Average rating:

5
out of 833 ratings.

I love this podcast

by LivingLarge12345 on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a very entertaining podcast. Even if you’re not a fan of h.p. Lovecraft the podcast is hilarious and fun to listen too. I would highly recommend it.

10 Years of an Amazing Podcast

by KaijuJohnny on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Just caught up on now 10 years of this amazing podcast in two months. Chad Fifer and Chris Lackey are great hosts. Their discussion on the works of H.P. Lovecraft and other weird fiction writers is very entertaining and funny. Top notch voice actors and experts frequent the show too.

So. Dang. Good.

by KyleStück on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is a TRUE pleasure for my earholes. Its coverage of H.P. Lovecraft stories (originally) and other weird tales (now) is insightful, funny, and often a little strange, which is the way it should be. The hosts, Chris Lackey and Chad Fifer, are a great team and make other bro-mances pale in comparision. They also have fantastic guests appear occasionally, like Patton Oswalt who is a hilarious and knowledgeable addition to the mix. Do yourself a favor and listen to this now—it's friggin tasty, baby.

This podcast

by Garbledicker on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

is fhtagn awesome. I wake R’lyeh’vry morning grotesquely hoping for a new installment.

Amongst the best

by jdhacker on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris and Chad do one of the best literary podcasts focused on weird/horror fiction from the turn of the century. I've been listening since the beginning and from production values to insight its always been fantastic.

This is the best thing ever

by Letheasce on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to the HP Lovecraft Literary Podcast is like listening to happiness.

Good stuff

by Mjb0123 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like listening to these guys like friends around the dinner table. And the production value is pretty top notch.

Absolutely amazing

by DataChompahs on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The works of Lovecraft are so rich and captivating, this is a fantastic look into that world.

Where are the Readings 1-6?!?

by Mel-48732 on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Let me quote and bring to life our dearest H.P. Lovecraft by saying, "Where TF are the other readings?!" I jest, of course... but only in part? This is my second trip I am taking through this wonderful and entertaining podcast and I wanted desperately to listen to the readings first... imagine my dismay and despair when I failed to locate them!! Please help!!! Post them!! They're vital to the full enjoyment of this lovely podcast!

My Favorite Podcast

by Matt from Monster Island on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve learned so much from you guys. Stay unnameable, fellas.

Introduced me to a whole genre

by Tomdmeyer on Mar 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'd never really given horror much thought at all until my wife introduced my to this podcast five years ago. Chad and Chris are delightful and informative, and the readings they've produced are first-rate.

Old stuff is great... however...

by Runecaster_Aris on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Their old episodes were awesome, this used to be my #1 favorite show to listen to during the drudgery that was working at the news paper. Unfortunately, they went to a pay-to-listen model. Yes they thow the occational bone out once a month or so, but it really isn't enough for me to want to stay engaged. Hopefully they'll decide to go do a different model for income in the future.

Incredibly entertaining

by Evelyn Burr on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great to listen to while doing chores around the house, on your daily commute to and from the workplace, or just chilling in your bedroom. I personally listen to distract myself from the great undulating tentacles constantly slapping at my doorframe. Either way, this is an amazing podcast for anyone who is interested in Lovecraftian content, or just history in general. I highly recommend this podcast to any listener who is interested.

Geeking Out is Fun

by Loki1981 on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mixing reverence for Lovecraft with humor that is aware of his faults (both as a writer and a person), this show does a great job of helping me understand Lovecraft better. I thought I new these stories fairly well, but with each episode, these guys teach me something new or just get me to notice something I had missed before. The bantar between Chad and Chris is great, and it makes listening to their show a blast.

Thank you!

by annieowens on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this by searching Poroth in my podcast app hoping to find an audio version of T.E.D. Klein' masterpiece (no such luck) but I did land on the episode of these guys discussing it! They're smart, informed, educated, not obnoxious and not boring. That's a hard bundle to wrap into one package with decent audio to boot (not something to take for granted). They discuss Lovecraftian literature or such related. I am a fan and a new subscriber. I hope they keep it going. The only thing I can say is I wish the episodes were longer.

