Average rating:

4.5
out of 14678 ratings.

Best Entertainment Interviewer Today

by KevoAllanPoe on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

If you loved Howard Stern’s in-depth interview style but grew tired of his increasing conservatism and bitterness, you’ll love this podcast. Marc is funny, intelligent, thoughtful, open-minded, neurotic, casual, and empathetic. Even if Stern is your irreplacable King of Interview, you will likely peg Marc as the heir apparent (ironic given Stern’s dismissal of podcasts and his hypersensitivity to beating others in ratings). However, Marc doesn’t interview the same people that Stern does. Although you will hear him speak with huge celebrities, like President Obama, Jennifer Lawrence, Michael Douglas, and Paul McCartney, you’ll discover so many new artists, it’ll expand your horizons. While he mainly brings comedians and musicians on the show, there is a liberal sprinkling of actors, writers, producers, painters, journalists, chefs, and the list goes on. Moreover, Marc’s empathetic, friendly, and casual style often relaxes guests enough to where actual real moments shine through. My only complaint is that a limited number of older episodes are available on iTunes. Any episodes older than a few months can only be accessed via another service, which would be worth the subscription given there are over 900 episodes. So, try it! My advice: Once you’re hooked, listen to the older episodes first and work your way up, that way you catch them before they’re moved off the “available episodes” list.

The Podfather

by BigPoppaLax on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show - always checking in to see who’s on. But you know what REALLY makes Marc the Podfather (in addition to being a Founding Podder)? When he goes on other ppl’s shows (Conan’s, Dax’s, etc.) - the public tunes in .

A classic

by franbaez71 on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Avid listener for about two years and have gone back to the archives and listened to most of the older shows. This podcast is the best. Defintely has a nice structure although it may not seem like it at first. Nice mix of well known and lesser known guests. Highly recommended.

Eh

by Vince_Versa on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Occasionally has good guests. Sometimes accidentally conducts a decent interview. Always drones on for 20 minutes about l mundane nonsense.

Boring

by TexasZooHendrix on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s just boring, an hour of talk show questions and meat and potatoes asking whoever is the guest about their life. As a fan of Joe Rogans podcast, it’s easy to understand why Marin gets such A list guests and its because his show is a talk show extended an hour longer and called a podcast. Jre is much better in that there’s no procedure and no structure or format, which I imagine would be intimidating to celebrities whose careers depended on public image. Elon musk took a huge blow despite it being a fascinating podcast, however awkward again due to the lack of talk show type questions.

The best!

by JohnDNP on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc is a comedic icon and a brilliant interviewer. I could listen to him all day. He is relatable.

Phenomenal

by toroweaper on Dec 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best interviewer in the business, and it’s a talented and crowded field..stick with Marc and you’ll get the important bits from interesting folk.

On par with Fresh Air

by Yanks Do do futbol on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You will not find a better interviewer, well maybe Terry Gross.

Democratic

by TrentBecker21 on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s 95% Democratic Party how bout we add some republicans...Tim Allen

Best podcast ever!!

by Raul Berron on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc’s podcast makes my week bearable. Just saying.

I was really ready to like this.

by ~KBee~ on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Late coming to the show and I’m kinda sure I haven’t missed much. I listened to a few shows trying really hard to get into this and a few things floated to the surface. The first being where is the humor? The second being the lack of chemistry. It’s almost glaringly obvious that Marc is not really tuned in but interjecting an almost robotic “yeah, yeah, right” until he can find a pause to ask an unrelated question like he’s following some prepared check list of questions. The interviews feel largely forced although peppered with some flashes of genuine conversation yet sadly those are the moments that Marc is talking about himself. After almost ten years, Marc, it seems still hasn’t found his stride. I give it three stars because hey, who am I to say really? That was my perception, and I could be wrong. I just wasn’t engaged by this.

Great interviews

by luckygoodyoga on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc can put anyone at ease and land an excellent interview. This podcast has been a lifesaver to me. Thank you Marc you are appreciated and you bring such joy to so many of us.

Interview

by Sfoguy on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Marc has to move on with his pitch. I’m just like you. Yeah. Not. I just get tired of the self centered talk. I’ve listened to Marc since he started. Time to move on.

The best

by Maalesh on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The advantage of long form interviews, is that it gives a chance for the participants (along with the listener) to think, breathe and process the experience. The interviews are not rushed and they don’t follow a set structure. This almost always results in naturally flowing, compelling, and often moving exchanges. Maron is not a generic interviewer throwing softballs at the latest actor trying to promote a movie. He brings his own life experiences to these conversations, and this is what makes it feel like a real conversation - as opposed to what you see on other most other interview shows. This is the arguably the best interview show of the modern age. My only wish is that he would interview more musicians, and fewer Hollywood stars. Maybe also throw in a non-entertainment guest occasionally (business, govt, etc)?

Marc rocks

by Maxx Roby on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Neurotic humor from a progressive genius

So stoked

by Brushfire11 on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Somehow I just found out now about this podcast. Was already a fan from his show “GLOW”, so the familiarity in the podcast is welcomed. I love the raw authenticity. Going to keep listening.

