Average rating:

5
out of 12106 ratings.

Outstanding Podcast and Teacher

by Jodi King on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam's podcasts are outstanding! His Waking Up Course is excellent! I am learning so much. I am a paid subscriber and am going to increase my subscription his work is so insightful and informative!

Here’s How to Think.

by Zawfer on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Harris interviews the smartest people in the world about a range of subjects, many of which he has opinions about that are the opposite of his guests. Harris is not out to win, he’s out to communicate, express himself as clearly and objectively as possible, listen, learn and teach. If you’re looking for a partisan dose of whatever you personally believe in, peppered by a rousing bucketful of flawed logic and ad hominem attacks, there are plenty of podcasts and interview shows you can listen to that aren’t this show. Check out his interview with Neil deGrasse Tyson for a great example of two smart people having an honest conversation. Nobody loses. Everybody wins, and most of all you the listener.

Conservative listener

by Grahamcracker781 on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Currently I’ve only listen to episode 140 with Matt Taibbi, which I enjoyed. I found Matt to be very reasonable and found his opinions on journalism to be enlightening. I particularly enjoyed the conversations on the current situation in Saudi Arabia, the Russian investigation, and the financial crash of 2008. I may not agree with Sam’s politics, however I believe he is sincere. I look forward to hearing more of his opinions, and interpretation of current events. I became aware of Sam Harris on the Ben Shapiro show. I’m hoping that his show will afford me the opportunity to hear the best, and most reasonable arguments against my typically conservative positions.

Makes you think

by Rebmiami on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is not afraid to take on the tough topics and confront the received wisdom on them. Though I am a religious believer and he is an atheist, I find he sharpens my thinking by making me go back to basics.

Ego

by thomas melt on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Maniac. Pompous. Arrogant.

Used to be fantastic!

by Jessy Catterwaul on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

5-star variety podcast that turned into the same anti-Trump show over and over again. Yes, Sam’s opinions on Trump and his cronies are all objectively correct. But this podcast was a positive source of education that has devolved into uselessness due to repetition of warranted but pointless negativity. Sam, you’re worth too much to be preaching to the choir. Switch what you’re doing with your life.

What we need.

by Portland Dan on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Someone who does his best at laying out facts that others don’t always want to hear.

Lacking in Self-Awareness

by A Couple in Tucson on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

In general, I believe this podcast is mostly worth listening to. But Sam is completely blind to his own foibles. On an AMA, he explicitly says that if he had cognitive biases, he would be the first to know. How can a smart person miss the mark so horribly? He often paints himself as the only person who views the world rationally, which is simply mind-boggling.The worst is that Sam doesn't see how he is blinded by his personal history. He has been attacked unfairly by some on the left. Thus Sam has a great affinity for anyone else attacked by the left. He will defend Charles Murray - the favorite "scientist" of Nazis and white supremecists - as "the most unfairly maligned person in my lifetime." Wow.

Claims to be only path to the truth

by Skepticalandyoushouldbetoo on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

... and antidote to others who “conspire” against uncomfortable facts. So of course, listeners should be skeptical. Anyone who claims to be without bias is likely one of the most biased. And anyone who tells you that only they can lead you to truth is more of a cult leader than a public intellectual.

You are my lifeline to sanity

by cfmacm on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

MSNBC and CNN make me doubt my sanity

Learning a lot

by joebellion on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam’s and his guests insight are educational. The style of conversations had here should be a model for the world.

Amazing, insightful podcast

by jackmove69 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Sam Harris - he is so intelligent and easy to understand. Very easy to listen to. Always talking about super interesting topics.

Great addition to my life.

by uber is the worst thing everer on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam is intelligent and very well spoken. I don’t agree with EVERYTHING he says, but I don’t at all feel attacked by him like so many other podcasts tend to do. He simply provides his perspective and let’s you make your own decisions. I’d recommend this to anyone and everyone!!

Sam speaks my language

by Toniaz on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

His approach is level headed, his guests are top notch in their fields. My 2019 personal budget will include monthly support to this excellent content. Thanks for adding a voice of reason to this insane society.

App changed my life.

by Megazinehd on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'll be reviewing this podcast based off usefulness, since I believe this appraoch will be useful right next to standard reviews. It's an intellecrtual podcast but, Sam Harris invites very interesting people, and people with different point of view than his; allows the podcast to not force one particular view point (Sam Harris') onto the listeners. An example of this: Sam Harris is very critical of Donald Trump for multiple episodes, and on ep. #117, guest Niel Ferguson, made a very strong argument for goods to come out of Doanld Trump's victory, which made even Sam Harris change his mind, but most importanly my own. The guest invited onto the waking up podcast range from, biologist, politicians, philosphers, entertainers, comedians, cosmologist etc.. What's special about this, is not only do you hear from differnt "lenses" on topics - a comdeians view on psychology (Scott Adams) - but, you discover new new books to read. I read books on budhism, pschology, morality, evolution, meditation, childrem mindfulness etc., all due to guests. My best and, most important take away from Waking Up podcast, are books to read. The best tool you have is your mind, but it's the ability to change your mind, that can make you become a better person.

