Average rating:

5
out of 75 ratings.

Illustrator

by Nathan Doverspike on Dec 31, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Learned so much. This is possibly the best resource for illustrators.

Great insight for illustrators, designers and all creative professionals

by Cai V on Feb 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my first iTunes review, even though I listen to a multitude of podcasts, because I'm sad to find such a great podcast and then learn that it's been out of commission for a couple of years. I found this podcast after listening to all of the 'Your Dreams, My Nightmares' podcast from Sam Weber, thinking surely there were no other good podcasts on art and illustration out there. It may be done for now, and that's understandable, life goes on, people have kids and other responsibilities, but for any working or aspiring artists/illustrators/designers/creative professionals, this is really a useful and inspiring source of knowledge, worth listening to despite the slight age. The illustration game hasn't changed much since these conversations took place, and the insight is invaluable. I wish this kind of information and entertainment existed when I was in art school. As someone slowly breaking into professional illustration after studying painting, hearing stories and advice from working professionals I look up to, in so many genres and styles of art, while I work away in my studio, is a great motivation. Happy to have discovered the podcast, sad it's ended, but I'd suggest it to anyone in the creative industries. Especially the Marshall Arisman episodes, of course. Great hearing from art directors and representatives as well. Thanks to Thomas for putting so much work and effort into these when the podcast was running! Still relevant, incredibly useful and inspiring.

Amazing :)

by Taylor S Smith on Nov 30, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Thomas for all that you do and share! These podcasts are worth their weight in gold. I feel like I've been going to grad school the last half a year while listening to your interviews at my art day job. They really help a lot. Thank you!

Amazing!

by Herms Thoughts on May 04, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I came across the "Escape from Illustration" site by chance and have been glued to it ever since. An incredible resource of inspiration and knowledge. I instantly fell in love with the podcasts and eagerly await the next installment. Thanks Thomas!

Like

by goldiefangs on Feb 24, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an illustration student who is starting out later in life. I stumbled upon this podcast when I was looking for insight on my future career. So far, I haven't heard an episode that wasn't helpful. Keep up the good work!

Fantastic Inspiration and Advice for Any Aspiring Illustrators

by Tripage on Sep 17, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Thomas James' Escape from Illustration Island since it's inception last year. It's a great resource for anyone who wants to learn more about becoming successful as an illustrator in our modern era. Thomas and his guests cover a variety of topics from marketing and self promotion to drawing and technique.If you want to learn more about the illustrative world, or just hear some good stories from awesome illustrators, this is the perfect download.

A must for illustrators, graphic designers and art directors!

by codamonday on Aug 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

As a full-time graphic designer and part-time illustrator, I find this podcast to be outstanding. Each week it offers in-depth interviews with industry professionals and offers lots of frank, open, dialogue about the industry as a whole.If you're a working illustrator, an art director, or a graphic designer working in publications, this should be a podcast you listen to each and every week. You'll be hard-pressed to find a better source of information for the industry as a whole.It is also inspirational to anyone that works as a freelance creative professional. Give it a listen, you won't be disappointed. A much needed voice in the industry!

ABSOLUTELY AMAZING RESOURCE!!

by Stacy Moffatt on Aug 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent, motivating, inspiring, and knowledge driven; this podcast is a big deal! It is absolutely priceless, and about achieving the dream. Thank You Thomas James!

excellent and informative

by stevekinslow on Aug 12, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Very engaging guests - I look forward to each week's episode

Inspiring

by Studiomiguel on Aug 11, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are an artist, you struggle. The creative process is tough. EFII is the kind of show that gets you out of your own head, away from you own fears and puts you in direct contact with leaders of the art community. You get to see how they think, how they feel and as a result, you understand your own place better. Listen and learn.

Know the Ins & Outs of Illustration with This Podcast

by Artist in LA LA Land on Jun 08, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I learned a ton in only 45 minutes about illustration in these podcasts. They are great little interviews with people who are in the illustration industry. I have particularly loved the interview with artist rep Scott Hull and art director, Stephanie Glaros. I'm glad the podcast come out frequently so I can keep motivated and in the know! Thomas James is a down to earth interviewer who really seems to care about the illustration industry and helping other creatives in the commercial arts.