Prologue

by Camille LaPlume on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Suggest cutting all the meaningless yapping upfront and get to the interview.

Narcissism with moments of humor

by Cin_prof on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

If you can fast forward the mock-self-loathing/not-well-hidden narcissism of the first fifteen minutes (and a several good bits peppered throughout the interviews), the interviews themselves are a nice change of pace from other, more surface-oriented interviewers’ styles. The thing that makes me turn it off midway more than anything else is his complete and unabashed condescension to the CRAFT and WORK of acting. He’ll go on and on (and on) about his disregard or hostility toward amateurs who think they’re stand ups just bc they think they’re funny or bc they’ve done some open mics, but then he’ll also repeatedly and insultingly ask guests who are actors something along the lines of “But with acting you basically just have it or you don’t, right?” And this guy gets to do scene work with two of our greatest artists (deniro and Phoenix) and in a spandex movie that he also mercilessly mocks. Where is the Justice? Acting is an art form and a craft and has been around for centuries. A lot of people (many of whom you’ve kissed up to on your show) take it very seriously, dude. Also, and I say this as a tenured and published professor of cinema studies at a research one institution, having a minor or even major in cinema theory does not make you an expert! It’s like having a psyche major and declaring yourself a psychiatrist. Try a bit less performative self-loathing and a bit more legit humility, man. But keep in taking about recovery. More people need to destigmatize the disease and it’s treatments. Good on you for that.

I wanted so much to like this podcast...

by Calvinball81 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Marc Maron gets the best guests and I actually enjoy his political ramblings and such when he’s flying solo. Problem is he’s a TERRIBLE interviewer. He can’t let anyone speak for five seconds without interjecting with “yeah...mmm hmm...sure...right.” I want to scream “Will you just let the person talk?”

Always worth a listen

by Jordan from Newark on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc does his research, asks thoughtful questions, and cares about the world in which he inhabits. I also enjoy hearing about the ways in which his recovery and methods to keep up sobriety have helped others. Myself included.

Great Podcast

by robagram on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc Maron is a talented interviewer and the personal "essays" that introduce the shows add an interesting perspective. I came to this late, and now I understand what all the buzz is about. Don't like it? Don't listen. Spare us your dumb one-star reviews. You don't get it.

Kim Gordon - Marc finally did some homework and it shows!

by SeamusZ... on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Marc brings some amazing people to his show. That alone makes this show great. However…yes…however….Marc takes pride in NOT doing his homework and having no prep done before his interviews. He brags about not doing his homework but this leaves the show with huge missed opportunities to get into the soul of the folks he brings in. Also, because of his lack of prep he often asks some really stupid questions. I think this is a comic thing since Kevin Pollack does the EXACT same thing. If you are going to wing it be more like Craig Ferguson and know something about the guest THEN do it all off the cuff. But there is hope! I listened to his interview with Kim Gordon and Marc was prepped and had a great interview. He complained that he does;t like to do the homework but having done it really paid off. Keep it up Marc!

Insightful & Immersive

by Mr Whiskers00001 on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Social commentary and life’s reflections with some cool cats.

D.L. Hughley was a GREAT episode!

by Blondie3575! on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The D.L. Hughley episode was great! I have to admit that as a long time listener I had become a bit bored with the interviews over the past few months. This interview was what I love about Maron. It was honest, raw and enlightening. Bravo to both of you💋!

Best Podcast on the Internet

by ericfire883 on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep on keeping on Marc! You are the best!

Awsome

by tjlex76 on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast from one of my all time favorite comedians. A wide range of guests and very smart and funny.

El Mejor

by Hijo de el Internet on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast and amazing host, you won’t be disappointed. Go ahead download a couple

Hey Marc you’ve kept me strong!

by The Strong Cool Guy on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey Marc you’re awesome! I love everything you do! Keep up the good work!

Helpful and very entertaining

by Tom tom2272 on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve spent the last 19 months NOT doing drugs, and the knowledge that someone else has had similar struggles and a little bit of wisdom gleaned from their personal experience that bleeds into the show is great. It’s far from the main topic of the show, somehow that made it even more supportive. Thanks Marc, I wish I had listened to my dad sooner and tried this podcast out sooner, but just like sobriety, things come to u when u need them the most.

17 min

by patrickt72 on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

cut out the first 17 - 20 minutes. and you might find this drivel good for background uselessness...marc maron is just waiting for a moment to cut in and talk about himself. if you like Mr. Maron you are in luck --- you will love this show.

Opening my mind

by robinleigh on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been a listener since his interview with President Obama and I look forward to the next ones each week. I’ve been turned onto books, movies, music and, of course, comedians from listening to this podcast. Clearly you have to be willing to listen to a bit of Maron’s personal life during his opening monologues. I find it interesting despite the fact that my life is vastly different from his.

