Average rating:

5
out of 2324 ratings.

The Best Weekly Ritual

by owenmimar on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to every single episode of "Throwing Shade" from the inception of this brilliant smorgasbord of politics, pop culture and grocery riffs, and my life is richer for it. It also gives me a reason to clean my house and wash my clothes, so my general health and well being are relatively intertwined with this unmissable weekly event for my ears and heart.

Yaaasssss Honeeeeey!

by Never got my pony on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this is the most amazing, funny and informative podcast! I'm in love with Brians jokes Erins fierceness and both of their constant banter and voices. Thank you Erin for making me a better feminist and thank you both for the idea of ordering an Oedipal arrangement.... I cant get the image out of my head....Byeeee Hunny Bun!

Blah and Blah

by johnlarca on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I guess it's good they are "takin' on the issues" but these two are inane, which would be ok if they were funny, but they aren't. They're just kind of annoying.

they get my legs up high

by Clarity 1955 on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best way to get lucky, just sayin', is through my funny bone(s)

Favorite Podcast

by :83!9,$:! on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to working out after work now, since I get to listen to Throwing Shade. Bryan and Erin can make me laugh about the terrible stuff going on in the world, instead of spiraling into a pit of despair. Thanks, Honeybuns!

Petition

by AdonisBoskinis on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am starting a petition to include more riverboat clown jokes.

Keeping me "woke," sane and laughing

by Nikdol on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So thankful to have these two funny people on my side and doing so much to keep us all informed. Every time I listen I feel equal parts enraged (at the injustices in our society and "riverboat clowns") and loved. They remind me of a best friend who empathizes with you but also makes you laugh at the bs that surrounds you.

A Perfect Morning

by EllisBurnheart on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A Perfect Morning starts every Thursday when Throwing Shade comes out.... I like to throw in my earbuds, throw some Pearls on my Ankles, and walk to the nearest coffee shop to grab a Frappiato Maxiatto. Sometimes I'll spend the rest of the day wandering the aisles of Whole Foods looking for the ghosts of cotton candy grapes, or meeting with David DeLaDen to work on redesigning my Den... whatever the occasion you can bet I'll Laugh and Laugh with Erin and Bryan until strangers look at me with fear in their eyes... Thanks E&B for being the most hilarious podcast that brightens every week.

Rich!

by ChrisLaiHipp on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Im gonan cut to the chase and not pretend I am as funny as Erin or Bryan.... so let me say this: WATCH TS LIVE. Just finished it, and it was excellent. A great look at my 2 fav podcasters day to day experiences while on tour - making me extremly sad that they never came to my city with their show :( I highly reccomend it to all!! (and p.s. - just for clarity: TS live is NOT a transexual live cam show, FYI).

Throwing shade live - wowie wow wow!

by TRACYinJOPLIN on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My daughter and I just watched throwing shade live the second it was available to watch it. It was so cool to actually see you guys as opposed to just hearing you in my ears. I was shocked, stunned, and pleasantly surprised. Not that your looks, Erin, have anything to do with anything at all. And I won't comment on what you were wearing or the fact that during your song you only had one Eye with eyelashes. I cannot believe how much I love, love, loved! Your musical number at the end. Great job you guys I love you even more. Kiss kiss, Rich Rich. Mwah!!

dogs, groceries AND Judge Judy deep cuts?

by BrooksSisters on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Helloooooo! Throwing Shade is #1 on Oprah's List for 2017! If you are a giant animated wig or an employee at whole foods this podcast is for you! And as loud and proud Nasty Woman in Texas I'd have to say these two are giving me life! I can't wait for the new tour documentary! "If Mail Chimp's banana clip-on earrings don't fit YOU MUST ACQUIT!!"

Why Can't We Be Friends?

by liberal93 on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously, why can't we? Oh wait, because I love in Korea...Anyways, listening to Bryan and Erin on a sometimes-more-than weekly basis has provided my ears with a perfectly queer and feminist aural outlet that I CHERish (CHERiously, Bryan needs to bring back the Cher impersonation he did for the Maximum Fun Drive a couple years ago, it made me cry laughing on my bus ride). I also have the theme song stuck in my head far too often hehe. 5/5, would listen forever and for always.

A hot take on current events and old timey recipes

by Domestic Dork on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

While I love getting Bryan and Erin's view on the latest social and political madness, what I'm really here for is their foodie views. Ina Garten's new lemon roasted chicken? Big yes. Anything with raisins? Straight into the garbage. You better believe I made that Ina recipe and it was just as legit as they said it would be. Five stars.

Can't relate

by mikedaws0n on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Although I am a bisexual man, and I enjoy hearing people make fun of misogynists, homophobes, and transphobes, and while I would appreciate LGBT news, I simply can't stand the opening section where they talk about the white, middle-class lives. The whole portion is unbearable and makes what I do enjoy less enjoyable.

