Average rating:

5
out of 1303 ratings.

Scriptnotes, lapping the competition for years.

by Bondtana on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a long time Scriptnotes listener who recently branched out to other screenwriting podcasts. John and Craig are easily lapping every single screenwriting podcast out there, except for one.In a world filled with podcasts hosts of questionable creative authority and intentions, Scriptnotes is as authentic and as valuable as it gets.

Required listening

by Ben Rock on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this poscast for years. It's probably the best podcast about working in the film business out there. I recommend it to everyone I know who wants to pursue working in entertainment.

Like Traveling with a Two Friends

by Kyle_Steel on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to them alllll the time while driving, and not only do they provide great insight into the life of a screenwriter, they’re genuinely fun to listen to. Also Craig loves ventriloquism.

Best screenwriting podcast.. maybe best podcast

by Brandt G. on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Craig and John are really great and awesome!! I got a chance to see them live and they did not disappoint, if you are a screenwriter or really just like movies, you should absolutely listen. Would recommend this podcast to everyone

Really enjoying this so far!

by misterfrearsears on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast for writers and fans of movies and TV.

Now you can take a break from writing to do the dishes but still feel like you’re “moving forward.”

by What's Her Face on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are both intelligent and thoughtful, and give you an honest and grounded look at what life as a screenwriter is like.I especially love the insight into the mechanics of using details to craft engaging stories.

But is it canonically correct?

by FastFollower on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the podcast but just don’t think the main characters we’re believable. Is it too late to recast and reshoot everything!

Mandatory listening for screenwriters

by MattsMacintosh on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John and Craig are two working writers who reveal very helpful, relevant, and timely information about screenwriting. The podcast is also very fun -- John is a perfect gentleman and Craig ain't afraid to tell it like it is. These guys are great. Their special guests are great. Their live events are great. Great great great.

Could listen everyday.... sometimes I do.

by T. Dubs on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a weekly education in screenwriting, and sometimes in just being a decent human being in any business. I’ve gotten so much from John and Craig’s insight not to mention the guests they interview. Kind of the first place to start if you want to be informed about the ins and outs of the screenwriting business.

Perfect

by jagonzalez220 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect podcast in terms of length, content, and sound quality. I’m not Hollywood but feel like I am when I listen. Great insight and great motivation for writers who are not in the business.

Addicted to Scriptnotes

by Nate-isms on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

No matter how busy my week is, I always devour the new episode of Scriptnotes every Tuesday. John and Craig (and all their awesome guests) have taught me so much “about screenwriting and things that are interesting to screenwriters.” And I especially love attending their live events! Thanks, guys!

Invaluable Material for Screenwriters

by jmikael22 on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Archived episodes are full of great pro tips and lessons learned. Highly recommend!

To the show's jingle "This show really rocks!"

by Cstroman1 on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of umbrage. Lots of delightful things. Every once in a while some creeper named "Sexy Craig" shows up and if you are jogging at night, you start looking behind you. Questions and answers and one or two cool things and three page challengers lining up for the firing squad with their scripts held to their chests. It's scriptnotes.

Great!

by bufflord on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Invaluable for a writer. This podcast is like a free film school. Thank you!

I love script notes

by Apple_DMG on May 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast for any writer or director.

Excellent resource for aspiring screenwriters

by NorwayRichard on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast after listening to John Augusts interview on the Nerdist podcast. It’s full of essential information for next aspiring screenwriters. Highly recommended!

Skip the screenwriting books

by desk_writer on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys know what they’re talking about. 90% of my car rides are spent listening to this helpful, creative, insightful podcast.

