Average rating:

4.5
out of 696 ratings.

So bad

by leroyvinq on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The beginning of the podcast started off with the words: there is no content to this episode. Don’t waste your time.

Waste of time (now)

by AaronB81 on Apr 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be one of my favorite podcasts but the last year-18 months this has become a complete waste of time. No matter what the topic is, Matt and Doug just sit and talk for an hour aimlessly about some inane set of stories tangentially related to the topic. I feel this is related to their sharp turn toward life hacking and self-help over Veganism, running, and nutrition. Doug is great, but Matt has clearly gotten to a place here he is over having to do the podcast.

Love

by kaitlinmueller on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening to this podcast for a few years, love the personable nature of it and always stay entertained

CrayRay

by Alwaysgo42 on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcasts with Ray Cronise are my all time favorites! Please invite him back soon!!

Not helpful

by 1year vegetarian on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Listening to a podcast about plantpower. I'm half an hour through and so far the information has not been helpful at all. They're telling people to give up oil, which from my experience is not a good idea, you need some kind of fats in your diet. Reading books and articles is much more helpful. Especially looking at traditional vegetarian diets and how they prepared food. And just talking to other vegetarians.

Irrelevant to title and filler nonsense

by Bait master on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Literally talked about nothing related to the title that caught my attention

Great content!

by plant positive running on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, always inspiring and educational!

Mic

by Gingermazzy on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not listenable, like really bad :(

Great podcast!

by hudsonar on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to Matt and Doug on the podcast! They keep things light, but their conversations are also informative and thought provoking. The interviews also cover a wide variety of topics and add different perspectives from other experts in the community.

Preachy and like typical insecure condescension

by Luna SALZ on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

"I mean if that's how you wanna live your life then okay but I mean me..."Jesus shut up. It's not even a matter of vegan Or non vegan I'm vegan and it's like I'd rather listen to a well educated omnivore who isn't condescending. Like I get what there going for but I'm bored and rolled my eyes so hard. Some good content but not enough.

Not bad, but...

by Bossy Plants on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I'm whole food plant-based so like a lot of the topics. Not always clear sound, though. The episode on documentaries was good, but I thought you should have seen the ones you were discussing. Too much conversation about the content to not have seen the documentary. That said, to answer your question, Forks Over Knives really hit home for me and the impetus to make the switch. I've seen just about every food/health documentary and they all offer something.

Gah, I so want to like it...

by Keekmachine on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was just tolerating what I didn't like for about a month because as a whole food/plant based runner, I am very interested in the topics/content BUT I was pushed over the edge by the last two episodes I chose to listen to...the one with Pamela on diet changes: moderate v small steps and couch to 5K. I am totally exhausted by Matt's total domination of every podcast. TOTAL DOMINATION. The other episodes were tolerable, but after listening to these two back to back... I am very reluctant to come back to this podcast. Pamela, a guest and expert on the topic (who apparently also loves this podcast) barely spoke for ten whole minutes and Doug, a running coach, took a backseat in the "conversation" on beginning a run plan in couch to 5K. And I like what Doug has to say, even if it is just agreeing with the previous half hour that Matt just delivered like he was talking to himself the whole dang time. Seriously. I'm at a loss. I can't do 3 stars, I want to...but I can't. I'm flirting heavily with unsubscribing.

Self-interested and poor delivery

by Lily the Chicken on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Skipped around a lot and self-promoted. Website is better.

Entertaining and informative!

by Game Gangsta on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to Doug and Matt on the podcast. They are entertaining so I'm not bored while listening. Yet the information is really helpful. I've wanted to start running for a while now, but have lacked motivation and proper knowledge. And I've recently started running as a result of listening to their podcast!

Entertaining and Real

by CoffeeintheMtns on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I feel that they do a great job talking about really world issues instead of focusing on the ethics behind veganism (which is important...but we all know that already). It's great to listen to good conversation and meaningful topics. I love that they talk about raising vegan families and physical fitness goals.

Great Podcast

by DevonBerney28 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to this while I workout. Important to crush stereotypes of needing animal products to be a successful athlete.

