Average rating:

4
out of 5085 ratings.

Wonderful content

by Bpfrost on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to them talk about the topics. Some of it is stuff I know but a lot of it is new and interesting stuff. love it.

Great show

by Snyks21 on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always enjoy listening, great filler for my day to day routine. Great insight into small events that altered the world.

Couldn't even get through one episode

by Kelseyb123456 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The hosts voices are extremely hard to listen to and quite frankly, annoying.

Love

by caddyg on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love listening to this podcast. So well done and there is something very comforting about these ladies' voices.

Scripted and flat

by taylorll24 on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This isn't a podcast, it's two women reading facts off a sheet. No witty banter and mind numbingly dull. If you want people to listen longer than a minute, ditch the script and maybe have other people deliver your content. Ughhh.

Hosts are bad

by traffikhan on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

See title.

You Guys Rock... all my socks.

by Alicecait on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ok so I started listening to this podcast about 3 years ago and have finally made my way through the ENTIRE thing. I love the hosts and I think they are really tactful and humble. I love that they correct themselves in podcasts rather than just making side notes. I first started listen to distract me from my running and now listen to it at work. I have many customers who ask for there favorite episodes to play while they sit and drink there coffee. Even the topics that's are difficult to talk about are really fascinating. My personal favorites are the Alice Roosevelt podcast, the most recent one on Carrie Nation and any that are based on WWII.

Entertaining

by []firefly[] on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this to pass the time.

Delightful!

by musiclover098 on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was introduced to this podcast by my AP US History teacher and I've been a listener since! These ladies are so incredibly intelligent, articulate, and wonderful! I love history and this is such a great way to learn more.

Still one of my favorites!

by skelekatie on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to SYMIHC for years and it's remained an informative, unbiased, synopsis of people, places, and events in history and even sometimes recommending good books on the subject. I especially love how the hosts make sure to mention every theory that historians have on any unclear facts from the past. The style has changed somewhat with every set of new hosts but remains entertaining. I will admit that I wish Tracy and Holly could go back to Pop Stuff (I miss that pod) and that I've been a little bored with the subjects lately but I'll continue to listen of course.

Podcast interruptus

by Chachalawyer on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I used to enjoy these stories, but this podcast had too many commercials, which were too long. Buh bye.

irritating delivery but good topics!

by lovetko51 on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

not sure who green-lit these "hosts"! while we know it's impossible for a human to actually talk through their noses... these two are trying their hardest to do so! such a shame cause the premises/subjects are intriguing! both hosts are smart as whips but really... it's just so hard to get past the voices!

Garbage

by Your86 on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Too feminist for me, the podcast should be renamed women in history. I lost interest in the show after a noticing how they didn't touch on some key and important facts. Wouldn't recommend this anyone.

Wonderful hosts!

by Dcjomgrdc on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love having someone other than white guys talk about history. It's engaging with a lot of topic variety.

Love this

by lydaalexander on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, well researched, super informative :)

Love it all!

by Mcomommy on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love learning about history and this podcast is perfect for that. I think that the hosts are great and I re listen to my favorite episodes all the time :)

Just depends on the topic

by jarboIU on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

As a history buff I do find some of the topics interesting, but a lot of the things they pick, its like they are trying too hard to find stories about women in history and It feels like there are better stories out there they could've picked. When its good I really enjoy, but it's bad half the time. The hosts are pretty below average as well. Voices can get a bit grating and they are just not great storytellers.

Great podcast for history lovers

by LMSchnee on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Holly and Tracy are fun, genuine and knowledgeable about their subject matter - I always enjoy tuning in and always learn something new. Thanks for a great show!

Annoying Hosts Too Giggly

by Light me up bright on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If I actually listen to a show, I have to fast forward the first minute or two to get past the childish chitter chatter and annoying cackling before we get to the show. However the cackle is regular throughout the show so I have to endure it anyway. The show has little content and the host never fails to make a political statement, usually bringing up race, no matter what topic they're on. Can't we just stay on topic unless of course it IS a show on racial topics. I've been listening to these two less and less to the point my app stopped downloading episodes. Can we please replace these two with actual adults and maybe I'll start listening regularly again. Reading other reviews it's apparent I'm far from alone on these thoughts.

