Average rating:

4.5
out of 4231 ratings.

Lost credibility

by Capecodrider on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They lost all credibility with me and I stopped listening when they did an episode about someone's unpublished paper (in my field) that they were treating as fact.Unacceptable, shoddy journalism that made me never trust them again. I'll listen to Planet Money instead, thanks.

One of my favorite podcasts

by CStaff22 on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great Podcast to pass time while commuting.

It's gotten bad...

by mrccgn on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This has gotten bad since he released his other podcast. Also, what's this liberal bent he's been on. Get your act together or I'm out.

Jumped the shark

by Russty on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Last podcast was completely unrelated to Freakanomics. I will be unsubscribing.

Worth it!

by R&B Stoll on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting topics, well researched and presented. Love it!

Great!

by Arty Party Pants on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this for years and it has always been great! It has become less economics based over the years. But Dubner's perspective on things is very insightful and interesting.

Helping fight stupidity

by rock-out92 on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcast. Definitely helps me bring a smarter prospective to conversations with friends.

Question

by Kevin Remillard on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Were Kahneman & Tversky influenced by books The Structure of Magic I & II

Listener

by 59years on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and that's a rational decision!

It will change the way you see the world.

by Zac and Joy on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've recommended this podcast to dozens of my friends. I've been a listener for 2 years now and never miss an episode. Even my 8yo son likes it. Entertaining and insightful. Always based on data.

Informative & Fun Listen

by Annie ❤️ politic-talk on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to this podcast each week. It is so well done. They can make any topic super interesting and will make you want to learn more about it.

Read the Books, Listen to the Podcast

by Jack32710 on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

If you enjoyed the books, you will enjoy the podcast.

Very much enjoy the topics

by reviewingandratingalways on Jan 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was super excited the day I finished reading the books, and found out that their was a podcast too. I mind was left wanting more thought provoking topics and ideas. I highly recommend this podcast to everyone, even if you have not read the books. It's a must have podcast!

Consistently Informative and Fun

by Nilay on Jan 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff - easy to understand and listen to... Perfect for my commute and can be resumed without having to be all confused and start from the beginning. Well told stories and analysis.

Fantastic!

by Rap Genius 4 Life on Dec 31, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast!

Must listen

by David W 19 on Dec 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The gold standard for weekly podcasts.

The podcast is a great podcast and I like it

by 🍜🍱🍙🧀🌊🎌 on Dec 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

It's good

Love it!

by josephinelorraine on Dec 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because it is very informative and easy to listen to. I love the facts. They are always interesting.

Couldn't love it more

by Austere9 on Dec 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening for some time because I'm a curious person. I enjoy the questions and the approach tackled in this program. I highly recommend it.

Great stuff

by Valentina DF on Dec 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thumbs up!

One of the best

by 1999yon on Dec 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The thinkers podcast! For those who like to know more of the story, listen to this podcast.

A new way of looking at things

by jon fitz on Dec 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love it when people can tell a story from a different point of view.

Humanizing such a Dry Topic

by dudeinlalaland on Dec 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Economics can be such a dry, boring, and convoluted topic. I was a little hesitant to download freakonomics but after listening to a few episodes this has become one of my all time favorite podcast. It's interesting, informative, easy to follow, and quite honestly humanizes economics. It's not just about the numbers or hard data, it really is about the stories behind those numbers. I sometimes listen to an episode and it would be so good and revealing that I would think about that episode or topic for a whole week. Great podcast to learn something new and interesting and even talk about it with friends at a dinner party. Highly recommend!

Favorite part of my week

by Slycity on Dec 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏼

Informative, fun, and interesting

by Tabiyeh on Dec 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast on my commute in the morning now that the news has become so depressing one requires a Zoloft to make it through any individual segment.

Get to the point

by b hackel on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

Decent, but a bit too drawn out. You could drop the extraneous music (non intro/outro) and guest's personal history.

my favorite

by Pandalover162 on Dec 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

great

Absolute best

by Moocowjoe on Dec 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

From medicine to belts to quirks of society. Every week is thought provoking and informative. Don't miss out!

