Average rating:

5
out of 822 ratings.

Funny and thoughtful and relatable

by EmHops on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I have been binge-listening to the podcast for the past week. It's brought me a lot of joy and has made me reconsider a lot of books I have read or have considered reading. Andrew and Craig are charming and sound like guys I'd love to be friends with. Thanks so much for all the laughs and ideas!!

LOVE THIS PODCAST!!

by Shilish on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don’t stop reading guys!

Great Podcast

by ivemadeahugemistake on Jul 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for validating my feelings on so many books, including Ready Player One.

2018 Relief

by jeneveper on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! It gives me a more positive break from my daily litany of news/politics and true crime podcasts. I don’t know why I listen to those podcasts because they upset me and depress me so much, but this one never does. The two hosts are a pair of silly literary lovers. I love going through their gigantic list of episodes every day, finding a book I’ve read (or haven’t wanted to spend the time reading but was curious about) and listening to Andrew and Craig’s analysis. Favorite episodes include the ones where they discuss “Bunnicula”, “Beloved”, and“The Fifty Shades Trilogy.” The latter I enjoyed simply because they were so uncomfortable. I’ve never had a desire to waste my time reading 50 Shades, so I’m grateful Andrew and Craig suffered that for me.Also, can I say it’s nice to hear two educated dudes point out that some books don’t have awesome perspectives on women? We need more dudes like this as a society being like “ehhh that’s not great...” when author’s and people in general are crappy towards minorities.

My Favorite Podcast

by Kraage682 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a pretty voracious reader with a social circle that doesn’t share my passion for literature, I’ve missed the conversations about good books I had with my peers while at college. Thankfully, I stumbled upon Andrew and Craig’s podcast which fills the void and provides the literary discourse I have been craving. Thanks for taking the time to put this together every week Andre and Craig. Your podcast is fantastic and I would highly recommend it!

Overdue makes me a better reader

by LeeNichole M. on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m pretty new to Overdue, but I’m so happy to be here. I’ve loved books for as long as I can remember, but discovering this podcast has made me think so much more about the way that I read. I love listening to Andrew and Craig have insightful conversations about things I’ve already read, and they’ve made me excited to read a lot of new things. Overdue is making me a more critical, intellectual reader, and I love it for that. Basically, this is the place to be if you like deep, thoughtful book talk, honest confrontation of difficult topics in literature, and random hilarity between friends. Try it. You’ll like it.

Love it!

by Nosnewse on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I usually prefer scripted podcasts, but I love these guys’ conversation! I especially like when they feature a book I have read. Sometimes they go off on tangents, but a quick 15-or-30-second burst forward usually gets them on track.

A great binge!

by Jlurgo88 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m not entirely sure how I stumbled onto this podcast, but it’s great!! I’ve added so many books to my TBR list and I love the insight they bring to books I’ve already read. I just found it, so I’ve been binge listening to it and I’m going to be sad when I have to wait for a new episode. I just made it into the 100s though, so I have some time before I need to worry about that!

Honest opinion from a literary cynic

by pam273 on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ok so I’ll start by saying that I did not like podcasts before this one. I did not understand what was so special about listening to people have a conversation, couldn’t I just talk to someone and get the same experience? Well the answer is no, because these two hosts bring such a funny, unique perspective to literature that it’s almost impossible to recreate. Their chemistry and their wit is only matched by their modern, thoughtful analysis of literature.

Fun Book Podcast for Unpretentious Book Nerds!

by Mr. Charlie Bluegrass on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! These guys are intelligent, well read, and unpretentious, and I feel like I'm listening to a conversation between two of my friends. For two white dudes, they absolutely try to bring an open-minded, intersectional view to the books and do a pretty good job. They tackle serious literature and silly books. Their Fifty Shades episodes are amazing!

Holy Cow

by Foshi Boshi on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Overdue works on every level. Each week Craig and Andrew set their understated intellects to demystifying the highly-revered classics with a balance of humor, tact, respect, sincerity, and appropriate skepticism.For over six years Craig and Andrew have humbly and tactfully executed on this formula to create a library of episodes on the major classics. This is one of my three favorite podcasts.

Great guys making a great show

by Jambes01 on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These two gents have such an easygoing rapport. It feels like listening to a well established comedy routine, but they're also talking about a book they've read. It's clear that they love making the show and that really pushes it up several more notches in terms of quality as well as enjoyability.

My favorite podcast!

by Andyengineeress on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love this podcast! I really like to listen to podcasts about books I’ve already read because Andrew and Craig bring so much new information, analysis, and context that I always gain an even deeper understanding and appreciation of the books!

