Average rating:

5
out of 3236 ratings.

The Greatest

by GirlyGrace on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing. Just listen.

A fine day when the Judge Uploads

by TruAndru on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve enjoyed each listen & hope you’ll give it a listen too. I often enjoy revisiting old episodes for sage wisdom and crux finding.

Free therapy

by StamfordNewby on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast, I realize we're all screwed up, and that's comforting.

All guesses are wrong!

by Fishbonius on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Canadians are coming!

A pleasure to listen to

by Janet335 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The recent live show episodes have been extra fun

Saving Marriages Everywhere

by Bob Shimoto on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look, I now under that almost every argument that I have ever had with my wife is my fault because I am a man. Truth.

A space where comedy, compromise, and sanity reign

by pHsquid on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

JJHO is a superb show in design and execution. The venerable Judge Hodgman and the impeccable Bailiff Thorn talk to feuding litigants on all manner of issues: Mining e-currency taking up too much space? Should my roommate eat something other than burritos? And the key of it, that besides hilariously pointing out logical fallacies and ridiculous behaviors, the judge always finds the real crux of the issue and drives it into the light - because he really cares about the people he is talking to and wants to see them find a better solution. And so each episode is a comedic journey with a sentimental, gratify end. Kudos judge and bailiff and support staff for this great great show.

Comedy that’s actually funny

by jen2awezum on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Hodgman and Jesse Thorn are by far the best judge and bailiff. Sit back, relax and prepare to laugh for the next hour. No matter what kind of day I’m having I know I’ll end up with a smile after I listen here. Keep up the great work!! 👍🏻😂😜

This Podcast Is Single-Handedly Responsible for My Sanity

by profdmr1 on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When the news of the world gives us ample reason, every day, to give up all hope in decency, reason, wit, intelligence, compassion, and civilization in general, I hang on because I know the Judge John Hodgman podcast is still on the air (on the net?). John and Jesse are a perfect team -- each truly excellent in their own right (their separate projects are always worth seeking out), and truly stellar in combination. This podcast is always laugh-out-loud funny. And smart. And surprising. I love it!

Found humor

by ftsjr on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hodgman gets to the hilarious crux of all matters. Laugh, learn, and love along, won’t you?

Incredibly Entertaining

by Sweemour Toddbourn on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The cases selected, while often silly, are always compelling and I'm often very invested in one side or the other by the end of the show. John and Jesse have wonderful chemistry and they're both incredibly funny.

People like what they like

by GhoulishJanine on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard to tell people about this podcast. The court has no legal power, the cases are absurd, and the obscure references can sway the judge's opinions. But it works. It's a great reminder that no matter how weird, petty, or unreasonable humans can be and there is comedy in that conflict. We all deserve the same fake internet justice.

John Hodgman's Level of Funny Makes Every Dour Work Day Better

by YerUFOGuy on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a fan of John Hodgman's work for years. I'm now just checking out his podcast. I may be slow on the uptake, but I know when I find good things, and the Judge John Hodgman podcast is a good thing. In fact, it's a very good thing. Some might call it a great thing! This podcast is clever, and I would expect nothing less of the honorable Hodgman, and it just makes me laugh. A lot. It's great, and just listen to it.P.S. My dad was a justice of the peace. He passed away a decade ago now, and every time I listen to Judge John Hodgman, I'm reminded of the days I'd sit in his court and watch him work. So, thank you for that.

SO good!

by Earth1981 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a fun, weird show! I love the random arguments that they find, and somehow even when it doesn't sound interesting, it is! The only thing I hate is the gavel sound is very loud, fyi. I feel like it must annoy my coworkers if they can hear it... Doh!

We love JJHo!

by Fdd2 on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Our entire family loves every episode of this witty, hilarious podcast. Judge John Hodgman, super podcast!

My Favorite . . . Ever

by Hungryveganz on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What else do you need to know? John Hodgman's gentle humor, steady good sense, and occasional dressings down are the perfect mix. With the occasional "shut your pie hole" for good measure.

Surprise

by henry&eleanor on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What makes this show special is John’s warmth and insight into our relationships with one another. I’m regularly surprised that the Judge finds an angle (or a crux) that I had not seen.

Judge John Hodgman

by RBeth on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

do you and a friend have an ongoing argument about something stupid and you wish there was an impartial, capricious, funny, wise, and sometimes kind of mean person to tell you who was right on a podcast that everyone can hear? Judge John Hodgman is that man, and this is that show. Listen to others get judged for their human monster actions and laugh at them! Or empathize! Whichever!

Amazing

by Geo Dash Boss on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a funny and interesting podcast, and I recommend it for all ages!!

Best comedy podcast

by Erwin Fletcher on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The witty interplay between Yale-educated obscure culture-loving humorist Judge John Hodgman and his chortling pop culture savant UC Santa Cruz-educated Bailiff Jesse Thorn as they adjudicate ridiculous disputes alternates between enjoyable, brilliant, entertaining, and hilarious. Sometimes all four simultaneously.

Listen to this podcast

by Rmk734 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Always entertaining.

Friendly banter with a cruxfinder

by G'ville Jon-Paul on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, silly show that often elevates to heartwarming and insightful.

Mostly great

by tsc9982 on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

John Hodgman is hilarious and the cases are fun. But Jesse Thorn is obnoxious. "Guest Bailiff" episodes are the best.

