Average rating:

5
out of 8397 ratings.

Perfect

by The Rock Crawler on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have thoroughly enjoyed this podcast since day one. Every time I see the notification for a new episode, I can’t help but grin from ear to ear. Keep up the excellent work!

Rather perfect

by Isywysy on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even my 15yo daughter is a huge fan. All hail the mighty glow cloud!!

A Completely Normal Town

by Amateur Author V on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In this town, you enjoy the smooth and deep voice of Cecil Palmer. Let his words cling to your brain. If you see the Glow Cloud (A L L H A I L) be sure to have a good umbrella when the animals start raining down. Do not go in the Dog Park. The Dog Park does not allow for dog owners nor dogs inside. Ignore the hooded figures. They won’t harm you. I do recommend that you go to Big Rico’s Pizza. No one does a slice like Big Rico’s. No one.

Perfect creepy stories

by Asuranaga on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's like listening to a modern version of Lovecraft and I love it. So smart and it has that perfect level of creepy but relatable--it's like the Freudian uncanny in a podcast.

My obsession

by ZoeLeeBell on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Oh god I freaking love this podcast. After I’m done listening to all the episodes, I start over. I’m this obsessed with it.

It's alright

by Jay Lundeen on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I don't believe all the hype.

Disappointing

by Funky Ratchet on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had high hopes for this podcast after hearing the premise and I really wanted to like it. Humor-meets-Lovecraft lands very squarely in my wheelhouse and I sampled a number of episodes across the breadth of Nightvale's history. The episodes have consistently great production quality but I found them to be otherwise very disappointing: An overwrought mish-mash of mysterious ideas and imagery reported with a smug, knowing tone. Based on the glowing reviews and related novels and live shows, it looks as if Nightvale scratches a distinct itch for a great number of fans; however I'm genuinely disappointed to say I'm not one of them.

Awesome!

by dayhawk23 on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is hilarious and so well written. Cecil is a great narrator!

Too good for this world

by fearach on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Let the dulcet tones of Cecil's voice take you to this other place. It's what the glow cloud would want…

I don't know what I did before I found this show

by mr6424 on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really don't. I can't remember anything. Time is weird in Night Vale. Ah well, I'm having fun while I'm here! All hail the Glow Cloud!

Fantastic

by Dylan Fair on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this show for three years, and I can hardly put into words how much it means to me. The story is consistently interesting without the impression that the writers are trying too hard to keep it going, and the characters are unique and interesting. Underlying all the different stories are important themes and moments of surprising power. Highly recommended- out of the dozens of podcasts I've listened to over the years, this has always stuck out as the brightest and the best.

Perfectly Strange

by ironpanther616 on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

About a month ago, a friend recommended listening to podcasts at work because staring at a computer screen for 8 hours a day will drive you nuts. I had never listened to podcasts before, but i remembered the welcome to night vale uproar that had been on tumblr a few years ago so i decided to give it a shot, having no idea what to expect. After listening on average 4 to 5 hours a day, i am finally caught up on all the episodes and after binge listening for weeks im dreading waiting for updates twice a month. Night vale stole my heart, and i'm so attached to cecil sometimes i wanna steal him from carlos, except i love carlos too so i can't do that. Night vale has sooo many lovable characters, and somehow i relate to them even tho they're weird. I love the diversity shown across genders, sexuality, religions, and of course race. Night vale feels like my home now. Thank u so much for this wonderful podcast, and thank u for being such a great podcast-virginity-stealer because now i've started exploring other podcasts too. 5 stars!

ALL HAIL

by BethILO on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

That is all.

All hail

by Clint H. on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

WTNV is hilarious, touching, innocently cynical and SO well written. This podcast saved my commute during a period when I realized I could not listen to the news and still be functional at work.

LOVE IT

by Chick*•butt on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy both the absurdity and the dark humor.

amazing

by wolf8877 on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

the podcast that got me into podcasts. wonderfully creepy, astonishingly well-written, and surprisingly funny and heartfelt at times. can't wait for It Devours -- i'm doing my best to hit one of the stops on the book tour!

I love night vale and nobody understands why

by iwanylaurapreponinsideme on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything about this podcast is amazing

THE BEST PODCAST!!!!

by Ellie. Gregg on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to wtnv for about four years and it has never delivered a bad episode. It's an amazing mix of creepy and hilarious and is the most creative podcast I've ever seen. Plsssss listen!!!!!!!!!!!