Thanks guys

by Faye from San Diego on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening during a run. Very informative and real. I get inspired and motivated and I like hearing ideas. Totally de-cluttered too after hearing that she episode. I'm a brand new vegan so I'm desperate for information. I've kinda gotten nuts about it though so hearing you guys talk about stuff, calms me down cuz I know this transition will take some time to get used to. Anyway, thanks so much for this podcast and also the website!! Good job!

Great content, but sometimes all over the place.

by Derekthelion on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great content, but sometimes all over the place.

Fun Podcast

by Born South African on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy this podcast! Matt and Doug have great personalities. Listening to the podcast feels like visiting with close friends. I feel that this podcast helps to create a feeling of community. I have also learned a lot and improved my life as a result of listening. The habit changing episodes have motivated me and helped me to be more effective in my life. Some of the episodes are very informative and practical. Others are just fun. i enjoy them all!!

What a Great Find!!

by Darlene431 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am new to listening to podcasts while running and happened upon No Meat Athlete and can not get enough!! Love Love Love!! I am up to date on all the newer ones so going into the vault as they say to listen to the older ones. I always feel like I take something from each episode and can build on it. I have really put into place the small steps concept from Matt that seems so simple but such a great approach. Thank you guys keep up the good work!!

Long time listener

by CodyD2016 on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Matt and Doug at this point are like close friends who run with me every morning. I like keeping up with their lives and their races, new tips and interests. I have benefitted from their recommendations and insights. Most importantly their values align with my own - plant based and active. When they remind me how to do that well, I tend to be a better person.

Great content but....

by RunGrl57 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Your cookbook is great and the "content" of the podcast is good but the delivery is a bit silly. I tried to listen to your 27 book list and it was like listening to kids jibbering. You talk very fast and things don't always have to be funny. I find it very hard to listen to the podcast, which is sad for there is so much to learn about veganism and running. I hope it gets better.

Fantastic

by Mins review on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the padcast, keep up the great work!!

Awesome Podcast

by Chris Strudwick on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi Matt and Doug,I really enjoy your podcast, I feel like I get to listen to my friends and I look forward to new episodes each week. Today I listened to how to lose 5 pounds and here's my feedback, because Doug asked...I like that some episodes are full of health and fitness information and that some episodes are less informative but more just you two hanging out shooting the breeze.Makes me feel like I'm there too, hanging out with friendly like minded people. I was vegetarian for about 20 years and you both have inspired me to go vegan since I started listening about 6 months ago. Thanks to your podcast I've also returned to running and I'm remembering how much I find it difficult yet rewarding. Thank you for the podcast. Best wishes,Chris Strudwick

Love your podcast!

by tlcrecwv on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You guys make me laugh, inform me and give me great insight into the world of veganism. I love the casual "Seinfeld" episodes!

I keep trying....

by Water33g19 on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great subject matter & topics but when these 2 chat, it sometimes seems like teenagers giggling throughout their conversation. Matt talks wayyyy too speedy & is hard to understand at times. I'll keep trying but my patience is wearing thin. New intro music too please?

Very informative and entertaining

by missbe_ky on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys are fun to listen to and provide a wealth of knowledge on running and health. Their guest speakers are awesome too!

FunShow

by 510 Sean on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

fun show

Great podcast!

by peacecats76 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening since the begining and I'm just sorry that it has taken me so long to write a review. Thank you, I enjoy each episode! Lots of great information!

Not to be taken too seriously

by Kcbwwb on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good info given without being over the top preachy. Need to have a sense of humor when listening

These men cannot see beyond themselves

by Vegan_Feminist on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There is great potential here. These guys are unprepared for their podcasts, they ramble on about nothing, and act like they are the greatest people to break the airwaves. Doug dominates the podcast. They always have men on their podcast (I doubt there is any diversity here among race or gender). Overall, I'm bored, tired of listening to them talk themselves up. If they weren't white men, I doubt they would be a part of this movement.

Love these guys!

by KaytDaytonATL on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for about a year and a half and really enjoy it. Matt and Doug make veganism so approachable, and although I started listening as a vegetarian just trying to run, I can now say that I've got a few half marathons under my belt and I've been vegan for over a year. Thanks for aiding in that transition NMA, I look forward to more episodes!

