Average rating:

5
out of 198 ratings.

Very engaging

by Tosub on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Can be difficult to follow. He bounces forward and back in his descriptive narrative about magic. Knows practically everything about the historical development of the best game ever made.

Awesome

by T 6573 on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mark Rosewater is the of (un)official historian of MTG. I love hearing him talk about days past as well as how the design process works. If like Magic: The gathering, you'll love hearing baout it first hand from one of the driving forces of the game.

Great, even if you don't like magic

by ZebadiahM on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the passion, enthusiasm, and huge breadth of knowledge.

Awesome.

by Caljoones on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a must listen for any Magic fan who wants to "see behind the curtain." Fantastic content, thanks MaRo.

Love It!

by DreamVmu on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a listener for a few weeks now and I have enjoyed each and every episode. I've been playing MTG since Beta, but I haven't played an actual game in over 15 years. I really love the history elements of your podcast! I also enjoy all the wisdom and fun stories that only you could share about MTG. I recently listened to your Chris Rush episode. A major loss to the world. I never met Christopher Rush, and now I have a little understanding of how great he was. Thanks for letting me share in the joy of your journey! Please keep them coming!

Every MTG player should listen

by Morrdak on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is quite good. Sure, some times the topics aren't my cup of tea or I'll completely disagree with his ratings on top 10s or showdowns (IE delirium/emerge/madness in Innistrad Showdown... Mark, players like complex mechanics!!) but Mark gives amazings perspective on what it takes to make Magic the amazing game it is today and how far it has come. Like the title says, every player of Magic should listen to this.

A great podcast for driving to work

by MrFootstones on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is both incredibly entertaining and full of great info. Maro is a walking mtg encyclopedia and this is your chance to get first hand information about the history and making of your favorite game. If you play magic and enjoy behind the scenes type stuff do yourself a favor and subscribe. This makes my commute to work an enjoyable experience.

So Good

by aderps on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you enjoy Magic the Gathering in any way, Mark is going to do his best to give you what you want somewhere along the line. This is also a great podcast for anyone interested in game design in general. The sound quality is not the greatest, but the fact that Mark does these all uncut unedited driving in a car while still remaining plenty articulate and audible is astounding and far outweighs and mic quality issues. Mad props to Mark Rosewater. Thank you for taking the time to do this podcast in your obviously very busy life.

An extensive dive into one of the creative minds at the heart of Magic The Gathering

by Chad from Hawaii on Nov 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

During his ongoing career with Magic, Mark Rosewater has been considered both an end-bringer and a savior of the beloved collectible card game. Who better than him to offer insight into the creative process as well as the trials and triumphs along the way to keeping the magic alive.

Wonderful

by Sleezy_E on Aug 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never been more inspired to follow my dream of one day working for wizards of the coast creating the wonderful game I love so so much. Very clear and concise with his speech which is HIGE and on top of that it could be one of the most informative podcasts I've ever listened to. 6/5 stars is that possible? Thank you Mark, if you're reading this get back to making magic!! (Or talking it)

Great inside information

by kamuishirou on May 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the feel and talk of this podcast. Love Mark Rosewater's dedication, and willingness to not only educate us on Magic history, but also general gaming information.

When playing the game just isn’t enough<3

by "Mike" of house "Burns" on Nov 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast<3 Nice bite sized episodes. Easy to listen to one at a time or as a marathon. Drive to Work is full of intriguing insider information and incredibly fun stories. It has given me even more appreciation for the game and it’s creators. I love that it doesn’t feel like a radio show too, it feels like you’re just hanging out with Mark :)

Awesome podcast!

by Rockynitro on Apr 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! It brings a really good perspective into the world of magic. You Rock Maro! Thank you for taking the time in creating this podcast.

Whether or not you care about Magic: the Gathering, listen to this!

by J. T. E. on Jan 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Want to hear a great, extremely successful game designer share fun stories, insights about life, and general theory about how games work? Listen as Mark Rosewater drives to work. If you also care about MtG, it’s even better, because he has a lot of fascinating stories about how the game comes to be. But even if you aren’t big into Magic, you’ll find a lot to appreciate about this podcast.