Gone down hill

by shoguntalon on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Current hosts seek to find some politically correct agenda. The story telling isn't that good. Waiting for them to shake things up with new hosts.

Love the dialogue

by Monkbmat on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love how the hosts discuss the subject matter at hand.

Tired of the Liberal Preaching

by LindaB23 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The goal appears to be to include every race, religion and gender but mine. Ladies are such good friends (or appear to be) that the cackling laughter has finally run me off. You might try some of the earlier episodes. They weren't as bad.

Love it!

by Ciao2112 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Holly and Tracy! I've listened to all of the hosts they've had from the beginning and they are probably my favorities. They really make the show fun and I've even enjoyed listening to podcasts on topics that I though I'd have no interest in. I also like that the show covers a wide variety of topics, types of people, and periods of history. I don't get the negative reviews - ok if it's not your thing, but I don't get the complaints about the hosts' voices especially. Not all women have high pitched, bubbly, gushing voices (I don't either), so get over it.

interesting!

by chubabubub on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this on the subway. Gets me through. Lots of good trivia facts. Love the hosts!

gimme, gimme, gimme gotta stop

by Land of Lincoln Listener on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like this podcast enough to steadily listen to it. Your voices aren't very polished (I really don't like it when Tracy B. Wilson slurps her saliva. Yeah, you do!) but they're folksey. What I am appalled by is your flagrant pan-handling for gifts from listeners. Some of your listeners might be very lonely people who think that you are their friends. Don't exploit this situation by praising them on air--a shameless ploy for listeners to send more gifts. Send these kind people a hand-written lovely note and explain that you are getting paid to do this work!

Hosts Voices

by enjoiToDestroy on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I started my first podcast two minutes ago, I'm now never listening to this podcast again. The hosts voices don't fit my expectations of easy listening. I did a dive into the reviews and it looks like this has been a common theme for years. You've personally lost a listener until a host change occurs.

I love history!

by MrsABenson on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and I love the current hosts. My husband and I just started listening to podcasts this spring so I branched out to find some in my own interests. I love history and I love how the show tends to talk about history that relates to what's going on in the news today. I have learned about so many events and people. Thank you guys for all you do!

I have no idea how this ranked so highly

by lazy_b on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

That's really all. It's just bad.

History for everyone

by Jedijames32 on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply amazing the best podcast ever for helping give us that cosmic view of human history and to see that even though we know history we don't always learn from history. The stories are fascinating and the hosts from years gone by right up to today are total professionals at work. Love love love it and never miss an episode.

Love the hosts & their take on history

by Breakingbeatles on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a long time listener to HowStuffWorks podcasts-mostly Stuff Mom Never Told You and Stuff to Blow Your Mind-and I've just recently gotten into this show and I love it! I especially appreciate Holly and Tracy's clear and stated goal to present more histories from women, queer poeple, and poeple of color (as well as more history from outside the United States). I not only love their outspoken dedicaiton to telling stories of underrepresented populations, but I also love that they give an interpretation of history and really contextulaize it. Anyway, I've actually gone back to listen to past hosts and found that they were lovely too and I like their episodes, but I really love what the show has become.

No idea what’s going on

by Annabelle877 on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love the idea of this podcast but I feel like the stories are so unstructured, halfway through I realize I have no idea what they are talking about. After finishing an episode I am no more knowledgable on the topic for having spent 30 minutes “learning” about it. I think they are terrible storytellers, they skip around and leave out fundamentals. Bummed!

Wonderful.

by Geoffery-Lynne on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is where my love of podcasts started. It will always be one of my favorites. I love the hosts. Thank you ladies.

Do yourself a favor.... Don't

by Willybob23 on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Hosts are excruciating. Both of these "historians" assaulted my ears with their questionable content, dry conversation, and irritating voices. Do yourself a favor and go listen to "stuff you should know" instead.

Good content but

by Qu33n4reals on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's weird that they constantly have a nose pinching and stilted reading contest *every* episode??

