Average rating:

4.5
out of 939 ratings.

The best radio show around, actually the best of any show on TV

by Art5555555 on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Batchelor is amazing in terms of his breadth of knowledge. He has interesting, smart guests, who are experts. When he was out for a bit, the world had a black hole. I have been a fan since 9-11.

Bachelor’s Podcast sequence

by scott,sr on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Please post John’s B. Podcast in chronological order – part one first to follow by part two. Of course this will enable Your Fanbase to lessen to the stories in Proper order. Thank you in advance. Scott, Sr.

Long-time favorite podcast

by SusanJeffers on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my every day go-to podcasts. Wonderful array of topics, extended interviews, political and cultural analysis. It's especially been fascinating, as some of the frequent guests (e.g. Larry Kudlow) have moved into other roles, I feel like I already know them from having heard their take on the passing scene for years beforehand.... John Batchelor is the best!

Horrible Editing of Podcasts

by The_Patroller on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It saddens me to see such painfully horrific editing being done to such a tremendously important and informative program. Titles often do not match the content of the audio segments. And many times the segments are repeated using different titles (differnt titles, same exact content). In addition, there are far too many instances where split segments (Part 1 , Part 2, etc) are either completely missing, are out of order, or are exact duplicates of Part 1.... with no continuation to subsequent parts. There was a time when I would listen to JB's program by manually recording the WABC-NY broadcast directly from the radio, so I speak here as a devoted JB fan. However John truly needs to find himself a competent segment editor for this podcast, because the current person is doing him a great diservice and is hurting his listenership. I can only hope things improve soon.

Review

by Tom Liston on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Show / Insights into History, Politics and Book Reviews Along with Science and Aerospace Info.

An essential show....

by twolf20c on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy this show immensely….I live not more than a 40 minute flight from the contested shoals of the South China Sea, so your segments with Gordon Chang are my favorite but I also really enjoy the guys from Long War Journal….Keep up the great work John….Now back to Wynabego Warrior!!!

Great show!

by Tonybees on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m glad I rediscovered the show after about five years. I used to listen on 770AM. John is a great host and such a well read, and collected speaker. Got a lot of catching up to do…

Episode summaries need to be changed back

by farchizzle on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Before a couple of weeks ago, each episode had a nice short headline/summary to it which told you easily what a certain episode is about. But now that is gone and replaced by a quote from the guest which isnt always clear. So now I have to click on the details of the show and find out what the episode is about. PLEASE CHANGE IT BACK!!

The best there is.

by BHL98 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening for years, even before the podcast form release. Batchelor’s show is a must for anyone who wants to be current on foreign affairs and politics. Also love the weekend book reviews. A perfect news program.

Amazing

by Pole K on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John is my favorite host. Great political insight and international coverage. But his author interviews are the best. He is so well read and such a great interviewer, drawing the listener along and bringing out the authors excitement. He is Brian Lamb of CSpan BookTV but better.

Well worth your time

by xd mod 2 on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best show on radio and the web. The one podcast I always make time for because without accurate and timely information how can one be a useful citizen? We owe that to those that came before and those that follow.

Best news show I’ve found

by annabee90 on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite possibly the best, most comprehensive, thorough news show. JB does an amazing job of getting a variety of opinions onto his show to discuss current events concisely. Other journalists should take note.

The Storyteller

by Marc Lamb on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The John Batchelor Show is NPR for conservatives. He covers present-day news and history alike with the voice of an expert storyteller.

The only news source

by JBBinCA on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the best and most intelligent coverage of news events and strategic world issues. Batchelor is well read and informed. He brings out the best in his guests - a mix of journalists, analysts, academics, researchers, writers - to give smart insights to many subjects too lightly covered or often ignored by the media. Turn off the clickstream media - CNN, Fox, CBS, ABC, NBC and all the bloviators - to listen to thoughtful coverage.

The pinnacle of public intelligence gathering

by BLKH2O on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For anyone, of any age, in pursuit of knowledge & enlightenment, the JBS is essential radio. From his style of diction to the content he presents, his is the result of decades of reading, questioning, consideration AND reconsideration of opinion and data. I’ve listened for fourteen years now and am a better person for it. I grant this broadcast my imprimatur.

An American Treasure

by aingl on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every morning I need John; bright and early. Knowledge seems boundless. Cherish while you can. Never retire John; result would be a radio intellectual wasteland.

Best podcast

by Princeton BB4telia on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I concur with the rest of the reviews. Excellent, insightful, diverse, profound. Great to have these podcasts downloaded for long trips!

