Average rating:

5
out of 692 ratings.

Bad Arguments Abound

by Teem Dodger on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ken describes a man who wants to cleanse his homeworld of all non-Bajoran races as a “true patriot.”Most of the arguments on this podcast follow a similar vein, where John comes up with a take on an episode and Ken bloviates until a John is like, “Yeah, OK. I give up,” making terrible arguments along the way just for the sake of arguing.

Great!

by Matt the M. on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to every single episode since they started about 5 years ago. Fun discussion about Star Trek and I love the occasional humor and retro pop culture references.

The deep dive you have been waiting for

by Tnc65813 on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have become a huge fan of this show and listen as often as possible. I’m often surprised by the messages that the hosts can divine from even the most inane seeming episodes (Spock’s Brain). Ken Ray and John Champion have truly become my Star Trek pals!

🖖🏾

by B-No Good on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for analyzing Star Trek in ways we all think about while opening up new discussions. I appreciate they way you gentleman are critical of everything from the shortcomings of the production to the unforgettable life lessons that Trek brings. The computer on your podcast is the real star, though! Now, time for me to go back and watch every episode from the beginning AGAIN!

Better Options

by Postcard from Risa on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've been listening to Mission Log since the beginning, and it remains one of my favorite podcasts. They do a lot of things right: the audio engineering, guest interviews, and rapport are top-notch. But neither of the hosts is an expert in any of the "morals and messages" topics, and this often leaves me feeling let down by the depth of their conversations. While I think Mission Log is worth listening to, there are podcasts out there that tackle the same questions but that are hosted by real scholars, such as Meta Treks and Lower Decks. Go ahead and add Mission Log to your rotation, but check out these other shows, too.

At the top of my can't-do-without podcasts list

by 410158 on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Found Mission Log in the summer of 2016 and listened non-stop as I drove back and forth across MS, AR, TN, AL, GA. When I finally caught up, I was depressed that I had to wait a week for the next episode. Always wryly humorous, intelligent, challenging, and thought-provoking. And excellent.

What Star Trek really is about

by Brain the size of a planet on Jul 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just don't have enough words of praise to do this podcast justice. Anyone who likes Star Trek or is just getting to know the universe should listen to Ken and John analyze the series episode by episode. They really get to the core of it! Thank you so much for this fantastic podcast!

A must listen for any Star Trek fan

by crgeorge1960 on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast reviews each episode of a Star Trek beginning with the first episode of The Original Series and continuing on until the last show or movie. This is a daunting multi-year commitment. Luckily for all of us, the podcasters, Ken Ray and John Champion, are not only intelligent and witty but they also have a great sense of humor. I have enjoyed every single show. I encourage every Star Trek fan to listen to subscribe to this podcast.

Good discussion and fun puns

by Kenmayer on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! John and Ken go deep into each episode with discussion ranging into philosophy, psychology, and the egalitarian society in Star Trek. They also keep the podcast light and entertaining with terrible puns and lots of other sci-fi references.

Thoughtful, thorough and worth your time

by BadgerMike on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ken and John do a wonderful job reviewing, analyzing and discussing the ins and outs of EVERY episode of Star Trek. They have found some amazing gems buried in even the toughest episodes to love. It is worth your time as a fan to give this podcast a try!

This Podcast is #1

by sezduck on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite Star Trek podcast. This is also my favorite podcast. I look forward to each weeks episode with nearly the same level of anticipation that I looked forward to a new episode of Trek during its prime in the 90s. Hearing Ken & John recap every episode, poke a little fun at it, then give it an extremely thought provoking analysis is like seeing the episodes again for the first time. John & Ken are *both* Champions as far as I’m concerned.

