Average rating:

4.5
out of 13139 ratings.

Great

by chuckycheeseistosneeze on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great amazing interesting

Loved the Books, Love the Podcast

by BreenieAhearn on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved reading both Freakanomics books and have really enjoyed listening to the podcast. The topics and guests are interesting and the way Dubner weaves in stories is excellent.

Great topics

by Lenny Altaverde on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Human behavior is always fascinating to dive more deeply into. I do wish they’d expand their panel of experts beyond academics however. Would be nice to hear professionals from other fields putting this to use in unique “everyday” ways.

Why you should subscribe

by Wannabe Sales guy on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So your listening to a "very" entertaining podcast and about halfway through the podcast you realize you are learning valuable life lessons. Out of all my podcast subscriptions this is the one I give my undivided attention to. I trust the reports / stories are factual and well balanced.

Favorite podcast

by coleschaefer55 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to podcasts about a year ago and unfortunately never stumbled onto Freakanomics until the beginning of this summer. Ever since then, I have been listening to every episode produced and going back and listening to old podcasts. I highly recommend listening to this podcast. You will not regret it!!

Too much sports

by Moxxxxxccccxxxh on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve loved the podcast for years until now, please ease up on the sports or just make a spin-off show for it, it’s overtaking every other theme on the show.

Misfired

by Joshhue on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

As a long time listener, I very disappointed with the direction of this show over the last few months. I am also not looking forward to episode after episode of sports, especially when the entire episode is a boring interview.

Always interesting

by lt jcmr on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the topics. Love the presentation. Love the guest experts. Really well done.

Irony strikes

by Ctscmiller on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story on 49rs. But to go all in on Garappolo only to lose him for the season. I feel the pain as he was my fantasy QB back up.

Was great when Levitt was around. Now, NOT so much.

by Shane Colter on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

What are you doing Dubner??? We are already bombarded with loads of crappy news and talk shows! Why must you too devolve to the lowest common denominator?

Rarely interesting anymore

by Chris-132 on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to enjoy listening to this podcast, but there has been a steady decline in the quality of this podcast during the last two years and now most of the new episodes are boring. Furthermore, they waste an absurd amount of time in every episode on previewing what's coming up in the episode, during which they give away too much information.More importantly, whenever this host interviews someone that's famous, he never asks any tough questions and he lets the other person fully control the narrative. It's almost as if he's trying to become buddies with the famous people he interviews.

So woke

by Dhowishwitz on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

They changed into some SJW podcast. instead of providing their real unique blend of economics and sociology on why our society can both be functioning and in need of improvement we get this new garbage covering athletes and their left wing ideology now. In case you didn’t notice Dubner I can get that on any podcast. Thanks for selling out.

No thanks

by BMChris1234 on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show lost me when I saw a two part episode on how the Koch brothers aren’t so bad paired with new ads for Koch Industries. No credibility from that point forward.

Entertaining

by Stoplookingatmyjunk on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always intriguing, this is the most in-depth look at subjects I love.

Essential Listening

by Nicknames99 on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favourite podcast by a wide margin, one that broadens your mind and makes you see the world differently. Essential listening for any educated person, especially those curious about human behaviour and decision-making.

I’m a freak about this podcast

by Simply Mindful Mo on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s used this title! 🤓 But, it’s true. Dubner provides listeners with a variety of interesting topics and digs deep. Often the contents of the episodes are unexpected. That’s one of my favorite things about being a “freak” LOL

Fantastic look at the hidden side of everything

by lily314 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most enjoyable and informative podcasts out there. It is very educational about topis in microeconomics as well as finance, politics and more.

Never miss one

by SmoothHughes on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening since the beginning and won't stop. Mostly Dubner now. If you like the books I think you will like this show as much or more.

Where did the old episodes go??

by alexariv910999 on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the show but now on the mobile app I can only see 14 episodes?? It’s like all of them have been deleted!? I want to send one of the older episodes to a friend.

Top Five

by ericlamb on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I consider this to be one of the flagships of all podcasts.

The best

by Brennanfan on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dubner rocks. Funny, kind and smarter than anyone in the room...any and every room.

The best podcast

by rochopotamus on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the best lol

Great variety

by Licorne–sh on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast after reading "When to Rob a Bank" a collection of their blog posts. I greatly appreciate the wide ranging topics and the eye for incentives and pressures in things beyond supply and demand of widget a.

love it

by ryanwolfwins on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a huge fan of this podcast. I am have gotten a lot out of my time listening. I am looking forward to more episodes.

My Favorite Podcast

by photostephica on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love Freakonomics. I love it so much that it inspired me to pursue a masters degree and now begin behavioral research as I build my credentials for PhD program applications. Thank you Stephen Dubner for creating a show that constantly teaches and challenges me. My thirst for knowledge continues to grow because of you!

