Average rating:

4.5
out of 1284 ratings.

Best in depth Philosophy Podcast by non-Philosophers,

by ersmed on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

When I want a shorter fantastic review of an ancient philosopher, I go with Philosophize This!, when I want to wade all the way in to the deep end, PEL is a great choice. The interaction of 3 hosts who clearly enjoy each others company is particularly nice. At the same time they never look at any big topic or philosopher with the same lense. Great stuff.

Really nice

by TrentonNZ on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate the discussion, great way to build information.

Just found you!

by KLearned1 on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so happy to have just stumbled on your podcast at this late hour. A 2am ping pong match on modernity and enlightenment was just what I needed. Unfortunately, you guys are so good I won’t be falling asleep anytime soon.

Good philosophy. Bad politics.

by 19Americanmuscle90 on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Made it a couple dozen episodes in. Really liked the discussions on philosophy but was absolutely turned of by the politics. One of the host, can’t recall his name and really don’t want, was especially notorious for putting up straw man type arguments. I wish they would keep their politics to themselves and just discuss philosophy. Seeing how they cannot I have rated them two stars and will delete them out of my library. Their political leanings do not matter to me but I also did not start listening to a philosophy podcast to hear politics.

Mixed bag

by StevenEtien on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Insightful at times, while tedious an equal number of times. At least the guys have acute neurons and frenzied funny-ons firing simultaneously.

Most philosophically rigorous and interesting philosophy podcast

by BabyReaper on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to dozens of hours of the PEL guys. All four guys come from various backgrounds which adds great conversation and insight to their discussion. They have continually opened my philosophical wonder as they bring many authors and books to the table to discuss that I might not have otherwise read or known anything about. I owe them much for great breadth and depth to my philosophical understanding.

There is no free will, so I was always going to listen

by SuperSartre on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re remotely interest in philosophy at all, this podcast is a must listen. If you aren’t interested in philosophy at all, this podcast will change that (also, I’m not sure how you’re seeing this)The perfect combination of getting multiple viewpoints, covering complex topics with clarity, and not taking yourself or life too seriously. Every single episode I learn something, every episode I learn to think better, and every episode I laugh.

Too Sarcastic to be Thoughtful

by K.L. Philosophy on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The speakers began by snickering at Ayn Rand like schoolboys made uncomfortable by a sex-ed lesson. For all the listeners who requested a podcast on her, please listen to some *real* lectures by Dr. Leonard Peikoff and other Objectivist lecturers through the Ayn Rand Institute eStore.

best podcast ever

by FrankLevi on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to podcasts for more than a decade and this is the best one I've come across. It features careful readings of interesting texts by thoughtful people. The episodes are so good that I often listen to them more than once (which I rarely do with other podcasts). I've ended up reading thought provoking books that I never would have considered otherwise (most recently John Stewart Mill's "On Liberty" and Simone de Beauvoir's "Ethics of Ambiguity"). I strongly recommend The Partially Examined Life.

Phenomenal

by Ab-stract on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

PEL sets the bar for philosophy podcasts.

Wonderful

by alejandro.pawliszyn on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Partially Examined Life offers intelligent and fun discussions of diverse philosophical topics. The discoursants are fun and communicate love for inquiry and dialogue.

Gr8

by JPthr33 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Does what it says on the tin

Discourse

by Adolph Schlitz on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After watching the news, or listening to talking heads and politicians, it's awfully nice to hear someone reason about complex subjects, rather than irrationalizing about simple ones.

There's no lack of void.

by LOGIC PRISONER on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There's no lack of thought provoking banter... and I like it!

Thank you

by Ivana Haffun on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

for making this available, fascinating podcast.

Listen to the backlog of awesome shows

by Uehbdidnd jfkckdb on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Pick your interest and listen.

Therefore, I am, I think

by FMDaytona on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great mix of grad level philosophy and humorous banter. Listening to Wes Alwan explain various philosophic perspectives is worth the price of admission alone. The guy is able to find something intersting and worthwhile in any book they discuss. It's like each philosophy is a special type of Pokemon to him with unique powers and abilities. The other guys are good too, I'm just saying Wes is my favorite.

Charming and Insightful

by Norman Goldie on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great topics, allowing you to drift along with the conversation, or get deep into it with the readings. The hosts have great chemistry, agree or disagree they make the topics come to life.

Best podcast, period.

by tmrtmrmsttt on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love absolutely everything about this!

