Average rating:

5
out of 1245 ratings.

Love. Love. Love.

by Yellow Beard on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every story is inspirational, funny, heart-warming and very well crafted. Stephen is a master storyteller. I also really enjoy the music selections.

My favorite podcast.

by KING_X on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to Stephen's stories multiple time.

One of my favorite podcasts

by Electrical Ninja on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is amazing! Stephen runs the gamut. His stories go from funny, to heartbreaking, to inspirational and keeps you on the edge of your seat!

Great stories!

by Is this thing on...? on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories from a master storyteller. He puts so much thought and effort into them, and there's always an important life lesson.

A life in the theatre...

by Neurozach on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can count on one hand the number of people whose stories and experiences have moved me as much as Tobo's have in the past five years. His unflinching introspection and generosity in sharing his highest highs and lowest lows have made me think, almost killed me with laughter and brought brutally honest tears to my eyes on countless occasions, most recently an hour ago, when listening to Episode 74 - "What Is Hidden". These are stories told in the grand tradition of the elder passing down knowledge to those willing to listen, but not in a way any could call stodgy or ignorant. Tobo is like the cool uncle, or your best friend's father, the one who would constantly surprise you with casually tossed-off skills or anecdotes that you don't realize have shaped your life, until you're showing someone a special trick and all of a sudden, your first lesson - and the person who taught it to you - comes rushing back in a flood. All this, in addition to hilarious stories about what it's like to have your face chewed off by mechanical piraña! Don't listen alone. Share the experience of listening with someone you love. It's an investment in time that pays dividends.

Best Podcast

by Bilfrog on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Steven's life and experiences are told so eloquently and impactful that you will find yourself sometimes laughing so hard you can't breathe, blind from all the tears, thinking about your life because something struck a cord or stuck in an Aw moment. Forever grateful.

Great!

by AmberTheGardener on Aug 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently discovered this podcast and I absolutely love it! The stories are fascinating and have real world life applications/lessons.

Story telling at its best.

by Nardwuar Sr. on Apr 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If ever there was a person who could convince you magic in the form of story telling existed it would be him. Bravo good sir, bravo, bravo, bravo!

Thoughtful, eloquent meditations

by frfiallo on Mar 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

A series of stories and experiences, most of which involves his experiences in show business. More memoirs than industry tell-all, but deeply engrossing. Bear in mind that there's a small degree of exaggeration in some of his tales-it's better to consider these stories rather than biography.

Wonderful

by Latinforbad on Feb 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen Tobolowsky gives an endless supply of joy in his tales presented here. I laugh, I cry, I am inspired.

Incredible

by E sun on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

So much wisdom, I'm so glad this podcast exists. "To this point I had measured my life by how much I had effected the world. I think that is a common mistake... I think a more accurate measure of a life is the effect the world has had on us."

A pleasure to experience

by DisneyMansionFan on Dec 02, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast several months ago, still catching up. After only a few, I had to share it with my best friend so we could talk about it together. The storytelling is captivating. Joyful, sad, inspiring, silly and thought provoking, please continue telling us about your life Mr. Tobolowsky!!

Absolutely Marvelous

by W8tLUZR on Oct 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I am late to this party. These are completely engaging, warm, hilarious, touching, and insightful. Not just good stories, but a guide to a good life. Thanks Tobo!

Seems like maybe the best dude ever

by jake swivel on Oct 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Probably a saint.

Yes yes yes

by marcbryant on Oct 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes

Always good

by bgseattle on Sep 15, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep ‘em coming!

I am hooked

by jeanmorton on Sep 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic stories. Can't stop listening to them. Keep up the great work.

Thoroughly Entertaining

by funnydad59 on Sep 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen Tobolowsky has led a fascinating life, and he’s an exceptional raconteur. This is one of my favorite podcasts. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a well-told story.

Simply fantastic

by AlexP482 on Aug 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts out there. Great stories time and time again

New listener, episode 8 A Wager With Freddie!

by kirstinmiller on Jun 23, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I am loving these podcasts. I’ve downloaded all. Stephen Tobolowsky has storytelling skills and his voice is somehow perfect making the stories smart, sincere, entertaining and enlightening.Episode 8 is chilling, it starts with a narrative about making an alien movie in Vancouver then ends explaining exactly what God is.

