative. Nice work!

Absolutely the THE BEST

by W. White on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Waking Up is the only podcast I can recommend without reservation!

The Conquering Hate episode

by aging left-leaning white lady on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam got out of the echo chamber in this episode! Deeyah Kahn is brilliant, articulate, and provides a perspective we all need to hear and heed. She changed my view on extremists. I’d love to hear more voices like hers. Thanks for introducing her.

Really outstanding

by Zac3455 on Dec 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible! I love this podcast. One of my favorites. Really appreciate the integrity and honesty of the discussion.

Trump Derangement Syndrome takes another victim

by HanButtBoySolo on Dec 12, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

He’s brilliant in many many ways but is currently so obsessed and concerned with Trump that he has begun to abandon his more rational, impartial nature that drew me in when I first discovered him. I would give him 4-5 stars if not for that. It’s sad to see an intellectual such as he being caught up in this childish discourse of moral grandstanding and apocryphal doom and gloom peddling.

Trump bashing

by Moiterri on Dec 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Was excited to listen to Sam today but all I got was an earful of Trump bashing. If I want that I can turn on the news!! MAGA

Love this podcast

by Caitwilliam on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing content. Love his interviews, his books, and his app!

Listening for Years

by The Antitheist on Dec 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to a new episode. Sam errs on the side of truth which can sometimes be antithetical to desired political outcomes, but truth ultimately is all we can strive for in the long play of humanity.

What a thoughtful Podcast SHOULD be!

by Airforceguitar on Dec 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam gets better all the time and although he comes at topics from his own perspective, he is willing to engage any opinion and change his own opinions when presented with an effective argument. In today’s constant diets of confirmation bias and tribal associations, few if any media/information sources will have longer thoughtful discussions that aren’t ultimately driven by the clickbait/soundbite culture. Some amount of personal bias is almost unavoidable, but I think Sam does a better job of examining and eliminating them in his opinions than pretty much anyone. Are YOU willing to be as philosophically rigorous and honest with yourself and others? We should ALL strive to be!

My favorite podcast

by Dre12754 on Dec 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wide variety of guests and topics explored with clarity and openness.

Latest episode on hate

by frdtjd on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a listener to the podcast for a while and appreciate the conversations immensely. This latest episode was truly mesmerizing and deeply insightful. In my view it’s the best episode to date. I have Ben hesitant to become a Patreon but I will now. Thanks Sam

A force for good

by droogles on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like Sam Harris because he thinks clearly and deeply, and he makes loads of sense to me. I also like him because he uses this power he has for good: he interrogates our (collective human) beliefs, our ways of thinking, even our understanding of mind. And always he makes a case for believing better, thinking better, and being more mindful.

Confused

by Kingsungura on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But enlightened

Helps expand my thinking

by SquareBearAir on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate how Sam explores topics honestly and is willing to delve into conversations that are hard to navigate given the divided nature of things these days. I wish he was able to hold more nuance in regards to religion, but that aligns with his reputation. His exacting skepticism is often helpful, but sometimes unfair.

An Evangelical review

by LukeSnowden on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Sam Harris, not in a weird way. I do not know him personally, and disagree with him on almost everything. That said, as an Evangelical, traditionally Calvinist, conservative leaning individual this podcast has helped me think, and think hard. I appreciate the nuance he evokes from me and how he challenges my faith in God. His thought, questions, and approach are an indispensable aspect of my thought life in that I require the robust alternative he presents to my own views of the world. I thank God for Sam Harris, which I realize is ironic and odd, but true nonetheless.

Love!

by Loaded ado on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I dont remember the conversation that led my doctor to recommend this podcast- but I am so happy to have found this- Pretty sure I found my new school girl crush.I appreciate how fair Sam is in his interviews- there were also a few times this podcast had gotten me to pause and say ‘huh’ on a few occasions. Thank you for putting out something to quench my love of learning and broadening my worldview almost every week.

One of the fairest and intelligent minds of our time.

by Amy Meditate on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Regardless of your political persuesion, give Sam a chance. He is the most fair and calm political and philosophical figure in this day and age.

