Average rating:

4
out of 4972 ratings.

Could have been great...

by miss ameowica on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was so excited when I found this podcast. As an English major with a huge interest in history, I so wanted a podcast that two people take historical events that rock and actually discuss them. Instead, I got the two hosts of Stuff You Missed In History Class, and I honestly can't listen past a certain year. I can't stand their reading, and I definitely can't stand their voices. I just really want them to sound like they know the info, and not reading from a textbook. Do better.

Lovely podcast

by Katy397 on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great podcast, with interesting subjects and amazing hosts.

Poorly done

by pharMARCacist on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Couldn't make it through one podcast. Their interpretation of medical research and methodology was embarrassing. They were grasping to push opinions on circumstances and scientific principles they did not understand.

Love the hosts!

by EmStec on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a longtime listener of this podcast and i love it more every year.

Review through the Years

by haliep on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've listened to this podcast on and off since 2009, and I've had preferred host combinations, and the current combination of Holly and Tracy is not my favorite. They're good together, but quite dry. Still, I love their enthusiasm when they touch on some of their favorite topics, particularly the Lucille Ball episode. That one really brought me back in, along with their refuting the claims that they were doing "too many" episodes about women. I listen to it regularly on my commute, and will continue to do so.

A Delight

by EIMS Super User on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Intelligent, inclusive, and diverse in topics. I highly recommend it for any history buff.

This podcast makes the most exciting moments in history seem boring.

by Robotturds on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Yea I want to hear female versions of Ben stein read.

Banter Boring

by Boy Veterinarian on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In reference to the Veterinary Podcast: You did a lot of research, thanks.However consider Googeling Polycythemia Vera. (Too much blood) Don't tell us how you organized the story or what you are going to say. Just get to the point.

Meh

by shougekinojp on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not as good as other history ones ive heard. I think the dollop has better historical topics because they are things that you can care about more n be interested in rather than the hit or miss this one is like

The absolute best podcast

by fennylin on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my absolute favorite podcast; the topics are interesting, the hosts are funny (I admit their voices take a little getting used to, but stick with it, it grows on you and soon their voices will give you so much delight), and I love learning about these forgotten or little known parts of history!!!

Great topics, crap hosts, and a million commercials.

by Atlasimpure on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I desperately wanted to like this podcast. The subjects are entertainingly original and the research is competent if not thorough. But the execution frequently struggle through the host's presentation. I might be able to struggle through that but the 90-120 second ads just happen 3 times per podcast are just excessive. This isn't prime time TV, it's a podcast, the time ratio is just excessive.

Please. We don't care about your opinions.

by Dannnn85585;33884369 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Started listening in 2013 when I started college. So I never knew the old host. For the longest time I loved Holly and Tracy. But when they started getting political with it is when I lost it. I listened because I wanted to learn about pure, unadulterated history. NPR style. Now, I'm going to have to listen to NPR because Holly and Tracey have ruined it for me. If you want a show hosted by two white women focused on the history of slave revolts, feminist movements, artistic revolutions, and race riots. This is the show for you. But they only focus on a sliver of what I have missed in history class. I haven't seen a topic that focuses on ancient history, natural history, sports history, aviation/naval history or military history in the longest time. All they talk about are politics! Honestly, the best thing they do is the ship wrecks. Long time listener is now long gone. There is a reason Josh and Chuck from how stuff works will always be better. Bye forever.

.

by Addicting butts on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Hurts my ears

Informative, clear and concise

by mjticc on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content

Interesting.

by Brooke2311 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love all the information this podcast gives me. I have always loved history, and these that go deeper into some subjects that have always been skipped over are great.

This podcast is a great cure for insomnia.

by Tommyb1218 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like to listen to podcasts at work and decided to give this podcast a shot. I literally could not keep my eyes open while trying to listen to this.

Great lessons about our past

by msh945 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love learning about all the history I don't know about. Love when Tracy and Holly laugh.

Great content

by pankajvk on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep it up!

Hosts Need to Go!!

by Londoneye1919 on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I checked this podcast out after hearing it plugged on SYSK. After listening to Josh and Chuck for the last few years, I expected the same high-quality programming. Boy, was I wrong! These women have excellent content to share, but their voices could not possibly be more annoying. One of them sounds like she's trying to be the new Fran Drescher, the other one sounds like she's reading nervously from her script. Certainly there must be other people employed by the company who can do this job. I think I would've really liked this podcast if the hosts' voices didn't make me want to jam sharp objects in my ears.