Interesting topics, annoying ad breaks

by jared_e42 on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This review is brought you by some company you don't care about and need to skip ahead. Friends, if you seek an in depth discussion of really any historical topic than move on. At best, they give a rough outline to an historical event that many people don't know anything about. But more after this word from our sponsors. As I was saying before the break, this podcast gives a rough overview- and not an in depth conversation. But that is fine- you can only fit so much in half an hour. And now a break for more ads. I haven't timed it, but it feels like half the time is spent doing ads instead of actual content. I can handle a few ads, but the near constant breaks severely disrupt but more about that after the break.

New hosts

by Sarah F. T. on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Apparently the originals weren't super great, but I enjoy the current hosts!

Fun History Discussion/Lesson!

by EBell94 on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to this show since the first episode came out, and while the show has changed I'm still a fan. While I haven't been the biggest fan of all the hosts, the current hosts (2017) are fun and delightful to listen to. They make history a little simpler and it feels like I'm listening to a cool conversation between friends, not a stiff or boring script. They cover so many topics, so there's something for everyone. Love this and totally recommend. Ps. If you discount the show cause you have problems with the voices of the hosts it must be because you speak perfectly, and probably never annoy anyone. In other words, chill, and back off of these fabulous ladies who work so hard and bring so many people endless happiness!Pps. Holly and Tracy, you guys are awesome! Don't listen to these stupid reviews because you guys are doing a great job and have lovely voices!

Love it

by Olivia Kinnear on Jul 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Holly and Tracy and their topics!!

❤️

by McNick814 on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You ladies are the best!! Love your topics and your intellects! Girl Power!

Interesting content, poor hosting

by The sufferer on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The historical content for every episode is really interesting and some great topics are covered from a wide range of historical events. The hosts let the show down however, no charisma, wooden, reading off a script, terrible. Maybe time for a change

Great variety and well researched

by IntheATL on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! I've learned so much.

Love listening to Holly and Tracey

by chrisden_7 on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's fun and informative my two favorite things

Educational and Fun!

by Cactus_Girl on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I went to public school in California so my history education was lacking. I'm so glad I found this podcast to fill in the gaps! The hosts are entertaining and provide well-researched overviews of topics that you may or may not have heard of before.

Disappointing

by ThinBlueRide on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's like listening to the valley girl version of NPR. So much potential in the content completely ruined by the hosts.

Could improve

by Erica Mayfield on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really do like banter, but I like it when it's funny. Not just 2 people laughing over nothing. My Favorite Murder is amazing for actual funny people that do their research (kind of, but they address it and make jokes). Maybe I went in with super high expectations, but I'm just disappointed. I kind of expected more from How Stuff Works. At least I'm not the only one that feels this way, most of the other reviews seem to agree

Enjoyable & Interesting

by SimplyBoo on Jul 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's a lighthearted & easy way to learn new things. Holly & Tracy are sweet, funny, humble & caring about the topics they present.

I love the topics, I can't stand their voices!!!

by BigMommy on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I find random facts about history fasinating and I do enjoy the subject matter of this podcast. However...these hosts have the driest, most boring, NPR , Delicous Dish style of speaking that is just annoying and ruins it. Ruins it! If they could get some other hosts for this podcast they could get 4 or 5 stars from me. UPDATE 7/2017 checked to see if they changed and Nope, not really. Every other review says the same thing. Their voices are nasal, annoying, and boring. They really would have a hit on their hands if they just changed the hosts

These ladies are awesome!

by DanaMT on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the topics, hosts, and overall presentation!

It’s Gone Downhill

by Willy724 on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love this podcast! If you start at the beginning, you just need to suffer through Candace for a while. She seems to be full of self-importance, and has a rather condescending way of speaking, but what really annoys me is her obvious political leanings coming through her podcasts. She also seems obsessed with her red hair (we don't care!). Katie also comes off as a bit of a know-it-all and has the same clipped speech (and a rather irritating penchant for asking people to buy her things), but the hosts get better. So, stick through the annoying ones, and you'll get to a fabulous podcast!Update: I’ve listened to this podcast religiously for years, but the past year I’ve found the subjects to be less interesting. There’s less fascinating world history, and more U.S. history that is tied to their political views. Also, Tracy sounds like she’s boring herself, not to mention the listeners. I’ve found this podcast to have become lackluster and uninteresting, which is too bad, because I really use to love this podcast.

Love it

by lynnbee123 on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always informative and entertaining.