Average rating:

5
out of 4488 ratings.

All time Fave

by thewastelandshepherd on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones is the perfect mix of humor, history, medicine, and feeling like you’re catching up with old friends. My only complaint is that it only comes out once a week

Grateful for every episode!

by Magglez101 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I began listening to podcasts very recently, as a way to avoid the news cycle without letting my brain atrophy. Sydnee and Justin are hilarious and sweet to one another, and I have grown so fond of them both. I listen in the car and in my office, and my only warning is that you may laugh so loud, your co-workers or family will come running! My daughters are 13 and 16, and the majority of topics are appropriate for them, as well. I am just so grateful to have found something that makes me laugh and teaches me something. I appreciate this gem of a podcast so much. I was not sure 2017 - 2020 would offer much joy, but you’ve done it! Thank you so much!

I love this show

by AliLynn1039 on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sydnee and Justin are hilarious and I love learning about this stuff. I have binge listened to every episode at work and I love it. I work third shift so the McElroys have been keeping me company and very entertained.

Must Listen to All

by LP/w Design Studios on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a entertaining, informative and charming long-form illustration of human ignorance and ingenuity!! Thank you both for putting out this great podcast.

A cure for all ; )

by chocolate_covered_llamas on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones delivers every week with a blend of solid, interesting information and humorous banter that is presented in such a way that even my non-medical friends have become avid followers. Each episode works to provide a stand alone understanding of the topic that does not require a medical degree to navigate, without it ever feeling condescending to the audience. I would, however, suggest starting at the beginning and working toward the present episodes, as many concepts, historical figures, and inside jokes are built upon in subsequent episodes.

god i love this

by elllenholt on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

this podcast is the Best to listen to while bored at work or while walking around campus. I feel like I learn more from listening to this than i do at my actual classes. keep it up :)))

So great!

by WhoGRL on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I work in health care and learn something new every week. I recommend this podcast to all my friends who are in health care or who have an interest in crazy medical history.

Such a fun show!

by Hshdbdms on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn something every time I listen and it is delivered with humor and grace! Thank you Griffin and Rachael! Relationship goals!!!Love listening!

My Favorite Show

by CaseyDixon=) on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones is by far the best podcast I listen to. I have a 40 minute commute to and from work every day, and it is made bearable by my time with Justin and Dr. Sydnee. I learn so many interesting things from them and laugh the entire time. Truly a treat!

Brilliant hosts, brilliant premise, brilliant show!

by BunBunHonBun on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sydney and Justin are fantastic hosts. I learn something fascinating and giggle like a complete dork during every single episode. It occasionally gets gross — hey, it’s medical history — but if you’re queasy like me, it’s pretty easy to skip episodes with nasty topics or fast forward through Justin’s concerns about the logistics of enemas. Overall, I’m really grateful for this show. It always cheers me up!

So good!

by Alig0420 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was just introduced to this podcast and I am hooked!

Weird Knowledge Level Up

by ExistentialCasey on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. I have listened to a good chunk of episodes and my weird knowledge has expanded. Now I can blow my friends away with my knowledge of weird medical stuff. Going to recommend this to my science teacher

Edit

by History liker on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m changing my review. I did give a 5 star review. When I gave that review I had listened to around 10 episodes. I have been listening to more episodes lately. I’m sick of the bashing of our president. The bashing of everyone who doesn’t agree with you. I’d much rather listen to a podcast like “Timesuck” where people can civilly disagree. You guys insert your one sided opinion whenever you want. Give it a rest.

It’s embarrassing

by EmilyLid on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. Medical topics are my absolute favorite and Justin and Sydnee make me laugh so much, my co-workers judge me. They’re the reason I have no friends and I still love them.

Learning to cure plague one rooster at a time

by Lady Attorney on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel great now that I’ve strapped a live chicken to my face, eaten plenty of activated charcoal and bathed myself in purple light. Thanks, sawbones!

Heartwarming!

by SevtheMason on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The chemistry these two bring to their comedic timing is incredibly compelling! It makes this show not only informative, but very entertaining! I couldn't possibly recommend this podcast more highly, it's such a fun listen.

Good fun!

by Widowmaker gaming on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My new favorite podcast other than mbmbam, and TAZ... it’s hilarious!