I listen a lot

by 13Indigo on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so intereted in running and nutrition and so it lets me feel like I'm sitting around chatting with like minded people on topics I enjoy. I can relate to a lot of the opinions and stories they have. Its often not new stuff for me, but I enjoy it and just keep turning it on because it revisits topics that are good to revisit and keeps me focused.

Great podcast

by Erika Marie 17 on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is for people who want to learn the ins and outs of becoming healthy and having a fit lifestyle while catching in a little laugh. Thank you guys for doing this podcast!

New vegetarian, and lifetime runner

by justry2tri on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to “No Meat Athlete” since I stumbled upon the podcast for my wife. Which has been a vegetarian for almost 2 years now, but I wanted her to get into running. I listened to it, and I have really enjoyed the content. Both for running, healthy eating, and overall positive information it provides. This podcast also helped me in my transition to a vegetarian diet. Doug and Matt seem like nice people, and they have good chemistry. I highly recommend this podcast!

Please PLEASE diversify.

by AriJeru on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Decent hosts, and finally a podcast about veganism and athleticism without the pretentiousness that often comes with both. But unless the title changes to "No Meat Runner", then it would be great for them to diversify the content of the "athlete" portion: please talk to swimmers, hockey players , dancers, gymnasts, or anything else for your listeners. I listened to many episodes and eventually got bored to tears with the hosts only addressing runners. This podcast has so much potential to expand into the "athlete" idea.

Love Matt

by Selbygirl6 on Nov 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy listening to Matt's podcasts. He's usually got an interesting subject to discuss or a good interview going on. While I am not a runner, or athlete by any means, I do find value in his training advice. Some of it is just advice for running the rat race. I hope he continues to share his knowledge and questions with us.

Interesting and entertaining

by awarlen on Nov 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! I love the variety of topics and interviewees, I'm always entertained and usually learn something new. :)

Fun and full of variety

by CD_fish on Oct 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the variety of topics, people interviewed, and ways to motivate listeners. Was never much of a runner, but after starting alongside a vegan lifestyle, found this to keep me motivated. These quirky guys cover all kinds of interesting topics and interview people from several walks. I appreciate all that I've learned and always finish a podcast with new insight.

Not the slickest podcast, but it grows on you

by Backcountry Jim on Oct 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

I am really growing to like this podcast. Neither of the host are anything close to professional broadcasters. The production level is middle of the road, but the content is very good. They don't push the vegan ethos too hard, which I appreciate as a nutritarian. The show notes are lacking, so pay attention and make your own notes. It has inspired me to plan for my first marathon at age 59. Just a couple of guys bantering about running, nutrition, and motivation.

Wonderful podcast

by CM_09 on Oct 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love the content Matt and Doug put out. It's helpful, informative, and interesting. I enjoy both the discussion-type episodes and the interview episodes; the variety of formats and topics is great. Keep it up!

Great show!

by AKBnPDX on Oct 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love No Meat Athlete. As others have mentioned, it can be fairly simplistic, but i like the broad scope & variety of guests. I always get something out of each show I listen to!

Salute Your Shorts

by Athic on Oct 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I give you 5 stars just for singing your own rendition, getting some dissent in the recording, and sticking with it anyway!

LOVE this podcast!

by peanut251 on Aug 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great! Lots of good ideas and info. I love to listen (and wear my no meat athlete shirt) when I run!

Best!

by Fthuuh on Aug 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast ever!

Love this podcast

by Thatvegann on Aug 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast, running and veganism couldn't be more tailored to my lifestyle!

Great for Plant Powered Athletes

by blimb on Jul 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great for plant powered athletes (especially those new to plant based diet), but I'm not sure others would get much out of it. For me, the episodes with guests are the ones that I get the most out of. The episodes where Matt and Doug just talk are entertaining, but are not always the most informative for experienced plant powered individuals.

Vegans!

by Pressenter[] on Jul 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really happy to have a source for advice for plant-based running and ultra advice.

Like a conversation among friends!

by SEB & JEB's mom on Jul 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy NMA radio. It seems like a series of conversations I might have over coffee and tea with friends after a run. Love the exchange of ideas and information with Matt and Doug and their guests as my diet becomes more plant based and less processed and I dig deeper into training. Keep up the good work!

Great!

by Az152856sh on Jul 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Very entertaining and informative!