Average rating:

4.5
out of 4631 ratings.

Dubner Is A Charlatan

by The Syndicate on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

For many years I liked this program, but Stephan Dubner's most recent episodes giving an unfiltered loud speaker to the Kochs to lie about their intentions for freedom, liberty, and the common man despite their contradictory actions is reprehensible.This wasn't journalism. He didn't push back at charles Koch's claims despite having a mountain of contradictory facts and statistics at his finger tips. Dubner did this interview for fame alone and it makes me question what other bull crap I have inhaled from this podcast over the years under the guise of getting to the truth through solid data.

Two entitled white guys push their own agenda

by Cando McCarthy on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They might do it more subtly than Fox News but that doesn't make it any less nauseating. The interviews with the Koch Brothers were the final straw. Giving a platform to the oligarchy. No thank you.

Dubner was the problem in the Koch interview

by Tired D2 student on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I actually found it interesting to hear what Charles Koch had to say but the conversation was awful because Steven Dubner did not ask any hard questions or follow up questions. Long time listener who is extremely disappointed.

Koch interview disappoints

by SmilinGenius on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

If I were to rate this podcast earlier this week, I would have given it 5 stars. Even though I disagree fundamentally with previous guests such as Steve Hilton, I felt that Stephen Dubner always challenged these people on their viewpoints.It was very disappointing this week then, when Freakonomics had a podcast with one of the most highly influential people in the US, and failed to push him on his ideas. It felt like a puff piece, and gave a man who has subverted politics a free platform for propoganda.I do understand that Dubner and Levitt have a policy of not taking sides, and just trying to get the facts clear. This piece did nothing to clear up any facts about Charles Koch - it simply allowed him to spout his delusions.The simplest example of how Dubner should have approached this interview is Charles Koch's focus on "special interests". Dubner should have pressed him on why he believes that his controlling of the politicians which he supports (evidenced by his comment that he "holds them accountable") is not a "special interest".I expect more from this podcast, and typically come away well informed - I believe that the dupicity of Koch in the interview should be addressed in a future episode.

What's with the Charles Koch interview?!?!

by TheThirdBen on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have listened to every single Freakonomics Podcast. The most recent double episode of a Charles Koch interview is unlike any other Freakonomics episode. No analysis. No fact checking. No research. I'm not sure why Dubner wasted an hour and a half of our time giving the most powerful man in America a platform to express his "goals" without any challenge or serious inquiry into how Koch's actions may differ from what he tells us here. I'm so appalled at how weak and different these Koch episodes are from every other Freakonomics episode that I am afraid Koch has "donated" to the show (or paid) in order to create these last two episodes. I just don't understand Dubner's approach here... out of character.

Charles Koch

by Khalilula on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So why didn't the interviewer press him to explain how his opposition to universal health care tallies with his views? If his stance is mainly from wanting to better the life of ordinary people. Well it's obvious the road to a decent living is making sure you have access to healthcare that doesn't bankrupt you. Clearly most Americans are priced out of decent accessible healthcare and it would make sense for him to fix that and not fight against those trying to! Makes no sense. Not everything he saw in Russia was bad! Some industries are better left to be handled by the state. The health of our nation should not be left to profit thirsty capitalists.

Great show

by Atzmmom on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The information and interviews are very interesting. I look forward to listening each week.

Review on "Are the rich really less generous..."

by PushkarRanade on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This episode was very disappointing. Firstly you guys and the Dutch researchers tried to come up with explanations to fit your "anti-rich" bias. Why couldn't you just state the facts. Secondly the statement that the rich have more free time, no one has idle free time anymore. Finally you guys seem OK with lack of privacy protections in Europe. I don't want the general public to know my life details, educational level etc!Please don't repeat your mistake.

So relevant

by soybean925 on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The number of times a week I find myself thinking about or referring to a Freakonomics episode still surprises me. I'd say that since taking up Freakonomics as a regular podcast, my life has improved (incrementally), and I feel more confident about my knowledge of the world, while gaining an appreciation for how much smarter than me the guests on this show are. I find myself talking about Mr. Dubner as a good friend. Also, I find their fundraising campaigns much less annoying than other shows, and yes, I do donate now and then. Well done on a consistently good show!

Lies, damned lies, and statistics. I prefer the data.

by pimp of pixels on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The world would be a better place if people approached the composition of their beliefs with the same care that Mr. Dumber employs with his podcast: let your opinions be forged from the best available data rather than the most appealing rhetoric. Time and time again the podcast explores topics ranging across a broad range of dimensions from monumental to mundane, controversial to conventional, and in spite of the chaotic tapestry of subjects, they piece together consistently great shows which are both insightful and entertaining.

Great Podcast!

by nomusclerussell on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the book; Love the Pod! Keep it up!

Social psychology for beginnings

by Spencer Kostrinsky on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learning about human behavior is one of the most powerful tools for anyone.

Love books and this podcast

by yitmoore on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great info and rarely a bore

THESE TWO ARE GREAT

by Suntrust Jean on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You are going to get stories, ideas, and stats. That's not boring it's fun.

