Average rating:

5
out of 87 ratings.

Engaging and Insightful!

by A_L_Pottery on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben does a great job interview different ceramicists and artists. I listen to The Tales of a Red Clay Rambler frequently in the studio, on long car rides, and walks with our dogs. I always learn something new and am never dissapointed. They are conversational, personal, and ever insightful!

Stephanie Lanter

by PenelopeAnnie76 on Jul 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful, insightful, well-researched and down to earth conversations with a diverse range of artists. Ben Carter is serving and documenting the ceramic field with generosity and sincerity.

Behind the scenes

by So disappointed on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to the most recent episode Omnus Terra panel. I was fortunate to have been able to be there for the live taping. It was really great not only the to see/hear interview in person, but to see how Ben puts it all together and also watch what a pro he is as an interviewer! Great discussion on many levels. Really enjoyed it.

Favorite Podcast

by Michael E. Garcia on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to Ben Carter ( Podcast host) religiously in my studio, or on the way to school. Each episode delves into very well thought out interviews with many artists. Every time I listen to a episode I walk away with something new to try, or think about in my own life/work. I really enjoy that I can continue the conversations with my friends long after the episodes are over. I feel that Ben does a great job asking questions that we ( viewers ) are curious about. He keeps things relaxed, but informational making his podcast fun and accessible. I feel very grateful to have this podcast as a educational/ entertainment resource. At 170+ episodes and growing there's plenty of content to tune into.

Calling All Potters

by Merle Lambeth on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks Ben for the wonderful interviews last week from the Utilitarian Clay Symposium. I've listened to each of them twice already because it brought back memories of being there and these were like bonus conversations that I did not have but got to listen in on! Each one was great on it's own, but as a grouping I'm sure it gave someone a really good idea of what the symposium is all about and how special Arrowmont is. I give all of your episodes Five Stars. Please keep them coming.

Thought Provoking Interview Questions

by KarenSilbergCeramics on Sep 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben has this way with his questions that he asks his guests throughout interviews that so often leave me pondering for hours after I listen to each episode. Being a beginning potter myself, I not only get the insight of amazing artists around the world, but I get to ask myself some of the same questions which I really adore and feel happily challenged by. My world has been opened to more levels of skill and style just in the last 9 months than I could ever have imagined because of this podcast other forms of social media like Periscope and Instagram.

Very good and entertaining

by MWilmert on Aug 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I like your podcast very much. I started down loading them several months ago, but never got around to listening. On a recent long car trip I started listening and now I can't get enough. I just started listening from #1 so I can hear them all. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

Great podcast for potters and clay enthusiasts

by Pico Dog on Aug 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben Carter is an insightful interviewer. Many of these episodes are true gems and gifts for posterity. It is a labor of love, an ethnographic look at the field today that will undoubtedly become a true treasure for clay lovers in the future. Thanks, Ben!

Awesome

by cliquenoob on Jun 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love tuning in. As a young ceramic arts student it's great to hear the big names in the field discuss what really matters. Always something new, refreshing and interesting. Absolutely would recommend to any other young artist

excellent podcast!

by Ruthiegreenmountain on Jun 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast continues to impress me over the years I’ve been listening to it. Ben has an amazing capacity to meet the artist at whatever level s/he is at and ask the right questions. Thoughtful and thought provoking!

fantastic podcast

by Bees tone on May 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I loooove Tales. My favorite thing is that Ben lets the artists speak at length without interruption. I get so much inspiration and practical info from all the folks he interviews. I’m catching up on old episodes and awaiting new ones!Update: OMG - the Roberto Lugo interview blew me away!!! I’m still processing it, 3 days later. Thanks so much!!!

Wow!

by DeVries Pottery on Feb 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been meaning to download and listen to some of your podcasts for a while now and I finally got around to it a few weeks back. Since then I’ve been binge listening while working in the studio (with some breaks to let all the information sink in). What you have created here Ben is perhaps one of the most important disseminations of ceramics information that I have encountered. Giving the public the opportunity to sit in and listen to what all of these different makers are talking about and are doing is just fabulous. Also, you are really good at the interview process; I really appreciate the relaxed and conversational style.Cheers!

