Average rating:

4.5
out of 697 ratings.

Interesting, Informative, and Applicable

by RGLongballs on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great conversations with authors of books on a wide variety of important topics. I've learned a great deal listening for the last year or so. Hunter has helped me to think differently, and Bryan is...very pretty.

Better without Bryan

by Transporter187 on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Bravo. Thank you for finally removing the dead weight from the title. The Hunter Maats show is better off.

Great combo

by Jlooneyluna2 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The great one two punch. Funny and very smart conversations

MMA

by scismcreek on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Bryan and Hunter are great. I always learn something from these guys. Their humor and banter is entertaining. School would have been much more interesting and engaging with people like them.

One of the best

by Nickian on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hilarious and smart. What more could you ask for?

Revelation

by AppSaint on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently discovered these guys through Joe Rogan. Hunter Maats is a unicorn. Nobody thinks the way he does. It's one of the few podcasts that you walk away from feeling smarter. With Hunter, his intelligence is more than an accumulation of data, it's the process by which he comes to conclusions that amazes me. Bryan on the other hand, has proven there's way more to him than comedy. I love how he soaks up knowledge. He's a truth-seeker. A real one. They make a great team. They are both funny and informative, making it one of my must-listen podcasts.I think they are onto something great here and I hope it expands to a television show. I can't overstate how needed these types of conversations are in this country.Cheers

Step into the dojo

by Frankieg33 on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is bar none my favorite podcast. Hunter and Bryan are some of the best synthesizers of ideas out there. I feel like I am hearing Charlie Munger working through his framework of the world in real time. You will hear very interesting ideas being tested and mashed together so you can better understand the world you live in.

The quietest podcast on iTunes

by Bauhsoj on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast, but the volume levels are crazy low. I have to full blast my phone and still have trouble hearing it with any noise going on around me.

Awesome awesome awesome show

by Redacted.Nickname on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What else can I say. Smart guys talking about real issues in an honest and entertaining way.

Love it

by JonJon9157 on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show bro! Can't stand schaub on tfatk. Here you shine man. Keep it up

This podcast rocks

by Pachacuti21 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

But only wrote this review because 666 reviews is satanic AF!

I have willfully converted to Mixed Mental Arts!

by Makis Malone on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcasts have been my life for over a year now. As much time as I've dedicated to listening to them, I don't take the time to write a review. That stops today. The latest episode of "Mixed Mental" hit me. Hunters emotional cry for science was so touching. He makes this podcast so valuable to me. The funny thing is, I was reading "Straight A Conspiracy" while listening to the earlier episodes and had no idea he was one of the authors until I decided to look them up. Bryan is awesome too. I love his open approach to topics. The deep knowledge these two have on history make this so fun. Keep this up for as long as you are able! Guest suggestions for this show: Robert Greene, David McRaney, and Reggie Watts. I honestly would love to hear Reggie Watts on here the most. Keep up this movement!

More Bryan less tutor

by KellonS on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Skip the tutor interviews a professor episodes and a tutor pontificates about nonsense shows.

So much better!!!!

by Truffles Mommy on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for letting us listen to you without that hypocritical arrogant d-bag BrAndon!!! Thank you Thank you! ....really, thank you. You're great!

More than a podcast

by Liono786 on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These days this is my go-to podcast and only podcast one needs to listen to. It's a place where I sort of come to learn about the world around me and more importantly to better understand my own thoughts that are byproduct of many moving parts. Hunter & Bryan do a brilliant job in playing off of each other while trying to teach a particular point.

(((Hugs)))

by Kia Cobain on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Bryan.

A podcast to chew on.

by Kodi Crow on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always liked Bryan on Joe's podcast. Similar to Joe's podcast, this podcast gives me something to mentally chew on throughout the day. Had no idea it actually existed until it was mentioned on the Joe's Hunter Maats episode, which was a great episode. Love it.

Great knowledge

by Thoughtful gift on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learn how to organize your thinking with these dudes

Awesome

by Colbert Anus on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A "smarter" in an idiot's dress.

Five Stars

by unkleton on Dec 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Mixed Mental Arts with Bryan and Hunter

Edutainment

by Billiamchess123467 on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The best podcast for opening your mind to new ideas. Hunter makes this show great and explain ideas in a entertaining way. Start from the beginning and binge listen, the way you look at culture will never be the same. There are two sides to every opinion, expand your mind!

A Must!!

by ElmondoRay on Nov 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply one of the most interesting, informative and inspiring podcast on so many levels

Getting Better and Better

by SusanJeffers on Nov 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

At first when I started listening to this podcast it was more of a novelty than anything else. I listen to a lot of political and historical commentary from across the political spectrum, and I'm also interested in philosophy and religion as long as it doesn't get too doctrinaire or technical. I enjoyed the banter between the hosts, and the different styles and perspectives they brought. Plus the guests were usually people I'd not heard before. Well, it just keeps getting better and better. I feel like I'm on a journey with these guys, touching bases and comparing notes, exploring a lot of issues in ways that I don't encounter elsewhere. The episode I listened to yesterday, with U of Toronto professor Jordan B. Peterson, was just AMAZING. I can hardly wait until he comes back on the show.Thanks so much, Bryan and Hunter!!

Great show!

by Great podcast!*! on Sep 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show keep them coming!!!

Knowing the unknown

by Brain Hufffyy on Aug 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Very Interesting!!!

by tonyd3z2 on Aug 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcast!!!