Chicago Clown to Glenn Close Dirty Talk

by WrkingOnMyNightCheese on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Are you filthy rich and do you love to listen to something sophisticated pertaining to topics like jet setting, horse wigs, grocery shopping, and buttholes? Erin and Bryan serve all of these subjects to you hott off the seat of their pants (or from the pages of Parade). Gay? Big Whoop? Female? Sure, GREAT! There's truly something for everyone (or in the words of my boyfriend "I have no idea what's going on"..while laughing). Seriously, I started crying listening to Milan Paris last weekend while my mascara was still wet in an attempt to not ruin my whole face. I LOVE ALL OF THE SHADE. <3

A must for listening through Trump's apocalypse

by No ban. No wall. on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I could listen to Bryan reading the phone book if he were doing it in his rich rich-name dropping husky whisper. My only complaint about the podcast is that Erin doesn't impersonate OJ Simpson attorney catchphrases enough.

Hilarious!

by 1983Meego on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only bad thing about this podcast is that it makes me bust out laughing when I'm at the gym and then people look at me as if I'm laughing at them, which is awkward because I usually point at someone when I'm laughing at them!! Duh!!!

Get into it!

by CountyFairGayKid on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You know what I want! A nice frappiato maxiato while I listen to Throwing Shade, the show where Erin and Bryan talk groceries and 'ssues about ladies and LGBT blah blah blah. Honey, this podcast is helping me grow, and become the beautiful woman god intended me to be.Get in that basket, f****ty-a** Aunt Annie! Akay?

David Daleaden and DEN Some.

by Ahcohen on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

HUNNY BUNNIES! Hide your Aunt Annies! Erin and Bryan are two of my favorite people and they KEEP IT REAL. I've been listening for two years and I feel like these two sweet, sweet jerks are my best friends. They keep me updated on all of the current events that I care about and make me laugh on the train so everyone things I'm crazy. They teach me that I may never have been in a movie, but maybe I can have my own TV show, RIGHT BRYAN?!? Plus, they have ooooh uhhhhh amazing guests like Big Teeth Small Mouth and Kinda Sorta Cher. Yaaas queensz

Let it gooooo

by Myself3000 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've learned to let go my expectations of getting a solid news story and just let myself enjoy the banter and silliness. Also, they make living in LA sound TERRIBLE but very entertaining.

Drown Out Your Idiot Coworkers that Don't know What Headphones Are!

by AnneHB on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Erin and Bryan are single handily responsible for drowning out my coworker's conservative talk radio! Thanks to this podcast, I don't have to suffer old white men arguing why it it's fair that women get paid less, because on avarge, they live 3 years longer than men! This is the kind of drivel I don't have to overhear anymore! Truley, they are doing the Lords work.

Kiss and Angel Good Morning

by saturnmda on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered Erin and Brian from their guest appearance on How Did This Get Made...the first couple times I listened to this podcast I was a little worried I wasn't going to like it. Why did they talk so fast, I wondered, almost rivaling Alvin and the Chipmunks? Thank God halfway thru an episode I realized I had accidentally hit the X1 speed button on my phone. I wasn't having a stroke and they weren't helium-sucking cackle heads. Anyway, last week listening while running I guffawed so loudly at Corn Nut teeth and a Charlie Pride reference that my husband said what is wrong with you?! And that is why you should listen to this podcast. There's something wrong with you and this will fix it .

Tonic for the Trump Era

by Ccreates4u on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Erin and Bryan make this Mark Twain quote more memorable: "If you tell someone the truth, you better make them laugh or they'll punch you."

Don't bring up the electric company!

by TheYoungHorn on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen hunny bunnies, this podcast is a true gift from the gods. A wonderful combination of gay things and a splash of feminism. Brian was clearly wronged by the electric company. Need to know more, download this episode. But DON'T bring it up again! Don't you delay, download this and binge listen to every episode!!

For you too, nerds

by jd_in_boston on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a scientist (braggy brag, I know), which is just to say that I often work long days in the lab and for years my ritual has been to decompress by listening to NPR on my bus ride home to catch up on the day's news. Fortunately, TS came into my life around November 2016, right when I needed a break from it all - even from my beloved All Things Considered. Sorry Robert Siegel and Audie Cornish , Erin and Bryan give me silliness alongside stories about issues important to ladies and gays (and lady gays like myself). Sometimes the late-night Boston city bus is full-on Cantina Band, but all I have to do is put on my headphones, dive into the TS archives, and it's only a minute before I'm that person laughing out loud in public. So fellow science nerds, do yourself a favor and take a break from Radiolab and Neil Degrasse Tyson to hear about social justice issues and how Mail Chimp is showing us that women really can have it all.