Best podcast period

by RDC_CDR on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t look forward to this podcast ending someday as we all know it mustI listen daily and have dating back to the Batchelor & Alexander days.It has become part of my daily routine & has been for close to 17 years (started just after 9-11)But alas we all are mortal I hope he’s good for at least ten more years before retiring I miss Hedgecock who retired before the 2016 election

Brilliant Broadcaster! Fascinating Topics! Love Cold War Shows!

by Project Pratt on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Professional! The topics are excellent. This show has broadened my understanding of global political issues, conflicts, and how it applies to history. I love the shows that focus towards the Cold War! I don’t think Americans understand the importance of the Cold War in American History. Please keep it coming!

Info no where else

by Martym21 on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything from the virtues of grass fed beef to rogue planets to Iran to the real causes of the Revolutionary War....Best show on radio.Real info real insights

Top drawer analysis.

by TBALL778 on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This guy has the “it” factor. However one defines “it” ,,, this guy has it. I look forward to the podcast every morning. Good job Mr. B! I have jumped in head first.

JBS: intelligent objective engaging

by MelyIO on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

JBS is the place for staying current on everything. John is knowledgeable of each topic at hand; the best host for every guest. Respect for all is John’s signature. I recommend this podcast for anyone who is interested and curious about our world and universes.

Interesting podcast but too many posts!

by center viewpoint on May 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really like John Bachelor. I don’t always agree with his views but I respect how he approaches each topic with a fair and balanced mindset. However, his idea of uploading each topic as a separate post can become overwhelming. I understand why he does it but the countless posts pile up very quickly. There are times where I’m not always going to listen to podcasts. If I even miss a few days of going through his podcast posts, suddenly I gotta plow through or delete 50 posts in order to not have even more posts piled up down the road, impacting my phone storage. Subscribing to his podcast on my iPhone would be less of a pain if he didn’t upload up to 10 posts daily.

Pro-Israel propaganda, with one saving grace

by 71925 on May 02, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Batchelor is a great fan of Israel and when it comes to Middle East topics only interviews journalists, lobbyists, political operatives and other hacks who promote the views and policies of the Israeli government. His show is even sponsored in part by the Israeli national airline. Typically the interviews are 10-12 minutes long allowing just enough time to get the propaganda across. As serious or informed discussion these interviews are a joke. In my opinion there is one thing and one thing only of value in Batchelor’s podcast. Usually every Tuesday he allows Stephen F. Cohen to come on and discuss the new Cold War with Russia. Cohen is a serious scholar who happens to oppose the new Cold War, in contrast to all corporate-media opinion makers and American politicians. He is well worth listening to, and Batchelor deserves some credit for allowing him to speak freely without interruption, and for more than 10-12 minutes.

Bachelor rules

by Larry ITunes HOTMAIL EMAIL on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best news podcast bar none. A treasure

The best

by Hammy909 on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is no greater depth of understanding nor level of detail in such a succinct package as The John Batchelor Show.

Great Podcast

by DrBogle on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wide variety of topics, great host. Really enjoy it, keep up the great work.

Best serious news podcast

by DrQJones on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Deep thoughtful informative.

good content, worth listening to

by 4815162342108 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

John Bachelor pushes out the best content in the republic. he keeps it real and always intriguing. BEST thing about his podcasts is that they have more depth to them than Bruce Wayne’s “basement”. WORST thing about his podcasts is that he posts podcasts faster than single high school cheerleaders dropping their panties for the varsity wrestling team. i hate to say it, but John, slow it down. i want to listen to them all, but i can’t possibly do it....or at least have a category headline so we know(like SPACE, TECHNOLOGY, ECONOMICS, INTERNATIONAL AFFAIRS, FINANCES, INDUSTRIAL + the creative headlines you always do.)

None other out there today like him

by Drewvh on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Batchelor has been my favorite source of in-depth news for over 12 years. First listening on WABC in New York, then discovering his daily podcasts after moving to Virginia. His interviews of authors on historical and current book topics as well as analysis of current events around the world help me to balance the “news that fits” with the news that truly matters.

John Batchelor

by Gravytrainin on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

All meat and potatoes... No ranting and raving or partisan garbage... Full content and no nonsense... Your a smarter person for having listened... Best radio show out there!

