Average rating:

5
out of 1001 ratings.

Missing! APB

by SilverScribe on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Andrew and Craig's quirky little personal funny anecdotes that were previously sprinkled throughout the show (Andrew, have you ever....?/ what would you do if....??) , especially in random tangents within intros are missing! I will rate 2 stars until the unique special sauce of Andrew and Craig -ness returns.

Thank you.

by mgatma on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great selection. May I recommend Annihilation, Ancillary Justice, Left hand of Darkness, The Gunslinger, and The city and the city.

Yes

by pirat_katr on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Only listened to the shows of books that I’ve read because I’m DEFINITELY going to read the others some day. Love listening to these guys, just got through the To Kill a Mockingbird episode which I’ve read in like five different English classes and surprise the boys still had new insights! As soon as I have a regular paycheck you are totally on my patreon list I promise <3

YAAAS

by ZGarbs42 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Great content, informative, funny, and easy to binge. Totally worth checking out!

Enjoyable but needs more diversity

by khaleesi408 on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Thanks for this podcast. What a great idea!! I enjoy listening. I wish you would have a woman of color on the show if possible to have a more representative voice as a whole. Also more books written by women and specifically women of color. I know “the classics” are mostly written by white men (eye roll). Something to consider. Thanks!!

Over the moon with Overdue ♥️

by E Ganther on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Completely thrilled with these two guys and their detailed analyses of literature. As a 9th grade English teacher, I miss the days of intelligent conversations of rich texts. These two gentlemen have brought that back to me with relatable conversation and witty prose. So thankful to have found them so my commutes to and from work are something to look forward to now!

A little confused

by Hopetogetover120 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought this was a podcast about long pregnancies but it was still fun to listen to.

Best humor & literary analysis combo!

by Allispin on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts to listen to (especially at the gym or on a run, it makes the miles fly by). This podcast has a great mix of humor and literary analysis. I’m especially enjoying the Stop! Homer Time series right now. The first episode I listened to was on Twilight and it was amazing! I’m looking forward to the rest of that series getting the Overdue treatment (and I actually enjoy those books, but I totally agree with the criticisms given on the podcast and elsewhere). I’m always excited for a new Overdue podcast!

Thank you Andrew & Craig

by Heather Pearson (from AZ) on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast got me (is getting me) through a rough time in my life and I need to express some gratitude to these guys. They’re naturally funny and insightful, and I respect the sh** out of them. I was a bookseller for about a decade and avid reader who fell off the bandwagon, and this reignited my spark. I hope they keep this going for years to come and I can’t recommend this podcast enough.THANK YOU TO ANDREW & CRAIG!!! Genuinely and eternally grateful.

Great Podcast

by LitFlixPodcast on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You guys are great, love each episode!

If you love books...

by Jgi85 on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this. The hosts read a well-known book and talk about it. I love to read and talk about books, so love it. You can also find out about some classics without having to read them yourself if you want

Disappointed

by Rose Frances on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Could be so good, just isn’t.

Love and Hate Relationship

by Lola2137 on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

When I first found this podcast, I was super excited because I absolutely love reading and I'm always up for hearing new book recommendations and hearing what other people thought of the books I love. However... Although these guys are super entertaining, funny and their voices are great, I feel like they don't do justice to most books they talk about. It seems like they skip over super important facts or parts of the stories or sometimes just kind of breeze through them and then say they "don't get" the book or the point. On some of the classics or some of the books like The Reader or Girl with a Pearl Earring (2 of my favorites) which are beautifully written and very interesting, it almost seemed like they thought the books were dumb and basically made fun of half of the really important parts. When they start talking about specific facts or events and you can tell they haven't done ANY research or really actually paid attention to the book, I found it a bit frustrating. Also, if the book has a movie, maybe they could watch the movie to make a bit more sense or get a better idea of what the book is talking about if it seems that confusing? I'm all for a fun lighthearted pod-casts but it almost seems like these guys could care less about some of these stories and just feel like they HAVE to talk about them instead of actually enjoying the book. I found myself now just browsing through their episodes and only listening to the ones on books I've already read to see how off they are on the point. I'm a bit disappointed. :/

I love these dudes

by hannstav on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my absolute favorite podcasts of all time, I have so much respect and affinity for Andrew and Craig. The friendship between them is amazing and their conversations have absolutely changed me as a person and as a reader, I can’t say enough good things about them

Good Info, but doesn't encourage me to read

by Valhallaray on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like reading classics, but I know I can't hit them all in my lifetime - so that's where Andrew and Craig come in. The summaries and info that these guys share about the books are good, but I generally walk away from most of their podcasts with a feeling of "thank god I didn't read that book, it sounds terrible!" I'm sure that some of the books are probably actually pretty enjoyable. But I can't tell if Andrew and Craig actually enjoy reading the books or not. An easy fix would be if they mentioned how much they actually recommend the books, or if they gained anything from reading it, maybe around the end of the podcast.

