Average rating:

4.5
out of 6741 ratings.

Hit and miss on quality.

by jesusina on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

There are some interesting interviews on scientific studies and some awful softball interviews with famous people (let’s hear more about “cronyism” from the Koch Brothers). Also, I find the repetition of giving early clips to entice your interest to be annoying. I’ve already downloaded the episode. You don’t need to convince me to listen to it.

Sell out

by everevolving on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So disappointed in the absolute softball interview with the Kochs, followed by advertising them on the show. Disgusting and completely ignores the horrendous impact they've had on the country and our political discourse. I unsubscribed.

Practical Economics is Best Economics

by Danconia* on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast, it’s good. Like real real good. Great even.

Political Bias

by Hiphopopatmus on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I use to love this podcast but it became to obviously biased so I stopped listening.

Thought provoking

by Mcb2491 on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love every episode!

Changes my life constantly

by BigDaddyG1234567 on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Practical knowledge for your everyday life, from medicine to mentoring programs.

Decent but not excellent

by Nate Olstad on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Most episodes are interesting and enjoyable to listen to. However, they sometimes release episodes that are simply just an interview of a single person and those episodes are almost always terrible. The quality of the episodes varies a lot.

Love

by Crlybrly on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, interesting and in depth.

Thoughtful and entertaining!

by StaffingPro on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is excellent no matter what your economic background.

Insightful

by Emmett the great on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast with lots of great insights.

Great podcast!!

by Melo O on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was my first podcast and it remains in my top five. The topics are always interesting and presented in a fun yet informative manner. I drove from NE Ohio to Chicago and back starting with the first episode. Made the trip fly by!

7 years ... still amazing

by Abashir on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing work. Work based on evidence, rare to find and a model to emulate. Teaches you to question everything in search of the evidence.

A primer for future podcasters

by Jeff Sawyer on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen makes esoteric, challenging topics clear and interesting. You learn about things you never thought you'd care about. Listen for the conversational tone, for the pacing, the objectivity. He makes it sound easy to do this. It's not.

Brilliant, original, entertaining

by MausNYC on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s a pleasure to get original insights and interpretations about the world from these huge brains

Podcast is simply a stage for whoever wants to plug something.

by Stickystocky on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Many of their episodes will claim to be about a subject, but it’s simply a single guest talking and advertising about a book they recently wrote. The worst example of this is when they gave two episodes to David Koch for him to spew lies and propaganda without a single legitimate question asked by Dubner.

UNSUBSCRIBE: Stumping for the Koch brothers...

by Otis-T on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In general, when not pushing the Koch bros agenda, this is a good podcast – as you would expect from the freakonomic guys.My concern is: did they sell themselves out for a sponsorship with the Koch brothers? It seems, yes, they have. They are sponsored by the Koch brothers and they had a podcast that was very pro-Koch brothers... almost an info-mercial. At the time, I was surprised, thinking wow, the Koch brothers must be misunderstood. Then, I started hearing advertising on this podcast for Koch industries... And that made me question whether or not it was actually a balanced podcast. I don't believe it was and that is disappointing.Freakonomics has SOLD out! Traders!

Awesome podcast

by Viveks3th on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to Freakonomics

Gotta say goodbye

by Smw104 on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've loved this podcast for years, but after the 2 softball interviews of Charles Koch, my faith was shaken. Then I saw the Koch Industries had become a sponsor, and I had to unsubscribe. Sorry, I've enjoyed the podcast and learned a lot, but that kind of quid pro quo makes me feel you're untrustworthy. Maybe someday you'll reconsider and I'll return.

Usually very good with an occasional Larry Summers

by Marcus517 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The ones on nurses, gluten and the visual effects industry were terrific; objective, surprising and fun. But every once in a while we get a Larry Summers (plodding and biased) or Trevor Noah (Larry without the plodding). Early on there were a few back to back that were just being mailed in and I considered unsubscribing, but they've gotten better and now this is one of my 7 go to podcasts.

The world needs more critical thinkers.

by iocasta on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Idiocy was supposed to be a work of fiction, not a documentary on the fall of the US.

Great show, dance to the theme song

by TravelingSnorlax on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show, love the intro.

