Average rating:

4.5
out of 713 ratings.

Be real scientists ... not advocates

by Marcus517 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the shows where we get objective info. GMOs and Ants with backpacks were terrific. But too many are biased sloppiness. Migration myths is an example. They looked unquestioning at a study which was all positive re migrants. At one point, there was a stat that correlated GDP to increasing migration. Really? You just accepted this? Do you know how many factors go into GDP? In fact, it may be true, but few scientists would simply accept this ... you do consider yourself scientists, right? Ironically, another idea; negative matter in the universe got dismissed as nonsense (which I think it is). So, you only question theories and data that don't fit your biases. Just sloppy. It's these kinds of shows that make me question any study they refer to. I dropped out of the program for a year or so when most shows were dedicated to bashing Trump. I don't like him either, but I can hear Trump bashing from any of 30 NPR shows. So, I'll hang on for a couple more to see if they can go back to being real scientists.

Science Feast

by Domtron83 on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The breadth of scientific topics is far and wide. This podcast can build your entire reading list with the number of interesting and accomplished guests who have recently published. The up to date series is particularly useful for those that want to keep up with current events. Certainly top quality science communicators.

Great balance

by Gutdoc on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast for science enthusiasts who are not necessarily into the details and language of science.

A Long-time Listener... No More

by Albert Cipriani on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Female host’s archly condescending, sing-songy, overly inflected voice along with her Pollyannish cheerleader mentality regarding all things currently cool was just, in the end, too much for me. So I am unsubscribing now after listening to this podcast from the very beginning. The other thing is her overuse of the word “OR” when questioning guests. She asks very long-winded questions that are almost speeches in themselves, then tacks on an “OR” and continues with another speech. It is as if she likes to hear herself.And yet “that’s a great question” is what all her guests say... constantly, and with dismal regularity. None of the guests on my 20 other Podcasts say “great question!” more than they say so (when it clearly isn’t so) as they do in this podcast. Sad. Call me a masochist, but I stayed for the content... hoping she would clean up her act. But she hasn’t. She is the same today as she was years ago. So I’ve abandoned all hope and exit stage right from this leftist potpourri of earnest exhibitionism.

Love podcast but have suggestion

by Nik☺️ on Mar 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If the titles were short enough for me to read without have to click on the episode I would listen to more. There are so many episodes that I skip over just because I’m too lazy to find out what it is about.

Highly recommended

by DellingDog on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts and guests, interesting and insightful interviews. Highly recommended.

Please Replace Indre

by Kakor850 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Interesting subjects and hosts. Kishore is great.Indre is hard to listen to.

What happened to science news?

by ccexperiment on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When/why did you guys ditch the intro science news part of the cast. Though I always listen to the whole thing my wife would often tune in for just the newsy stuff if the interview topic didn’t appeal. Kishore is doing great, but I seem to remember, Indre, you said when Chris left that you’d bring him back as a guest. Still, Indre, you’ve got the best sounding voice, period. I listen just to hear it!

Amazing--Climate change episode one of the best

by KaraShoSho on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is honestly one of the best podcast episodes I have ever listened to. I am in awe of the way the story was put together, and how it was presented, and the flow it had. I loved it so much I shared it on Facebook; I know many people probably won't follow through but it will be worth it for those that do. This was totally awesome, and I've never felt more motivated to give feedback for a podcast episode.Bravo, and keep up the great work!

Losing interest

by Steve1Graham on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've enjoyed this podcast by keeping an open mind for a number of years. I used to think they at least tried to find some balance when discussing controversial topics. Over time it has become increasingly clear that the hosts political bias is allowing them to become nothing more than another mouth peice for the far left. I was going to give it one star as a warning that people are growing tired of having partisan politics mixed with EVERYTHING in our lives but hate is a strong word I reserve for a limited set of things and people. "A Psychiatrist Analyzes the Age of Trump" was nothing but a hit peice which attempted to use an accomplished physician's experience as an appeal to authority which quickly devolved into a morallity rant not worthy of discerning adults. Far from presenting a balanced set of views on the challenging topics of our day this is just lazy reporting that disrespects a listeners right to draw their own conclusions based on facts in evidence. If you wish to become a podcast that only captures an audience from a narrow subset of the population because you cater only to thier biases you are on the right, or should I say LEFT, track.

Wide range of topics

by Christy76 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love how many varied areas of science are covered. The interview format is great. They seem to ask the guests new questions. Episodes are just the right length for me.

Great!

by clint wolf on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A terrific, very interesting podcast.

Great for discovering new topics and new books!

by Aniseseed on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Inquiring Minds is one of my absolute favorite podcasts. The hosts are smart and personable, and the topics are always fascinating. Many of the guests/interviewees have written books, so the show a great way to find new science books directed at the general populace to read. ❤

Shockingly political

by bwarburton on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How is it that every single "truth" discovered and covered by this podcast is a staple of the progressive left? "I'm not a conservative, but" is the only approved way to introduce any point not accepted as gospel by the hard left.

