Average rating:

5
out of 915 ratings.

Conversations I wish I got to have with my friends.

by Honky tonk slim on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This week there was a great conversation about favorite thicknesses (totally agree with Mike, 3/4 is garbage. 3/8 for life. Ride or die) and it was a conversation i wish I could have with my friends! Also, I really want to meet Ben and have him call me by my Instagram name instead of my real name.

Love this podcast

by sdbgtrman6681 on Feb 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I used to know when my payday are at work just because I liked getting the money. Now I know when they are because it’s the same day as this podcast comes out. I love the information and tone of this podcast. As someone who lives somewhere without lots of local professionals, it’s very helpful to listen to how professionals think through their problems. I also love the interview episodes. Highly recommend. Now to just get them weekly.

Not liking the new intro

by CamdenWW on Jan 31, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

Been listening since day one. I enjoy the podcast but the recent changes to the beginning don’t do it for me. Going around introducing the hosts and getting a little humor in there was enjoyable.

Love me some Shop Talk

by Joe in NebraskA on Jan 25, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Still one my favorite podcast. For the 200th show let’s do a reunion and invite Ed, Asa and Matt back!

Easy to listen to and informative

by Robertthebald1 on Jan 23, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to STL for a couple years now and always look forward to the new episodes. These guys are easy to listen to and frequently have good info for the fine woodworker. 👍👍👍

More Interviews

by Wetvern on Jan 22, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Going through the older episodes and loving the frequent interviews with professional furniture makers and tool makers. It seems they’ve gotten away from that a bit. Still a great podcast, one of my favorites. Thanks.

Jay WebsterSorry to say, this is becoming the most boring woodworking podcast. Sorely missing Matt K

by jaywebster2 on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After years of packing my woodworking tools around the country, Montana 1974, to Oregon 1977, to New York 1979, I finally have a beautiful shop for everything. During these past 36yrs. in NY my wife and I built our own post and beam house and raised 5 kids. I made my living as a tool & die maker, but have always loved woodworking. I first got excited through your magazine in 1975 and still have the first issue around here somewhere. Over the past year, and anticipating retirement, I have been moving into and organizing my dream shop, a 24x24 pole building. I really enjoy the podcast as I travel for work during the week. It has re-energized my love for the craft. Keep up the great work.

Really Great!

by Friplo on Dec 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I own a custom furniture/woodworking business in LA and I’ve really enjoyed this podcast. Im fairly self-taught and have really liked hearing that I’m not the only one facing the same problems/frustrations in this craft! Really informative, funny, and helpful tips and conversations. Keep up the good work!

First time first time

by Commontaters on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Coming in hot on episode 179 and I’m glad I did. I’m newly subscribed to Fine Woodworking and I am so happy that the comment from the guy who really really wants Bens job was addressed in the most graceful way possible. Can’t wait to get through the back catalogue.

A reflection on the nature of work (with good jokes)

by artwaifu on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a 20-something woman brand-new to woodworking after a lifetime of wanting to get into the craft but having no one around to teach me.I started listening to Shop Talk Live to at least get some context through osmosis. I was so pleased to quickly make the podcast a part of my daily commute. The podcast is relevant for anyone interested in exploring the nature of work, listening to humans talk deeply about their craft, and gaining inspiration to get better at anything in life. The podcast is friendly to newcomers and gave me the confidence to finally jump in, and after a month I’m about to finish up Mike’s cursed dovetailed tea box. Perhaps I should have started with something simpler. Thank you for all that you do, and looking forward to years of learning in the shop with you!

Informative, funny and when are you going weekly?

by Abbot123456789 on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, lots of useful information, and not dry and boring like some out there. I miss the random stats segment and weekly would be fabulous! Keep up the good work and stay cool in the shop.Cheers

Pepperidge Farm planes

by Tehomaga on Nov 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite place to listen to the Pepperidge Farm guy talk about the price of Stanley planes

Weekly Podcast

by Colorado Woodworker on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love this Podcast!! I am, however, saving my 5 star rating for this to go weekly! More content and weekly cast would get my 5 star review! The friendly banter and sarcastic remarks just make it very enjoyable! would love in depth project discussions or mor deep dive sections!

Episode 174

by Rngr213 on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show guys. Ben, you may be the novice but you make the show 5 stars.

Love it. Miss matt.

by mwk7 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show. Miss matt.

