Average rating:

5
out of 191 ratings.

Surely a Gold Standard for Film Discussion

by Jon Ravensbottom on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an outstanding podcast.  I've lost track of how many films I have sought out after listening to this show.  Mike White is an incredible talent.  His interviews exemplify what good film interviews used to be like before the need for sound bytes and the limitations of social media blurred the focus of film analysis.  The long format is a throwback to the thorough and in-depth conversation-based talk show formatting of the pre-attention deficit era.  It is a joy to listen to this show regardless as to whether I am familiar with, or a fan of, the films that are covered.  The hosts are insightful and fun.  They know the material.  The pacing and editing are excellent.  I love this show.

Film Geek Paradise!

by Amusement Films on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just recently discovered this podcast (but I've known the host Mike White for years). I can't get over how well researched and fun this podcast is! First I just downloaded movies I loved and skipped ones I didn't really care for. But there was just so much info I had to keep going! So even if I wasn't really interested in the film they were covering I found the podcast fascinating anyway. Love the format. The start with a friendly talk about how they first saw the film and what it meant to them (very nostalgic)-then Mike moves on to engaging interviews with folks that either wrote books on the topics or actually worked on the productions. Inside stories (yes, gossip too) and great history of how the project came about. Then they return to the original group and they sum up the film and what the actors/directors/writers are up to now. Mike is a great interviewer! He’s a true fan (like his listeners) so he asks the questions we want to hear. This has quickly become my favorite podcast! These things are long so maybe you can’t finish it in one sitting. But that’s okay, always happy to return to this and take up where it left off! Highly recommend!!

The Gold Standard

by Eric Reviews a Podcast on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The ideal podcast for any cinephile. Most episodes focus on one film. The first segment features commentary fom the co-hosts and are then followed by interviews with people who worked on the production. The commentary and devotion to studying film as an art form are unparralled. Unlike other podcasts there is no pointless "How Was Your Week" type banter, nor a bunch of dudes playing armchair comedian. These discussion bridge the gap between mere "movie reviews" and stuffy academic discourses on theory. For beginners I would suggest looking up your favorite films and see if they have been covered. Here a few episodes I would reccomend: Rollerball, They Live, , The Limey, Reservoir Dogs, The Warriors, and Star Trek II. If you like Star Wars or Conan the Barbarian - don't miss those marathon episodes.

Great film podcast. Well researched although critical analysis can be lacking.

by BA Black on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Mike White, the creator of the Projection Booth puts a lot of work into this podcast and it shows. He does a lot of research and gets ahold of some really fantastic guests to interview on the show. He is a good interviewer, friendly, knowledgeable, and asks insightful questions. This has the accumulated effect of making some of the episodes must listen bonus material for the movie they are covering. Where the podcast leaves something to be desired is in the critical analysis which is often really lacking. Mike will sometimes make bizarre provocative statements seemingly in service of nothing. The area of expertise for Mike and his co-host Rob St Mary (who sadly has left the show, another blow to well rounded criticism) is clearly popular and cult films from the late 20th century (roughly the 60s through 90s). Their coverage of earlier films is very poor. They just don't seem to have the knowledge on the cultural context of the times to talk about these movies intelligently. I'd rather see Mike cover more 21st century films and leave 30s, 40s and 50s cinema to someone else (please don't do any silent movies either).Another suggestion if I may, it would be great if you could return to 1.5 to 2 hour episodes with the extra dumped into a bonus content file. Some of the interviews could seriously be cut down with the discussion going way way Way off topic.

Perhaps the best movie podcast.

by AndySSF on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If there is a movie review podcast that is more thorough, works harder than this one then I've yet to hear it. Fantastic.

Great movie discussion

by Section109 on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Educated and intelligent without being snobbish.

Great companion to my days activities

by Kanardous on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't listen to many long form shows, my schedule doesn't allow for much more than 30-40 minutes of listening at a time. On those days I am in one place and I can listen to a nice, long, interesting show - this is alway my first pick. Informative, entertaining and fun.

A Valuable Resource For Film Fanatics

by HarryinChicago on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the way this podcast takes deep dives into films and the creative people behind them. They have great interviews with the artists, biographers and film critics.

A Great Resource

by Parentinok on Sep 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth isn't a podcast I listen to devotedly every week because that's not what it is. Its large expansive coverage over one movie takes a lot of time to listen to and it's up to you to choose which movies you'd like to explore further. The episodes on SMILE and ROCK AND ROLL HIGH SCHOOL are particular personal favorites where I learned much more about the movies and the context/situations they were made. They are entertaining and the hosts are good interviewers who let the guests have most of the airtime. Forget film school, ten of these shows are good for a year of credits.

