Average rating:

5
out of 8893 ratings.

Favorite Podcast

by weird al fanatic on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating topics, absolutely terrific guests, and a host who facilitates conversation fluidly and seamlessly a vast majority of the time. This is a model for what rational discourse should look like. Sam is more committed to productive discussion and honesty than any interlocutor I know of. He is a fearless and curious host, and the result is a fabulous listening experience.

Doctor Buddhi$m

by ubique13 on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Harris is a decent interviewer (sometimes) who has used his credentials over the past decade+ to lead an egoistic support group for pseudo-Atheists to comfort each other in the cold reality of Nihilism. Also, there’s a strangely disproportionate number of guests who also happen to be men who self-identify as being “white,” for whatever that may be worth.

For thinking people

by BrindleStudio on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the scope of topics, debates, and controversial guests on this podcast, as well as Sam Harris' reasonable tone and thinking approach to all things. Among all the podcasts I listen to, this one is always the priority when a new episode appears.

Absolutely wonderful. Philosophical, astute, wise and challenging.

by Greg L - Colorado on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A show for thinkers from any politcial corner. Sam treats his diverse guests with unfailing politeness and challenges both them and his listeners to really question our values, morals and reality. Keep up the great work.

Incisive, smart, indispensable

by Rattdagger on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The most thoughtful, thought-provoking -- and important -- conversations happening today.

Stimulating

by Glass Buddha on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is extremely intelligent and states his views with incredible logic and clarity. Very thought-provoking. I love this podcast.

Please

by Tyler P Supa G on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Please please please more Jordan Peterson and yourself in any kind of dialogue ! You can talk about anything and it’s fun and very informational.

Obviously racist

by Leviw117 on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

He keeps telling people race is indicative of intelligence, clearly throwing red meet to the racist listeners trying to make them feel above Africans and middle eastern by telling them they naturally have a higher “iq”.

Excellent discussions about difficult issues that most dont talk about

by Wht u c is all there is on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the few places you can find a genuine exploration of difficult questions discussed using thoughtful logic and reason. The listener is implicitly forced to think outside of their normal views thru fair and logical analysis. Im not thrilled at every topic of the podcast, but I do feel its important to emphasize the quality of these discussions. If you disagree with Sam (and there are times that I certainly do) there is no free lunch, meaning, youre presented with a list of ideas that will challenge your intellect thus rewarding you with a fair and welcome challenge to your views. If you are a one way anything, you will find these discussions boring, because no one can convince you of anything.

On the topic of genetic differences episode.

by Beezkneea on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just loved how he kept making these passive aggressive laughs in between answering. Said A LOT about him and his character, I think. He also kept putting off important and revealing questions about his viewpoint and I think he did so to come up with a response. He couldn’t keep up and he has this entire conversation planned out. Seriously, that’s all I kept thinking, Sam.

White Power!

by Lennixnovakane on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

White Power!!

My favorite podcast

by dingoman7 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my number one podcast. I’ve learned so much on a variety of topics. Best place to hear an in-depth conversation.

This guy

by trobonelly on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

is pretty great. just saying.

Thoughtful

by Dr Hingle on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Harris frequently misses his own flaws but nevertheless one of the most thoughtful and intesting podcasta with a series of intellectuals worth hearing from.

A little self righteousness don’t you think?

by MJV15 on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So anyone who is religious is morally reprehensible? Does anyone else see the irony?

soulless but smart but soulless

by Amrad123 on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

i don’t think i’ve ever listened to someone so robotic. You give off little indication you are listening to the person you are speaking with. I’ve listened to about 10 of your podcasts and regardless of whether i agree with you or not i sense so very little of you wanting to truly connect with your guests. honestly listen, without forming a rebuttal while they are speaking to you. of course you are book smart and your vocabulary is off the charts but I’d rather be people smart any day. i’d rather have the skill of being able to put myself in others’ shoes and see where they are coming from. There is no change without understanding and there is no understanding without empathy. I think your app should be called “waking up to someone who so desperately desires to be right he can’t see others’ points of view”. Whether you are aware of it or not (perhaps too much academia and not enough real life experience) you come across soulless. Dear man, where is your soul?What’s up with so few women guests?

The influence of Bots

by Paddythemic on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Incidentally, please do not be derailed or influenced by trolls/bots and their “criticism”.

Extremely informative!

by fthnm2005 on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The aspect of the podcast that I find invaluable is the vast variety of intellectuals invited to the podcast to discuss their works and books. I love the deep and rational analyses Sam Harris delves into when discussing a particular topic without having to bow to some of the traditional conformist views of our time.

