Average rating:

5
out of 492 ratings.

Superbly Provocative

by Jeff Hannah on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an avid podcast listener to over 50 different podcasts, as well as being a podcaster myself, the Unbelievable podcast has risen to become my #1 most favorite! Justin does a fantastic job of matching his guests, guiding the conversation, focusing on the core issues, asking illuminating questions, all while remaining balanced and respectful. Masterfully done!

Well-balanced podcast

by Restless Pilgrim on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re looking for high-quality podcast about religion, this is the podcast for you. Each week, a Christian and a non-Christian meet to discuss and debate some aspect of the Faith. The host, Justin Brierley, does a stellar job at remaining impartial, moderating the discussion to allow both sides to present their case.

Good potential, poor execution

by Hellsno1542 on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s a shame, the premise of this show is a great idea but I honestly find myself frustrated at most episodes after listening. Justin can’t seem to let the guest speakers talk long enough to get anywhere really good. He constantly interrupts to re-explain what the person has just finished stating and to break incessantly into advertisements which are almost always just annoying self-promotions for Justin. If Justin wants to self promote and talk so much, then he should shift the podcast to be a time of discussion for himself (like many podcasters do), which is fine if that’s the intended premise. But if the intent is to host guests and let them discuss...then let them discuss and stop interrupting.

Fantastic interviews with world class thinkers

by Glenn Packiam on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled onto this podcast because of the interview with Tom Wright and Tom Holland, and have since listened to more. Justin does a fantastic job finding thoughtful guests that sometimes go together like a good wine pairing and that other times have the potential to be a cage match. Yet each time he is able to facilitate a respectful dialogue that is utterly fascinating.

Conversations

by MagellanTheRed on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The ideas coming from scientists, scholars of religion, philosophers, and theologians involve abundant disagreement and conflict, that are made worse by Internet forums and are not helped by book tours.The Unbelievable podcast is an unexpected breath of fresh air in this environment. Each episode brings together people who hold opposing understandings, to pose and answer the tough questions which could be overlooked in other forums. Brierly is a remarkable moderator, bringing out both sides of the conversation fairly, even when his own point of view is known.As a Christian with a scientific education, I appreciate and enjoy the thoughtfulness of the questions and the variety of the answers expressed here.

Leading the way in civil discourse of life’s most pressing questions

by camlynn7 on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin (the host) does an excellent job of keeping the discussion both civil and on point. He is very good at synthesizing each point of view. The guests and topics are wide ranging and VERY relevant.

Annichka

by acaciavalkyrie on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I‘m still atheist but I really appreciate Jason‘s shows.

Great Podcast!

by TennisEd on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin is one of the best moderators out there. I like how he remains unbiased. This show is a must if you like great Christian debate.

My favorite podcast!

by Jaydoogie on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast! My favorite episodes are when Justin hosts two Christian scholars to debate theological issues. Sometimes the Christian and non-christian shows become a little redundant after listening to three or more episodes.

Quality Insight with style, humor, and knowledge!!

by Chad Nye on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Preset gives a truly unique insight into some of the most interesting topics and people. I love the Q and A at the beginning.....these are often the questions I have but never think to call in! Keep up the great interviews.

Tremendous food for thought

by jocfan1 on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic range of topics, guests are always well-prepared and respectable, and Justin's a tremendous host: good-humored, insightful, even-handed, and generally intent on getting to the heart of the issue at hand. Easily the most useful and diverse apologetics resource I've found. Keep it up!

I'm too dumb to listen to this

by Great Show but ...... on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Dumb American here. Half the podcasts are way over my head.

Love this podcast.

by Jaeltemple on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a recent subscriber and l've been enjoying working my way previous episodes.

Impressive

by Vandy3 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast covers a wide range of topics in philosophy, theology, science, religion, and more. It does so by employing dialogue and debate between some of the most impressive representatives of various viewpoints. The host does a great job moderating and directing the conversations too. I'm hooked.

Best Christian Debate Program

by BruceLeeRo on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Justin and all the debates

Civility in an uncivil world

by Org trail fro Avon on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin does an incredible job bringing top atheist and Christian thinkers to dive into the most important questions.

Perfect for Atheists

by jjfriede on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A true skeptic should be aware of the best arguments for and against theism. This show brings together intelligent christians and atheists in an environment that encourages the listener to think for themselves.

Best of the best

by John Lary Bob on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast! Justin does a masterful job of bringing interesting people together to talk about interesting topics in a very civil and intelligent way. I highly recommend it to believers and skeptics and everyone in between.

Brilliant

by FIXITFIXITFIXIT!!! on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievable? is by far my favorite podcast. Justin does an outstanding job of creating thoughtful dialogue that is both cordial and fair to both sides. He also presents this information in a way that is professional, scholarly, and yet very accessible to the general public. This program is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise polluted religious/political atmosphere. No matter where one falls on the faith spectrum, this is a much-needed program for everyone. Brilliant.