So I just starting listening...

by "He Who Shall Not Be Named" on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very well done gentlemen! Thank you! Sorry I’m a few years late on the uptake here. Also ... I believe I heard a reference to the Quad Cities! One of my best friends grew up in D-Port and wrote a novel you may like... AE Stueve “Former”

Dead Poet

by Karpazian on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris and Chad are undeground stars...yes, in their universe, such polarities can exist.From the first to the future...My favorite podcast forever!!!!(And they can really PERFORM in person, too.)

Just fantastic

by mathcamel on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for *years* and I can't recomend it enough. It's been weird fiction for the past, what, fie years? I'm so happy they kept going.

Time to Pay the Fifer

by DrAtlantis on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Do yourself a favor. If you like HPL (or want to learn more about his writing) go back to episode 1 and listen through this show. Then, when they switch to premium format you'll find yourself asking - is it worth the subscription price to get the full show?Yes. Yes, it is. Chris and Chad do an excellent show with professional audio extras of their own design. When they bring on a guest, it's always entertaining - and when they run out of Lovecraft stories they introduce lesser known tales known by Lovecraft or thematically connected and you'll likely encounter treasures you didn't know you needed in your own bookshelves.Also, if you're irreverant, it's fun to get that $6.66 charge every 3 months.

AMAZING podcast

by Aiisling33 on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love, love love the format. I like the bits of actor-narrated lovecraft (and lovecraft-inspired) stories, and their reviews are concise, interesting and informative. I'm addicted to this podcast and cannot recommend it enough to fans of Lovecraft and speculative horror fiction. A recent highlight was their review of Octavia Butler's short story 'Bloodchild'.

Consistently entertaining for years

by Baron sansei on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A triumph of Weird Fiction, and the hosts are great.

!

by Gnomail on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good for a job that gives you time to listen to podcast!

The BEST Lovecraft Podcast!

by Doodlemuffins on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Masterfully edited, fantastic narration, wonderful sound effects, and thoughtful, hilarious, awesome and fun commentary and discussion about each story! I marathon these at work!

Fantastic podcast for Lovecraft fans

by JTWNSC on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Superb literary podcast that is perfect for Lovecraft but also a great introduction to the author as well. Hosts Chris Lackey & Chad Fifer are enthusasic & informative hosts, who clearly love their subject but are not afraid to touch on some of his darker sides (Lovecraft's notorious racism is addressed mulitiple times). They also do a great job reviewing the works, pointing out both his best & worst and the follow-up episdoes dealing with related authors & works are fantastic as well. While it starts as a Lovecraft podcast, it turns into one of the best literary ones on fantasy & sci-if. Well worth a listen.

New to HPL

by Jason5280 on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just started reading HPL a year ago and started this podcast a few weeks ago. It's obvious they love the stories but are immune to HP's occasional pompous banter.

Excellent!

by Ohsnapitsrach on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellently produced and designed podcast. I love the humor and content- Beowulf was great!

The best

by Pher_Zacek on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

WOW!

by C by the bay on Nov 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I only just discovered this podcast and I can't beleive what I have been missing! This is such an entertaining and insightful look through all of Lovecraft's works. These guys are smart and funny and they do their homework before the show. It's such a pleasure to listen to this podcast and travel through the stories I love so much with these guys whom quite obviously love them even more! Well done!

Instant Favorite

by Mogz1313 on Oct 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Even if you're not a mega fan of HP Lovecraft you can still enjoy this A+ podcast. The hosts are engaging, funny, and still very inforamtive and knowledgable. They know their stuff, they're passionate, and the overall quality of the podcast is excellent. I'd recommend it to any literature buff. Period.