Wood geekery appreciated

by paintbylumbers on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a woodshop teacher and love listening on my commute. The show gets me going to share my wood geekery with my students. Thanks for sharing your mistakes and successes in such a fun way. I thought a podcast on woodworking would be dull, but you have honed it in. Keep it up

Great work on the podcast!

by RichardMak on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep it up

Best podcast for woodworking

by justsayno12345 on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When Matt is on, I don’t have to hit rewind five times on Mike’s detailed multidimensional descriptions on how to do something to figure out what he is saying, because Matt just cuts to the chase. So this doesn’t always translate to a podcast, like when Anissa draws something on paper and says it should look ‘like this,’ but I still don’t feel like I have wasted time catching up on the 170+ episodes. Funny that I just finished a queen bed that only took me 18 years to finish and when I actually finished it, the whole headboard was lost by thick mattress/box spring and pillows. Exactly the last podcast. This podcast gives an unpretentious assessment of all the mistakes you will ever make and has great suggestions and encouragement.

Like old Friends

by Av8rTim on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you tried this podcast when it was new and were unsure please give it another listen. Kudos to Ed who got the ball rolling and to Tom and now Ben as they have done a fabulous job not only growing the podcast but refining it as it’s matured. I’ll stick with my opinion from my first review that these guys and gals feel like old friends and I’m sad when faces change but the show keeps improving. The hosts, especially Mike and Matt have really changed the way I spend my time in the shop and it feels like we could of hang out in the shop if they dropped by. Thanks all.

Great Show

by MurseDon on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been keeping up with the new shows as well as starting at number one and catching up. Played hours on a road trip with my wife and realize how patient she really is. You need to have Anissa on more. Though her words are few when she speaks it is always valuable information.

Why cant i give 10 stars.

by george 1122 on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this pod thank you guys. I often im chuckling to myself at work with ear buds in, the looks i get when sharing a funny story (from the pod) with coworkers is priceless. Keep it up. Thanks knox tn woodworker

Not improving

by KyleJMoore on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Mike is the reason I still listen. Matt is gone?!?! I hope the show doesn't continue the slide that started with Ed and Asa leaving.

If Pekovich leaves we riot.

by Willy77 on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Huge fan of this show and it makes a great companion to the FWW magazine. Love all the tips I can get in a single episode. Much of what I know from woodworking I learned from this podcast. Thanks for the content.

Great, but...

by DMacD22 on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Please stop putting Anisa on the show. Nobody can possibly think that’s working.

Shop Talk Live #169

by Stockdam993 on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast guys (and gals)! Super informative, and I feel like I know Mike, and Ben, and Matt, and Anisa as friends! (is that weird?) Really... I look forward to each and every new release! Keep up the great work!

Catching me up on missed years

by Jordan@45RPM on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

At 27, I would seem young to many. However, I only discovered fine woodworking in the last half year, and feel major FOMO for the lack of time spent in the shop. With no woodworking family members, I’ve been working hard to teach myself how to do basically everything. After spending months watching videos on YouTube, a cabinetmaker neighbor recommended FW magazine, and I found the podcast through that. I’ve been listening whenever I’m in the car, when I’m cooking or cleaning, and getting ready for bed. I’m at the point where I’m comforted by the voices Tom, Matt, Mike, and Ben when I’m home alone, so maybe I should stop for a while. Also, they don’t help curb my constant urge to buy new tools. Either way, I have to thank them for all the advice and tricks that I would never figure out on my own. Btw, Ben, I was just gifted funds for Texas Heritage apron for my birthday. Thanks for the tip!

Shop Talk Live

by SawdustInMyVeins on Jul 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a welcome respite from the solitary pursuit of woodworking. Like having some buddies in the shop with sound advise, sage wisdom, and friendly banter. OK... occasional snarky remarks and jabs. Every episode adds to my knowledge and enjoyment of the craft.

Great podcast!

by DMFAML on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I binged all of the episodes over the course of a few months, and then started the whole thing over again! The information is great and the guys are fun to listen to. Damon M.

Awesome pod

by hark1017 on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are just a beginner or an expert woodworker this podcast is for you but we miss Ed

Excellent podcast

by nbgwdb on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for all the wonderful knowledge you impart and for keeping it entertaining in the process. And now, just like everyone keeps telling you, make it once a week. Thank you in advance.

Very informative

by MikeGit on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the show, but I have one complaint. When you talk about your favorite tools, I often want to buy them and sometimes I do. My wife is not happy with you guys.

Fine Podcasting

by KVaughn98926 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really really excellent work on this. I'm a fairly new woodworker but I get TONS of information from this podcast every episode. The guys do a nice job of balancing banter and real information. I look forward to every episode and am usually chomping at the bit to get into my shop by the end!

The Best of the Best Woodworking Podcasts

by atogrf1 on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Less is more....the title says it all!!!!!Keep it up!!!!