Is it Tuesday yet?

by Jerkish on Mar 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When the week hits Tuesday and I get in the car on my way to work, my first thought is, I get to listen to a new Scriptnotes today! Craig Mazin and John August have a great repartee and just-different-enough perspectives on things about writing (and world at-large). They keep me engaged and open my thinking about my own writing. I consider the story I'm currently mulling over and how I can apply the techniques or approaches they discuss. They're funny, opinionated and they know thier fonts! This is the first podcast I've listened to on a regular basis, and I feel like I lucked out, struck gold and won the lottery all at once. (Shoot! All cliches!) However, all true. Whether about writing a script, maneuvering Hollywood, or detecting whether John is really a robot, their conversations are not to be missed. Thanks guys!

friggin' amazeballs

by laboopsie on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a screenwriter, and although I do get paid for my writing, it's not what I do to earn my daily bread. That said, having downloaded a few episodes on a whim, I am now totally addicted. I listen when I drive, and have found these conversations so funny, insightful, enlightening and intelligent, I sometimes remaining sit in the car, long after I've pulled into the driveway, unwilling to end the discussion. I felt compelled to write a review so other, nonscreenplay, writers could have a sense of how John and Craig are both educated and engaging. Their words have helped my writing, and my thoughts, and have even made me consider writing a screenplay – just so I could try to get them do a three page critique. Seriously, I've super impressed with both the quality and the caliber of these discussions, and would definitely advise anyone, who has anything to do with words, to take a gander. I wish I was a screenwriter only because I think listening to these two would get me exactly where I wanted to go.Thank you John and thank you Craig, I'm really enjoying our time together in the car.

I can listen in the shower!

by RandyTravisRules on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's not often that I have the urge to hook up my shower-safe bluetooth speaker, but this show has me diving through over 300 episodes throughout the day. Normally, I like to digest as much of the show as I can in the a.m. or in the car, but I will take it on-the-go whenever I can. John and Craig are really helpful with their insights, which matches the real life personas that they carry across to social media, where they happen to be attentive and, above all else, clever. Love the show, can't recommend it enough.

these guys are awesome

by staciInseattle on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast for screenwriters out there. Real world stories and interviews with other big name experts.

Great and thought content but...

by CJ3721 on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great and thoughtful content but the audio quality can use a lot of improvement.

Not just for Writers but everyone in the Biz

by Pam Tierney on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an actor, I have learned so much from this podcast, not only about the business in general but about the creative side from the writers perspective. I have taken lessons learned and applied them to my part of the creation process, bringing a writer’s words to life. This is a very information dense podcast with just the right amount of silliness thrown in. Thank you Gentlemen for your service to those coming behind you.

Bloody well done.

by Jhgfdsg on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best thing they do is take the mystery out of the profession and make the writing process accessible. Thank you.

Came for the writing advice, stayed for the people.

by PatRodgersBBallGuy on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these guys! I was originally directed to their pod by FilmRiot on a list of most affordable resources for learning film craft. I ended up paying the two bucks a month for the back episodes and it was totally worth it.While I haven’t ventured into writing a screenplay, they helped me so much in my creative writing class by constantly reminding me of the elements that make a great story. It made my short stories pack so much more of a punch. I came for writing tips but I have grown to love listening to these two people and their personalities. They have also made my critical evaluation skills much better and made me slower to trash a movie or story and have made me overall a more optimistic person.Even the stuff that has nothing to do with writing is so entertaining. I recommend the episode on homeopathic medicine. Just fantastic.

The cheapest (and best) film school

by Blacker Blake on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want to be a screenwriter and you’re thinking about going to film school, listen to this podcast first. If you’re in film school, listen to this podcast. I attended film school and the deadlines and the peer groups and some of the instruction was helpful, but I have learned far more about the craft of screenwriting and how Hollywood actually works from John and Craig. If you’re serious about pursuing screenwriting this podcast is a MUST. I promise you will feel so much more informed and prepared for the struggles ahead if you’re guided by these two working professionals who are basically donating their time to help you.

Great Resource

by skiphunt on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not sure how I found this podcast… I think it was via searching for info about the Fountain.io markup stuff. Anyway, I'm hooked and have added this podcast to my regular playlist. I have not interfaced with Craig Mazin, but John August has been very generous and helpful with his time. Thanks for putting this podcast out, have found most of it very helpful. :)

Best Podcast on Screenwriting

by Raptor2039 on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply put: this is the best podcast in the genre. You get wonderful insight from actual screenwriters, yes real working professional screenwriters.Typically you can only find advice about writing from "gurus" with IMDb credits as long as a film student, top 10 lists churned out by rejected screenwriters turned screenplay competition blogger or aspiring screenwriter/filmmakers who are in the same boat as you are. Forget all that garbage and just listen to this. Good day!

