Average rating:

4
out of 7586 ratings.

History lover but disappointed

by Disney T on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Found how stuff works about 2 weeks after they start. Both me and my wife are history degrees. I still listen every now and then but way to many commercials, and the hardcore liberal bias keeps rearing its head. annoying.

Editorialized ‘History’

by Justin O'Pinion on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Most of the time it’s enjoyable — until they destroy it with an opinion. If you like liberals that slant history to make white men look like tyrants, women look like they’ve been tortured since the beginning of time, and portray America as the land of the oppressed ... this is the show for you! The final straw was comparing the racist murderers of the 1898 Democratic Party in Wilmington, NC to the Republican Party of today. Say what? In 1898 there were over 100 black people KILLED IN THE STREETS!! Whatever .... I stopped listening.

Grand Guignol

by teedeeesse on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Omg, I couldn't even get through ONE episode without rolling my eyes as far as one can possibly roll them everytime the hosts pronounced Grand Guignol or any french phrase. They sounded insane. Not to mention zero charisma and intrigue in their voices. It felt like they were reading off a boring textbook. I had high hopes for this since I'm a huge fan of Stuff You Should Know. Ugh.

Best history podcast around

by Little SAR on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply said Holly and Tracy are awesome. SYMHC is the best history podcast around. The research is top notch, the content is engaging.

Highly interesting

by capecodtad on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great info and entertaining.

Needs Diversity & Better Research

by amp-see on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I *want* to listen to "here's something random and interesting" podcasts, but I'm so over podcasts that SOUND like they follow this equation:- two white dudes Googled a topic for 20 minutes, read a few articles and/or scanned the Wikipedia page- they don't think it's important to really talk about the topic beforehand- they put so little effort into the recording/editing process, that they actually sometimes ask the other a question and the answer is "Huh. I don't know." and they don't realize maybe they could use the pause button, research it, and then un-pause and answer it. Or cut the answer in during the editing process, etc.Every podcast in the "HowStuffWorks" line SOUNDS like it follows this equation, sometimes with a few variables - such as, they're not ALWAYS two white dudes - but none of the episodes I've listened to have ever pulled in an actual expert or demonstrated more thought critical thought about the topic than a brief Google search.

Awesome-sauce!!

by Papa baggins 3446 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutly love this podcast!! Love the unearthed episodes the best!

AMAZING

by Woowarrior on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very educational. The hosts are good and engaging. I learn a lot from this podcast. 😁

One of my favorite podcasts!!

by Tavia1983 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I already was a history enthusiast, but now you guys have found a way to make me love it even more!! Great job and keep up the work!!

Could be a lot better

by LeadenDirigible on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

My primary gripe with this podcast is that the hosts seem to merely regurgitate facts and events without really adding anything of value in terms of poignancy or deeper analysis. Like many others have mentioned, it feels like the hosts simply read the source material in front of a microphone and add in the occasional “That’s really interesting!”. They really seem to have a hard time developing themes, narrative, and a sense of the significance of the events. The overall production quality of this series leaves much to be desired as well. The recording quality isn’t that great, there’s a lack of sound design, and the accents of the presenters really wear the listener down. It’s unfortunate because a podcast like this could be so much more with a few tweaks here and there but unfortunately it seems rather half baked.

Really

by chwbca1 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m a history buff, but even I can’t listen to this. They’re basically reading wikis on cool facts.

Oh man, I love this podcast

by ESnyd_0805 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm certainly a history buff and was before arriving at this show, but the stories that are brought to life are just so fascinating and really enjoyable. This was the first podcast I ever listened to and I have never looked back. Thanks, SYMHC!

Great show

by ChsListener on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts do a great job. I highly recommend this podcast to anyone who enjoys history.

Just good history stuff

by Whammytap on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is very refreshing to find an informative, worthwhile podcast that isn't pushing some sort of political agenda. I can't emphasize that enough. Thank you!

Trump merchandise ads unfollowed bc of it

by wilard on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Can’t support anything connected to Trump unfollowed the podcast bc of it

This USED to be so good

by Jill Hurley on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I adored this podcast back in the day. I followed Josh from SYMIHC to SYSK. Katie and Sarah had the chance to be the Josh and Chuck of podcasting. This could’ve had a Stuff You Should Know level of success. I’m sad to see where it has ended up. The topics sound very interesting, but there’s no excitement from the hosts like there used to be. This podcast has had too much host turnover for me to continue listening.

