Average rating:

5
out of 6759 ratings.

So happy I found this podcast

by SoCal Bitty on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has been grappling with spirituality vs religion, I am so happy to have stumbled upon this podcast. Found it by chance because another podcaster (thanks, Simplify!) recommended it in passing on one of their episodes. I’ve always heard about Sam Harris but haven’t had a chance before now to delve into his work. This podcast is incredible. I love the conversations he has with other people. I love how much I’m learning. And more importantly, I’m loving how I can begin to articulate my own feelings toward religion while still feeling grounded in my spirituality and consciousness. I love geeking out about his topics and I’m excited to go through the entire episode catalog. Thank you, Dr. Harris. Your voice is so important.

Just outstanding

by Discovertruthforyourself on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews. Wonderful for the mind. Brilliant host.

Brilliant

by robmcurry on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intellectually stimulating

Concision Incarnate

by wet_wayne on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Closest anyone has come to being infallible. Well done.

Thought provoking and intelligent.

by Ron1489 on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. I have changed jobs recently and I don’t get to listen to as many podcasts as before, but this is one that I don’t miss. Sam is one of the most logically open minded people on the planet. He can make even the most complicated of topics easily digestible and entertaining. His guests are always smart and insightful.

Respect: for reason, for listeners, for interviewees

by milesgraber on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris’ podcast has many qualities: thoughtful content, excellent (for the most part) audio, abundance of material. The greatest quality, however, has to be the respect with which Sam conducts himself. As a listener and reader of his work, I feel respected. Sam’s style of interviewing exudes respect for his guests, even when they disagree. I listen to the podcast both for the subject matter and to learn the art of respectful listening and arguing.

Wow...

by jrogers2 on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You guys this podcast is great. Fantastic. Please do yourself and humanity a favor and give it a listen 👍

(Fan)tastic

by VMFK on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the first mediums other than books I’ve felt that is important to support. Such a great way to spend my morning.

Insightful. Impactful. Essential.

by Asunderco on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is one of the most important thinkers of our time. Ph. D, author and host. He interviews today’s leading minds in various fields, having in-depth conversations about important topics that most people shy away from. A rational thinker in today’s violent sea of mediocrity.

Ahistoric and Bland

by dtharrin on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

On the upside you can use this podcast to fall asleep

Amazing

by WEEDriveThru - Shane Smith on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Mind blowing podcast. Love the guests. I am not a trump supporter but he does talk a little bit too much about trump. Other than that, all the amazing topics and science stuff is a must. This is an amazingly well put together podcast and Sam almost always asks the questions that I want to hear next from guests. He comes up with amazing introductions and is just a great host. Wow!

Cured me of leftist nonsense

by swias on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great

Mmmmm

by Possum52 on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately his points are emotionally burnt into his psyche which prevents him from accepting any other world view other than his own. He takes arguments into macro wonkery land in order to make a point regardless of whether or not it’s in the best nature of the topic or not because he has to be right. I’ve listened to several episodes and I was very disappointed.

Awesome

by AltoidNerd on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is a genius.

Deep Thoughts

by Corn Julio1 on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well thought out positions on interesting topics with the great minds of our time. You will feel smarter and simultainiously less smart with each episode as you are illumminated by ideas that you had not concieved that are well supported and researched...

The real reason the show is bad..

by CommanderCougs on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show is not bad because Sam Harris is a bigot (he isn't) or that he's making illogical arguements (he doesn't), the reason the show is bad is because Sam is about as charasmatic as a wet rag. I find the conversations interesting for the most part, but his deadpan manner of speech, which is devoid of any emotion, is pure torture. It's like listening to a computerized voice that sounds like its afraid of offending someone or coming across aggressive in any way. Grow a pair of nutz Sam and project your voice a little! You sound like a depressed Ben Stein with a mouth full of cotton!

My Favorite!

by Rumplestiltskin 112233 on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Refreshing to have an articulate voice of reason to cut through all the confusion we face in this life. While I truly miss the pure passion of Hitch, I feel Sam Harris adds another level of reason in his conversations on a wide variety of topics with a diverse group of people. No matter the topic, there is always a great deal to be learned about the world...Sam and his guests are able to do this together. What a great listen, thanks!

