Average rating:

0
out of 0 ratings.

Bad Arguments Abound

by Teem Dodger on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ken describes a man who wants to cleanse his homeworld of all non-Bajoran races as a “true patriot.”Most of the arguments on this podcast follow a similar vein, where John comes up with a take on an episode and Ken bloviates until a John is like, “Yeah, OK. I give up,” making terrible arguments along the way just for the sake of arguing.

Great!

by Matt the M. on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to every single episode since they started about 5 years ago. Fun discussion about Star Trek and I love the occasional humor and retro pop culture references.

The deep dive you have been waiting for

by Tnc65813 on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have become a huge fan of this show and listen as often as possible. I’m often surprised by the messages that the hosts can divine from even the most inane seeming episodes (Spock’s Brain). Ken Ray and John Champion have truly become my Star Trek pals!

🖖🏾

by B-No Good on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for analyzing Star Trek in ways we all think about while opening up new discussions. I appreciate they way you gentleman are critical of everything from the shortcomings of the production to the unforgettable life lessons that Trek brings. The computer on your podcast is the real star, though! Now, time for me to go back and watch every episode from the beginning AGAIN!

Better Options

by Postcard from Risa on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've been listening to Mission Log since the beginning, and it remains one of my favorite podcasts. They do a lot of things right: the audio engineering, guest interviews, and rapport are top-notch. But neither of the hosts is an expert in any of the "morals and messages" topics, and this often leaves me feeling let down by the depth of their conversations. While I think Mission Log is worth listening to, there are podcasts out there that tackle the same questions but that are hosted by real scholars, such as Meta Treks and Lower Decks. Go ahead and add Mission Log to your rotation, but check out these other shows, too.

At the top of my can't-do-without podcasts list

by 410158 on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Found Mission Log in the summer of 2016 and listened non-stop as I drove back and forth across MS, AR, TN, AL, GA. When I finally caught up, I was depressed that I had to wait a week for the next episode. Always wryly humorous, intelligent, challenging, and thought-provoking. And excellent.

What Star Trek really is about

by Brain the size of a planet on Jul 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just don't have enough words of praise to do this podcast justice. Anyone who likes Star Trek or is just getting to know the universe should listen to Ken and John analyze the series episode by episode. They really get to the core of it! Thank you so much for this fantastic podcast!

A must listen for any Star Trek fan

by crgeorge1960 on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast reviews each episode of a Star Trek beginning with the first episode of The Original Series and continuing on until the last show or movie. This is a daunting multi-year commitment. Luckily for all of us, the podcasters, Ken Ray and John Champion, are not only intelligent and witty but they also have a great sense of humor. I have enjoyed every single show. I encourage every Star Trek fan to listen to subscribe to this podcast.

Good discussion and fun puns

by Kenmayer on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! John and Ken go deep into each episode with discussion ranging into philosophy, psychology, and the egalitarian society in Star Trek. They also keep the podcast light and entertaining with terrible puns and lots of other sci-fi references.

Thoughtful, thorough and worth your time

by BadgerMike on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ken and John do a wonderful job reviewing, analyzing and discussing the ins and outs of EVERY episode of Star Trek. They have found some amazing gems buried in even the toughest episodes to love. It is worth your time as a fan to give this podcast a try!

This Podcast is #1

by sezduck on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite Star Trek podcast. This is also my favorite podcast. I look forward to each weeks episode with nearly the same level of anticipation that I looked forward to a new episode of Trek during its prime in the 90s. Hearing Ken & John recap every episode, poke a little fun at it, then give it an extremely thought provoking analysis is like seeing the episodes again for the first time. John & Ken are *both* Champions as far as I’m concerned.

Non E

by imawilks on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

***Appreciate the insight from both perspectives***I personally have no one to Trek-out with so this is a smashingly great companion piece!***

Ken is... hard to listen to

by SomaCoder on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I find myself regularly having to turn off the podcast halfway through discussion, or only listen to the non-discussion parts of the episodes, simply because Ken is very cringy and off-putting with how he conveys a differing viewpoint to John, if not outright rude. I’ve never heard somebody clamor so clumsily, awkwardly, and passive aggressively through expressing a differing viewpoint time, after time, after time. It’s just painful to listen to. Regularly John will present a well thought out and interesting anecdote relating to the topic that he obviously worked hard on, and Ken will respond by giving him the passive aggressive silent treatment to protest his disagreement then aggressively attack him for presenting said thought prior to rebuking it. It’s like the writers for Discovery wrote Ken’s personality for how to in-fight with a crew mate.

nostalgia plus interesting discussion

by producer_bane on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

If you have a great love of Star Trek, this show is a great way to re-examine it. I wish they didn't read long parts of the IMDB pages for guest stars on almost every episode. With respect to those actors, I don't care if they were also in two episodes of Cheers

Favorite Trek Podcast

by JroShizza on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite Podcast by far, I have been listening since the beginning. The show stays strong, and has gotten better with the introduction of each new show.

Prodigous!

by mtisham on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't believe how dedicated the hosts are - week after week another episode of Trek. On and on and not slowing down. Each episode is a delight to listen to - i'm experiencing Trek all over again!

The best

by tran5mogrifier on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down best Star Trek podcast and I've tried a LOT of them. Now that we're in DS9 I hope the guys will make more connections to real world occupations, terrorism, forced labor, slavery, child militias, and truth and reconciliation. I know that stuff is a bummer, but DS9 is super political. Don't sky away from that.

Making Star Trek proud

by DMLocke on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most wonderful homage to Star Trek. John and Ken are wonderful hosts guiding us on this crazy tour of everything that Star Trek is trying to teach us. Through the years listening to this podcast, I have come to better appreciate some of the “least successful” episodes in Star Trek history, finding that there was a wonderfully profound message hidden within a not so neatly wrapped package.Please continue to enlighten us with your insights. This is like talking about your favorite show with an old friend. Live long and prosper!

Best trek show

by fluxxus on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great deep dive of each Star Trek episode. Behind the scenes tidbits and some poking fun. No whining and fanboy nitpicking like some other shows.

Cry Baby

by redgiancola on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rare is the podcast that makes me cry. But the episode Emissary did. What insight! I love DS9, but these guys brought me to tears with fresh eyes. Thank you.