These guys are great!

by Shlebs10 on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a ton of bookish podcasts, almost exclusively hosted by women, so this podcast is a breath of fresh air. Hosts are super funny, don't take themselves too serious, and you can tell they are having fun. They seem like people you could actually hang out with and have fun. I often find myself laughing out loud at my quiet workplace. So thank's for being responsible for people thinking I'm weird. One of my favorite podcasts of all time, highly recommend! Also Spooktober is the best thing ever!

On of my favorite bookish podcasts

by lauraodylis on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They have a great way of discussing books that respect other POVs without losing their own voices

Just a couple of cool dudes talkin' bout books

by Butt butterson on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nuff said.

an overdue review of Overdue

by Kitt3nzs on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Andrew and Craig. I personally stumbled accross these goons a year and 1/2 ago after finishing a book (which scarcely happened) and wondering what others had thought of the peice. Something influenced me to explore other opinions through the Podcast app (which I haven't used up to this point), and these goons were the first to come up.One thing led to another, and I fell in love with the show. Not only that, Craig and Andrew led me to be hooked on podcasts AND reading (which is my main hobby now). Thanks you guys! Keep doin' you!

Absolutely in Love 😍 😍

by ClassyLady&3 on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found you guys a week ago, and I can’t stop listening!! Y’all love books as much as I do!! Not to mention your intro music is Miles Davis!!!

Poorly Researched, Shallow Readings

by Teabaggindragon on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I dug into a couple episodes and I have to say I’m really disappointed. What might seem at first like a decent book podcast with a nice premise quickly devolves into two chuckling nobodies doing their best to pull a giggle out of one another with unfunny quips about books they skimmed. Often, they get simple biographical details completely wrong, to the point where you wonder if they even spent an hour researching the author they feel qualified to talk about. I’m talking second-paragraph-on-the-Wikipedia-page simple. The most disappointing thing is how resistant they are to literary works in general and how frequently they miss the point of what they’ve read. Possibly the most heartbreaking part about it is the way their “hot takes” are delivered - with a sort of nose-upturned ignorance that ultimately belies a real lack of depth on the hosts part, both in their ability to analyze text and in their character. It could be that they sometimes read books in a week that should be taken in over a longer period of time, but to perform a poor reading of a text to fit this premise is a disservice. And it’s not that the idea won’t work. Supercontext did a reading of Gravity’s Rainbow that was stellar.This is just lazy.

A perfectly timed podcast

by eternityglaze on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sharp wit and dry humor pair nicely with intellectual conversations about books both classic and contemporary. Whether you’re listening to a new perspective on your favorite book, hearing about a book you’ve been meaning to read, or discovering a new novel to add to you to read list, this podcast is sure to keep you entertained. I can’t recommend this podcast enough to book worms and people that don’t have the time to read as many books as they want. Maybe this will rekindle a love of reading for you if it’s been lost in the mundane life of adulthood. Seriously, check out this podcast!

Funny, informative, useful

by vtmntr on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the repartee. An incredibly fun source for reading suggestions. I'm late to the party, but I've enjoyed it so much, I'm going back to the starting line with episode 1.Update: I love your show, but please try to not spoil books that you're not currently discussing. I was listening to Ep. 46: The Old Man and the Sea, and was luckily close to the volume button, because I think you were about to spoil The Lord of the Rings. I am currently reading it, and have amazingly avoided spoilers up to this point for a book series so old and often discussed. I do hope that I didn't hear too much. On to Pygmalion. What I've been doing is listening to those that I've either already read or don't mind a little spoiling. If it's a book that I've not read, but definitely plan to read in the future, I skip the episode. Again. Great show.Guys. Guys. Listening to the Animal Farm episode and nearly got spoiled on Lord of the Rings again. I still love the show, but guys. Please try not to spoil books that are not the focus of the episode.

Funny banter, thorough-ish reviews, good entertainment

by Refrigerator Running on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a listener just for about a month now and tend to only listen to episodes of books I've already read. I only recently started listening to episodes featuring other books I know I won't ever have time or interest in reading. The two hosts, Craig and Andrew, are smart, funny, and obviously have been friends for a long time as they are comfortable going deep on a segue. Though I am giving this podcast a five-star review, it's not without its shortcomings.There are some books that feel as if they were glossed over or just not enjoyed and thus not given the full attention deserved. I get it. Not everyone enjoys every book and so focus will naturally be lackluster, but an example of a book I loved but was only somewhat reviewed was World War Z. The recording of Andrew felt like listening to the kid in English glass who obviously only read a little bit or maybe a Wikipedia entry on it. There didn't appear to be an interest in explaining much of the story or much of the metaphor and symbolism of the characters, which is something Andrew and Craig will do for other books.Also, how much I like podcast hosts doesn't necessarily impact the quality of the show but if I had to choose which Overdue host to hang out with, it would be Craig because he seems mellow and the way he say "oh no" sounds earnest. Andrew sounds like the intimidating hipster at a party who would scoff when you tell him what your favorite book is and then will proceed to deconstruct both the book and your soul.Anyway, it's a great listen!

