Average rating:

4.5
out of 5404 ratings.

Informative

by 29fmfmfs939 on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have learned so much from this podcast!

Always entertaining and educational

by corey nelson on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Never boring and always providing new learnings, I have loved this podcast since it came out. Love books, keep coming back for the podcast!

I was skeptical but it's true!

by Jonkun on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was skeptical when people in my xylophone music fan forum said that this was the best podcast about repetitive xylophone melodies, but I checked it out and it's true! There is no other podcast that uses more xylophone accompaniment or more repetitive xylophone melodies. But be warned: the older episodes aren't the same, just the newer ones. Only four stars because there's still some moments without any xylophone sounds at all, so there's room for improvement.

Best podcast

by AZO1 on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast helps me think . To try to find the why behind the why in my daily personal and professional life. Thanks guys.

Best Use of Drive-Time EVER!

by Solarbuddy on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's been 9 months since I gave up AM talk Radio, and when I exhausted the wonderful Skeptoid podcast, I somehow chanced upon Freakonomics. The first episode was about "How Big is Your Penis?" and I was hooked. I'm back in the archive now, and still enjoying it as much as ever. My wife loves it that I don't come home all fired up about the latest political smear/outrage/scandal, and I have acquired a very useful collection of insights, facts, and insider terms. "Laffer curve? My dear boy, let me tell you a few things about taxable income elasticity . . ." --Remember, half the job of "being an expert" is knowing insider jargon and pronouncing things correctly. Freakonomics Radio has been a great education for me, and Dubner's reasoned, fact-based and results-oriented look at controversial topics has genuinely moved me in surprising directions.

Very enlightening and entertaining

by Ace785690 on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show and the various topics.

Refreshing

by Cushka on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the variety of subjects! I usually fall asleep listening to this podcast every night. But also replay the next day!

Should be required listening

by Vkllxyz on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If I were queen of the universe, I would make this show - which emphasizes data-backed critical thinking - required listening for every college and high school student every week. Some eps are a bit heavy on filler, but overall a tremendous (and entertaining) survey of what makes life, the universe, and everything tick from an economics perspective.

Abaolutely Amazing

by Corina Celis on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

#1 Podcast of all time. I can't say enough about it. It will satisfy curiosities you didn't even know you had. Go listen now!!!!

Excellent

by kumquatdynasty on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast. Recommend it 100%. But I would listen to planet money first.

Koch Sponsored

by B5000 on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I subscribed and listened until the podcast turned into a Koch platform. It’s not that interesting that I need to submit to that.

Mostly really good, but are they stumping for the Koch brothers?

by Otis-T on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

In general, this is a great podcast – as you would expect with the freakonomic guys.My only concern is: did they sell themselves out for a sponsorship with the Koch brothers? They are sponsored by the Koch brothers and they had a podcast that was very pro-Koch brothers... almost an info-mercial. At the time, I was surprised, thinking wow, the Koch brothers must be misunderstood. Then, I started hearing advertising on this podcast for Koch industries... And that made me question whether or not it was actually a balance podcast. I don't believe it was and that is disappointing.

Quality

by Den55f on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always intelligent, informative, and still entertaining. Consistently a great listen

Bring back the previous format!

by Molonese on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoyed this show in the previous format. Now I’m slowly losing interest.

Excellent

by Stacyskis on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent information, very well done.

Excellent Storytelling feat Quick Econ Refresher

by AZ Pharmacist on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast!! Expertly intertwines economic concepts (e.g. risk v uncertainty) with an event or life experience (e.g. fights among parents at Chucky Cheese).

Not listening any more

by Osprey1957 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was shocked when the 27 September show started out with the news that this show is sponsored by the Koch brothers and Koch Industries.This family has worked very hard to destroy democracy, the environment, and the American middle class. I cannot support as legitimate journalism a podcast that is funded by, and therefore influenced by, these rapacious capitalists.

Bummer, getting too political

by Environmental Engineer on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately this podcast is allowing inappropriate political perspectives to enter their discussions. It's beginning to allow unfounded and misleading information in the show. It's helping to spread made up assertions Last year I would have rated This show a 5 This season, it's a ZERO

Could have been so much better

by jcbarnhill on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Dubner is nothing more than a liberal hack who lacks objectivity. Sad, because economics should pursue truth above partisan bias.

Great fun!

by Connie RR on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great fun. Excellent ideas.

The other way of viewing something

by KanPodFan on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love hearing a fresh point of view.

Best Podcast I Listen To! (Okay, the only one)

by run&listentt on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love it!! I'm a recent college graduate about to start my professional career, and I listen to EVERY new episode when I'm out for a run. Makes the time fly by, and I always come home and tell my boyfriend about the cool new stuff I learned

Fav pod!

by poopnigguh on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Freak is probably my favorite podcast. Great production value!

