Average rating:

4
out of 5845 ratings.

Smart and fun!

by Jenna B PDX on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy and awesome! Unusual topics, great information, and entertaining presentation. One of my favorite podcasts.

Unknown Error Occurred (0x80090326)

by SteveWL on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love this podcast, but lately have been getting the following error message on iTunes v.12.7.0.166:"There was a problem downloading "Stuff You Missed in History Class." An unknown error occurred (0x80090326). Please check that the URL is correct and the connection to the network is active and try again."I have refreshed the podcast and also tried deleting and resubscribing but nothing works. Any suggestions?

Wonderful history stories

by turtle8888 on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel so lucky to have found this podcast! The historical information is fascinating and wide- ranging in topic areas. Whenever I don’t know what to listen to I can always find an episode here that will keep my interest.

The nasal voice just kills me

by The_J3nn on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is the first episode I've ever listened to "The Mysterious Disappearance of Theodosia Burr". But I have to say, the information is interesting, but the presentation was not great. I know they said they both had colds, but one of them sounded like she was pinching her nose and immitating Rosie O'Donnell. I would have rather had the other person present the whole thing. The second problem I had was that it seems like they've typed it all up and just are reciting it. The info is good, but the actual "performance" almost takes away from it. All in all, I'd still give it 4 stars, would have been 5 if not for the presentation.

Been hooked since day one!

by Sunset1374 on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can't believe how stupid I really am or how much I wasn't paying attention. Anyways love love love you guys and I'll keep listening.

Wonderful

by mmmmmrw on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast got me into podcasts! These ladies make history so enjoyable and relatable.

Tedious

by BonnieBonnet on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Skip the tedious cutesy banter. It is annoying ...

A good but not great podcast.

by Bro. Bill F on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I used to keep up with all the episodes but recently i have been falling behind. I like Memory Palice and Revisonist history bettre and there are only so many hours in a day to listgen.

Love the content, but......

by Bobotuff on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

When I scroll through the SYMHC topics I see so many that are interesting. But I don't actually listen because Holly Fry's voice is intolerable. It's really important to have a good voice if your medium is audio. Just can't get passed this.

Time well spent

by DrJCO on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Arguably the best podcast out there. Full of factual information and plenty of old episodes available to fill your spare time.

I Wish I Could Like This

by Brent Watson on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the How Stuff Works podcasts. I subscribe to just about all of them. For a short time, Stuff You Missed in History Class was one of them. I've since stopped, mostly because the hosts were so boring. They basically read a script. Occasionally, they try to go off script, but the banter is just plain awkward when they do. I think the hosts benefit from the powers that be at How Stuff Works think these negative reviews are written by sexists. Not true at all, for me at least. I love some podcasts hosted by women. The Presidential one from the Washington Post is just one example. The Stuff You Missed In History Class women just don't have what it takes. Hate to single out Holly Frye, but she's the worst. Together, the hosts have no chemistry. The rating for the show benefits from the high ones given to it over 9 years ago. That’s when the show was good.

I'm hooked!

by K Kurtz on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't get enough of this! Fun history presented by fab hostesses.

Do not miss this podcast!

by turkhaven on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Live the narrators. The topics are so interesting and thoroughly researched.

Love the topics

by melissamarie.s on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great variety!

Fantastic

by krmalan88 on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast more than life itself. I’ve been listening for over 4 years, and it never disappoints. If you love stories, history, or learning in general you’ll love this. Holly and Tracey are fantastic storytellers and make every episode fun and exciting. Keep up the good work!

Never fails to fascinate

by RobinChicago on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast series, ranging over a wide assortment of topics and times, always interesting, well-researched, and compelling. The narrators are great.

It used to be great

by hamTunes on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This is the podcast that got me into podcasts about 5 years ago. It really saddens me to say it, but the newest hosts have not retained the same quality as the earlier years (and I don't mean their voices, for me it's the number of unrelated tangents and lack of storytelling). I eventually unsubscribed and have been in search of a great history podcast ever since. I keep checking to see if they switch it up again, but until they do, I'm afraid it's now on my "no go" list.

So Good

by Swim frsda on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History is more than just wars and these reporters understand that. I have loved learning about trade routes, inventors, colors, queens, and just wacky stories. I also love the different perspectives that are highlighted. For example, they will often tell a story the way it is normally told, and then tell the other side, showing the hypocrisy, racism, or sexism in how the original story came about. Really great work here!

Wow

by DFish79isTheOne on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Some really great educational stories about some things that are definitely missed in class. Thank you for your research & compiling an enjoyable program.

Hosts are 1 star

by Dr Phil 69 on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The hosts ruin the podcast for me. Listened for a while but unsubscribed because they are so annoying. The theme of the podcast and some of the topics are great. The horrific quality of the voices and commentary was not reconcilable.

My favorite in the car

by Lrandall19 on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast! It’s the first one I ever listened to and while I’ve forgotten others this has been a constant. It’s informative, funny and factual. They make a point to only include things they can historically prove, not from opinion pieces. I learn something new each time and it always puts me in a better mood.

Like

by EAMinka on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always hate to read reviews discussing how they hate people’s voices. Honestly, that critique is one that you often see for podcasts with women hosts, and it’s really frustrating. They are women and have normal women voices. Just because you are used to only women with deep or smokey (read, more masculin) voices being allowed to be on the radio doesn’t make that right OR make other women’s voices “annoying”. Also, it’s strange to see people complaining about the commentary. I think every history podcast i’ve ever heard is about commentary and interpretation. Otherwise you could just read a bunch of dates over the air... Very exciting. I enjoy this show and the events it covers. If i want to know more about something, I can look into it in more depth, myself.

