Average rating:

4
out of 10933 ratings.

A+

by Gbfjkjufx667 on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is what started my love of podcasts! I’m not even a history buff and love the content! The hosts are delightful and stay focused while still being entertaining themselves! Huge variety of time periods and topics! I love you guys, thank you so much!

The newest hosts are awful. This show is not what it was.

by DC3468 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The downturn of this podcast has been most disappointing. Compared to the previous hosts, the current women are mediocre and do not provide a satisfying listening experience. Their voices are like nails on chalkboard. Suddenly we went from having an outstanding pair of professors to a couple of sorority girls. Yikes.

A bit too smug and condescending lately

by AskJamers on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’ve listened to this podcast for a decade, but lately the hosts come across as quite smug and condescending, often judging people who lived hundreds of years ago by 2018 social standards. There are some episodes (such as 17 September 2018) where it’s difficult to find a sentence spoken that isn’t dripping with sarcasm. This makes the podcast harder to understand for ESL speakers and isn’t something I’ve come across in any other professional broadcasting. While the topics have been interesting in previous years, it seems that recently the focus is either American history, history of somewhere the hosts went on vacation, or history the hosts came across while doing other work. They seem like nice, intelligent people, but perhaps they are bored with podcasting at this point.

Potential

by Jaycub456 on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

There is a lot of potential here but .. the women fail to execute it in an engaging way. Instead it feels like to people reading a report they made for history class. Just reading back in forth with nothing really added.I hope they get into more conversation, back and forth anything cause I can’t finish these but I know they are good stories deep down

Excellent

by Marquax on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I could only listen to one podcast, this would be it. The two hosts are great together, and compliment each other’s personalities and interests. They make a huge effort to explore people from all over history- people who influenced today in various ways, focusing a great deal on women, people of color, and alternate sexualities, because all of these people are often ignored in history narratives. They explain the course of laws for civil rights, immigrant migrations, people with disabilities, the fashion of resistance, arts in war, margarine vs. butter, just to name a few of my favorites. Both have very distinct voices, which not only make them seem like real friends, but also don’t put me to sleep like smooth “radio voices”. I have learned more from this podcast than any other single source. If you want your world opened up just a little bit more, give it a try. Enjoy.Note: Confusingly, a lot of the podcast reviews for this show are describing hosts that produced this show many many years ago. I have no idea how it got so mixed up, but it doesn’t help people looking for their next great listen.

Show should be called "Women you missed in historical class"

by Inginious on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's all about feminism and SJW nowadays... I can't stand the way the media forcefully makes everything political. There are great men and woman throughout history but, no need to rule out one sex over the other...

My favorite podcast

by Beccaflanders7729 on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. Keep it up Holly and Tracy! You bring so much delight into my weeks with your interesting shows! I learn so much and I enjoy your personalities! Love love love!

A favourite!

by CatherineMoore on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts, interesting topics chosen, really recommend.

Painful

by Expat74 on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Being a huge fan of SYSK, I thought I’d give this one a try. Not sure where they found these two ladies but their voices made me want to throw my iPhone across the room. It was excruciating to listen to and I figured I can’t be the only one. A quick google revealed several forum entries of complaints and a few others complaining about misogyny regarding complaints about the podcast. I’m not sure I can agree with the complaints about the subjects being too female centric but I do think this podcast must be for a narrow provincial audience as the nasal barking with occasional cackling are more than this listener can endure.

Bring Back the Old Hosts, Shows Circling the Drain

by Sad History Fan on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As someone who’s been listening to this show for over 6 years, and has listened to nearly every episode, all I can say is that the Old hosts were better. This show just keeps slipping further and further down hill. The show’s cross podcast commercials featuring Tracy promoting her, “Little sister podcast,” put the final pin in it for me. Instead of giving the facts everything on this series is now pushed in the direction of feminism and the hosts bias. We get it, you’re women, women were important in history, please stop shoving it down your listeners throats and just read the facts. As an avid fan of history, Tracy and Holly have muddied this show for me by using it as their personal soap box to broadcast their agenda and have moved the show in the wrong direction. That’s not what people tune in every week for and it’s driving more and more of your past listeners to other programs. Tracy, maybe instead of going to twitter and calling out your fans as sexists, you take into consideration what multiple people are saying and consider that you’re biased? People don’t have to listen to your show, your making it that much easier of a decision with your actions and alienating more and more of the shows once fans. PODCAST DECISION MAKERS!Please get new hosts (preferably the old ones) or SYMIHC will loose continuing listenership to other programs. It’s so sad to see where this show is today compared to the juggernaut it was when I started listening years ago. Sincerely,A once loyal but now disappointed history fan who listens to Wondry History Shows over this once great program.

