Average rating:

4
out of 4678 ratings.

Disappointed Historian

by brasilera92 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I'm a lover of all things historical and I love learning new things about history via podcast. However, in this podcast Holly and Tracy project their modern views onto their stories in a way that is disrespectful. It's like they are not aware of how imputing their opinion on historical event or judging their subjects from their comfortable seat in 2017 undermines their work.

Great listen for history lovers

by PangoTango on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The ladies are great and really get into the research behind the history they discuss. I always learn something new.

Love it!

by Nicole in Indiana on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast!! I love the hosts' banter & interesting stories!!!

Love it.

by Mama4jones on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hay ladies, I have been listening to you for a few weeks now and I can't get enough. Keep up the good work.

What's With the Ads?

by CamRamirez on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to listen to this podcast all the time, but I just can't anymore. The episodes aren't fun anymore. They kind of bring me down. I figured I'd go into the backlog and listen to the older ones that I like. Much to my surprise, they've gone in and retroactively put in ads! I understand that you have to pay the bills, but that seems to be a bit much. And it's not at the begining or the end. They actually cut off the hosts mid-word to put in an ad for SquareSpace or something. It happens more than once in an episode! I don't think I can subscribe anymore. Good luck I guess.

Aweful

by JeremyP3362 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I would compare the host to Ashley Judd and Madona. I don't think they deserve one star.

One of my favorites!

by A.Steines on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The first could of times I listed to this podcast I was indiferent to it, but I think I just picked shows that weren't all that interesting to me. I love the show now. I especially love that they cover typics about misrepresented or underrepresented people. I also love that they occasional do topics that seem odd and like there is nothing there to learn, but end up being really intersting. Some people on here complain that they sound nasaly, but anymore I find it enduring.

Love the show

by User 8443 on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Voices and laughing so annoying that it makes mewant to hit the mute button. Replace the hosts but keep them to do then research. Great info, annoying hosts.

One of my absolute faves

by Mrskedu on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

LOVE THIS PODCAST. I am addicted to it. Voices are great. Don't mind the nay-sayers. Some people just don't like women's voices being smart :-P

Good

by Leeannp71 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Variety of topics but it's a little too easy for them to get preachy

Boring!

by Avidlisteners555 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I miss the original hosts, these hosts just read off a script and barely have any new information to add. I love Stuff you should know, and wish this podcast was more similar. This podcast needs new hosts!

Can't Get Enough!

by EMW623 on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ladies, keep it up, you're amazing. This is one of my favorite podcasts period. Top 2 for sure. Thanks for keeping it substance driven but with enough asides to keep things conversational (the guys over at SYSK should take notes - I want to like their podcast so bad but it's 80% chitchat 20% information - drives me nuts). The kookier stories are my favorite (butter vs margarine may be an all time fav) whatever you're doing - keep doing it and thank you!!!

Good content...

by mrsnashtyboy on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really wish they had more of a conversational style instead of just reading their notes. They don't try to conceal that they are reading. It just sounds like fast paced reading. It's really boring. Interesting, but boring. Some are saying they hate their voices. I think their voices wouldn't be so annoying if they were actually discussing the material in a conversational style like chuck and and josh do go stuff works instead of just reading a script.

Thoughtful, Respectful Hosts

by JasmineCetacean on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The current hosts (Holly and Tracey) are extremely thoughtful in all aspects of the show- how things are phrased, what influence historical context has on language or decisions, how to edit the narrative, variety of topics, respect for individuals involved, etc. They listen to their listeners and discuss corrections with regularity. They get as much pronunciation information as they can given that language is alive, always changing, and someone will ALWAYS yell at them no matter what they do. They have an immense passion, dedication, and respect, even for the people criticizing them whether fairly or unfairly. I have been impressed by their composure in in responses that frankly, for all my hyper empathy, I could never manage. I am pleasantly surprised to have my mind changed on topics or issues in ways I wouldn’t have expected and gained more insight into the ACTUAL history of minority issues that school never bothered with or outright misrepresented. A high quality bar of informal education content.

Hosts are very annoying

by Depthh on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

horrible nasal voices, too distracting to dogest the topics

Cool concept but the hosts don't appeal to me

by Rjf122247 on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I like other podcasts in this series, and I enjoy history... but. The inflection, the accents, and the voices of the hosts. I'm sorry, I know it's petty/unfair but I can't get past it. I also cringe when I hear about the silly gender debate - so this one is not for me.

