Average rating:

4
out of 12373 ratings.

Love it!

by Nobody Important Here on Jan 20, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to this forever! and I am finally getting around to writing reviews. This is one of my safe work podcasts. But anytime I go on a trip I love to look up the location in the archive and download and re-listen to podcasts about that area.

Engaging

by Ima Play R on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

The telling of the past by the hosts is done very well and keeps me engaged. Not every topic captures me the same but that doesn’t change how well the history is told. I particularly like how the telling is qualified when the research results in different or conflicting info.

Girls are too goofy

by zpic on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the subject matter but as a 69 year old woman - I find the giggling too annoying to listen to it It’s a shame as I do like most of the subjects - But there is lots to listen to on podcasts and YouTube without getting angry at their stupid comments

Love!!!!

by sfspaeth on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy are the BEST I love listening to these podcasts and I have for over 5 years... haven’t found one I like more than this

Topics

by mittensgotr on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Topics are a bit of hit or miss. Like the stories behind the history and not the monotonous dates, measurements, etc.

Enjoyable and Educational

by NadineHotflash on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my go-to podcasts. Fun, entertaining history tidbits. Highly recommended!

Fantastic podcast and enjoyable hosts

by Kpele_a on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fantastic show, and it’s so refreshing and enjoyable to have a woman-hosted history podcast, especially one that includes episodes about forgotten women in history.

Great Show

by lellingw on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Great hosts and great content. Very enjoyable. I love their history and think the hosts present it in the most illuminating way.

PC commentary much?

by The Real RugDog on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The bending over backwards efforts they make to use the very latest PC language and terminology is beyond annoying. This podcast has changed over the last few years. And for the far worse. Just share the history.

They forgot they had an audience

by TitoDC125 on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Lazily operated podcast, by two women whose gifts do not include oratory. They’re easily distracted, speed read through their content, and constantly make seemingly make inside jokes or randomly laugh content that is neither humorous nor interesting. If you’re interested in history and enjoy listening to podcasts, I would avoid like the plague

THE HOST!!!!!!!!!

by ZeldaPro122 on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

The host need to change!!! These POP girl need to change I’m getting annoyed because of the host!!!

Good podcast!!!

by Emmyp24 on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I actually like this podcast. It helps me get through my housework! And you learn something!

Easy History

by DesiRou on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a faithful listener for a long time and love all of the content. Easy concise history taught in a fun way!

Great podcast!

by Tricia CL on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to this podcast on and off for several years! The hosts are entertaining and the topics are well researched. Keep up the great work!

Love it

by Conspircy-cat1001 on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast so much keep up the good work

Great History Podcast

by ersmed on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is among my all time History Podcasts. I have several I use to catch the big History Events, then this gem for all the 'other' often equally important but way lesser known historical events. Example: Do you know about the Tulsa Riots in 1921? You should. Check this podcast out!

Mini lectures

by Stac... on Jan 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because the hosts talk to you. They have a plan, an outline, and they stick to it. These mini-lectures are so well planned and presented! I hate when it feels like I’m “listening in” or on the edge of the conversation between two hosts. This podcast has great topics and is easy to listen to.

Amazing podcast!

by Swimlover4life on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to Monday’s and Wednesday’s because of this podcast. Great topics, awesome hosts, and fantastic live shows. This podcast has it all!

I really like this podcast!

by SongSpirit7 on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I like that there are not too many “asides.” The speakers stick to the subject and it’s informative and interesting. I thought the other review is unfair.

I look forward to this weekly

by Topcat360 on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many interesting stories from history that I was never thought in school.

Love the show, appalled at reviews

by RH attorney at law on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a male and someone who hosted a podcast for 10 years I am always amazed at how female hosts suffer weirdly personal and petty criticism I don’t see leveled at male hosts. Shame on the sad trolls posting “they sound like sorority girls” or “I hate xxxxxxx’s voice” reviews. Keep up the great work, ignore the morons, and thanks!

Talkin crap

by johnny7567 on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These ppl don’t know crap u guys aren’t annoying and this is one of my favorite podcasts! Don’t listen to the uncultured swine on the reviews 👍🏾

Incomprehensible this podcast is produced

by Centurion.FL on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The hosts sound as though they're reading Wikipedia pages and their shrill voices make listening to the mundane info almost insufferable. About the worst podcast I've ever subjected myself to. Give this a miss!

