Average rating:

5
out of 1067 ratings.

Good content, exceedingly poor production value

by SIglesias on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have to say, as much as I enjoy the content of this show, Horace's insistence on recording "on the go," or, puzzlingly, on his Apple headphones while at home, lend weight to the expression "phoning it in." Foregrounding the amateurishness of production detracts from and directly contradicts the subject matter.

Jefferson Airplane

by Ikefrom on Dec 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

There is a powerful undertone of unrelenting optimism in Horace’s work. He is a rare mix of scientist, humanist and a toolmaker. Anders is delightful co-host that enriches Horace’s insights for our listening enjoyment. Truly great.

I never miss 'Critical Path'

by MyDogBen on Sep 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

It's a Master Class in business analysis. I'm don't have an MBA, but I find it spell-binding, current, and fun.

Ahhh

by Dd 211 on Aug 21, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

You say ahhhh and uhhhhmm tooo much

Insight and Education

by KAJoneslaw on Jun 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is about so much more than Apple. It is about changing the way you see the world... from jobs to be done theroy to disruption to innovation... listent closely and the whole world will look diffent.

Great show that needs an editor

by in the belfry on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Horace has a remarkable mind and fascinating approaches to many topics. But his writing is often much better than the podcast, which meanders and repeats itself frequently. A stronger producer, co-host or just additional prep would go a long way toward making it a better listen.

Ep 167 - Rocky II

by noahwankenobi on Dec 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The best episode ever. Performing an iPad pro review, ad reads and all, while doing battle with a flying squirrel. This sets a new bar.

Critical Path Is My New Obsession...

by rjonard on Oct 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Clayton Christensen’s books, The Innovator’s Dilemma, The Innovator’s Solution, and See What’s Next, were required reading in my MBA program, I find this podcast to be really helpful in digesting those theories and thinking critically about applying it. I think Horace Dediu is really insightful and explains himself clearly. This is a good resource if you want to learn more about innovation. You should also check out his website and his twitter feed @asymco.

Tremendously useful, but...

by lyonsinbeta on May 26, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

I don't love Horace's delivery style. He's brilliant and insightful and I value his contributions, but I just don't jive with his speaking style. That being said, what he has to say is useful enough that I still listen every week.

Don't get confused by the title - it's an amazing education podcast...

by RomanMel on Jan 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

...like no other: Horace Dediu (@asymco) is keeping us up-to-date with the basics of disruption theory & job-to-be-done theory. Apple serves as a wonderful backdrop for thr consistent education in how to loook at the (business) world around us and understand the rules od success. Awesome source of inspiration and though food.

AUDIO QUALITY…. Makes a sad face

by Sari and Orange on Dec 06, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is one of the 80 or so podcasts I subscribe to. I listen every week. But the phone calls and poor audio quality make it hard to understand, uncomfortable and often skippable.Thanks for the great content! @orangeposer

Wrong Medium for Horace

by Marvin Bogner on Nov 03, 2014
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Horace is a brilliant analyst, but I don't understand the purpose of this podcast. Why have a co-host who is not similarly skilled and rarely speaks? And why a podcast given Horace's distracting "uhms." It's not his natural medium. He can't even recite the ads without an "uhm" every few words.Time is limited and precious. Horace would be better served publishing more on Asymco, including rehearsed and polished padcasts (no uhms please). At this point, I suspect he could charge for Asymco if he published daily.

Simple Brilliance

by Febsee on Oct 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace is one of the greatest thinkers of our time.

The perfect pairing

by J. Becker on Aug 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace offers some of the most interesting, thoughtful commentary on the tech industry. Very few people communicate about the business of technology for a broad audience as clearly. Fewer still bother to ground their analysis on actual evidence rather than empty speculation. Horace brings the goods, and is always clear about analysis and interpretation v. conjecture and less supported ideas.Another thing that's great about Horace is his use of cultural studies, history, story telling, and other industries to inform his analysis. This is where Moisés joins in as the perfect pairing. Fluent in the world of technology, but also in art, film, and anthropology, Moisés is often able to provide valuable counter examples and help steer the conversation toward an interesting look at contrasts or compliments to a pattern that Horace is working through understanding within tech.Plus, you can tell how much they both enjoy the show and appreciate their audience. Major points.Easily one of my favorite podcasts.