Fascinating topics, great hosts!

by Bradford on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this podcast a few months ago and can’t get enough. Thankfully there are hundreds of episodes available on an unimaginable range of history topics. One of my favorite podcasts!!

Both sides of the coin

by Babycakeslovesmitchys on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They do not give historical subjects greif for having opinions of their day. Interesting show and varies in topic, very good podcast

Great Information!

by Cherrypwnd on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love learning new things with these shows!

Interesting topics

by Den55f on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Sometimes the topics are a little obscure for me but I guess that is kinda the point. A good listen

October episodes are the bessst!

by Calamity West on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

October episodes are the bessst!

Meh

by Mel loomis on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I listen to it at night to help me fall asleep. I usually don’t listen to more than 10 minutes before I’m out cold. And yet I don’t feel like I’m missing anything by sleeping thru it.

Stuff you Missed in History Class

by Borgmom on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For a long time I wanted to write reviews for my favorite podcasts and I’m glad to take part in this format.I enjoy listening to the podcasts from this team. They seem well informed and they have a sense of humor. I’ve listened to tons of their back stories and it keeps me hooked in. Keep up the good work.

I so wanted to love this

by CRT1989 on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I absolutely love Stuff You Should Know, so when I found out there was one about history, I was stoked! I love history! Unfortunately, it doesn't measure up. Most of the topics they talk about are interesting and some of the information they use is interesting. The delivery? Awful. They are so monotone and say "like" way too much. It's literally like listening to someone read information off a page. No inflection. Find some new hosts and I'll listen again.

Great podcast!

by forestoforion on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this podcast on my way to school pretty much everyday. They post regularly and have great content. I see many people talk about the hosts and how they sound and I quote “like annoying sorority girls.” But I disagree they approach the subjects to be more digestible to common people and don’t make their topic sound like a boring history lecture. I recommended and have learned a lot since listening.

Topics are great, hosts are not

by Bsizz on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The topics on the show are things I'm genuinely interested in. Unfortunately the hosts take the interest right out of the topics. It sounds like unenthusiastic high school students reading aloud their B- report on a topic. It is very low energy and monotoned and ruins what could be an amazing podcast.

An Intriguing Trip Down History Lane

by Cftdillon on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts do a wonderful job of bringing to life many of history’s unknown stories.

Friendly history lesson

by lfullerton on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and listen to episodes as they are posted. The mood is friendly and also compassionate, while still unbiased and accurate. The hosts are wonderful and the short episodes are easily digestible.

The perfect history podcast

by Chlolololoo on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this amazing podcast. Great hosts and fascinating topics. Wonderful.

History I never would have heard about anywhere else

by CatetheKeesling on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very professional and informative podcast about overlooked corners of history. Very enjoyable and love the hosts!

Interesting

by WahooWa2011 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Most of the top reviews seem to be from 8/9 years ago, and I believe they've changed the hosts at least once since then. I always look forward to a new SYMIHC podcast, because I know I'm going to learn something!

Twirl all your haters.

by copperbl00m on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am grateful for your incredible work. You are feminist heroines. Don't stop.

Wonderful Podcast

by Robo19 on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for a well researched, interesting and humorous podcast. I appreciate the passion both of you bring to each subject, but mostly enjoy how you challenge your listeners with sometimes controversial tropics while not pandering to the lowest common denominator.

Wanted to enjoy

by Swordsncarrots on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Really wanted to enjoy this podcast because some of the topics covered arevery fascinating but most episodes are so rambly that it's hard to follow a coherent narrative. Holly and Tracy just don't have good voices for a podcast.

Excellent

by mamagreeny on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A very well researched and interesting podcast. The ladies are thorough, and even handed. They will inform you of the availability or scarcity of information on topics. Very entertaining. Never boring.

Great content & love the hosts!!

by HeatherS77 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excited when new episodes show up!! I'm a political science major so there have been several episodes that I've gone on to research more and write papers about.

The must listen to podcast

by stargazerlilley on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well-researched, humble, and eloquent. Tracey and Holly are the dynamic duo to take you through the context and stories of facts deemed unimportant to our modern education. Bravo ladies!

History refresher

by Kadotien on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast because they talk about stuff others won’t. Keep up the great work.

Achives

by Ssrshm on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I had been using the symhc feed starting in 2008...... very happy since it was a continuous feed during long car rides.... chronologically. I had done hundreds of episodes from 2008 to 2012. But now it is gone. Now I am always patching the episodes... very frustrating 😫

I wish there were new episodes every day!

by geminiskye on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tracy and Holly are so delightful! They make learning about events in history fun, engaging, and funny! Listening to them feels like sitting around enjoying a fascinating conversation with some friends. I am always excited to see a new episode in my queue.

a podcast staple

by airotciv39 on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tracy and Holly are so knowledgeable and well-spoken! And I love how they weave each topic into a story, without sacrificing accuracy.

SJW Libtards

by Cheesic23 on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I can’t get past the nasally mouth breathers voice. If you enjoy being beat down for not being politically correct or a liberal than this podcast is for you. If you want a good history podcast you will need to look somewhere else.

Love it

by Calestra on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so many interesting things that I must have missed in history class. I frequently drive long distances and this pod cast makes for an interesting companion.

Consistently excellent

by Monkey-Mad on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful, relatable, engaging hosts fill in the gaps in history with interesting stories of the events and people I'm happy I've learned about. I love it!