Average rating:

4.5
out of 422 ratings.

Unlistenable

by Twolukes1 on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Mumbles, background noise, unintelligible accents....check out History of Rome and hear what a professional podcast sounds like.

Truly special.

by Fooooock on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well made.

So Good, I Got the Book

by Quizme17 on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcast series I've ever listened to! It gives you a trip through world history using the object at the British Museum. Absolutely loved it and highly recommend!

Time Travel at its Best

by LizCervantes.88 on Dec 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love, love this podcast. I appreciate the care with which the objects are chosen. It is so refreshing to hear of ancient culture and intellectual thought all across the globe. Listen, learn and love it!

The best podcast I've heard

by Timothy Chen Allen on Sep 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love BBC's History of the World in 100 Objects. It challenges me, provoked thought, and entertains. It's awoken my love of history. Wonderful.

Absolutely fascinating

by Mbazzy8 on Aug 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent series.

Really enjoy this!

by AZ Richard on Jun 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

this was such a great podcast, they select items from the British Museum that represent some significance bit of history and just talk about it and what was going on in the world at that time. Starting at the dawn of time and moving Into modern era. I liked that each episode was just 15 minutes long . I have a short attention span so it was just the right amount of time to spend on each item. Some things I looked up after and read much more about , opened up lots of curiosity in me.

Please make more!

by If 50 retires, hip hop will live again on Jun 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Wish they would make more!!!

One of the best

by Quodlibetarian on Jun 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This series was such a great idea: approaching human history through objects rather than events or people. The epsiodes won't make you a history major, but they will introduce you to a variety of objects that can tell us both about the differences and similarities between human cultures in various times and places. I have listened to the entire series twice now, and it remains interesting. Most of the complaints and low ratings are from the brief period when the episodes were taken down and re-released on a daily basis to get them ordered correctly (and to fix a few editing problems).One last note: if you are looking for any self-flagellation over colonialism, you won't find it here. The host is self-aware enough to recognize what the British Museum's possession of these objects means to some people, but he steers clear of any sort of politics. This is about the objects and what they reveal about those who created them, not about the history of the objects themselves (and definitely not about their political history). This might disappoint some people, but not every podcast can be about every issue.

Fascinating - The perfect commuter podcast

by ECMidwesterner on May 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoying this series. If you were like me and tuned out a few times in your high school world history class - and now wish you didn’t - listen to this. Such a unique way to tell the story of human civilization while describing each objects. Check it out!

One of the best

by Supernova1054 on Apr 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Sad to see this was finite! One of my favorite podcasts of all time. Wish they could find a way to continue this.

Wonderful. Thank you

by Axmann on Feb 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful. Thank yiu

Wow. A whirlwind trip through time...

by MsBow on Feb 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Elegantly narrated, very informative and engaging. It's a college class in a podcast. Wonderful. Thank you so much.

Great podcast

by cbarba on Dec 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This was a very interesting podcast. I enjoyed hearing about the different objects and the role they played in history. The first couple of episodes is about caveman history which I didn't care for. But by episode 3 or 4 I was hooked and binged on all the rest of the episodes.

Good history. Bad execution.

by TDROK on Nov 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The history is easily 5 star content. The development of humans through objects is fascinating, but the execution is dull. I've tried pushing through - I've listened to over half the episodes, but it reminds me of the time wasting videos we would watch in grade school when there was a substitute teacher. I'm still in pursuit of a truly captivating history podcast.

Incomplete

by Tyler Ostergaard on Sep 04, 2015
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There are only 50 objects here, what happened to the first 50 objects? Also why are they now numbered in reverse order.

Bravo!

by Kari Mohr on May 27, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Bravo to BBC and the British Natural History Museum on this incredibly well produced, finely told, and endlessly fascinating series. I am working my way through all of them and relish every listen.

Great! but...

by pleiovn on Mar 29, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the perspective of telling the history of the world represented in this podcast. The stories are engaging and fascinating. I love that I can get a look into the British Museum, which I've never visited. However, the prodigious use of the masculine pronoun is irritating - although ubiquitous in just about any media. What drove me crazy is the story about an unusually large stone knife. The size makes it a not very useful tool. Why is that? Well, it could have been decorative or ceremonial. It would have made the wearer seem strong or important, and as a result, attract women. Other stories about tools or weapons are always told as if the maker and/or user was a man. BBC 4 - this podcast is so good! Why spoil it by alienating your women listeners?

Great short podcast

by AquaTsubaki on Dec 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Very good bite-size episodes about history.

This is probably one of the best on iTunes

by elrondisabamf on Apr 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of history podcasts and this one is by far the highest quality and one of my very favorites. I am sad that I am finished with all 100 objects, but I guess this means I can listen from the beginning again! All of the objects are available on the website they provide at the end of each episode. The pictures (and video) provided on the website are more than helpful to look at before, during, or after you have finished your podcast. Totes would recommend.

absolutely fascinating

by jgailey4 on Feb 21, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

i understand why there aren't more episodes. however, i would LOVE to have a weekly podcast with this same layout, where each item in the museum is discussed. VERY informative and interesting!

Amazing!!

by cull e on Jul 27, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Best ever! I'm going to start again with #1.

More Please!

by Smittums17 on Jun 29, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVED this podcast! It was so interesting to learn about other cultures thru objects. I was super bummed when I finished all 100 objects. Could you do another 100 objects? More history of the World? I miss this podcast.

Enjoy the history

by Pharm72 on Jun 19, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to them twice and now I'm listening with my 10 year old. Love going beyond her history class.

You should subscribe

by KC+MO on May 31, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Concise, illuminating, brilliant. Every episode is a pleasure. I was sorry when it was over.