Great podcast but I miss the “feel” of the older episodes

by CaseyF86 on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I recently discovered this podcast and have listened to about 150 episodes spanning from 2009-present. I really enjoy the older episodes. I’m not sure if it’s the writing or the presentation, but the older episodes are much easier and more enjoyable to follow along with. The new hosts, while knowledgeable and likable, seem to be quickly reading facts from note cards where previous hosts presented the topics in a more conversational way, which was very enjoyable. I will continue to listen but hope the format can be switched to how it was in the beginning. Thank you for all of the information!

Yikes

by brake_raraver on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

She has the most jarring voice I’ve ever heard.

One of my favorites!

by pumpkinbirdy on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast...listen to you while I work out...I’m bummed I will miss you coming to San Fran...thank you for all your hard work! 🙂

Entertaining and educational

by Pic user 2584 on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love a good story. The current hosts do a great job of taking a person or event from history and giving a great summary that is both informative and interesting.

I would rather listen to max volume opera

by NickleHack on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is ridiculous, if there was a zero here I would give it a -1. The gossip like talking is like massive ear pain and rings around my head as I come in and out of consciousness. There facts here are a light google search at best. I’m glad this wasn’t taught in history class, because if It was I would not know anything substantial. Oh and bring the jock back.

History

by B17EFort on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The background information is great. All programs are at a high level, but you have resources provided if you want to do more research.

Bueller? Bueller?

by Boaz1414 on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have only listened to episode 58: Cajamarca. I listened in wonder... totally flabbergasted, as the two ladies read from their high school term papers. If you desire to turn people off to history, then urge them to listen.Bueller? Bueller?

Excellent!

by Miltown1 on Aug 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite impressive the ladies manage to often add interesting nuances and nuggets to well researched topics. Untangling Dred Scott was very well done. I must say the episodes regarding Ireland (I know this quite well!) were excellent - enjoyed especially they managed quite well pronouncing the Irish names of the various insurgency movements, a rare feat even for American scholars of Irish history!

Yuck!

by J4Wbreaker on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s like the two ladies hosting are having a contest to see who’s voice can be more grating. Horrific to the ears! Avoid.

amazing

by musictycoon on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love what they choose to cover, love the social rights podcasts and feminism ones too! amazing work!

My week is not complete without this show

by B Belew on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stuff You Missed in History Class is one of the finest shows available, anywhere. The hosts, Tracy V. Wilson and Holly Frey, do an excellent job researching and presenting many of the often untold stories from history. I appreciate their perspective and the way they present the information with the appropriate gravitas and humor. My week is not complete without this show.

Very enjoyable

by s-k8 on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have heard episodes from any number of the various host pairings & they are all good. Love hearing bits of history that I might otherwise not learned about.

Might as well be “Stuff you missed in obscure Women’s History class”

by anon10474829 on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

^

Love this podcast!

by Neuro Doc CO on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining and educational! This podcast helps me become more knowledgeable and helps cure the boredom of my daily commute.

Thank you

by karenkcwalsh on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As I spend time on my long commutes I find your podcast to be comforting. The drives are long and many of your topics I am unfamiliar with and the feeling of not wasting my time in the car is great. I find your voices soothing after my long day. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Favorite podcast

by mekoche on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They’ve got the formula dialed in on this show. The hosts get you through the data with nice canter to their banter.

My favorite podcast

by Ally490 on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These ladies are so knowledgeable, I love this podcast! Very wide array of topics covered. I always recommend this one to my friends and family. I even downloaded it for my dad. :)

What they say is great

by ClubEd on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

But sorry to have to mention it- how these two ladies speak is less than pleasant to my ear. Both of them speak with a nasal dominant sound that makes me stop listening. I want to know the info, so I usually come back the next day or so, but it is always difficult to take. Please consult a vocal coach to learn how to produce speech that will be reproduced more pleasantly on the electronic devices. Sorry, but it is sincerely meant as a constructive comment which I hope you will take in that spirit.