I got it, you don’t like the president. He’s a moron, but...

by MJV15 on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like the podcast, but can we please stick with medical history. And leave politics out of it. If I wanted biased political commentary I’d turn on Fox News or CNN. I love the older episodes but I’m less fond of the newer ones with the political overtones. I’ve been listening for about two years and I hate that I had to change my rating from 5 stars but I’m getting pretty burnt out on the politics working it’s way into everything. Im with you, Trump is a moron, but I just am sick hearing about politics. Let’s get back to the point of the show, medical history. But if you are going to insist on bringing politics into don’t just ignore the ugly things that liberals have done in history. Both political sides have things to be embraced and ashamed of. And if you are all about science and facts, at least be intellectually honest enough to talk about the faults in both sides. Speaking of morons... yay, for vaccines! Vaccines aren’t political, just science... Once again I’m with you.

Cool beans

by KingCanada2732 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing

Omg

by Kitsune no Yume on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show! I started listening to it after I was finished with The Adventure Zone. So I was thinking for a topic... as someone who deals with this on the daily... could you do an episode on homeopathic medicine? I ask this because when my mom had breast cancer some people told her to ditch chemo and radiation and do homeopathic stuff... she didn’t do it and is now on year two of being cancer free.

#goals

by Jsjhwwshwhw on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dying for a relationship like Sydnee and Justin’s. they are perfect. This show is perfect. I love them so much. Also, I learned stuff.Update: boyfriend now asks to hear the “non gross” episodes of Sawbones. He actually learned the name of your show. Not even positive he know what my name is...

10/10

by Bone21122112 on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Both of my parents are in the medical field, this show was a fantastic way to introduce them to podcasts and that good good McElroy humor! I personally could relate to the episode about the crazy hours residents work. Have you had suggestions for a show about the health effects of working the night shift for years at a time? Just an idea :) Keep on being your amazing selves!

Great banter, great info, great show

by pHsquid on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones is a really great show. Sydnee is a doctor with a passion for medical history and her husband, Justin, is a professional podcast goofball. Their dynamic is great and they always find the comedy in the weird, intersting aspects of medical history they dig up. I'm always a proponent of when learning and fun (it's for fun, can't you just have fun for a second) combine for the benefit of both. Thanks for making the show!

Love!

by Moglieliza2246 on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You have to start from the beginning and listen to them grow into better producers and fall in love with their growing family.

I love it!

by Dkball on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore this show show so much!I tried to listen to it before bed the other night, but couldn’t stop giggling at the HORRIBLE things people did with mice to cure earaches.

Love it

by hmm12696 on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

One of my favorite podcasts!

Great show

by Cheetonium on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show to listen to when you want to learn something interesting while also being entertained.

Delightfully enlightening

by Venusdemilo83 on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been thoroughly enjoying the podcast! I listen to it throughout my day, mostly in the car as I run around town taking care of errands. The only downside is that people stare when I’m laughing in my car. If they only knew how enlightening the coffee and the clap episode were they’d be just as entertained as I was. Justin and Sydnee are just wonderful!

Good stuff!

by MBug73 on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun show usually about how it used to be done. Nice info and comedic counterpoint. It’s fun listening to this couple (and the occasional guest) work their way through the bizarre past of medicine!

noice

by Stormaggeden on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didnt think I would like this, I dont like medical stuff normally. But Sawbones is actually really interesting and I love how informative it is.

Extremely funny and informative.

by CurttheTurt on Dec 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Calling this edutainment seems like a disservice. But it is both extremely entertaining and educational. So I guess it’s appropriate. This is one of my favorite podcasts. Do yourself a favor and give one episode a listen. And I’m pretty sure you’ll be hooked.

Hands down, favorite podcast

by The Future Mrs. M on Dec 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast never disappoints. I always look forward to its updates on a weekly basis and have been listening for about four years.

Favorite podcast EVER

by Kitteh132 on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much. Sydney has the best voice and it so so relaxing, yet she is hilarious. It is very informative and I feel like I am a doctor already! Justin is hilarious and adds great comedy to make it less serious. They make silly episodes like Vaseline and more serious ones like Conversion Therapy. I listen to it every single night to sleep and just to be informed. I love this so much! Thank you so much Justin and Sydney!

Oh, I learn much things

by forgotten adam on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So many things learn

So, so good

by Jaredandisaacc on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these guys. It's nice that my 8-year-old son can listen as well.

