Average rating:

5
out of 2674 ratings.

Hilarious with a touch of intellectual fun.

by soccer_is_best on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently started listening to podcasts as I do work/laundry/exercise etc. I working on getting into medical school and Sawbones is the perfect kind of "study break" material that makes you laugh under your breath a little. Not heavy material like you would find in other "science" podcasts, but enough to keep the scientist in me interested. Awesome!

Funny and educational

by Sakuma wiki on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great. I listen to this on long car rides

Love love love it❤

by Mickysees on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love the combination of comedy and medical history. Sydnee and Justin are so fun to listen to! If you love history and laughing, this podcast is for you!

Too much banter

by Smileyem14 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sorry, not a fan of this podcast. Out of a 40 minute podcast, there is only about 2 minutes of actual medical information. The rest of the time is filled with inane unfunny banter between the hosts. I honestly think it would be better if the actual doctor did the podcast alone, and left her husband at home. He brings nothing to the podcast, except constant interruptions and desperate attempts to be funny...which he isn't.

Hilarious and Engrossing!

by AnnikaBanannika on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am not much of a reviewer, but Sawbones' madcap mixture of history, medicine, and genuine hilarity deserves all possible praise! I only recently discovered this gem of a podcast, and I'm looking forward to listening to many more hours.

lovely

by Petitprincen on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

makes me miss my gross doctor friends. interesting and weird medical history

I laugh and cry for civilization

by ricotte07 on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Sawbones. I learn so much from it and also frequently use it to educate my friends. The subjects can be ridiculous, topical, and/or things you always wanted to know but never wanted to ask. This podcast is definitely not just for doctors or scientists. Everyone can benefit and enjoy.

Awesome podcast

by Hollyelese on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is right in my wheelhouse of history and medicine. As long as you keep in mind that these are 2 normal people who are living, working normal lives, with a little extra funny, you'll enjoy every episode. Thanks McElroys.

Love it!

by beatnicpie on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I got hooked by the opium episode. Go figure...

You are great!

by Kstig56 on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was listening to American Family Physcian podcast, when you were interviewed. I have started listening to Sawbones from the beginning, and I am hooked! I am a medical professional (not a Dr) who listens while at work, because I work on a computer all day. Some of your stories make me laugh out loud! Great job! I think I am still in 2013, but I jumped ahead to your most recent podcast, The Man Who Ate Everything!!! OMG I oved it!!! Keep doing what your're doiing. It's amazing and very entertaining. I just finished "Urine" today. LOL Can't wait for the next one

Loveeee it!

by Nwolfe11 on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show! Not only super informative, but absolutely hilarious. Who thought medical history could be so entertaining?! If you really read every review Sydnee, Hi!!!

Interesting and funny!

by The Plague3 on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not much else to say just a really solid podcast!

Simply Brilliant

by kjcarrolljr on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't leave many reviews for anything, but this podcast is hands down my favorite that I listen to. My brother in law has told me about Sawbones during thanksgiving of last year. I binge listened to all of the episodes. The humor and intelligence plus historical facts makes this a must listen to podcast.

My favorite podcast!

by xBalletxRockstarx on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show brings me so much joy! Sydnee and Justin make science accessible and fun. I'm currently binge-listening from the beginning to the most recent episode and encouraging my friends to do so too.

Such a great show

by Nikki Aman on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I hope this show keeps going for as long as possible.

Witty and a must listen.

by Antonio Mel. on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've recently fallen down somewhat of a podcast hole now that my daily commute is anywhere form 45 minutes to an hour long. Of all the podcasts I've checked out, it's Sawbones that got me hooked. It's funny, sometimes educational, only occasionally gross, and the hosts have great banter. It's definitely a must listen for anyone who loves weird history facts, MBMBaM, or just has 30 or so minutes to kill.

Loosing me

by Momtovikings on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Used to really enjoy this podcast. But has turned political. That's fine, but not why I started listening. Wish they would get back to the title of the show.

Who knew?

by Pam zap on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It turns out that medical history is really fascinating. The hosts are pleasant companions for this stroll.

