Average rating:

5
out of 85 ratings.

Well done

by Middle Sis Monica on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories for anyone who currently lives in or has lived in the southern Appalachian region. Nice variety of uplifting personal stories as well as hardship of the region with discussion of solutions.

fantastic

by bcox2519 on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There’s nothing quite like an Appalachian summer. The days are lush green and quiet, the nights full of stars and lightening bugs. Shady porches, and a creek never far away. "Inside Appalachia" allows you to experience that imagery from afar. No matter where you're at, the show is inviting. It makes you feel like you belong, like an old friend. The show is beautiful, and delicious to hear.

Appalachian Excellence

by megnet7 on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is such a gem. Well produced and thoughtful, every episode gives the listener insight into life in Appalachia. As a native Appalachian, I am thankful for this podcast that brings both the treasures of Appalachia and the issues that face us to the forefront.

Randy Kessinger OHIO

by randykohio on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was a sustaining doner for years but because of some scheduling changes i stopped making donations to my local member staion out of Charleston, WV. The quality of Inside Appaliachia convinced me to rejoin as a sustainer again. This is a cannot miss show on Sunday evenings for me. I love it - Jess, Roxy, Glyniss you have created something worthy of national distribution.

Fantastic journalism

by c.little.wight on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast tells very interesting stories that will appeal to people all over the US, not just Appalachia.

Brilliant

by Jenny Helen on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Well done!

Rich and Meaty

by illicitElixir on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Engaging, Relevant, and Informative. The best educational entertainment on the air waves! Keep doing what you're doing!

Great insightful storytelling

by PhilliRyan on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When I started listening to this I could barely locate Appalachia on a map. This podcast has given me a really insightful and entertaining look into region I knew nothing about. If you aren't from Appalachia don't pass over this!

Refreshing, insightful approach

by Christa Case Bryant on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderfully compelling, down-to-earth look at Appalachia. Jessica and her team bring to light the region's challenges, but also the humanity of its people. It's a refreshingly candid and compassionate approach to American journalism. As Politics editor for The Christian Science Monitor, I wish I had a similar podcast for every region of the U.S. to give me the same kind of insight.

A real treasure

by SuzanneTheOne on Dec 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Deeper than coal miners dig... this is a sweet love story of people, land, secrets and wonders of Appalachia. Have been truly surprised by how courageous and un-fearful of complex realities this program is. Grateful to have found it. Oral history, working class people's culture and the American soul are all opened here with magnificent minerals and jewels gleaming in the spaces explored.

You think you don't give a hoot about Appalachia?

by Churchgoinmule on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show will change your mind. Heart felt, endearing, excellent journalism and story-telling. They aren't afraid to tackle the hard subjects and yet still make places like WV a sort of vacation destinaton.

One of my faves

by Tai chi fisher on Jun 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this podcast a few months ago, I listen to every episode. I love hearing about what's going on around the region and the history carefully retold, the music scattered throughout. No hillbilly stereotypes here, an authentic representation of the people and the place that is Appalachia.

Award-winning level coverage

by andreafaerie on Jun 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic podcast on Appalachia. Very professional; covers a wide variety of topics from food to fracking in WV, PA, KY, TN, VA and other states. Jessica is great at interviewing. She asks great questions and seems at ease with all people. She has the sweetest accent. She puts a personal touch to the podcast with stories of her family and hometown, but not too much. As a Athens, WV native that has moved around several states, I enjoy listening to the podcast when I'm homesick for the mountains. The crossovers with the podcast Gravy (also recommended) are favorites.

Amazing local podcast

by T Durham on Feb 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I wanted to listen to quite a few of these before I reviewed. I have to say that this is a very interesting podcast that more people from our great state should listen to. You can tell the host really cares and her personal antidotes make it that much more endearing. I have recommended this podcast to quite a few people and will continue to do so. Thank you for your hard work and keep it up. 😊

Amazing

by Eh8w on Feb 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great insight into Appalachian culture, history, and people. Love the host and look forward to listening each week.

An Authentic Broadcast

by Jeffrey C. Kanode on Dec 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

"Inside Appalachia" presents the people and issues of Appalachia in a manner sensitive, but not patronizing; in a style loving but not biased. Jessica Lilly and Roxy Todd are journalists and poets, a rare combination in this postmodern era. They love the people and the land of Appalachia, and that love shines through in narrative storytelling, and in probing journalism which exemplifies the best of public broadcasting: thorough, inclusive, detailed, and engaging.If, like me, you are from Appalachia, "Inside Appalachia" tells the stories of beloved friends and familiar places. If you aren't from Appalachia, "Inside Appalachia" will broaden your horizons like a cloudless spring sky on an Appalachian mountain.

Authentically Appalachian

by Jeffrey Kanode on Dec 11, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

"Inside Appalachia" presents the people and issues of Appalachia in a manner sensitive, but not patronizing; in a style loving but not biased. Jessica Lilly and Roxy Todd are journalists and poets, a rare combination in this postmodern era. They love the people and the land of Appalachia, and that love shines through in narrative storytelling, and in probing journalism which exemplifies the best of public broadcasting: thorough, inclusive, detailed, and engaging.If, like me, you are from Appalachia, "Inside Appalachia" tells the stories of beloved friends and familiar places. If you aren't from Appalachia, "Inside Appalachia" will broaden your horizons like a cloudless spring sky on an Appalachian mountain.

Best Podcast to Date

by CMEdwards01 on Sep 20, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Inside Appalachia gives you a real picture of what living in our region is really like. The ups and downs. The pros and the cons. It's a nice break from the usual black and white, two dimensional coverage that we usually get. Great work Jessica Lilly, Roxy Todd , and crew!

Absolutely excellent

by LovesPandora! on Jul 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast does a great job at telling the story of an area in a multidimensional way. It helps me gain perspective on the ways small towns and communities intersect with the bigger picture.

Great Podcast

by Newf2619 on Jul 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Jessica Lilly and the rest of the WV public radio crew do a great job reporting both serious and lighter-hearted topics. I especially enjoyed the episode about WV groundwater. Great for history buffs and for people who want to know more about our region.

Phil Honerbrest

by Olive Bihgkock on Apr 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a great show and such a beautiful voice. I love listening to this woman. She’s probably as hot as she is smart.

Great Show

by DuaneEdlao on Mar 23, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to the stories here. So informative and honoring those whose stories are being told. Thank you for all that you do.

Wonderful podcast

by Lithia2 on Mar 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want to know what it's really like to live in Appalachia today, this is your podcast. Great storytelling about our people and the challenges we face -- and lots of lighthearted things too, like the "What's in a name" segment.

Wonderful, Insightful Stories

by Chkngal on Mar 21, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

For stories about Appalachia, you can't beat Inside Appalachia. They report on current events and the region's history. They include heartwarming and heartbreaking tales. And the reporting is polished, professional, and insightful. I can't recommend this podcast enough.

Rocking it.

by G-love Louise on Mar 19, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Compelling, quality insight into the Appalachian region. Show keeps getting better. Love it. :)

Great show

by Radiofinn1 on Mar 22, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

The best radio show on Appalachian history, news and culture.