A light in the dark

by Proximo of Rome on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris has a hell of a mind. It’s fascinating listening to it here as he dives into all sorts of interesting stuff.

More than just atheism

by Adam Leg on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

While it is atheist based, Harris also touches on other topics involving the human species. I find myself reading books of many of the guests he has on and growing because of the material.

Poor Man's Jordan Peterson

by Jim McGeds on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sam has some good guests but his self important tone can detract from what he says. He's a less lucid Jordan Peterson.

Most thought provoking podcast in existence

by He who shall remain nameless on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I sometimes can't believe this podcast even exists. Not every interview is profound but the ones that are have actually changed my thinking. The highs on this show are just so much higher than anything else around.

One of the best podcasts out there

by Shuasgusdfal on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is genuine intelligent conversations not guardrailed by advertisers. Great stuff.

Thought-provoking

by JRCinMD on Dec 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the few podcasts in which I listen to every episode. I appreciate Sam's rational approach to hot-button issues.

Intellectual nourishment of the highest order

by Zenman on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is a fascinating guy who has mastered the art of great conversation. Always interesting guests. Well worth your time.

Intellectually stimulating

by Pleasesn0w on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't agree with everything Sam and his guests have to say but I love the way the show is put together and how Sam is super thoughtful in his approach and intent in it all.

C+

by Raupp11111 on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Would be great if he didn’t have to cry about Trump in every episode. He is no doubt a smart listen, but also full of himself.

Fine for what it is

by Verbi Divini Minister on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

When Sam speaks of free will, he makes two continual mistakes which make me wonder where the errors are in the rest of what he says:1 - He asserts bio-chemical causes are necesssary causes for human actions but only proves they are sufficient causes. This undermines any 'proof' he may have.2 - He speaks as if he is an agent, but basically says we are not. If we are not agents but complex biochemical reactions, then the words used to communicate should reflect that concept.

Sam in your ears

by Casham on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s great. He’s one of the smartest men out there.

Sam Harris

by Chefs not fire on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, Sam offers a great scope of life, moreover he enables anIntroverted person like myself the ability to go out and have meaningful non judgmental conversations with other people.Like necessary daily meal,Thanks Sam.

Modern day Jesus

by Natimaster on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am an atheist, but I religiously listen to Sam Harris and his teachings.

Superb Podcast

by Patel628394717 on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not only is it consistently entertaining, it is very educational and informational.

Love this Podcast

by Joewess1969 on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks, Sam

Keep them coming Sam!

by ILLINI-77 on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought provoking POD - great work!

beyond interesting

by toolbird7 on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a case study in articulate conversation about difficult subjects. Sam and his guests are able to navigate topics that require more than just a single pass to truly evaluate. It is a must listen.

I’m Always Right, You’re Always Wrong Harris.

by El Duque de Barça on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Time and time again Sam Harris confuses his inability to understand as he being right. His interlocutor, always, without fail, is told that he/she cannot understand Harris when it’s inevitably the reverse. Incredibly annoying to listen to. Even his voice and delivery ooze smug. When a pseudo-intellectual/scientist is given a platform.

"Stomach Crunches"

by UncleMookie on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...for my brain. Not only the breadth of topics, but the way in which they are discussed, has made a marked difference in my day-to-day experience. My contexts are broadened and my patience to softly drill into ideas from a variety of perspectives are rewarding. Crudely stated, I often "feel smarter" after a listen!

Remarkable

by Cjacialloys on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Since discovering Sam Harris, thanks to a TED podcast of a month ago, I have devoured all of his podcasts, starting from the oldest available, as well as purchased a few books. The reason I am so taken by his message is that-presumably thanks to his interest in meditation-he is the most devoid of ego and least prey to logical fallacies have any voice out there that I know of. He has offered facts and insight into many areas that I have been dissatisfied with the mainstream media over, including jihadism, the Christian right, global warming, and other subjects that those with an agenda seem to fail spectacularly at intelligently covering.That is not to say that I find no fault with his perspectives. It is saddening to see him mock other people for “being mind readers” when he seems to have no trouble determining when people “are knowingly lying” or are “hypocrites”. And his non-scientific pontificating on the nonexistence of free will is almost a religion with him. But we allow those we love their quirks, and it is impossible not to love to listen to such generous helpings of reason, thoughtfulness, and humanity all in one human. It will give you hope for our species, especially in this post-Trump era!