So this happened

by Yomamaface on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

All I want to see in the next tour is Erin and Bryan reenact the grape stomping scene from I Love Lucy.

Great fun

by Small joys on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a 75 year old straight woman it's so nice to be able to laugh instead of cry. smalljoys

Please watch 13 reasons why on Netflix

by Jake Prince on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love you guys!!! But please watch this show and talk about it. I'm gagging to hear talks opinions.

The best

by Mrzfirstlady on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled across this podcast a few weeks ago and have been hooked every since. Being apart of the LBGTQ community, this podcast is a safe haven. My wife and I love you guys! It keeps me informed on current events helps me get through my work at work while I'm in the lab! Erin and Brian, keep doing what you do! You guys are amazing!!!

synchronicity

by seattle_rain on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So this review is way "inside Throwing Shade baseball" but I had to share. episode 286: In Erin's shoo, she works in a bit of southern history where she talks about former 60's era governor of Alabama, Lurleen Wallace (yup, wife of notorious George Wallace). At the same time, I'm watching vintage home movies of Las Vegas on youtube. (it's my history thang) So on youtube, search for Las Vegas 1979. The first hit is an amazing 5 min. Super 8 home movie. At the 3:48 mark you'll see the iconic rotating Stardust sign, lit up in all its Googie glory. As that georgeous sign turns, check out who's playing in the Starlite Lounge: "Dancin' Machine: The Freddie Bell Show featuring Carleen". Lurleen, Carleen, Freddie Bell, Dick Cavet; I was almost expecting Don & Betty to show up in this episode. So I planned on ending the review here but I just finished reading Lurleen's wiki page. You gotta read it, especially if you were a Mad Men fan. Read the paragraph about her illness. (You'll instantly recognize the Betty Draper cancer storyline, except that George Wallace was a real-life POS whose awefullness surpassed any bad behavior we ever witnessed on Mad Men).

Giving Me Power

by autumnmemory80 on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much. I live in a very conservative state, am very religious, and Southern Baptist (which is one of the most conservative), but I am very liberal, and the most liberal SBC girl you will ever find. I also work in government which is not very open minded. This gives me time to hear topics that otherwise would not be brought up with anyone I know. I constantly find myself laughing while learning. This gives me power to stand up to those who disagree with my points of view. Above all, I want to tell that all Christians are not bad. God is Love. God does not make mistakes. We are all equal and should be treated as such. You have more people behind you than you know. Thank you for educating while adding humor. Five Shiny Gold Stars.

MICHELLE COLLINS: WE NEED A THREE HOUR PODCAST

by Jessyesbus on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just really don't appreciate how short that Meesh Call eppy was. Bring her back and make it min three hours. Or get thrown like a rag doll for tryin it.

You found it

by Ms Honey Do on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Grocery gripes? Rescue pup blues? Does the idea of someone confidently driving the wrong way down a one way street make you laugh so hard you can't form words? THIS PODCAST IS FOR VOUS. Pour yourself a frappiato macchiato and dive deep into this beautiful and informative podcast. For real though this podcast taught me about The Trevor Project, which has totes changed m'life. Kisses to B&E.

SOOOOO funny

by proveggie on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Warning: this podcast may cause you to pee your pants! So funny and smart.

Flawless

by Ya Girl Chechi on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my absolute favorite podcast. It has made me scream-laugh at my desk so many times that my coworkers have just gotten used to it now. Erin and Bryan are hilarious, insightful, and work so well with each other, with magical results. START LISTENING TO THIS IMMEDIATELY, hunnybunz.PS: Bryan's Irish accent makes me weak.

HAMTRAMPK

by Bwitchez uhh ohh on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mother may I? Mother of the House of Representatives, that is. This podcast has everything you need to get motivated for the coming revolution. Listen while you do bicep curls with a textbook you're studying with to become Lady Attorney, while you send out survees to find out just how lazy millenials are, or on your way to protest the trash fire that is everyday American life now. This podcast is a full wig on fire situation, in the best way possible hunnay thank you very much!

SHOOK-ETH

by AndresGee on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every week, I am guaranteed to be brought to tears of pleasure. Thank you. I loved hearing Bryan feel and live out his Japanese Harajuku fantasy. Touch all of this jet-lagged skin daaaarling! Erin, thank you for being a friend... traveled down the road and back again. I loved your normal voice and I hope you never mask it while doing the podcast to sound more "appropriate/less gay/less feminine" again! Love you honey buns, more than I love coffee..... okay- lies!

Lady? Gay? Listen up.

by Kellyeesi, Mother of Mutts on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't even with these two. Bryan and Erin have amazing chemistry and I have never listened to an episode without laughing out loud. Their take on current events is second only to their stable of bizarre characters.

