Average rating:

4.5
out of 709 ratings.

Difficult to follow

by TXTroop11 on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I used to really enjoy this earlier on with interesting guests in varied subjects and I'll still tune in when big mike or others come on, but Hunter has me not eager to listen anymore. I consider myself a thoughtful person and I'm interested in hearing perspectives and learning but it feels like Hunter is way overplaying the intellectual card and can't let certain things go. Constant references to Sam Harris, the elephant story and descartes error even when guests are not going in that direction.

Callen

by Dirtyal3 on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Someone tell Bryan or Ian he is speaking to the whole of intelligent pod land. Unbelievable how the speed of BS that comes out of his mouth is related to his sub par self confidence. Someone makes a legit point... he goes... if you've studied....BS ensues. Not a great gimmick.

I'M OUT!

by MrA-36 on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was full in with Bryan and Hunter, but lately it is just Hunter and I can't do it anymore (right?). Verbal tics aside, LET THE GUESTS TALK. Hunter continually falls back on one of three stories to prop up his non-points (elephants, chimps+babies, heaven is blah blah blah) . What I am hoping is that Hunter can go back, listen to his rants, reflect, and make the next step in his MMA training, that sometimes you have to shut up and let the EXPERTS speak. His elephant is out of control.

Solid

by TooHardtoPickaUsername on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was pretty rough in the early days--Callen's unchecked need to tell academics all about how he read their book, the low production values, etc. However, with Hunter Maats on board to help focus the direction and higher production quality it has really come around. Callen has a better environment to do what he does and there is great information to learn and consider but in a format that isn't boring or coming from a place of ego.

Great Books & Missing Bryan. Let the Guests TALK

by BrainGrinder on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've really enjoyed the reading suggestions, but Hunter usually has guests on so he has someone to talk AT. And for someone who purports to want to build bridges and "pull back the curtain" for all us lollipop guilders, he sure does like to talk crap about group after group. Certain writers, capitalists, scientists, objectivists, atheists, "experts," the hitlist goes on. I love the idea of MMA being about bringing together diverse intellectual disciplines, but this isn't quite that. Yet. I still have hope, but it's dwindling. The show is coming dangerously close to selling a guru path, mocking all other lines of thought, which is the opposite of the stated goal.

This show isn't great without Brian

by Mike dubs 🐱 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Brian is slowly removing himself from this podcast. They are trying to hype him up and make his absence like a way to miss him but the topics aren't interesting enough for that dynamic to work. Hunter is smart but I'm not sure if he can man the show by himself. They talk like they are teaching techniques but it's not really teaching me much that experience won't bring automatically. The audio is way too quiet, I can't turn my volume up enough to hear them. I give up.

Meh'

by Squeaker-Marie on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've listened for a long while and I applaud the movement. What I'm tired of is "Harris-gate". I mean...let it go. The amount of times I've heard Harris refer to Matts on various podcasts is, 1. However since Harris-gate it's mentioned on about every show Maats puts out. I love ya man, but let it go. To those thinking of subscribing be prepared to listen to multiple recaps from pasts shows and countless quotes from various "thinkers". I'll unsub....then resub in about 6 months. I'll give it another try then.

New title same problem

by KellonS on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Gave this another try but it's the same tutor that desperately wishes he was seen as an intellectual. I am looking forward to see the next title after the host blows up again on twitter lol. It's unfortunate iTunes doesn't reset the ratings when the title is changes since you have to go back 4 years to see a positive rating average. Riding those coat tails pretty hard at this point.

Anyone but Maats

by Maatsblowsgoats on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Hunter Maats is a mental midget, which comes through most clearly when failing to make a point while droning on and on about things he fails to understand. For a lesson on how to make illogical and ignorant assumptions, using logical fallacies in your poor arguments, or just being a douche, listen to "What Does Your Hinky Meter Tell You?" I thought it would be a great lesson on critical thinking, but instead was a display of pseudo-intellectualism and poor logic. My hinky meter tells me time and time again that Maats is a poor messenger for critical thinking and logic, and his debate skills are that of a child. Everyone else is worth a listen, but Maats is a pseudo-intellectual, a perfect example of Dunning-Kruger. For more evidence of Maats' failure to make a rational and logical argument, listen to him on Rogan where he drones on for hours failing to make a point. How I wish I had back every minute I wasted listening to his failed logic and childish insults based on, well, nothing but his poorly supported opinions. He calls himself an "intellectual terrorist making knowledge bombs to blow people's minds" while failing at logical arguments and using uncreative insults like the term "libtard," which is not how true intellectual leaders reach people or show tact and intellect. At least be more creative in your insults than the uneducated toothless rednecks of the south who routinely use that term. Nobody likes a douche, dude. If you guys truly want to teach people how to think on this podcast, use Maats as an example of what not to do and call him on his errors in logic and debate.

