Average rating:

4
out of 4833 ratings.

Love it!

by kiki of rado on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the range of topics, love the hosts. The ladies put what is obviously real emotion into topics that don't normally see a lot of action. Keep up the good work ladies!

Informative and fun

by Uss surj on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and I enjoy learning new things about all sorts of things. I found the Sears podcast fascinating and I didn't think I would... Thanks, ladies! You are wonderful!

Love Tracey and Holly!

by JamieJ527 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show, important topics that are still relevant to life today.

My favorite podcasts

by Ashtaar on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast, that focuses on the lesser known stories of history. I enjoy learning about new people and places and I love the show notes that accompany each podcast so I can look up their sources on my own.

Informative and interesting

by bx sci cat on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great topics and well informed women. Saddened but not surprised by the sexist reviews... ignore these as the podcast is informative and fun!

Horrible host!!

by Ropingmoon on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This is such a great topic of Podcast! HOWEVER, there're such impassioned, boring and unenthusiastic hosts ever! I don't why they treat directly reading from the articles as hosting a podcast. I love the content they talk about but I just cannot listen two the two ladies any more-sorry!

Great topics, monotone voices

by sullivanjessicak on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've been listening to this podcast since 2011ish. I really loved it. However the switch to new hosts has kinda killed it for me. I can't get over the dead voices and slow slow information. Really this is a great history podcast. However I have recently only listened to it every once in a while not weekly like I used to. The women write great articles for how stuff works. I don't think that they were the best choices to take over this podcast.

My Favorite Podcast

by Kingpharaohsam91 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was the fist podcast I ever started listening to and it is still my favorite podcast 5 years later! So funny and I love Holly and Tracy!! I have learned so many random history facts!

Smart, unexpected topics, fun

by Oaf Dragon on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a smart, thorough, and well-researched podcast. I've learned a ton and spent many hours learning interesting stuff. Easily one of the best history podcasts out there. Haters get half a bar.

Fun and Informative

by ListenedToYa1 on Apr 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These gals really seem like they do their research. I have learned about many interesting topics while listening to the show and archives. Although it did take me a while to get used to one of the ladies "O" sounds, I have found the sound quality and format to be the best of all of the history podcasts I frequent. They do a great job.

inthebigpicture

by inthebigpicture on Apr 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow...I was scrolling through some of the reviews. I truly enjoy this podcasts and Tracy and Holly. I either must be hearing a different tone in their voices or have been taught that in the big picture, what does the sound of someone's voice have to do with the value of what they are teaching us. I would not walk out of a Steven Hawking lecture because of his voice. And, truthfully, I appreciate their choice of words on many occasions. They use interesting, imaginative dialogue.

Aaaaamazing

by Walkerflakerflame on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening for years and I adore Tracy and Holly. One of the best podcasts out there!

Bad voices

by Nicksalter on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The hosts do not have radio voice, they are two intelligent people. However, in podcasts voice is everything.

Illuminating fun!

by CurvyArtGoddess on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Holly and Tracy are my absolute favorite. Their attention to minority and marginal voices is great. And they manage to keep the podcast fun and exciting with pirates, shipwrecks and bizarre fun stories. I cannot recommend this podcast enough.

Good not great

by bakerwildcats68 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good history show the only problem is it gets a little to feminine outside historically content

Keep up the good work!

by DrakeisabadYella on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hate seeing all these bad reviews. These ladies not only make history fun, they do a great job of giving unbiased facts in a way that's culturally relevant to how we've evolved as a human race has evolved since then. Love you!

Best Podcast

by Get real guys on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am fascinated by history. The podcasts are the perfect amount of time with awesome information. Honestly I love the hosts. They are very informative. Every so often they interject something funny or an opinion-but I like that. It doesn't seem like someone is reading out of a book to me.I have heard other podcasts that are about 80% gossip and opinions and 20% facts. This is nothing like that-a little surprised other feel that way. .....then again the reviews seem older.

