Average rating:

4
out of 10205 ratings.

Good BUT...

by mellymel0418 on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love listening to this podcast but hate when they put their liberal opinions in. I am neither liberal not conservative but I want to hear interesting FACTS, not your left wing opinion.

It’s been 4 years of delight!

by Vedastokes on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for 4 years on a weekly basis - and I love the hosts and the content dearly! It’s a bit of a PG experience but I find it delightful (one their favorite words) and educative - it’s pretty short about 44 mins or so per episode which is perfect for the commute and not too in depth that you feel lost. They chose really obscure topics sometimes that I love and they really never go in a set order of the episodes so one day I may be listening to 19th fashion and the next an ancient kingdom in Mali. They are fabulous and funny hosts and again - it’s a super well crafted show. It’s for history nerds!! And I am one so yay! Love it.

“Another Sponser break”

by Blabla46189363 on Jul 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Found it interesting, though not captivating, and there are many other podcasts with better ratios of good subject matter to sponsor breaks.

History done right

by The Lady of Misfotune on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An amazing podcast if you want to learn about all the stuff history class forgot or didn’t get around to than I have a podcast for you! The current podcast host holly and Tracy are amazing! They always do their absolute best on every single episode and if they make mistakes they admit it and are humble about it and will have a correction in one of the following episodes in the listener mail segment!

Thank you!

by VenturianTale is awsome on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate all you do, and very much enjoy the show!

Meh

by History liker on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Their SJW views hurt the podcast. I don’t care about the views you are trying to push onto me. I listen to podcasts to get away from all of the stupidity that is in the world, not to get more pushed onto me. The majority of the recent podcasts are about women. I don’t have a problem with that if you called the podcast “Women you missed in history class.” This podcast along with all of the “How stuff works” podcasts seem very formulaic. They use banter back and forth to fill the time slot. It’s too bad because if there really was a good podcast about stuff I missed in history class, I would listen every day.

Thank you Holly and Tracy!

by Lilgreensprout0714 on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That’s all I can say. Thank you for making my usual ridiculously mundane errand running into an exciting lesson in history whenever I get in the car! I would thank previous hosts, but I haven’t listened to any older episodes. Thank you to the previous hosts though for starting such an awesome podcast! Much love to al of you. 🧘‍♀️💜🙏🏻

Thank you

by 3dogmel on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have enjoyed listening for many years through numerous hosts. The discussion format yields differing perspectives on the same events. Also like show notes that provide reference to source material. Thank you for this window into the past.

Love it

by Batgirl_LB on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

"Love love love it!!!"I love learning new things and this podcast delivers! I love shocking people with knowledge!

Like listening to someone read a term paper

by Yet another David on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

These podcasts get tiresome really fast because it just sounds like somebody reading a term paper out loud in a community college class. It doesn't inspire confidence in the scholarship, and it's just not interesting listening, in spite of some of the titles. There are so much better podcasts out there where truly knowledgable people – scholars, even – discuss esoteric topics relating to history (e.g., BBC Radio 4's "In Our Time"), that I just don't have time or patience for this amateur act.

The lady who reviewed before me is crazy pants

by That'sMissJensen on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve procrastinated writing a review (even though I know that reviews are currency. Sorry, guys) because I just thought that, obviously, everybody who likes history likes this podcast. Looks like I was a little mistaken!Quick note for the record, the hosts have charming voices that are distinctive, not annoying. See crazy pants review before mine for context.More importantly, the hosts and producers clearly work hard to be comprehensive and neutral in all of the content they share—occasionally to an annoying degree that makes me feel bad about myself. As a grown social studies teacher, I’ve often found myself childishly muttering to my self—kicking a pebble and pouting or something—about how I find some action or person reported on incredibly stupid or awesome while the hosts remain about as neutral as a pair of reporters in a modern historical scope can be. They have a firm understanding of the fact that history is not a linear climb, and they offer commentary that supports that. Any personal bias that is on this show is clearly prefaced as an opinion or personal conviction and is never preachy or misleading. Finally, the content selected is occasionally random, but that’s why it wasn’t in history class. There is something valuable in every show I’ve listened to, even if the title didn’t catch my eye. I still have a sneaky suspicion (conspiracy theory?) that the minds behind all of the How Stuff Works shows do coordinate at least a little, as sometimes I find common threads and what feels like inspiration from one show to the next. That’s just a personally fun little egg hunt for me. Anyway, keep up the good work ladies! Don’t let crazy pants slow you down!

by women, for all

by quantumofsolace on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

that some feel the necessity to leave a negative review because of some imagined SJW bias tells you why you should love this podcast.

