Average rating:

5
out of 237 ratings.

A wonderful production of discipleship and scholarship!

by ewayne91 on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a great use of my time as I go about my working days and evenings. The thing I miss most about my college years has been the high quality lectures which I would attend... but now I can enjoy that same level of thought and discussion through this podcast! My spiritual and intellectual enlightenment are aided greatly by these productions. Thank you!

Awesome

by MPWHIT on Dec 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The guests that are brought in and topics discussed are spectacular. This podcast is a gift, thank you.

Brilliant (with the right host)

by Kevin Listener on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this podcast. Never a dud episode...and then they played with the format and made sub-category episodes with different hosts. Terryl Givens is nails on the chalkboard radio. I realize he is well published, but his antics are juvenile and amateurish at best. “Let’s start by asking what your obituary to say about you?” It’s never shocking or provocative like he’s dreamed up in his mind. I conjure up images of Zach Galifianakis in “between two ferns” or “the Chris Farley show” on SNL. The guest are polite after an awkward pause and simply move through it. I can understand the allure of having a host with the writing pedigree he has, but he’s trying too hard and is always coming up short of Blair Hodges’s thoughtful professionalism.

Engaging

by The Warrior Inside on Nov 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is exceptional for those who love the study of theology and the role of sacred texts - both within the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and more generally. As a believer and scholar, I appreciate the honest and open dialogue on a host of issues. The discussions have challenged my thinking in way that elevates my understanding of spiritual truths. Blair Hodges line of questioning effectively draws out important points from each of his guests in a thoughtful and considerate way. Have listened to the first 15 and plan to complete them all. Please keep this going!

A terrific program

by HI boy in TX on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair Hodges does a wonderful job....great guests, informative, thought-provoking, and inspiring. Kudos also to Teryl Givens for his knowledge and insights

MI Podcasts

by garyricks on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An interviewer plays a critical role in making an interview interesting. I commend Blair Hodge for his preparation and skill in bringing forth everything useful and significant from his interviewee. Every interview that I have listened to has been interesting, even when I have thought beforehand that the subject matter would be of no interest to me.

Great Podcast

by marvmax on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair is a great interviewer. Very well prepared. The authors he interviews are an eclectic mix both LDS and non-LDS but always believers. The only problem with the podcast is that my reading list keeps getting longer and longer. That's also a good thing because many of these books I never would have heard of much less read.

Great!

by utlongbow on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. The variety of topics is fascinating, guests and host are incredibly knowledgeable, and it has expanded my understanding of my faith. I feel much more connected to my belief system due to this podcast!

A Crucial Dialogue

by notveryinsightful on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The tone and content of the dialogue here is enriching and inspiring. Thank you to the host and to the guests for your work.

Got Me Thru My Certainty Crisis

by Idahogirl31 on Jul 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s been almost 7 years since I started having questions about church history which led to my black and white faith crumbling. Many don’t make it through in one piece to the other side, but I was lucky enough to find the Maxwell Institute — I had realized how little I truly knew about religion, even my own. This podcast helped me fill my spiritual bucket and connect me to Christ when that wasn’t always happening with me at church. I’m not an academic and it doesn’t condescend to me, yet it remains accessible, even if I have to stretch sometimes. Blair’s skills as an interviewer blow away every other religious podcast; so much insight in a small package on no rambling, thank heavens. So grateful for MI. I thank you and I can guarantee my nervous husband from 7 years ago thanks you as well. I recommend this podcast to as many people as I can.

Perfect

by RichArk on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought provoking, interesting with a perfect balance between scholarly insight and humble simplicity. Avoids the arrogance trap and the depth and breadth of topics is impressive. NEVER cancel this podcast, I don’t know what I’d do without it.

Excellent podcast!

by AlainnaB on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a mother of 4 young and active children, these podcasts are a thrilling change of pace for me. They break me out of my normal routines and stale ways of thinking. I listen to them while I'm doing dishes, or making dinner, or going on my morning runs. Every time I listen, my mind is taken to new places and I see the world around me differently. Blair Hodges is a uniquely talented interviewer. He is eloquent, inclusive and insightful. He clearly knows the book and/or interviewee's work well, and yet still always makes sure to carefully bring the listener who may be less-informed along with him. I love the variety of fascinating people he gets on the show. These podcasts effectively provide both spiritual and intellectual nourishment. Thank you so much to all involved in making these podcasts a reality. Keep up the great work!

