Average rating:

4
out of 4738 ratings.

Too chatty

by Caylin on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

To listen to this chatting style type of podcast you have to love the hosts. I don't!

Great Podcast

by Oh Lauren on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Although not all the history subjects picked have interested me, I very much enjoy listening anyway. Every time a former host leaves and they bring in a new one it does take time to get used to their new format. But you will get used to it and enjoy it. I'd highly recommend not putting too much weight on the negativity in some of these reviews, as most of them are needless and just a way for the reviewer to cast his/her hate under an alias. Miserable people love to make others miserable too.

Interesting but unbearable

by Legit panda104 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Some topics are great, but others are blatantly biased. If your truly interested in History I'd keep searching elsewhere, as the hosts are arrogant and would fit right in at UC Berkley

Part of my routine

by KevyKev3000 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because I always learn something new and am thoroughly entertained at the same time.

Wonderful Series

by Forward Walks on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this is a wonderful series of talks about historical subjects that are often overlooked. That in itself makes this an important contribution to the public. I enjoy the informality and friendliness of the talks. The relaxed atmosphere in no way diminishes the valuable historical contributions made by the hosts whose talks are thorough and well researched. The hosts list their sources and provide the historical context to frame their observations. Real history is challenging. These hosts deliver it with great style.

Love this pod cast!!!

by Poppy Corn on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are wonderful the topics enthraling! Thank you for a great pod cast

Love these ladies!

by Milljm on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Learned so much, their research & storytelling is so refreshing!

My go to podcast

by Iristhepurple on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. I have listened for years throughout several host changes I love them all.

Here's the thing

by WaywardRainbow on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like the hosts, genuinely. They feel like people it would be great to hang with. Problem is, both the audience and the hosts themselves are so worried about them being likeable that everything suffers. They sound self-conscious, and have overly scripted likely in response to criticism, and it's a spiral. I enjoy the topics and the effort of late, but I feel bad about the show overall.

Went down hill fast

by Acid rein on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This was once my favorite podcast , until it became a condescending platform for militant feminists pushing an anti male agenda.

My go-to podcast

by ebundri on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for years and absolutely love it. I have learned so much about so many different things! I have recommended this podcast to everyone I know.

Love this podcast!

by Don't end paper on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These ladies give me so much new knowledge to spread around the world :)

Mehhhh...

by mkgiab on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The topics discussed are so interesting to me, but the narration is off putting. Not to the fault of the narrators, the episodes sound very monotone and dull. I suggest Mike Duncan's the "History of Rome" and "Revolutions" if you are looking for fun, interesting history podcasts.

BORING!

by 4bakers on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the concept but honestly, these women sound like they are just taking turns reading from Wikipedia!

From an average white guy with love

by RomeoKilo125 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of people complain about how this podcast covers lots of history featuring women, people of color, and LGBT people. The name of the show is Stuff You MISSED in History Class. If you want a listing of the names and dates of rich white guys, go take history 101 at your local community college.

Generally great topics, but too political

by ginger179 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The topics are usually pretty good, but some podcasts are so political. This is very liberal, and that's coming from a Christian that is fairly discussed with Trump. I don't generally like people laughing at my beliefs and forcing things like LBGTQ rights. This should not be the place for this. History is history. And, history is best told without overwhelming biases towards modern controversial political topics. If they cleaned this up, it really could be amazing.

A must listen!

by Curlzluvcoffee on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History is delightful thanks to Holly and Tracy!

Just reading from a prompt?

by xanpx on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It feels like the hosts are just taking turns reading from a prompt with no prior knowledge of the topic.

Good enough

by Cleeeeeeeeeo on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is really good. The hosts are great and they do not have abrasive voices. That is, unless you are male and can't stand the sound of women speaking and shriek vocal fry at the top of your lungs whenever we do so you have a "valid" reason for not listening. Anyway, I don't subscribe because the ad breaks were a little too long and frequent and most topics are uninteresting to me. But I do download the ones that do interest me. Definitely give them a chance!

Unpretentious, always interesting.

by Lorima on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I end up enjoying it even if the topic initially seems unpromising.

Amateur execution

by dumpster babayy on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I tried to several times but cannot listen to this because having the two hosts trade off every two sentences reading from a script that sounds unnatural and forced. If they really need to read verbatim from written text, they should divide the sections into larger parts, not have two people reading one paragraph. Seriously, I don't understand why their producer (do they even have one?) thought this would be a good idea. They sound like middle school students doing a group presentation.

Good topics bad hosts

by Krauty 1234567 on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Always like the topics but the hosts are simply reading scripts, and not well. I listen to a lot of "Stuff" podcasts and this one has become their weakest

"Freshmen Read From Wikipedia: The Podcast"

by Juvo415 on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

- The co-hosts essentially recite facts without creating any compelling story. - They speak too quickly (the best podcast hosts speak a bit slower than conversational tempo but these girls motormouth it)- They make frequent reading mistakes- Even their sponsor reads are *terrible*- This might be nit-picky but their audio setup seems very substandard. Sounds like their using the native mic on an iPad.I tried three episodes during a long-haul car ride through some radio dead-space, and--honestly--I had to switch to silence. I learned *some* stuff, yes, but it was an unpleasant listening experience. Ripe opportunity for someone to take this idea and do it right.

Been a listener since the beginning

by A1davis on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've never missed an episode of Stuff You Missed in History Class. Such an informative, heart-felt podcast from Holly and Tracy V. Keep up the great work ladies!