The great masterpiece

by Inside out Oreo / atla on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing! I wasn't brainwashed by this! Amazing!

Unique addition to your podcast feed

by KRPodcast Lover on Sep 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is extremely thoughtful and often very surprising. Each episode contains a little gem of wisdom that I can translate to my own life. Welcome to Night Vale made me fall in love with podcasts.

A great podcast with great stories, characters, and comedy

by Shannen777 on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Im a long time listener and I have always loved listening. I got my book signed by a friend and the guys were nice enough to write down Happy Birthday because I was sick. Keep up the great moves.( Also I loved the live show ghost stories)

Mysteriously normal

by prancingdeer on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Is it unusualIs it oddBut yet normal to seeAs the glow cloud forms over headAnd the dragon runs our town

The Podcast You've Been Looking For

by Frankie Mankie on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like the weird, the surreal, the creepy, but also the loving and heartfelt, this is the podcast for you.

The best!

by Magalia on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Welcome to Night Vale is one of my all time favorite podcasts. It's actually my most favorite topic to talk about as well. I never felt so passionate about some as much as this.

Night Vale

by yourmotherwasahampster on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A wonderful podcast which has led me to more wonderful podcasts (and music!)! So happy to have this in my life and to listen to these wonderful people play around with the things we take for granted. 10 out of 10 would recommend!

ALL HAIL THE GLOW CLOUD

by 🖤Draco Malfoy💚 on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this soooooooooo much it is totally weird and wonderful.💯💯💯💯💯

Stay calm...

by warlordbob on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is creepily awesome! Stay away, unless you want to spend hours enjoying one of the best podcasts in this dimension.

Bedtime Story

by mychemicalangel9 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't think of a better bedtime story than Cecil telling me what's been going on in Night Vale. When I got tired of re-listening, I was thrilled to find Alice isn't Dead and Within the Wires, and now two new podcasts Joseph and Jeremy are sponsoring: Conversations with People who Hate Me, and The Orbiting Human Circus of the Air. All the podcasts, original or sponsored, are amazingly good.And I love these guys so much for how they use the money from their live shows, or money sticking out from under the fence in the Dog Park, and yes, carefully culled corporate sponsors who allow some fun in their commercials. They use all that money to travel across the globe and bring people live shows, sponsor new podcasts, help out newbies like themselves five years ago with two guys in a garage. I'm proud to be a member.I thought capitalism was hopeless, but these guys manage to create incredibly great podcasts and books and audiobooks, and sponsor others of their ilk. That last is what I love most about their ideology; recycling their success to help other nascent podcasts.And they are LGBTother letters I should know friendly.And they have an ocean in the desert.

Great

by Octope on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for years. It has been consistently good and mysterious like the hooded figures in the dog park

Have dropped it since listening

by small hobbit on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to listen to Welcome to Nightvale, but have since stopped. It's not because it's terrible, but I di have some gripes that make it hard to listen to.The podcast seems a bit random. This has never changed. This can work in its favor, though often since it has been trying to add in more plot it still feels a bit off in parts due to this. I've looked through the script book they released and apparently this was just how it got written. On saying that, after while it just started sounding really formulaic till it added a whole bunch of plot (I haven't been listening in awhile, so please forgive me if I'm not completely up to date) Which even though the framework was there for the plot, it still feels like a lot of it was thrown at the wall to see what would stick rather than have some story that actually works with the plot. Also (and I know Cranor and Fink don't have any control over this, it's just another small thing that got me to stop listening) there's a portion of the fanbase, as seems to happen a lot with large fanbases these days, that is extremely toxic. Still, there are good points, too. The characters have been developed extremely well, and the stories that they do use fit the strange setting they've developed fairly well. I'm not sure if I'll be listening to the podcast again, but it's obvious that the people behind Nightvale are passionate about it. Even if I've stopped listening to it or liking it, I hope the show doesn't end for awhile yet.

Fun, unexpected, creepy, cool, smart

by Royce_Royal on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Cecil, and Carlos. I love Old Woman Josie and all of the angels. I love Janis and Steve Carlsburg. I love Mayor Dana. I love the Hyram and Hydasa McDaniels. I love all of the lost interns, and Coshak the cat. I love the dog park and the library, and the Moonlight All Night Cafe. I want me some invisible pie. Brilliant. Just brilliant.