Amazingly funny yet grounded

by Fishfredbeans on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc hits on many strings unattended by most podcasts and comedians as a whole. Forgo celebrity and enjoy the best a podcast has to offer in the vein of increasing interest where you might not have realized you held any.

Worst Interviewer Ever

by Fawgmyre on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

"Yeah...uh-huh...right...yeah...yeah, uh-huh...yeah..."Seriously, count how many times he says just Yeah in an interview. If it were a drinking game, you would have liver damage after one episode. I delete most episodes unless it's someone I really want to hear about and even then, I usually can't finish it because of this. Hey Marc, listen to your own episodes, it's okay to not fill every available second with your voice.

Where are the women?

by forest135 on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love Marc’s podcast, but why does he interview one woman for every four dudes? I would love to hear more women interviewed.

Dax Shepard is stealing your guests!

by M0NKING on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yo, the competition is getting real. Keep it up, Maron!

Gems!

by space otter 2049 on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is always great and the guests always manage to drop helpful gems of wisdom! Why? Because Marc is Gem Wizard.

The guests the guests

by Triple Exclamation Point on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

maron's show is only compelling for the guests, who for some reason are more willing to open up about their lives than at any other time, which could be maron's doing but he's such an obnoxious personality i don't see how, and he spends so long yammering before the guests even arrive that i end up having to fast forward to wherever it is the guests come in, this show should really mimic more of an errol morris doc where the interviewers voice is almost completely eliminated and you just get the subject spilling themselves to the listener/viewer.

He's getting better and better!

by Mag writer on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc Maron has evolved over the years and his interviews are getting better and better. It's a joy to listen!

John Cleese?! That Old Fart

by MoonStarSky on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I usually thoroughly enjoy your podcast, but this latest episode with John Cleese seemed off from the start. My hesitations were validated when the dusty John Cleese began talking about the young American generation. He seems as out of touch with what’s actually going on he might as well be in the Senate. The only thing I will give him is that he gave me a visceral enough reaction to write this review.

Hero Worship

by D Dawn on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc Maron is excellent! He is the most curious and compelling interviewer since Larry King. He singlehandedly addicted me to podcasts, and inspired me to start my own! No praise is high enough!! LISTEN TO THIS PODCAST!

Anna Farris

by portosellsmiami on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Annoying .. please don’t bring her back ! I do love your podcast though !

I've learned so much from this show

by Brother Slocombe on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

About celebrities, about humanity, about myself, about Marc Maron's cats ...

A true delight. An experience. Like meeting with old friends who are also very interesting!

by NORfan6543 on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Marc manages to get real insights from his guests and draw you into the experience. You understand how the guests live and how they make decisions. And Marc provides wise analysis of human frailties and interactions. Marc by himself (the episode intros) can be an acquired taste. So if, at first, you find yourself impatient, just forward about 10 minutes (sorry, Marc) to find a deeply emotionally satisfying experience. Soon you’ll look forward to each whole episode as you visit with a very good friend.

You are an inspiration!

by Chad Thunderbroom on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love your interview style.If I were to do what you do, I can only hope to do so with similar fluidity.You do the same with comedy.Before watching one of your standup specials (thinky pain), I was not a standup fan. I just assumed it was just some easy way to get in to the entertainment industry.Thanks to you, I have learned that comedy is it’s own ragged beast.I thank you for turning me on to Sam Tripoli of all people, as well as the amazing Christina P!!!!!! Your interview with music people are my favorites.Thank you Marc, for the laughs, sure, but especially the inspiration.You are a constant reminder, that there is always more to people, and that we all have value.Rick on!

Sissy Spacek

by Ma Joad on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Another wonderful interview Marc!

Great stuff

by rorytfenwick on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve come to the Maron game so late. I’ve been going back and listening to all the available old episodes I can get. Great job, Marc.

I think a Donald Glover interview would be a five-star event.

by MCL621 on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Your style of interview deserves an entertainer-chameleon like Donald Glover. I think you could wring some bits of untapped insight out of his mind. He seems like a great prospective guest for any interviewer, but you'd hit him from different angles than the usual stuff. I hope you two cross paths somewhere and exchange numbers. Make it happen!

Simple honesty when we need it most

by garagecleanup on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Marc is the most present and engaged interviewer working today. By truly connecting with his guests he shows us what it is to... engage... in genuine, reflective and challenging dialogue with another human. WITHOUT A KEYBOARD.Boomer Lives!!!

joe walsh

by K Twist on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a treat hearing Joe Walsh and his history and musical journey. I loved hearing every honest interesting word. You did a beautiful job letting him speak. Lovely. Thanks.

Ok, sometimes

by Somnos on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m not into the self indulgent ranting, the chicken little political hysteria, or the preponderance of preening narcissists Mark often has on. But occasionally he’ll have someone good on with an interesting story. I’d rather have fewer episodes than a regular flow of dullards. It’s really too bad that he hasn’t matured past the point of viewing everything through the lens of partisan politics. Is the world really ending, or is this guy just profiting from promoting the idea of a malaise that only really exists for people who share his insular mindset?