Great content, poor hosts

by Kemoldenhauer on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I started out liking this a lot, learned a lot, never mind the annoying, nasal voices of the hosts.When they start pushing their political views tho, I'm done. So sick of being bombarded constantly with it. I'll listen to CNN if I want biased news..

Thank you from a Native Hawaiian

by Leimakana on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to only a few podcast and really enjoyed it but you guys have officially become one of my favorites. On your podcast about Japanese immigration you mentioned how the Hawaiian Monarchy was overthrown, thank you. Sometimes this one fact, can be lost in some taught History books. Again, Mahalo.

Great Podcast!

by Semperfi629 on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this for a couple years now and have gone through all the archived episodes. It's amazing how the show has changed from the beginning and you can tell how much Holly and Tracy love this and want to improve it. The topics they choose are wonderful and inspirational. They try to be unbiased which can be difficult, but they do a wonderful job. This is everything I was missing from my life!

Love it!

by DividedSky1017 on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

My go to during the work day!!

Please. We don't care about your opinions.

by Dannnn85585;33884369 on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Started listening in 2013 when I started college. So I never knew the old host. For the longest time I loved Holly and Tracy. I didn't mind their nasally voices or the fact that the sounded exactly the same. But when they started getting political with it is when I lost it. I listened because I wanted to learn about pure, unadulterated history. NPR style. Now, I'm going to have to listen to NPR because they have ruined it for me. If you want a show hosted by two white women focused on the history of slave revolts, feminist movements, artistic revolutions, and race riots. This is the show for you. But they only focus on a sliver of what I have missed in history class. I haven't seen a topic that focuses on ancient history, natural history, aviation/naval history or military history in the longest time. All they talk about are politics! Honestly, the best thing they do is ship wrecks.Long time listener is now long time gone. There is a reason Josh and Chuck from how stuff works will always be better. Bye forever.

Content is good..

by 2amhookup on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The voices and horrible production quality stopped me from listening anymore..

falls fall short

by Beulahboi on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The never ending ad breaks and giggles when nothing is funny is really too much to bear. The content is read like a book report and usually missing points of interest. I listen to podcasts while I work almost as background noise sometimes. I find this one so poorly hosted and produced it can't even do that. With all the ads I would think you would have a decent producer to make sure the audio is the same fro ads and the podcast, ads ar far louder in a lot of episodes. Most garage podcasts with no budget do a better job. I read reviews from the time there were other hosts doing this show and it seems to me there has been no imporvement.

Exhaustingly one dimensional. And maybe that's their goal.

by ChuckD85 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's just poor topic selection. I don't need to hear again about some disenfranchised person. Tell interesting stories about interesting people.

Awesome

by RobCath on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, one of my favorites

Good topics. Poor hosts.

by Kara D Smith 10 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I struggle to listen to the hosts, which is too bad because the topics they speak on are interesting. One of the hosts sounds like she is speaking with a mouth full of spit. I can hear her spitting as she talks into the microphone. It's really distracting. I feel bad saying that because they seem like nice people. It's just how they speak I find incredibly distracting. I end up quitting the podcast early because of how distracting it is.

I tried...

by Pretty much, not really! on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sorry guys, I really did try with this one because I'm an avid listener of how stuff works and others. I'm not impressed with the hosting style, doesn't seem to flow. I subscribed, listen to at least 15 episodes but can't do it. Every time I hear the adds on my other podcasts, I find myself 15 seconds into the future from skipping. Although very informative, I personally couldn't get past the fork and knife on an empty plate.

Ladies you're magnificent!!!!

by krtlongago on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely LOVE this podcast. Both hosts of this marvelous podcast are very enthusiastic about all things history. They draw you in and keep you entertained while speaking of things, people and events of our world's past. If you are fond of history then you are going to adore this podcast.

I tried.

by Timearthur on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I am sure in person the ladies that host this are nice, but as podcasters it is grueling to listen to them read.

Hysterical and Fascinating

by Gamine Jelly on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tracy and Holly are funny and informed. It's a joy listening to them bring new light to both fascinating historical tidbits and nearly forgotten events.

