Average rating:

5
out of 5344 ratings.

Generally pretty informative

by Breeawnna on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The recent GMO episode seemed hastily researched, but generally the show has a good sense of credibility. The defensive tone throughout the episode also made it more apparent that there was a lack of depth—maybe a guest interview from someone in the field next time. That would maybe sell the idea that GMOs aren’t necessarily bad a bit better.

So much fun!

by Waitsfan1970 on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin and Sydnee are great! Laugh out loud funny and educational at the same time! Definitely worth subscribing, you’re worth it!

good stuff

by kassaaaaaaaa on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love this podcast, Justin and Sydnee are wonderful and super informative. The McElroy family always delivers great stuff and Sawbones is no exception.

Informative fun!

by Coggler on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Super fun to listen to. Gets funny without losing the awesome sharing of knowledge and history. Kind of like the balance between humor and informational you see on Good Eats or Bill Nye! Plus it’s clean enough that I was able to suggest this podcast to my super proper family members!

I just got my PhD in the mail

by BritLego on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just finished listening to all 200+ episodes currently available, and it is amazing. I never got tired listening to it every day. Sometimes, I'll be listening to this in public, and I will actually have a burst of laughter in the middle of a crowd of people; it really is just that funny! Sydnee and Justin are the perfect pair, I never want Sawbones to end, but if it does, I hope I'll be able to listen to their future projects. Thank you both for the information, and the laughs. <3

Family bonding

by ERnurseRaven on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

We attended C2E2 this weekend and my kid is a huge fan of Adventure Zone and MBMB&M. So of course she dragged me to the panel featuring Travis. But I was thrilled to discover Sydney and Sawbones! As an ER nurse, I have devoured 6 episodes in 2 days and love it! Thank you!

Being a Dr. is Easy

by Pistolwhipp on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All I an think of when listeng to this show is that being a doctor was super wasy in old timey days. Also, every thing I would have been doing at the time was wrong.

Very nice

by ya boi jonnnnnn on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sydnee’s manner makes me wish I could attend her family practice and Justin adds the perfect blend of humor (and without trying to overshadow his wife). The excellent team delivers fascinating information I never knew I loved to learn about. #FistulaFad

I love this show

by DillHK on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin and Sydnee’s rapport is great, and I genuinely wish Sydnee was my primary doctor. But alas, I live several states away. (My doctor is great, but Sydnee seems very knowledgeable, kind, and sympathetic. In addition to being a real person who giggles from time to time.)I’m currently studying so I can apply to PA school, and I love to hear the historical perspective of medical treatments in addition to reading about the current methods.It’s also great how you guys are aware of LGBTQ issues. Sydnee often says things like “people with vaginas” or “pregnant people” or “people with testes.” This is great! For example, I thought you handled the episode on Dr. James Berry with great respect.My only small complaint is that I wish the show were a little bit less euphemistic about “risqué” topics. It wasn’t so common in the early episodes, but as time goes on, I noticed a lot more euphemistic phrases like “bathing suit area” instead of “genitals.” At the beginning of “those episodes” you guys put a disclaimer stating that it’s not for kids. So since we’re all adults, let’s just use anatomical terms :).Still, this has become my favorite podcast. I discovered it recently and devoured the backlog. Long live Sawbones!

Love the info, but...

by Zack Fronk on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is an amazing podcast and I love 99% of the content. I know Dr. McElroy is only human, but she lets her social/political ideologies take over sometimes and it can be a little off putting. Again, I’ve listened to well over 100 episodes and don’t plan on stopping anytime soon but that last star hasn’t been earned quite yet.

History and humor

by AParmesan on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

History and humor all wrapped into one. I learn a lot and laugh a lot every week

Almost Comical ;3

by Kay A. Ziraphale on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s a really awesome and educational podcast! I recommend it highly!

So fun and informative!

by krzyart on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was already a fan of the McElroy family of products so decided I needed to listen to Sawbones. The show is a nice mix of goofs and facts. Love it!

Very good podcast

by Kjsfjjsbfbabfe on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very educational and I love it very much

Fantastic!

by toad person on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sydnee and Justin are a wonderful duo that guide the listener through medical history and are incredibly thoughtful and honest while doing so! I honestly enjoy these podcasts very much and especially appreciate how factual Sydnee is! They don’t embellish the history, she tells it how it is and it’s fantastic! As a scientist, it always bothers me when people sensationalize certain things to grab people’s attention, but not SawBones! Sydnee and Justin’s personalities grab the listener and make it a joy to learn about how far medicine has come! Truly a wonderful podcast to listen to!