AWESOME!

by Wr1782 on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is smart, well done and thought provoking. The guests and conversations are fascinating. Blair Hodges totally reminds me of Guy Raz, the host of NPR's TED Radio Hour. Thank you for the great and important work you do!

fascinating podcast

by Zach0002 on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

MI podcast deals with our faith in the raw, messy, and complicated world in which it exists. A thought provoking, rather than sanitized, look into Mormonism that helps foster deep and lasting faith. My bookshelf is full of books and authors I heard about on the podcast. Not every episode is of interest to me, which is good and shows a healthy broadness of subject matter. Highly recommended, give it a listen.—Zach

Ogden to Boise

by GnRMormon on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never been more eager for windshield time as I travel between Ogden and Boise. This podcast is as good as they come! Blair is the James Hetfield of Mormon Studies. Way to go Blair. Keep the good stuff coming.

Treat for the average Joe

by Wally Wall on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This content is an excellent suplement to your regular gospel study. The Maxwell Institute Podcast team tackles topics pertinent to current LDS affairs with candor and clarity. Each episode brings a fresh perpective to the issues devout Latter-day Saints grapple with around the dinner table, with the added depth and experience flowing from the shows guests. Highly recommended.

Always worth listening

by pqmason on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I generally don't listen to podcasts, but I make a point of listening to this one. Blair is an intelligent host who has clearly done his homework but also does a great job of making his guest (and their work) the star of the show. He brings the best out of them, and every episode offers a slightly different lens on the dynamic relationship of the life of the mind and the life of the spirit. This podcast is a model for the intellectual curiosity and generosity that "disciple-scholars" should seek to foster. And having Adam Miller read his 1-star reviews was laugh-out-loud funny.

A valuable tool for any person of faith

by Bree_Eva on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always keep up-to-date on the podcast and have had some of my most provocative and meaningful gospel conversations with friends and family begin with “did you catch the latest Maxwell institute podcast?”. I believe it’s a valuable tool for the educated person of faith who yearns for a slightly more complex, but thoughtful and edifying gospel-centered dialogue.

Enrichment

by jack12345678901234 on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the podcast. I always feel like I learn something and broaden my perspective. It finds a great niche, not overly focused on apologetics and also maintains a great respect for faith.

a great place to come

by azrossell on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

to consider viewpoints & perspectives. Diverse topics and insightful perspectives, and very well done. Great questions and wonderful responses. Thanks Mr Hodges

Good Podcast

by Adam812 on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

A very fine podcast for LDS who like to learn new things and hear unique perspectives.

Excellent

by Betterreality on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve got a long commute and listen to a wide variety of podcasts. MI and especially Blair put out great episodes. They are thoughtful, well rounded, thought provoking and not afraid to push limits whilst being respectful. Well produced and entertaining all throughout.

So Great!!

by Jacquelynn Sokol on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is so so GREAT! Thank you to the team that puts these together. So needed!

Yup

by Kingkaniela on Feb 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair has an intrusive incquisition about him that dares a decided people to remember how open minded they/we are. Love him. Good guy. He, blair will no doubt enlighten you and, uncomfortably, inspire you to make whole, poignant statements to be questioned and answered with a, “put you on the spot” type of surety.

Game Changer

by Kirk Lester UT on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so grateful to have found the MI podcast. Ive found them intellectually engaging and faith promoting. I really appreciate the podcasts that cover more controversial topics such as evolution, climate change, plural marriage, race, and reading the biblical critically. Please do more on these topics. Also, I have a personal request that you get the Givens and Richard Bushman on here every other month, thanks!

Check your biases...