Sam is going to save the world

by John Bellone on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam is an island of rationality in a sea of misinformation and intellectual dishonesty. Truly inspiring.

Refreshingly reasonable

by K9BF on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris’ approach to reasoned thought gives me hope that humans can hold radically different opinions, yet treat one another respectfully in discussing those differences.

just finished listening to ep 123, blown away

by Anatanooppai on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely loved following this episode. It was thrilling to hear two intelligent people strongly rooted in their beliefs doing their best to communicate to each other (and failing to do so). After hearing the entire 2 hours, I believe both have honest intentions (at least as far as they are both consciously aware). Throughout the podcast, I slowly got a sense that both Sam and Ezra were ultimately unable to understand what the other is really saying, which was tragic, because as I listened to them both, I found their arguments equally compelling. But in the end, they were talking about different issues. Ezra Klein is focused on the social implications for minorities if people with racially problematic views are allowed to voice their opinions. Essentially, he seems to believe their very existence necessarily poses a threat that must be challenged.Sam Harris, meanwhile, is approaching the debate by dealing with issues of intellectual honesty and free speech. He believes that people should be allowed to hold even racially problematic views, because to deny them the right to do so would be the first step down a slippery slope of thought policing. Harris isn't arguing that these views should inform public policy or that they are correct, even if that seems to be what Klein interprets from him.This is because Harris is unable to see that the way he expresses himself paints him in Ezra Klein's eyes as someone who potentially undermines minorities. If he recognized this (based on the behavior that Ezra criticizes him for), he might have had an opportunity to communicate more effectively with Ezra.I think at the end of the day, both of them believe that racially problematic views are indeed problematic, but they just differ in their approach to dealing with it.A good question to ask to get them on the same conversation would have been, "what do you think the role of Charles Murray is in our discussion of how public discussion of racially charged topics influences the wellbeing of actual racial minorities?"And maybe it would be helpful to actually get members of the minority into such a conversation. That's a valid point which Ezra brings up, and it would be good to see Sam Harris consider his suggestion.In the end, this debate illustrates how even highly intelligent people are often unable to come to an understanding on important social issues due to miscommunication. It was enlightening to hear it in action.

Favorite podcast and needed outlook on the world.

by Ty0912873465 on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you!

Informative to the Nth degree

by super stew on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great place to learn and gain interesting insights from an intelligent mind.

Best Podcast

by Swayfun01 on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel enlightened more and more each time I listen to this podcast! I don’t agree with all of Sam’s viewpoints but I enjoy his particular worldview and hearing his analysis of many different ideas.

So incredibly enlightening!!

by borelias24 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

Thank you!

by amonte541 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Way to go SamKeep it upThanks for having so many difficult conversations for the common goodPlease do not get demoralized and exhausted as so many do...I believe your work will stand the tests of timeSo much more to say...but I will leave it for another time...take breaks but please never stop your amazing, insightful, curious, courageous, open minded and incredibly valuable workAJMPsychiatrist and Neuroscience enthusiastBuddha and mindfulness supporter

Most valuable podcast

by Steven Bartkowskk on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam, thank you!

Episode #123

by Mstwash on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Identity and honesty episode completely revealed to me that no matter the education level some white people will see my political concerns as “identity politics” I am African American (I don’t know what part of the continent of Africa my familia ancestors originated, and my last name is not one of African heritage so I can only guess that my family’s last name is indicative of ownership given from a long dead slave master) so I have worries about how the government legislated against black people (red lining, governmental reinforcement against the sale of housing to people of color in certain neighborhoods) we all know housing was the leading driver to American wealth and white people legislated us out of the equation, so excuse me if my identity is a problem for your politics but I have wasted way too many months listening to a sheep in wolves clothing

Non-intellectual garabage

by Chris improv fan on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This guy is a racist and his podcast is a waste of time.

Egotistical and Thin-Skinned

by Hotsexypants on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I came to this podcast through Harris’ feud with Ezra Klein. I didn’t know anything about Sam Harris and feel like I have no dog in fight, so I was surprised at how terribly Harris comes off in the podcast. I’ve never heard someone make so many backhanded comments towards people who disagree with him. He’s either tone-deaf, or too stubborn to admit that maybe, just maybe, he has to reevaluate his opinion.