Box of Bisquik

by Woodywood123 on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Am I the only one who deleted this podcast after 3 episodes because, while the information was useful, I just couldn't get past John August's manner of speaking like he just swallowed a box of Bisquik. Sometimes he is barely intelligible! Good thing he's a writer. A shame, I would have liked to be a follower.

The best advice I can give you...

by Israel Curtis on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

During a meeting with one of John’s former assistants - a now highly successful writer/director, I asked what their best piece of advice is for someone new to the entertainment business. They started to tell me a few philosophies they live their life by — negotiate from strength, don’t be a jerk and don’t be a robot— but then stopped abruptly, and said “you know, you should just listen to the Scriptnotes podcast by John August. John wrote Big Fish. That’ll teach you way more than anything I could tell you right now.” 2 years later, I’ve learned more about writing and show business listening to Scriptnotes than I could’ve in 4 years of film school and I’m so grateful for that.

John and Craig are great

by Bbeats on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks, guys.

The Definitive Screenwriting Bible

by Zhaboka on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John and Craig are highly specific examples of successful Hollywood screenwriters, but they nonetheless excel at generalizing on the craft from a place of deep experience and wisdom.

Should you give up?

by JuanitaJenkins on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great episode. Interesting points made. I love the idea that being a professional writer comes from writing and not the other way around. I'm a writer, even if I never get paid and never write anything great. It helps me order my thoughts and experiences.

Excellent!

by Rhinosaraus on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this to every writer I know. The advice deals with writing on a fundamental level which makes it useful to any kind of writer. The inside knowledge of movie writing is spectacular for any screenwriter.

Informative and deeply entertaining

by AD Bastidas on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're serious about screenwriting or writing in general, these two guys are going to be your best mentors. By the way, if you're planning going to film school, you should listen to a bunch of these episodes. If you're still interested, then go ahead, but I've learnt way more with John and Craig in this podcast than in school. Keep bringing Tuesdays happiness guys.

A "Stuart Special" Review

by Rasdane on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

INT. REMAINS OF A PODCAST STUDIO - DAYBroken furniture lies scattered across the destroyed room. The lights flicker and a bulb explodes, sending sparks cascading down -- causing two crumpled bodies on the floor to stir. Blodied and bruised, JOHN and CRAIG clamber to their feet. They plomp into their chairs, which may or may not have been on fire recently. A long beat. John taps the microphone on the table. It still works.JOHN... That's our show for this week. Our show is produced by Godwin Jabangwe --CRAIG(weakly)Wo-hoo.JOHN-- and edited by Matthew Chilelli.CRAIGYea-heah.He picks out and discards a broken tooth. John has passed out in his chair. Craig slides back to the floor overcome by a coughing fit.FADE TO:INT. PODCAST STUDIOThe same room, but everything pristinely clean, all mid-century clean lines. In their chairs, John and Craig are handsome as f**k (but don't know it).SUPERIMPOSED: One Hour EarlierJOHNHello and welcome. My name is John August.CRAIG(unhinged scream)My name is Craig Mazin!JOHNAnd this is Episode 666 of Scriptnotes, a podcast about screenwriting and things that are interesting to screenwriters.

Cheaper and more informative than film school

by T. L. Jacobson on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast I listen to, been listening for years. John and Craig never fail to teach me something new while providing interesting, thoughtful perspectives with entertaining banter. A must listen for anyone ranging from aspiring writer to casual film fan.

