Average rating:

4.5
out of 11980 ratings.

Easy to learn

by fx newser on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoyable and funny. Educational. These guys are super interesting and seem genuinely friendly.

The best

by AlexVAE on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My fav by far. How Stuff Works podcasts are awesome!

amateurs pretending to be experts

by jesus9001 on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Winning concept, great topics (stuff I really should know), overshadowed by excessive banter and lack of expertise or professional experience by the hosts who would seemingly rather play eclectic teachers for the shows entirety than bring on experts in respective fields. Can't help but feel like I'm wasting my time trying to learn from two guys with no more credentials than myself that sound like they did a few days of internet research. Would love to see the hosts play a minimal role and learn from guest speakers who know what they're talking about.

The only podcast I'll listen to!

by Nonnss on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

SYSK is always entertaining and incredibly informative. I always thought I didn't have the patience for podcasts (and I still don't for any other top rated podcast), but Josh and Chuck keep the material moving along with tons of humor. The topics are substantial and well covered, and I always look forward to new episodes!

Too liberal

by Nvillat on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like the content and the banter between Chuck and Josh, but they twist a lot of the information to fit their views.

The best

by Moderate Unbiased News Seeker on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to these guys

Hilarious

by Magic Aimee on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to part of an episode at half the speed, absolutely hilarious, to me anyway.

Great show

by InfernoFox10 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show, but they need to reduce the off-topic banter

Love it!

by Petty_Muffin on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A must listen for me every week! I love Josh and Chuck, they always managed to get me interested in topics I have never thought about.

Josh and Chuck are great

by Meeples Schmeeples on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I will be honest, I wasn't sure at first. But, after a few episodes I'm totally hooked. The show Is fun, funny and informative. Keep up the good work, guys.

A Must Listen

by No Nickname 12345 on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down one of the best, and well produced podcasts on the web. So entertaining and informative, Josh and Chuck have it down. I have been listening for years and have never been disappointed.

One of the Best Out There

by Lbranstuder on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show single handedly brought me into the world of podcasting. Over the years it has continued to be a top notch show.

Focus

by Blobkidzarehererightnow on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Could these guys possibly get off topic any more?? You're listening, and following and into what you're about to learn, then they make a random joke and start talking about that for a minute. So when they get back on topic, you've kind of lost your focus. 😕

Perfect for the curious

by kynbri on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am someone who always wondered how things work. This is the perfect show for that!

Chuck and Josh keep me going

by Lil fan Eric on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to these two pretty much everyday. Love their conversations, banter, and the flow of each episode. Great to listen to on my commute

Great podcast

by Rachel. H. on Apr 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even as I've branched out and now listen to many podcasts.I always come back to these guys who introduced me to podcasts.No one explains ideas with as much laughs and personality as these guys do. Thank you Josh and Chuck.

The become a part of your family

by Deerfab on Apr 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

More than just a podcast. Josh and Chuck are like good friends that you want to hear from to get you through the week. I have been listening for years and I honestly feel like I know them both. It's apparent that they do their best to approach each topic with an open mind and do a terrific job of explaining even the most complicated subjects. In addition to that, they are genuinely good people. You can tell their hearts are in the right place. So rare these days for people in the public eye to be passionate and genuine. It's like therapy or what some people get out of church. Keep up the great work guys. Hope you come to Seattle soon.

Perfect for Morning Commute

by nwalski28 on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is just great. So easy to listen to. Informative and accurate in endless topics that are seemingly never ending! Keep the episodes coming!

Super casual

by Podcast123ASB on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

These guys are way too casual for me. They have discussed a couple topics I have a little real world knowledge/xp with and I felt like they had no idea what they were talking about. I appreciate the idea though.

Great podcast!!

by Jordan Buffalo on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Josh and Chuck are now like old friends to me. This podcast is conversationally styled and makes learning fun. The casual banter between the two hosts has kept learning interesting and reignited a passion for information I haven't know since many moons ago. I've been listening to this and other podcasts for years and SYSK never disappoints. The QC is dodgy at times with listener mail music that's too loud and sometimes there are edits that are too obvious.

Great show

by Bumsnout on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nuff said

Interesting topics if they'd research them or talk about them

by Listener_55 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Here's the show's construct. 1. Show opens with ad2. Hosts introduce themselves and (maybe) mention the topic of the episode3. Someone tells a joke4. Show goes on 10 minute tangent5. Break for ad6. Start discussing topic, usually forgetting to introduce pertinent background information until way too late7. Realize whatever they had said was probably wrong and say "oh well, we'll hear about it from the listeners if we are wrong anyway"8. Barely touch on the topic some more and then tell another inside joke - another 10 minute tangent 9. Break for another ad10. Close out show, pretending like they actually discussed the topic11. Final ad then fade outHonestly, I can't listen to this without getting annoyed that I've completely wasted my time. The last episode I listened to (about hibernation) had them spending 5 minutes talking about cover bands and Fleetwood Mac. I'd suggest the podcasts produced by NPR if you want something educational. One of my favorites is always Planet Money.

Awesome podcast

by Toolroxy on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show

Great podcast

by Kareshaba on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and not annoying to listen to.

Family bonding

by crackscan31 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My 13 year old son and I both enjoy this podcast. We listen separately but then compare notes and recommend episodes to each other.

Great podcast about science and the modern world

by E. Christ on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Title says it all. Great hosts, great topics and great insight into the topics and how they effect all of us.

So torn

by CurvyArtGoddess on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the topics and like the hosts, but they just go off topic too much. The show should be 30 minutes, it's just not edited well enough.

