Average rating:

5
out of 2796 ratings.

Crazy medicine, crazy history... Humanity at its finest

by Schnoebs on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast feeds several desires that I have: 1: the need to know everything in a super random, bar room trivia-type of way, and 2: it reassures me that I actually don't have "ABC" illness. Justin and Sydnee are such great hosts - they make the show engaging for all listeners and you won't regret the benefits you will reap from the hard work they put into this podcast. If you like to laugh AND learn &&& have a great podcasting experience get listening to this show!

What more could you want...

by Nydunn on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing because this is amazing!

Incredible

by Cascadeorca on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Both funny and educational. I got sucked into here by a girl I went on a date with. It's easily in my top 5 favorite podcasts of all time, and I can not recommend it enough to everyone. Laugh, learn, be merry! Don't drill a hole in your head!

Genuinely pleasant & relaxing.

by ichewonpushpins on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history podcasts but the last couple I've tried out didn't do it for me. But Sawbones is so pleasant. Sydnee & Justin are both incredibly funny, sweet people. Their dynamic is super nice. Plus, I get to hear all kinds of weird medical facts that I can then harass my roommates with for the next week.

This Podcast is So Addicting!

by miss zoot on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin and Sydnee's chemistry is great and the show is funny, interesting, and compelling. It's getting me through training for a long race and anything that makes long runs tolerable gets 5 stars in my book.

Thanks Justin & Sydnee!

by Seasameness on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fun podcast. I started listening a week ago and I've already had more "did you know?" fun facts to drop into conversation than I can count. Justin & Sydnee are sweet and silly together, and their breezy but informative tone hits the sweet spot for me.

So good - esp the diet episode!

by gweomul on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They've just got a real sweet dynamic and even if you know most of the stuff covered in a particular episode it's still a good time.

👍🏻

by Mcmarmite on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love. Learning about the more depressing side of medical history without feeling down afterwards. Thanks for the information and the laughs. Perfect mix.

Love

by A forgetful parent on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love love love.

Loooove

by Kingpharaohsam91 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve only listened to about 30 episodes and I am in love with this podcast. It was recommended to me by someone else and I will definitely continue listening! I love the medical information of the past and present and both Justin and Sydnee are hilarious!

Coud this be better?

by StacyJH7 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

No it couldn't get better. I am LOVING this! How did I only get into this a few months ago? I remember reading the Outlander series and thinking "I wish they would talk more about the medicine they used in that day". Same thing with movies and shows. It always fascinated me. Sure I found some books and documentaries, but they were over so quickly. Then I found this podcast. HALLELUJAH! I had found exactly what I was looking for. Great information on so many subjects and they just keep on coming! The fact that these two are hilarious is just the cherry on top of my bloodletting and hysteria sunday. I'm still working on catching up on all the past episodes. Does Pliny have any ideas for time management? Probably frog toes mixed with oleanders. Anyways keep up the great work! I love it!

👌🏻👌🏻

by A future mortician on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm in love with this podcast. I don't normally have the time to listen but i find myself listening to this amazing couple in my free time. I've always been fascinated by medicine and mortuary sciences and this podcast is right up my ally.

New friends

by Noralla00 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I usually like more scripted shows but these two are my new friends and I'm adding to my #bucketlist to smoke a joint with them one day. I'm obsessed with this show. It's like a comedy version of the pharmaceutical museum in New Orleans.

Very good

by The Magical Roomba on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very silly Very wonderful

interesting and fun

by Claratie on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

as a woman interested in going into medicine im even more inspired! I love Sydnee and Justin's relationship too.

Awesome!!

by Ruigir p. Winterfinger on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You two are great!! Keep it up!!!

The podcast I didn't know I needed.

by Allmanan1996 on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A really great podcast about all those fun doctor stories you didn't know you needed. You'll have plenty of laughs if if you listen!

This podcast made my illness more bearable.

by jcdmce on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm sick with a vicious cold right now and I feel terrible and I haven't laughed in like four days when this horribleness infected me. But a yesterday I started this podcast and I've laughed sooooo hard even though I feel soooo sick, so thank you sooooo much.

interesting topics, adorable hosts

by Kate Can on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Starting listening to this show about a month ago. I enjoy the historical focus of the podcast and like how they connect old practices to current trends. The husband and wife hosts have such a cute dynamic, they're always teasing each other.

One of my favorites

by Platyfurious on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is absurd that this show isn't more highly rated. Always funny and informative.

Educational and entertaining

by Bcxdhbnkgds on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin and Sydnee's chemistry makes the show more than just an information dump. It's an amazing show all around!

Hands Down, My Favorite Podcast

by Vashli07 on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never laughed so much at a podcast, nor learned so much from one, as I have from this one. I'm sure my co-workers think I have an odd form of epilepsy, considering how much I shake with laughter at my desk. Subscribe to this and you won't be disappointed!