Interesting topics & great hosts

by modine1066 on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly & Tracy do a fantastic job of hosting this podcast. These podcast are not to be taken for the definitive information on the topic but rather a spark to do your own research on the topics you find interesting. I listen while driving to long island on my route.

Interesting and educational

by The bro could purple. on Jul 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I trust the integrity of this podcast. The two women casters research their subjects using reliable resources. They keep it interesting and educational

Unearthed!

by Swagler1 on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These are my FAVORITE episodes!! Keep up the good work!!

Your the problem

by whiping boy on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I couldn’t stand hearing “old white guys” or “ racist white guys” anymore after this last episode. Would an old black guy change the direction of the story? Done

Just right

by NPRaddicted on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s the kind of podcast you sit in your car for 15 minutes to finish even though you arrived at your destination. You know what I’m talking about listeners. Thank you for bringing crayons I didn’t know existed to the party ^.^

Great show!!!

by bombardier15 on Jul 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was my introduction to podcasts and they got me hooked!!! Love the premise of the show and topics are always super interesting!!! Love that the show not only does not shy away from possibly “touchy” topics but dives right in and will certainly cover woman and minorities which I certainly don’t remember in history class. Topics are very well researched. The hosts are great and adding personal flair and humor which keeps it fun and lively. Easy to binge!! Keep it up!!

THE BEST!

by 0rangesicle on Jul 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

HOLLY AND TRACY ARE THE BESTTTTTTTT. Seriously! I have listened to a LOT of the backlog of this podcast, as well as a ton of the recent stuff too, and (not to diss on anyone from the past) Holly and Tracy are just so accessible, friendly, conversational (without much irrelevant side chatter, I feel like! which is DIFFICULT, I also feel like!! give these girls credit!), and VERY knowledgeable. They're also very VERY conscious of marginalized communities and other topics relating to intersectionality, because it shows in how they treat a number of historical cases where terminoligy might be muddier (I'm thinking of specifically instances of people who would probably consider themselves trans men or trans women nowadays, and they usually explicitly acknowledge what source material might say about someone, and explain why they ended up choosing whatever pronouns they chose for that instance). Thank you so much for all your hard work!

Good BUT...

by mellymel0418 on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love listening to this podcast but hate when they put their liberal opinions in. I am neither liberal not conservative but I want to hear interesting FACTS, not your left wing opinion.

It’s been 4 years of delight!

by Vedastokes on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for 4 years on a weekly basis - and I love the hosts and the content dearly! It’s a bit of a PG experience but I find it delightful (one their favorite words) and educative - it’s pretty short about 44 mins or so per episode which is perfect for the commute and not too in depth that you feel lost. They chose really obscure topics sometimes that I love and they really never go in a set order of the episodes so one day I may be listening to 19th fashion and the next an ancient kingdom in Mali. They are fabulous and funny hosts and again - it’s a super well crafted show. It’s for history nerds!! And I am one so yay! Love it.

“Another Sponser break”

by Blabla46189363 on Jul 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Found it interesting, though not captivating, and there are many other podcasts with better ratios of good subject matter to sponsor breaks.

History done right

by The Lady of Misfotune on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An amazing podcast if you want to learn about all the stuff history class forgot or didn’t get around to than I have a podcast for you! The current podcast host holly and Tracy are amazing! They always do their absolute best on every single episode and if they make mistakes they admit it and are humble about it and will have a correction in one of the following episodes in the listener mail segment!

Thank you!

by VenturianTale is awsome on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate all you do, and very much enjoy the show!

Meh

by History liker on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Their SJW views hurt the podcast. I don’t care about the views you are trying to push onto me. I listen to podcasts to get away from all of the stupidity that is in the world, not to get more pushed onto me. The majority of the recent podcasts are about women. I don’t have a problem with that if you called the podcast “Women you missed in history class.” This podcast along with all of the “How stuff works” podcasts seem very formulaic. They use banter back and forth to fill the time slot. It’s too bad because if there really was a good podcast about stuff I missed in history class, I would listen every day.