Information and a ton of fun

by Carebear5101 on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn something on every show and enjoy every minute!

She's great. He's insufferable.

by KS Murray on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I tried to listen and heard portions of five episodes. I listened to portions because the male half of this duo is intrusive, unfunny, controlling and rather dumb. Obviously it's been around for a while and people seem to like it. But when the balance of a show like this is off it's not a pleasure to sit through the drivel while waiting for the good one to get her info said, intelligent and cogent as it is. If they want to hear how to do it, he at least could get off his ego-pony and listen to "Stuff You Should Know."

No longer entertaining

by Crazy42025 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to listen all the time. It was funny and informative. But it's been getting too political for my taste. I come to Podcasts to escape the media and news... and most of all, opinions of others. But lately each show has some mention of Trump or current political discord. Or maybe it's just an implication of it. No matter. I don't come to your show to hear it. And don't assume I'm a Trump supporter either!!!! I seriously listen to podcasts to escape all that crap. Therefore, I move on. Farewell.

Formerly great podcast, ruined by politics

by furanku2 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great until recently, but it's turning increasingly unfunny and preachy. Topics are increasingly driven by liberal politics. When people have complained on Facebook, the response was basically "then don't listen, we don't want your kind".Have listened since Episode 5, but just unsubscribed.

Recently disappointed

by B. Mama on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast used to be so hilarious. I looked forward to it every single week. For a while now, it's gotten so sanctimonious and judgmental.I'm sorry to see it turned into a personal soap box and not a fun, lighthearted podcast. Peace out✌️

I love this podcast!

by Myers2ke on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered Sawbones a few months ago thanks to some shout-outs from the hosts of 'Stuff You Missed in History Class'. I'd thought of being a nurse for years and I've been fascinated by all things medical for as long as I can remember. At first I was a bit skeptical, but I stuck it out and let me tell you, this show does not disappoint! It's entertaining yet informative. It is sometimes hilarious, and sometimes it gets real (but in ways that are much needed, e.g. regarding vaccines). I'm a super nerd and recently started a list of fun facts I've learned from Sawbones. It's great to listen to on my morning and afternoon commutes. I look forward to each new episode and, although I wish I'd known about Sawbones a long time ago, I'm really grateful that I have a nice backlog of episodes to which I get to binge-listen while I wait for a new episode. Sydnee and Justin, you two are awesome. Your banter on the show takes this podcast to the next level. You all are doing some really great stuff. I so appreciate you doing all this research, Sydnee, and that you and Justin take the time to produce this show. Sawbones is a nerdy girl's dream come true! You two rock!

Great show

by dewton on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

That's about all I have to say.

Just can't keep it to themselves

by Martin1984102 on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Definitely don't want to hear about your political views while I'm trying to have a good time listening to podcasts

Thoughtful, funny, and educational

by a;slfjladsfkld on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast by far. I just wish the episodes were longer!

Thanks so much!

by Rhoadscholar on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listener for about a year now. Just listened to the episode on health insurance, & want to say thank you so much for giving a straightforward historical explanation of how we got to where we are now. Great show!

Party in the Front, Science in the Back

by Fordhome5218 on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast. Not a huge pursuer of medical knowledge, and usually kind of bored by this kind of stuff. But Justin and Sydnee have a great format for teaching us about medical history while keeping it fun and light hearted at the same time. Keep it up guys!

Satisfies both spouses in so many ways

by Shana Ziolko-Marting on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After introducing my husband, a doctor of pharmacy, to the Maxfun network was one of my best decisions, right after saying "yes". I work at a university and love history, he works at a hospital and loves medicine. We both have an unusual sense of humour. Sawbones' Justin and Sydnee fufill our desires for knowledge and humour and podcasts. Thanks

So funny, so gross.

by Kitten a Little Bit on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love how funny and smart this podcast it. I recently started going through the backlog and it's just delightful. I would recommend it to anyone who likes intelligent people cracking jokes.

I adore this podcast!

by Shelbsams on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the perfect blend of history and hilarity. I find myself laughing out loud and I tell everybody about the show. Looking forward to all future episodes! Thanks guys!