Non E

by imawilks on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

***Appreciate the insight from both perspectives***I personally have no one to Trek-out with so this is a smashingly great companion piece!***

Ken is... hard to listen to

by SomaCoder on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I find myself regularly having to turn off the podcast halfway through discussion, or only listen to the non-discussion parts of the episodes, simply because Ken is very cringy and off-putting with how he conveys a differing viewpoint to John, if not outright rude. I’ve never heard somebody clamor so clumsily, awkwardly, and passive aggressively through expressing a differing viewpoint time, after time, after time. It’s just painful to listen to. Regularly John will present a well thought out and interesting anecdote relating to the topic that he obviously worked hard on, and Ken will respond by giving him the passive aggressive silent treatment to protest his disagreement then aggressively attack him for presenting said thought prior to rebuking it. It’s like the writers for Discovery wrote Ken’s personality for how to in-fight with a crew mate.

nostalgia plus interesting discussion

by producer_bane on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

If you have a great love of Star Trek, this show is a great way to re-examine it. I wish they didn't read long parts of the IMDB pages for guest stars on almost every episode. With respect to those actors, I don't care if they were also in two episodes of Cheers

Favorite Trek Podcast

by JroShizza on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite Podcast by far, I have been listening since the beginning. The show stays strong, and has gotten better with the introduction of each new show.

Prodigous!

by mtisham on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't believe how dedicated the hosts are - week after week another episode of Trek. On and on and not slowing down. Each episode is a delight to listen to - i'm experiencing Trek all over again!

The best

by tran5mogrifier on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down best Star Trek podcast and I've tried a LOT of them. Now that we're in DS9 I hope the guys will make more connections to real world occupations, terrorism, forced labor, slavery, child militias, and truth and reconciliation. I know that stuff is a bummer, but DS9 is super political. Don't sky away from that.

Making Star Trek proud

by DMLocke on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most wonderful homage to Star Trek. John and Ken are wonderful hosts guiding us on this crazy tour of everything that Star Trek is trying to teach us. Through the years listening to this podcast, I have come to better appreciate some of the “least successful” episodes in Star Trek history, finding that there was a wonderfully profound message hidden within a not so neatly wrapped package.Please continue to enlighten us with your insights. This is like talking about your favorite show with an old friend. Live long and prosper!

Best trek show

by fluxxus on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great deep dive of each Star Trek episode. Behind the scenes tidbits and some poking fun. No whining and fanboy nitpicking like some other shows.

Cry Baby

by redgiancola on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rare is the podcast that makes me cry. But the episode Emissary did. What insight! I love DS9, but these guys brought me to tears with fresh eyes. Thank you.

One of the best Star Trek podcasts

by Smiles-Limon on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A wonderful mix of humor, humanity, and insight into the world.

Best Trek podcast

by Herr Taco on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening and watching along from day one. These guys are smart, funny, and insightful. The format is well defined, and the show is put together well. More Rod!

The best Star Trek podcast out there

by Edropkilla on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John and Ken offer an insightful and balanced look into this beloved and much explored franchise. I love the way they call it like they see it and really try to tease out some of the deeper messages, morals and meanings. Thanks gents for engaging in such a valuable exploration of the final frontier!

About all you can say is, it's a star trek podcast.

by CrassMallarky on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This show provides some interesting history and TNG background info and many truly thoughtful comments, mixed with awful fake laughter and an average of fifteen minutes reading directly from an amateur film treatment. If you love Trek, it's worth a listen. The hosts seem like kind and interesting people working hard to make a good show. But, a little spontaneity - or even a little less forced laughter - would go a long way toward making it truly enjoyable.

Taking Me Through Trek

by BrandonJO on Dec 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even though I grew up during the Next Gen era, the original series was always my Trek. Started listening during the TOS reviews and decided to venture out into all the other Trek series along with Ken and John and the computer! Thanks and keep up the good work.

Required listening for Trek fans

by Mmrogan on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mission Log is the most insightful and entertaining podcast out there. Keep up the great work guys!

Usually good

by Crash RipRock on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve been listening since they started back in 2013. John Champion is Great. I’m a little concerned that the other host, Ken is starting to think the show is about him, rather than Star Trek. The supplemental they do at conventions are a complete waste of time.

Professional Star Trek Episode Discussion

by DeathwatchDoc on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My father and grandfather introduced me to Star Trek with The Next Generation and Deep Space Nine, but I was never pulled into other Star Trek with the same degree of interest. Listening to this podcast since its inception has given me a great appreciation for Star Trek as a whole, for messages and meanings it communicates, and for the diverse group of fans it attracts. Ken Ray and John Champion are amazing hosts and this show is the absolute best episode review show available. I appreciate the formula they use in each podcast so that each episode of Star Trek receives the same analysis and respect. I wish you a long and successful run with the remainder of Star Trek and the numerous other podcasts you have in your queue.