I ACTUALLY LIKE MY HOUSECLEANING JOB BECAUSE OF THESE

by lily221977 on Jun 19, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to these while I work. I’m so happy I discovered these late in the game because I get the pleasure of having a huge list to work my way through. I listen to these as I work at my house cleaning job. Sometimes my belly hurts because I’m trying to scrub a tub or a toilet and I’m holding in my laughter!!! And other times I’m moved almost to tears. This is my summer job in between my school employment. I can feel that I’m going to look back on this summer with a sense of wonder, as I was transported to the magical world that Tobo created for me every single day while working a traditionally menial and unfulfilling job. Stephen I can’t thank you enough for giving us this gift. THANK YOU.

One of Our Greatest Personal Storytellers

by Bruce in Portland on Jun 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen Tobolowsky seems to be on the same rarified track as David Sedaris and the late Spalding Gray in his ability to transform events from his everyday, and not so everyday, life into stories with universal appeal.

Three Honeymoons

by Jeff Schario on Jun 11, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

There is something for all seasons in Stephens stories. I was particularly moved by the stories in The Allficted and Three Honeymoons. I’ve experienced similar life events and find it comforting and inspirational to hear others have gone through the same things and grown from them.

It really is.

by Toronto Hot Sauce on Jun 03, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s great!

Great

by aaforringer on May 11, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Tobolowsky is a great story teller, probably one of the best at this time in history. A great podcast to introduce people to the medium. Sound quality is great and professional.

Its a dooozie

by Masked_Matinee on Apr 26, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast filled with love, laughter, insight and more. There is something here for everyone.

Unmatched Story telling

by jazburgess on Feb 11, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Hilarious, engaging, entertaining through and through. Stephen Tobolowsky is a fantastic story teller.

Insightful and moving

by iVillager on Feb 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. Tobolowsky is a gifted storyteller who is able to relate tales in a way that is both Truthful (with a capital T) and entertaining.

Superb and amazing

by DEHickman on Nov 07, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

If you think you have had an interesting life....think again. Tobolowsky has had a very amazing life. The true stories he shares are awesome both in their subject and his delivery.

Hope it's still on.

by gatewayroadsters on Oct 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast thru the Seincast podcast after they reviewed the Tor Eckman episode. I love it and I refuse to look forward to the present day podcast. (I am currently living in 2011 in episode 45.)I hope this is still on in the present day. At the rate I'm going I may catch up in a few weeks. I'm gonna try it. stePhen tobolowsky (the Russian spelling)

So good

by ALLISON CURREY on Sep 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

He's an amazing story teller and all around wise man. It's very entertaining to here his life stories and lessons.

Love this podcast!!!!

by Linda Canizales on Sep 09, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I am obsessed with Stephen Tobolosky!!! I just discovered his podcast a couple of weeks ago and I have caught up with them and am now going through withdrawals!! I want more stories!!! They bring out all kinds if emotions. One minute I'm laughing the next minute I'm crying! I'm going through them again! Please hurry up and bring us more stories! Thank you, Stephen, for all your stories!

Amazing!

by WFDave on Jul 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Every time I catch up, I start over from the beginning again

Riveting!

by NWgardener on Jul 16, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I am hooked on these podcasts. Stephen Tobolowsky is a WONDERFUL storyteller and he has so many tales to tell! He can bring you to tears, or make you laugh out loud….or just tell a fascinating inside story you’ll never hear anywhere else. I have yet to find an episode that didn’t hold my interest. He weaves together beautifully told snippets of his personal and professional life with the lessons he learned from them…great stuff!!!

Stephen is the old friend you never knew you had.

by SRH733 on Jun 24, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Gentle, wise, friendly, and utterly compelling -- Stephen is a gifted storyteller. Check this out!! Thank you David Chen for making this happen!

Excellent

by sccoots on Jun 16, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to about 20 episodes now, and there is not a better podcast on the internet that I know of. Funny, sad, edifying without being preachy. Just excellent.

A Must Listen!

by Jestris on Jun 06, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

After having found this podcast via Dave Chen and Joanna Robinson's A Cast of Kings, I have downloaded and am listening to the episodes of The Tobolowsky Files from the beginning. Stephen Tobolowsky's storytelling is wonderful! It is now a staple of my day. Thanks to Stephen and Dave for the sometimes funny, sometimes heartbreaking, always entertaining stories!

Must hear

by Javastine on May 03, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Always fun, often moving, a hell of a ride.