Just started listening

by JoyousRoseFan on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

& i can't stopawesome fun.

I Came for King Louis' Fistula

by charmartar on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I stayed for every episode since. This podcast is equal parts gross, informative, and funny, and I recommend it to everyone who asks about podcasts.

Love this podcast but....

by ajc4290 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have long been a fan of Sawbones. However, in the past few months the unnecessary addition of political propaganda has made this show not as enjoyable as before. I love the humor and stories that this show can offer, but hate to see that it has at times become less about the medicine and more about personal beliefs. :/

Smart and Witty

by ctsluna on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love Dr. Sydnee McElroy's research and explanations on this show. I'm a folklorist by trade and so hearing some of the ways she pulls out the human side of these wild "cures" is one of my favorite things. While I occasionally wish that we could get more of a sense of whether some of the things the hosts discuss worked for those who used them (even if not nearly as well as in an evidence-based medicine way), I still always wind up smiling at the open-minded and open-hearted way they approach their topics. Justin is usually a nice foil for the thoughtful way that Sydnee explains the material they cover, but she often displays her own wittiness in the show, too. This is a wonderful, easy-to-listen-to show that gives lots of neat stories and lots of good belly laughs.

Love 😊😎😍

by TXMaggie on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode makes me laugh and learn. Love it!

Greatest show not on television

by balexander667 on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. My wife and I love listening to these to goofy love birds discuss the stupid things we've done in an attempt to cure ourselves.

Long time favorite

by MS crob on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this podcast showing up in my feed each week. Always entertaining and you never seem to disappoint.

Educational and entertaining

by Mark Anchor on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I only started listening to podcasts about a week or so ago, and I have already binged about 12 episodes! I love the humour and chemistry the McElroys have (you can absolutely tell that they're happily married, even from the first episode!) and everything they talk about is so interesting!If you want to listen about all the ridiculous things our historical doctors have thought of, as well as be entertained as you listen, I highly recommend this show.

Instantly Hooked!

by 1#mommy on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They are so funny and it's educational. I was hooked immediately and now I'm trying to catch up with all of the older episodes.

Beautiful show!

by Serenepaper on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In a world of so many fake cures traveling around social media, this podcast is a lifesaver. I'm constantly saying "oh sawbones said..." and "I heard on sawbones". Great premise. And executed beautifully between two wonderful people who make a lovely couple! Thank you for the weekly glimpses into your lives while learning about the history of medicine. You make me wish you had a daily show because once a week never feels like enough.

Was really interesting and entertaining!…until it became personal

by Teazu308 on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve been going through treatment for a number of tick-borne diseases for the past several months. During this time I found out about Maximum Fun and have been working my way through many of the series, one of my recent favs being Sawbones. On days when I feel my worst, I can listen and know that, at the very least, nobody’s going to drill a hole in my head or force me to eat poop! I found the Lyme episode and, at first, was optimistic about what Sydnee was saying about the disease…and then the second half hit. The CDC is notorious for using long-outdated IDSA standards for Lyme that many doctors refute. The Western Blot + ELISA tests are just as well-known for false negatives as they are for false positives due to the fact that they were not created as diagnostic tests but as tools for reporting disease (the CDC even states this on their website) and set a very high standard for “not Lyme” vs “definitely Lyme”. They also do not test for co-infections, so someone like me who has multiple co-infections including RMSF are left in a very dangerous position.For 4 years I went untreated because of these standards, so now I have many of the advanced symptoms of Lyme including neurological issues, neuropathy, and possibly carditis. When I finally found a doctor who looked beyond the “positive / negative” Western Blot results and actually -counted- how many bands were positive (the CDC requires 5 positive bands but many Lyme patients have fewer than 5), she then used other CDC standards and the “recommended time for treatment” as a reason to all but skip oral antibiotics, force me into expensive IV antibiotics, and then, despite the fact that I -was- seeing improvement, remove my PICC line without consent during a routine visit once 1) 8 weeks had passed, and 2) I started getting my medication from a home care group aka not her facility — she wasn’t getting enough money out of me and she could only take in so many Lyme patients because the CDC forces a limit on Lyme patients for certain doctors. I wouldn’t include all of the above if it wasn’t a very common occurrence for people diagnosed with Lyme.I know Sydnee does her research with good intentions and that this is not meant to be a be-all-end-all / medical advice podcast. I know getting into controversial topics can be difficult without rocking some boats. However, as someone directly hurt by the CDC, I don’t know how comfortable I am listening to someone who will not consider the experiences of Lyme patients in the discussion about the validity of said experiences. I’m not even talking about the Chronic Lyme debate — just the idea of placing the CDC above groups like ILADS instead of looking at both in a critical manner and weighing their merits based on the research provided by each is frustrating and somewhat insulting. I now worry that other disease-related episodes may have the same bias issue, and I don’t have the knowledge or experience to know if something is misinformation or not in those cases.Thanks for the info and laughs from the “weird medical treatment” and “weird doctors” episodes — they’ve kept me highly entertained for the past couple of weeks — but as someone directly living with the effects of the CDC’s mistreatment of Lyme patients, I’m going to have to pass on future episodes.