Disappointing

by EmeraldSongbird on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

You know, history is my favorite subject. And they have such awesome themes for each episode. But listening to these women is like listening to nails on a chalkboard! Their voices constantly feel on the edge of breaking. I find the weird awkward laughs during sponsor messages strange and unprofessional. And as fantastic as the themes are, to me, they do nothing to make it more fascinating. It sounds as if they're just reading from a paper they wrote. They don't make it exciting at all. And sometimes it feels as if they are speaking condescendingly about people who may not have known certain aspects of history. Hate to unsubscribe but this is impossible to listen to without getting a headache.

My favorite podcast for years!

by Bluebird074 on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show so much, really interesting topics! I appreciate getting a different perspective on historical events than what was selectively taught in my schools' curriculum. I look forward to each new episode & it will be a sad day when I run out of old ones to listen to (coming soon!). I particularly appreciate the hosts' topic selection, whether discussing the lives of people who have been marginalized by history classes or clarifying common misconceptions about a famous historical person or event, the show is always interesting & done with respect & kindness. I highly highly recommend this podcast!

I can't get over the hosts

by Asdfgjducxwygxeuvcdygdvxdh on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I would listen more but the hosts totally kill it for me. I can't even make it through two episodes.

My favorite podcast

by Briggsgal12 on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I've been listening for a couple of years now and I love Holly and Tracy and all of the fun wonderful stories they unearth! I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys stories and history!

long time favorite

by Kate Can on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for about four years now and it's still one of my favorites. I appecraite the breadth of topics. If you're really into history, I think this podcast is great for an introduction to new topics that you can read about more later. My only criticism is I'm not a fan of the guest interviews. I enjoyed the Sears building in Atlanta one, but I think some of the people they interview aren't as charismatic as Holly and Tracy.

Highly recommend

by Ivyls on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Keeps me learning and I like the tone and pace of the show. Good job to the podcasters.

Used to be great but

by Ygottaylor on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to listen back in the days when the hosts were Sarah and Dublina and I'm sad at how far downhill it's gone. It used to have a lot of good research, interesting anecdotes and the banter wasn't too bad. But the best I can tell, those days are long gone. Save yourself some time and listen to the older shows.

Awesome

by Gfhrfsrcjvfd on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You both are amazing! Keep being awesome ladies!!

Not worth the time

by Corbfan on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was sent a link because the topic on a particular day had a lot to do with my own family history. Unfortunately I had to suffer through the sleep inducing voices and terrible jokes of the two hosts. While they do cover some interesting topics, the way they report it is not worth the time to listen. I would much rather sit through a lesson from my dry, 80 year old professor in college, than listen to these two hens cackle on.

A delightful look into lesser taught history

by B-Trout on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy make history so captivating that this is a podcast that I can't multitask while listening to because I get to caught up to engage in a second task. The topics are interesting and are good reminders of history's tendency to repeat itself. This show is phenomenal, and I sincerely recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in history.

One of my favorites

by caseyl1994 on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast since 2011, it's definitely one of my favorites! The hosts are informative and research their topics well. While I did not miss too much in History class, I still really appreciate this podcast.

No matter how many times I try...

by Bansley7109 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

No matter how many times I try to listen - and I am talking many times over the years - I can NOT get into this. I want to so bad. I love female hosts and I love history and yet somehow even with those two elements I find this podcast so incredibly dull and uninteresting. Even with what could be a fascinating topic, I am bored and just stop paying attention minutes in. It bums me out, but I think I am throwing in the towel for good.

Fabulous. Our family's fave!

by Sarahste on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Our family's favorite podcast. It makes everyday car trips a wonderful adventure.

Good content, bad presentation.

by wolfybear on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love history. Many of the topics covered in these episodes are very interesting, but the hosts do not present the information in the best way. I know that they have done their research, but the way they talk about topics Make it seem as though they know much about what they are talking about. It just seems more like gossip than history.