I never knew history was so much fun!!!

by Paresh Kokate on May 25, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. MacGregor please don't stop with this keep adding more objects and enlighten us more fore example you covered Borobodur - why not object from Prambanan the temple complex near by even if the object is not in your museum.

Excellent

by JC-2013 on May 04, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

A fascinating program that has made me look at museum collections with new interest and understanding. As another reviewer has said, if it were a history of the world in 1000 objects, I would listen to them all. I purchased the book as a result of listening to this, and the book is well worth seeking out for the pictures of the objects and to be able to review the content of the program.

The best podcast of all time

by Spark2001 on Feb 20, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I want to give it away to everyone I know. 15 minute insights into world history (yes I know its more complex and the Colonial nations is telling the story).

I'll never see a museum the same way again

by Historical insomniac on Dec 21, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

How many times have you walked through a museum in a fog after the reading the lit-tle cards next to the first few dozen things on display? The British Museum is stuffed with an extraordinary collection and I've been there many times on visits but never have I appreciated the significance of all the world's history housed there before. I have seen the Rosetta stone and Elgin marbles but a tiny golden llama from Peru? Here, it reveals the entire Incan confrontation with Spanish Conquistadors. Or the ancient jade Bi the Ch'ing emperor graffitied with his own doggerel verse? Nope. The choice of objects was brilliant and thought-provoking. THERE ARE PHOTOS ONLINE OF EVERY OBJECT.

A must for everyone: history buffs or novices

by Hungrydeejay on Sep 30, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This series puts history into context better than any other program or book that I have read. It is so digestible with its small segments that the listener is more apt to retain information. This series makes the objects in discussion relevant to me by explaining not only the object's purpose and craftsmanship but also the historical atmosphere and human timeline in which it falls. Truly brilliant in every sense of the word. I look forward to visiting the British Museum now with more background not only into these objects but similar objects. I have also learned to find more significance while observing artifacts due to the many angles this series takes. I first picked up the book after hearing an interview on NPR and then discovered the podcasts were made first. It is very similar to the book but better to have the audio paint the visuals.

Very informative in 14 only minutes!

by KANDUCO on May 31, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish they were longer and more of them. If there were 1000 objects I would download them all. Highly recommended.

Incredible

by cknowlesie on Feb 15, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great series, and resource.

Unbeatable

by manofscissors on Feb 07, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this is what podcasting should be all about. I'm enjoyed this podcast for over a year and continue to listen to it and hear new things on repeated listenings. Top marks.

Extremely valuable

by MAFinOKC on Jan 27, 2012
Rating: ★★★★☆

I am aware that in the UK and abroad, this series has been criticized and condemned as a cynical attempt to bolster the British Museum's public image and to justify the museum's continued possession of artifacts that some would like to see returned to their countries of origin. But taking the series on its own merits, while its title is misleading and it is uneven and occasionally awkward, overall it is a fascinating gallop through some indispensible slices of human history.

Fabulous Companion on our trip to the British Museum !

by nysailorgal on Oct 08, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

We downloaded these to the kids itouch and had them listen in as we followed the Brit Museum map of the (the world history in 100 objects). Made the event much more rewarding and rich ! And its all FREE !!!

Mrs

by History Erin33 on Jun 09, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently started a part time data entry job. This podcast has been amazing to pass the monotonous time! I especially love the Maya, Inca, and Aztec shows. I've been fascinated with these cultures since I was in elementary school. I would really like to hear more podcasts on these topics!!

My favorite podcast

by Marlena K. on May 19, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyday I choose a podcast to pass the time during my commute. AHOW is the best by far. I've spent more than one morning sitting in the parking lot (late for work!) until the episode ends - Neil Macgregor, you rock!

One of the best podcasts!

by Erinsings on May 07, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Fabulous podcast! Engaging and informative. I never thought I would become interested in seeing a coin in a museum! I wish it was the History of the world in 200 or more objects! I was sad when I heard the last one.

Highly Recomended

by n8jaynes on May 06, 2011
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is one of the best written, best produced podcasts out there. Great, fun to listen to content that keeps you interested for hours. Highly recomended

Amazing

by Mjkaplan on Mar 08, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Am on my second time through the full series. Fascinating and insightful; every podcast. Lightened 2 months of commutes for me. Well worth a listen.

+++

by mosca72 on Mar 04, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast!!! I hope to see more of this kind keep it up.

A+

by Adrianlsibilat on Jan 12, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Muy bueno :)

A work of art

by Pabb0714 on Oct 29, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

A+!

Renaissance?

by DuncanCC on Oct 24, 2010
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great series overall. My one quibble-- barely anything from medieval and Renaissance Europe. Enough with cultural relativism.

Why?

by Atila the hung-over on Oct 23, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

WHY DID IT HAVE TO END?

Definitely worth a listen

by laikac on Oct 22, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I have thoroughly enjoyed this podcast. Well thought out, cohesively told from episode to episode and definitely worth a listen!The only thing that would make this better is photos of the object being discussed.

How I am going miss this

by Kim Scheibel on Oct 21, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

My apologies for approaching this from a negative angle. When I just heard the narrator prepare me for the fact that the next episode is going to be the last (as if I needed reminding) I was filled with dread. For months I have been looking forward daily to the next installment because it has never failed to touch me.

Simply brilliant

by ptrnelson on Sep 24, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is what every history class should be like...captivating, contextual, and always applicable to today's world

Great stuff

by KnackerMan on Sep 15, 2010
Rating: ★★★★☆

I have really missed this podcast during it's hiatus. Good to have some new episodes.

Excellent!

by GingyNorth on Sep 01, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and impartial to the sway of good vs. bad which is often found in history podacasts.