Best podcast

by Lucaska on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Remarkable on all aspects: people interviewed, format and content

Human 2.0 episode comments

by DeleuzeChaosmos on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only thing I found missing in the thinking about altering genetics is a lack is systems thinking... unknown emergent properties arising from a tweaked system. For example, in some studies in mice in raising intelligence, schizophrenia like symptoms emerged. Also long term thinking.. putting off governing n regulation on the probable capabilities 20 yrs out. Overall, excellent podcast. Touched on long standing ethical issues. It’d be great to have more podcasts on emerging techs.

Smartest podcast ever

by Taim77 on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I very much appreciate the honest, candid and intellectual conversations you have. The world would be a better place if we all put so much thought into our thoughts.

Stimulating

by Ames street on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to Sam and his guests. It makes me feel balanced out intellectually, because his content makes me use my mind and consider different things.

Listening to Sam Harris will make your IQ increase by 10 points, GUARANTEED (maybe)

by A:31 on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sam Harris is amazing, he explains things so clearly and at a pace that most people can understand. I can't say just how much I love Sam Harris and just how much he's help expand my mind on so many critical topics. Truly an amazing individual, he's aware that he's not without faults but ultimately we all are and he recognizes that. Just about everyone I point towards Sam's podcasts end up loving him. Waking Up is BY FAR MY FAVORITE PODCAST! I donate to him monthly because I enjoy the podcasts so much. I actually felt guilty listening to them for free because I get so much intellectual stimulation/enjoyment from them that I had to start donating in order to mitigate my guilt and to help him make more!!!

A must

by none_of_ur... on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

'Walking up' makes being a human being in this day and age so worthwhile! If there's any meaning to being alive, being able to listen and think (with Sam Harris's guide) is it!Thank you Dr. Harris!!!!

Life changer

by Mason Luncefard on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has had an enormous impact on my every day decisions! It's mind-boggling that this content is offered for free.

Always engaging

by McCoyoioi on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful and provocative. Stimulating and honest. One of the best podcasts on the web.

We look forward to every podcast

by Gaiagranolaranger on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks so much for the important work you do: interesting topics and guests approached with civility and reason. Amen! ;-)

High quality

by S1eww on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate this for its high quality thought provoking content. All the best Sam!

Thought provoking

by Bane13% on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are times I could do without the strident atheism but, overall, this is the most thought provoking podcast I have ever come across. I feel better informed every time I listen.

A must listen

by kbrowns on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You don’t have to agree with him, but this brand of clear and thoughtful discourse is invigorating. I happen to agree with almost everything he says as well.

Lots of sensationalist and short-sighted analysis.

by Caesura109 on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is meant for college students who want something that SOUNDS like it makes sense and is simple enough to leave an impression.Sam's 'clarity' or 'honesty' is similar to that of Donald Trump; he sounds like he is 'saying it as it is' because he has misinterpreted and over-simplified the issue to a ridiculous degree. There are academics out their who have spent years researching a subject who would cringe at his agenda-fueled portrayal of it.Sam reads an ISIS propaganda magazine and pretends that it contains the true reason behind their actions. He then tells his listeners to stop thinking for themselves, and just trust how honest ISIS is in their message. He then compares a terrorist organization who is known for it's incredible propaganda tactics to medical students in a painfully stupid analogy. Medical students don't have political agendas. Medical students aren't trying to grab land resources and governmental power. Sam Harris has a track record of laughably one-sided views, such as once claiming that America really was a 'well-intentioned giant' and a force of stability. He might as well have erased a century of failed, malicious foreign policy and transparently imperialistic activities from the history books. As far as I'm concerned, he is not a scholar or a philosopher; he is merely another non-academic shill, with the distinction of being atheist, so as to take the open minds of non-theists and narrow them down to another fallacious world view based on flimsy logic.Also, it kinda gives me cult vibes with the title and his bizarrely devoted fanbase... its so easy to latch on to some voice that validates your prejudices rather than go and read and learn on your own.