Wonderful!

by rmperash on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast ever! I started listening in 2015 and have devoured every episode since! I love learning about obscure historical figures and events and the hosts do it in a way that's very relatable and easy to comprehend. I'm constantly referencing this show in conversations and telling everyone to listen to it- you should too!

Informative and Engaging

by RiverRiddler on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast comprehensively covers both obscure and well-known people and events. Perfect for anyone who loves learning.

Love it!

by Give Season 3 a chance on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for making this wonderful podcast. I've been listening for two years, and have done a good job getting through your older episodes. Of course, there are topics that resonate with me more than others, but on the whole it's one of my favorite podcasts.

Love this podcast

by Jdnn54 on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. I learn a lot.

You should be ashamed

by Megelxd on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They had Michael Bornstein as a guest, a holocaust survivor. He and his father are heroes and inspirations to many people. Sadly they could not interview him without interrupting his true and morbid account of history with cheerful music and advertisements. I find this to be despicable, they should be ashamed for disrespecting him to such a high level. Just put the ads at the beginning or end, interrupting such an important person is just ridiculous.

Great podcasts

by Aunt loly on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the show and love learning new things I didn't know about! You always make me think!! Thank you so much!!!

Fabulous

by JannAleese on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hostesses help bring history to life. So many topics to learn about. I look foreword to new episodes every week. Though there are a lot of sponsor breaks & listener mail which I could do without.

Love this podcast

by 041785 on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a fan of history, and I love this podcast! I've learned so much, and I've taken things I've learned about on the podcast and deepened my knowledge, using this podcast as a jumping-off point.

They Make History Enjoyable For Everyone

by tapuout247 on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history! However, my children are not huge fans of it, but now that request this podcast when we travel! Thank you for making history fun for my kids!

Love these ladies

by TeacherLady1114 on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They are bright, thorough, charming and love what they do. They make their subjects come to life with their enthusiasm.

Great History Class

by ElderJC on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History has always been my favorite subject. Thank for sharing more views of the events of our past.

Love !

by ChalkandChai on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Really enjoy this podcast- it's a great way to learn about particular events or people that can lead your interest to grow in the topic at hand!

Great supplement to a history class

by melimd on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I have had two types of history teachers: boring ones who just list dates of historical events, and engaging ones who pay a framework of the time period before talking about dates and events. This podcast definitely falls within the latter category. The hosts are engaging, and make the topic interesting. The episodes have added to my knowledge about historical events, and have only served to increase my understanding of things that lead up them. Those who don't understand history are doomed to repeat it, but this podcast is a positive step towards knowing your history better.

Why is the audio so bad?

by HBW14 on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great content, but I don't understand why all the Stuff You Should Know family podcasts sound like they're being recorded on terrible mics. Not a single other podcast I listen to is like this. Drives me crazy.

Smart and compelling

by Dohertygroup on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always well done!

Amazing Show

by Pikachuwill on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for about a year now and made my way through every episode. I myself listen on Spotify. I highly recommend this podcast to anyone that likes history and wants to hear a short lesson. The current hosts Tracy and Holly, as with all the other hosts, are clearly very passionate about what they're discussing

History Nerd

by Stacyann208 on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these ladies, the topics they cover, the pace of the show, and the care they put into the research.

Spare me.

by TheSubro on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love history. I love reading about overlooked history. I am a middle of the road conservative and voted for Hilary. BUT this podcast is just a series of liberal propaganda "People's History of the World" pieces strung together, with the modern political correctness mapped onto everything that has happened that might have violated such coda. If that's your bent, listen in. For those looking for misplaced historic stories or nuanced forgotten pieces of our past without a political agenda, spare yourself. I unsubscribed after 3 episodes.

So-so

by moobies on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Some of the subjects are interesting, but the host's voices are hard to stomach. I will say that if you listen to a few episodes in a row the voices are easier to listen to. I went a couple months without listening and then tried to go back but again found the host's voices highly irritating. Wish I felt differently 😔