Becoming Biased

by DTPL on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've been following this podcast for a couple years and enjoyed it very much. But it seems to be tilting to a very "uber-liberal" Bay area bias recently such as the unfocused, unscientific, and unenlightening show on lethal injections. If this continiues I'll probably stop subscribing. (Oh, and I am a SCAL liberal so calm down!)

Great topics, guest and interviews.

by Sprockets_SK on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful intelligent discussions on some of the most important issues of out time.

Great content, but

by toniclark on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The content is superb, almost always of interest to me. But the commercials have become so frequent and annoying that my husband and I have both stopped listening. I wish more podcasters would consider Patreon (or possibly advertise relevant products). I listen to a lot of podcasts and am really tired of pitches for razor blades, mattresses, bras, hair dyes, etc.

Entertaining and Educational

by Rightbrainr on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Episodes are a little long but very well done!

Good!

by cjheaford on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

I just listened to episode 140 that discussed the sound of two black holes colliding.They talked for an hour but NEVER PLAYED the very sound they were talking about. On and audio podcast. Didn't let listeners hear the very sound of the subject. How did you miss this one guys?

Not so subtle liberal mouthpiece

by heathenstein on Dec 13, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If they could get beyond the political agenda, this show could be really interesting. However, that appears impossible to the hosts. I certainly don't begrudge someone having a different opinion and most people can be open to discussion, but this podcast is too entrenched in its presumed elitist status, telling the common folk how uninformed we are. An unfortunate failed attempt at interesting discussion.

Fun & Enlightening

by i4USA on Nov 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

They offer decent inquiries into subjects. And they do it with a lot of positive energy. They could be more critical in some cases.

Best podcast

by Freshoranges912! on Sep 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting never boring

Getting to the most important issues

by TomBWheels on Sep 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the wide variety of information and perspectives Inquiring Minds provides the listener. Having recently finished my undergraduate degree in environmental science this podcast gives me a great deal of hope and grows my excitement to tackle the many challenges our society faces. I think the vast number of interviews from perspectives is a great testimate to the interconnected nature of our existence.

Disappointed

by Choklatz on Jul 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I confess, I have listened to just one episode about the differences in women's healthcare. It was interesting and informative. But, the chatter afterwards came off as unthoughtful, and uneducated. Seriously, I am of an age where the Women's Movement of the 70s is personal. And the female announcer's take away is to have separate clinics for women and men. You do understand that the 60s worked hard to rid the country of this very concept: segregation and the Women's Movement worked to try to get us equal rights. There is, I admit, much work to be done as this podcast taught. But the take away to return to segregated care (I remember separate "colored" waiting rooms at the doctor's office) will ultimately mean poorer healthcare, not better healthcare, for women and other minorities. Even if not true in practice, it will be true in people's minds. Think before you speak.

Always insightful and inquiring podcasts

by darkbookman on Jul 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The most recent podcast with astrophysicist Janna Levin is stellar. Her book Black Holes Blues, is a beautiful story about a decades long endeavor to build a machine that detected gravitional waves that traved a billion years a ago. Kishore Hari and Indre Viskontas are great hosts!

Fun to listen to while learning a lot

by katerenn on May 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I think my title sums it up. I always enjoy learning new things from listening to Inquiring Minds. One of my favorite podcasts!

Gets better and better

by Notanannoyingfoodie on May 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has always been great, but it keeps getting better whether the guest is Bill Nye on climate denial or understanding the weird ways octopi work. Always worth the time

Wonderful show

by Horror hound 420 on Apr 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered inquiring minds about two weeks ago and I gotta admit, I am hooked. Interesting subject matter, wonderful theories, and the hosts have great voices for welcoming the listeners. I adore this show.

Interesting

by Stentorianexpress on Feb 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

... And intriguing. Good podcast.

Dear Host, Please Research More

by mikeal Sanderson on Jan 24, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The host seems to think she knows everything just because she has a background in science. I find her personality to be extremely ignorant. She even went so far as to bash people for being skeptical of GMOs, even when there have been known failures after using these genetically modified crops. Research the bio-tech corn’s invincible new generation of insect larvae. It has lead us to a strain of insects that cannot be killed.I hope the host wakes up, because she has so much potential, and I know if she just gave certain topics a chance she could really be an advocate for positive change.

Great cast, especially when Kashor is the lead

by elsevier on Dec 21, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Kashor has a hot voice and I swear he plays for team MAN. I love to medicate with a huge bong hit and listen to him talk. So deep, such an analysis. The females seems nice too, very intelegent. Gay and Stoner friendly cast, enjoy!