“How Brain washing and propaganda work”

by Luke@17 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

More accurately “ How Brain washing and propaganda work”But go ahead if you think they’re honestly trying to help you

Far-Left leaning "history" class.

by jobengals86 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This doesn't even deserve a full review, which is rare for me. The number 1 detractor are the voices of these women. The second detractor is how cherry-picked this history is - the majority of it DOES contain COOL facts, but they only fit under the perview of the word 'history' because it happened in the past. This is essentially a more chaotic, much less funny, much more left-leaning 'How Stuff Works' with *very* annoying hosts and their absolutely terrible history voices. TALK ABOUT THE STUFF THAT ACTUALLY MATTERS!! TALK ABOUT THE CONTROVERSIES WITHOUT PICKING A SIDE!! GIVE US ALL THE DETAILS OF EVERY SIDE OF ALL THE MOST AMAZING THINGS HAPPENED THROUGHOUT HISTORY!Nevermind, I'll just look elsewhere. Seriously though, to all my fellow podcasters - this show is, in my opinion, completely under mainstream doctrine and -it's 2018- so the truth is coming out; watch those history shows that actually make you shudder with disgust (from the history, not the hosts), think long and deep about how this fits into our archetypal human behavior cycles that have been stuck on repeat for 5,000-200,000+ years; don't listen to this drivel.

Enjoyable

by Laf03 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very solid and enjoyable show. Inevitably some topics don’t interest me, or are so obscure they seem hard to make a show of, but I like to leave them on in the background and I’m a fan of both the old and new shows.

Start from the beginning

by Nosnewse on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I LOVE the old episodes. Seriously, start at the beginning with episodes from 10+ years ago and you will LOVE it. As they moved forward, I feel like they have run out of interesting subjects and I have a hard time listening to their pressured conversation.

Boring delivery

by yoniyum on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast manages to make fascinating topics utterly boring because of the hosts’ delivery. It sounds like they are reading from a book report. The upspeak is annoying, too, but I was willing to look past that if the rest of the podcast was better.

I had to Google SJW!

by Chuffy's Mama on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I just read the review that didn’t like your attitude toward social justice. And I have to say that I think anybody who promotes social justice is just keen! Keep it up. Yours is the first podcast I ever accessed and I was kinda critical about some of your pronunciation and the giggling. HOWEVER, I keep listening. And now that I’ve listened to other podcasts I have to say you are the best! Topics are interesting and often things I’ve never heard of. Thank you.

Terrific Podcast

by MarioColumbus on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My all time favorite podcast. Thoughtful, well researched, and never simplistic. I wish my history classes were this interesting. Great hosts!

😝

by elizaschuyler65 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love you guys! Amazing podcast with interesting topics

Delivery is lacking

by Scoiattola on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was really looking forward to liking this podcast since I love learning about history. However, I couldn’t get past the way that the hosts sound like they are reading from a book. If I wanted that kind of delivery I would read a book or listen to an audiobook. Additionally, their sentences always end with a rising pitch intonation, which is a bit annoying.

Besties

by mrsjeng on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely adore Holli and Traci. Thank you both for a less boring commute!

Yay

by Lorink on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the history and topics!

My favorite history podcast.

by Lily81818 on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always enjoy listening to Tracy and Holly. They are sincere and fun. Their love of history is engaging and their topics are great.

Learn about the forget people of history

by K Wink on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The hosts do a great job researching topics that you might not have ever heard of, but that are (most likely) related to something you are familiar with. They seem to focus mainly on women, minorities, or other groups of people that aren't usually covered in text books or TV shows. This is an excellent resource to use if you are doing your own research project or if you just want to learn about how history unfolded for everyone else.

Excellent

by Capin_Crunchies on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm surprised by how many topics this show can cover in the over 10 years it's been running. Holly and Tracy are able to discuss a wide range of topics with excitement and empathy.

I ♥️ SYMHC

by hearttrees on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy are the best part of my long hours on the road as a traveling Hospice social worker. History buffs of all levels can jump right in and enjoy the meticulously researched show without introduction. My absolute favorite podcast!

Eww

by harry-potter-fan on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Eww

My favorite hustory podcast

by Elixa X on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

5/5 for the original hosts (Dublina, et al). Charismatic, informative, with the right touch of sensitivity for subjects regarding human oppression.4/5 for the current hosts, Holly and Tracy. This podcast continues to be Informative as hell, but I don't appreciate the frequent snowflake disclaimers about problematic events from history. History is not to be sanitized for the sensitive, and modern audiences have no business getting triggered over horrific events from the past if they're listening to a HISTORY podcast.