Technical issue - won't play

by WonderWomanSherrie on Jan 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After downloading several episodes, I cannot get any of them to play. Every other podcast I listen to works when I download episodes. I've removed and re-downloaded several times with no luck. I don't know if anyone else is having this issue but I'm not sure where else to submit this issue.

Great podcast

by aw2134 on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts.

Great podcast!

by Loveislost69543 on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not sure which podcast everyone else is listening to, but I like listening to Tracy and Hollie. They are sweet and funny and do a good job of picking things that make me want to do my own research later.

Great.

by Meg112184 on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love all the topics they cover. I love the 2 hosts. They are intelligent and witty.

It depends on which hosts...

by dutchofclass on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've listened to this podcast for many years, and there have been a great number of changes in the hosts. They're essentially all great and cover interesting topics. Except for Tracy and Holly. They are fiercely judgmental about historical actions and events. I agree there's a lot of really bad things, but it's not necessary to remind us every few sentences how awful something was. They take their personal commentary to an untenable extreme. I used to be listen to every episode regardless of topic but with these two I have to pick and choose an episode here or there because it's just not worth it. It's still hard to make it through the interesting topics, and I usually end up skipping the second half. I've listened to 2 episodes in the last year because I can't stand them. I'd pay a subscription for this podcast if they'd bring back absolutely any previous hosting pair.

AMAZING History Podcast

by ScrippsStudent17 on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the first podcast I ever listened to and it's so thoughtful, interesting, and important. Learning history and context is so important and I've loved learning with Holly and Tracy!

It's a shame...

by Ozmatic4 on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's a shame; I really enjoy the content of the podcast but not the podcaster's. Not at all.Otherwise it could've been a great program. Their voices are very nasally; at first I thought perhaps they had both come down with a cold and decided to do an episode anyway. This is just one of the history buff shows that I'm really excited about but I'm unsubscribing because I can only listen to about five minutes of their voices.

Constantly learning cool stuff

by love cali on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast is great!! I listen to it everyday on the way to class. I'm not a history major or anything like that but everything that is talked about is very interesting whether it relates to today's news or it's just something fun. Really awesome podcast and would definitely recommend.

Sexist haters

by LBisL8 on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast. It's fine. The sexist reviews of this podcast, however, are appalling. Stop hating women podcasters because of their voices. If you don't like how they sound then don't listen. Crawl back under your rock and keep your antiquated opinions to yourself.

So eye-opening

by gingcalgal on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a nice way to learn about things that I know nothing of. The hosts have a comfortable way of delivering history some of which is not nice. I also enjoy learning additional information on events I do know about or forgot! History class was a long time ago for me.

Great Information!

by Scotty Mc58 on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate the research that the team does for this show, and the willingness to go deeper than the 'white' washed version of history presented in the American text books; Thanks for going a long way to undoing the grave disservice.

My favorite podcast

by michaelwbonser on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been marathoning this podcast and I figured I needed to leave a review saying how much I love it.

History with life

by OnyxDragonKnight on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful hosts bring little known parts of history to life. Great series that I have listened to from episode 1. The topics are great, the banter brings in a bit of fun, and the research shows through in this serious work. It's like having a fun university professor.

Laugh and learn

by Berty54654 on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I frequently laugh at points in the podcasts. It makes a great option when at work or at home.

Worth a chance

by Lalarey on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

There are a lot of unfavorable reviews based on past hosts and it's unfortunate that maybe some people are not giving it a chance because of those reviews. That being said I don't listen to all episodes because it depends on the subject because I have difficulty following along if I'm not invested in wanting to learn about the subject. The hosts cram a lot of information into a half hour, so you have to be on your toes.

Great for the drive to and from work

by Sjjsday on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks!!

Yes! Yes! Yes!

by Apesies on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Throughly enjoy! Lots of information delivered in a manner that exhibits the hosts' devotion to truth in history! Thank you for hours of (non) book learnin'!!!

Love it

by Brian K Thomas on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just love it. The research, witty banter - Who knew history could be so fun?

My first Podcast

by MarieJeanette on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was my first podcast and it started my addiction. I enjoy every episode and love learning all these new things! Thanks gals!

Hard to understand

by misspahka on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I live in New England where people are known to speak quickly, the hosts on this talk so quickly that it sounds like an auctioneer. I can't understand or process what they are saying. Ladies, please slow. It. Down.