by A new listener... on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Was listening to brother Richard Bushman. This is what he said: “Flourishing. These moments when you feel like there is something beautiful, [really] gorgeous and desirable beyond measure, some kind of intense goodness…And that if you just live in the right way, or manage your mind (what?!?), say some words or perform some actions, you can participate in that beautiful life. And I can’t find words for it. Christ calls it the Pearl of Great Price. Some people call it testimony. I think the experience Mormons have when they say they have a testimony when they are often moved to tears…their body transformed…it is close to what I am saying. It is the promise of something that is truly godly…that yearning to partake of that…is very strong, I can’t live without it, I can’t drop it. And it overshadows all sorts of other rational considerations about faith. Because anything that leads in the direction of that kind of wonder and beauty is very attractive to me.” --Richard BushmanLet’s reduce what he is saying to a basic structure: I like the experience of Mormonism. I admit, I am desperate for it. So, I [often] ignore what makes sense. If anything confirms my position, that is attractive to me.I am not inspired by this. An academic should hold himself to a higher standard. I respect his devotion, and his biases are understandable, but clearly and evidently that disposition overshadows all sorts of rational considerations in his writings. It is no wonder he left out so much in Rough Stone Rolling.“When I live the Mormon way, that’s the kind of man I want to be…I’m a better husband, a better father. My scholarship is better. I’m just a better human being…” --Richard BushmanAnother way of reducing what he is saying here is: The Mormon Way gives me so much utility. My biases are justified in my scholarship.I agree, Mormonism gives a lot of utility. I can say that honestly too, at least in my personal experience. Perhaps not everyone can. Perhaps not on a net basis. But I do not agree that his biases are justified or that they excuse his [evidently] intentional omissions. But that is precisely what to expect from an appeal to utility.I think this is pretty telling why Bushman omitted so much in Rough Stone Rolling (which he has previously admitted). Part of his self-censorship is about tribalism (of course he doesn’t want to upset his position in the tribe by engaging in too much straight-talk). The irony here is that his bona-fide biases overshadow his scholarship and keep him from telling the whole story/truth/history, and yet he claims his scholarship is better because of these biases. I think brother Bushman is showing signs of being a little downstream of the cool-aid, here. You don’t get it both ways. Imagine: When I give in to my cherished biases and only tell the less rational parts of the story, I am a better historian. Hmmm. Sounds like Bushman hasn’t spent enough time [recently] surrounded by skeptical thinkers. He is getting a lot of peer-esteem from the Mormon bubble. Perhaps he too is missing out on some critical feedback mechanisms and is drifting into delusion.

Substantial and Accessible

by lito.call on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to every episode of this podcast: The guests range from the firmly planted in mainstream Mormonism, to those who find themselves estranged, to other who come from entirely different traditions. They are all fascinating and worth your time - no fluff here. Blair Hodges is one of the best interviewers I've ever heard! He holds his own with the guests, while occasionally pausing to comment and ensure that listeners are able to keep up.Whenever my reading list starts to feel a bit anemic, I find myself scrolling through the guest list for ideas, and I always come away with something meaty.

Mind and Body

by bowcutcl on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t think of a better thing to do than exercise my physical body while listening to the Maxwell Institute Podcast. I’m just a little worried about running out of podcasts episodes before I’m done exercising; thus, I will lose the will to live... just kidding. Great jobs friends!

Spiritually uplifting; Blair is a great interviewer

by Rachel_Ann on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast during my morning workouts; it gives me so much to think about every day. It is broadening my horizons and helping me to see scripture and daily life in new, creative, spiritually uplifting ways. I am especially impressed with how Blair interviews non-LDS authors; he does a great job of resisting the urge to hijack the authors' answers too much by telling them how Mormon doctrine or practice relates to their subject. Instead, he asks questions that will be of particular interest and relevance for a Mormon audience and lets the listeners draw connections on their own. I'm looking forward to future episodes. Keep up the great work!

What a treasure

by Bobdds on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am an LDS listener. My education is not in religious scholarship. Consider myself a committed disciple of Jesus Christ. I have listened for about a year. Have listened to , I think, all of the broadcasts. Some more than once and where available, I have printed and reread the transcripts. In many cases I have bought the books of the guests and read with great pleasure. I have found these podcasts to be powerfully informative. I have discovered an increased , heartfelt, appreciation and some new understanding of scholars and followers of my own religious traditions and also the faith and traditions of others. I have been grateful for the challenges to my own religious beliefs. These broadcasts have pushed me to read and think and pray. My faith has grown. I have been given new windows through which I can view with gratitude my own religious life and beliefs and those of so many others. I do not know personally Blair Hodges, but the respectful and probing questions he uses to guide these podcasts make him feel like a friend to myself and his guests. These seems to this one old man, the very best kind of use of this powerful medium of communication.

Intellectual & interesting

by MaCart75 on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've thoroughly enjoyed the depth and variety of topics, as well as authors & guests that are presented on this podcast. It not only offers intellectual food for thought, but I find it interesting and not so "high browed". Plus I'm learning so much more about my own religion as well as the beliefs of many others. Occasionally I've not enjoyed a speaker, or sometimes the topic is less interesting, but for the most part, it is well done.

MIP always on point

by mjguymon on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair does a fantastic job interviewing brilliant scholars and practitioners while addressing contemporary issues in the LDS studies community.

Fantastic

by Bpass28 on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. The interviewer is well versed about the questions he asks and those interviewed are intriguing and interesting. Solid podcast.

I've learned so much!

by Van Mick on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've listened to almost every episode. I love the interviews and Blair is a great interviewer. I love it when he asks a question and the interviewee is a little surprised but then says what a great question it is and has to think about the response. I have so enjoyed the interviews with biblical scholars and other very knowledgeable people. I always like the unexpected personal stories the best. The stories that probably weren't planned but just somehow slide into the conversation and tell so much about the interviewee.