Attitude

by yetivsrobot on Oct 30, 2015
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I found the host's attitude to be rather condescending.

Almost Always Interesting

by j7uy5 on Oct 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

I have been listening to this podcast ever since it began. The reason is that I do a lot of rural commuting, and am too much of a cheapskate to get satellite radio. Anyway, they have a good, engaging format. The interviewers always seem well-prepared and well-informed. They make it seem easy, but that is because they always do their homework.

Fabulo

by Love monkey 44986 on Aug 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm obsessedInformative, great variety, smart.

Interesting reporting, a tad preachy

by Lokiverse on Jul 18, 2015
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Overall this is a really interesting podcast, that covers a broad range of topics, both in the "hard" and the social sciences. Loses a star in my opinion for its occasionally anti-religious preachiness (less a problem with the content of the message as with the slightly derisive, eye-rolling tone) and another star for a tendency towards ethnocentric generalizations (Western culture/society and its tendencies get too readily generalized to "human species" with no evidence to back it up). If you can look past that and take it with a grain of salt, it's really quite good.

Nerd talk

by Rownow on May 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys let the guests talk more than most science programs

Fascinating podcast

by mims carter on May 03, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The material presented and the manner is which it is presented is top notch. This is a very informative podcast on critical issues which manages to be very entertaining. It holds your interest.

Very interesting

by Gauss101 on Apr 19, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show

Quench your thirst for knowledge

by phajcak12 on Mar 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Intelligent interviews and discussions of a scientific nature. Typically one major topic per episode and then some general discussion of the news of the day. I listen every saturday as I putter around the house.

Best Science Podcast

by VarunKSaini on Mar 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This is how science should talked and discussed. I am always eager for new episode and listen to it every week.Both Chris and Indre are amazing and knowledgeable. Thanks a lot guys for this.Update - I like how Kishore took Chris’s place and Kishore is doing great.

Very Informative and Enjoyable

by DavidGr19 on Mar 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Overall, this is a 5 star podcast. The content is always superb and covers a wide variety of topics, the hosts are always very passionate about the scientific issues discussed and the interviews cover the most up to date and exciting research. Indre and Chris are very good at making it an enjoyable listen and do not seem to take themselves too seriously, which is very refreshing. The only improvement that can be made is the audio quality is sometimes sub-par. For instance, the Re-Thinking Positive Psychology episode (which I loved) was somewhat muffled. However, when it comes to podcasts about current, cutting edge research, this is a wonderful choice.

Engaging & Informative

by YGlen on Jan 25, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

… with some of my favorite hosts from the Point of Inquiry podcast.

Excellant

by Nefer6239 on Jan 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to the interesting and thought-provoking episodes. It helps to keep me informed on the latest science in the news and challenges my thinking.

educational and unbiased

by joshhw on Dec 27, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

sometimes the discussions can be cumbersome to outsiders but its always engaging and can provide knowledge on a multitude of science. I enjoy this podcast during distraction-free periods of the day. I always seek out information and if you are the type that thirsts for knowledge then look no further for a science based podcast.

I love this kind of show

by 7 xp on Dec 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I just learn alot! So I love this kinda stuff.

As good as reading a new book

by On the job market on Dec 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Each week, the guests are fascinating and present the most important points of their research. It's as though I am reading a new book, and only the most interesting and important parts. I really enjoy this and would recommend it to ppl who are strapped for time but want good information.

Great guests

by alizaire74 on Dec 10, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I like the list of guests they get, and the interesting and honest discussions of relevant science topics. Great show!

Ok science leaning to the liberal

by Nanwith solan on Dec 02, 2014
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Normally I wouldn't mention politics for a science blog, but the intro for the show purports to discuss both. The guests have some interesting topics and research on science issues. Former host Chris seems too interested in pushing the interviews toward political points he wishes to emphasize. I like to keep an open mind and therefore may come back to this one later after he's been gone for a bit.

Excellent In-Depth Interviews about Science

by ZeNeece on Nov 27, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found this podcast recently and have been listening to several episodes a day while I work. There are some really excellent podcasts available about science and skepticism, and this one fits right in. The hosts ask great questions of their guests, the guests are all fantastic and fascinating, and I learn a lot. I love how they really take time to talk to their guests. Most of them I've heard on other podcasts but here I feel like I've learned even more about their work. And the science is just so fascinating. So this is definitely a great podcast to listen to. It's right up there in my top 5 already.My only complaint is the them song they use over and over. It's extremely irritating and it's played in several places of each show. It grates on my nerves and gets stuck in my head. If I could find a way to have it filtered out, I would! It's truly maddening. But the rest of the content is excellent, so I just have to grit my teeth and deal with it.

Always fascinating.

by Douglas Miller Art on Sep 05, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is well researched and incredibly insightful. All of the topics are approached with clear, critical thinking which is applied to relevant news events.