I’m in love!

by RhiannonStorm on Mar 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many episodes and each and every one of them are wonderful. Justin and Sydnee are perfect! This is a podcast that I highly recommend.

Solid Podcast

by MusicaChick on Mar 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm always happy to find interesting and entertaining pods to beef up my trivia skills. This fits the bill, plus the hosts have great chemistry.

Stop

by kLNGFRD on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

These would be much better if the husband would stop making attempts at being funny.

Thank you.

by Queenfrog22 on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Common sense and medical advice. The best of both worlds!! To be upfront, I first started listening because McElroy is my maiden name. :) However, after the first 10 minutes I was hooked! Thanks for making sense! (I told my brother that colloidal silver was BS!!) congratulations on the new baby!!

Delightful entertainment

by HelenDanielle on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to almost every episode! The hosts are charming, and the information is interesting and well-delivered. I highly recommend this podcast!

:^)

by thefinalgilly on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

i barely know what doctors are but sydnee youre doing great. also justin is there.

The Absolute Best

by Chelaryxian on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much. It's always the perfect balance of funny and educational, and Justin and Sydnee work together so well in creating a great and compelling atmosphere. I have all this new medical knowledge and no way to use it... for now.

Sawbones makes me smart!

by carefullyChaotic on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recite facts and stories from this show all the time and everyone thinks I’m a genius doctor man!

Not all Facts, Lots of opinions

by CatThomson on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had previously rated this podcast a 5, but i went down to 3.I really love the fun facts and yalls personalities, but there are a bit of opnions in here presented as facts. I'm aware it says "not medical advise or opinion," but if youre going to talk to about being a doctor, you should concider being a little more conscious of how you talk. I absolutely think your pro vaccine banter is digsting, as well as your recent water episode (flouride is bad to swallow, look it up) . You sound like a drone. Opinions, not facts. Im torn though, becuase mostly I love you guys and this podcast. Just maybe be podcasters instead of jerks. Mostly you, Syd.

Truly a smart, funny, and entertaining podcast!

by Dreyfus2 on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ive been atarting from te begining and im loving it! Thanks guys for puting this on! Ps Justin your name is cool. Proud to see another Justin doing dope stuff!

Sawbones Is All I Listen To

by Miarrow on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was advertised on The Adventure Zone and sounded interesting so I picked a few random episodes that sounded interesting and then decided I needed to listen to ALL OF IT. It will probably take me another month or so but I will catch up and then will finally be able to listen to other podcasts that people keep recommending me and I keep telling them “NO I LOVE SAWBONES” until I finish. Justin and Sydnee have an amazing dynamic and chemistry and the NERDY MEDICAL HISTORY FACTS ARE AMAZING. It is like listening to a Mary Roach book, the mix of humor, science, and the long history of how dumb humans are figuring things out has accompanied many a car ride for me and will continue to do so until I have listened to every single episode.

Don’t tell me what to do!

by Warpedpixel on Mar 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They told me not to drill a hole in my head. How dare they! This is America! In all seriousness, sawbones is an entertaining and interesting show about medical history. Listen!

Justin and Sydnee rule!

by Tyler R Lee on Mar 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very funny and just as informative, Sydnee brings a high level of class and intelligence (as well as humor) to combine with Justin's natural charisma and hilarity, and present a highly entertaining and educational podcast.

I really enjoy it!!

by Indigozebra on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who works in the medical field, and who has a vast curiosity about other clinical diseases, wound care, and other medical procedures, I REALLY enjoy this podcast. This podcast is right up my alley and I think it’s great information and fascinating history. Definitely good for the medically curious or history buffs. Not good for trying to treat yourself lol

smarter by osmosis

by Queerantine on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

thanks to this show I was able to answer a crossword question about cholera! Special thanks to von Pettenkofer for drinking a dead man’s diarrhea

I love Dr. Sydnee so much

by CorieJanette7 on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Dr. Sydnee and Justin! This show is WONDERFUL. I am not science-minded but I love history so having disease, illness, and pseudoscience explained in layman terms is just perfect for me.

A Historian's Favorite Listen

by The Professor Z on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's not often I find history based podcasts that have me constantly grinning or even in stitches laughing. It's also not often my love of wacky medical history comes in podcast form presented by an actual doctor who does some darn good research, and someone who was clearly gifted with comedic timing and actually has many good additions to the episodes (he likes to play the dunce but Justin knows his stuff). It might have been partially because the first episode is my favorite old cure, trepanation, but hey, once I was in I didn't want out. It's something to listen to on the drive to and from work. It's something to entertain and educate me while I'm eating lunch at work. Something to keep my mind active while I'm mindlessly grinding or ingrediant hunting on video games. Dr. Sydnee does an awesome job at presenting well researched topics from a medical perspective. Justin does am amazing job of, well not just making us laugh and putting humor in situations, but also bringing in the perspective of everyday people who don't know the history of medicine in all it's weirdness. Together the pair present a thrilling, fun, funny, and accurate exploration of misguided medicine of the past. I've even begun suggesting the podcast to those on my tours, and my students. Historian approved. 10/10 recommend.