Very good

by pgf9 on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Informative, well done, not awkward, factual. I was looking for something like this, and glad I found it!

Surprisingly excellent

by DMort27 on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is remarkable that something this good could have come from BYU. If you are interested in Mormonism, Mormon Studies, and Religious Studies, consider giving it a listen.

Expert Interviewer, Excellent Topics

by MormonDude7 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to a dozen or so interviews, and my favorite part is the host, Blair Hodges, because he reads the entire book he's interviewing the person about, and has a deep subject matter knowledge. He shares insights, challeneges his guests, and helps bring understanding to the subject at hand. Blair Hodges is a class act and a marvelous podcaster.

Best podcast in Mormondom

by FredWAxelgard on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to these podcasts for well over a year, and find them the best thing out there in LDS listening for those with an academic interest in Mormonism and related topics. Blair, as someone has already said, is a superb interviewer, always prepared. The guests are excellent, and he lets them shine. I was thrilled at the NT Wright episode some time back, with the recent 'Women at the Pulpit' discussion, the re-broadcast of the Adam Miller/David Bokovsky/Joe Spencer item on the relevance of the scriptures, etc etc etc Hats off to the Maxwell Institute.

Consistly good interviews

by ron_tenney on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Obviously, not all guests are of equal interest to me. But Blair is well-read, courteous and insightful interviewer. I am interested in nearly every podcast. Thanks Blair and the Neal A. Maxwell Institute. Ron T

Terrific presentations

by Kopaigora on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So far, after listening to more than half a dozen of the podcasts, I think they are terrific. Blair is a great moderator. And the presentations of his guests are insightful, deep, thought-provoking, and faith-promoting. The depth and uniqueness of thoughts and ideas expressed and shared is quite astounding!

For the Contemplative Worshipper

by martyreeder on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Maxwell Institute Podcast is refreshingly non-combatative and sincere in its efforts to grasp the Mormon theology in ways that make it accessible to a wide range of audience members. This is a venue that opens academic possibilities while at the same time allows for spiritual growth--not unlike the School of the Prophets. Thanks for the great work.

Brilliant Podcast!

by YoDanYo on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The depth and breadth of content and guests continually amazes me. The host is fair and unbiased without manipulating for a specific answer. The questions asked by the host indicate that he has invested significant time to deeply understand the content and guests. Everything from the Origination of the Bible to translation of the Quran. Profound and spiritually insightful!

Enlightening and well done

by Nattersmom on Dec 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I love getting different perspectives on religion and spiritual belief and practice. I always leave feeling inspired.

Always Insightful

by jennywebb37 on Dec 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair Hodges provides consistently thoughtful, well-prepared, and insightful interviews with some of the top thinkers in contempory religious thought. We are lucky to have someone of his calibre working in the field to produce this top-quality content.

Excellent

by Majeha on Sep 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Blair provides exceptional content from eloquent and thought guests. Love listening to the discussions.

A breath of fresh air in the Mormon podcast world

by BeeDub57 on Sep 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the most intelligent Mormon podcast out there, with a great host and fantastic guests. The discussion is always informative, as everyone involved really knows their stuff. Well worth your time.

What a treasure!

by D-Oh on Sep 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for all your effort to enlighten us!

Compelling discussions

by mattshums on Aug 31, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to every MIpodcast and I'm finally ponying-up to write a review. I love this podcast. Each time a new episode appears in my feed I get excited. Blair is a stellar interviewer. You can tell he cares about these topics and that he does his homework. His questions are always great and the discussions are very compelling. I especially appreciate that the discussions focus on uplifting and edifying all religions and all faiths. I regularly come away from these episodes with powerful insights that help me in my own spiritual progression. Thanks for the great work!

Excellent

by lee.moo on Aug 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I never come away from listening to this podcast without having been encouraged and taught. Blair is a great host and asks thoughtful and honest questions. I couldn't recommend it any higher. It is an excellent podcast. - Mormon Misfit

Excellent interviewer and topics

by Agapetos on Jul 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the first podcast I go to as soon as there is an update. Blair Hodges' interviewing is superb. He is always very well prepared, with thought- and conversation-provoking questions. He is affable and knowledgeable on the topics discussed with his guests, and chooses fascinating people to interview. A consistent comment from the interviewees at the end is that they sincerely enjoyed their time with Blair. I have learned much from these podcasts, it has directed me to many new ideas and books, and consistently delivers in making my podcast listening time a pleasure. Thanks, Blair, and everyone else at the Maxwell Institute who put this together!