Average rating:

4.5
out of 11350 ratings.

A perfect way to wake your brain up!

by nfllrCLT on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would give more stars if I could.

Hi w

by Jjsf128 on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

And I trtze

Good insights NOW

by Giggy Ignati on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ok you 2, been listening to you for a long time. Splain me this - I did all the contribute to my 401k/403b since I was about 30 in 1984 - I mean contributing the max. Year after year. Some years I made really great money. That compounding you talk about - never happens that way. Indexes are predicated on a fallacy. You want/need me to splain that to you? I should be filthy rich. I’m not. 401k/403b/457m crap is a farce. It never will work. Friend me on Facebook. Name is just like my handle. Happy to share what I’ve found is real not hype.

Too long

by gd5161 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Your introductions are way too long. I don’t know what the topic is until minutes into the program. My time is limited. No podcast should least last over 40 minuets. I have to delete your podcast. Greg

Early episodes pretty good, skip the recent stuff

by Hzjsuzqiue on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Have listened to this podcast for a long time. While it was initially interesting, it has become much less so over the years, and I’ve been put off by the arrogance of both Dubner and Levitt. Now that it’s mostly Dubner’s show, it’s also become a lot less about economics and more whatever he seems to feel like talking about. Dubner’s interviews with CEOs and politicians are all softball questions and it seems like he’s more interested in cozying up with powerful people than doing actual journalism.

Great

by BijayLimbuNP on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favourite

Keep it going

by Ldennis35 on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy these, those people who send nasty email, should be open and expand. People won’t agree with everything but it provides a different view.

Consistently Well Done

by Erin79705 on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy these podcasts and the broad variety of topics covered. Thought-provoking and interesting are what I often think afterwards—and considering it’s all about economics, that’s invaluable.

Best!

by traveler 42 on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast ever. I got hooked on the “Secret Life of a CEO” and have been a devotee ever since. I am a word nerd and don’t have a very good relationship with numbers. Economics was always dull and lifeless until I found this podcast. Even Marketplace was dull. But somehow you humanize finance and give the whole topic nuance and depth I never saw before. Thank you!

Though provoking

by AveryYoungLife on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a huge fan of Freakonomics, and have been for a few years. I love how they take issues and break them down, as well as explain the science behind things. I believe they follow the facts!

Racist

by Shotgun don't work on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Disgusting

Ironic

by Tkd_Gal on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How is it there is a podcast that addresses why women are pretty much responsible for the pay gap bc of their own choices for the most part but then have another to address the glass ceiling?

Objective view of World Cup or Lionel Messi circle jerk?

by Matt - Chicago on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Stephen, I dismissed your sons clearly one-sided bias as youthful naïveté and lack of familiarity with journalistic fairness. However, you then proceeded to spend an additional ten minutes extolling the virtues of the false prophet paying only passing lip service to Ronaldo. Were you away Messi is such a poor competitor he publicly announced he was quitting after he lost his last major tournament? Did you know Ronaldo at the age of 33, three years older than Messi, has won the last three European player of the awards? Dominating football and Messi during a time in his life when most former stars, Messi included as demonstrated by recent performance, are mere ghosts of their former selves? Did your son inform you that while Messi was so naturally gifted even his diminutive size couldn’t dampen his talent that Ronaldo has worked significantly harder to turn mediocre talent into world class ability? Please, Stephen, we want to hear your well researched and informed coverage not the bias-tinged opinions of your son.

Not open minded

by PeaceLoveHappinessSmilesSummerLoveGuys:)<3 on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast is not a clear-eyed view into economics issues. It’s more like Time magazine: well-written, but straight from the leftist echo chamber.

Freakonomics Radio is becoming too political

by Billycatshark on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to be an avid subscriber of this podcasts and enjoyed the point of views based strictly on evidence, until the Trump Tax cuts episode. I feel it leaned left instead of staying center in line with facts. If your show cannot stay true to fact based arguments then your podcasts will continue to lose those of us to looked forward to a podcast where there was no biased.R/S Arturo

Good Podcast...When I Can Play It

by Sam Eye Jules on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Constantly get “Episode Unavailable” for this podcast, when all my other podcasts play just fine. What gives?