Thank you Holly and Tracy!

by Lilgreensprout0714 on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That’s all I can say. Thank you for making my usual ridiculously mundane errand running into an exciting lesson in history whenever I get in the car! I would thank previous hosts, but I haven’t listened to any older episodes. Thank you to the previous hosts though for starting such an awesome podcast! Much love to al of you. 🧘‍♀️💜🙏🏻

Thank you

by 3dogmel on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have enjoyed listening for many years through numerous hosts. The discussion format yields differing perspectives on the same events. Also like show notes that provide reference to source material. Thank you for this window into the past.

Love it

by Batgirl_LB on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

"Love love love it!!!"I love learning new things and this podcast delivers! I love shocking people with knowledge!

Like listening to someone read a term paper

by Yet another David on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

These podcasts get tiresome really fast because it just sounds like somebody reading a term paper out loud in a community college class. It doesn't inspire confidence in the scholarship, and it's just not interesting listening, in spite of some of the titles. There are so much better podcasts out there where truly knowledgable people – scholars, even – discuss esoteric topics relating to history (e.g., BBC Radio 4's "In Our Time"), that I just don't have time or patience for this amateur act.

The lady who reviewed before me is crazy pants

by That'sMissJensen on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve procrastinated writing a review (even though I know that reviews are currency. Sorry, guys) because I just thought that, obviously, everybody who likes history likes this podcast. Looks like I was a little mistaken!Quick note for the record, the hosts have charming voices that are distinctive, not annoying. See crazy pants review before mine for context.More importantly, the hosts and producers clearly work hard to be comprehensive and neutral in all of the content they share—occasionally to an annoying degree that makes me feel bad about myself. As a grown social studies teacher, I’ve often found myself childishly muttering to my self—kicking a pebble and pouting or something—about how I find some action or person reported on incredibly stupid or awesome while the hosts remain about as neutral as a pair of reporters in a modern historical scope can be. They have a firm understanding of the fact that history is not a linear climb, and they offer commentary that supports that. Any personal bias that is on this show is clearly prefaced as an opinion or personal conviction and is never preachy or misleading. Finally, the content selected is occasionally random, but that’s why it wasn’t in history class. There is something valuable in every show I’ve listened to, even if the title didn’t catch my eye. I still have a sneaky suspicion (conspiracy theory?) that the minds behind all of the How Stuff Works shows do coordinate at least a little, as sometimes I find common threads and what feels like inspiration from one show to the next. That’s just a personally fun little egg hunt for me. Anyway, keep up the good work ladies! Don’t let crazy pants slow you down!

by women, for all

by quantumofsolace on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

that some feel the necessity to leave a negative review because of some imagined SJW bias tells you why you should love this podcast.

“How Brain washing and propaganda work”

by Luke@17 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

More accurately “ How Brain washing and propaganda work”But go ahead if you think they’re honestly trying to help you

Far-Left leaning "history" class.

by jobengals86 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This doesn't even deserve a full review, which is rare for me. The number 1 detractor are the voices of these women. The second detractor is how cherry-picked this history is - the majority of it DOES contain COOL facts, but they only fit under the perview of the word 'history' because it happened in the past. This is essentially a more chaotic, much less funny, much more left-leaning 'How Stuff Works' with *very* annoying hosts and their absolutely terrible history voices. TALK ABOUT THE STUFF THAT ACTUALLY MATTERS!! TALK ABOUT THE CONTROVERSIES WITHOUT PICKING A SIDE!! GIVE US ALL THE DETAILS OF EVERY SIDE OF ALL THE MOST AMAZING THINGS HAPPENED THROUGHOUT HISTORY!Nevermind, I'll just look elsewhere. Seriously though, to all my fellow podcasters - this show is, in my opinion, completely under mainstream doctrine and -it's 2018- so the truth is coming out; watch those history shows that actually make you shudder with disgust (from the history, not the hosts), think long and deep about how this fits into our archetypal human behavior cycles that have been stuck on repeat for 5,000-200,000+ years; don't listen to this drivel.

Enjoyable

by Laf03 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very solid and enjoyable show. Inevitably some topics don’t interest me, or are so obscure they seem hard to make a show of, but I like to leave them on in the background and I’m a fan of both the old and new shows.