The great John Batchelor

by Horseplaysteve on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Batchelor is a giant. He covers an amazing breadth of topics, and keeps the conversation moving at breakneck speed.

greatest podcast ever

by gwm73 on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Smartest media person I have ever listened to, well before podcasts. An interesting mix of politics and science with some of the smartest guests around.

There should be more stars

by K8TScarlett on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If there’s a topic, he presents it. History, science, politics, current events, whatever. Listen to every podcast with Stephen Cohen and Richard Epstein. This is what fair and balanced really sounds like. The best daily podcast around. Everyone should be so classy.

Must listen!!!

by Jonesy8888 on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hours of amazing info, on many subjects, every single day! I swear he never steps away from the radio, and all he does is have intelligent conversations with writers and experts. It's history, politics, archeology, space exploration, great new books, political gossip, just everything you'd want.

Smart host, smart guests!

by Joruco on Oct 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My go-to source for geopolitical, domestic, and space news. Love that it’s produced later than most programs and captures late breaking news. Excellent interviews of authors writing on history.

Absolute brilliance

by The Musicants on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The John Batchelor Show is, without question, the most interesting and important program on the radio. Mr. Batchelor is a wonderful interviewer, with an astounding breadth and depth of knowledge yet tremendous humility that allows him to get amazing insight from his guests. His shows focusing on WWII are priceless. I look forward to this show every day, and I tell all of my friends about this hidden gem.The only criticism I have is that some of the recurring guests are very myopic neocons and knee jerk reactionaries. But there’s nothing better than John interviewing an author.

Much better than PBS .

by AJB- from NJ on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Intelligent analysis without partisan rancor. If you expect MSNBC or Fox, this isn’t the program for you. As their advertising slogan goes, this is a program that makes you think. If you want a program that makes you want to scream at the other side, then tune in Rush or go watch Rachel. We need more programs like this on the air

An Enriching Seven Day a Week Ride Through the Universe

by Robert Hutson on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In trying to put to words the impact of this show on my daily growth in domestic, international and cosmic news, what comes to mind is the impact that Paul Harvey, Sesame Street, World Book, NOVA, Newsweek and Rush Limbaugh had on me as child and young man in the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s. He covers the globe and outer space for you in an interesting and challenging way. No calls from regular people are taken. He has regular co-hosts on during portions of the show weekly and they interview others in their field of expertise. It is like being an assistant to a great world traveler who is attempting to gather as much of the worlds intrigue and knowledge. He doesn’t have time for sports now due to the number of books he reads but appreciated them in his younger life.

Go Buckeyes

by mignered on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to JBS for several years. The discussions are literate and politically balanced. I enjoy the comprehensive emphasis on the social, political, historic and economic context of events and trends in the United States and globally.Personal favorites are Michael Vlahos, Gordon Chang, Steven Cohen, Long War Journal, and John Tamney.

Great on History, Social and Politics, poor on Science

by J Hersey on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really appreciate Mr Bachelor’s approach and book reviews. He’s a great moderator for conversation. His guests and commentary on science should be opened up to voices from the intelligent design community. Too much trust in traditional views of the science community and the“magic” (my term) of evolution.

Mr

by Steve12024 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The place to go to stay informed on current news events, space, science and history.

Best current event podcast out there.

by bovalentine on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, entertaining, and profound. John Batchelor is a renaissance man and the show treats almost every conceivable subject.The best current events podcast on the Internet that I found. His guests are true experts, no talking heads. This may be the only show that mixes science ,history politics, and occasionally philosophy and art. The show is never boring. It's also worth mentioning that bachelor is a broadcast professional. And not a podcast rookie.

What radio should be

by Doug4976 on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John is a insightful interviewer with a wide range of guests and subjects that keeps it interesting. It's a shame the media industry is the train wreck that it is because John would be better known than he is.

Not objective enough

by Chairman.Chao on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not objective, biased

Partisan

by Texas Unite! on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If you believed Mr. Batchelor's program, the Trump administration has been nothing but success after success, but reality suggests something completely different. Biased.

Amazing show you become smarter just by listening

by Holworth on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Insight for informative best radio ever. Only talk show radio I ever listen to worth every minute

Very Informative

by JoA940 on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the go to channel for realup to date news, with excellent guests! Thank you!

A broadly intelligent man

by The Cleric on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Batchelor is an engaging, broadly intelligent man. America would be a better place if more people listened to him.

John Batchelor show

by Blusztejn on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Got to do something about the lugubrious schund background music. It's his perspective, but this Trump apologist comes across a nicer version than a lot of the screaming right wingers you're here elsewhere.