Great show

by RJ47L on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well thought out and smart

Alright

by tv&movies on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's okay

A Real Gift

by Laughtrak on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you.

Enjoy

by xenophon14 on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect for any student of any discipline!

Best source for getting the gist of books and philosophy

by silverlakedogwalkers on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

T

True story

by Add: 361320755 on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just got an AP (non-tenure track) in a comparative literature department. I can finally afford to pay back this podcast for teaching me so much about critical theory about literature, power, subjectivity, process philosophy, and basic fundamentals of teaching and knowledge production. Just joined for a yearly membership to finally be a citizen. See myself as a lifer because I have a lot of episodes to pay back. Literally, I have listened to the Deleuze, Bergson, Heraclitus, Nietzsche, and Foucault episodes about 5-10 times each over a 5 year period. Moreover, I'm going to relisten today, just to jog my memory. Being part of this community of critical readers helps me so much. Honestly, the podcast personae of Wes, Dylan, Mark, and Seth, and their guests, feel like my grad school classmates. And having these full podcasts to listen whenever I want is like having access to notes. Thanks so much for the rigorous training. Will continue recommending to my students!

Keep going

by The#47Bestest on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I want for you guys to keep pushing 👍🏾

classic philosophy podcast

by tuneias on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

good stuff

Extremely Insightful and Entertaining

by Rapman225 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening for years and enjoy each episode. If you want to learn and have fun doing it then this is the podcast for you.

An important example of fair-mindedness

by Charles Ockham on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is not just a podcast to learn facts about philosophy.This is a podcast to learn how to fair-mindedly engage and (partially) examine the world's intellectual tradition. Thats why its the best philosophy podcast.

Dialogue is the answer

by DOD Poet on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are several excellent philosophy podcasts available (Philosophize This! is one), but given those podcasts' lecture and/or interview format, they miss the energy, creativity, and genuine community generated by PEL's 3-5 person conversations on a variety of philosophers, philosophical works, and philosophical topics. Dialogue is the show's method-- a playful yet respectful give-and-take, in which the podcast's regulars and guests avoid speaking over each other and instead try to help each other articulate and clarify their respective thoughts and positions about the text(s) at hand. And if you despair of the monologism of contemporary intellectual debate, then you may find that dialogue like this is the answer. This is not a podcast to sample and judge after ten minutes, however. Genuine conversations, like genuine relationships, take time, so if you find one podcast not to your liking, try another, and try to listen to its entirety. Their episode on Ayn Rand is representative and particularly admirable. In spite of their distaste for her thought, they strive to articulate Rand's position in her own terms and in such a way that she would agree that they had represented her correctly. In so doing, they find there's no need to trash her ideas or to lacerate her with ad hominem attacks (well, there are a few richly deserved jabs), since her own ideas are themselves the worst attacks one could launch against her. Each of the regulars-- Mark, Wes, Seth, and Dylan-- as well as the guests-- including Law Ware and Lucy Lawless (!)-- proves a distinct and reliable voice. One gets to know each speaker's ethos, and it's fun to anticipate the moves they make in each conversation, and perhaps even more fun to be surprised by their willingness to deviate from their own norms. The productions are solid, with just enough of a home studio feel to remind you that this show is an avocation for these folks, not a vocation, though they approach the discussions with the seriousness (and serious humor) of a genuine calling. The intellectual depth and breadth are impressive, and the humor is wise, warm, and wry. It's a pleasure to witness the dialogue that PEL has been developing these several years, and I heartily recommend that others share in the conversation.

Serious explication and occasional dollops of silliness

by jg60208 on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like it right well. The recent work on de Beauvoir, Levinas, and Rorty was most helpful. I listened to the Levinas and de Beauvoir segments twice. They're not afraid to tackle topical issues, or treat on authors not generally thought of as "philosophers". cf. the episodes on Baldwin. Listen up and learn. I have and enjoyed it.

More LAW

by fortunato's bones on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. I started at the beginning a couple years ago and just kept going. Nice blend of serious engagement with the content and humor. Law is the man. More Law. I would also probably donate to watch Seth recite one of those advertisements.

Brilliant

by larr associates on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant at best; entertaining at least.

Great discussions from great people.

by some guitar enthusiast on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I would highly recommend this podcast to anyone who is interested in philosophy. Keep up the good work!

good

by Fgfddyjbcjfswyojc on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A group of guys who have been doing this for a long time, they actually put work into producing their content. It's intellectually tougher than most podcasts, and if you want to get something out of it, you'll need to pay a little more attention than just playing it in the background of your daily tasks. But for anyone who actually enjoys philosophy, this will be a good thing.

