Average rating:

5
out of 3576 ratings.

One of the best parts of my day

by Trish C. on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to Judge John Hofmann during my long commute home after work long and often very stressful days. It helps me unwind and find some humor in my day as I leave work behind and prepare to be at home.

Thoreau Had People Bring Him Pie ALL THE TIME

by relsaesta on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This makes me feel better about being a human and having thoughts which aren't about all the horrible things going on in the world. You do, in fact, have to live your life, do your best, and deal with moderately annoying things which, should you so request, Judge John Hodgman should be able to resolve. I also appreciate that he reminds people that Thoreau wrote Walden while so close to people that regularly brought him company, drink, and food. ("Pie! Pie!!!" — My Husband screams in the background.) Also, Maine. Based on no actual evidence, I am fairly certain that John is part of a large and aggressive Maine PR machine pushing more hipsters into the state for lobtahs and blueberries and wooden boats. In any case, it's lovely and you should also read his book.

It's practically legal

by Gozu on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For a deranged millionair turned internet judge, there is no better service to culture than to remedy the worlds worst problems. If your a hipster unaware of even the simplest of social norms, you must mount a full expedition to the peak of this fine sage and attempt to perplex him with your basic misgivings about courtesy and etiquette. Confound him with wildly innacurate perceptions about simple and obvious facts of the mortal realm, and prepare to be informed and entertained, but most of all, to be judged.

Chuckles, insight, and compassion

by Pod Cruncher on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to the judge verbally spar with litigants and get to the crux of the dispute, with trusty baliff Jesse Thorn proving some west coast sensibilities as well as the sartorial perspective which is surprisingly often needed.

Really Enjoy It

by skulleash on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, touching, and practical. I share this podcast with everybody that I like.

So great!

by Totoroslp on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my must listens. Routinely funny, empathetic, and wise. I recommend a lot of podcasts to people, and this is one of the only ones that seems to really stick--it's funny, but it's also generally affable, which is kind of a big deal in a very niche world.

Just discovered this podcast...

by East Coast Listener2 on Mar 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

.. and so far it is generally pretty great. I find the two of them to be funny. Every episode should have at least one good laugh from Jesse, please. Also, for two white dudes, they are sometimes good at acknowledging the way the patriarchy influences their plaintiffs/defendants and social expectations that play into the Judge’s rulings.I HAD to leave this review when the Judge used that quote from [redacted because spoilers] for the board games episode. I knew it right away! Love that [source of quote]!

Makes me laugh

by Kizlele on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Every episode makes me giggle.

Clever and Wise

by DoomCow3 on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Hodgman is a pleasure to listen to for an hour of thoughtful and clever advice an pedantry, and it's honestly the best life advice also. I highly recommend it.

Star Chamber

by emcwork on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m bringing a case against podcast apps for only providing for five stars with which to rate this podcast when it clearly deserves six if not seven.

The Esteemed Judge finds the crux

by PhelineCat on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Famous minor television personality found a niche and filled it well. Thank you, Judge. I wish I had a small enough case for you. I rea..It..You... You know, that person in the White House was a less famous minor television non-personality but he’s a narcissist (thank you for not being one) and someone in a network decided to pump him up although he was a has-been with a dated bad smelling office.

This Podcast Is Single-Handedly Responsible for My Sanity

by profdmr1 on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When the news of the world gives us ample reason, every day, to give up all hope that decency, reason, wit, intelligence, and compassion might somehow prevail, and a civilization worth the name might somehow survive, I hang on because I know the Judge John Hodgman Podcast is still on the air (or at least on the net). John and Jesse, each brilliant in his own right (their separate projects are always worth seeking out), in combination are truly stellar. The Judge John Hodgman Podcast is always laugh-out-loud funny. And smart. And surprising. I only wish I had a longstanding dispute with my partner, or a family member, friend, or coworker, to bring before the court. Alas, the podcast has made me too good-humored and wise to quarrel with anyone. It has restored my faith in humanity — not to mention improved my digestion and cleared up my acne — and given me the necessary moxie and gumption to face the world with a song in my heart, a smile on my lips, and an obscure cultural reference up my sleeve.Thank you, John. Thank you, Jesse. Thank you, Jennifer. And thank you, everyone else who works on The Judge John Hodgman podcast!

One of my favorite podcasts

by Dream Sailor on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast a lot. It makes me laugh sometimes. Thanks John and Jesse.

Order in the court!

by Natarita on Mar 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What’s up friends, judge John is pretty rad man and let me tell you why. He is hilarious and so is Jesse, they both have amazing voices which lull you to sleep if need be, de stress while your waiting for your plane, or simply just driving to work. You hear interesting cases, sound advice, and you will definitely laugh your socks off. Have fun friends!