Mhgghjyf

by venckzkajshshshhj on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Gufushebehekxhbvsbsndndndnfnfbd d d fmfkdndbfbdb

Mr Harris please remember how to listen

by Graciey8888 on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This has great potential and started well but lately I cannot listen to it. I would appreciate it if Mr Harris would let his guests talk rather than talking all the time and telling them what he thinks he knows, or what he thinks they should believe/think/know. His ego seems to be more alive than he realizes alas.

Clarity, Controversy and Consciousness

by Danger Dan 2 on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam delivers ideas in such clear a concise way that’s it’s hard to stop listening. He tackles controversial topics with an almost clinical approach that allows me to set aside my confirmation bias (at least a little) and open to new ideas. I thoroughly enjoy his work on consciousness and benefit greatly from his insights on meditation and mindfulness.

top shelf

by tlsdip on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Most worthwhile!!!

The best podcast

by CompulsiveObjectivity on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love a huge variety of podcasts, but Sam is the clearest thinker i’ve ever had the pleasure to listen to. I’ve run a virtual marathon of bad ideas throughout my life, having been born an orthodox Mormon and winding up a passionate member of the extreme left by 30, I always hungered for more information and new frameworks with which to model and view the world.I actually found Sam through a Young Turks interview with Cenk (still a good show for progressive news, but over-encumbered with their ideology at the expense of reason, nuance and any facts not friendly to their views like most pundits) and was initially quite vexed with Sam’s harsh view of Islam. I became a fan inadvertently through my attempts to prove Sam wrong, but discovered instead that Sam was one of the few willing to confront all available facts and build nuanced views that never oversimplify just to satisfy an ideology. There are times when the facts are not politically expedient, but the great thing about Sam is that he’s not a politician and is willing to bear the social cost of addressing topical minefields of political correctness. Sam has given me the vocabulary to understand what lead me to apostatize from religion in the first place: Faith is the opposite of Reason, and institutions that propagate and rely on faith for legitimacy spread the worst ideas available for their own selfish ends. Keep up the great work!

A thoughtful interviewer and intellectual

by jr_infp on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While I occasionally will differ in viewpoints, Sam is very fair and balanced in exploring issues. If you are truly an open minded person looking to delve into facts to get at heart of issues, this is podcast for it. It is free of the ideological brainwashing that much of mainstream seems to have fallen prey to.

Listen

by becomingInformed on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for a long time. Sam has improved drastically in his conversation/interview skills. Good conversations with a wide variety of guests.

Meh

by Visc@B@rc@1 on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

He certainly likes to hear himself talk and rambles on and on in expensive sounding word salads. Ultimately, very little to these word salads. But in the time of “long form” this passes and intellectually stimulating. Very sad.

Must Listen for Everyone

by Keeeeg on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is incredibly insightfull and probes deep into a whole range of important issues.

A Voice of Reason in Dark Times

by nickname373781981981 on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In a word where everyone is screaming and fervently doubling down on their beliefs as part of their identity and walking fully in step with the groupthink of their political party, Sam Harris creates a much needed haven of logical thought out positions on today’s social landscape. He brings much needed positivity and teachings for personal growth and exploring ideas. His calm and thoughtful philosophical approach to issues is a welcome contrast to the shouting matches you see on cable news.

Thoughtful and interesting and a refreshing alternative to most media infotainment.

by Annie Ei on Nov 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very thought provoking.

Courage

by Kanary4040 on Nov 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate Harris for his courage in taking on subjects others see as kryptonite.

So pleased that you spoke with Derren Brown.

by quietorange on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s not hyperbole to say that when Sam announced he would be interviewing Derren Brown, I got chills all down my arms. I’ve been a major fan of each man’s work for years, and am so pleased to have listened to their conversation. Both Sam and Derren’s work have cracked the way I see the mind and my world, for which I am grateful.

Best podcast out there for free thinkers seeking the truth on important and interesting topics

by telastico on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In my opinion, Sam is the clearest, and most reasonable public intellectual out there. Fantastic podcast on a wide range of topics.