Love it!

by TulsaMeg on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found this podcast and it is already one of my favorites. I work in the medical field and love history. I really like how the hosts present the knowledge in a way that doesn't sound like your in a classroom lecture. It's perfect for people who love learning but not in the traditional way.

Science and history but fun

by Nessa6522 on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

J and Dr S make the history of medicine so interesting and fun to listen to. Their banter as husband and wife cracks me up.

Used to love it.

by iheartpaint on Jan 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Got too political for me. I want to hear funny people talk about medicine. Don't want to hear political opinions.

I love this podcast

by Floppy21 on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast out there! So interesting and educational. Some of the things people have done in the name of medicine or helping the sick, it is amazing we have made it as a race.

Fun and interesting!

by vitorimax on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These two are really funny together, and they share all kinds of bizarre historical information. I think just about anyone could enjoy this show.

History and a laugh

by cha_chachicken on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast thanks to another history cast and I'm so glad I did. Justin and Sydney are great and I've learned a lot about historical medicine, what it's like to body swap with a teenager, and how to fit a baby into the background of a podcast. Good stuff here guys, keep up the great work!!!

Favorite favorite favorite

by Elysia D on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I laugh and learn simultaneously and I couldn't ask for more from a podcast. I would recommend this to anyone honestly. This is by far my favorite podcast!

Mediocre at Best

by LovelyStrife on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The show used to be decent and they would update regularly, but the last few months they've stopped doing that. They release episodes when they feel like it and don't communicate cat all with their fans. Looking at their other podcasts, this isn't an issue. One can only assume that they don't care about this show, so why should we as viewers?

Extremely good

by Radiocat19 on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You'll laugh so hard you need stitches, though you probably won't want to get them from anyone featured on the show. Three thumbs up!

Love the Banter

by Elk Grove Fan on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for about a year now. Justin as a doctor? I could just see the explosion of the real Dr. McElroy's head as Justin begged for an honorary PHD. Great fun and always enjoyable. I often relisten to catch things I missed the first time. Lay in bed laughing with my earbuds as my wife thinks I have lost my mind.

My favorite podcast :)

by A Simpson-The owners of comedy on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Sawbones. I listened to about 150 of their episodes in about two months. I'm addicted. I binge-listened to Still Buffering and I found myself really enjoying what Sydnee had to say, so I thought I should give this show a chance. Now I am hugely into MBMBAM, Sawbones and now Shmanners. I love the Smirl/McElroy family and they always distract me from my problems and lighten my day. Go MaxFun!

so funny with sweet hosts and lots of cool information!

by GraceDi on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i listen to this on my commute and during my lunch breaks and keep getting caught laughing out loud on buses or alone in the break room it's definitely one of favorite podcasts ever!

The best, great for spare time as an M2

by rock-out92 on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it, keep it up. I think medical history is super interesting especially when it leads into what we do today. Of course the crazy stuff not so much. Though in the future your show will probably cover present techniques with the same negativity.

At least twice as fun as WebMD. Maybe 3 times.

by ScandiKnave on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sure, this podcast might not be actual medical advice or opinion... but it sure as heck cured my boredom. Been going through all the episodes from the beginning, and this podcast was a winner right from the start.

Power Couple of the Year

by aderps on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lighthearted, Enlightening, and Earnest. Sawbones fulfills thirsts for history, anatomy, and fun. I always learn something, and I always smile.

Awesome~!

by Laellyn on Jan 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I fell in love with this podcast after another of my favorite podcasts, Stuff you Should know, recommended it. This podcast is super entertaining and educational. One of my favorites to binge!

Don't drill a hole in your head

by ravenclawpukwudgie21 on Jan 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I actually got into listening to podcasts recently and this one came up in a subreddit I was browsing. Seemed interesting enough to fit my interests so I tried the very first episode. I've now subscribed and am currently binge-listening to the podcast and so far, every episode has made me laugh at least once. Love it! And remember: don't drill a hole in your head.

Gettaway Sticks

by LSGlasgow on Jan 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. Justin, thank you for the goofs. Sydnee, thank for the knowledge.