The Best Film Podcast.... without compare!

by bittercinema on Sep 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of movie podcasts, and there are a lot of really good ones out there, but The Projection Booth is by far the only one I listen to with any regularity. It's like a special features disc of your favorite Criterion Collection release. Mike and his co-hosts take a hard deep look at one movie, have a ton of interviews with creators, critics, and experts, and packaged in a very professional sounding production. They do shows on films from canonical classics like The Magnificent Ambersons, Le Samourai, and Vertigo to low-rent guttersnipe productions like Water Power and Orgy of the Dead. And it's all very facinating! I'm not at all crazy about the Milius and Schwarzenegger Conan the Barbarian, but I'll be damned if I didn't listen to the ENTIRE 5+ hour mega-episode. Very highly recommended!!

The absolute best movie podcast out there

by maestro1184 on Aug 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is hands down the best movie podcast. They cover so many different genres across so many years, from obscure movies to blockbusters.My favorite part of the show is the interviews. I love hearing what it was like for a given film straight from an actor or director. Even if I haven't seen the film being talked about, it's a great listen.

Great podcast.

by Slappymacgee on Jun 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show! Smart commentary, in depth interviews, and great production.

Support this show!

by Derek Buhrke on Jun 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is beautifully crafted to give you a true audio experience. A wonderful companion to the films they cover...subscribe!

Great movie podcast!

by Elwood P. Dowd, Jr. on Apr 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is awesome! Wide range of films covered, from classics to cult titles to contemporary movies. Thoroughly researched, very entertaining, and always informative. Keep up the great work, Projection Booth!

Next Level

by Uncle Tanner on Feb 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has an amazing list, and long-standing history, of movies that have been reviewed. It's obvious how serious these guys take their podcast and bring that next level of professionalism that anyone would be hard-pressed to match. If your movie buff, this is a mandatory subscribe. Looking forward to more and thanks for producing such great content

A True Exploration of Film

by Fake_Shemp on Feb 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is one of the finest podcasts exploring films of all types. The hosts produce consistently high quality in-depth reviews of all genres of films supplimented with interviews from actors, directors and critics. They are almost meticulous in their discussions, frequently referenceing written source material, scripts, sequels, remakes and influences of important films. This prodcast is an amazing resource and one that helps in the discovery (or rediscovery) of films for anyone who enjoys thinking about cinema.

Excellent movie podcast

by blacklodge18 on Jan 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining and informative! Great details on it's movie subject. You can tell a lot of work goes into this. Well recommended for movie lovers!

A True Movie Podcast & best around

by SundanceOdyssey on Dec 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Gives an actual in-depth look at movies opposed to taking cheap shots that most other movie podcasts take. From interviews to history, this podcast takes no shortcut in producing outstanding content. How they haven't become more widely recognized is beyond me. Truly excellent.

Top Notch Film Talk Without the B.S.!

by The Cubist on Oct 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re look for film obsessives talking at length and in detail about various movies then look no further. These guys know their stuff, have strong opinions and talk about film in a way that feels conversational. Highlights for me, include an in-depth look at THE ROCKETEER, complete with an interview with director Joe Johnston and a 3+ hr. look at Michael Mann’s MANHUNTER with an interview with actor Tom Noonan. Some great stuff just waiting for you to dive in and enjoy.

The BEST movie podcast.

by spacesuit on Sep 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

A completely unpretentious, yet fully comprehensive look at films from all genres...fantastic work, gentleman.

Hands Down the most inclusive, detailed cinephile podcast ever.

by Cort Psyops on Jun 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth with Mike and Rob will amaze and astound you with this obsessively detailed and lovingly produced podcast that they deliver on a weekly basis. The interviews and behind the scenes stories contained within will give you a whole new insight and love of your favorite films as well as new found appreciation of films you may have loathed before they covered it. If there is only one podcast about movies and cinema that you listen to, make it this one!

el mejor!!

by mizzoutiger89 on May 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Don’t know how they have time to put all this together week to week. By far the best film podcast I’ve found….now if you guys would just stop wasting time on forgettable movies and put all that energy into the good stuff. Loved the star wars episode. Can’t give a good synopsis on the nuts and bolts of the podcast, just listen to one and you’ll see why it’s so good.

Makes you want to see the film (or see it again)

by Randm333 on May 25, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to many episodes of The Projection Booth, including the recent one on Star Wars, and it is by far my favorite podcast and one of my favorite places to enjoy a discussion of film. After listening to an episode you want to go back and see the film or watch it for the first time. Loved what how they used voices in "The Magnificent Ambersons" episode, the look back at VHS (both episodes), the reviews and discussion between Mike, Rob and their guests and the interviews with filmmakers and film historians. A treasure for fans of film and folks interested in conversations about culture.