Wanted this to be fun but it’s just taxing

by Gobias Ind on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I wanted this podcast to be fun... it sometimes is. The Ready Player One episode finally broke me. It’s a stupid, fun book but they spend the whole time lecturing us with talking points about why it doesn’t meet their dogma. I assumed a book podcast would be opened minded but these guys just don’t have the capacity to deal with ideas that challenge them. Too many episodes drift into a buzzfeed level of analysis of thought crimes they find & must purge.

Good books and good people

by Citrus Sunshine on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love reading, but I can’t read everything. So I’m glad to count on Andrew and Craig to review some books for me. There are a few books I never would have read if not for them. They share their opinions on the books which inevitably leads to opinions on humanity, government and more. Their opinions have always been given gently and with every effort towards being inoffensive. Thanks for the book reviews and for being good humans.

Incredible Podcast

by Hegemon54 on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best book podcast you will find. They cover all genres, all manner of books and varying popularity. The two hosts Craig and Andrew have such great interplay and dynamic, you will laugh and enjoy every ep.

Fantastic

by SalParadise11 on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Overdue is absolutely one of my favorite podcasts.

I love this podcast.

by Call Me Sarah on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s like sitting down with old friends to talk about books. I appreciate that it’s not just new books. Many are books I’ve read—or I’ve been meaning to read—so the conversation feels familiar, friendly, and casual rather than pretentious or overly affected (as many book podcasts can be). Since one of the two hosts usually hasn’t read the book in question, each podcast feels accessible to all listeners, whether or not they are acquainted with the book in question. The hosts are funny without being crass. They are informed without being pedantic. I recommend this podcast to anyone who cares about books even a little. It’s a lot of fun.

Love it!

by Also named Mallory on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy their banter and the books they choose. It's quite enjoyable to listen to.

My favorite podcast!

by Manic mommy fan on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Andrew and Craig read the books we should have read by now. Some I have actually read and some are new to me. I always find their discussions interesting and sometimes laugh out loud funny! I love their banter at the beginning of each show. This is by far my favorite podcast and I would recommend it to any book lover.

Bridget Jones - you are thinking way too much

by moran43 on Feb 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

You’re thinking way too much and putting too much spin on it. She’s a late 20 something who is awkward trying to find her way in life. You are men and don’t realize that a lot of women including myself have gone through a lot of this stuff . It’s a tongue in cheek chick flick that we can all relate to. Not for guys...

“Some real Ho Hands.”

by JackSchittMD on Feb 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Fun to hear what some other people thought about books I liked; even if it is from the real-life analogues of Hayes and Shaun’s characters from Hollywood Handbook.

Too Good to Adequately Review

by KtMar20 on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's not just about the books. I don't even read the books. It's about the magical connection between these two long-time friends, their thoughtful insights on literature and life, and coming out of it feeling like you've learned something meaningful. Also, it's about Andrew saying "same" at the perfect point each episode. This podcast gives me life.

I live for this podcast

by lukedones on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Andrew and Craig talk books in a way that makes me want to read them. I’m EVEN considering reading Tolkien who is so not my style. Like NOT AT ALL. But thanks to listening to the recaps of LOTR, I maaaaaay TRY! Thanks guys! You’re the best!

Fun and Witty

by Lovelykd on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve only just begun listening to this podcast but, after hearing two eps, I’ve decided to subscribe. I look forward to being further enlightened and entertained by this dynamic (and hilarious) duo.

Personal Growth & Efficiency

by Finnschick on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an SOP, I will give any book 100 pages. If the author has failed to hook me at that point, I’m out & on to the next book. Andrew & Craig have further streamlined my reading process. By listening the their reviews first, I can eliminate some books that I don’t even want to give 100 pages to (I’m lookin’ at you, Lovecraft, you loon).On the other hand, only these guys could convince me to buy a collection of Feynman lectures. My favorite podcast! Culling and building my personal library in equal measure.