Excellent

by Turkey Vols on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent

Biased

by Army*79 on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Was a listener for several years and always enjoyed a fair approach to topics, but recent podcasts have been loaded with bias and have only presented one side of an issue. I have decided to unsubscribe following the recent podcast presenting only one side of the NP issue. I work with a lot of great nurses and doctors and the problem is more complex than what was presented. I do appreciate the earlier episodes and am saddened by the recent biases.

Sold Their Souls

by Daveinla2 on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be one of my absolute favorite podcasts until I listened to the absolute schlock they did on Charles Koch. Now Koch Industries underwrites this show. How can a podcast about economics, and at heart, logical scientific thinking, not only allow a sponsor that is systematically trying to harm our environment but also destabilize our government through financial manipulation. I will never be able to listen to this podcast without wondering if it is now just another arm of the Koch propaganda machine.

Love it!

by It failed. on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the bests!!!

Interesting and informative

by Mbob1 on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Have not been disappointed yet. Keep them coming!

My favorite podcast

by MrTho on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Freakonomics is what got me started on my podcasting lifestyle and it hasn't lost an ounce of steam in the near decade I've been following it.

I always learn something, getting harder to listen to

by Robmartin3 on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Freakonomics radio is a staple of the podcast library, includes well researched and interestingly presented information and consistently educates me on new things and reinforces many of the common economic and psychological biases at work in daily life. I find it is a more practical/pop culture version of some deeper psychological/philisophical discussions and often touches on similar biases and topics without getting as esoteric as you'd find in Very Bad Wizards or Waking Up, say. The show is obviously very well produced and supported. The reasons I dropped a star are two:1. Particularly more recently, the podcast version contains a lot of the repetitive teaser content that I guess they feel they need to include to cliff-hang people over commercial breaks when played on "non-commercial" NPR or radio outlets. On the podcast, it means you're listening to the same clip of some guy saying something pithy sometimes 4 or 5 times - intro snippet, overview snippet, pre-commercial teaser snippet, actual place in the show where it's relevant full quote, reminder snippet when making point at end. It's a lot to sit through. 2. Sponsored by Koch Industries? Really. I suppose they have a right to buy ads and to say things like how good the things Koch industries does balance out all the terrible things Koch industries does and the political devastation wrought by their owners on the country. But really? Quicken Loans couldn't come up with almost the same amount of scratch? This lost me a lot of respect for the show, and I think shows a level of sponsorship by the show that is incongruous with the underlying biases that the show (I thought) purported to care about exposing.

Amazing podcast

by Big T_____ on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen Dubner has created a masterpiece with this show. I never knew economics could be so interesting: this podcast has encouraged me to pursue some form of higher education in that field of study. This show really brings fascinating information to light. I highly recommend this podcast to people who enjoy learning. See "Adam Ruins Everything" if you enjoy this podcast.

Interesting topics

by Adal3hn on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for many years. Every episode brings on new interesting questions and great speakers!

Great

by UFsnook on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thumbs up

Great podcast

by lifeinme on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If your interested in how and why the world works the way it does this is a great Resource.

Great show

by Arcticczar on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the show! Thank you for producing it.Please stop playing episodes of TMSIDK. If I wanted to listen to it I’d subscribe

Good stuff, but TSIDK not so good

by javi_a21 on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Would get 5- stars, but they keep pushing recordings of TSIDK on this podcast. Please stop doing that. If you don't have content, just say so, and don't put up anything.

Excellent podcast

by Parkesandrec on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting stuff. Keep up the awesome work guys

Great show

by conjg on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always pumped to listen to some Steven Dubner!

Love these guys

by AdamcanSinG on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for all the information you provide in this podcast. I am working on listening to all the older episodes and enjoying every single one of them. Thanks guys.