Great Insight and Energy

by Kultcher on Oct 03, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

MaRo provides a lot of great info for game designers of any stripe, and does so with gusto. What he may lack in raw "host-ness" charisma, he more than makes up for with enthusiasm and love of the game and his audience.

Informative!

by AvidonS on Apr 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

A very entertaining and interesting podcast on Magic by one of the chief creators of Magic, Maro! Love the show and love to hear all the stories Maro has to tell about the history of the game.

Awesome, but...

by cjxhgdd on Mar 14, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, but I wish he would say what the cards he is talking about actually do more often. As a longtime player, I know most pf the cards, but there are still gaps in my knowledge and I imagine it would be very frustrating for newer players to hear him go on and on about the design of a card without saying what it does.

Love it!

by Dying2Develop on Mar 08, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Just when I thought I couldn't love MTG anymore! I've been playing almost since it's inception; It is so awesome to get an insider look at the making if the game I am so passionate about. Now if I could only convince my wife to let us move from MN to WA to go for my dream job...

Great, but had a comment

by cornfo on Jan 22, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

The podcast is great! I work at a job where I’m allowed to listen to music; so I listen to podcasts, because honestly, listening to any song 20x will make that song tiresome. Anyway, I listen to the different aspects of the game of Magic, in game, and the development side of things. Although, I do want to say, that even though his insight is great about the cards that he develops, I want to find out what his take is on all the custom cards out there, example chuck norris.

Awesome

by Nezzdi1234 on Jan 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

So, I just started playing Magic: The Gathering, and I absolutely love this podcast. I love getting an in-depth explanation of how these cards and the games mechanics work and how they were designed. I can't recommend this podcast enough.

Thanks Mark!

by GrandAdmiral on Nov 18, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fun podcast with stories from Magic's history and about the design/development of different expansion sets. Mark also touches on general game design. Drive safe!

Amazing podcast

by ShadeOSG on Nov 07, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Whereas so many MTG podcasts are for advanced players looking for winning strategies, this one is a behind the scenes look at the game. I love that it looks at the philosophy and psychology behind the development of the game and celebrates the flavor of Magic. Mark's enthusiasm and passion for magic and gaming in general is welcome and refreshing.

Great work

by CoryL99 on Nov 01, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Very entertaining love listening to it! Nice insight into magic for a new player like myself.

great podcast

by xalexmoserx on Oct 07, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast

The stories behind the game's evolution

by Last of the Unicorns on Oct 03, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

The host, Mark Rosewater, is a creative director for the Magic: The Gathering card game. During the podcast, which takes place during his daily drive to work (hence the title) he talks about different topics such as card types, details of specific expansions, why certain rules came about, personal anecdotes, and other points about the game design. As a fan of the game I find this pretty interesting, and I learn things I had not noticed from simply playing the game with friends. The length of episodes is generally under a half hour, so each discussion is focused and easy to fit into my personal schedule to listen to without losing interest or having to pause and come back like longer 1- or 2-hour podcasts. The podcast is recorded in a single take without significant editing so there are hiccups in his narration (such as trying to remember specific words or names), but this does not occur often and Mark is a very animated speaker who clearly is enthusiastic about his work. If you do enjoy the Magic card game and wish to know more about how it came to be I highly recommend this podcast.

It's not for everyone,

by *Annoyed by Haters* on Sep 29, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

It defiantly is for me though! I do love this podcast and Mark does a great job with it. This isn't a podcast about how to play magic or magic strategy, it's about magic's history. Some of his episodes are a little dry when you aren't as interested in the topic, but overall, it's very awesome. Fair warning, he obviously doesn't edit these, he even stated that, so sometimes he gets miss speaks and you here him driving sometimes, but it's kind of cool in a real way. Try it out and see if you like it.Keep up the good work Mark!

Painful to listen to.

by EJ86 on Aug 22, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Skip.

Very interesting

by DanderB on Aug 14, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy these shows. Very nice insight into MTG design and it's history.

GUILD MECHANICS NOW!!!!

by Orzhov Lova on Jul 03, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

i think you should do a podcast of how you developed all the guild mechanics. i would really enjoy that.

Exactly what it tries to be

by ibjeremy on Jun 21, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Maro talks about magic. There is a lot of repeats with his articles, but it is generally strong.