Keep it up!

by LvsPkr on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast with excellent conversations between Hunter and Bryan. The show is even better with guests. I appreciate the reading list as well.Fix the audio levels so that Hunter's laugh doesn't blow out my eardrums and I'll add another star! 😉

Top shelf

by ZAATARA on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Bryan Callen & Hunter Maats - terrific interviews .Bravo !

Interesting, Informative, and Applicable

by RGLongballs on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great conversations with authors of books on a wide variety of important topics. I've learned a great deal listening for the last year or so. Hunter has helped me to think differently, and Bryan is...very pretty.

Better without Bryan

by Transporter187 on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Bravo. Thank you for finally removing the dead weight from the title. The Hunter Maats show is better off.

Great combo

by Jlooneyluna2 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The great one two punch. Funny and very smart conversations

MMA

by scismcreek on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Bryan and Hunter are great. I always learn something from these guys. Their humor and banter is entertaining. School would have been much more interesting and engaging with people like them.

One of the best

by Nickian on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hilarious and smart. What more could you ask for?

Revelation

by AppSaint on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently discovered these guys through Joe Rogan. Hunter Maats is a unicorn. Nobody thinks the way he does. It's one of the few podcasts that you walk away from feeling smarter. With Hunter, his intelligence is more than an accumulation of data, it's the process by which he comes to conclusions that amazes me. Bryan on the other hand, has proven there's way more to him than comedy. I love how he soaks up knowledge. He's a truth-seeker. A real one. They make a great team. They are both funny and informative, making it one of my must-listen podcasts.I think they are onto something great here and I hope it expands to a television show. I can't overstate how needed these types of conversations are in this country.Cheers

Step into the dojo

by Frankieg33 on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is bar none my favorite podcast. Hunter and Bryan are some of the best synthesizers of ideas out there. I feel like I am hearing Charlie Munger working through his framework of the world in real time. You will hear very interesting ideas being tested and mashed together so you can better understand the world you live in.

The quietest podcast on iTunes

by Bauhsoj on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast, but the volume levels are crazy low. I have to full blast my phone and still have trouble hearing it with any noise going on around me.

Love it

by JonJon9157 on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show bro! Can't stand schaub on tfatk. Here you shine man. Keep it up

This podcast rocks

by Pachacuti21 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

But only wrote this review because 666 reviews is satanic AF!

I have willfully converted to Mixed Mental Arts!

by Makis Malone on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcasts have been my life for over a year now. As much time as I've dedicated to listening to them, I don't take the time to write a review. That stops today. The latest episode of "Mixed Mental" hit me. Hunters emotional cry for science was so touching. He makes this podcast so valuable to me. The funny thing is, I was reading "Straight A Conspiracy" while listening to the earlier episodes and had no idea he was one of the authors until I decided to look them up. Bryan is awesome too. I love his open approach to topics. The deep knowledge these two have on history make this so fun. Keep this up for as long as you are able! Guest suggestions for this show: Robert Greene, David McRaney, and Reggie Watts. I honestly would love to hear Reggie Watts on here the most. Keep up this movement!

So much better!!!!

by Truffles Mommy on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for letting us listen to you without that hypocritical arrogant d-bag BrAndon!!! Thank you Thank you! ....really, thank you. You're great!

More than a podcast

by Liono786 on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These days this is my go-to podcast and only podcast one needs to listen to. It's a place where I sort of come to learn about the world around me and more importantly to better understand my own thoughts that are byproduct of many moving parts. Hunter & Bryan do a brilliant job in playing off of each other while trying to teach a particular point.

(((Hugs)))

by Kia Cobain on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Bryan.

A podcast to chew on.

by Kodi Crow on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always liked Bryan on Joe's podcast. Similar to Joe's podcast, this podcast gives me something to mentally chew on throughout the day. Had no idea it actually existed until it was mentioned on the Joe's Hunter Maats episode, which was a great episode. Love it.

Great knowledge

by Thoughtful gift on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learn how to organize your thinking with these dudes

Awesome

by Colbert Anus on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A "smarter" in an idiot's dress.