One of the best podcasts ever

by Vi11ainous on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakanomics radio continually over and over is the most entertaining yet incredibly informative show in the universe of podcasts. The only bias you'll find is that they'll endeavor to give you the economic angle of every topic. I recommend to any and all.

Interesting But Lopsided

by Christichi on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve been a listener for years and a fan since the Freakonomics book came out, but even though Stephen Dubner’s skills as an interviewer are superb, the show seems to err on the side of featuring problematic people in order to “present opposing arguments”. Most interviews tilt towards asking softball questions without pressing subjects on their false or flawed statements. The topics are always great, but because Dubner clearly wants to appear “fair” he sometimes seems to dismiss or ignore truly abhorrent points of views—strictly allowing discourse that is intellectually interesting, but morally and ethically questionable.Though experts are often brought in to debate topics, and many of these experts are usually staples of the ‘intellectual podcast’ circle, the show works hard to not challenge anyone too much—both on the left and the right of most topics.

Great Interviewer

by slugjake on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen J. Dubner asks eloquently worded tough questions. He’s polite to his guests, but doesn’t let them off the hook easily.I don’t always agree with Dubner or his sometimes partner-in-crime Steve Levitt. And some episodes are better than others. (One could skip most of the snooze fest six-part series on the life of CEOs altogether.) But Freakonomics is far and away my favorite podcast of all time because of the rigorous reporting, the variety of topics covered and the critical thinking involved.Dubner and his team not only teach me new facts, but more importantly also challenge me to ask myself why I believe the things I believe.

Overall opinion

by broken-omics on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I initially enjoyed this program for the research and difference of perspective. It has since gone so far left, it doesn’t provide a solid viewpoint based on a good understanding of economics. (The podcast pushing Big Pharma as a victim while providing the most in charitable donations was the final push for me to drop my subscription)

This is REAL News

by KESigman on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a learning experience

Good for the brain

by p.sko on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The host asks the right questions, not too many softballs, and brings on guests who we want (or should want) answers from.

Working on home and learning a lot!!

by michiganhomealex on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Taking a break from college and fixing up my family’s new home and listening for hours on end the interesting topics and thoughtful and sometimes tough questions freakanomics ask of their interviewees. Really really like it. Thank you.

Changed for the worst

by dubnerisatool on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I understand that your primary sponsor is goldmansachs but your catering to all these fat cats on your program is really making me sick to my stomach. When your sacrificing scientific inquiry in order to be politically correct, that just makes you a hypocrite.

Absolute corporate propaganda

by hdkdiisjsbsoxbekdnsjsbei on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast used to be good but now turning into mouth piece and propaganda machine for American corporations.

Learning

by Michguy62 on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast. Been with you from episode one. Wish high school had been this interesting. Look forward to each new episode. Keep up the quality work

Best podcast ever!

by Maps acro on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been following freakonomics since the first book. Now I can hear more here. Every week, I look forward to their new episodes. Thought provoking.

Intelligent Exploration, Minimal Spin

by Billyhc on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show brings such wonderful perspectives to the modern world...I feel smarter after listening each week.

Just started listening

by zombielillian on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

And I hate myself for not starting sooner! I love it

Always good

by WA Woodworker on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every show is always interesting and thought-provoking. Keep up the good work.

Biased

by uleman3 on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Well at least they don’t pretend to be unbiased. This is a typical Trump bashing podcast. They do have a token conservative, but they make sure to either bash his ideas before he talks or after. It’s interesting how the party of “acceptance and tolerance” can be so hateful towards those who think differently than they do.

Meh

by Ebuni on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Like many have previously stated, the show used to be better, but now I think they are having a hard time coming up with ideas for new ones. But, my biggest pet peeve is how many times Dubner says Freakonmics on the show. We get it, we know what we are listening to. You don’t have to keep saying it.