Great for in-depth Trekkies!

by Ion_theory on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Mission Log is by far my favorite Star Trek podcast, and one of my favorite podcasts in general. John and Ken do a weekly dive into episodes of Star Trek, starting from The Original Series and continuing through each series in order of when the shows were broadcast. They alternate between each other taking turns during the first 5 minutes or so giving a synopsis of the episode. After we get an in depth analysis of what the episode is trying to say and a look at the characters motives and actions in a conversation format. It works perfectly and makes you wish you could jump into the room and join the conversation. Highly recommended for my fellow Trekkies. I would also suggest watching the episode before listening. Though the recap given at the beginning is thorough enough for those who have previously seen the ep and are familiar with the characters, I found it more helpful and entertaining to watch the episode first. Enjoy!!!

Well produced.

by Kingbobson on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

A couple of fellas talking about Star Trek firmly upon their high horses. Not quite enough whimsey for my liking. I think they are little too close to those involved in making Trek.

Must listen for true trekkies!

by Mar-y on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of great behind the scenes info plus interesting conversation on the social commentary. Really interesting.

Excellent Star Trek podcast

by Spydersweb80 on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easily the best Star Trek podcast out there. Ken and John give an insightful and witty commentary to each and every episode of each Star Trek series. They make you think, they make you laugh, and they give you food for thought each week. I have listened since the very first episode, 5 or 6 years ago, and I look forward to each and every episode. Give them a listen, you won’t regret it!

The Best Podcast

by Star Trek Fan 081972 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I wish other podcast would listen to this one on how to discuss episodes of a TV series and movies. They keep in mind that it has been sometime since we all have seen the show and give us a brief rundown on what happened on the episode before talking about it.

The Absolute Best Podcast

by Federation Council on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Star Trek or otherwise, this is it.Mission Log took me on a fantastic journey through TOS and now TNG. I recommend watching the episode of the series prior to listening to the podcast as it really seems to help bring the points that John and Ken are discussing better into focus.Thanks for your hard work, men.

Enjoyable, if a bit long-winded

by 100 Watt Walrus on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy this show, although it's not my *favorite* "Trek"-reviewing podcast (geek? who? me?). For my tastes it's a little long-winded in places. I skip the (often 10-minute-long) weekly trivia sequence. I really don't care to hear someone essentially read an obscure actor's IMDb page to me.

Love it

by princetim85 on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You guys are great!!

Great way to relive my favorite franchise

by Ken_ferstle on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been enjoying reengaging with my favorite franchise thru the serious lense Ken and Jon provide

Good show

by Hoosier Listener on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The hosts are very funny and I enjoy listening to their banter. They can get a little preachy when it comes to the messages & meanings

Fun and thought-provoking.

by Gogmgog on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The recaps are great whether you've seen the episode or not; the discussion is a mix of light geekery and deep philosophy; and the podcast also sounds great.

Thought provoking analysis

by Stardrifter001 on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very informative, well thought out discussions about Trek. Can't wait until DS9. All the ads are getting frustrating though. I know you gotta pay bills, but now interrupting in the middle too?

Fantastic Podcast

by MrMartin7 on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been along for the ride since the start of TNG and look forward to the next episode every week! Keep up the great work!

Solid Star Trek Podcast

by LMP34 on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've been listening since the beginning, so obviously I like this podcast. I look forward to it every week and appreciate the professionalism, consistency, and mix of good-natured humor with serious discussion. They're still going strong with no signs of fading five years into the project. Just some minor points that I think would make this show a five-star podcast: I wish they'd spend less time on the epsisode recaps; if you're lisitening to a show like this, you've most likely already seen the episode. Some more substantial trivia or history of the making of the episodes beyond reading the guest actors' IMDB pages would be interesting, like what new information can we glean from the "Roddenberry archives" they have access to? Sometimes the "messages, morals, and meanings" portion of the show seems forced. And I've felt since the beginning that the show would benefit from some different points of view from time to time, especially from some women or even those of a different age or background with the franchise. All in all, Mission Log an ambitious undertaking that is well-executed and a great companion to any newcomer's first watch of Trek or for reigniting a longtime fan's passion for the show. I've been re-watching the series along with the show and look forward to watching along for years to come.