Great Podcast!

by Conejito Matador on May 24, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about the website, but a friend told me about the podcast so I subscribed and every episode so far has been very useful and enlightening in more than just the world of illustration, but in living as an artist. Thank for making this happen. It makes me feel less alone.

Excellent professional content!!!

by TechForLife on May 05, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I haven't heard interviews this professionally grounded and this content packed since I was in school for my illustration BFA. Thanks for all you do Thomas to nurture our conceptual community.

Ron English? Seriously... is just a dick

by King Daire on Mar 24, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Ron English? Seriously... is just a dick. Better guests please. Absolutely loved the "Art Director" & "Social Networking" shows though. The guests can make or break the shows, so vett them carefully.

Essential for illustrators (especially self-employed creatives)!!!

by vberkvlt on Feb 02, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I had heard a lot of the content before I decided to go back to school! Would've skipped a lot of school loan debt and time wasting! EFII is very informative and inspirational. Doesn't make feel so alone on my island now when I am drawing or working on layouts for hours.

Informative & Inspiring

by Speartoons on Jan 28, 2010
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast has the right balance of information for illustrators, entertainment and inspiration. Thomas knows how to ask the right questions and he lets the guest shine.

a great view into illustration

by Wellbornpants on Jan 28, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

as a illustrator just starting out as a second career, this is a fantastic podcast to listen to, to hear the advice from different illustrators, how they work and interesting talk of the industry. Hey, it's fun too. Definitely worth a listen!

Fantastic podcast for illustrators

by Nate1.0 on Jan 14, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews and resources for illustrators and those in the visual media / design industries.

No illustrator is an island!

by asrnyc on Jan 13, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast, and an excellent addition to a very useful website. I only discovered it this week, and wish I'd known about it long ago. The interviews are very informative and inspiring. I'm hooked!

Great great GREAT!

by Thereddogruby on Jan 12, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

First review on Itunes ever. Just had to for this one. This podcast is full of wonderful interviews with WORKING and highly skilled illustrators who know their stuff. Each episode offers a great tidbit of information on being in the field, how to promote in new ways, and creativity. I especially loved the Holli Conger interview. She was incredibly knowledgeable and I hope to hear regular interviews from her on the show. Please keep this podcast going. Looking forward to every new episode.

Best Interviewer!

by nizzbot on Jan 10, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Thomas James is prob the best interviewer out there doing interviews with illustrators. He always knows just teh right questions to ask and gets his guest to share the best information and ideas. Can't wait to see what 2010 brings!

Episode five

by Michael Slack on Dec 31, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Episode five with Jeff Fisher is a valuable resource for any illustrator looking to create a solid on line presence.

Awsome!!!

by batteryjuicer on Nov 12, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Thomas James delivers an inspiring, interesting, and very useful experience for illustrators, on his website and podcast. If you are working in, or are interest in the illustration field this podcast is a must listen. -Jeremy Gregory

Exceptional resource for illustrators!

by Kevin Cross on Sep 25, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Thomas James is an amicable host and a top notch interviewer. I highly recommend this podcast to all the illustrators out there as a valueable resource! Thomas gets excellent guests from our beloved field and they share great tips, links, and resources that we can all use. If iTunes would allow it, I'd give this show 10 million stars.

Great stuff here!

by Jim Lujan on Aug 27, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great concept for a show. Artists breaking free from isolation and making connection with other artists and the rest of the world. This show is worth listening to just for the resources alone. Some really key, valuable artist's advice given out here. Great music, cool subject matter and a host that believes in what he's doing. Great stuff here!

Graphic Artist

by DoubleWIllustrations on Aug 26, 2009
Rating: ★★★★☆

What a wonderful start and contribution to the podcast community! The Interview was well done and very informative! You're answering a definite need within the freelance community. It's always good to know better ways to meet your peers and people with similar interests and tastes as yours. Socializing and learning from those people can only help you excel at what you love to do! I'll be tuning in to see what you do next! I'm looking forward to more and wish you the best of luck! -Wilson

First show was great!

by Jasonritz406 on Aug 26, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

The first show was gerat!!! I can't wait to hear the next one! thanks for the great content and I like the website too (Both yours and the Illustration Mundo) Keep them coming :)