Average rating:

4.5
out of 4422 ratings.

Losing steam

by Podcastjunkie1977 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Freakonomics was my favorite for years. But the topics are not as interesting and captivating as in the past. I love Dubner; but this podcast works best with both Dubner and Levitt to deliver and share on topics.

Loved the book; the show carries on the need for a Freak Fix

by RichUncle on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen Dubner carries on the breadth, wit and educational value of his wonderful book. Thanks for the weekly entertainment!

Entertaining

by LLSintha303 on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

A light version of economics in a short period of time. Sometimes I would like them to get more in depth. The time for each podcast falls just short of my one way commute. It gives me time to chew on it.

Great podcast

by Tjsmith2121 on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting and relevant topics. Awesome moderating by Dubner to dig in to the issues.

Not good like it use to be.

by mrccgn on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast has really dropped in quality of topics and presentation. So much so I am unsubscribing.

Creative and Relevant

by MD Pug on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. They are so fresh, so on-point. Their perspectives are ones I always love to hear.

Favorite Podcast!!!

by LauraOleson on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast! I listen every week

Thoughtful and Fun

by emb55555 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to this podcast! It's interesting, intelligent, relevant to daily life, and always leaves me feeling smarter at the end. The host asks thoughtful questions- of the material, the people he interviews, and of the topic's place in society. Have been going back to listen to all of the episodes I missed before I was podcasting!

One of my favorites

by Pop star 1971 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't pick my favorite episode, I enjoy them all

Older episodes are best, still good.

by Rock(over)Pop on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Changed my way of thinking about the world. The long form interview episodes confuse me because I'm not always sure how they connect to the Freakonomics mindset.

Simply Wonderful

by jhartman91 on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been a listener since episode one. Always entertaining, surprising, and most importantly data driven! The world seem to need reminding that there is such as thing as objective fact, let freakonomics be that reminder!

ZenHedgehog

by ZenHedgehog on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always entertaining and thought provoking, on topics I would never have thought to explore but that are nonetheless interesting.

Great Podcast

by DoctorPDB on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always learn something new. A pure joy to listen to during my daily commute.

Long overdue review!

by Ccarlantonio on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for over two years, the least I could do is provide a good review! Thanks for all the hard work and fascinating conversations guys.

Good show

by Lorima on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like it.

Delicious!

by Katherine Sh. on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always fresh and new. Keeps the brain alive!

Consistently great

by @Jc_barton on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening every week.

A must have

by Todd1759 on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is educational an interesting. In my top 5 for sure.

Fascinating and thought-provoking!

by astropolitan on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this after reading all the Freakonomics books. I love the content they put out on this podcast! They present topics in a different light than what I'm used to and they really make me think and look at the world in a different way. Wonderfully produced and highly entertaining while still being informative! Great work.

Great

by Mac7755 on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Still one of my favorite podcasts.

This is my Favorite Podcast!

by Chinatimt on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So well done. If you want an interesting angle on many different subjects, this is the Podcast for you!

The most interesting podcast out there.

by RitaKamna on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this one. Such interesting information and people. A must-listen!

High Quality Educational Entertainment

by Skidrooski on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like having your brain tickled with scientific truths, search no further. Steven Dubner is a fearless investigator and will explore the hidden side of everything with you in his weekly podcast. I love listening to this show! It makes my commute very enjoyable.

For Economist's with Hearts

by Spencer Camp on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Economists are not typically known for their enthusiasm, humor, and conversational tone, but Stephen J. Dubner is not your average economist.He's an outside the box thinker, with a tendency to ask questions where others will make assumptions.I particularly enjoyed his analysis of the Gender Pay Gap and his analysis of the Coal Industry. In both cases he puts data first and immediately trailblazes a new path through the wilderness of humility and reason.Some lessons I've learned:1.) Never make predictions2.) All sides see things in their own interests so try to see things from their perspective3.) Data is king

Content vs. interviewer

by NehaAgrawal on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I just listened to the Miki Agrawal piece and am a little appalled at how disrespectful Stephen Dubner was during most of the interview. The interviewee and the subject of the podcast was really interesting, but it was distracting how Stephen Dubner kept cutting her off and how condescending he was to her. Not a fan of Stephen at all.

Excellent Podcast

by superexcited123 on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to new episodes because they dive into topics that I'm keen on and also cover angles I hadn't thought of previously. I miss the days when both hosts were on the podcast.