One of my favorite podcasts

by dflatzero on Oct 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Chad & Chris have made a really great podcast. It somewhat reminds me of a literary version of watching video game quick looks on Giant Bomb. They go through a story or novel and react to it. There is some light analysis but it's never stuffy. It's a great way to familiarize (or re-familiarize) yourself with works you may have missed out on or read in the past. The newest episodes are even better to my taste - they've moved past Lovecraft and are taking on other weird fiction, gothic, and horror stories. Having not been a huge horror fan in my younger age I'm really appreciating learning about the history of these genres with this Podcast. Lastly, the show is extremely well-produced! There is lots of original music and the editing is top-notch. Sound quality is great and they keep on topic (with very rare and worthwhile exceptions). This would be a top ranking podcast if of a little more general interest topic.

Never has anything so creepy been so fun!

by SmashHansen on Aug 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris and Chad have created an interesting, engaging, informative, entertaining and off-beat show that makes it easy for anyone - from the novice HPL reader to veteran fans - to hop on and enjoy each of Lovecraft’s many stories. This is by far my favorite podcast, even though I only discovered it a few months ago.

Keeping Weird Fiction Alive

by The Writer's Beard on Aug 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this show since shortly after it began. It got me to go back to reading Lovecraft and inspired me to start podcasting. This is one of the best literary shows I have listened too, it is constantly funny and informative and well worth listening. Keep up the great work guys. You are an inspiration.

Entertaining podcast for genre fans

by Blue Meanie 1138 on Aug 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

As its title would suggest, it's main focus is discussion and readings of the fantasy author H.P. Lovecraft, but the podcast also takes time out for other horror/fantasy fiction. Chris and Chad have a really nice rapport, and the frequent readings by guests voices always hit the mark.

Maybe My Favorite Podcast

by Caleb Cotton on Apr 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this Podcast. The hosts are honest and entertaining.

LOVE this podcast.

by ngens on Apr 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Insightful, witty, and fun.I started reading Lovecraft's short stories in order, and I listen to the corresponding podcast after each read. Even when a story isn't great, I still have the podcast to look forward too, which motivates me to read each one!The discussion is intelligent yet lighthearted enough that I don't feel like I'm in literature class. It's more like a conversation with fiends. Also, the eerie music and voice readings create a great atmosphere.

So entertaining

by ClairesPens on Jan 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for over a year now and I have loved every minute of it. The stories are entertaining and Christ and Chad offer insightful and often hilarious analysis and commentary on them. I would highly recommend subscribing to their premium feed.

Great Podcast

by Sonif on Jan 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is enjoyable and a great way to find new weird fictions and authors that you haven't read yet.

Binge Listening

by KidTruth on Dec 30, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has turned my interest in Lovecraft to a full blown obsession. Great job on the web design shirt designs show and guests, Perfect!

Great show!

by Austin TX BB on Dec 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

They are funny and insightful. Awesome guests, great banter, great stories!

Fantastic guide!

by Fleahost on Nov 30, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm new to Lovecraft and these gentlemen do a top job in guiding one through the stories. Fantastic readings and music really set the scene and help explain the historical contexts. Great podcast gentlemen. I wish I had found it earlier.

Awesome Lovecraft Podcast

by CrashMonarch on Oct 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best Lovecraft podcast I've ever heard. They do a fabulous job, with plenty of insight and little known information about HP. I am making my way through the catalogue, listening to each and every one.

A welcome addition to each day!

by CWhiteowl on Sep 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have just recently discovered this podcast. I am so behind. I decided to start at episode 1. I'm currently on the Winged Death and try to listen to two or three a day. Very welcome and entertaining podcast. One of my favorites. Lackey and Fifer are excellent hosts. The mix of humor and information and atmosphere is charming. The guests are great too. Robert Price makes me laugh every time.....something about his voice I think. And the music for the episodes are very well chosen. Keep up the great work guys and thank you so much!!!