I've started from episode 1

by Kseniya Andryushyna on Aug 28, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, topics don't get old!

I couldn't listen anymore.

by Uldis Trapencieris on May 28, 2014
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sometimes it makes me cry while listening, how great Horace is in his thinking. Could not listen anymore because of Moises noise. Dan would just let Horace talk and all was great, not anymore...

Please Let Horace Talk!

by Firesoda on Apr 21, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

The Critical Path is the main reason why I started listening to 5by5 podcasts. Horace is a genius, he knows what he is talking about. My only complaint lies with Moises. Please Moises, let the man talk and stop the rambling. We understand - you know comics and movies, but please, the only reason why we listen to this podcast is because of Horace. I couldn't take it anymore and had to stop after 35 minutes. Hope the next episode is better.

Think....

by mjbiren on Feb 04, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

....it's not illegal yet. Love this stuff. So much to learn.

Recommended!

by billchouca on Jan 16, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Takes a critical and MBA-like approach to analysis. Recommended!

Critical Path Fans should also check out Cubed podcast 10, where Horace is interviewed

by Jared Porter on Nov 24, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace joins Ben Bajarin and Benedict Evans on their (always worthwhile) “Cubed" podcast #10. IMO you will hear “the three smartest guys in the room!” Check it out, it is a GREAT episode!!!Jared PorterShelton, WA

Moises! Back off please.

by hammerhead16 on Oct 17, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Moises, you need to stop rambling so, so much - it's getting painful. Luckily, the radio in my car lets me fast forward. Sorry to be so blunt. Otherwise, this podcast is topnotch.

Fantastic

by Disapointeddd on Oct 08, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to Horace makes you smarter.

Feed your business mind the highest quality food.

by Ubeenfranked on Jun 19, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace Dediu's analysis of Apple's industry and competitive landscape is worth its weight in gold for business thinkers interested in disruption theory. It is a pleasure to hear the dulcet tones of Dediu's musing on markets, like a soothing melody. I always feel smarter after each hour-long podcast, and can't wait for each episode to learn what Horace thinks about current events and newly released data.

Revised review...still the best

by Geevz on May 17, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

The Critical Path is, without a doubt and after two years running, still my favorite listening experience. Horace and Moises, thanks so much making the podcast a weekly treat. I have never missed a minute. I skip THOUGH other podcasts but I skip BACK and listen again to this one.Horace, Moises... Nicely done.Dan... top shelf sir!

Deep thinking on a wider range of topics than you might think

by aalexorr on May 16, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace Dediu continues to bring extremely insightful thinking to the mobile world and other industries. One can't listen to these podcasts without learning something new that has applications well beyond the specifics of the show.Great way to make my commute a productive time!

Consistently Insightful

by asterox on Apr 15, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful analysis and a real passion for understanding fuel this podcast. Big fan since the beginning and it's still going very strong.

Calm, even-handed, insight-dense.

by vslist on Apr 09, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

And all of that delivered conversationally. This is among a rare breed of podcasts worth repeated listenings and saving for future reference.

Refreshing analysis.

by Foolio on Apr 02, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace really has a special mind. He must have been a creative artist in another life before he was an analyst. Some really philosophical stuff lately on the nature of life and death and disruption in business and life.

Better than video games

by TheSilverAddiction on Mar 21, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I like to listen to Horace while I drive to work. Or while I enjoy a candy bar. It's good for all times. Horace is a cool name. I like it a lot, but my wife wouldn't let me name our son Horace. Sorry. I tried.

Excellent insights

by Alex_Rosenberg on Feb 27, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace is one of a kind. Just an amazing podcast.

Perfect

by shippy_ship on Feb 06, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfection in podcast form!

