Average rating:

4.5
out of 39 ratings.

Sound quality is subpar.

by Umutko on Sep 20, 2015
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’ve been listening to other podcasts and I must say the quality of this one is subpar compared to other podcasts out there.It also feels like it is not very well organized so it does not flow naturally and seamless.

Helpful! Audio, not great.

by tyler_zyco on Jun 15, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I get a lot of new ideas from this podcast but I feel like the audio from people’s phones are just terrible.

New Format is Boring with Low Production Values

by Golfer #2 on Mar 18, 2014
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If it ain't broke - change it? Live call-in episodes are impossible to listen to with an inordinate number of ah's and um's. Interactive discussion among call in participants has been effectively eliminated. Host wastes way too much time (ummm) spouting how wonderful the guest is. Let them establish that (ummm) with THEIR content. This has become a (ummm) transparent vehicle to promote the (ummm) guest rather than inform the subscriber. A a ummm.

The Live Call is Back!!

by danielegold on Nov 10, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi, I’m Daniel Gold, with the GTD Virtual Study Group. I recently welcomed a co-host to the Virtual Study Group! Michelle Gunn has been a listener since 2009 and has an incredibly strong background in GTD, people and project management. Most of all, she not only hears people, but really listens to them to discovery what they’re issues and challenges are and apply real and practical solutions. Michelle will be taking over the live portion of the call, which will occur every 2nd Thursday of each month. On the 4th Thursday of the month, I’ll be releasing a pre-recorded program with an expert in the productivity space. This gives the show a great balance of a supportive group community and serving up expert advice and stories as well. I hope you enjoy and thanks to everyone for being such great listeners!

Used to be better

by JBHKY on Sep 17, 2013
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to really enjoy this podcast but it has changed recently. Now it is essentially the same as any other in the GTD space - a host, a guest, and a discussion between the two. The show used to be more of a GTD support group.

Tara rocks my world

by CaitMcC on Sep 14, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I prefer these podcasts to the David Allen GTD podcasts. I just wish that there were more of them. The only way that I can make it through the day is by listening to this podcast on my way to work. Great topics & ppl!! I get such amazing insights for several days after listening. I'm off to sched my 6 mos review, vision board time and look at my on deck list!!!

Best podcast of the year for me...

by Deviant Relic on Nov 28, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

The virtual study group helps me stay in tune with my desire to stay organized. Thanks to all the people who make this possible.

Great Conversation, Great Podcast

by Pato Parada on Sep 07, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a remarkable effort lead by Tara R. Robinson, where the podcast participants discuss several aspects of the GTD (Getting Things Done) system implementation. One of the most important features of this podcast is that the guests talk about problems and its solutions; this is, regular folks discussing ways to better practice GTD. The style of the podcast is conversational, like parcitipating with a bunch of friends and discussing important stuff. However, this does not mean that the show has no organization; on the contrary, every show has a main theme, usually lead by one of the call participants, with a round of q & a at the end. And like good GTD practicioners that they are, every show ends with a discussion of Next Actions (the topic of next show).The show have several regular participants, but there is also space for new people that help to keep the show fresh.This is mature series (more than 4 years), where the themes vary from "back-to-basics", software and tools reviews, and good practices in general. During the years they have had important guests, such as Dave Allen himself (December 2008) and Daniel Pink (April 2010).

Adds a necessary dimension to GTD

by Denu Household on Aug 31, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I spend probably far too much time thinking about GTD and tinkering with various software & tools. But what does this really mean in your life? Does GTD simply get you to Inbox Zero, make you a more conscientious housekeeper, a more thorough packer?The Virtual Study Group podcast brings GTD down to earth in a meaningful way that discusses personal development without going overboard.Kudos go to Tara and the participants.

Useful Stuff

by Fraucoach on Aug 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Tara's relaxed, affirmative style, and the contributors run the gamut from newbie to blackbelt. I listen regularly & apply liberally! Thanks to all.

Great Resource

by L Seiner on Aug 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to these podcasts for quite some time, and as a DIY GTDer, they have been so helpful. The call participants willingly share their successes and failures and lend encouragement in a very selfless way. Keep it up Tara and crew.

informative and encouraging

by McDonna on Aug 20, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative: these directed conversations between GTD practitioners provide lots of nuts and bolts suggestions about the different ways people have found to make GTD best for them. Helps you to realize that there is no one right way to do it. Encouraging: as a newbie to GTD when I started listening, what struck me most was hearing people talk about their struggles with different aspects of the practice. It helped me understand that it's not easy or automatic, and that just because it took me some time to come up to speed doesn't mean that I can't make it work. Join the live sessions if you can, and share your challenges and solutions with the group. :)

Back to the basics is great stuff

by Wil Ng on Aug 15, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast explores the world of productivity from a GTD standpoint. It links in with other disciplines to see how it can enhance your GTD eco-system. The Back to the Basics episodes are a great refresher for the GTD disciple.Topics involve tackling inboxes, exploring goals, managing projects, and a wide variety of subjects that will help us master our lives. Thanks for a great podcast.

Very Useful Resource

by MaripatV on Aug 11, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the conversational format of this podcast. Tara keeps things moving and on target with her professional, relaxed tone. Many members have been doing GTD for a long while and they share their successes as well as their struggles. Listening gives me the confidence to power through my failings and keep improving my own GTD skills. This is a must have for anyone implementing David Allen's methology.

Pratical Advice

by joecoolfiftyfive on Aug 10, 2010
Rating: ★★★★☆

Best way to learn is by hearing how others actually implement GTD. I've learned that simple, fast, and consistent is the key to doing GTD correct.

Real life GTD experiences, with a dash of other cool stuff.

by GTD Meister on Aug 09, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Regardless of your experience with GTD, this podcast will help you as long as you're serious about making the changes necessary to tame productivity -related stress. Does not attempt to replicate the plethora of "I just finished the GTD book and here are the things I've been doing for two whole weeks" blog material out there. Those regularly on the podcast/call have implemented GTD in various degrees of orthodoxy and share their best (and worst) practices, successes and crash-n-burn experiences from their respective stations in life. It's real and definitely unscripted. They recently began a great series that dedicates an entire episode to a single GTD core practice. There's lots of gold in their archives too--including a deeper-than-usual interview with David Allen himself--so dive in and explore.

I wait for every release

by Vinny F. on Aug 08, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening for a long time. Even when the discussion is about technology I don't use I learn something new.

Has been.

by jkh1 on Mar 28, 2010
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I think this podcast is running out of good ideas. The most recent episodes have very little to do with GTD and will be an hour of wasted time for you. Find another source to satisfy your GTD curiousity.

Great

by Swlls08 on Dec 15, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I have really enjoyed the content available through the GTD Virtual Study group. The format, with both guest presenters and more open disussions provide a lot of information to help you improve your own GTD practice. Not every episode is applicable for every one, but I have gotten a lot of really good tips from listening. Especially helpful for those of us who can't justify the expense of GTD Connect. Thanks Tara!

Great resource

by davidreckles on Aug 23, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I have now listened to all of the past podcasts from the group and get each one as quickly as they become available. Tremendous resource for anyone on the GTD path.

Delicious Dish

by Reathai2 on Apr 02, 2009
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

"Yeah ... good times."

Excellent learning place

by apinaud on Jan 04, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been able to enjoy and learn from this podcast, I have found friends, and many learning tips and tricks. I personally recommend this podcast as part of your growth curriculum...