Good pod

by Peng420 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good pod

Not only

by winstonbolton on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not only is it an amazing guided meditation, unique in its own way, but the lessons are very insightful. The combination of listening to both gives you a different way of thinking about the world.

Just the Best

by redship on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting, educational, and humorous. I've learned more from this man than anyone else in my life.

Good!

by In love! Omg! on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I disagree with Harris on a lot of issues. But he is a great curator of ideas and facilitates some incredibly insightful conversations.

Sam is brilliant

by JohnMillholland on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and I will be happy to support it someday- please support it financially if you can I love not having adds! Sams conversations are diverse and in depth. It’s amazing!!!

Good!

by In love! Omg! on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I disagree with Harris on a lot of issues. But he is a great curator of ideas and facilitates some incredibly insightful conversations.

Sam is brilliant

by JohnMillholland on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and I will be happy to support it someday- please support it financially if you can I love not having adds! Sams conversations are diverse and in depth. It’s amazing!!!

Consistently one of the best podcasts in existence.

by dkofinas on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been a huge fan of the podcast for years. There’s nothing else like it.

A valuable contribution to our discourse

by Seventy-Seven%Free on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Waking Up is the best podcast available, full stop. Reality based ideas and commentary, driven by the experiential knowledge of the illusory nature of the self, identity and belief, and a sincere desire for creating the word we want through honest conversation.

Great Listen Every Time

by bnewton8818 on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really great podcast. Never boring, always scintillating. There is stuff here that you're not going to get anywhere else. The Paul Bloom episode is a great start if you're looking to jump in. You'll be hooked. Sam goes out of his way to make it easy to listen to. Great editing and production value.

So depressing

by seasidedmc on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Do not listen to Sam Harris if you are looking for anything uplifting . He is boring, depressing and totally unconvincing in a flat affect sort of way.

Good job

by Jay (Kalpan) on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam is praiseworthy and smart intellectual. Apart from his atheist views, everything else is weapons-grade stuff. Please keep up the good work Sam.

Highest Value Podcast

by JRodriguez78 on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris' Waking Up podcast is perhaps the best podcast available. I truly appreciate the effort, dedication, and care Sam, his team, and his guests put into providing this content to the public. What an amazing time we live in to have this valuable information and high caliber dialogue available for free to the public. We will all be better and more enlightened people by listening to this podcast. Highly recommended!

Sam has turned into everything he hates.

by Semaj Rezob on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have been reading and listening to Sam for over 10 years. He was always a sound and sane voice in the world of the intelligentsia. However these past few years he has become almost insufferable. If you disagree with him it’s your failure. He claims to find fault with people who mind read, but now he seems to pretend to know things he cant possibly know about people. He has become his own worst enemy and as he likes to note about others, he has totally lost the plot. A plot he helped write... be honest, don’t pretend to know what you don’t, and give your opponent the best possible pov you can. A shame.

Just awesome!

by TheLawnRanger79 on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t know if there is anyone I agree with on most topics as much as Sam Harris. So much info to soak in on the many hours his podcast provides.

Best one

by r11p11 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast (of dozens I often listen to.) Sams insights and observations are profound and his guests are outstanding.

Clarity of thought

by Lehimeg02 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You may not agree with everything that Sam says, but he will make you think in clearer, more justifiable ways, and help you to fully understand what your truth is.... he is incredible.

I wait with baited breath for new podcast

by Ann Gottesman on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the new meditation app but the podcast is also excellent. I'm always waiting for the next post. Wish Sam had time to do more podcasts on the science of consciousness. The few that are available are fascinating. I will never get tired of this topic. Ann Gottesman

So Enjoyable

by Sophielikes on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting ideas. I don’t always agree with him but he always makes me think. He has introduced me to several authors that also brought me great enjoyment a more understanding about the universe in which I live.

An antidote for the superficial sound bite media

by daytripperFE on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris can be counted on to have on interesting guests on important and timely topics and most importantly, to take the time and effort to fully explore ideas and grapple with differences. Conservatives, libertarians, progressives and all flavors in between will find their cherished beliefs rationally challenged. Wether you agree or disagree with the guests or Dr. Harris, you will come away with a better perspective.

Brain food

by Tropicalday 88 on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris dishes out some of the most nutritious brain food delivered via Podcast.

Leading An Examined Life

by boiledeggs on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Essential part of then contemporary tool kit for leading an examined life! Exceptional podcast series from one of the great “contemplatives” of our times.

Thoughtful Podcast

by KingofSpades001 on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I may not agree with some things that Sam Harris says, or all of the guest he has on. What I do appreciate is his willingness to debate on ideas that are somewhat controversial.