F**king Great Podcast

by Nerris121 on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! It's short, interesting, and packed with fun information. If other people are seriously leaving low reviews because of the tonality of a female's voice, you should probably get a life :)

two words: AUDIO ENGINEER

by EurekaMarijka on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

These 'Stuff' podcasts have been going on long enough that you should know how to balance the mics!!! One is loud, the other soft. EVERY. FREAKING. EPISODE. Turn the volume down, turn the volume up. EVERY. FREAKING. EPISODE. The content and hosts are somewhat entertaining, but not worth going through all this work. The other 'Stuff' show don't have this problem, so what's the deal? UNSUBBED

The hosts are awful

by Jay72110003 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's like they are basically reading Wikipedia! Cool concept but this cast is just awful. PASS!

Love!

by NorthsideFlowerImports on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Adore the hosts. Thanks!

Good Topics, Unlistenable Hosts

by Scarcelynormal on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the idea of this podcast but there is something about Holly and Tracy's voices that grind on my ears. It's not because they're women as I listen to many other women hosted shows but the pitch/tone I can't deal with. Also all the mouth noises like tsking and lip smacking drives me insane. I know the hosts can't control their voices but that's the reason I stopped listening. But if you don't mind mouth noises-these ladies are SUPER smart and know what they're talking about. I'm just VERY sensitive to sounds so I couldn't keep listening.

Excellent

by SaceyFace on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow. There's a weirdly huge amount of negative reviews, particularly about the hosts. I like it. I think it's an excellent podcast, and I always look forward to listening to new ones because they are consistently well researched, explained well, and enjoyable to listen to.

Interesting listen

by Tammyree on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the days when a new podcast is available. I've learned so much and wish it was longer!

Going downhill fast..

by KRC1983 on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to love this show; i binge-listened to 3+ years of episodes. However, over the past 8 months (do the math), it has gone downhill and is almost impossible to listen to. I have a stockpile of 15 episodes I haven't gotten to becuase instead of Stuff I Missed in History, it is non-stop political commentary disguised as history lessons. If they could stick to the facts and not project their political biases of how the world today should be on events that happened 100, 200, or 1000 years ago. If they went back to telling the story I'd be more inclined to listen again.

Below Average

by mrjohnjhedrick on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast does find some interesting topics that are not normally covered, but their research and scholarship is lacking. Most of the podcasts sound like a retelling of a Wikipedia entry. I think the authors complete minimal research compared to better history podcasts. The authors are also so biased by their liberal views, which clouds their opinions. The authors constantly place their 21st century liberal values to criticize historical figures out of the context of their times.

Great Podcast

by Nickname 1.5 on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast mostly for the hosts. They have great individual personalities and obviously do a lot of work into researching things. They get a lot of backlash for not having the voice listeners want them to have, but they just sound like normal ladies! These ladies put a ton of time and effort into their research and always try to be inclusive.

Sounds so scripted

by Jay Gerard on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So annoying that it sounds like recordings of the hosts voice that are mushed together to make a story. Some of the "stuff that you missed in history class" you missed for a reason. Im a history teacher and this stuff isnt taught because theres no historical context or significance that makes it to present day. Some topics are okay.

Thank you

by E Tx Music Student on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

New knowledge. New ideas. Enjoyable. Relaxing. What's not to love?!?!

Great Idea

by GIANTBOWSER on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Love the idea and topics but cannot stand the hosts. Nasally voices and just read off a script.

Dry but good info

by Shaydexter on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've tried to listen to this podcast multiple times. On the most recent attempt I stopped because it's hard to listen to. I feel like they're reading a textbook without inflection instead of storytelling. It's just like a stream of information which feels a little dry.

Love this show!

by Lmwf on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It has consistently remained one of my favorite podcasts for years. Keep up the good work!

Content OK; Narrators Grating

by CantBelieveWhatIHeard on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

That says it all.