Simply the best (better than all the rest)

by I. Sayre on Aug 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, thought provoking, hilarious, powerful, sexy.These are just some of the words I would use to describe this podcast.In all seriousness, I have been a sort of fringe Lovecraft fan for years. I have always enjoyed the visual themes when present in more accessible mediums, but my taste in literature was stuck almost in pure fantasy. As I got older, my tastes broadened, and I started to explore different genres of literature. Recently I've come around to Lovecraft and some of his influences, and I am enthralled by the dark narrative themes and gothic imagery. Many Lovecraft fans have been at it for years (though the community at large has never seemed exclusionary to me), but I'm glad I came to it at the age I have. I doubt I would have been mentally equipped at 12 to grip the smallness and solitude at work in what makes these stories so effective.This podcast has been an invaluable resource to me in breaking into Lovecraft's work. I appreciate and trust the thoughts and opinions Lackey and Fifer have on the stories, and they make me laugh while doing it. It's a win-win.

Great Lovecraft Podcast

by Flecka's Papa on Aug 13, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a lot of fun to listen too...expect a great sense of humor, but a critical review of the stories the hosts, Chris and Chad, are highlighting. Truly have enjoyed my listening to them explore and enlightening many of the stories of this genre.

Greatest Lovecraft/Weird Fiction podcast ever!

by Sandman0545 on Aug 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

About a year and a half ago, I started listening to audio readings of H.P. Lovecraft's stories. I enjoyed what I heard, and tried listening to this podcast - and was quickly swept away by the host's charming, witty and entertaining presentations. Their program is professional, intelligent, and often quite funny. After finishing all of Lovecraft's work, the hosts began covering other weird fiction works that Lovecraft himself would have been exposed too, and their presentation is so good that I couldn't help but listen along with these reviews as well. As must download if ever there was one!

Excellent

by skepoet on Jun 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

A very good podcast on H.P. Lovecraft and weird tales in general. Lots of jokes, good use of scholarship. approachable, and enjoyable with good sound production.

Lovecraft rules!

by Pushupdaisies on Jun 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, ranging from quilting to zombies. This show is my all time favorite! I was so thrilled to have a huge cache of back episodes to listen to.. I eat up podcasts like candy! In less than a week, I was up to episode 28. I've been listening to them back to back while I quilt and sew.. They are that good! I love classic horror and you'll love the way Chad an Chris present HPL!

An impressively engrossing look at Lovecraft's work.

by BaconPlus on May 01, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I had started this podcast last month to hear about Lovecraft in general and get more insight on the mythos as a whole, and refreshingly enough; Fifer & Lackey are able to divulge background info regarding each story as well as synopses in such a manner as to make me feel like I am not listening to some pedantic professor droll incessantly about Lovecraft's body of work. Every reader they use for the excerpts are all amazing.More versatile than a Shoggoth; they can effortlessly juggle irreverance for the truly bad stories while also deftly reminding listeners that even the most amazing stories have faults as well. Such a revelation almost drove me to do what even the most stalwart and indomitable of Lovecraftian protagonists do: faint. Already 100 episodes in: I have enjoyed every cyclopean step of the way, from R'lyeh to Leng, from Azathoth to Yog Sothoth, from dreams of Nightgaunts to daytime possession by ghastly ancestors, and from Nakotyk Manuscripts to the Necronomicon, I have found every episode entertaining and educational, to such an unnamable degree.

Informative, fascinating, funny and scary

by Ghost of Tum Darkblade! on Mar 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Covering most of the works of H.P. Lovecraft, and then covering the works of Weird fiction that inspired him, this podcast is informative not just about the works of fiction themselves but about the general literary climate of the times. Chris and Chad are extremely entertaining and interesting to listen to, and the production is excellent.If you’re a fan of H.P. Lovecraft, this podcast is a total must.

Great companion!

by dmanley on Feb 19, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have the complete works of Lovecraft, so it's fun to read the story they'll be covering next and be involved in the discussion that way. Sometimes I won't have the patience with myself and I'll listen before I read, and it's still enjoyable. The readings they do are fantastic -- high quality and engaging. I would love to see, since the works are in the public domain, a companion podcast of just the readings of the stories so that I can listen to the "audiobook" version of the story and then listen to the review. Highly recommend this podcast.