Came to this late, but happy to catch up!

by DarChan on Apr 25, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful, funny, insightful -- what a great podcast should be! I look forward to my weekly long drives now -- I get to listen to another great adventure in the life and mind of ST. Somehow, his writing and performece on these podcast supercede his film & TV work -- as good as that always was. I have such respect for him as an artist, storyteller, writer and as a person. Highly recommended!

Love it.

by Adamapalmer on Apr 25, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t believe it took me this long to find it. Everybody should subscribe.

One of my favorites.

by Justin Weiss on Apr 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen’s stories spark my imagination like nothing else. I feel like I’ve been on these trips and adventures with him. I’m weeks behind on my podcast listening, but new episodes of this podcast always jump the line. Simply great.

Life-changing

by John Rivers on Apr 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast that I can't rave about enough. You'll be hooked right from the get-go.

It all started with Kevin Pollak's Chat Show

by Suzamac45 on Mar 28, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

The first time I heard him was on KPCS. He was so darn entertaining that I immediately found his podcast and have been highly entertained every since. My only regret is that I am powering through them at 3 a day and will soon have to wait for new ones to come out. Stephen is a treasure. His tales of sitting on the head of a boa constrictor, appearing as a "sailah man" in a Japanese advertisement and his trying out as a sleeping man in an ad for Disneyworld are laugh-out-loud funny. I'm still wondering how the actor who got the sleeping man part interpreted it. I'm pretty sure he didn't use the 3 Stooges as inspiration like Stephen did.

My Favorite

by iTouchValentina on Mar 04, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this in the car, while jogging, while house-cleaning, and any time in-between. I think that if you listen real close, you'll find all the mysteries of life unravel themselves in this particular podcast. And I listen to A LOT of podcasts.

Hidden gem of a podcast!

by Cdwillis on Mar 01, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t believe this podcast isn’t in the top charts of the iTunes podcasts listings. Stephen is a master storyteller and raconteur. His tales are inspiring, insightful, sad, joyous, bittersweet, humorous, and touching, sometimes all at once. It really is odd that something so amazing has flown under the radar. This podcast is up there with This American Life, Radiolab, Fresh Air, 99% Invisible, and other favorites.

Simply the best

by AmericanRecluse on Feb 21, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Richly complex, insightful stories by an open-hearted master storyteller. I cannot ever get enough of the Tobolowsky Files. You will laugh, you will cry, you will think and care. Thank you, Stephen and David for this lovely gift.

Unbelievably Good!

by Mcone1919 on Feb 21, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

To say that this podcast is moving, terrifying, bizarre, and overwhelming hilarious would be a GROSS understatement. Stephen Tobolowsky (The Russian spelling, of course. Listen, you'll get it...) is far and away one of the very best storytellers the modern world has ever known. His insights into "life, love and the entertainment industry", as David Chen puts it, are remarkable. I myself choose to believe everything the man says and take it as first hand fact; I truly feel that I've come to know Mr. Tobolowsky in a way that is oftentimes astounding to me. His candor, sensitivity, and appreciation of the numinous qualities of "life, love, etc." (along with his impeccable sense of timing and his delivery) provide such a rich listening experience that you have no choice but to feel like you know the man personally. I only wish he knew a little something about me. This is so one-sided. You've given so much, Tobo, and I have given you nothing in return. Except this review, naturally. If you happen to be searching for the one, perfect podcast and have no intention of ever listening to a different one, please, do yourself a favor and listen to "The Tobolowsky Files." You will not regret it!

Laugh, Cry, Take Solace and Courage--and Laugh Some More!

by Jaynie Jayne Jane on Feb 21, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

So much love for The Tobolowsky Files! Every one I have listened to has enriched my life, and I recommended this to others constantly! I have long appreciated Mr. Tobolowsky's acting, but after getting hooked on these podcasts, my heart swells with joy whenever he pops up on screens big or small! Enjoy!

Wonderful

by Feed Jake on Feb 10, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Stephen is one of the greatest storytellers of our time. Listen to this podcast.

Incredibly enjoyable

by scooter50 on Feb 03, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I first listened to the audiobook "The Dangerous Animals Club" and was so hooked by Stephen Tobolowsky's storytelling that I came here and downloaded all the second season podcasts. They make fantastic commuting car listening as the time flies by and I find myself arriving at work with lowered blood pressure. The stories are funny, insightful, warm, and interesting. You can't go wrong with these!