Funny Book Nerds

by Bookseller410 on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always enjoy listening to Overdue. Even if I have not read the book Andrew and Craig make smart obversations about the books and you learn a whole lot about the authors as well.

Great content

by Nmgg754 on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Engaging hosts who give interesting insight into (mostly) good books. Check this one out.

Can’t stop

by Irisholeary on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

First I listened to the books I had read, then I listened to the ones I wanted to read, now I’m filling in all the gaps. Even if I’ve never heard of a book these two are funny enough to make it worth while.

One of my favorites

by KR17262 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to your podcast almost every day at work. Thanks so much for keeping me entertained. And Andrew, you guys giggle the appropriate amount. Never change!

Awesome

by big fan Jamie on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast--great rapport and humor between hosts, and it's fun to hear about classics that I'm too lazy to read!

Great company for book lovers

by CaseyCoffee on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a pleasure to listen to. The hosts' voices are lovely and comforting, and their discussion of books is refreshing to an English major looking for the perspective of a normal reader rather than an intensely analytical professor. They provide great summaries of the books they read with a healthy dose of humor and insight. I greatly appreciate their respect for the readers of the books they examine, and their sensitivity to issues of race, sexuality, and gender in texts from the past. Highly recommend to anyone who loves books and reads a lot of them, as well as to those who wish they had time to read more.

One of my fave discoveries from 2017

by Emily Brady on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is definitely one of my favorite podcast discoveries of 2017. I spent considerable trying to find a book review podcast that was informative but also entertaining, and Overdue is exactly that. I've even burned through quite a few of the back episodes - which is rare for me even when I find a podcast that I like!

One of my favorite bookish podcasts

by Mchoneyb on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to it everyday!

I would like to like it more

by Amliterature on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This can be the most unnerving podcast. Some episodes are merely giggling and laughing over an hour of a plot summary.Some times they are condescending (who are they to comment on Tim Allen’s behaviour on the set of “The Santa Clause”? Did it make them feel above it all? Why choose a “novelisation” of a movie and then not take it seriously? Choose something else. The intro to the podcast says “besides these are books you should have already read.” The Santa Clause?). Some times they have no clue what they just read. One of them states he typically reads his books in a bar so he can engage to bartender, etc. For example, how do they have an episode over “The Old Man and the Sea” and never mention “grace under pressure” or the code hero? What is the point of putting down Bob Dylan for getting the Nobel?However, at all times they giggle and laugh at each other, the author of the work they are “discussing”, or the work itself. I am always hoping for more, and wish their niche in podcasts in literature wasn’t so small.

Too much giggling for no reason.

by Tommy Gavin on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Too much giggling. I don't get it. The concept is great, but the hosts seem to want to mock the books rather than analyze them, and there is so much giggling at jokes that just aren't funny. Theven mock their own sponsors. Trim th giggling, shirten the podcast by 20 minutes and you have something.

Bad

by KRMart on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I gave alot of these podcasts a fair shake but the millenial, self loathing, white hate got to be an ongoing theme for a majority of the shows.

Best book review podcast!

by SilverScribe on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best book review podcast I've listened to so far. It's also the ONLY book review podcast I've listened to so far.

Like Wishbone for Adults

by Eusonyme on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite book podcast! Craig and Andrew have a great rapport, and listening to them feels like listening to friends. I always appreciate the time they take to do research and provide context for the books they read, and I feel like I can trust them to discuss complicated or difficult subjects with sensitivity to their listeners.All in all, a great way to relive books I've enjoyed or get the gist of books I have or haven't been meaning to read -- like Wishbone for adults! (Or teens! #numberonepodcastforteens)

nice

by Averagebibliophile on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to Overdue because my mother made me turn it on in the car one day (it’s worth noting that this is how i fell in love with Hamilton as well) and within minutes I was hooked. I work at my local library shelving books which is a mindless, although interesting, job and listening to this podcast makes it one hundred times better. Andrew and Craig are so good at keeping the content interesting, so much so that I can listen to them discuss a book that is of absolutely no interest to me for an hour and never grow bored. They’re hilarious, and often I have to pause the podcast to keep from laughing out loud so the library patrons don’t think I’m crazy. But they also have very interesting conversations when the books get serious, and are just generally good people. I always listen to this podcast when I’m feeling down and Andrew and Craig never fail to make my day better. My all-time favorite podcast, for sure.I’ll talk about how amazing this podcast is to anyone who will listen, and though it’s a running gag on the show, Overdue is definitely the #1 podcast for this teen.

These guys are my favorite

by Jesselync on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Five stars :)