The podcast that finally got me into listening to podcasts.

by greeniezona on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the one book per episode format and skipping through to refresh my memories of books I’ve already read. I like the “just two guys talking about books” attitude and that they don’t ever try to represent themselves as authorities or experts, but actually do name and quote relevant authorities when talking about books outside of “their lane.” I was apathetic about podcasts for so long, but this one has me searching through back episodes a couple of times a week.

In my top three favorites!

by Chloe from SLC on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently discovered Overdue, thanks to a recommendation from a fellow listener on the Facebook group of another VERY favorite podcast, The History Chicks! I am so ridiculously grateful to have seen that recommendation because this is seriously one of my top three favorites now! I only wish I’d discovered it sooner. Andrew and Craig are so funny, thoughtful, and inviting as they discuss books. Every discussion is approachable and super entertaining, and they have such great chemistry. It’s been wonderful listening to them talk about my favorites, and has also motivated me to tackle some books which have been on my to-read list for a long time, as well as books I’d never heard of before. It’s such an enjoyable podcast, and I really appreciate the effort that Craig and Andrew put into the show, especially since they crank out loads of great content so frequently and consistently! They truly care about representation and inclusivity as well, which is awesome. Thanks so much for this brilliant podcast!

An absolute godsend!

by Tommolove on Nov 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast on Spotify when I just typed in "Beowulf" and heard Andrew and Craig talking about it and then I discovered more and more episodes about books I've read or want to read and I fell in love! I've been listening for about a year now and every Monday, my walk to school is more enjoyable!!

Overdue is my podcast happy place

by AHWolf on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Me when Andrew and Craig release an episode on a book I’ve read: 😃😃😃Me when Andrew and Craig release an episode on a book I haven’t read: 😃😃😃I started listening because I had read Jane Eyre, loved it, and stumbled on Overdue’s episode. I’ve been catching up ever since. I love the discussions that are equal parts thoughtful and goofy. This is the book podcast I didn’t know I needed. 100% recommend. P.S. Loved The Count of Monte Cristo episode with Suzannah, one of my favorite books, and she was fabulous! 👏 👏

Yass

by alex jayyy on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Andrew and Craig are great hosts. Especially love the spooktober episodes!!! They do a great job of researching the author and discussing the specified title of the week. Love guest hosts. Also so engaging I love any episode. Have legitimately researched and/or purchased books based on this podcast (I.e.house of leaves). Such a fun and eye-opening podcast. Love it. Yass queens.

Fun and a reading incentive

by i365 on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast looking for humor and/or book podcasts, and by luck I found a combo. Andrew and Craig (and sometimes guests) do a survey of “you should have read this book by now” theme without any academic pretensions, which is very refreshing. They make jokes, sift through the canon as well as find new authors and voices, and occasionally choose their own adventures. It’s been a great help to me to get back into a concentrated reading schedule. I also saw them at a podcast conference and they were quite charming.

Great book podcast

by Hgfeubvfd on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and relaxed podcast about the books you should have read.

Great Podcast

by Boognish17 on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really fun and (often) informative Podcast. I’m generally a humorless book snob but I enjoy the hell out of Craig and Andrew’s takes on these books, the manner (humorous or otherwise) in which they present the podcast. Nice work, gentlemen.

A Waste of Time, Bro

by Yet another David on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Unfocussed and inadequately prepared for, these podcasts don't even have the virtue of being brief. If you were in a coffee shop somewhere and found yourself overhearing people this dopey discussing a book, you'd move to a different table.

Love it

by Meowtimestwo on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to this podcast - sometimes it feels like a slow burn, other times it’s more exciting, depending on what they’ve read... but I always find myself laughing out loud at their jokes, and wish I could grab coffee with them! It just feels so genuine and down to earth. Keep up the great work, guys!