Is it just me, or did the pre-6/2018 podcasts disappear?

by Troll_jegeren on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I started listening about 2 months ago and really enjoyed it, so much so that I decided to start from episode 1. A few days ago all the earlier podcasts disappeared from both my “available episodes” and “previously played” lists. I’d love to have those back!

Highly recommend

by MinnJim on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Freakonomics for years and they just keep informing, educating, and surprising me with the material. If asked what podcasts I recommend, this one is always at the top of the list!

What Happened to the Quality of the Show Post-Stitcher? Uncle!

by BillikenTK on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Team -I’m an avid fan of Freakonomics. Like many of your listeners (I’m sure), I believe I’ve listened to every episode to date. Ominously, this is the first time I’ve been moved to review.The recent episodes are painfully banal. I just tapped out of the Restaurant episode with 13ish minutes left after listening to the challenges of cooking pretzels and the “innovation” of not having the cooks top sausages. I’m still trying to figure out the point and/or the through-line of the Lance Armstrong episode.I guess a common lesson of these two episodes is that conversations with “pop-culturally interesting” figures does not by definition yield interesting podcasts.This review is likely disproportionately harsh, but I implore you to please rediscover your groove! Thanks,Thomas

My favorite podcast!

by Pic user 2584 on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved their books, and I love the podcast! The topics are widely varied, and I appreciate the multiple angles from which the hosts analyze each topic in great detail.

Helpful insights, interviews

by Totsfordays on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They do a great job of diversifying topics and guests to make an interesting and insightful show.

Pls delete this review

by gg88888ssss on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

No delete button on iTunes to delete a review so have to put something here

More like Koch-Economics

by ambhpayne on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In their most at recent cast, they present geo-engineering as a more wizard way of combatting climate change than pursuing renewable energy on a global scale. Really? I don’t think you get more wizard than harnessing the endless energy of the sun. The Koch machine is such a joke.

Unsubscribed

by fuzzy ears on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

A couple of years ago, I found this podcast entertaining. Upon further scrutiny, I have found it instead to be shallow; the hosts definitely shape any data or anecdotal evidence to suit their entertainment designs. I began listening less and less as I finally realized it was worse than small biases, it's actual misinformation. I find it to be harmful. Unsubscribed.

Awesomeness!

by natty31 on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This makes my commute much enjoyable! Thanks!

Julie

by jrbgrapes on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m in love with Dubner’s voice! His inflections and word choices keep everything so intriguing that I find myself listening all the way to the end! Thanks for a great podcast and a great voice Steve! :)

Koch Brothers Interview

by mdelahousaye on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Lost all respect!

Very nice

by Naeem - UAE on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Inspiring

Love it

by The Frolon on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So much fun information all in one place. Prefer the ones that stick fairly closely to economics and statistics, but there are some gems in the less mathematically bounded ones too.

Sell Outs

by notyou7577 on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to listen to this podcast on a regular basis and usually made it to the end of the show. But then they had a softball interview with one of the Koch brothers where they totally just sucked up to the baron. That was enough to lose me. These guys are sell outs. They were probably hoping to get some grant money.

Facts

by Lemmelook5 on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcast ever a staple

Thank you

by diallo99 on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for this great podcast

Freakonomics

by BKEKAlt on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like your podcast. It is always interesting and we love to listen as a family!

Approachable and fun

by Distle fink on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

From the original book through the latest podcast, the series turns “the dismal science” into useful, interesting and enjoyable information. Love their common sense approach, and debunking of many of the prevailing assumptions regarding why societies act and react the way they do.

Keep up the simplicity, great guests & the fun smart content!

by WiredAnand on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

we lov what u do Steve. Thank you. however i always listen to u on Tune.FM. Please keep the TuneFM stream going. It works across all my devices and its a blessing. Hope u can continue. If you are ever in Plano, Texas - Holler. Will make sure u have a great time.

Who decides how much a life’s worth?

by Miketron 3030 on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This episode was the most enjoyable episode to listen too because, of the drama involved into it.Overall this podcast is in my top five. Great job Stephen!

Interviewing Wizardry

by AvsFire on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dubner is a great interviewer with thoughtful questions. I appreciate hearing all sides of each topic.

Great show

by Anne-Clifton on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I had started listening sooner, the range of subjects seems unlimited and I look forward to every episode. Highly recommend it!

Refreshing Journalism

by 2020Katy on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven Dubner is a pro’s pro. He’s fair to all his guests and brings a wide variety of perspectives and synthesizes them very well.

Lance Armstrong

by InboxDollarsSeemsLikeAScamtoMe on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I usually really enjoy the Freakenomics podcasts but was pretty disheartened when listening to the puff piece on Lance Armstrong. He wasn’t just a cheater he aggressively bullied, harassed, and discredited good people. I’d much rather hear an interview with Greg LeMond—a legit cycling hero and champion (and someone who Lance tried to discredit).

Freakonomics review

by Your boy Cammy T on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating and presented in a digestible way for a layman. Love it!