My Favorite Podcast

by That one person ;) on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is almost as great as Big Rico's pizza. Nobody does a slice like Big Rico's. NOBODY.

Changed my life!

by jjonestwin2 on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

10/10 great story and a perfect sense of humor that I think anyone can relate to no matter what age! Just overall great storytelling and wonderful performances for the voice actors!!! Have listened to it a solid 3 times all the way through!

Obsessed

by V.Nin on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am absolutely obsessed with this podcast! I love the story line, the characters, and of course Cecil. The book they released is also really good.

I Love Night Vale ❤️❤️❤️❤️👍🏻👍🏻

by FMA04 on Aug 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Welcome to night vale is a wonderful thing to listen to, The radio host is one of the most wonderful to listen to he has a voice that you could lose yourself into. If you've never listen to them just listen to the first one and you will be hooked forever and ever and ever and ever and ever never can get out no you can never ever escape nose for light if you've never listen to them just listen to the first one and you will be hooked forever and ever and ever and ever and ever never can get out no you can never ever escape.

Used to be very good, got preachy.

by Bright-Raven on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to be very good, got preachy. Too bad the creators chose politics over story. I have unsubscribed.

Weird show

by Solcrates on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show plays out like an off beat stand up routine. It's funny, it's weird, and its rapid fire. Listen to this podcast, then say nothing, and drink to forget.

Purely amazing

by Orphiel on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is magic and laughter and grief and horror and every other human emotion under this and any other sun. I'm so glad I found this podcast, glad that it's been around for five years and excited and hopeful for the next few years.

Beautiful

by Mallemaroking028450 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my absolute FAVORITE THING EVER

Not enough ways to say I love you

by regan8or on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just one of my favorite podcasts. Period. I've been to the live shows as often as I can get to one, I buy the merch, I read the books, I belong to a group on Ravelry that does fiber art from NV, and I love the satellite podcasts. I love all of it.

Iconic

by Lil' Munster on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What more can be said about this amazing show that other reviewers haven't said a hundred times over?

Absurdist humor and Surreal fantasy

by The Bean master on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First thing to note is that Welcome to Nightvale- despite its Lovecraftian inspiration- is not the least bit frightening. Rather, it is an address to current social issues under the guise of otherworldly phenomena in a small fictional town. WTNV is smart, fun, and contains social commentary worth listening to. The creators are amazing people, each voice actor is a talent in their own right, and the sheer amount of listeners has created a lovely fan base to fall back on. Cecil Baldwin, being the voice of Nightvale and the titular radio host himself has a fabulous presence both through the podcast and live. If you want a unique podcast that has a seemingly endless supply of episodes and which doesn't seem to be stopping anytime for you- give Welcome to Nightvale a shot. And when all else fails- scream hopelessly into the void. Maybe, if your lucky, the void will scream back.

Perfect

by Klp&jee on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My desert island podcast.

Indulge in you inner weirdo

by Tumblrfeelz on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyone I know from a chic fashionista to adorable comic book nerd have loved this podcast. Starts out so silly but you end up really caring about the characters of this town, while still laughing along the silly and sometimes weirdly wise/prescient quips (I've literally cried while listening once I was so invested in these fictional ppl). If you want smart, oddball comedy, then welcome to Night Vale.

(Insert made-up synonym for amazing here!)

by Green Hoodie Man on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am currently being held against my will by a small organization of men wearing uniform green tuxedos, but I have a phone full of night vale, making this at least worthwhile. Ahahahahaha. Ha. Ha. Seriously though, send help.

Loved it but it lost something

by GumpIsrael on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really loved this podcast up until the past 15 or so episodes. It just kinda lost something that I can't place my finger on. 😢

Great Show, Keeps getting better.

by Yellowkryptonite on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You probably don't need another person telling you to check this podcast out, but you didn't need that extra donut either, tubby.

honestly the best podcast i've ever listened to

by guitarworshipper on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

^^

Amazingly entertaining

by Pumafang on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazingly entertaining

Weird and Wonderful

by Vikingyr on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening since it started. Welcome to Night Vale is delightfully strange and always entertaining. Thank you to Joseph Fink and Jeffery Cranor!