Great content, meh hosts

by Violoki on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is a longtime favorite of mine but I'm eager for new hosts. Sarah and Deblina are missed. The current research is up to snuff but the hosts just don't have voices for radio, particularly Holly Frey. I don't want to be unkind but she's very nasal and just tough to listen to, honestly.

Used to love it....

by pielswife on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast used to be great, but lately it has become too political. Keep politics out of it, this podcast was not meant to be used as anyone's platform, it's for listeners to enjoy rich history.

The best hosts!

by Brevdala on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So personable and relatable, it feels like chatting with friends!

Great stories

by Bihlms on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Well researched

Can't believe..

by kylie ell kay on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

..that it took me this long to discover this podcast! In the past few months, I have listened from the beginning, and I am sadly nearly caught up. This podcast has kept my spirits up, my brain working while at a monotonous job, and reignited my passion for history. Thanks to Holly and Tracy, not to mention all the amazing past hosts!

One of my first shows, but I've moved on.

by girlkamikazi on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've been listening to this show for a long, long time, but recently unsubscribed. I got tired of listening to two hosts who sound like they're reading from scripts. I woudn't mind back-and-forth banter or even interjection of your own opinions if it sounded more free form. This is a professional production, but sounds like a robotic retelling of a Wikipedia page. There are way better shows out there, but this one works fine as a primer to begin doing your own research into topics that interest you.

Love it!

by Southern Ice on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always learn so much, and Holly and Tracy are so approachable.

I love this podcast!

by Harry vB on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent content, great hosts, and a fun variety of sponsors.Every podcast by howstuffworks seems to be water stamped by less than great audio quality. I think that if the audio got a bump better on all their podcasts, it would be nicer.But that's my tiny gripe. This show is amazing! LISTEN and you won't be disappointed.

Well done

by Gbone78 on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Well researched and interesting podcast.

Typical Liberal Scum

by Deeply Deplorable on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

These podcasts started off great, but each one you find a way to push your ideals onto listeners.

Some of this stuff I did learn in history class

by Gordon "Boom" Butts on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

But it's very enjoyable and informative podcast

More Topic Diversity, Less Politics and Preaching

by Andnownmywatchhasended12 on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be my favorite podcast. There would be some days at work where I would binge listen and love the variety of topics. The voices don't bother me at all; what finally made me stop listening to this was the hosts' political opinions overwhelming their topics. They no longer discuss topics from around the world but almost exclusively have been working on topics that they feel is related to the 2016 American election. I listened to this podcast to escape from reality and learn interesting things I would have otherwise never heard about, not to have politics shoved down my throat. Skip this one until HSW comes to their senses and replaces Tracy and Holly.

Like reading from a history book

by Newlyexpecting on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Could benefit from more discussion and less verbatim reading- history is already pretty boring and this format is hard to listen to

Too many sponsor breaks

by FuhQman on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the content and scripting and research. But can't stand the number of commercial breaks. Still 5 stars though. Just don't care for the adds in which they try to act like they like/love a product that they get for free. Blue apron is expensive!! Stop acting like it isn't.

Too Much Reading....

by Legoman12349 on Feb 25, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Good topics but so much of the show sounds like a college freshman reading a report. After a few episodes I was done.

Outstanding Podcast

by Teris817 on Feb 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tracy and Holly do an outstanding job researching and presenting information about people and events in history. Very entertaining!

Disappointed Historian

by brasilera92 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I'm a lover of all things historical and I love learning new things about history via podcast. However, in this podcast Holly and Tracy project their modern views onto their stories in a way that is disrespectful. It's like they are not aware of how imputing their opinion on historical event or judging their subjects from their comfortable seat in 2017 undermines their work.

Great listen for history lovers

by PangoTango on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The ladies are great and really get into the research behind the history they discuss. I always learn something new.

Love it!

by Nicole in Indiana on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast!! I love the hosts' banter & interesting stories!!!

Love it.

by Mama4jones on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hay ladies, I have been listening to you for a few weeks now and I can't get enough. Keep up the good work.

What's With the Ads?

by CamRamirez on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to listen to this podcast all the time, but I just can't anymore. The episodes aren't fun anymore. They kind of bring me down. I figured I'd go into the backlog and listen to the older ones that I like. Much to my surprise, they've gone in and retroactively put in ads! I understand that you have to pay the bills, but that seems to be a bit much. And it's not at the begining or the end. They actually cut off the hosts mid-word to put in an ad for SquareSpace or something. It happens more than once in an episode! I don't think I can subscribe anymore. Good luck I guess.

Aweful

by JeremyP3362 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I would compare the host to Ashley Judd and Madona. I don't think they deserve one star.

One of my favorites!

by A.Steines on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The first could of times I listed to this podcast I was indiferent to it, but I think I just picked shows that weren't all that interesting to me. I love the show now. I especially love that they cover typics about misrepresented or underrepresented people. I also love that they occasional do topics that seem odd and like there is nothing there to learn, but end up being really intersting. Some people on here complain that they sound nasaly, but anymore I find it enduring.

Love the show

by User 8443 on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Voices and laughing so annoying that it makes mewant to hit the mute button. Replace the hosts but keep them to do then research. Great info, annoying hosts.

One of my absolute faves

by Mrskedu on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

LOVE THIS PODCAST. I am addicted to it. Voices are great. Don't mind the nay-sayers. Some people just don't like women's voices being smart :-P

Good

by Leeannp71 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Variety of topics but it's a little too easy for them to get preachy