SO glad I found this cast!

by The great gadfly on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a medical history podcast that is fun and informative. It covers all facets of medical mistakes, folly, and even success!This podcast is hilarious, cute, adorable, smart, awesome intro music having, well put together, to the point, diverse, well spoken, clearly presented, easily understood, time warping, non advice giving, go see a doctor if you need helping, past questioning, ethics exploring, don't put a hole in your heading, bite sized chunking, BIG topic tackling, rabble rousin', feather rustlin', Ancient Greek discussin', famous historical figure tying ining, THRILL RIDE, through medical history.Love you guys. The adventure zone led me here, so thank you for all of that.

Praise Sydnee

by Wayward Rainbow on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am, once and for all, cured of my chronic hysteria. Thanks doc.

95% in love

by Mirlambda on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I started this podcast about two months ago and managed to finish all near two hundred episodes by marathoning them nonstop. I like this podcast okay I guess? As someone with a STEM degree it's fun to listen to and hear a lot of things I'm familiar with from uni, but it's definitely good for anyone from any walk of life who wants to learn about weird medical history!I have just a couple of complaints: The constant equating of periods and pregnancy to being a woman is something that really really upsets me ("only women get periods", really, Sydnee?). Also, the crystal healing episode. The whole episode seems kind of mean spirited considering even at the end it's mentioned that practitioners usually acknowledge that it's obviously not a replacement for going to the doctor. But that aside the episode spends like... a good five minutes at least ragging on chakras which are literally a part of multiple major religions that are practiced today you guys!!I don't want those things to stop people from listening to the podcast. Obviously it didn't stop me! But I did want people to be aware, in case they are things that future listeners want to avoid.

I never write reviews but...

by KJ012948 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Okay, so, I never write reviews but this podcast is so, so great! I checked it out after the #trypod bit on Stuff You Missed in History and I'm so glad I did. Really, genuinely entertaining with a sprinkling of interesting medical history;) Huge fan!

Hilarious & Informative

by mamagreeny on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sydnee with her seriousness and sarcasm combined with Justin cracking up over the completely bizarre and totally stupid crap that our ancestors have done in the name of medicine is the perfect remedy for all of your stressors.

Lovely

by Rainy Baptasto on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts and I love this one for being so sweet and fun to listen to. Justin and Sydnee are great and the topics are always really interesting. Just an all around pleasant experience!

Hilarious and medically necessary

by Hankmardukus on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to MBMBaM heard the plug and was immediately hooked from episode one!

Funny, brilliant and entertaining

by Sarah Stellpflug on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast ever! I've listened to every episode multiple times. Can't recommend highly enough!

Everything is Illuminated

by Becke Boo on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin and Sydnee have helped me to reach true enlightenment. I am no longer considering drilling a hole in my head and can medically prove to any man with strange ideas about female behavior that I am not hysterical.Informative, funny and absolutely interesting. I love it and highly recommend this show!

Instant entertainment!

by Tabatha Komar on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely adore this podcast, and find it hilarious and informative at the same time. The comedic relief is necessary when talking about heavy historical topics, especially to take a minute and dwell on the ridiculousness of some of histories medical remedies. This show is the absolute perfect mixture of comedy and knowledge, and their lighthearted, witty, married bantering is what makes it better than most.

Oh My Goodness!

by PamBRN83 on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't believe I am just now stumbling onto this podcast! I have been an RN for, well, a very long time. I am also a history nerd so this is right up my alley.Thank you so much!

Wacky medical history AND marital banter?

by JaneTunes on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What more could you want? Maybe a hole in the head? (No, you don't want that. Unless you're in the trepanation cult...) But really, this podcast is fantastic!

Awesome

by Adam b Illinois on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic podcast for a knowledgeable laugh

The golden rule

by Slaximillion on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Cure-alls cure nothing

I like it

by ginabell694 on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I just started listening per the advice of the Stuff U Missed in History Class ladies. I think it's funny. And it's interesting hearing about the histories of the different topics. I do have two cents on one of the subjects but I will email u guys for that. I enjoy Justin. I'm used to tangents because of some other podcasts I listen to. Besides if I don't like there is a button to skip that. I'm really excited to keep listening.

Medical advice!

by TheMicahphone on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I get all my medical advice from this podcast and I feel great! Justin and Dr. Sydney nail it every episode.

Dr Sydnee McElroy is really cool

by i love magic on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin is also pretty cool I guess. i love facts