Best of the best

by Dr34mv3iL on May 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is one of my absolute favorite podcasts for the amount of depth they go into each movie they discuss. It took me a while to get into because they tend to only talk about offbeat or lesser known films, but after checking out a few of my favorite films I'm hooked. They get tons of interviews from people that worked on the films or other related experts and it's just really incredible the lengths they go to to present the most informative podcast around. The only problem is that once you're hooked your movie watching schedule will be dictated by what they talk about on the show, because once you fall in love like I have you'll want to be able to listen to every episode!

My favorite podcast

by Kbdudz32 on Apr 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to podcasts all day at work and I always look forward to Wednesday because it means a new Projection Booth. Mike and Rob always make it an interesting show whether I love (Robocop), hate (Fire Walk With Me), or haven't seen (Waterpower) the movie. Every gives their opinion without sounding douchey and the interviews are great too. If you love movies and podcasts than subscribe and enjoy.

A MOVIE ADDICTS DREAM

by Happy Dallas on Apr 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not sure where these guys came from but cannot be more blown away by this show. Week after week I'm mesmerized by the focus given great films and questionable ones alike but every episode is a learning and entertaining experience. I've since gone back and watched a dozen old favorite films and many I missed along the way. Thank you Projection Booth and everyone who is a fan of films should watch this show. By the way I never would have found you if it wasn't for MOVIE GEEKS UNITED (my other favorite movie podcast).

the projection booth

by Brianmoore on Apr 03, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

If you think you know everything about a certain movie, you are wrong. This podcast gives great insight on well known classic cult movies and some not so well known fringe films. Great interviews, great panel discussions, great podcast.

Projection Booth review

by J Morbid on Mar 27, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike and Rob put out perhaps the most professional, well researched film podcast out there. It's incredible, the sheer amount of content in each episode (the Conan episode was AMAZING). I wish I could go higher than 5 stars.

Subscribe if you are a film lover

by Adam Lounsbery on Mar 26, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is the best podcast out there if you are a serious film lover. They cover all genres and all eras; drama, comedy, film noir, foreign, horror, science fiction, action, and even the occasional '70s porn. Don't let the length of some of the episodes deter you. This isn't a podcast where the hosts burn an hour cracking jokes or talking about their personal lives. Each episode is a lively and in-depth discussion of the film at hand that stays on topic. Best of all, there are usually some pretty great interviews with people who were directly involved with the film. If you're looking for somewhere to start, I recommend the First Blood episode ("Flooding With Love for First Blood, Son"), the Blade Runner "Special Report," the episode on Eyes Wide Shut, or the episode on Reservoir Dogs with its accompanying music mix, "K-Billy Super Sounds of the 70s." But generally every episode is pretty good, so find a movie you like and listen to that one.

A fantastic resource

by torkudapesh on Mar 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The amount of work and effort that goes into this podcast is something to behold. Interviews, critiques, music, trailers... these are just the tip of the encyclopediac completeness each episode holds. It's also really fun.

Amazing

by Louis Fer on Feb 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Have mostly been downloading eps dealing with films I'm familiar with from previous viewing. Multiple spoilers abound, so caution advised if you aren't familiar with film in question.

great

by bullhorn69 on Feb 02, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

my favorite film podcast - no leg pulling - they do their research, are smart, insightful, entertaining, and not pretentious in the least.

Like a commentary track that’s better than the movie

by Mistah Pete on Jan 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike and Rob dig into some classics and some not-so-classics, and each time come up with tidbits and info that any fan of the film would want to know. In fact, even if you’re not a fan of the film they’re discussing, you always find out something fun and exciting.

Take a step inside… THE PROJECTION BOOTH!

by Robert T. Ward on Jan 10, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Are you looking for a new film podcast? Are you looking for the most in-depth reviews possible? Have no fears- you have stuck the ultimate goldmine as THE PROJECTION BOOTH is single-handily the greatest film podcast you could ever listen to or could possibly want to. Every week, THE PROJECTION BOOTH takes a look at a personal favorite or cult classic film and performs an extensive review and breakdown on the film at hand with a handful of personal or subject-related interviews with those eternally tied with them. From directors, actors or biographers, we the listeners are provided with unprecedented looks behind the scenes that only one podcast can give, THE PROJECTION BOOTH. Our current two hosts, Mike White and Rob St. Mary are two of the most friendly and knowledgable hosts who always approach the week's episode with the hope of showcasing it to a wider audience. Being two hosts with a history in film journalism, Rob & Mike will make you find yourself in awe with the delicate love and concern that they (and that week's guest host) give as they explore what is it that makes an enduring film and why an evaluation in is order.So if you want in-depth reviews, interviews, unabashed Detroitists, more obscure music that somehow ties into the film of the week than you can image- listen to THE PROJECTION BOOTH for the finest podcast online that delves deeper into established or modern classics than anyone else- today!