Five-Star Pottery Podcast

by Patricia Griffin Ceramics on Dec 15, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Each episode is like a welcome visitor in my studio. Ben’s interview style is easy-going, but there is obvious research behind the way he directs the conversation. This leads to episodes that are chock-full of great information, while also capturing the personality of his guests. He is friendly, yet respectful. And, in turn, it feels like he both appreciates and respects his audience. I’ve listened to every episode of Tales of a Red Clay Rambler, and I’ve learned something from each one – and had a great time too. Thank you, Ben!

Awesome studio listening.

by AltoClayWorks on Dec 11, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast in the studio. Since leaving academia, it’s my go-to source for intelligent and thoughtful discussion on art and ceramics.

Great show.

by HaakonFRenzie on Dec 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Bens relaxed, up beat interview style makes for intimate and meaningful conversations. Would love to hear Betty Woodman on the show. Thanks Ben!

The Best!

by Natemakespots on Dec 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank You Ben Carter! Keeps me going in the studio and in the Car on long drives. Check it out if you love pots, or potters.

Excellent Podcast!

by Miriamskiln on Nov 18, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I found out about this podcast from an article about Ben Carter being named ceramic artist of the year! Congratulations Ben on a well deserved award! I have been listening to a number of the podcasts in my studio since then and getting such great inspiration for my own work. Keep making great podcasts!Miriam Loory Krombach

Tales of a Red Clay Rambler

by S0cc3r guy on Oct 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to podcasts as I drive long distances to shows, as well as in my studio. Who knew? I just discovered pottery podcasts. Ben Carter does a great interview, asks informed questions. I'm often going to the computer to check out peoples work, see recommended websites. Well done!

Fabulous!

by Czossi on Oct 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for a great podcast! Love it! I can't say enough about this podcast. The interviews are great. Anyone who has an interest in art would enjoy them. I find myself pondering many of the ideas and experiences discussed for days after I listen, and often recommend them to family and friends. As a former potter who has moved on to other creative avenues, I am grateful to connect back to my clay days through these podcasts. Please keep them coming.

The agony and ecstasy...

by NicNewcomb on Sep 21, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

All in all, I love what Ben is doing with this podcast. He brings Potters from across the spectrum to join in an important conversation about their relationships with clay. I love how Ben invites us into conversations about studio practice, history, and the role of ceramics in contemporary culture. Although I may disagree with some of his guests, I love the dialogue Ben challenges me to continue in my own studio practice. Congratulations Ben on an exciting 100+ episodes. The ceramics community is stronger because of your continued efforts.

Wonderful resource!

by TreehouseWanderer on Apr 13, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Red Clay Rambler is a wonderful blend of all things art and clay. I appreciate the depth and range of knowledge represented, and Ben does a great job moderating the interviews. Often times the moderator can dominate the conversation, but Ben throws out thoughtful questions and topics, and allows the guests to formulate careful and meaningful responses. Time flew by listening to episodes, and I can’t wait to make my way through each one!!

Informative, thoughtful, and inspiring!

by PuzzleLori on Mar 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to Tales of a Red Clay Rambler Podcast about a year ago. I binge listened until I had heard all the past interviews. Now I anxiously await each new episode! Thanks for the great work, Ben! Everyone, especially those who have an interest in clay, should listen to this podcast.

Great podcast!

by CV Potter on Mar 13, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast! I think Ive listened to every episode. I'm particularly biased toward Catawba Valley NC pottery and would love for you to have one or more of the potters from the CV on if possible... Maybe Charlie Lisk, Joe Reinhardt, Michel Bayne, Kim Ellington, etc. Keep up the good work!

Tales of a Red Clay Ramble Podcast is great

by Jeff5048 on Feb 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have started listening to Benjamin Carter's "Tales of a Red Clay Rambler" podcast and have thus far enjoyed it immensely.

It’s about time!!

by Roklands on Feb 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Ben for offering you time and services to the pottery community. I’ve been listening now for about 4 months and I’m hooked on your show. Your guests offer such great insights into our ceramics community, and I really feel more connected then ever. I recommend this podcast to ceramic junkies of all levels. Your free podcast is an invaluable resource, especially in a time where greed and monetary rewards seem to stimulate most intentions. Thanks and I can’t wait until your next show!