LOVE!!

by Chocomunke on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot say enough good things about this podcast. In fact, I literally downloaded iTunes solely to leave a review for this podcast. If you love reading, this is a must listen. If you don't love reading, then this is a great gateway to changing that. I've been binging this for weeks and can't get enough. My only regret is that I didn't discover this podcast years ago.

Tremendous

by Hanny 127 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this every week! Always enjoyable and always come away having learned something new. Thanks for making great content.

My favorite book podcast

by MyNameIsEarlDamnIt on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to several book podcasts and this one has developed into my favorite. These guys really grow on you. Fifty Shades was one of the funniest things I’ve listened to on a podcast. Thanks for your hard work and all the laughs.

My favorite podcast!

by hegai88 on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is so different, but I’m never disappointed. An amazing combo of having fun and learning things, I’d recommend this to anyone who likes silly people and reading.

Educational and Hilarious

by H. Autumn on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found this podcast a few months ago through the Headgum network and have binged so many episodes since. Andrew and Craig have great chemistry and commentary. Love hearing their view on books I have read and learning new things about the ones I haven’t. I’ve listened to the Tolkien series a few times now and it’s just so so enjoyable, as are all the choose your own adventures. Loving Homer Time as well! P.S. Always listen till the very very end because sometimes they include hilarious random outtakes!

Frickin fantastic.

by Bri_✨ on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Witty, approachable and informative 👏

🔥

by K.FlayIsPrettyDamnGreat on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

🔥🔥🔥🔥

eh... tis okay

by JurassicSnark on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

So they're fun but it'd be much, much better if it didn't take 30 minutes of useless prattle to get to the book synopsis and discussion of the book. Thanks Andrew and Craig.

Favorite podcast!

by nromero5 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great show! The guys are really insightful and also hilarious. They give a great overview of the book, dive deep into the themes, and analyze the text really well! They cover a multitude of genres and titles and don’t shy away from anything. They are so funny and have such great things to say about every book they read! If you enjoy reading and analysis and listening in on good conversation, this is the show for you!

My go-to!

by BriNoelle33 on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Like most people who lived in books growing up and have paused that pastime since reaching adulthood, listening to these guys discuss an impressive expanse of books is like reconnecting with an old friend. What’s more, their friendship is completely evident and a joy to hear. No, it’s not always the most serious or analytical, the take Craig and Andrew give is honest, informative, and incredibly entertaining. Keep it up y’all :)

Entertaining and Thoughtful

by A. K. Proctor on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Overdue is the best book podcast out there. Not only does Overdue introduce me to new books/authors, it fills me in on the ones that I *definitely* should have read by now. Andrew and Craig take great pains to make sure that every episode is full of laughs while also making sure to shine a light on authors, works, and contemporary issues that the books feature. I would absolutely recommend Overdue to any reader who is too lazy for their own good.

The Lit Class I Never Took in College

by SamR0506 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Fun and often laugh-out-loud commentary and critique of books - I tend to listen to episodes only on books I’ve read and wish I could join in on the discussion. Good format with the guys switching places every week with who reads the book. A good alternative to going to a book club where no one’s read the book but you.

Great but...

by soapy- on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

They do a good job of going over the books they pick. They have such a variety to the books they pick. Overall great podcast except for his laugh. His laugh is so loud and obnoxious and constant. It makes me want to just turn off the podcast when I hear it. I like everything but that.

This review is”Overdue”

by Aurelie3dubois on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently started listening to this podcast on a whim, and am so happy I did. I’m the book nerd of most of my group of friends and family and always wondered what other people might feel about a book I was reading or looking for recommendations and peoples different logic for characters in their books. These guys are like my book club I always wanted to join but always felt out of place. They keep it fresh and don’t stick to any one genre. I started with just the ones I wanted to hear about which where books I’d already read, and now I’ve started bing listening to other books I maybe have wanted to but not sure I want to dedicate time on just yet. Thank you!

Makes car trips more enjoyable

by The Swagalicious Swag Master on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this podcast 3 months ago when I started a new job. Been listening nonstop since then. Makes the 30min ride to work more enjoyable and has rekindled my need and love of reading.