Five Stars

by unkleton on Dec 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Mixed Mental Arts with Bryan and Hunter

Edutainment

by Billiamchess123467 on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The best podcast for opening your mind to new ideas. Hunter makes this show great and explain ideas in a entertaining way. Start from the beginning and binge listen, the way you look at culture will never be the same. There are two sides to every opinion, expand your mind!

A Must!!

by ElmondoRay on Nov 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply one of the most interesting, informative and inspiring podcast on so many levels

Getting Better and Better

by SusanJeffers on Nov 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

At first when I started listening to this podcast it was more of a novelty than anything else. I listen to a lot of political and historical commentary from across the political spectrum, and I'm also interested in philosophy and religion as long as it doesn't get too doctrinaire or technical. I enjoyed the banter between the hosts, and the different styles and perspectives they brought. Plus the guests were usually people I'd not heard before. Well, it just keeps getting better and better. I feel like I'm on a journey with these guys, touching bases and comparing notes, exploring a lot of issues in ways that I don't encounter elsewhere. The episode I listened to yesterday, with U of Toronto professor Jordan B. Peterson, was just AMAZING. I can hardly wait until he comes back on the show.Thanks so much, Bryan and Hunter!!

Great show!

by Great podcast!*! on Sep 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show keep them coming!!!

Knowing the unknown

by Brain Hufffyy on Aug 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Very Interesting!!!

by tonyd3z2 on Aug 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcast!!!

🤘

by Josh Roberson on Aug 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

To the baby faced Dough goat sex fiend and the esteemed Harvard book worm butt model, You guys make my day! Love the content of your shows from the beginning to this day. Brian you've changed my outlook on life and brought many a smile to my face as well as tears of laughter over the past years of this show. Much love to you both and keep up the good work.

Good content - Awkward dynamic at times

by tcranenj on Aug 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Bryan and Hunter clearly enjoy talking with each other, but there are more than a few times when they speak over each other and/or the guest. The episode with Joseph Henrich is a good example of the pros and cons of this podcast. Great topic and a great guest, but the cross talk was just too much. Also, hearing Hunter explain Henrich's arguments with Henrich on the show was awkward. If they can work out the host/co-host dynamic a bit more then the show has real potential.

The worst

by vvlf on Aug 02, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If your mind is as sharp as a marble and you're incredibly naïve then this show may be for you.

The Bryan Callen Show is back!!!!!

by cesmode on Aug 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so pumped Bryan is doing his show again! I Love his unique mixture of wit , comedy , or perspective and knowledge. Here's your motto: "The Bryan Callen Show - listen, laugh and learn!"

Pretty alright

by Censored and disappointed on Jul 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Not bad

MMA for the mind!

by You owe me. on Jul 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener here. The recent change to "MMA for the mind" format is incredible. Please keep it up. You just moved to the top of my list. Thank you Bryan and Hunter.

5 stars ...

by Bebe481 on Jul 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Just to help bump this podcast up in the ratings above the other podcast with Shaub. I bet he's salty about the rise of Callen's solo podcast

Love this show.

by Chromecast for dummies on Jul 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great subject matter and discussion.

Best podcast I have ever subscribed to!

by Nytaco on Jul 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show keeps getting better and better!! Hunter Maats is a brilliant mind, eloquently describing the nuances and thoughts of many other brilliant minds! And, Callen is an intellectual, thoughtful comic who is a funny Motherf****r! Using his platform to help develop the grey matter of ignorants like myself!

Easy on the Strawmen

by RationalMindClub on Jul 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I want to love this full-heartedly (MMA for mind) but when I hear Hunter misunderstand/strawman Harris and Dawkins in unsubstantiated exhales it makes me doubt his intellectual honesty. And make no mistake, I am an idiot, but that's my problem.

Fantastic Show!!!

by Kellbo1118 on Jul 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is quickly becoming one of my favorites!These guys are great and the shows are so interesting and diverse. Most excellent!

Hey Bryan

by EB2600 on Jun 04, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Shut up! Let the cohost and guest talk sometime. Some episodes are constant unneeded chatter that kills a podcast that could be pretty good. Been listening for about 3 months but now unsubscribed. I can't take it anymore but I will check back in a few months to see if Bryan has changed (wouldn't count on it.)

Mother of all podcasts

by vama89 on Jun 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny smarts. Enough said.

B B B Boring

by Mr Ryan Sir on May 04, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

enough said

I'm back.

by Tfatk1208 on Mar 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I forgot about this podcast but after buying the fighter and the kid 3D package I got the special and loved it. Reminded me about this podcast. Keep up the awesome entertainment😁