Regular Listener - Atheist

by McD4444 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thoroughly enjoy the content of this podcast. It's very insightful and respectful with some upbeat moments thrown in. Worth Subscribing to!

One of the best faith-related podcasts

by Matthew 9:38 on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just all-around great podcast. Very stimulating discussions and always worth a listen! It has greatly helped me on my faith journey.

Addictive!

by Rockin21Mom on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin is a skilled moderator and the shows and guests are, for the most part, a pleasure to listen to. This podcast has both challenged my faith and given me more confidence to defend it.

-Relevent-

by Katiebugglet on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is totally relevant and honest in its Q&A about Christianity. It grapples with tough questions and intelligent people on all sides. Highly recommended to anyone and every world view.

Good Concept But Could Be Better

by CCTakato on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the concept of the podcast and I enjoy the subjects they talk about every week but I alway feel frustrated by the obvious pro-evangelical bias. The show seems set up so to make the evangelical side look most favorably. The atheist guests are fine themselves but I often feel like they're being mismatched with the evangelical guest. Like one time they had a debate on the resurrection of Jesus between a theologian and a scientist. I'm sure the scientist knows a lot about his field and could make a good argument on a more science related subject but it was clear he didn't know anything about the history of Christianity or the finer points of Christian theology and was the wrong choice for the subject. It would have been better if they had an atheist scholar or someone more well versed on the bible than just a token scientist but that's how a lot of their debates go. I honestly find the debates between Christians to be more interesting to listen to. Again I like the concept and the show is professionally well made. I think Christians and maybe someone who's new to atheism would enjoy this podcast the most as it's a good introduction to the world of atheist/theist debates. But I feel like it would be a lot better if it was run from a more neutral perspective.

Listened for years-FANTASTIC

by BRYMMA on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You can't get this debate style informative interviewing anywhere else in christian media. They vary the guest so That you have representation from all beliefs.

Disappointed and turned off by it

by BradenLynch on Jan 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I could not even get through more than a few minutes of multiple podcasts. I heard stuff from the Christian apologists that were flat out wrong that made me turn it off.I applaud the effort to encourage dialog and exploration of topics, but when it contradicts the clear passages in the Bible, it is in error.Examples:1) On one podcast about evolution, the evolution proponent immediately rejected that there is an institutional bias and strong opposition to Intelligent Design. Look at the decades of evolution teaching and the fabrications lies, and distortions that are in the text books to see it. Just like AGW, the scientists are wedded to their ideology and are impervious to the facts and truth. Fail.2) On a podcast about the eternal punishment in Hell, the conditional position is nullified by numerous verses discussing the temporal duration (i.e. forever) of punishment and Jesus talks extensively about avoiding Hell because of the magnitude of the punishment. Okay, so that is the incorrecgt view. However, the defender of an eternal Hell started to make the argument that the Book of Revelations is full of symbolism and that if the passage in question does not comport with the interpretation of the contemporary readers we can dismiss it. Hello! The Bible is written for all ages and while there are time specific messages for certain audeinces, there are also dual meanings and other truths in the passages when read in context that are applicable today. Fail.Sorry, if in under a few minutes I hear poor biblical interpretation approaches I am going to dismiss the whole series immediately.

Great access to the cutting edge

by RAPrice on Dec 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to Unbelievable for 5+ years. This has to be one of the best avenues to access cutting edge discussion relevant to a thinking person’s faith. My son (MABS), a good friend (JD) and I (ThM) often discuss episodes, the guests strengths and weaknesses. We all tend to arrive at the devotional via the intellectual (historical, theological and philosophical). You serve up well-informed guests who can leave stuffy journal-speak aside as they converse with one another.

An Always Helpful Podcast

by kdave on Nov 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the only podcast I subscribe to that I listen to almost every day. The content is always helpful in one way or another and, even during the episodes where I am in total disagreement with what is being said, I find that the Lord is using those episodes too as a means for my sanctification. I appreciate what you do, Justin. God bless you in the years to come.

Maybe the most reasonable debate show on religious issues

by deetsjohn on Oct 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin brings the best out of the guests.

The Christian Dialogue Podcast

by Jon 24 25 on Oct 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievable is in a class of its own when it comes to addressing issues concerning the Christian faith. I have simply not been able to find another program that consistently invites top shelf guests, arguing from at a high level, and yet remain accessible to the average listener. The moderator, Justin Brierley, is an artist in keeping the conversations punchy and engaging. He always seems to ask the questions that are burning in my mind. Whether you are a committed Christian or an atheist, you will be bettered by subscribing.

Great discussion and moderator

by Made a son by Jesus Christ on Oct 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great discussion and informative... listen to every episode.

Refreshing

by Kevvvykevvv06 on Oct 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're interested in the questions being discussed on this show, it's worth listening no matter where you fall on the spectrum of belief. Aside from the occasional did guest who ruins the conversation, this show presents a healthy challenge to the beliefs of believers and unbelievers alike.

Intelligent and Thoughtful

by Lachicaraquel on Oct 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

This will make you think about things of depth. Honest, thoughtful, gracious dialogue about differences of faith and belief. I really enjoy it!