Thought-provoking

by Mrs.DeepBlue on Jan 27, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I've worked in the technology industry for many years and like to think I have a good handle on it. I am often annoyed by journalists and bloggers that think one small change in the supply chain spells doom for a company. I found this podcast by accident and am very impressed with the depth and thoughtfulness of the analysis. The discussions are, in my opinion, riveting. Well done.

Too bad it's not

by IGITI on Jan 22, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

The hypercritical path. Still Los though.

Most thoughtful analysis

by smantena1 on Jan 09, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most thoughtful business analysis podcast.

Awesome

by aroonicus on Jan 07, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

So much information and knowledge.

Great high level analysis

by BrokenRhino on Dec 31, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

He really makes it interesting. Love this one.

Superb

by Hepucoa on Dec 21, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace is one of the best thinkers on the world of mobile computing on the net right now. I look forward to every podcast. I also happen to really enjoy the insights he provides to other industries - he's got a great way of looking at issues. He also happens to be a really humble and lovely guy. Absolutely worth checking out.

Excellent

by David Brunow on Dec 14, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace will make you smarter by exposing you to a variety of novel ideas, all backed with meticulously cultivated data.No matter what you do, I would recommend this podcast as a must listen.

King

by Miken661 on Nov 17, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome show. I can't wait for each new episode.

A truly unique perspective

by andyman1080 on Nov 03, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace brings forth insights that really nobody else offers.

Speculation based on methodology

by MarcusAureus on Oct 25, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

It is fun to hear a Analyst that predicts Apple's future based on some facts and method. As opposed to so many other Analysts who appear to use Tea leaves, Tarot cards and a weegie board.

Genius

by ruffoj926 on Oct 18, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Still my favorite show

Episode 59

by BruceMcL on Oct 16, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

The interview with Jean-Lois Gassee is very good. Not to be missed if you are interested in the origins of the personal computer.

So much better now that Dan's moved on

by lunun on Oct 16, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan was so completely out of his depth that I somehow found his voice more annoying on this show than any of the others. Glad he was smart enough to know he wasn't needed.

Intelligent, analytical, wide-ranging discussions

by VishArya on Oct 14, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

A must-listen every week. Without fail.

More than Mobile

by gregparks on Oct 06, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

While this show does focus on mobile computing, it's about so much more. The insights, analysis and business strategy that are contained in every show can be applied to just about anything, including personal relationships, careers and growth.

Best of show

by stevdina on Sep 22, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Horace continues to knock it out of the park -- I've listened to every episode and as clear, insightful and brilliant as the early shows were, the recent ones continually floor me w ever-improving quality analysis.If you're serious about mobile tech fr a biz analytics, platform-oriented paradigm, this is it. Horace rules.

Spectacular display of analytical mind power

by Roman R. (NY) on Aug 29, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the only podcast I am currently subscribed to. Horace has an intuitive grasp of how data can be observed, measured, manipulated to provide meaningful implications, and subsequently put to the test of historical perspective. In many ways he is the quintessential Analyst of Tomorrow.Equally important, Dan is an excellent host who allows Horace to complete his sometimes expansive arks of thought without turning the programs into soliloquies.This podcast is an excellent complement to the Asymco blog, but stands equally well on its own. I recommend it highly.Thank you Dan and Horace!

The Best One

by rgigger on Aug 26, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far my favorite podcast. It's changed the way i see the world. As far as business goes it is more inspiring than anything else that I have read or listened to. Start from episode one and move in from there. You will not be disappointed.

Very Highly Recommended!!!

by Idkidd on Aug 15, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. Dediu continues to impress me with his genuine curiosity and also his kind spirit: both of these traits radiate from The Critical Path. While constantly looking at pieces of a larger puzzle (or multiple puzzles) and looking for connections and insights to grasp that larger picture and deliver insights and answers, Mr. Dediu does so in a way in which he NEVER comes across as arrogant or a "know it all". In fact, if you can prove him wrong or provide a reason he should question his own data or assumptions, I genuinely believe nothing would make him happier. The Critical Path is truly a pleasure to listen to.