Average rating:

5
out of 142 ratings.

Enlightening

by acaciamei on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a MA student studying Modern and Contemporary Art History. Tyler consistently releases content that is insightful and follows the pulse of contemporary art historical thought. I have been listening for several years and always find myself refreshing my feed to see if he has released a new episode. I recommend this podcast to anyone who wants to supplement their interest in the art world with thought provoking content and in depth interviews with artists, researchers, and curators.

Increbile Insights Into Art Past and Present

by EronRauch on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes art can feel like an overwhelmingly vast and forbiding cultural ocean, even for die-hard fans. Modern Art Notes is one of the best resources to bring both the deep past and far-flung future of art into a human scale. Tyler's curiosity and ernest love of art is infectious, as facinated and passionate about the nuances of 14th century Italian Rennaisance painter studios as he is about the conceptual manuevers of contemporary video art. It would hardly be uncommon to have both subjects paired in a episode. Also, I know some folks have complained about sound quality, but many of his guests are amongst the most known artists and curators spread across the world, and getting direct access to their voices and ideas is too much of a rare treat to fret about a bit of fuzzy recording from a 80-year old master artist who only has a land line or whatnot!

Always insightful

by carolynzick on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Modern Art Notes podcast is an extraordinary ongoing installment of thoughtful and thorough examinations of artists, their work and the world they create. Host Tyler Green is not afraid to probe into the intention behind the work and frequently receives thought-provoking answers from the creators of such work. In an art world that is frequently more consumed with the superficial, Tyler continues to reach for the human and authentic elements that can make art so worthy of discussion.

Why this podcast is important

by 27slm on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

this podcast is filled with pertinent information, wonderful interviews… Feels like I am in art school when I listen.

Top notch guests and interviews

by Abner Doubleday on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this podcast and am catching up on past interviews. Tyler Green does an excellent job as an interviewer, connecting the dots with his questions and insights. Am consumed with regret that I let so many great museum shows pass me by...will be ordering catalogues to compensate, and pledge that now that I am in the loop with MAN I will visit more! Having sampled many podcasts, I can say that although the sound quality is a bit rough in spots, it is quite acceptable.

By far the best

by DJB1774 on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Through, wide scope, researched and exceptionally well done. A feast of information and insight. Mr. Green has great interviewing skills with both artists and curators- listen and enjoy. Don't forget the supporting website. A+.

Very informative and lively

by Hungry Robin on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. As an artist I listen for historical insight but also for those questions that draw the artist out in a new directions, questions that allow them to discover something about their art through the conversation, which is very differnt than looking at your own work critically. As an arts educator I recommend this podcast to all my Art & art history students.

Sensational Podcast

by UrbanMotif on May 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Tyler Green is erudite while having a conversational style that's approachable and informative. Great guests! A must for anyone culturally curious.

Amazing resource for art lovers

by Mkleberg on Sep 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Tyler definitely does his homework, hosting consistently excellent interviews with some of the best living artists around.

TERRIBLE SOUND QUALITY!!!

by manayunk wall on Jun 17, 2015
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Terrible sound quality! What is the point if the sound quality is the poorest I have heard in a podcast. Completely unprofessional. Content is solid/ production values are the lowest I have heard on iTunes. Get some better recording equipment please because I would like to hear/ understand some of the good info you are giving.

The best art related podcast I’ve known!

by leVan_i on Jun 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

These interviews are indelible part of my studio routine. I get there, switch on the podcast and start working. always so informative and inspiring.

consistently excellent

by rwhmtl on Mar 31, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating and enjoyable conversations, some are sparklingly brilliant and illuminating. Tyler Green is an excellent art journalist - a great appreciator and an awesome listener.

A gift to art enthusiasts

by nathan3e on Oct 17, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really is an invaluable show for anyone interested in art. There is no other podcast like it and I look forward to it each week.

Get in the KNOW

by Eden E. on Sep 18, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Tyler knows his stuff. I've been listening to these thoughtful interviews for over a year now. Tyler does a great job of making an occasionally obtuse topic easy to understand and relatable by using accessible vocabulary and clarifying occasional difficult ideas with great context and great interview questions. Love it- a must listen for anyone who wants to have an insight into artistic practice and art historical context. Thanks for all your hard work, Tyler!

Love it!

by Alison Causer on Aug 06, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it! Keep it coming.

painter

by jim bockelman on Aug 02, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent podcast, providing informed, well researched interviews with artists, curators, and organizers of contemporary exhibitions or catalogues. Insightful as an interviewer, Mr Green allows his guests to speak freely while also carefully navigating them through his agenda. Sound could be improved, but this lower quality forces me to listen again and catch more. And, these interviews are timely, allowing audiences to seek out exhibits in person or as a nightcap to a show already seen.

Tyler Green is da bomb!

by Kathryn Usher on May 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Tyler Green does his research and asks thoughtful questions. The he really listens to the answers before offering follow up questions. Modern Art Notes is the best art podcast happening today. I listen over and over when I'm working in the studio.

Keep Up to Date

by Liddybird on May 23, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

If you love art and want to keep up to date on exhibitions and trends in Contemporary Art this is a wonderful podcast.

Just what the art world needs

by Alexander Laurentius on Jan 05, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

Professionally produced. Good interviews and an impressive roster of guests.

A great listen!

by R. Hayden on Sep 26, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful inteviews with artists, exhibiton curators, museum professionals, gallerists, and others persons of interest in the modern and contemporary art world. A great way to hear about must-see exhibitons in the U.S.

Excellent!

by Richard McCoy on Jun 13, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best podcast in the US that covers topics related to art, museum exhibitions, and museum culture. Each week it's something new and good. Definitely worth subscribing!

At the Vanguard of Modern Art

by Huzawuza on Jun 04, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Timely interviews and compelling analysis. A true gem in the world of art.

The only modern art podcast!

by D hed on Mar 06, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly relevant and insightful! My favorite part about it is when Tyler asks a question that is so thoughtful and relevant that even the guest is astonished at how meaningful of a question it is. The type of question that stumps them for an answer, but surely makes him or her think about it for days after the interview.

Excellent, smart interviews on a large range of subjects

by amsautter on Sep 11, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Tyler Green brings out the best from his well chosen guests. You'll get a fresh, independent view on tiday's art scene and insight into key artists and shows.

Great podcast!

by D. Pattee on Jul 08, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

The Modern Art Notes podcast offers insightful interviews with well known artists. This podcast is smart and accessible to the long time art appreciator or for anyone who is interested in broadening their understanding of modern art. The host, Tyler Green, does not shy away from difficult subject matter, and he also remains respectful of his guests.

So glad I found this

by jeremyNhouston on Mar 14, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This is perfect unwind from work with a cup of coffee and get mentally stimulated. Can't wait to see the Serra show at the menil.

The Modern Art Notes Podcast

by blacksnail on Mar 13, 2012
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The sound quality is poor and suffers from what sounds like low quality recording equipment. Its a shame because Mr. Green has access to some great guests but the two podcasts I have listened to “Snapshot: Painters and Photography: Bonnard to Vuillard.” and Richard Serra are both almost unlistenable.