IQ Tests

by Ms.Marylyn on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoyed the back-and-forth discussion on today's episode (#123 Identity and Honesty). I was surprised, though, that neither of you brought up the efficacy or method of administering the "Intelligence Quotient" test itself. It's an instrument of science, yes, but it may be flawed, and whatever it measures is not as precise as some think. The whole discussion was affected by the perceived weight and meaning of the idea of "IQ."

A left-of-center, deep-thinking, contrarian, contemporary look at America

by GrayZabel on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam is brilliant. Check this one out, especially if you crave deeper understanding of the world.

Mind Blown

by madman_2030 on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris continues to inspire me to challenge my own thought and to do so with compassion and integrity. So glad to have this podcast!!

Why are there no women on this show?

by White.Marianne on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m still waiting for a response.

Incredible podcast and thoughtful debate

by MastaAK on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ive been a long time fan of this podcast and was eager to listen to the latest debate with Ezra. While I can express my empathy for what Ezra was arguing for and his point of view, I was deeply disappointed in his avoidance to the core of the debate. Scientific discovery and political implications of the data can and should be separate. Like Sam, I share very similar political views with Ezra, but again, deeply disappointed by his arrogance to admit he was on the wrong in this debate.

Not necessarily

by Tagteamerb on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam and I don’t necessarily agree on everything, but he has meaningful deep conversations. Pints of views I’ve never taken the time to understand. I love that about this podcast! Keeps challenging my thought process and my beliefs in life. Thank you!

Ezra Klein interview - #123!!!

by Kargoyle on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All of the episodes are good, some of them great, but the Ezra Klein one was one best (almost) two hours I have ever spent listening to (somewhat) opposing views. I hope these guys can see it through to continue the dialogue, either on this podcast or another forum.

Don’t waste your time

by KellFlan on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Sam Harris reminds me of Bill Maher. Both are convinced they are always right and anyone who disagrees with them is biased or stupid. You won’t learn anything from this show other than Harris’s personal opinion on everything and why everyone else is out to get him. He’s a bit of a bully.

Love it

by DoItRight1984 on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast. Interesting and current topics.

Clear, not concise, more than worth your time.

by Jeff Johnson Jr. on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This review may be a bit longer than most care to read through, but for those who do:I’ve been a fan of Sam’s for years. As an undergrad who majored in Philosophy and Religion he’s someone who I have had the pleasure of listening to and reading for almost a decade now. If you are looking for well reasoned and objective conversation to pass the time, look no further.Although Sam has been maligned in the recent past an attentive and sincere look (or in this case listen) to his work will help you see passed the smear campaigns that have been waged against him. Logic and reason are necessary more than most are willing to admit when discussing some of the world’s most pressing issues. Seemingly cold and calculated usage of our ability to think deeply and openly about the political and social climate we are now living in is something we can all improve upon. Listening to this podcast has helped me do just that. It can help you do the same.For those who are attracted to Sam’s work because of his connection to meditation and spirituality sans religion, you will get what you are looking for as well. Here’s to a future where these types of discussions become more and more main stream.

A voice of reason and measured thought

by Burtonronin87 on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is one of many atheists that was able to pull me from the depths of religion. I am eternally grateful for his work along with other rational minds. He is a powerful voice of reasoned discourse in this word so addled by identity politics and the more people who actually listen to his message the better.

The podcast I never miss

by JSethIII on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is the most brilliant, thought-provoking, honest, humble and most compassionate scientist, author and human being whom I am privileged to listen to every week. Keep up the good work!

Great Stuff

by Oknotbad on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent guests and wonderful discussions

Awesome

by jbruem01234 on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Better than okay, not great

by 7783837 on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Interesting, but not gripping. Some topics and guests grab your attention but long 2 hour episodes could be 1 hour if he was more concise.

Thoughtful, interesting show.

by AbsurdAlbert on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is a true liberal, enlightenment thinker. His guests and conversations are interesting and thought provoking.

No more live events on podcasts???

by Taim77 on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Who the hell is complaining about live events on the podcast? Those were some of my favorites!

A champion of open conversation

by JJOfLegend on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intelligent and articulate, Sam Harris is attempting to reintroduce audiences to the benefits of open conversation and the honest assessment of ideas. He is superbly adept at avoiding moral panics and simply approaches ideas with objectivity. I for one have learned a lot about controlling my own biases when I listen to opposing ideas and conversations. So appreciative for this podcast!

Thanks

by adam lazar on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all you do to keep truth at the center of conversation.

Hang in there!

by dhauffe on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to your podcast with Murray. I support you both. I think the topic was handled very well, so far as I can tell.I applaud your attempt to set the record straight.