Podcast!

by Czigot on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

I find in favor of Judge John Hodgman

by Katie Burke 415 on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is ridiculously hilarious. Judge John Hodgman and Bailiff Jesse Thorn are laugh-out-loud (multiple times per episode) funny. Every week, I am rapt while JJH asks deeply insightful questions, in a way that makes everyone laugh with the parties, not at them. BJT has the most infectious laugh ever, and JJH the quickest wit. I had been listening for a while when they came to San Francisco and I saw them live at the Castro Theatre. I almost died laughing when they came out wearing, respectively, a black robe and a bailiff uniform. I had no idea they actually dressed up for the gig. That made the show even more fantastic than it was already.I want everyone in the world to listen to this show. It's the kind of program we should all tune into each week, then discuss in our various social circles—like Serial, but funny.

I can't believe I didn't add this to my rotation earlier!

by CJ3-1 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a fan of MaxFun shows for a few years now, adding more shows into my regular listening rotation over time. I can't believe I hadn't checked out the Judge John Hodgman podcast sooner! I've quickly made my way through the past several years of episodes over the last few weeks, and will be sad when I've finished them all and have to eagerly wait for each new week's episode to drop. Great humor and dynamics between all the hosts and guests. Also, Jesse Thorn's laugh gives me life.

My all-time favorite podcast

by tapanapa on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and recommend it all the time! I tend to cue up lots of very thinky, heavy shows, but this is the perfect counter to that. People of good humor call in with their silly disputes and agree to follow Hodgman’s judgement. Funny and light-hearted, it also feeds my nerdy soul with lots of recommendations for new-to-me pieces of culture. An extra bonus is John’s very thoughtful, and often tender, rulings. Co-host Jesse Thorn and Hodgman have an easy rapport, and Jesse serves the role of maker of bad jokes/teaser of the nerds/west coaster perspective. Get thee to the Judge John Hodgman podcast!

Archaeologist Approved

by Bearded Wisdom on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an archaeologist and I listened to this podcast while out documenting new archaeological sites in one of our nation's wonderful national parks. While engrossed in the wit and wisdom of the honorable Judge Hodgman, I found an intact Ancestral Puebloan jar, likely dating back to the 1200s A.D., eroding out of a hillside. This was an exceptional find and myself and other park staff were able to collect this vessel for curation in the park's collections. There it will be preserved and studied for the benefit of researchers and descendant Native communities. I can only assume that it was the ominpotent power of the honorable Judge Hodgman that lead me to this discovery. Thank you Judge Hodgman for your guidance and service to this very fortunate archaeologist.

Funny but occasionally preachy

by Brianjky on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Creative, funny podcast with memorable and charming hosts. The only drawback is that Hodgman occasionally gets too preachy about his liberal/progressive worldview.

Wonderful

by Kat Cheez on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a fun and sweet show! I would let JJHo and Jesse solve all of my disputes

There's a Thorne in Hodgman's Side

by Lorelski on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

John Hodgman is 5-star great—witty, smart, and with an admirable balance of arrogance and self-deprecation. He also balances his own proclivities well with his sense of fairness when handing down his decisions. There is a real sense of warmth and humanity about the show... and of course there's great humor. This is because Hodgman is in intelligent man who is truly interested in the world around him. As for Jessie Thorne, I admire a lot about him as a person and contributor to the arts in general, and for the most part I love his Bullseye interviews, but when he gets together with Hodgman, it becomes too much of a bro-fest. If Thorne would curtail his cracking up and chumming up, that would make this a 5-star podcast in my mind.

A word of advice. Be in a good mood!

by Andrew Salt on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

JJH is a funny, smart, and very entertaining way to spend 40 minutes. Still, I warn you, go into this podcast in a good mood. I will sometimes listen to podcasts to temporarily escape life's problems, and this podcast does not work for me in that fashion, AT ALL! If I am having real problems, I've discovered that nothing sours my mood further than listening to the insipid non-problems of the people in this podcast. "Judge John Hodgeman, please please help us! We make lots of money and can't decide if we should install a swimming pool in our yard now or two years from now!"If you already love Hodgeman's humor, then this is a no-brainer. If you are smart, and have a sense of humor, download and enjoy. If it's nearing the end of the month and you may have to decide between buying groceries or paying rent... maybe you should find something else to listen to.

Listener for life

by H. Grayce on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I tell everyone who will listen to me about this podcast. So funny and dry and warm and kind. Love the real, petty, hilarious disputes between the real-life litigants.

Absolute favorite

by Eloingdgbvcd1 on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kind, hilarious and thoughtful, your best nerd friends at their peak

The Greatest

by GirlyGrace on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing. Just listen.

A fine day when the Judge Uploads

by TruAndru on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve enjoyed each listen & hope you’ll give it a listen too. I often enjoy revisiting old episodes for sage wisdom and crux finding.

Free therapy

by StamfordNewby on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast, I realize we're all screwed up, and that's comforting.

All guesses are wrong!

by Fishbonius on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Canadians are coming!