🤘

by Josh Roberson on Aug 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

To the baby faced Dough goat sex fiend and the esteemed Harvard book worm butt model, You guys make my day! Love the content of your shows from the beginning to this day. Brian you've changed my outlook on life and brought many a smile to my face as well as tears of laughter over the past years of this show. Much love to you both and keep up the good work.

Good content - Awkward dynamic at times

by tcranenj on Aug 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Bryan and Hunter clearly enjoy talking with each other, but there are more than a few times when they speak over each other and/or the guest. The episode with Joseph Henrich is a good example of the pros and cons of this podcast. Great topic and a great guest, but the cross talk was just too much. Also, hearing Hunter explain Henrich's arguments with Henrich on the show was awkward. If they can work out the host/co-host dynamic a bit more then the show has real potential.

The worst

by vvlf on Aug 02, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If your mind is as sharp as a marble and you're incredibly naïve then this show may be for you.

The Bryan Callen Show is back!!!!!

by cesmode on Aug 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so pumped Bryan is doing his show again! I Love his unique mixture of wit , comedy , or perspective and knowledge. Here's your motto: "The Bryan Callen Show - listen, laugh and learn!"

Pretty alright

by Censored and disappointed on Jul 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Not bad

MMA for the mind!

by You owe me. on Jul 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener here. The recent change to "MMA for the mind" format is incredible. Please keep it up. You just moved to the top of my list. Thank you Bryan and Hunter.

5 stars ...

by Bebe481 on Jul 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Just to help bump this podcast up in the ratings above the other podcast with Shaub. I bet he's salty about the rise of Callen's solo podcast

Love this show.

by Chromecast for dummies on Jul 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great subject matter and discussion.

Best podcast I have ever subscribed to!

by Nytaco on Jul 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show keeps getting better and better!! Hunter Maats is a brilliant mind, eloquently describing the nuances and thoughts of many other brilliant minds! And, Callen is an intellectual, thoughtful comic who is a funny Motherf****r! Using his platform to help develop the grey matter of ignorants like myself!

Easy on the Strawmen

by RationalMindClub on Jul 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I want to love this full-heartedly (MMA for mind) but when I hear Hunter misunderstand/strawman Harris and Dawkins in unsubstantiated exhales it makes me doubt his intellectual honesty. And make no mistake, I am an idiot, but that's my problem.

Fantastic Show!!!

by Kellbo1118 on Jul 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is quickly becoming one of my favorites!These guys are great and the shows are so interesting and diverse. Most excellent!

Hey Bryan

by EB2600 on Jun 04, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Shut up! Let the cohost and guest talk sometime. Some episodes are constant unneeded chatter that kills a podcast that could be pretty good. Been listening for about 3 months but now unsubscribed. I can't take it anymore but I will check back in a few months to see if Bryan has changed (wouldn't count on it.)

Mother of all podcasts

by vama89 on Jun 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny smarts. Enough said.

Top shelf

by ZAATARA on May 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Bryan Callen , terrific interviews - Dr. Jared Diamond !Bravo !

B B B Boring

by Mr Ryan Sir on May 04, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

enough said

I'm back.

by Tfatk1208 on Mar 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I forgot about this podcast but after buying the fighter and the kid 3D package I got the special and loved it. Reminded me about this podcast. Keep up the awesome entertainment😁

Oh Bryan!

by Juice21! on Feb 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. Bryan is a great comedian, and this podcast is a completely different side of him and I enjoy all his guest always learn something new

Scum bag

by Geezartyoutube on Jan 05, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

He's Ugly dumb etc

BRYAN "EL NINO" CALLEN

by Jay-Zuz on Jan 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE THIS FORMAT BINGE LISTENING TO THIS..GREAT WAY TO START 2016!!!

Not a bad Apple

by Kb8em on Aug 23, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

As an aspiring writer, this is one of the original Podcasts I’d go to, to listen to conversations with Authors and creative types. Bryan Callen’s objective, worldly perspective is balanced out palatably with his comedic wit. The accompanying genius of Hunter Maats who knows how to break things down into digestible, understandable bite-sized bits of knowledge akin to Neil deGrasse Tyson, is yet another great reason to listen. Don’t let this insightful gem become the red-headed stepchild of the Bryan Callen Podcast portfolio.Tony Ortiz of the Spun Today Podcast

Welcome back!

by wusker1 on Aug 23, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

So glad these two are back, I enjoyed Bryans special "Man class" and found his podcast soon aferwards. It has changed so much over that time, and has grown to an incredible funny and thoughtful podcast with Mr Hunter Maats. This podcast was the reason I found JRE! My favorite episodes of the BCS so far are Jared Diamond and all 5 of the episodes with Vanessa Tyson. The books recommended have changed my perspective on many topics, the guests are always fabulous. Only CON of this amazing podcast is....Bryan stop trying to be ON all the time, let your esteemed guests talk. If we want to listen to a podcast where everyone talks over each other we would listen to FATK. I learn as much listening to these two funny and smart yahoos as I do on any RadioLab podcast, Love the BCS!

I like this podcast

by Dante Ganzini on Aug 01, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I is a nice change on going from you other podcast “The Meatball and The Kid.”Dante Ganzini

Inspirational

by Slawdude94 on Jul 21, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Made me want to start reading and exploring new ideas. It's hard to find someone who is smart and can communicate there ideas clearly and in an entertaining way.

Happy Return

by Auggiex1 on Jul 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Welcome back. You were missed...