Variable quality, but mostly good

by cal.tomo on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Some episodes are great (e.g., The Invisible Paw). Some episodes are good. And some are kind of boring.

Was great but is declining

by engimule on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Really loved this podcast but over the last 6 months it’s been shifting from understanding the hidden economics in life to just another interview show of “interesting people” with a lot more political undertones. Wish it would go back. Am great with the occasional social message and interviews are part of telling the story but now it seems this show is just becoming tarred with politics.

Could not listen to any of the podcasts

by Mari2992 on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Every time I click on episode it says it’s not available right now and never plays. maybe it’s my iPhone SE issue but I have no problem listening to any other podcasts but this one. This podcast was recommended to me and I have been subscribed to it for couple of months now already trying to get something to play but I think its pointless already. Unsubscribed

Even-handed Podcast

by MDC-2015 on May 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So much information today is heavily biased. But, this podcast takes a nuanced approach that is refreshing

Interesting

by Kmcleaners on May 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Who knew finances could actually be interesting. The real world example and analogies make it easy to listen to. The speeded up speech does not. It sounds like the whole program is played at an accelerated speed. Can I adjust the speed on my phone?

Clever and Consistent

by J Eysenbach on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Teaching me things every week that I’ve often wondered about for years. Thanks, Sir Dubner - you’re a natural!

Love

by LukePooks on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Who knew economics could be so interesting?

Music

by Beach Cat on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It’s hokey and distracting. Let the substance of the show stand on its own.

Economics for everyone

by Doodle! on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There are things I've learned from this podcast that have changed how I look at life as a whole. I like that the hosts define terms but don't dwell on the basics. It's a great combo.

CEO series

by mbadoc on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well researched. The CEO series are really excellent - much better than reading a book. You really get a first hand view of leadership from these episodes. Well done!

Must listen!

by Ittabonita on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All time favorite podcast! Smart, current, interesting, thought provoking and at times even super funny! A must listen!

Finally, Someone Rips Dumber’s Mask Off

by Albert Cipriani on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best interview ever given/gotten just now in April 2018 “Extra: Ray...” This former CEO rocks and really told it like it was. He goes toe-to-toe with our fearless host towards the end. And it’s a TKO.But for a brief moment while our host was roped like a dope and being pummeled by this CEO superhero, our host looses his mask (of prim and proper, preppy, service-boy-with-a-smile sharp, but not too incisive, always daring but never the revolutionary) and reveals he’s just scared crybaby.Congrats for revealing to us, your loyal fans, your first baby picture. Such a cutie! Hope you show us more of yourself as you take on Everyman’s challenge to grow up. Cheers, Albert

Not A Finance Student

by Yeslikecalif on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakonomics makes economics and financial literacy interesting! I am learning about corporate America while on the treadmill! Very thankful for these conversations while being a young adult.

I love this show

by AbhiChan on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this show quite regularly and I must say that it is not only insightful but also quite interesting!

Check out the seminal episode on crime rates lowered due to legal abortions

by Holistic Brain Balance on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not sure this Frekonomics topic is in the radio podcast archive. check! Connecting the drop in crime in the 1990s and 2000s with access to legal abortions in the 1970s-1980s is in the book and in the film which I found at the library.

I Have Never Felt Dumber

by getsomenick on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I consider myself a relatively informed and educated fella. However, after listening to this for a few months, I consider myself super stupid now. Thanks. Love the show.

Great podcast

by Boris the one and only on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always entertaining!

Great content but needs some tech help

by 163638484 on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love this podcast. It’s well produced and offers a fascinating and unique take on topics that many other journalists beat to death with the same old lines. The only reason I can’t give it five stars is because of its tech setup. The episodes quite frequently will not load, and I grow frustrated and give up, leaning to a long backlog of Freakonomics podcasts in my library that I would love to listen to but can’t. I don’t have this problem with any of the other 10+ podcasts I subscribe to.