Great variety & fun hosts

by Lanawashere on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to the podcast during my commute & while working a tedious job & it really passes the time nicely. I’m always learning something new & appreciate the variety as well as the unbiased nature of the hosts. There are times when I totally would’ve thrown in an opinion but they never do. They are also very fair in their research & cover hard subjects honestly. I especially love how they handle tough subjects of race, gender & sexuality. The wide variety of subjects is also great, I’m always learning something new.

The best podcast

by LuxDivas on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes serious topics but mostly funny! And always entertaining! Even my kids listen when appropriate. Keep it coming!

Articulate well Researchered podcast

by Dml9f on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and have been listening for years. I find all the hosts take the research and the listener experience seriously. They use primary sources and concisely explain the history and limitations to the history on important issues. Our history is full of darkness and many stories will touch on experiences of racism, sexism, and brutality. I appreciate that the hosts do not cave to some listeners feedback to rewrite our history. In fact, they face the history of red-lining, lynching, disenfranchisement of voting and other civil rights issues head on. At the same time, they balance stories of atrocities with the lighter side of our humanity. Kudos all around. Keep it coming.

Love it

by 1987MWG on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The last review said meh feminism to which I say YAY FEMINISM. Also they cover all kinds of things often glossed over or skipped in school. Not just women. Also Tracy an Holly rock at making history fun and entertaining.

Meh. Feminism

by huey6154 on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you like a pinch of feminist in your history class this is the podcast for you.

Down to Earth and Fun

by Mimsmagpie on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I work a very tedious job and to help my day pass I listen to podcasts. I really enjoy stuff you missed in history class, the topics are varied and keep you interested! I also often find myself laughing out loud. Holly and Tracy are relatable and very earnest. I especially enjoyed the “popsicle wars” episode. Great Job!

Interesting topics and well presented

by Jvg74 on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have been listening to this podcast for a couple of months and have enjoyed it very much. Always learn something new on the subject being explored. Well presented which makes every topic enjoyable, regardless of your knowledge of the subject.

MY FAVORITE!

by Samantha.Kraw on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love SYMHC! I listen to at least one episode everyday! I’m 11 and my favorite thing to do is listen to this podcast while drawing on my iPad!

Your history teacher probably had no clue

by MoVal Likes Papa John on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stuff you and most history departments missed, but so friggin’ worth listening to!

Why are the producers ignoring these reviews?

by Cappuccinomama on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

They could have a great show if they would just get someone else to read the material into the microphone. The content is interesting. The script is well written. I can’t take the nasal voices any longer. Unsubscribing today.

5 stars

by GuitMoThis on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great variety of topics and stories, one of my favorites.

A good podcast

by Lord Tippy on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a podcast junkie who listens 50 to 60 hours a week while I work, I have given many podcasts a trial run. Most never last more than an episode or two. This one made the cut, and I actually look forward to new episodes.

I’d rather read an article

by JungianFantasy on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’d rather read an article than listen to these folks read to me. Their delivery is horrible. It sounds like a kid trying to read but add in some inflection. Stretching out a word here and there isn’t enough to make it NOT sound like they’re just reading a wiki article. I had high hopes for this one and gave it a few episodes due to subject matter but I can’t take it any longer.

Ehh

by Sto5 on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Information not accurate. Can’t get over the voices. Sounds like they are reading straight from a script. Just a little tip for them, study the subject before you decide to talk about it for half and hour.

Voices

by Pat in Oregon on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I am so sorry to say that the voice are too grating. That sounds undermines the subject matter and comment.

Unlistenable

by Llyod lover on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Cannot stand the screechy voices of these two. Horrible.

By far my favorite podcast!!!

by a person, not a bot on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, interesting and well presented. This podcast is definitely worth listening to. The old episodes are good but Holly and Tracy really take it to the next level. They do their best to give clear, fair facts in a story like format. This podcast sets the bar high for all the others. A must listen!!

Brutal.

by Kourtnotney on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

two read index cards about an enslaved man.

The learning

by K-ride 4902 on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It doesn’t stop!

Obsessed

by Sharrbarr on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast to listen to while I work. It’s fractionating and the narrators are awesome.

Amazing

by LeilaMaloney on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts I've ever listened to. These ladies are great!! Even the topics I don't think I'd enjoy, like NASCAR, I end up enjoying the podcast anyway. I highly recommend this podcast to everyone.