Some issues

by MauKatKar on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast I would say is like planet money podcast just not as good. Here’s my main issues: Why have a 2 min long intro? Podcast that do this are annoying to me, because I don’t need a hook to keep me here. You already got me, im going to listen. It’s just a waste of my time, and yours to put it together. And it’s annoying to hear the same thing again when you get into the listen. There is strange editing where a question is dubbed in unnecessarily when he is obviously not there directly answering it. In my taste, the less intrusion from the interviewer the better. Actually I prefer none. My fav example is the podcast this is actually happening. You never hear him. With Dubner I find myself getting annoyed every time he interjects himself with a question that is not needed. In this way it is overly edited in a bad way. Then the topics are very often made to be quite boring. If you have the planet money podcast, every show is packed with interesting stuff, not to long. This show often seems to have topics that are boring, or just a bunch of opinions. Like One of the recent shows about the future speculations on the economy or government or something. It I was just a bunch of opinions and didn’t really have much value. To me anyway. All that said , I have listened to the books and all the podcasts. They are mostly good. I write this review mostly because I want to give my vote on those issues. And maybe if they find that people don’t like the intro and the dubbed questions they will stop doing it and make a better podcast.

Very good

by He-man83 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating. Learn a lot. I’m so much smarter and aware of things by listening. 👍🏽👍🏽

It makes you think... what a gift!!

by Browns irish on Oct 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I admit that I look at the episode titles and don’t always think it will “be for me,” but I get a little something (at least) out of every episode. In today’s world of “how quickly can I click something and get a reward,” this podcast makes you stop and think, and usually from multiple angles / perspectives. I truly see this as a gift, and thank you to all of those involved in the production!!

Serious Breach of Trust

by Lukadog on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Dubner interviwed Charles Koch earlier this year and gave someone who is having a profound influence on the socio-economic and political life of American a very easy ride. Now the Koch Brothers are an underwriter of this show. The appearnce of inpropriety is unavoidable and raises serious questions about the journalsitic ethics of Stephen J Dubner and of WNYC, his Public Radio partner.

More please!

by ccouchman on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

More!

Always interesting!

by FunGroomer on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even when the subject doesn’t initially grab me, I have enjoyed every episode, even the repeats. ❤️

Always keeps me on my toes

by Ccwhateva on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always find Freakanomics radio fascinating. The broad range of subjects covered always keeps me on my toes. I feel enlightened and more intelligent when I listen. But I also feel like the approach is very user-friendly. They’re really good at explaining things and their significance. I also think the delivery is fairly casual or lighthearted rather than lecture-y.

Favorite

by asklepius2007 on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts ever!!

Amazing

by ringback_fan on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my most favorite podcast and I look forward to Dubner’s mesmerizing voice every week. The episodes are produced such that the listener gets the gist of the topic immediately and then the required details to learn about the subject. Keep them coming Steve - you have a genuine fan here!

Thought provoking and original

by TXSmo on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Freakonomics podcast fills a wholly unique place in my schedule. Always thought provoking, sometimes surprising, very refreshing, and unapologetically different. This has been a favorite of mine for years, and hopefully many more to come!

Gluten Episodes

by Jenspetal on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Lots of thought provoking statements as usual, but I don’t think in the gluten episode that you struck a good balance between those who might be capitalizing on a new diet fad (label!) and those who have benefited from that diet. There were a lot of “maybes” in the scientific descriptions, and the “demonizing” seemed to be of those who are on a gluten free (or reduced gluten) diet suggesting that there are a lot of uninformed sheep following bad advice. And then you close with a suggestion to sue a doctor who might have erred on the side of caution. Wow!As noted, this diet can be more expensive (we might quibble with the significance as expanded options enter the market daily), so I expect most folks are thoughtful in making their choices - including not spending more on a diet that is not improving their life. You might survey a wider swath of experienced gluten dieters to see why they stuck with it. Again, the suggestion that you gave to your obviously young technician is disappointing.

Unsubscribing

by ogt94118 on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have listened to freakonomics for about three years. I think the show used to be quite excellent - asking interesting questions and digging into the answers with great curiosity and rigor. I think that has been less true in more recent episodes. I have decided to stop listening because I am disturbed by the fact that the podcast is now sponsored by Koch Industries, following a two-part interview with one of the Koch brothers. I no longer feel that the pros of listening to this show outweigh the cons.

Five stars!

by tease tees tis tese teas tise teese on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is AMAZING... and to have such good content and be this prolific is inspiring. Great job guys!