Perfect

by Mickiesofine on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Charming and hilarious, I could listen to this duo talk about dryer lint and still feel like I learned something!

10/10

by saraD1989 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show! I’ve listened to every episode

Such a wonderful show

by Gingersnap1212 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like medical history, then this podcast is awesome! Even if you're kinda squeamish like I am with medical stuff, it's still really enjoyable. Justin and Sydnee are adorable and lovely.

Fun

by Hippochick279 on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My daughter introduced me to your show. She’s 17 and I think Sydnee has inspired my daughter (Sydney) to become a doctor. I am a surgical technologist and and in school for nursing. I love the history and it’s so entertaining and informative. Keep up the good work!

Sawbones I’m pretty sure is my favorite podcast

by Readahistorybookonceinawhile on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Congratulations Double Mom and Double Dad! I love those stupid, good good goof-boys but Dr. Sydnee McElroy (and of course Justin) is such a pleasure to listen to and I’m so thankful she does this podcast.

So good

by Jbostick13 on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Thanks guys!

Congratulations on the new baby!

by My cat licks itself ontop of me on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so happy for you guys. I listen to your podcast every night to go to bed it’s very calming and makes me feel like there are good people in the world. I wish you both the best.

Love love love

by Natarita on Mar 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Omg I cannot even with this show. Okay I can and I love it. I seriously have laughed and cried and I just absolutely love it. Interesting topics, funny anecdotes, self aware, and omg their birth episodes. I have no interest having kids but listening to Cooper’s story I was so moved I slightly considered it. They were honest about their journey and their fears and it was just refreshing to hear an honest story about what goes on. Love these two! Thanks for being awesome!

To political

by Fringe PL on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to love this show and told everyone to listen, but I had to stop because of the bashing of anyone who thinks differently than the hosts. Stick to the medical history and leave politics out of it.

Finally caught up!!

by mrswillshakes on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been bingeing this show since October, and I'm finally caught up! I am OBSESSED with Sawbones, and can't wait to catch the current episodes when they come out!

This is the best podcast ever.

by Courtney_Nicole5490 on Feb 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really have nothing else to say.

Came here from The Adventure Zone

by Daryl Gardner on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Came here for Justin stayed because Dr. Sydnee McElroy is objectively the funniest McElroy I have heard so far. Also, I love old medical stuff and this podcast is a topsy-turvey ride. It’s like the polar express of medical podcasts. It’s occasionally terrifying when you think of what people used to do but it is a relief when we reach the destination. The destination of this podcast is progress! We’ve made wonderful progress in the medical field. And it’s really interesting that both Justin and Sydnee are voiced by Tom Hanks. Anyway, I love this podcast more than some of my own relatives.

THE BEST

by T. Funk on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

5 stars— informative, light-hearted, fun, well-researched, and not to mention lovely hosts. I have been talking about the things I’ve learned in the office and it’s breathed life into my ability to converse at work like a normal human again. My favorite podcast!! Thanks Sawbones! (I love y’all 😭💕)

Obsessed

by cmftwintwo on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history and medical oddities. I was so delighted to hear about a podcast about medical history! After listening to the first episode I knew three things: 1) I must binge listen to all of the episodes. 2) I must share this podcast with everyone I know. And 3) It is one of my new goals to hang out with Sydnee and Justin because they are hilarious and charming.

I fell smarter

by Caleb Grider on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just a great educational podcast with an amazing duo.

This is a crazy good listen.

by Cpttango30 on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has just about eclipsed all the others I listen too. I have listened to the first few episodes and I am so hooked I have done nothing but listen to this podcast. While I am not a doctor YET I believe I soon will be. Justin and Sydnee are amazing as a couple and as people. Just amazing work....

The choicest of podcasts

by Moi So Deal With It. on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great, I joined this figurative bandwagon about a few months ago, and it's just about 90% of what's getting me through the turbulent waters of high school. Thanks, yall

So good!

by kfchoinski on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Finally jumped in and started from the first episode, and now I can’t stop! This podcast is so fun, and I love little history tidbits. If you love random trivia about anything this is a great show for you. Thank you for another awesome McElroy podcast!