Best in Class

by JJMaillis on Jan 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is the highest quality film podcast around. I love the focus on cult films, witty informative banter, and amazing interviews.

If the guru's at your local vhs rental shop time traveled...

by MldManneredYeti on Dec 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

And they kinda did! Mike and Justin, who both have extensive histories with film (both as filmmakers and scholars) review some well known, and not so well known gems and follies in a weekly podcast that does not disappoint. They cover the gambit of genres and eras of films. They invite interesting guests and conduct interviews that make you want to revisit films you forgot you'd enjoyed, and makes you want to hunt down the ones that you'd never heard of before. Highly recommended.

Get a grammer book

by Dashbug on Dec 13, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like this podcast. However I find it ironic that during a review of Idiocracy about the dumbing of our society, one of the commentators kept using goes instead said and never lost an opportunity to say like. Perhaps he was just making a statement or maybe the message of the movie was true.

Only True Source of Entertainment

by Travis Ayers on Dec 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast over the summer and absolutely fell in love with it! The reviews and discussions are 100 percent accurate. The discussion has led myself plenty of times to seek out films that I have personally never seen. To sum everything up this is this absolute best podcast regarding anything in the world of film and you should not miss an episode!

Great podcast!

by PADad1976 on Dec 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

"The Projection Booth" delves into a new film each week, with a thoroughness that you won't find in many podcasts. They include interviews, insightful discussions, and all manner of peripheral information about a movie, it's director, and more. Highly recommended.

Trifecta

by galapogosian on Dec 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is not just 2 guys rapping about movies. It's thoughtful film choices and insightful commentary supplemented with guest interviews of the people that made the magic.

A podcast by students of film for students of film

by AntiRelusionist on Sep 05, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I literally spent years listening to podcasts like Slash Film and Filmspotting, always disappointed by the quality of the discussion, but without being able to point to a specific reason...until I found these guys. In depth, smart, and no cutting corners. Projection booth has all the juicy discussion you've been dying to find. Hope you guys keep up the great work!

Movie dissection for the mature pallet

by Megan_Maggot on Aug 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

So layered, dense and topically diverse. Not for amateurs or insouciant movie mooks.

Best Podcast on movies...period

by DHaugen on Jul 16, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Superbly done podcast on genre films, simply the best podcast of it's kind. Highly recommended. The hosts are knowledgeable and are respectful of the films they cover, they give equal attention and appreciation to art films on through soft-core porn to Blaxploitation.Where else would one get heady reviews of Black Shampoo and Holy Mountain? Great guest and too-notch production puts this podcast in a class of it’s own. Great work fellas!

A podcast worth your time

by carnivorous lunar activity on Jul 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

These guys put a lot of time and effort into their shows, and it pays off each episode with lively discussions packed with insight and done with passion. They are true film lovers and it shows. They bring with them knowledge and opinion to the subject and it is always fascinating. If I had one gripe it is that Mike's voice is sometimes difficult to listen to, as he sounds like his throat is often clogged with phlem and he has a somewhat strange voice, which isn't a fair thing for me to say, as I know we cannot help how our voices sound. But still, sometimes I find his a little grating. Otherwise the podcast is great stuff!!!

Endlessly Entertaining

by BarnesOnFilm on Jun 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite film podcasts.

This is for you

by TheMichael-Ironside-Assumption on Jun 12, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Are you a nerd? Do you like movies? Do you like to hear nerds who like movies discuss those aforementioned movies. Well this is for you. There is analysis, humor, interviews, and much more on The Projection Booth. Seriously if you are a movie buff, this podcast is mandatory... warm and deliciously mandatory.

Great Show

by BonesTb on May 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast!!! Do yourself a favor and check it out

Gateway Drug

by sadnonviewer on May 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're looking for a good place to start when it comes to film podcasting, look no further. A great back catalog of episodes that epitomize film love. Stop reading reviews and go listen!

Benchmark for Podcast Film Discussion, Criticism

by TVSAWCP on Apr 02, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I think/wish that if anyone wants to offer/proffer discussion and criticism on films in any genre on a podcast, they should have to listen to Mike and Rob's top 10-rated podcasts first, before they're even allowed to upload a single solitary one of their own...and yes, there would be a test at the end...that would definitely skim the pool of at least 60% of the crap we all have to wade through when we wish to find informed, listenable, and entertaining content...

The Projection Booth sets the standard.

by NotTheCreeper on Jan 19, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

The Projection Booth is not only one of the first podcasts I ever listened to, but also the best. I am consistenly blown away by their expertise, love for film, and vast knowledge of genre cinema and beyond.Nowadays I listen to several shows, but Rob and Mike still set the standard.