Great!

by Evorrrr on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always thought provoking(obviously).

Not for the lazy

by Reviewer0012212 on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Critical thinking at its best. Agree or disagree with the viewpoints, these discussions will make you a better citizen, better human.

Relevant and fun

by FeltonFlyer on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm hooked! Discussions are friendly and lively. I always leave with a list of new, interesting topics for further review. 'Homework' is offered and explained. This podcast has quickly become my favorite!

Wonderful, courageous, enlightening and empowering.

by Timmy@72.5 on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this great opportunity to learn. For a few years now you enrich my daily life. I don't always understand the thoughts and ideas. And am provided to be a more complete person for the exposure to all the ideas. Please, keep up the great effort and quality work.

Rigorous, sincere, funny, life-changing

by Mjfavale on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast by some guys who were at one point set on doing philosophy for a living, but then thought better of it. Each episode they take a major work of philosophy and discuss it in their uniquely irreverent and ribald seminar-style. While deliberately intended for non-academic audiences, even professional philosophers love this show. Their approach is not only a model for how to read a philosophical text; it's also an extraordinary and refreshing example of how to be rigorous and exact in one's thinking while practicing charity to opposing viewpoints. This is by far one of my favorite podcasts. The insights to be found in working through these ideas will change you. It is not an exaggeration that my personal quality of life has been improved because of this podcast. I encourage especially people who are intimidated by philosophy to check this out. This podcast is deliberately designed for you.

Makes me better

by ndgree on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Whenever I start thinking I have it figured out, I listen to this and realize how little I know and how much I have to learn.

I'm now a groupie

by Maverick21123 on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast with the goal to get a general idea of a few topics for some legal research but ended up getting hooked and can't stop listening. I feel lucky to discover it now because there is such a large library of shows I can listen too and don't have to wait for "new" episodes because they are all "new" to me. Great, in-depth, funny, witty, 5 stars, and two thumbs up!

Best Philosophical Conversations

by Mtollefsrud on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For those interested in the life of the mind, you will not be disappointed. I have learned a lot listening to these guys discuss the great books of philosophy and have ventured to read books That would have been inaccessible to me without this podcast.

Help

by NooraComan on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Far too politically correct. A little too much navel gazing.

No Country for Old Men

by Austin4666 on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Guys, your analysis of No Country for Old Men was fantastic. I listen to a lot of literature podcasts, but none of them come close to going as in-depth as you guys did when it came to looking at the symbolism and (of course) philosophy behind the story. If I could meet you in person, I would literally beg at your feet for episodes analyzing all of Cormac McCarthy's novels - but since I can't do that, I'd be inclined to make a small donation for every episode you put out that did. Thanks for the awesome episode!

Thanks

by Memyselfetc on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks again!

Great podcast!

by NuncFluens on Dec 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening for a while and somehow never got around to writing a review. Shame on me! This podcast is exceptional, most especially because these guys are so much fun in the way they handle these heady matters!

Kant get enough

by zack101035 on Dec 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great mix of humor and deep analysis. Thanks, PEL!

Superfan

by JenTejada on Dec 02, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I finally made the effort to write a review and I can see you guys don't need any thumbs up from me! I'm still on the early episodes only listening to the newer ones sporadically. Full disclosure, I have zero background in philosophy and am grasping at the edges for many of these episodes probably taking away all of the wrong things. All that said, this podcast has been lifechanging for me. I listen to you all every single day and am now on a more structured approach to learning philosophy mostly inspired by what you all are doing here. I think all three of you and the occasional repeat guest, Dylan, come across as humble, caring, compassionate human beings. Your sarcasm and dismissiveness of certain ideas at times reads fully as authenticity and nothing more. It validates the listener experience of doing the same as some crazy ideas are presented. There is no way that I would be able to play around with the ideas that some of these thinkers had if you all did not present the highlights in a funny and easy to follow manner. Truly, much thanks to you for the endeavor.

Great discussion podcast

by folumb1 on Nov 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is a pretty good podcast for seeing the works and ideas of certain philosophers in ways you may not have considered. I love that it is more about the ideas than the philosophers themselves, but with that said, if you've never heard of the philosopher or aren't too familiar with them, their conversations can easily go over your head. I don't think their purpose is to teach historical philosophy though, so this is fine. As long as you have some background on the topic or philosopher you can definitely get some great insights by listening, though I have to look up some terms they use periodically.