Informative

by Jessie7482 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast covers some very interesting topics. The guests are great and the stories are intriguing.

Excellent podcast! So thought-provoking

by Gordo Boy. on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening after reading the book. I have been working my way through all the episodes from the beginning. I learn something new every time and the show as a whole teaches me to think in broader terms about the widespread interactions of everything we do. Too often we try to reduce complex systems to simple rules. This podcast makes you think not just about the obvious things we are ignoring or missing, but to consider the less obvious ones too.

New perspectives on old habits

by mr6424 on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show makes me think about the things I take for granted in the world differently. I love the respect for clean, quantitative data that they have. Fun and informative!

Explained in plain terms.

by Catsablanca on Sep 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen explains the social science behind all kinds of things in a fun and interesting tone. Good for someone like me, who otherwise wouldn't know about these things.

Addictive

by 76637372672 on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!

One of my favorites

by CommuterRecall on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to podcasts because of freakonomics. I found out that I really enjoy learning about behavioral economics.

One sided /manipulative

by Kaiser Soso on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

A sheltered nerd's paradise. So called intelligent guests can't even pronounce familiar correctly. "Fermiliar" is not a word, as far as I know. Maybe it is for people who say "flahrida" instead of Florida, who knows.

How much brain damage do I have?

by nntors11 on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was by far the best podcast I have heard, just so well researched, plenty of humanistic stories, didn't point fingers in any one direction and very well done

Fun and Educational

by CatarinaQUE on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm surprised at how many negative reviews this podcast has because I enjoy Freakonomics to a degree that I should probably be a little embarassed about, haha. I learn so much and enjoy every minute. I often find myself starting sentences in conversations with friends with "well, I learned on Freakonomics...".

Great topics

by Luthercc93 on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews.

Must listen

by MrsRay on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Helps you dig deep in the weeds on good topics that don't always get covered, but in ways you can understand and relate to.

The Bad Medicine series is absolutely fantastic!

by I atria on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great series, it helps understand the issues behind effectiveness and efficiency in health care, and how it affects us all. Entertaining, educational, and helpful for everyday decisions.

Breath of Fresh Air

by JT Olmstead on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the "Fact based entertainment" that Freakenomics offers. I've gleaned so many amazing insights from their shows that I simply can't count them. I recommend this podcast early and often.

Middle of road listening

by SassEgirl on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Sometimes stories are not super engaging, but I enjoy the host and his style.

The Rebroadcast Podcast!

by H Solo on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like this show, but it is constant rebroadcasts. If I want to hear the same episode I just listened to 6 months ago, I never have to worry about having to find it. They will just release them over and over. New cont every once in a while too.

A new perspective for thinking about things

by a happier listener on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I read a review that criticized this podcast as 'economics lite.' Yep, just what this layperson is looking for :)

What are you doing?

by studmuffin2269 on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Why are you reading this? Just subscribe!

Super Shows!

by Mandamoou2 on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it always a good show

Intellectually stimulating!

by MarinJeanne on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Excellent topics. Expert guests. Thought provoking. Subject matter handled very objectively. Steven Dubner is a great interviewer - respectful and always asks insightful questions. My fav podcast by far!!

Great podcast

by iDude206 on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative and entertaining!

Always Opens Up a New Perspective

by Gdhchcgogifjf on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has continually surprised me in a great way about new ways to look at things. Stephen does a great job exploring topics that from afar seem boring but are far from that. Keep up the good work!

One of the Best Podcast out there

by Dzxdssth on Aug 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think This is one of the best podcasts available. Dubner has a an amazing knack for looking at ideas and our culture and presenting thoughtful and thought provoking podcasts. Well worth your time. Think of it as exercise for your mind.

Really enjoyed the books

by Sjbinghamton on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really enjoyed the books and also the movie. But there are much better podcasts out there. This podcast takes simple problem prompts and repeats it over and over again for 85% of the episode bringing nothing new, just restating what we want to get to the bottom of. By the time you reach the 15% that's worth listening to u have probably already lost interest. Read the book they condense it. Podcast is a waste of time.

Excellent

by cben on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for all the thought provoking analysis of daily life. Love it, really adds to my week.

Good Return on Investment

by Okinawa Salt Cookie on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! It's nice to feel like you get a good return on your time investment.

Loved the books, love the podcast more

by SuperWomanAsh on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Exploring the riddles of everyday life is one of the most enjoyable pass times. The topics discussed are ever insightful and delivered in an entertaining way.

So great!

by TJChecketts on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything Freakonomics I've listened to has just been great. These folks really know how to present and keep the topics interesting and fresh!