Top of the charts!

by Bowen25 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are looking for Star Trek look no farther Trek FM has it all. And Earl Grey is the best place to go for all your Next Generation needs!The hosts of this show fit perfectly together! They give us stories that we can really relate to and laugh along with!

Insightful, not just stupid trivia

by B. T. Newberg on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys joke around while commenting on the deep themes, treating Trek like literature. This alone puts them way ahead of most tv show podcasts wallowing in pointless trivia. While they do include trivia (and I wish they'd put it at the end than at the beginning), it is not the focus. Rather, things like morals and messages, and whether an episode stands the test of time, take center stage. I can honestly say it's made me appreciate some aspects of Star Trek more.

A Superb Trek Podcast!

by Nick MIchalak on Dec 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to Mission Log, both old and new episodes, for many, many months now, and I love what John and Ken bring to the legacy of Star Trek. They bring fresh perspectives to classic episodes and films, and do it with a fun attitude and appreciation for what Trek has been for all these decades. With John and Ken, you get discussions that don't tread worn out ground, which is an easy trap to fall into considering the size of the fandom of a 50 year old franchise. Instead, it's always a fresh experience hearing their analysis of everything. The show has a professional polish while still being fun and humorous.I've tried a few other Star Trek podcasts, and none of them have a the fine mix of entertainment, analysis, knowledge, and honest fandom as Mission Log. Being produced by Rod Roddenberry, son of Gene, this comes off as a very true and passionate piece of work that shines nicely. Whenever an episode comes to an end, I'm just a little sad because the discussions are very engaging like hanging out with a couple of Trek fans at a convention. Being a Trek fan since the early 1990s, I have to say that this gives me so much to refresh my appreciation for so much of it. Thumbs up!

Thank You for this podcast

by Anil from Thailand on Nov 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been watching Star Trek since I was a little kid, but have never watched it in order. Recently Netflix had open their service in Thailand so I have decided to rewatch everything in order, starting from TOS. While I still enjoy it for what it is, but your podcast really enhanced the experirence I might have missed a lot of refferenced, especially history around the time each episodes were made.Sorry for my poor english, and Thank you for all your works. Looking forward to much much more!.

Surprisingly increased my love of Star Trek!

by SuperMovieFan1 on Nov 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Wonderful hosts and I thoroughly enjoy the format. I was late jumping on the podcast bandwagon but Mission Log has been a great introduction. Love the show recaps and the morals, messages & meanings discussions. Was a huge TOS, TNG& DS9 fan to begin with. Going episode by episode has not only introduced me to parts of Star Trek I wasn't aware of but also reinforced how much I enjoyed TNG originally. Highly recommend for anyone that enjoys Star Trek. Looking forward to listening to Ken and John for years to come.

Incredible craftsmenship

by Patrick Joynt on Nov 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing information, amazing production value. a great show. Enjoy this and The Greatest Generation as counterpoints.

A masterclass on the Alpha and Omega of Star Trek.

by Imiyashiro on Nov 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast for Star Trek to rule them all. The knowledge, attention to detail, and perspectives brought by the hosts are masterful! I have loved Star Trek since growing up with TNG and since watching almost every episode (still working through TAS). This program has continued to make my most favorite of franchises that much better, and encouraging me to watch and listen along again through the thick ("Shades of Grey") and thin ("Balance of Terror"). Thank you to Mr. Roddenberry, Ray, and Champion. Keep up the great work, and I look forward to Moonlighting!

A Star Trek fans dream

by Mr. Stephen Pike on Oct 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A thoroughly excellent podcast with two hosts who are committed to sharing their love of ST with the World.They have undertaken a Herculean task: Reviewing EVERY SINGLE EPISODE of Star Trek (including the movies AND The Animated Series).That is WELL over 700 hours of content and they will be at this awhile yet. If you are a Star Trek fan then this podcast is a Must-Listen.I plan on sticking with them through it all (particularly looking forward o their take on Deep Space Nine). They have earned the loyalty of this listener and I'm sure, if you give them a listen, they will earn yours as well.Live Long and Prosper!