A pleasure to listen to

by Janet335 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The recent live show episodes have been extra fun

Saving Marriages Everywhere

by Bob Shimoto on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look, I now under that almost every argument that I have ever had with my wife is my fault because I am a man. Truth.

A space where comedy, compromise, and sanity reign

by pHsquid on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

JJHO is a superb show in design and execution. The venerable Judge Hodgman and the impeccable Bailiff Thorn talk to feuding litigants on all manner of issues: Mining e-currency taking up too much space? Should my roommate eat something other than burritos? And the key of it, that besides hilariously pointing out logical fallacies and ridiculous behaviors, the judge always finds the real crux of the issue and drives it into the light - because he really cares about the people he is talking to and wants to see them find a better solution. And so each episode is a comedic journey with a sentimental, gratify end. Kudos judge and bailiff and support staff for this great great show.

Comedy that’s actually funny

by jen2awezum on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Hodgman and Jesse Thorn are by far the best judge and bailiff. Sit back, relax and prepare to laugh for the next hour. No matter what kind of day I’m having I know I’ll end up with a smile after I listen here. Keep up the great work!! 👍🏻😂😜

Found humor

by ftsjr on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hodgman gets to the hilarious crux of all matters. Laugh, learn, and love along, won’t you?

Incredibly Entertaining

by Sweemour Toddbourn on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The cases selected, while often silly, are always compelling and I'm often very invested in one side or the other by the end of the show. John and Jesse have wonderful chemistry and they're both incredibly funny.

People like what they like

by GhoulishJanine on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard to tell people about this podcast. The court has no legal power, the cases are absurd, and the obscure references can sway the judge's opinions. But it works. It's a great reminder that no matter how weird, petty, or unreasonable humans can be and there is comedy in that conflict. We all deserve the same fake internet justice.

John Hodgman's Level of Funny Makes Every Dour Work Day Better

by YerUFOGuy on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a fan of John Hodgman's work for years. I'm now just checking out his podcast. I may be slow on the uptake, but I know when I find good things, and the Judge John Hodgman podcast is a good thing. In fact, it's a very good thing. Some might call it a great thing! This podcast is clever, and I would expect nothing less of the honorable Hodgman, and it just makes me laugh. A lot. It's great, and just listen to it.P.S. My dad was a justice of the peace. He passed away a decade ago now, and every time I listen to Judge John Hodgman, I'm reminded of the days I'd sit in his court and watch him work. So, thank you for that.

SO good!

by Earth1981 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a fun, weird show! I love the random arguments that they find, and somehow even when it doesn't sound interesting, it is! The only thing I hate is the gavel sound is very loud, fyi. I feel like it must annoy my coworkers if they can hear it... Doh!

We love JJHo!

by Fdd2 on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Our entire family loves every episode of this witty, hilarious podcast. Judge John Hodgman, super podcast!

My Favorite . . . Ever

by Hungryveganz on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What else do you need to know? John Hodgman's gentle humor, steady good sense, and occasional dressings down are the perfect mix. With the occasional "shut your pie hole" for good measure.

Surprise

by henry&eleanor on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What makes this show special is John’s warmth and insight into our relationships with one another. I’m regularly surprised that the Judge finds an angle (or a crux) that I had not seen.

Judge John Hodgman

by RBeth on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

do you and a friend have an ongoing argument about something stupid and you wish there was an impartial, capricious, funny, wise, and sometimes kind of mean person to tell you who was right on a podcast that everyone can hear? Judge John Hodgman is that man, and this is that show. Listen to others get judged for their human monster actions and laugh at them! Or empathize! Whichever!

Amazing

by Geo Dash Boss on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a funny and interesting podcast, and I recommend it for all ages!!

Best comedy podcast

by Erwin Fletcher on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The witty interplay between Yale-educated obscure culture-loving humorist Judge John Hodgman and his chortling pop culture savant UC Santa Cruz-educated Bailiff Jesse Thorn as they adjudicate ridiculous disputes alternates between enjoyable, brilliant, entertaining, and hilarious. Sometimes all four simultaneously.

Listen to this podcast

by Rmk734 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Always entertaining.

Friendly banter with a cruxfinder

by G'ville Jon-Paul on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, silly show that often elevates to heartwarming and insightful.

Mostly great

by tsc9982 on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

John Hodgman is hilarious and the cases are fun. But Jesse Thorn is obnoxious. "Guest Bailiff" episodes are the best.

Funny and bright!

by Harrisonzx on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to Judge John Hodgman every week and can’t wait for the next one! Hodgman is funny and insightful. It is truly interesting how he gets down to the key issues every time! Thanks John!

My Favorite

by krichcolón on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely adore this podcast. There’s nothing better than hearing Judge John Hodgman and Bailiff Jesse banter with their guests. Funny and also surprisingly warm, I am always delighted when a new one comes out.

Crappy

by Mcelroy Lover on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The is a disgrace to the maximum fun network