Subscribe now!

by Brittalisette on Nov 17, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben Carter consistently provides the best ceramic arts podcast available. His interviews are thought provoking and always entertaining. I look forward to the new episode every week!

Great Podcast Great Guy

by A. Sartorius Ceramics on Oct 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben Carter's podcast has been unquestionably helpful in my emergence as a potter. The creative dialog and thought provoking interviews. Without this podcast I would never have fallen as in love with ceramics as I am. Keep recording and keep throwing! You are doing incredible work.

My studio friends

by Lynn Felton on Aug 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

SO happy to have so many wonderful people visit me while I am working!! I’m always looking for things to listen to, to learn, to expand, to enjoy. This has been SO wonderful in getting to know more people in the clay world. This can be a lonely craft. Thanks so much for such a quality program! Your conversations are the best!

The Enlightened Artist

by Rainman925 on Aug 19, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because Ben has a great gift at interviewing and getting to the heart of what the artist is all about. Absolutely a must to subscribe to for encouraging enlightenment about the artistic way.

The Best. Hands Down.

by 2PearsPottery on Jul 26, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a fan of this podcast from the beginning. Ben's personal interviewing style sets him apart from similar podcasts. He asks the questions I didn't know I wanted to ask, draws out the answers, and takes them deeper -making me the listener think about how it all relates to not just the world of ceramics, but humanity as well. His conversations connect us all from our studios and, quoting one of his episodes, allows us "to touch at a distance." It leaves me feeling motivated, more informed and a little more grounded as an artist.

my favorite podcast

by slowlane73 on Jul 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben's interview style is focused yet conversational. Hands-down, my favorite pottery podcast. I look forward to each episode!

Great ceramic resource

by amandambarr on Jun 18, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Solo studio work can be really lonesome, but listening to other artists talk shop while I work has been awesome! Ben gives a great interview, asking some deep questions and some fun ones, all the while giving his own insights as well. I love hearing about other artists' processes, thoughts, ideas and motivations- not only has it given me greater appreciation for their work, but it makes me think a lot harder about my own. I have to admit to going back and re-listening to several episodes while working to catch some more and mull over ideas. The variety of artists is great- very broad in terms of physical location and style. **UPDATE**In the second season Ben has really branched out beyond talking about art to talking a lot more about life as an artists and discussing a lot of the broader aspects of working in the field. I continually find myself agreeing out loud with the podcasters on all sorts of topics. Looking forward to hearing more!

Inspirational would be an understatement

by Kyle Gallaway on Jun 13, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to Ben and the many artists he has interviewed. As a young potter "showing up" to the studio daily to make IT happen, I hope I can some day be on the show and say that The Tails of a Red Clay Rambler podcast helped me stay inspired! -Kyle Gallaway

Tales of a red clay rambler

by DylanSonney on Jun 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I am absolutely loving these podcasts. I really appreciate that all of them are left up online so I can continue to listen to past episodes. I love the theme song, as well as the diversity in the artists interviewed. Lee Rexrode is one of my undergrad professors at Edinboro University and has had great impact on my life and many others. He would be very beneficial for to hear on this podcast!

Tales of a Red Clay Rambler

by pinkyclay on May 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for these wide-ranging conversations with wide-ranging, diverse artists working clay. Every conversation leaves me feeling I have met someone, in person. I have to stop myself from finding their blogs and social media pages and blabbing at them. The feeling is especially strong when these are people I've never laid eyes on (although often I have seen or held or even owned their work)! I listen to the podcast while I work in my studio, and it adds another dimension to time well spent.

Great Stories

by jszarzi on May 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate hearing the stories of other potters. Also, Ben has a great casual dialogue with his interviewees that promotes a comfortable atmosphere and elicits thoughtful discussions about the potters techniques and how they market their wares. Keep up the great work.

Worth A Binge

by DoubtTheDoubts/ThePottersCast on May 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is so great I literally did a binge and listened to every episode within about three weeks. Worth every minute of your time. Ben is a first class podcaster!Paul BlaisThe Potters CastDoubt the Doubts

It’s for more than Potters

by Ray-C on May 19, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my top 3 favorite podcast. I’m not a potter but I do create an artesian handmade product so I enjoy his interview topics as I can relate to what is discussed. He’s got a talent for asking the right questions.