Truly an interesting podcast

by Doololly2001 on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found this podcast about a week ago and I find myself coming back to it again and again as I slowly go through all the podcast (I have a few hundred to listen to). I listen to it when I'm cleaning the house, when I'm mowing the lawn, when I'm in the car and it truly is an entertaining and (surprisingly) enlightening podcast. The questions go deeper than one would expect and I find myself coming away thinking further about the questions and how they may apply to other books or even my personal life. Many of these books I have not heard of (granted I'm seventeen so that doesn't mean much) and I tend to be scared of reading a book I've never heard of out of fear that it might be bad. But as I hear them talk about these books, it has given me inspiration to a) go through my own library of unread books, b) read the books they are talking about that has peaked my interest, and c) be more open about the books I choose to read. Overall, a wonderful podcast that is more than just two men discussing a well-written book.

Fun!

by MeaganQSmith on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast gets me through any lulls in my work day. I only listen to the ones about books I’ve already read and I love seeing the things that Andrew and Craig pick up on that I have been yelling into the void about forever. As an English major, I love analysis of books and these guys keep it accessible and fun. They don’t take themselves too seriously but they’re never dismissive. I do always expect Craig to say “Andrew my man-drew” a la Parks and Recreation. Still waiting on that!

One of my favorite podcasts

by NoraNoodles on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Andrew and Craig are a joy to listen to, and I love that they talk about intimidating classics in an accessible way. Love these pod boys!

Great podcast

by Megwithtong on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so glad I stumbled across this podcast. I love hearing them discuss both books that I have and have not yet read. I feel like listening is a great use of my time and the hosts are great.

Well done

by Nick Arrgh on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing too crazy, just insightful and casual modern commentary on a wide range of good and questionable books. The Gone With the Wind episode stands out. Admirably addressing the literary value of the book, as well as its problematic legacy, all the while managing to save the butt jokes that clutter modern social commentary until the very end. I am enjoying the heck out of this show.

This got me reading fiction again

by Kate S.S. on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I drifted away from reading fiction over the past few years, but this podcast has reminded me about the value of reading a good story. Andrew and Craig have great chemistry as hosts and I like how they cover a variety of genres, from crime fiction to fantasy to children's books. The hosts do spoil the endings of the books, but I've still read some of the titles covered and enjoyed them, none the less.

10/10, Have and Will Recommended

by boshums on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been subscribed to OVERDUE for quite the while, but have just recently actively listened to the podcast. This is mostly because I’m a librarian and, while the premise of the show drew me in, I wasn’t sure whether inundating even my commute with more book reviews would be more than I could handle. It isn’t more than I could handle, it’s great, everyone listen to all of these now~ I love the commentary, both for books I’ve already read and for those I haven’t. The sign-off I truly appreciate. These are all amazing and I’ve only listened to the first 50-ish so far. Great job, guys! I’m so glad you’re still active and posting :)

Like Goldilocks (in a good way)?

by TracyTom2 on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I first stumbled across this podcast after having read Jemison’s Hugo award winning novel. Though the Fifth Season was highly touted and well read. However, it was not openly reviewed in-perhaps- a ‘newer’ media platform. After a quick search I stumbled across Overdues’ analysis. It was here, in the initial bravery of analysis that I was hooked. Themes were dissected and analyzed, but the framework of this novel was also considered and promoted. I completely agreed!Now to address your balance. After the first podcast I delved into many other novels I’d read or wanted to read. It became clear that Andrew and Craig embrace humility while maintaining professional composure in their reviews. They have managed to straddle the brevity/studious nature of-say-a John Oliver. I know that I’ll be able to gather a certain level of interpretation on a classic as I would expect from a reputable journal while also being entertained. Finally, listening to the honest and palpitating reaction to our most recent presidential election sealed my approval. Andrew and Craig’s incredulity and reaction matched my experience that night of our 2016 presidential election.Thank you for your work. And, yes, I am entertained. P.S. When are we getting some more choose your own adventures? My seven year old daughter and I have just started The Abominable Snowman. R.A. Mongomery is a sly dog!

books you need to pretend to know

by J0hnnyB0i on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yeah they get Lefty and snarky and annoying sometimes but they give just enough information to bs hipsters and that girl/guy you want to impress.

THE BEST!

by nymeria.stark on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for reading all the books I should and just don’t have time for! My degree is in literature, I read all the time, and I still could never cover this kind of ground. Thanks, Craig and Andrew, for not only hitting major plot points, but discussing major issues and contextual factors! Sometimes I’ll listen to episodes for books I read a long time ago just to refresh my memory. These guys are funny, smart, and care a lot about books. What more could you ask for?