Best show for the best questions

by Bfrederic on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has the most well respected guests in every field and from every worldview. Justin always does a fantastic job of mediating, steering the conversation, and clearing up confusion. Have been a listener for a couple of years now, keep up the great work!

Don't be put off by the Christian radio label. Great discussion show!

by NormPDX on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is not a typical conservative Christian radio program. The host, Justin Brierley, masterfully moderates complex debates giving both sides a fair chance while keeping the discussion moving. Although the show focuses on Christian themes, it covers a wide-range topics that are of interest to non-Christians.

Great show. A must listen

by Pleasantly humbled on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a real and wonderful show where intelligent people engage in discussions about a wide range of topics and issues. It has influenced my thinking and UNDERSTANDING on both sides of almost all the discussions!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU !!!

The Highlight of My Week

by tarmical on Oct 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening to the show every week. It is full of very civil and polite discusions on all sorts of religous and philosophical matters. Usually these discussions are between a Christian and non-Christian, but there is also some inter Christian discussions as well. The show has done wonders for me. It caused me to think very seriously about what I belive and why I believe it. If you have ever considered the Christian story as a possibility you should give this show a listen. It has been a catalyst in life transfomation for me.

my first podcast 4 years ago

by jlee96735 on Oct 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

and still my favorite.

PTL 4 JB

by MizLissa17 on Oct 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast EVER. Justin manages to be inquisitive, thoughtful, intelligent, humble, unafraid, forward-thinking, encouraging, open-minded... I could go on! I have learned more from this podcast than I ever could on my own with no guideline. So grateful for you and your hard work and dedication Justin, I have said prayers of thanks for your unparalleled platform! I wish you visited the US more!

Highly intelligent conversation

by Searey Usly on Oct 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The conversations cover a wide range of issues related to whether Christianity can be taken seriously. Opposing perspectives are presented by smart thinkers who themselves often represent today's best current thinking on the topic being discussed. An extra bonus is how politely the debaters are with each other.

Makes me think and reflect

by StevoPortland on Oct 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy the Podcast's Justin. Just posted Multiverse show the fine-tuning with Luke and Max on my facebook for friends and family to leason to.

Great!

by Zjb190876 on Sep 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great show, I always learn something.

Sharpening

by bbomber88 on Aug 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Stumbled on it today and I have listened to a couple of podcasts already. Thought provoking, civilized discussions and it helped me sharpen my arguments.

Love it!

by meghanthewoods on Aug 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast. I only just started listening, but I really do enjoy the diversity of topics addressed, as well as the diversity of guests. I'm a former atheist turned Chrisitan, and it's interesting to hear all the old atheist arguments that used to be my own, within the context of actual debates. I just wish Justin wouldn't make so many 'mhm' and 'right' noises while the guests are speaking. It gets pretty annoying, but otherwise he is a great host!

We need more debate like this in America

by Gamecock2285 on May 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show welcomes debate between Christians, other religious folks, agnostics, and non-believers in a fair and balanced way. Justin doesn't take sides and it keeps the show honest. He represents a more reasonable and intelligent Christianity that is lacking in America.

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

by Scott Coons on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The program "Unbelievable?" recently proved to be everything I wanted in a podcast. Mr. Brierley is a great host. He brings an amazing balance of compassion, high-energy, knowledge, and passion for his audience. This show does a great job of exploring interesting topics that both support and challenge Christianity. Mr. Brierley goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcomed and respected.

At least one thumb up from an atheist

by TheREALDevilChef on Nov 15, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin Brierly is an outstanding host. He is extremely intelligent, fair-minded and excels at moderating discussions between people of opposing viewpoints. He is especially skilled at restating and clarifying a guest’s obscure or confusingly stated points, and does this even for a guest he obviously doesn’t agree with. He will also challenge guests he does agree with with tough questions which could undermine their argument. I think a lot of hosts could learn a thing or two from Justin. All in all, this show is refreshingly civilized, calm, engaging and intelligent.

A rare animal. A religious debate show that is fairly well balanced.

by TTKKane on Nov 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Its virtually impossible for either an atheist or religious made program to be balanced and fair to both sides. While very occasionally Justin shows his christian leanings moderating these debates (which is understandable!), he does a great job of giving both sides equal time, and guiding the debates rather than leading them in a pro-religious way.Kudos to him and the radio station for running this show! Highly recommended! (Oh and if you hadn't guessed it, yep I'm an atheist).

Love this show

by KFK101 on Nov 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really great show where serious discussions about the very nature of God are seriously undertaken. Keep up the good work. If the host would please stop saying “as it were” and "if you like” I might be able to listen the whole show through. Minor complaint in an otherwise excellent show.

Absolutely fantastic

by Tevotevo on Jul 27, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been looking for debates, debaters and conversations about the tough topics that go beyond the word games of a lot of apologia around. This show gives differing opinions a realfair shot and the conversational format of the debates are fantastic!!