A path to reasonable discourse with your fellow man.

by yeaye ron on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam shining the light on controversial topics, and discussing them reasonably has provided me with the tools necessary to have discourse with people in my community successfully. I have learned to put the partisan passion aside and view the entire picture from the center. The podcast has changed many aspects of my life for the better, and I have an overwhelming sense of gratitude for that.

Mixed emotions

by Jeffreystafford on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I listened to his episode with the author of Sapiens. One of the best books I’ve read in recent memory. Brilliant individuals, but I’ve walked around for 2 days like someone ripped out my soul.

Evidence based decision making

by Theyugu on Nov 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t express how grateful I am that Sam and this podcast exist. He is a man who is really thinking, open to being wrong, and uses evidence to determine what it right. There is no need to agree with him. You will get a lot out of his way of thinking either way. He will probably also persuade you on a lot of topics. He certainly has me.

Thought provoking

by MacBKin on Nov 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

He could do better at trying to find common ground with opposing guests, but overall the show makes me think which is a good thing

Thank you

by vasquezs on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This post cast has changed the way I see life and giving me the courage to actually learn and grow and read read and read thank you for your talks and the first you bring on

Pod rocks the mind!

by OnTelephone on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love when you talk politics, I know this bores you but your perspective is enlightening.

A Breath of Fresh Air

by Nelsonsview on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris provides an arena where honest, civil and courageous conversations can take place. This podcast stimulates our minds and gets me motivated and excited about facing the issues of our time with civility. Sam is a breath of fresh air and a ray of hope in a time when so many feel despair.

Good

by Mountain- on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good

Bravo Rebecca & Sam

by The Anarchist Monk on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The last 11 minutes are amazing and the conclusion was spot on. Thank u both for moving the needle forward by fearlessly making change – happen.

Never Miss an Episode

by Chris123gh on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam’s podcast is a must. Each episode contains a ton of thought provoking questions/insights, and even when there’s disagreement, the discourse is respectful and thoughtful. Highly recommend!!

Mr

by ?DoubleB? on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Man, what a command of the English language! Sam is the consummate intellectual. In today’s climate where the desire for truth seems to be anachronistic, Sam is bringing an appreciation for long-form discussion, facts, and the search for the truth. I hope the very best for him and that his popularity will grow. Sam has helped me to acknowledge my own confirmation bias and has given me the intellectual wherewithal to be open-minded and to challenge my own beliefs, to be fully objective. It would be so cool if he could gain enough recognition to be a “household name” - what a difference he could make!

Great podcast

by McJgur on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and engaging discussions on many interesting topics

This man’s brain is a national treasure

by smttycty on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Do yourself a favor and dip into some of the most important things being discussed from a genuinely unique perspective. This podcast makes the world better.

Sonoran Desert Compliment

by kevinlperrin on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I take long early hikes in the Sonoran Desert in Arizona many mornings per week. Listening to Sam Harris podcasts during these hikes complements my experience perfectly; his careful intelligence, thoughtful deference to opposing opinion, and exquisite logic of language somehow remind me of the austere beauty and timeless lessons of the desert. Each morning the sun comes up over the hills and in my mind.Kevin L. Perrin

Best podcast out there.

by Lem Kenada on Nov 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This pod has deeper and clearer thinking on the most controversial topics in the mainstream today, and highlights some others that should be.

Thank you Sam!

by dudder66 on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam has literally changed my life. I can honestly say he is one of the 5 people in my life that have made me who I am: my father, my cycling mentor and coach, my Drill Sargent, my paramedic preceptor and Sam.

Life Changing Podcast

by Nebraska Joanna on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

At a time when our world is full of "alternative facts," "fake news," and overall discord, Sam Harris is a voice of clarity. He tackles issues that others are afraid to, or simply haven't given much thought. His clear-eyed view of the human brain, coupled with his staggering intelect, eloquence and wit make every episode a revelation. This podcast has literally been life changing.