Great stuff

by Fear campaign on Jun 21, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

It's been a pleasure listening to this podcast. Mark isn't afraid to talk about weak blocks or downplay faults with sets.

Thanks! Great Stuff!

by Venomthrope on Jun 11, 2013
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the show. I've always loved the game and the info rocks! Thanks for the inside scoops and great commentary

STOP SAYING UM'S, YOU KNOW AND AHHH

by La Chimera on Jun 01, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Podcast is ok, but you really need to stop with the you know's. because if we did know what you are talking about we wouldn't really have to listen, cuz we would know...

Simply amazing

by Qrimsin on May 06, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this podcast don't ever stop maro keep taking us to school with those history lessons

Road Trip With Maro

by Rugern on May 01, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I caught up in just a few days... And it feels like I've been on a fifteen hour road trip with the godfather of Magic the Gathering. It isn't a high sound quality production, but the stories shared by Mark Rosewater are unique.

When work isn't work

by Aymax on Mar 28, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing wisdom in how he has approached his jobs. I manage a lumberyard and can honestly say hearing about his work has given me such insight into how I run a business. I have one of his problems/blessings. I am intuitive on things that need to be done but I can't always explain why until after the fact. Until these pod cast I couldn't even explain that to myself. I say Listen to these and you will be able to apply some wisdom to your world. Time to sell the LUMBER. :)

Fantastic insight

by Waka2234 on Feb 21, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

If you play Magic or just want to hear the creative process these are awesome.

MaRo is Huge

by GTangarang on Jan 23, 2013
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Look I get it... You're Mark Rosewater and you and integral part of Magic's past, present and future... But your podcasts make you come off like you're a little full of yourself. A lot of your stories at least in the earlier casts are about how important you were and how you were right about X and Y. Its not what you're saying, its really how you are saying it that rubs me the wrong way.

The king of Magic!

by MyklSkeleton on Jan 12, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content and lots of behind the scenes Magic stories. My only complaint is that sometimes he talks so fast that I can't quite understand him. You can tell he's really passionate about his job.

Love the content

by wayfarer2531 on Jan 05, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always been interested in Magic design, and this is all great information from one of the best sources there could be! Sometimes its hard to hear the guests on the show, but given how this is being recorded, its understandable. Excited whenever a new one comes up. Keep them coming!

Great podcast

by jcrashsharrow on Jan 04, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

This is mostly for anyone who likes Magic design, it's not for people looking for deck building tips, Mark Rosewater isn't an expert in that department but when it comes to design or just being a Magic historian he is the absolute king.

its okay but really pointless

by nbass5799 on Dec 28, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

it would be better if there was perhaps a more point to the episodes sure its great hearing about him talk about him making cards or discussing the top ten things a game needs but its got a huge useless drabble feel to it. I cant speak for everyone but im looking for tips deck ideas and not just on an internet page level, talking about it hearing opinions from more then just one person i love the concept and im not bashing im just suggesting.

Fan of podcast

by 2Gbs on Dec 18, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Im one of those people on the very edge of Magic, never had anyone who wanted to play. But i was always interested in the game and this podcast was a big surprise. Wow the formate is brilliant. It's very unique and cool, I would have never thought of a driving podcast.

My favorite podcast

by Mldemoss on Dec 10, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

A great behind the scenes look at game design.

An insider view

by Tat2jimi on Nov 29, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great a true insider view in a true candid environment.

More from MaRo!

by Kokusho on Nov 26, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

He records on his drive to work, uncut, so however long it takes him to get to work is how long he talks. When he carpools, we get a guest (Matt Cavotta, so far). He talks about whatever strikes him about Magic. There're some slight echoes of content from his vast archives of Making Magic, but you do get to hear audio, stream-of-consciousness versions of those tales, and surely with a lot more new material than revisitations. MaRo of course speaks energetically and thoughtfully so you really feel like he's just talking away while you sit comfortably in the backseat. I would recommend better opening and closing taglines, but that is hardly a material issue. Basically, you get a ton of personal, insider insight to Magic, where any corner of Magic history, design, or otherwise (including MaRo's own life) is up for discussion should it strike our happy host. This podcast is an incredible listen for newcomers who want to step deeper into Magic's history and/or design world, and it's a refreshing new bonus take for veterans of Magic or Making Magic.