Not even an Ivory (wood) tower

by Geekin in Utah on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fine Woodworking can present an intimidating destination for the average woodworker. This podcast humanizes the people behind those beautiful creative, making them seem more attainable. However, that knowledge alone isn't what makes this a great podcast. The personalities, whether it's Dr Kenny's salt and snark or Mike's humor-tinged compassion or any of the other regular attendees (sorry, guys, I'm horrible with names), are what raise this podcast to the next level and has me trolling the archives.

Anti-Tom Fink

by Wanna be woodworker on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Couldn't disagree with Tom Fink more, i just wish the podcast was weekly. Its the best part of my commute home every other Friday.Thanks, keep up the good work

JagCorps

by Wrenn 15 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a loyal and faithful listener since this podcast began. It has a great balance of humor and Woodworking information. I particularly enjoy the fact that there is often disagreement among the panelists, albeit good-natured, as to their techniques and approaches. Ben has been a particularly good addition to the group.

Entertaining and informative

by Centusjdsuejeu on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy the podcast, keep up the great work!

Great show!

by The zombies........ on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm pretty new to woodworking and really appreciate these guys talking about topics in an approachable way. Been listening for a couple months and just got a subscription to FWW as a direct result. Keep it up!

Please sir, may I have another

by RMdub on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Juvenile humor? Arrogant hosts? More the better! Haters gonna hate...amiright? Seriously, one of my favorite podcasts. Thanks for all the good pod, guys!

Shop talk live 139

by JSFinewood on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good humor, good info, keep it up!

Wood working tips and

by Avid Image on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Jokes that only a few woodworkers would get ;)In all seriousness, this is an entertaining and educational podcast to listen to. I like the banter between the hosts and the occasional jokes thrown in. Good work and keep making them podcasts guys! I love it!

Addictive

by marcusd137 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started with the first podcast a few weeks ago. I could not stop listening to it. Great tips. Fun personalities. Fascinating interviews. It has cost me a ton of money by inspiring me to purchase a 12" Grizzly jointer and a Domino XL (they love the Domino). If you enjoy woodworking, this is the podcast for you. I'm starting over with Podcast #1--I miss Ed and Asa. Marcus

All around entertaining

by Wicked Splinter on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, witty, good company on the drive to work. Who needs music or the news?

Really enjoying this podcast

by eidetic78 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a little late to the party, so I've been listening to each podcast starting from #1. I've made it through about the first 20 episodes and I've gotten exactly what I think a woodworking podcast should provide: Actionable advice, insight into the most useful tools and techniques, and an introduction to names of people and projects to facilitate further research. Thanks for the great show!

Awesome entertainment!

by Knifemakerwinn on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a knifemaker, but have always wanted to make fine furniture. I was fortunate to find this great podcast by way of the Nick Offerman interviews. The conversation is so much better than all the news, weather and traffic reports. I now look forward to my commute.

Thanks A bunch

by KBWolf83 on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey guys the show is wonderful you all are super funny. Haters will hate. keep up the great job. Oh and thanks for reminding with every show that I don't have enough tools. Not only am I here in cali with no wood, but I am a man with no planes.

So far so good...

by Think Ford First on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First 3 episodes have been great!

Excellent show

by Bonjovi69 on Dec 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A lot of people complain that the hosts spend too much time bantering and telling jokes, and not enough time talking about woodworking. I subscribe to the magazine so I don't exactly need the hosts to talk woodworking, so maybe there needs to be more jokes? Mikey P's biweekly comedy hour. Just throwing that out there. Do with it what you will.

Drink it up

by Rocking "E" on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A lot of info with a dash of humor and a squeeze of sarcasm, great job

Animal cruelty jokes—not funny.

by PatMcVicker on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Hi Tom, Matt & Mike,I’d like to ask you guys to think twice about the animal cruelty jokes on the podcast. At the end of STL 123 a listener posed a question about a squirrel that he enjoyed watching outside the window behind Matt. Next thing I know, you guys do a Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, switching personalities from woodworker humorists to sadistic barbarians. You imagined multiple gruesome deaths for the little guy—even the mellow, Zen-like Mike tossed in a comment.Listen, I love the jokes and juvenile humor, that’s half the reason why I listen to the podcast. Back when I started woodworking in the Navy 20 years ago, it was this kind of camaraderie and fun among my fellow enthusiasts that drew me into the woodworking community. Today my woodworking has evolved to a higher standard, and so has my sense of humor. So someone tells you that they enjoy watching a cute squirrel outside the window, don’t start joking about impaling him on a stick or grinding up his body into a hot dog. Not funny. Now, Matt and his baby furniture—funny. Or Mike and blue tape—funny. Animal cruelty jokes—not funny.Rock on!Pat