Average rating:

4
out of 11593 ratings.

Could be SO much better!

by 11of13 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s so painfully obvious that you are reading the information. This podcast would be So much better if you would - at least - act like they knew or were even slightly familiar with the subject matter. Come on! Ad lib just a little bit ladies! Your subject matters are mostly interesting but it’s agonizing listening to your podcasts because of the lackluster delivery of the information. Please take this information to heart! Maybe listen to Dave and Josh to see how they do it!!

Veteran’s Day

by Hood411 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have listened to this podcast for a couple of years now. I like it and also like that the team is often topical in the subject selection. That is why I was very disappointed that on Veterans Day there was nothing that involved our Veterans.

Good podcast!

by October76 on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve learned a lot. I didn’t know that much about the Ga gold rush, and this podcast taught me so much.

Real History for Real People

by History Learner on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very informative yet entertaining. After listening to the podcasts I am intrigued and then motivated to do my own research on these topics. I have even inspired my 3 daughters to listen too. In my opinion history is an interesting and a necessary subject. It helps us learn from the past and make the best decisions as citizens and a society. This podcast does that!!

Love it!

by Burrowbabes on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a rich and enjoyable history show. Love the in-depth research and feeling of being in the company of other history nerds. And that’s never a bad thing.

Gets me through work

by 1rate ;p on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast!!

Making history interesting again!

by amutti on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t believe I’ve never reviewed this show. I’ve been listening for years, across many different hosts, and it continues to entertain and educate. Keep up the tradition of great work!

Excellent podcasts!

by gretchenquin on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve found these podcasts really interesting! It’s like a little snippet of information delivered sometimes with a chuckle and sometimes with incredulity. These women are delightful and fun. I appreciate that sometimes they let me know that the topics aren’t great for a first listen with kids around. Keep up the great work!

My favorite podcast

by scharlie18 on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m an on-and-off-and-on again podcast listener and this podcast is always one that I come back to. I love Tracy and Holly, and sometimes I’ll put it on just for some white noise when I can’t really devote the listening and focusing that this podcast deserves (and then go back and really listen to the episodes later). I have a real appreciation for all the hard work and good research that goes into each podcast topic, for their consideration of the people that they talk about and of the times that they lived in. They tell a great story and I love the Unearthed! specials they do and the Impossible Episodes and the history mysteries. Thank you so much! I’ve learned so much just by listening to this podcast and every day, I learn even more. Keep it up!

My favorite podcast.

by BeingTierney on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A good little history lesson especially for my short attention span. hahaha

Fun and educational

by Sic3189 on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening for about 6 months and also occasionally listening to archived episodes. A great way to learn some trivia and super entertaining to listen to. Love it!

Great podcast!

by sgolsings on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! The topics and the hosts are wonderful!!! Thank you for teaching me so much in my daily commute

Good content irritating hosts

by Anon-mus on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I popped back into this podcast after a long break hoping that they had replaced these two giggling and irritating hosts, but they are still here - so I’m gone again.

Love this podcast!

by RoseMcGRoth on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Easy listening to the hosts I like how they tag team and interject their personalities into the topics Keep up the good work !

Interesting ideas for a podcast; poor delivery

by BaylorGirl2002 on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If this podcast were to post less frequently, I think the hosts could provide more substantive content worthy of my time. Instead, podcast listeners hear the summary of a historical event/item/person not even equal to that of a Wikipedia entry on the topic. The hosts are barely adequate and veer into downright annoying on occasion. I’m not looking for Hardcore History, but a deeper (more accurate) dive into what usually are good ideas for a history podcast would make for a much more entertaining and informative listening experience. It’s painfully obvious when the hosts haven’t done their homework and this has happened more and more as the years have gone by with this pair.tl;dr The idea for the podcast is great. The execution could be substantially improved with more knowledgeable hosts and better research prior to recording.

Love SYMIHC

by Is this only happening to me!? on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most interesting and fun podcasts out there! Since listening, I have been able to answer 2 final jeopardy questions from information I learned here! I love Holly and Tracy! They are delightful and research the heck out of everything they discuss.

I Thought I Didn’t Like History!

by mertoots on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But guess what. I do! This is one of my favorite podcasts, which really surprised me. Now I advocate history as a subject my grandchildren should pay attention to, but they need excellent teachers like these amazing women. Try it! You’ll like it!