Funny and bright!

by Harrisonzx on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to Judge John Hodgman every week and can’t wait for the next one! Hodgman is funny and insightful. It is truly interesting how he gets down to the key issues every time! Thanks John!

My Favorite

by krichcolón on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely adore this podcast. There’s nothing better than hearing Judge John Hodgman and Bailiff Jesse banter with their guests. Funny and also surprisingly warm, I am always delighted when a new one comes out.

Crappy

by Mcelroy Lover on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The is a disgrace to the maximum fun network

Fantastic

by Golden dude on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast by far. What a genuinely entertaining and interesting show to listen to. Can't speak highly enough. Thank you guys.

Witty and Wise

by Valcn on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been surprised by the gentle wisdom that comes through, even as every ounce of humor is gleaned from a case. This really is a rather lovely podcast and I'm recommending it to everyone.

A nice little deversion, akin to a weird bubblegum cola from Maine

by Emily Schmemily on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A running theme on Judge Hodgman is that no matter the dispute, the contestants sueing one another ultimately care very deeply the person they are suing or being sued by. The problems brought up in cases vary in size, but don't usually have an obvious answer at the beginning. The stakes are somewhat low in that you never feel like a relationship would be seriously damaged without intervenetion from the Judge, but the questions are always taken seriously and the rulings well considered. It's always a satifying arc. It's also very funny, assuming you don't mind a lot of talk about either Maine/New England and San Francisco.

Great show!

by Avw103 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Needs more New England talk, he may have mentioned he is from Massachusetts but I am not sure..

Fun!

by James&Selena on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fun podcast that was one of many that got me through my commute to my intership over the past year.

This is the sound of a five-star review.

by melstead on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect, just perfect. Now I'm a lifelong fan of John Hodgman's brand of comedy and storytelling so just prepare yourself for that.

The best

by Double Fisch on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast. Great for the whole family. Love the combination of humor and empathy.

So funny

by Sgt. Walnut on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always recommend this to friends because it's a good light-hearted podcast, but he always does such a good job validating everyone's needs and values. It's good, uplifting fun. And I laugh out loud every time I think about Jesse Thorn's dad saying he stepped on Jesse's Gerbil.

One of my favorite podcasts

by Amycall25 on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is thoughtful, funny, warm, and honest. I love it!

Love this podcast

by R25R on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John is very insightful, kind, and creative in his judgments. Fun to listen to and interesting look at people's interests, quirks, and fears.

Very enjoyable

by LoMo on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A nice light podcast; funny

Classic

by Norman Goldie on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The premise of this podcast is what turned me onto podcasting in general. Even after all these years, Judge John Hodgman still delivers, cozy and entertaining, by turns absurd and poinant. Jesse Thorn is the master of the bon mot, and John Hodgman is a national treasure.

Judge not lest ye be judged

by Tormtown on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Hodgman, Bailiff Jesse Thorn, and Guest time summer fun time bailiff Monty belmonte are all fantastic humans, and funny too. They truly are superb

So good

by Freerun on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John Hodgeman is a total genius! Love it.

Deeply satisfying...

by Swh17 on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...and very funny. I love this podcast!

All Guesses are... Right?

by BenMech on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Roughly 300 episodes since John and Jesse debated the taxonomy of Chili.Still worth listening to.

Judge John Hodgman rules. That is all.

by soundsorange on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Order! This court is now in session. Indulge your mastery of obscure cultural references. Take the cowards' way out, guess second. Listen, as your Dad calls a self-appointed Fake Internet court host, your honor. Amuse yourself with bickering couples whose flimsy disputes turn into learning self-awareness and kindness. Be glad you don't have roommates like some of the human monsters these plaintiffs have to put up with. Watch the best deflectors give ridiculous excuses for their misbehavior. The Settled Law of the court are words to live by. "Be considerate of the work you leave for others."By the power vested in me by my Apple ID, I declare today Judge John Hodgman Day on iTunes, or wherever you get your podcasts. This ruling is binding. Judge John Hodgman rules. That is all.

Good advice

by MegaJetski on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love episodes that really get to the heart of something important. John always has good advice and is funny as well.

All rise

by Hypothermic Ice on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing like silly internet justice to make my morning once a week

My favorite podcast

by Tired of CRASHES! on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to the proceedings in the faux-judge's court is one of the highlights of my week. Judge Hodgman adjudicates his listeners' disputes and in the process showcases his wit, wisdom, cultural literacy, and love for people. The decisions are poignant yet still funny, and often actually help the disputants resolve their issue. Bailiff Jesse Thorn and the stable of guest-bailiffs provide interesting and alternative views. It's a winner!

Wow, what a podcast!

by FluffyCurtiss on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Judge John keeps me laughing all day at work with his humor and wit! Thanks for the laughs Judge!

Love it

by Ravalavaca on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And a hot dog is not a dandwixh

Habeas Dorkus

by Sknotty on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love John Hodgman. I wanted to go deep into how thoughtful and considerate he is toward his "rulings." I wanted to speak in depth toward how I can recommend this podcast to anyone and walk away knowing that I just enriched their life. I don't have the words. I'll say that every episode is x-mas for me. The absolute best!

An enjoyable bit of noise.

by Ognus on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Pun averse judge and ubiquitous podcasting bailiff dispense with the jokes and wisdom.