Favorite for years

by o_krissa on Dec 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I’m constantly learning something new and relearning subjects from a new perspective. Thanks for the great podcast, Holly & Tracy!

Um, really?

by 1955SA on Dec 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Fantastic podcast but honestly, I was rather shocked at the mispronunciation of the word Maitre d’. Definitely dropped the intelligence level of the series down a notch or two!

Like it, depends on the topic

by Don from IL on Dec 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I scroll through the episodes and download the ones I like. When I download one that seems interesting, that almost always is the case. The hosts are pretty straightforward and academic and probably know that entertainment isn't really their thing - the information is what carries a given episode. Nothing wrong with that.

Love Stuff you missed

by ChantyShep on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always well researched. I love the wide variety of topics. I very much enjoy the hosts and love that they now are doing Live shows. Maybe someday they will come to a city near me!

Awesome Podcast!!!!

by History Fan88 on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is great if you like history. Good hosts and awesome topics like hitlers rise to power and the emu war.

Love the current hosts, and great writing

by JM northwest on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the fact-based story-telling. I do wish the topics were slightly more interesting so it kept me engaged, like less about particular people’s lives and more about interesting historical events). It used to be about interesting stuff more. I still LOVE these hosts and their writing though, it’s everything I want in a podcast!!The hosts are great and mostly tell the story, with a few ad lib things here and there (I LOVE how they don’t spend half the episode making unrelated jokes and talking about their personal lives, like their coworkers at Stuff You Should Know do...that podcast is at least half jokes and personal stories...I know more about Chuck and Josh and their partners Emily and Umi than I ever needed to know—they should learn from Stuff You Missed In History Class and stick to the story like these girls do!!).

Super informative and interesting!

by Inkscribble on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Interested in quick vignettes into historical events you may be unfamiliar with? This is the perfect podcast for you! Do not expect Hardcore History - if you’re looking for audiobook-masquerading-as-podcast, deep contextual dives into broad swathes of history, this isn’t what you’re looking for. HOWEVER, if you’re interested in a 30-45 minute, very well written info blast on people and very specific events you might not be familiar with, this is absolutely the podcast for you!Expect a decent amount of non-white, female, and queer history (although also be aware that your mind might be tricking you into thinking they’re covering more of it than they actually are, because if it’s not the kind of history you’re used to hearing, it’ll stick out to you), which makes a lot of sense, because the disenfranchised are the people whose history more often falls by the wayside.

Great Writing, Fab Hosts, Consistent & Engaging!

by Stubbyeb on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

History told in an accessible, thoughtful way—often like listening to an engaging story. I appreciate the show’s continued ability to address the more complex (and often less wildly known) historical moments. Love that each episode has show notes with citations (in the Holly/Tracy host-era), so you can see the sources. History is often subjective, and Holly & Tracy certainly strive to be as fact-based as one can be with topics/situations where facts can be hard to pin down. Been listening to this show for years and have been through the entire library with all variations of hosts. Learned a lot while also being entertained—DOUBLE WIN, Y’ALL!

Propaganda Alarm

by katlee666 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was unable to listen to this piece without being consumed by intense skepticism. Maybe I’m completely wrong. Maybe the reporting in this episode is as straightforward and unbiased. Maybe Amazon is good for NY and doubleplusgood for America. However, this article doesn’t sit right w/ my ol ears/gut. Feels a lil bit “bellyfeel”

My absolute favorite

by danixlo on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This has been one of my favorite podcasts for years now! I do a fair number of long drives, and this podcast makes me look forward to the drive instead of dreading it. The hosts are so engaging, and I have never had so much fun learning about history! I can’t say enough good things about this show. Every aspect is a success in my book!

Amazing!

by Tea91512 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts! Holly and Tracy do a fantastic job (as have the other hosts) and they have taught me about so many things I definitely missed in school. I recommend this podcast to everyone.

Love Love Love

by Lessers793 on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much. I am part way through listening back through the archive and it is so weird hearing the former hosts because I expect to hear Holly and Tracy. I love the topics and the live shows are so funny to listen to in podcast form. I recommend this podcast to literally everyone I know, thank you so much for what you do!!!