Love love love

by Gretski366 on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show. It's the best!

Annoying voices

by Contemporarium on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was really excited to listen to the episode about medical experiments.. however I couldn't get past two minutes because of the doctor giving input. He was SO FREAKING BORING sounding. He could tell you you just won the lottery and you wouldn't get excited.

Very good

by He-man83 on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating. Learn a lot.

Entertaining and informative

by Aray520 on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy how subjects are viewed from different perspectives. It sometimes makes you think about things from a different POV than your own. Closed-minded people beware.

Proof Education Can Be Entertaining

by CoastalSatyr on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love this show. Each week, I feel just a bit smarter after listening to them.

MSU9

by MSU9 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener and reader of books. Great podcast to listen and re-listen. Thanks for the great learning here guys!

Some truthes are counterintuitive.

by The Audience Speaks on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ever wonder if a name effects a person's destiny? Or why sometimes a bounty doesn't get rid of a problem? We are all riddled with cognitive biases and fuzzy human logic. Dubner and Levitt don't have all the answers and don't claim to, but they do their best to untangle some human misconceptions or superstitions when it comes to human behavior and economics. If you want to find a well reasoned argument from a point of view you haven't considered before, this may be the podcast for you.

I'm a fan

by PangoTango on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It brings an economics style of thinking into daily life, and I find that fantastic.

Awesome for my runs

by Shaunppppp on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the content

Must listen

by bj23nkc on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you care about an unbiased look at the different ways the economy is shaped and transformed; this podcast is for you!

The first and best podcast I've ever listened to

by Julesverne386 on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

4 years ago I started listening to Freakonomics. I was studying engineering. It opened my eyes into the capability of public data, behavioral economics and the hidden side of well known problems. I love the storytelling and "economist swagger" Dubner brings to each episode. It's simply awesome!

Love it

by Corinnet on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you

Love it!!

by MNminn on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast each day has made my commute so much more pleasant and enjoyable. I find myself bringing up the interesting topics multiple times a day to family, friends, and colleagues. After "discovering" this podcast about a year ago, I have gone back and listened to the entire archived episodes and definitely recommend it.

So important, so informative

by Brian K Thomas on Feb 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I truly enjoy this podcast, listening is a must.

Dope

by Txycycy on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Get the Panel App and start earning free gift cards & more! panelapp.me/dnz2

Excellent show

by 3823241 on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing show! Gives new insights into the world each episode.

Gone so downhill

by Cutest cat ever on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The topics are all over the map. The show just wanders now. The original theme is long gone. Recently they had a whole episode that was nothing but a promotional piece for a comedian/public personality - Trevor Noah. They claimed that somehow his views are unique and that justifies it. But they aren't. And it was just yet another totally random promotion piece. This podcast was once interesting and original. There's now about a million podcasts that thematically try to do what this one did. Hidden brain. Invisibilia. Those are just two examples. Though those are also poor for other reasons, at least they aren't just random topics or promotions for some person's career. It's just too boring and scattered to be enjoyable anymore. I think it's run its course. Of course it will never end. Nothing is allowed to end these days. Which is sad. It was pretty groundbreaking once and retains no hint of what it was.

Easy to understand and interesting

by Leahcandland on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband and I have been road tripping for the past 2 months and always enjoy listening to Ted Radio Hour. Keeps us very entertained and gives us new topics to discuss on the open road. This podcast and Planet Money are just about my only gateway to this hidden, often confusing world. Thanks for making it more accessible to the lay-person like me.

Really Enjoy

by Chuck83729 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Who knew economics was so interesting? It shares a lot with Social Science

My favorite podcast

by Travy12 on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Read all the books, always refer to freakonomics whenever I can. Always look forward to my commute on Thursday because of this podcast

To live your life by

by big_sauce on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

On the same path as their books the guys at Freakonomics apply data to decisions people make on a daily basis. I cannot count how many times I hear something on this podcast and it comes up in conversation later. I just try to not be that guy, when I toss it on there.

Great content

by melmai415 on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I always learn something new from this show! Now I want to read the book...

never miss

by moleyp on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my “top 10 list" podcasts. I enjoy listening to and learning about the hidden side of the varied subjects.

Awesome.

by Meg112184 on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Love the host. Funny and intelligent.