Dry as burnt toast

by notThatguyButTHATguy on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Dry as burnt toast

Insufferable hosts

by Rors22 on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Not the podcast for explaining technical or science related topics - very few episodes are devoted to those subjects. The hosts are painfully unfunny and have the charisma of an emasculated wombat, a creature which would still annihilate these overtly liberal pajama boys in a bar fight. They seem nice, but that also doesn't stop them from doing one sided political topics under the guise of teaching people things from a neutral standpoint. Case in point: after Trump got elected, their next podcast was 'how dictators work'. On one of the podcasts they read a listener email from a transgender person who asked them to switch their pronoun game up, to which the hosts responded very kindly, which they should have, profusely apologized and vowed to switch up their pronoun game. Didn't listen past that to see if they did - can't we just all listen to an explanation of glue or a black hole without getting offended or the hosts's political take? Do yourself a favor and just read the articles from the howstuffworks website.

2 boring guys read Wikipedia articles

by Remainelusive on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Boring

Yumming your yuk

by Small and humble on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a listener for 3 years now. I am finally writing a review because I just read some pretty nasty ones and Chuck and Josh deserve better than that. This is not a podcast to learn EVERYTHING about each subject. That's not the point. It's an introduction to topics that you should probably know at some point in your life. If you want a robot to read the encyclopedia to you then you can actually get your browser to do that instead, but if you want humor, charm, and dudes with insatiable curiosity then keep listening. Josh and Chuck are the first to admit when they are wrong. If you have a problem with their research then let them know! However, if you have a problem with their personality then I don't know what to do with you. If I could only listen to one Podcast it would be this one. I have even seen them live with my husband. When I was stationed away from my husband we would Skype and discuss each week's episode and we often say, "Josh said," or ,"Chuck said," as if we knew them IRL. Forever a listener! There is a reason why this podcast is always in the top 10. Give it a shot! Start out with an episode you don't know anything about. Operation Mincemeat is a great one!

Bland

by mtaxley on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The production is bland. Two guys talking about stuff with no structure or flow.

I wish they knew what they should know

by ida hennessey on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bad research, sloppy grammar, and immature banter. What more could you not like about this? There are much smarter people on podcasts than these clowns who got a great title for their podcast, but it lacks factual accuracy. Frat brothers in the dummies' fraternity could do better than this. Ugh.

Knowledge

by DawnzaLilla on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So many things I never knew. Thank you!

Google

by Fish724 on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Anyone can google information and spew it out to the masses without a grasp of actual usage or implementation. The google research is there but I would expect a podcast that informs people of how "things work," to have in depth knowledge of the topic. I guess the take away of this review should be: "extremely topical."

Based on secondary sources and sometimes inaccurate, but entertaining

by K2568 on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The hosts do not bring on experts in whatever topic they are discussing. They just use news articles relating to whatever topic is at hand. This is bad for the science episodes, like the one on hookworms. They were out of their depth there when they tried to go into the immunology. Their episode on tardigrades was much more accurate, and their shows on history are even better. History and discussions of society are where they really shine, as well as in more basic scientific material.

Please stay on topic

by ilike2learn on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting topics but way too much side banter and off-topic rambling. This detracts from the quality of the episodes.

MarLib

by Mad librarian on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Annoying. Especially the one abt pain killers. Who are these guys??

Soothing and fun

by Jgw;o) on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I often listen at night while drifting off to sleep because these guys are comfortable and comforting. Also, Chuck laughs like a chipmunk. Adorable. Many times, I listen again the next day, (stay awake the whole time) because the topic is so interesting.

Two Libertarian Dicks

by philosopher_queen on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Boring, self-important, ill-formed twits with a microphone.

Fascinating and fun!

by Bigmadfrog on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Josh and Chuck guide you through ALL kinds of topics and never fail to make it fun.

Was better before

by Dunnky on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the show. I loved it better a few years ago. It would be better if they would stop with trying not please everyone ant not hurt any ones feelings. They also need to stay away from politics and social science it's not something we need more of. If I wanted that I would listen to Stuff mom never told you.

Excellent for all but political topics

by DragonZen on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The bias is certainty there, but fortunately it is not too left when they cover political topics, it is best to supplement their knowledge with conservative sources as well to be aware of all the facts of the political topics discussed

Entertaining and informative!

by chocoholic<3 on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to Josh and Chuck on SYSK for years now and still find their banter extremely amusing and their content very informative. I love learning about a wide array of topics and am so impressed by how much they know about these topics with only a week or so to research them. Even though there may be a few times when they get the facts wrong, they're always quick to respond to their errors in the next podcast and humble enough to recognize their mistakes. A wonderful podcast that I'd highly recommend!

Awesome

by Simpsona202965 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best!!!

LOVE it

by E-catt on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best podcast out there I LOVE IT!!!!

One of my favorites!

by AustinLynn on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to podcasts simply because I couldn't afford all of the audiobooks I was buying a week to listen to at work. This is the one that started me on a podcast kick! Even if I see the title as something I don't care about, they inform me in a way that makes me super interested! I am full of fun facts to tell my coworkers now! Great job guys!

Love these guys

by Nickabbey on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job and thank you!

Great if you like uninformed, sophomoric banter

by Oblio88 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

At some point, this podcast may have been devoted to providing facts in an entertaining narrative form. The recent episodes I've listened to sounded like two slightly stoned dudes attempting to relate the gist of an article they read on the internet.

Great way to pass the time

by Dan123456789101112131415161718 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Josh & Chuck do a great show! They're easy to listen to, quite funny, and very informational. I feel like I know them just by listening in. They do have a lot of side conversations, but I think they're fun, even if they're off topic. I listen to josh & chuck whenever I walk to class and also when I take long drives. Awesome!