Great

by Cryllica on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fills in the gaps of my knowledge.

vocal frye

by Franzenslake on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love the research but the creaky voice makes it hard for me to listen. I of course love learning stuff i never knew ! keep up the good work ladies. cheers

Great Podcast

by Phoebe's Mommy on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love your podcast. Sometimes though it sounds like the podcast is being read straight off of a piece of paper. Would like to hear more banter with two hosts.

Great Podcast

by Phoebe's Mommy on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love your podcast. Sometimes though it sounds like the podcast is being read straight off of a piece of paper. Would like to hear more banter with two hosts.

Amazing

by Thisisrealgood on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve learned so much. Thanks!

Makes History Fun

by nanilani04 on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't always have time to listen to every episode, but each time I start listening again I wonder why I took a break! A great way to take a brief deep dive into history subjects that don't always get much attention. Thanks for the good work!

Good content...read to us BORINGLY

by mrsnashtyboy on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really wish they had more of a conversational style instead of just reading their notes. They don't try to conceal that they are just reading. It is really fast paced hum drum reading. It's really boring. The material is Interesting, but these ladies have NO PERSONALITY in their voices. I think their voices wouldn't be so annoying if they were actually discussing the material in a conversational style like chuck and and josh do.I’m really annoyed that one year later this is still the case. You gals really need to do better. Or get new hosts. I really want to like this podcast but I just can’t deal with the boring reading they do.

It has really gone down hill

by Road Nurd on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Maybe you should have moved this one to the junk pile along with Car Stuff.

Best History Podcast

by Yana U on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast! My favorite!

Dope

by Maggiejeann on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much I’m actually write review for it.

The best history show ever!!!!

by video gaming dad on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this show and it has opened me up to many other great podcasts. Even going back to 2008 and listening to Josh and Candance is great. But I honestly think that Tracy and Holly treat these subjects best (no offense Josh, I still like SYSK). I was making head way going through all the past podcast making to Sarah and Deblina, but with the start of the Saturday clips I just can’t keep up...You Ladies (and gent) have been a great source of knowledge and entertainment. Thank you.

Hosts are a mismatch for this podcast

by Dawn020 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to love this padcoast with previous hosts. I also used to love Tracy and Holly when they did Pop Stuff, as they chatted about things they were clearly passionate about—–but they're awful on this podcast. They sound like their reading from a 5th-grade book report every episode. Its pretty groan-inducing.

Voices and mispronunciation

by russelldoll on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have tried and tried but I just cannot listen to the current hosts voices. Also take a class in diction for singers, it will help in correctly pronouncing the non-English words ya’ll constantly butcher

Eh

by The Best Team Player on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Sigh...the topics sound interesting but once you click on an episode you get to listen to 7 minutes of the hosts opinions and experiences, which isn’t what I clicked the episode for. Also sounding pretty biased, the US seems to be the epicenter of everything if you go by this. That’s obviously not the case, I don’t recall American kids being taught to make their own ginger bread dough and build houses from it in middle school in the US, but they do do that in Scandinavia...

Always interesting

by m2carbine on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is always interesting and I frequently learn something new.

A blessing

by BlakeMoo on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Literally a fantastic pod. Well researched info I never would have known otherwise. Thank you for helping me get through my grueling work days. MTFBWY

Enjoyable

by Frannie333 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really fun to listen to.

Change the name

by Cbass77 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I used to love this podcast, but they should change the name to Women You Missed in History. I don’t mean to sound sexist but what about events and places. This podcast needs more variety.

I can’t do it

by coleygonzo on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I wish I could listen but I can’t get past the vocal quality. Please get vocal coaching!

My favorite way to unwind!

by MaryKathryn_1995 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this Podcast! I listen to Tracy and Holly when I’m walking to class, cooking dinner, or when I just want to unwind after a long day. Part of the fun of this podcast is the variety you’ll find with the respect to the sorts of historical figures and events they explore. I’m someone who has always preferred European history and biographies, but I love when I get surprised by a new topic that catches my attention! I recommend this podcast to all my friends and family and hope everyone gives it a listen!

Bright spots in my week

by Meeeetoday on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy bring us new and interesting topics twice a week. They really do research their subjects well to ensure they’re providing us with facts and do this while entertaining us with their personalities and wit.I love to learn, laugh, and occasionally cry with them.