Learn, Laugh, Come back for more.

by 79Nick on Mar 29, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

These conversations are addictive. Ben's interview skills just keep getting better. I learn, I laugh and I listen to and enjoy every second. Ben's developed a winning format, which feels new with each guest. I look forward to each new episode.

Great quality podcast

by VipMel on Jan 06, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well produce, great contain, very good questions and analyse.Cover many issues including the businesses side of art.I listen to it while i making my work. Get to know many new artists from this pod case. Ben did a very good job of finding interesting artists. Recommend to all ceramic artists and anyone who interested in art.

Terrific

by GraceSheese on Nov 20, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast while working in the studio helps me feel more connect to the ceramics world. Ben asks really interesting and thought provoking questions. He also does a great job balancing both the listening and the feeling like the interview is more of a conversation. Thank you for all of your hard work on the podcasts!

Amazing Interviews and Interviewer

by Skatingpotter on Sep 10, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been enjoying these podcasts tremendously as I sit at my wheel or work in my studio. I love hearing from other potters about their process, about their concerns, about art, about making functional work etc. I have had lots of the same concerns but do not have the same kind of community to discuss it with. I feel as if a whole new world has opened up for me and gives me great confidence to continue making pots. Thank you for all your hard work doing these podcasts. Charlotte Lindley Martin

Keep it up Ben!

by Whistlepig Studio on Aug 22, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I concur with the majority of the reviews here. So wish, you would've been podcasting sooner! Your conversational approach is informative and a pleasure to listen to. These chats give us more information than any artists' lecture could.Great work!

Best clay podcast

by Chadfrenchpottery on Jul 31, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

There has been similar podcasts out but never one that is as regular and informative as this. I feel this podcast has a broad range of content to touch many interests in our clay community. I'm a wood fired potter that awaits each episode keep up the great work.

Great while in the studio

by jlpottery on Jul 20, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been enjoying these thought provoking discussions while making pots. It's nice to hear lengthy conversations from artists I know, and those I don't. Thanks Ben!

Great podcast

by Kelly Kessler, potter on Jun 16, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I'd would welcome any interview-based podcast covering the ceramic world, but Ben Carter brings particular strengths: he's a globetrotting potter with a Big Tent approach to ceramics, so the interviews range across continents and disciplines to touch on a broad array of concerns. He combines a casual interview style with a serious level of investigation and brings out some shining moments from his interviewees. The longer form of the podcasts give his artists a chance to share some nuance of their process and insights. I've listened to 3 TRCR podcasts so far, and I'm excited to have so many more to dig into. Thanks for your efforts, Ben, it builds community in the small, potent world of clay. -Kelly Kessler

love the red clay rambler podcasts!

by jtceramics on Jun 05, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I am loving your podcasts!!! I listen in the studio and when I take a walk and they are really great. Working alone in a studio makes these types of communications(?) invaluable! Thanks a ton and keep them coming!!!Judi Tavill

Great listen for the studio!

by NoelleHorsfield on May 31, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben Carter offers thoughtful conversations and insightful questions on this podcast featuring some of today's top ceramic artists. These discussions are interesting and thought provoking for ceramic and non-ceramic artists alike. I look forward to each new episode and always listen as I work in the studio!

Favorite podcast

by Ellen Mulligan on May 17, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I love your podcast, and the recent conversation with Julia Galloway is exactly why...she is such an inspirational teacher, always providing wonderful context, more than nuts and bolts tech info, she made me cry in a workshop! In a good way.So, your enthusiastic questions, well researched and insightful, make me feel I am in the room with you. Thanks so, so much. I hate to run the water in the studio when listening, I have to rewind!

Awesome Podcast!

by MacPotter on May 05, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Ben's podcast is awesome. I have just gotten back into ceramics after many years of being away from it. I can think of no better way to get back in touch with what is happening in the ceramics world today than by listening to Ben talk to current ceramic artists about what they love to do. Each conversation is informal, but very engaging. I love the way each interview gets to the heart of what motivates the artist. In these times it is easy to get information about techniques and processes on the web, but this podcast moves beyond that, and captures the personality and artistic voice of each person he interviews. I feel like I know the artist after I have listened to the podcast and it gives me a much deeper understanding and connection to their work. The music, and sound quality is very good as well. Keep up the great work Ben, and thank you for providing us with this quality podcast.