Five star!

by rebel-pilot-5 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The ladies of history class are terrific: their approachable, conversational lecture style makes them easy to listen along, and laugh, with. Their enthusiasm for the vast variety of historical topics they cover shines through in their voices.

Formerly great

by billbudd24 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Formerly my favorite podcast of things you didn’t learn in history class but were fascinating to a broad audience. Now a podcast of things you didn’t learn because the powers of intersectionalist victimhood Mumbo jumbo hadn’t yet taken over the humanities. Perhaps a great podcast if you ever wanted to know who the story of the first native trans lesbian blind paraplegic to jot down a half-paragraph or sing a song. Otherwise, absolute and utter garbage. It honestly has been painful to watch this podcast go this way over the years. An indictment of the state of academia and our country. Here’s hoping it (and we) return from the abyss. Until then I listen no more.

Great historical podcast and girl power!

by NotAnotherMisogynistReview on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this pod. My one critique would be that the topics might be growing a little stale—the earlier years were filled with really interesting topics and now I get excited less often. That being said, even when I listen to episodes that don’t at first THRILL me, I still learn a great deal and have a good time. I also find it incredibly sad and sexist that most of these bad reviews talk about these incredibly smart women’s voices, using the term “sorority girls” as an insult. As both an intellectual and a “sorority girl” please take a seat and maybe research the history of sexism in the media and scholarship!

Blah blah blah

by gethighdontDIE on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Stuff you missed in women’s rights class.

An absolute delight

by EmilyRoseMTM on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I struggled very hard to find a podcast I liked after finishing the one series I do enjoy. So finding this was an absolute blessing for my commute and work day. The hosts are lovely to listen to and choose amazing dynamic topic choices. I suggest it to all my friends! Thank you so much for the wonderful show!

Great array of topics

by RottenBerry on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You’ll reliably learn something new and the feature a really great array of topics—shipwrecks, newly unearthed finds, every day items we use, world leaders, inventors, literary minds—they’re all here.

Compelling and well researched!

by Jdecam on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a professor and I love assigning these podcasts to my students as a way of providing entertaining and comprehensive context in our class. Thank you for your work!For those of you attacking the hosts for their voices or lightheartedness, your misogyny is showing. There are so few history podcasts narrated by women, so maybe you are still recovering from the shock. Consider this your homework: Research the average rating of podcasts hosted by men vs. women. Read around the subject and, I’m sure upon this informed reflection, you will reconsider your post.

Learn something new every day!

by LCMontu on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this show everyday and I learn something every time! Even if I know a lot about the topic they are discussing, I learn SOMETHING I didn’t already know about the topic! Their topics are very diverse from BC to Modern times and even if you don’t think you will be interested in the subject they have chosen you will be.

addicting podcast for history nerds

by chromecast missing on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my absolute favorite podcast. i discovered it about 4 years ago and I went back and listened to all the archived episodes. The current hosts are my favorite, but perhaps its because I started with them. while the format is simple the shows are entertaing and informative.

Escoffier

by marketpop on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent...more of the same, thanks!

Random History Stories

by marisawallflower on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the podcast, host and topics. The topics sometimes feel very random and the endings never really feel complete. I still love to listen but usually at the end my mind is kind of like ????

Charming and informative

by Ggj1669 on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the casual and always light hearted manner of this program. It’s one of the few that is not vulgar, but at both times witty and educational. Incredibly wide variety of topics. An amazing amount of research must go into this. Bravo say I to all involved!

voice is just as important as material...

by Kaiser Soso on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I think the show is moving away from having hosts with pleasant speaking voices. Sarah and Deblina had great content on their show, and their voices were not intrusive. I also liked Jane when she was on the show. It seems like now that Sarah and Deblina are leaving, their seats are going to be filled by knowledgeable people who simply aren't cut out for podcasting (their voices aren't made for radio)

Interesting

by Jgi85 on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like hearing about some history that gets overlooked. These girls make it entertaining and informative. Their biases come through at times but they are not offensive about it. One of my favorite podcasts

Hosts are great

by rach7724 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Despite other reviews the hosts are great. Always pick interesting topics.