Love love love this podcast!!!

by Mangomudslide on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the way they make me laugh! Amazingly funny podcast! ❤️

Die-hard fan

by suzycoozy on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't you just love Bonnie Bedelia?I'm ashamed that I've been listening faithfully for so long, depending on Erin & Bryan to get me through my Thursday evening house-cleaning spree, without having written a review.I LOVE THIS PODCAST.You guys are hilarious AF, play off each other SO well, are informed enough to teach me new things without being preachy, and legit helped me survive the shot show election results and beyond (not exaggerating). We're the same age and I know you both would've been my friends if we grew up together which has a comfort and familiarity that I love (your throw-back references are so spot on to my childhood).Thanks for the work you do, seriously. TS pod is a very bright spot in my week!!

Blissful Insanity

by Pjl175 on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gay 'ssues. ✅ Lady 'ssues. ✅ If you consider yourself woke and you're not listening to this podcast -- you're snoozing hunny bunny. Do yourself a solid and get these two in your earbuds ASAP.

Fanning the Flames

by AJB31294 on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Imagine being a young, hot gay student in a conservative grad school trying to find some kind of outlet that talks about your likes and understandings and viewpoints on life when you're trying to not drown in biochemical pathways and microscope slides. It's been a challenge, but this podcast has done the trick! I love Bryan and Erin's takes on issues in the news and pop culture. Their guests are fantastic. This podcast is a hilarious way of connecting to LGBTQ-culture without getting an STD. Even the older episodes in the feed are just as funny. So if the fear of God is looming upon you? Oh honey! Grab a bottle of wine and remember that Jesus died so you could LIVE, honey! Put down the dating apps for a bit (they're full of hobgoblins anyway and you know it) and listen to this show. Long live "Throwing Shade."

Not enough groceries

by "baldy" on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Let me start by saying Bryan & Erin exclusively fly Spirit Airlines and if that doesn't tell you everything you need to know about this podcast then I don't know what will. Erin eats grapes right out of the bag on the public bus and Bryan once tried to release a cookbook but it turns out it was "cooking for jeffry" and he just crossed out Ina Garten's name and wrote his over it in Sharpie. They are bad people. The kind of people who would ask a homeless man to show them his butt hole. honestly, I'm hoping this podcast fails so they can start a new podcast about wholefoods and grocery shopping generally. 5/5; highly recommend.

Haven't you already?

by bikelistenlearn on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thoroughly enjoy listening to fellow Texans who fled, who hate the politics of Tejas but miss the frito pies and, perhaps, those delicious school lunch rolls. Put down that Parade magazine or your favorite Erma Bombeck book and listen - through all the laughing, you might just learn something.

Like cotton candy grapes in your ear holes

by Officecackler92 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is as delicious as cotton candy grapes, and it's ALWAYS in season! Get ready to laugh so hard you just might pee your pants in your cubicle about all the horrible stuff that is happening to all us lady and LGBTQ kittens!

Rich rich, anybody rich?

by JoshuaBradley0226 on Apr 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've got a recommendation and it comes from this great nation of homosensuals, feminasties, and heterosensitives. This podcast is growing, and becoming the beautiful young woman God intended her to be so grab your frappiato maxiato and saddle up for some grade A content. Do you want to laugh AND be informed? Do you need a little chiaroscuro in your life? Do you want to become enlightened with the grace of Freddie Bell Jones? Well bring the kettle wherever you go honeybuns, don't google it, don't die, and download every sweet sweet episode of this aural life guide. Bryan and Erin will have you wrapped up in their nuggets of nerve and talent faster than you can say "Derek, I'm fresh out of panties!" #mailchimpforever

Love

by LGLASFNY123456 on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Bryan and Erin-- you are so brilliant and sharp and tickle me weekly. I am a very Eeyore-ish downer and you make me smile ear to ear every Thursday. Many thanks and lots of love. Keep doing what you're doing.

ADS6969

by Amy1276 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Okay I LOVE Throwing Shade but Erin, listening to you talk about current events is like pulling teeth and nails on a chalkboard at the same time. Girl puh-lease go over what you're going to read ahead of time or watch a few public speaking YouTubes. Listening to you fumble over the facts you're reading off a piece of paper really lessens the importance of the issues you're trying to speak about. Or just let Brian do all the important talking! Was so glad that Brian was the one who spoke about what happened on Survivor since that was such a powerful and significant moment.

I dreamed of the movie I Dreamed of Africa being over

by e.water on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want exciting entertainment that flys by, download Throwing Shade, NOT the movie I Dreamed of Africa!! Love this podcast!!

The Hit Of All Japan?

by Mals8705 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Are you rich rich? Do you love pickles and David Daleiden's Dens? Have you never paid for laundry detergent? Then this podcast about groceries is for you! Bryan and Erin are basically my best friends.