Great for screenwriters and movie fans alike

by Jillalalala on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm very remiss because I've been listening for about four years and I've never written a review. This was the first podcast I ever heard. I stumbled on it via John's blog and loved it so much I listened to the same episode twice (and then I figured out how podcasts work). My first impression was that this one guy (John) is really nice but this other guy (Craig) is a dream killer. It's funny to think of it now because I don't feel that way at all anymore. Craig is a realist but very principled and doesn't want aspiring writers to get taken advantage of. Now, together, they are my cheerleaders and my (necessary) dream killers at the same time. In the last four years, I've (mostly) come to terms with the fact that I'm not going to be a working screenwriter and that's ok. But I won't stop listening to my favorite podcast. In fact, I was really depressed after the presidential election and for some reason, I really wanted to hear John and Craig's reassuring thoughts. They did not disappoint. This has gotten rambling but I will conclude by saying it's nice to have two voices of sanity and reason in this crazy world. Would recommend for aspiring screenwriters and others.

Free Screenwriting Classes

by Tim : ) on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I know Craig only does this podcast for the massive amount of money he makes on it, but I still appreciate the effort.

This is the best thing I have found re:screenwriting

by canibedonenowplz on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If there is a better thing, I want that thing, too. But I don’t think there’s a better thing.

Worth More than the Price of Admission

by Brett H Harris on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who aspires to become a better writer and devote more time to learning the craft than my current schedule allows (the time my family is asleep), I've found Scriptnotes to be a worthwhile guide to the ins and outs of storytelling both on the screen and beyond. I'd also argue that despite the recent release of the Listeners' Guide (I was sold on Scriptdex too, Craig), episodes 307-309 are a miniseries on excellent storytelling worthy of an appendix to the Listeners' Guide. I've listened to each episode multiple times and keep rolling over the ideas in my head. If you have ever wanted to become a better writer and/or to make as much money as Craig does for his contributions to the team while being thoroughly entertained, this podcast can be your guide.

More Umbrage, Por Favor

by Alexander Snogglefork on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really a great show with a lot of insight into the process and business of screenwriting. Have to admit, I wouldn't mind a little more umbrage, as long as it doesn't raise Craig's blood pressure too much.

My favorite podcast

by ketchup king on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts great content

just fun to listen

by JM95000 on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy listening to John and Craig and their guests as they give tips and talk inside baseball about screenwriting.

So helpful

by Pandoraaj009 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an awesome and inspiring podcast. I've learned so much about the business and storytelling.

Smart and Informed

by MetaMotivation on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the things I like about listening to this podcast is the detail oriented nature of both of the hosts thought process. I love that there are discussions about double dashes versus ellipses, or whether to use "(continued)," and, of course, the Oxford comma. Both these men obviously love words and expressing themselves with words. AND they both know a great deal about being a screenwriter.Thank you.

Gold standard

by omjulie on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The gold standard of screenwriting podcasts. Practically essential listening.

the only podcast you need...

by dproii on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

all screenwriters, professional or amateur, should be listening to john and craig weekly. insightful, brutally honest, and hilarious, every week offers something new that you can immediately apply to any project you're currently working on. i cannot thank them enough.

Written on my Heart... and USB drive.

by Spanky Ward on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Shortly after discovering Scriptnotes, I purchased the 250 episode USB drive and have now spent the last year or so catching up from episode 1. I listen every day in my car and I'm just about to episode 200. The podcast is the only thing I enjoy about driving. The only bad thing is, I've missed so many opportunities over the years of live listening. Like submitting scripts for charitable donations. I would have jumped at those opportunities. I've started listening to the newly released episodes as well, so I don't miss out on such things in the future. And I’m determined to make it to one of the live shows. Not easy since I'm in Utah. Keep up the informative information and ubiquitous umbrage. Thanks for everythingSpanky Ward

Invaluable Resource for Aspiring Screenwriters

by Isaac Lipnick on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This highly entertaining and incredibly informative podcast is a delightful exception to the rule that "free advice is usually worth exactly what you paid for it." Of course you can buy a subscription on their app ($1.99/month) to get access to all of the nearly 300 episode library and you'd be crazy not to. I'm still working my way backward in between the new shows and I have yet to be let down. If you're like me and still learning about the process, craft, art and business of screenwriting then I STRONGLY RECOMMEND listening to Scriptnotes. Come for the knowledge; stay for Segueman and Sexy Craig! You'll laugh a lot, you might cry (or even experience umbrage), but no matter what: you'll always learn about way more than just "one cool thing."