Good hosts, mediocre history.

by Vladivostok0 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I gave this podcast a second chance after unsubscribing the first time because I hear so many other podcasts recommending it. Additionally, I love history podcasts and this seems like something I would really enjoy. Unfortunately I have found that 4 out of 5 episodes cover topics and individuals that, while I did indeed miss them in history class, are uninteresting. I believe the hosts are great given the material, but I have again found myself skipping episodes after 15+ minutes because they're covering people whose stories are only mildly remarkable. I hope the hosts can eventually change this in the future; I will probably give this show another listen at some point.

Politically Biased History.

by Madnuke on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The pod cast has developed a political bent and Present history with a biased view point. I just can’t stay with what happened I’ve got to give their opinion on the virtue of it.

Please. We don't care about your opinions.

by Dannnn85585;33884369 on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Started listening in 2013 when I started college. For the longest time I loved Holly and Tracy. They provided hours of well researched content that was BROAD & comprehensive in its nature. But when they started getting political with it is when I lost it. I listened because I wanted to learn about pure, unadulterated history. If you want a show hosted by two people focused on the history of feminist movements, artistic revolutions, political studies, and race riots/slave rebellions. This is the show for you. The show hasn't had a topic that focuses on ancient history, natural history, sports history, medical history, aviation/naval history or military history in the longest time. All they talk about is politics! Honestly, the best thing they do is the ship wrecks. Long time listener is now long gone. There is a reason Josh and Chuck from how stuff works will always be better. Bye forever.

Can’t do it anymore

by Akloki on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Will happily re-subscribe when the ‘men are root of all evil’ narrative changes. Under Holly and Tracy it has been a slow but steady 2 year decline into near open misandry. This used to be a good podcast.

Ever Interesting and Educational

by Max qwerty. on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always learn something and often share it with my teachers at school.

Disappointed

by more to history on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is becoming the Women’s history podcast.

A+

by Gbfjkjufx667 on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is what started my love of podcasts! I’m not even a history buff and love the content! The hosts are delightful and stay focused while still being entertaining themselves! Huge variety of time periods and topics! I love you guys, thank you so much!

The newest hosts are awful. This show is not what it was.

by DC3468 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The downturn of this podcast has been most disappointing. Compared to the previous hosts, the current women are mediocre and do not provide a satisfying listening experience. Their voices are like nails on chalkboard. Suddenly we went from having an outstanding pair of professors to a couple of sorority girls. Yikes.

A bit too smug and condescending lately

by AskJamers on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’ve listened to this podcast for a decade, but lately the hosts come across as quite smug and condescending, often judging people who lived hundreds of years ago by 2018 social standards. There are some episodes (such as 17 September 2018) where it’s difficult to find a sentence spoken that isn’t dripping with sarcasm. This makes the podcast harder to understand for ESL speakers and isn’t something I’ve come across in any other professional broadcasting. While the topics have been interesting in previous years, it seems that recently the focus is either American history, history of somewhere the hosts went on vacation, or history the hosts came across while doing other work. They seem like nice, intelligent people, but perhaps they are bored with podcasting at this point.

Potential

by Jaycub456 on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

There is a lot of potential here but .. the women fail to execute it in an engaging way. Instead it feels like to people reading a report they made for history class. Just reading back in forth with nothing really added.I hope they get into more conversation, back and forth anything cause I can’t finish these but I know they are good stories deep down

Excellent

by Marquax on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I could only listen to one podcast, this would be it. The two hosts are great together, and compliment each other’s personalities and interests. They make a huge effort to explore people from all over history- people who influenced today in various ways, focusing a great deal on women, people of color, and alternate sexualities, because all of these people are often ignored in history narratives. They explain the course of laws for civil rights, immigrant migrations, people with disabilities, the fashion of resistance, arts in war, margarine vs. butter, just to name a few of my favorites. Both have very distinct voices, which not only make them seem like real friends, but also don’t put me to sleep like smooth “radio voices”. I have learned more from this podcast than any other single source. If you want your world opened up just a little bit more, give it a try. Enjoy.Note: Confusingly, a lot of the podcast reviews for this show are describing hosts that produced this show many many years ago. I have no idea how it got so mixed up, but it doesn’t help people looking for their next great listen.

Show should be called "Women you missed in historical class"

by Inginious on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's all about feminism and SJW nowadays... I can't stand the way the media forcefully makes everything political. There are great men and woman throughout history but, no need to rule out one sex over the other...