My work buddies

by squishybonsai on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently heard about Sawbones in a past episode of Stuff You Missed in History class. They highly recommended it so I figured I’d give it a try. I love this podcast!! I’m just starting the 2016 episodes and catching up fast. I am a cook for a small kitchen and am often alone so your podcast is much enjoyed. I have been listening just for fun but lately have been coming across things is other podcasts where the host with mention how someone died and I know exactly what happened now. Thank you so much for all of the hilarity, knowledge, and for keeping me company at work. Your faithful fan -Andrea

The Pits

by Cayden Cuva on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

(Of my heart and soul rejoice, for I have found a podcast that is both hilarious and informative.) I laugh, I cry (from laughing) and get yucked out also sometimes. Justin asks the questions we’re all wondering, because no one in the world knows anything. Sydnee answers those questions, because she is the Smart One, and we love her for it.Go listen. Right now. Why are you still reading this? I know I’m great, but GO. GO READ IT NOW. (Are they gone? Good. Finally. Hope you have a good night.)

Perfection

by Freakazoidxs on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the perfect combination of entertainment and information. Listening to it even makes me feel like a better person, or at least like I have fun stuff to share at dinner parties.

It's like candy for your brain

by Caladhel on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I decided to check this podcast out because I'd listened to and liked several other podcasts involving the McElroys and I admit I was a bit apprehensive at first because more educational type shows like this tend to be either really good or really dry and boring. This one is the former. I'm still working my way through their huge backlog of episodes but I'm already hooked. Each episode is like candy for your brain, it's packed with all these sweet sweet little facts about all the weird stuff people tried in the process of, you know, figuring out how to medicine. And like, how far we've come since the days people did things like pop mercury pills or strap a chicken to themselves to cure plague. It's great, it's fun, and I get to learn cool and sometimes gross stuff about medical history. What's not to like?

The best podcast

by podcastsRcool on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my all-time favorite podcast. I love Syd and Justin! I started late 2016 and then proceeded to listen to every single episode all the way back to the beginning! Keep it up y'all. Love from the PNW.

Great podcast

by meggo_mlc on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There's always something new to learn and laugh about on Sawbones. It's one of my favorite podcasts and it never disappoints! If you like medical history or just weird science, this show is for you.

tardy to the party

by Gupperella on Dec 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i’m hopping on the show bandwagon a little(lot) late. Me and my kiddo absolutely love learning about all the history! She gets such a kick out of freaking her dad out with all the new, sometimes gory, obscure knowledge! thanks so much.

A lighthearted, humorous journey into medical history

by Nzalles on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this show from listening to the Adventure Zone, and boy am I glad to have finally checked it out! I’ve always loved learning more and more about medical history, and this show is such a fun way to hear even more. The hosts (Dr. McElroy and Justin McElroy) are a delight to listen to, and their exchanges and banter make my day. If you like neat medical facts and good-hearted humor, this show is for you!

The Best Medical Podcast

by moreofanna on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones is one of my absolute favorite podcasts! It's entertaining, it's educational, it'll intrigue you no matter your interests. Sydnee and Justin are absolute delights and this is the first show I recomend to anyone who's new to podcasts (before they succumb to the podcast abyss like the rest of us). If you still aren't convinced, the fact that I navigated itunes' hell hole of a store to type this review should persuade you. Happy listening!

Love this podcast

by Emmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍

Funny and informative!

by a2600 on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sawbones is a funny, informative podcast about medical history. The hosts are knowledgeable (hey, Justin can Google It!), and the episodes are often topical. Bonus for the occasional appearances of the hosts' adorable kid, who was born during the run of the show.

ultimate fantasy

by zubetp on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I would like to have a life-or-death operation, with Dr. Sydnee McElroy and her non-doctor husband as my two practitioners who aren't taking my operation seriously enough.

one of the most charming (and sometimes gross) podcasts!

by mywordsarestara on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There’s so much I love about this show, but probably most important is the amount Sydnee and Justin reference The Princess Bride.

Humor is the best medicine

by Nica3388 on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Who knew historical medicine could be so interesting! I suggest that you don't listen to this while you are recovering from a frenotomy. I almost pulled my stitches laughing.

Good medicine

by GhoulishJanine on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am intrigued and befuddled with medical history. The weird and disgusting things that were once accepted as medicine is horrifying and, in retrospect, intriguing. If you ever feel that curiosity, this podcast is the cure.