I love this podcast!

by sharapizer on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts relay the story/history with the ease of listening to fun, knowledgeable, interesting friends. The research seems thorough. This is one of my ‘Must Listen’ podcasts.

My favorite podcast!

by G8rRid3r on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to Stuff You Missed in History Class for years and just realized (to my embarrassment) that I have never left a review for this amazing podcast. It's incredible. Interesting topics, fascinating discussions, well researched details, and the hosts are always so on point and professional in their discussions!!! They really research each topic, and will discuss why one theory on a specific detail likely holds more weight than another based on research and credible sources. They will admit that some topics are great topics but they won't do an episode if they don't have enough reliable sources to turn to. The delivery of each topic, each podcast, is impeccable. Love this podcast and I am excited every week to hear a new episode.Would I recommend this to a friend? I have, already, recommended this podcast to dozens of friends. If you're looking for a new podcast to listen to, this is the one. You'll love it!

Great show

by Pressman77 on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I have been listening to the podcasts for 3+ years. Love the show but there are a few subjects that I’m not interested in. I look forward to each new podcast.

Some facts rest through modern ideology

by JLS80085 on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The episodes I really looked forward to was the path to women’s suffrage. I listened to these episodes several times along with other episodes. While I learned something most was and editorial through modern values and not a subjective coverage of historical events that are not often taught. Preaching their views through history not teaching history we missed.

Love the podcast

by App star queen on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I hated history in school. Names dates and places I’d never see never meet and could care less about! However...these podcast make history my favorite class now. I’m 38 years old and out of school but I find myself listening to one and then digging deeper because I find it interesting. Not every podcast is interesting and keeps my focus...let’s face it some history is down right snooze worthy on matter what you do to it. But the ones on the women of ww2 was the first time I ever cared to know anything about a war. Never had I heard about women flying anything in the war or being spies...buildings planes yes but anything fun and exciting they left out of my history books. I also loved the one on Harriet Tubman! She was and amazing one line foot note in my history class which the podcast brought to living color and fleshed out. I would love to hear more about the life and times of other women and children and from an array of cultures and ethic backgrounds. The women of the Alamo. There was whites, black, native Americans and Mexicans who fought that last battle for Texas. I’d love to hear their stories. Over all they do a fantastic job from the first podcast in the archives to the one just posted I’ve listened to them all!Ps these are child friendly and the few that have iffy content for lil ears they forewarn you so you know head of time. Normal something like this episode mentions sexual assault we don’t go into gritty details but if you have younger podcasters or are sensitive to this topic you may want to skip this one or preview for children. I haven’t found any podcast that I would be uncomfortable listening to with 8+ year olds some that make mention of sexual assault or rape may cause a curious child to ask questions which depending on the child and situation may or may not be a good thing that’s why I say 8+ because that’s usually an age that the kids I’m around have that that particular talk and it’s nothing they would be curiously asking questions I’d be uncomfortable answering. So use your best judgement. Anyways hope that helps the parents and guardians of lil history buffs.

Reading off script much?

by Badgerbalm on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

While the content is interesting. I’m having a extremely hard time listening the girls read off a piece of paper. I wish it was a conversation between the girls like the podcast “Stuff You Should Know”

The greatest!

by jennay-nay on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is absolutely my FAVORITE podcast! I’m so glad that I started listening and have gotten my parents hooked on listening. Please Tracy and Holly, never stop, I love learning about these interesting history facts and stories.

Great show.

by Ilovecomics77 on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy listening to the podcast. Been a fan for a few years. Really enjoy any topic about the old west and ship wrecks. Def a cool podcast to listen to.

Never miss an episode!!

by Quilt magazine on Dec 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t get over all the stuff that never gets covered in a history class. Love learning about all this off the wall facts. Thanks girls

Love these ladies

by Lilozzzz on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Super interesting and highly addictive. Very charming hosts that address both famous people/events in history as well as obscure. Lots of women in history episodes. Progressive almost to a fault. Hosts prior to 2013 are different but just as lovely.

A joy to listen too

by Jackfish28 on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They present interesting facts in history that are often forgotten, glossed over, recorded incorrectly or ignored in an entertaining and uplifting way. They almost always brighten my day just a bit even when the topics are not very uplifting by their infectious laughter and positive attitudes. You can tell they truly enjoy what they are doing and are trying to make the show interesting and fun. High school history teachers should all make their students listen to at least one episode

Purveyors of Fun Facts

by Danconia* on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Y’all. Just listen to this podcast and trick your friends into thinking you’re smart. Then become President. Boom.