Like content, trouble with hosts

by Ihilcomb on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have listened to the show for years. The content has been consistently interesting and engaging. Unfortunately, I have found the Tracy and Holly to have incredibly annoying vocal tones. They are both incredibly nasally. Not only do I have difficulty listening to the tone of their voices, the constant giggling, but most annoyingly is the overly enunciated French and foreign language pronunciations. These pronunciations are so exaggerated, it's incredibly annoying. Does not sound natural at all. I get the feeling the only ones they are satisfying with these of noxious pronunciations is themselves. I listen intermittently for the content but can rarely make it to the end given the annoying sound of the hosts. I have no idea why HSW supports two hosts who clearly have no vocal training to host this wonderful show. It is tragic and profoundly confusing

Was so excited. Then she talked.

by JoshuaBond on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the idea but holy cow couldn't get past her voice. So no.

This is so good

by ozzyboss25 on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think that sense they have a family friendly podcasts you also have to have it explained

Do not like

by HoustonNate on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Topics are good but the show is two women (who both have very annoying voices) READING copy. It is like a spoken Wikipedia page. They seriously just read stuff. Would be better with better hosts that DISCUSS topics rather than READ pre-written scripts.

I tried....those nasally voices tho!!

by tdenice on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ugh. The host's voices are SO unbelievable annoying!! I tried to get past it because the topics are so fun and interesting but it's impossible. Love the concept of the pod but they both just have the worst nasally voices it's hard to enjoy. I check back occasionally to see if they've replaced the hosts. When they do I will subscribe again...until then I'll stick to Radiolab and Stuff You Should Know.

Smug hosts ruin the show :(

by parkstech on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've been listening to this podcast for a little over a year. In the pasts, the hosts have been interesting, informative, and easy to listen to. The current hosts come off very smug and condescending. They do this thing where, instead of just being straight forward on a negative opinion, they speak like two rich people with wine glasses talking about poor people while attempting to not be offensive. For example, instead of just saying, "This person wasn't qualified to make that decision.", they'd slowly say, "Some may say... um... that he wasn't... necessarily the... best choice... for making such an decision..." It's petty, but annoying nonetheless and you'll notice it now. Again, I really liked the show, but the smugness of the hosts is too offputting to listen to :(

Had to unsubscribe...

by Buslvr on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting content. I disagree that the hosts sound like annoying sorority girls, but they do sound like they're just reading from a book. Other reviews are saying things like "stick to the facts," but to me it sounds like they are just reading a list of facts. I would resubscribe if they sounded like they were actually having a discussion like the Stuff You Should Know hosts.

Long knives

by AmZim71 on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

FYI from the Long Knives episode..Wanted to inform the hosts that dental X-rays are painful for the people who have the 'ridged' shapes in their palate. Not all mouths are the same... Those x ray bite things don't fit against the ridges. But no one has manufactured 'bites' that fit the ridged palate. That's why it's so uncomfortable and gaggy. The equipment doesn't fit. But they won't tell you that.. they just say, almost done! 😉

The voices

by Amazongurl1 on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The content is great but the voices I can't listen to. Sorry

Well written and fascinating

by alexthelady on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for telling history from research and not from storybooks.

Hard to listen to this

by Meehagen7 on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Good material. Bad delivery. Not a fan of the hosts

Pure garbage and that is coming from a liberal minded woman

by NewtoWho on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I hate to be harsh and I rarely write reviews, but in this case I will make an exception. I've been listening for years and unfortunately the podcast has gone downhill. Every single subject goes back to gender inequality and racism, rather then diving into historical details as would be more appropriate for a HISTORY podcast. We have enough political and social discussion in the news, I listen to history podcasts for fun and education maybe even relax a little, instead this podcast is focused on all the evil of history in every aspect they can. Sick of it. Unfollowed and good riddance.

Pretty bad

by Mikeemahboi on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Interesting subject matter. Very low recording quality. Poor narration. Nonsensical analysis.

Annoying political bias

by hectorama on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Super liberal and politically biased. They tend to push a sjw narrative that got annoying after a while. I liked it at first and even bought from the sponsors but it got too difficult to listen to. I'm done with it. I have a degree in history and history shouldn't be told from the view of a political stance. 👎🏽

Pretty good podcast

by Cool nooner on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoyed the podcasts well enough but they weren't too spectacular. They did tell me about some lesser known history facts which I enjoyed.