Love it

by Swami71 on Dec 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts

Favorite Podcast

by PDigi1111 on Dec 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Well produced and always interesting. I never miss an episode.

Thank you Mr. Dubner!

by DevinIreland on Dec 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great and wide ranging podcast full of humor and insight. I look forward to it every week. Thank you!

Very interesting show

by DerekN11 on Dec 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Always gives you something to think about in a way you didn't think about before. Makes you sound smart with your friends.

Interesting and fun!

by Babysy on Dec 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Some episodes are better than others, but overall a great show that makes you look at everyday topics in a different way.

Bad medicine

by convertable on Dec 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Good podcast but why should I write a review when the most recent reviews shown are from 2010?

Love

by rainisdog on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The diverse and unexpected range of topics keep me coming back.

Simply fantastic

by Dj handbags x on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts of all time for it's thought provoking ideas as well as unexpected statistics and ideas!

Like It

by Grizzygram on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A Lot

Changed my life

by Tom06661 on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakonomics has changed my life. It has changed the way I think, the I act, it has had a huge effect on my life. Both the books and the podcast, from beginning to end, has completely changed how I see the world. I am so thankful for stumbling upon such talent at WNYC studios. I am so grateful for everyone who works behind the scenes to create this work of art. #pleasenevergoaway

Great Podcast!

by Erbs10 on Dec 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Very enjoyable.

The best

by Adambfc on Nov 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Perhaps one of the best if not THE best podcast series.

One of the real jewels of public radio

by fC2m on Nov 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm currently listening to the podcast about the benefits/downsides to the practice of tipping at restaurants.I always learn a lot from this program, and in addition to being educational and entertaining it is always thought provoking without being preachy. I recommend the Freakonomics podcast to people who are innately curious and those who likes to learn about the back story to life. So dear Freakonomians, please keep 'em coming and I'll keep listening and sharing with friends.

Most Persuasive Liberal Show Out There

by Mbyrl on Nov 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love your podcast and have read all the Freakanomics books. I think the research and data presented on most every topic is great but what I find funny is sometimes the commentary or conclusions drawn are so contrary to the data. John Putman's study on diversity for instance shows it is not a strength at all, yet you end the podcast with the impression that it is a good thing. Where's the conservative perspective on this? Your guests are never people like Thomas Sowell or Dinesh D'Souza who have conservative opinions on culture and assimilation. On healthcare the system is failing miserably and you still insist on bringing in Ezekiel Emanuel time and again to tell us if we just obey better it will work. Why not ask a conservative authority on healthcare what a better solution could be? Again, I love your brand because it's the only one that persuasively argues for liberal points like abortion but it's far from balanced on most topics.

On the decline

by Katie in Houston on Nov 29, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great production quality and host, with impressive even acclaimed guests. However, it seems like they've run out of interesting content. Recent shows don't stack up to the earlier stuff.

Love the behavioral economics topics

by 2tha★s on Nov 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This has been a great podcast for continued learning about issues and controversies that economic research and reasoning give us some interesting insights into.

Makes me smarter!

by Robbinscl on Nov 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast, it makes me know so much more!

Love this podcast

by Sara M P. on Nov 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative and educational, but always holds my attention. One of my favorite podcasts!

Taking the seemingly boring and displaying just how not boring it is

by Mel J. on Nov 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so much every time I listen. Brilliant podcast on the economy.

Great show!

by cool and smart awsome guy on Nov 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Must hear stories!

Thought provoking and enriching

by Inatti-123 on Nov 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always nursed a fascination for economics and how things "work". As a researcher, I find the topics very interesting and appreciate the methods of investigation. As a goof, I particularly enjoy the humor. And Dubner's voice isn't bad either. Overall - funny, understandable and useful. 👍🏾

Interesting subjects

by Mr Jones1994 on Nov 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the thought provoking subjects. Not rigorous science, but great fodder for dinner party conversations.