My favorite podcast

by kadius on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this podcast several years ago and at the time it was the first and only podcast I ever listened to. Fast forward a few years, a few degrees, a few jobs, and many many commutes, and I’m still a dedicated listener. Holly and Tracey have great rapport with each other and their commentary is insightful and humorous. I particularly appreciate how dedicated they are to representing a broad spectrum of stories from varying perspectives. I look forward to each new episode with great anticipation. Thank you for making this podcast!

Awesomesauce!

by ImThankful4U on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously, from the name to the actual content is so cool. Sit back relax, enlighting and very educational.

Addicted

by Dsb9210 on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who majored in History and got a masters in Art History I am addicted to this cast!!! Can’t get enough.

Awesome idea, less-than-stellar execution.

by mr. alternitive on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sounds like they’re reading facts off a cue card and not a lot of in-depth discussion happens. It would be cool to hear anecdotes and personal accounts that can’t be found on Wikipedia.

Two chicks talking - and talking

by Emacee1701 on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is idle chit-chat, not history. Stay on topic and stop trying to be cute or funny. The topics are interesting enough on their own.

It took a while …

by I'mOnARollaGay on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

But I’m hooked now that I’ve started listening. Nice Job!!

Topics are great, hosts are awful.

by Iser27391 on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This is so disappointing. The hosts are not very good at giving concise information and can't hold my attention. Part of it is the dialogue and part of it is just their voices. They lack real enthusiasm. It feels like two grade school girls reading a book report they wrote together. Which is too bad because they cover a range of interesting topics.

Just the right amount of story telling and facts

by Jmn33 on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great and the hosts don't take themselves too seriously. They are thoughful and provide the most important details while not boring you with long lists of endless dates. The podcasts are usually 45 minutes to an hour and go just into enough detail for you to understand everything but also enough that if you want to spend more time researching there's still tons you can learn.

Good stories, but boring to listed to...

by Anna from Ridge street on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wanted it to work wit me. But every time i gave it a try I ended up disappointed... The major problem is the way stories are narrated. It just feels exactly like “two ladies taking turns reading paragraphs from the paper”. Siri could have done the same. Boring and dead on arrival.

My favorite binge

by Karpathian on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I save these up for when I know I’ve got long stretches of uninterrupted time. A road trip favorite. These ladies deep exuberance is delightful. History is fun and they prove it.

Thank you again and again.

by Tinkerbellgirl75 on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You are so educational and inspiring. I find a as a woman, person of color , and history lover that I learn something new from you everyday. Educationally accurate and inspiring everyday ladies. Thank you.

Glad I discovered this podcast!

by Harold Wayne on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is funny! It has some really interesting facts, along with some well-placed humor. 😉

Correction Needed

by Ryangriffingeorge on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

In your “3 Women of the Reformation” episode you said that the East/West schism of the Catholic and Eastern Orthodox church occurred in 1509. That is incorrect, this happened in 1054. This was my fist time listening to the podcast, and I really liked it, except this was a pretty big error.

Must Listen

by Luinmirel on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast! I've loved learning history my whole life and absolutely love this show.

Used to be my favorite, no more

by Can't listen anymore..... on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This was my favorite podcast from when it started, but Holly and Tracy have driven me away. I have to agree with many other reviewers that they just read an outline, so it is not entertaining to listen to. Also, they insert their political views all the time and those views are reflected in the topic choices. I no longer enjoy the podcast. Wish I did because it used to be very interesteding and entertaining. Sorry ladies.

A Smart Commute

by qn_scheherazade on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these hosts, as well as previous hosting pairs. The length of the episodes fits well into my commute schedule and I appreciate the variety of topics and time frames. Keep up the good work!

Love these ladies!

by JHamrick on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They do great research and present it in a very entertaining way.

Eh

by WordsWorthlessness on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Wikipedia-esque

Hard to listen to.

by BoneheadMove on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There are so many better history podcasts out there. This has:-Poor Delivery-Not enough depth-Irritating hosts-Forced scripting

Annoying accent is distracting

by Hellosummer991 on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The annoying accent of Candace is pretty distracting. They could find someone that sounds less like a sorority girl.

Good

by happy housekeeper on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Like the show.. just wish the shows were longer.

Texas

by Boss78217 on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Extremely disappointed in the ladys not doing research on how to pronounce County names in Texas .