Sacred & Profane

by reasonable but Sad to go on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

You know I have always been on the fence with you. You can be brilliant and then the biggest AHole Ive ever have heard. This monologue has probably been the one to swing it for me. I have seen YOUR reaction to your critics and you are much worse than Kavanaugh in this case. Let keep in mind the facts not your intuition if we ran the world like that what the F. Enough of u, u r one of a few thousand podcasters so good bye

A Voice in the Wilderness

by jbvandyke on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm constantly amazed at how well Sam can take complex issues in science, religion, meditation, and contemporary social issues, and break them down into easily digestible and rational discussions with his guests. I contrbute $100/mo. to his podcast precisely because, now more than ever, we need to promote level-headed dialogue about the important issues confronting us, when media frenzy and political polarization seem to be tearing us apart.

Not insignificant

by *Galapagos on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Sam, I incidentally encountered you through other podcasts. I don’t remember now which one. It might have been Malcolm Gladwell, or perhaps even Joe Rogan. The point is I wasn’t looking for you. I’m sure the long-term trend of my life is unlikely altered much by having encountered you. Nevertheless on a week to week time frame I do feel joy listening to many of your podcasts. You clearly have a very powerful intellect. A true gift. That endowment might be less useful to the world if it didn’t also come with the healthy amount of humility you display, a trait unfortunately absent from others of your stature. Now that I’ve hopefully established that I like you, I’ll get to the point of my writing you. I’m a Christian. You’re an atheist. You find fundamental cognitive flaw in the idea of God, in the idea of Jesus as the son of God and that redemption and restoration of the soul is possible through belief in Him. To you Heaven, Hell are fictitious conjurings of a weak mind.This is my question to you. How does my (or anyone else’s) individual belief in God and the honest practice of faith affect either the short-term or the long-term trajectory of your life? There’s lots of bad actors historical and present, religious and not that certainly have altered the course of humanity. Institutional and incentive biases aside can we agree that my personal faith intersects with your life not at all. I have no interest in trying to justify for you my way of thinking. I know of that wasted endeavor. I do wonder however why it seems so important to you to convince me of your way thinking. So much so that you sometimes stray from your usual approach of tempered reasoning and instead enlist the use of derision and mockery. You quote stats of the growth of the secular movement as though it is a healing of mankind. It presupposes that all atheists have individually explored the fullest depths of this existential question and thusly arrived in synchronous conclusion on the matter. As though every atheist by very nature is more logical than a person of faith. Or is it possible that atheism can organically follow tribal growth not at all unlike Christianity or other faiths. All this causes you to lose your advantage of intellectual influence. I feel I shouldn’t tell you of this weakness because, let’s just say it we are competitors in this area. But truly we are not. I am not your opposition. For now I will continue to listen to your podcast and even compensate you through subscription to your meditation app. I do hope however that even while continuing to drum the beat of atheism that you’ll let loose the ill-effects of belittling people of faith. I’ll further hope (for your comfort stopping short of saying pray) that you use your gifts of intellect and communication for the positive benefit of people of all backgrounds. Best of luck to you.

Guests good, Harris bad

by sickhushpuppy on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Some of his guests are interesting, wonderful people, but the host himself is just as prone to religiosity and fanaticism as any theist.

Public Intellectual par excellence

by mimshow on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is a great example of a public intellectual, a deeply and broadly learned person who puts his mind to the important issues of the day to great results. In this podcast, he invites a wide range of intriguing guests on to engage in dialogue. As he stresses constantly, conversation is the key to understanding.

The Podcast That Got Me Into Podcasts

by Mr. Eric Heaney on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As my title suggests, Sam’s show began an upward spiral into intelligent and thought provoking podcasts.Sam uses stone-cold reason to address current and future issues while interviewing today’s brightest (and sometimes controversial) intellectuals. If I had to choose only one podcast to subscribe to, this would be the one.

Great mind to be exposed to

by Spamdango on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Sam for being yourself and letting us peer into the tome of knowledge and wisdom that is your brain. 👍🏻👍🏻

Obnoxious Recent Episode

by failure2communic8 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I usually like Sam and his podcast. I’ve listened to over 100 episodes. But the most recent release, with Bill Maher and Larry Charles, was just awful. The know-it-all smugness of these guests was ridiculous. There’s nothing they haven’t done, didn’t know or want to learn. And blaming the republican wave on “cheating” sounded like children on the playground after their team lost. You can do better, Sam. Much better!

Amazing podcast

by Airrrrick on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one for fascinating long form discussions, and helpfully lending alternative views on a giant range of great topics. This podcast made me love podcasts.

Thanks Sam. Great podcast

by M Jagger on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcast ever. Sam brings on very intelligent people and usually has very in-depth conversations with them. Very interesting conversations. Highly recommended

Great podcast!

by + please on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great host, great guests!

Do yourself a favor and listen!

by Piotr Smeder on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Also, go ahead and download Waking Up app.Meditation lessons are fantastic!