Fun

by epjoyce on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Along with Planet Money, a fun, interesting way to learn about economics.

My favorite podcast

by Ann4726893 on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't wait for the next one to get delivered!

Always enjoy it

by zero-point module on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Does a great job of making interesting topics accessible to the vast majority of people. I'd personally prefer to hear a little more about statistics and rigor.

Love it

by The Property Manager on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The variety keeps it interesting.

This podcast is fantastic — I listen to every episode

by Arizwa on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always hear interesting new ideas and thought-provoking tidbits, many of which make their way into my writing and thinking. Highly recommended!

Excellent Podcast

by Jake1607 on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is amazing. The bring up topics I have never thought about. I have learned a lot.

Great stuff

by Matty BP on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Interesting almost every episode

CalBjorn

by CalBjorn on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Most informative and fun!

Classic

by MathNomad on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It may be an oldie, but it's a goodie. Plus, that theme music. I'll always have this in the podcast rotation.

So good!

by Will R W on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Never fails to provide fascinating insight. Highly recommended.

Excellent!

by zixyw on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is definitely one of my favorite podcasts to listen to! Very informative and fun to listen to

Gateway Drug

by Jor2theworld on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakonomics was my first Podcast, about 5 years ago. Now I have a #NoNewPods rule. Too much anxiety when I fall behind (pods backed-up for days). I listen to each with a "does this add value?" filter so I can delete frivolous subscriptions that don't. But Freakonomics adds SO MUCH VALUE. I'll always have space on my phone for you.

One of my favorite podcasts

by Bald Jordan on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Freakonomics and tend to save up episodes so I can binge on them.

The best!

by RocklesMcgee on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great topics done well.

Makes my brain bigger

by Quirkeegurl on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting approach to all sorts of topics. Excellent information that will stay with you and help inform your opinions.

Listener for Years

by Ml315 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening to this podcast for years. It's produced very well and has your attention from the onset to the close every episode. It has honestly changed the way I view issues at work and the world around me.

Awesome

by Swaminator on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Answers to questions you always had but never know who to ask !

Consistently great, and honestly educational (but in a fun way)

by Gumpster2010 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakonomics is always entertaining and really has taught me a lot about economics, science, politics, and everything in between. I will admit that there was one awful episode I heard once that was basically just an ad for underwear, but other than that I never had a bad or boring experience.

Life Changing

by <-- ThatGuy on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm going to be honest here, this podcast changed my life. This podcast helped me learn to challenge the status quo in a productive fashion, how to influence others, and even just some fun info. This is THE podcast to listen to, if you only listen to one podcast.

Great Show!

by Interesting Show on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting stories presented in a great manner!

A OK

by Wrthfxdhjnnhv134467 on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the variety and the quality of information. Give it a try.

My favorite podcast

by Mkschles on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It feels like I'm eavesdropping on an engrossing conversation between brilliant, interesting people. It's the kind of podcast that you'll be rolling around in your brain for days after listening.

Freak

by Awsome unicorn girl on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is super interesting and cool

Running out of ideas?

by Dennis in MA on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I think Dubby is running out of ideas. It might be time to let this die. He's going beyond civil discourse on subjects and giving crackpots air time. I'm down to listening to only about 1 out of 3 podcasts. With repeats, it means I'm probably down to 1 per month. :(. The quality of the show just isn't there anymore.

Excellent Economic Insights

by sfa2013 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For economic insights on everyday issues, there's really no better podcast. I love that it's really well researched and has great commentary.

Earth2.0 Is Inequality inevitably?

by nolagirlincali on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

To offhandedly dismiss the impact of slavery in the assessment of the United States' wealth and rise to power is at best a gross oversight. You attributed this wealth inequality to the inclusion of all people in the English system compared to the Spanish system, which according to your research was based on exploiting the wealthy. Both systems were built on exploitation. The U.S. just had a lot more slaves.

Required Listening

by ScribeLife22 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This has great information and thought experiments for those who want to be informed citizens of the world.

I've been hooked since Freakanomics

by Kelita05 on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the books and I love the podcast. It makes me look at how the world works differently.

Love

by bamabarrister on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love

Can't imagine a commute without Freakonomics

by Paulcephus on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast to engage my brain!

Steven Dubner is a really good ...

by Jgw;o) on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...interviewer. Show is almost always of interest.

Freakonomics

by Li'lmom on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. One of my must-listen favorites. Excellent production. Keep up the good work.

Look forward to this podcast every week

by KarmaLee1235678975445775467 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just wanted to thank you guys for the free entertainment! I look forward to this show every week!

One of my favorites

by TravisBeckman on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always excited when this podcast shows up in my queue.

Always interesting

by Aaakkkkkkgggggg on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great way to learn about economics

Some great episodes and some meh

by Kittycoup on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I appreciate the good ones. They can be so good, I'd listen to it on repeat. The meh ones are kinda annoying, but worth listening to to get to the good ones.