Average rating:

5
out of 184 ratings.

Best of the best

by John Lary Bob on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast! Justin does a masterful job of bringing interesting people together to talk about interesting topics in a very civil and intelligent way. I highly recommend it to believers and skeptics and everyone in between.

Brilliant

by FIXITFIXITFIXIT!!! on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievable? is by far my favorite podcast. Justin does an outstanding job of creating thoughtful dialogue that is both cordial and fair to both sides. He also presents this information in a way that is professional, scholarly, and yet very accessible to the general public. This program is a breath of fresh air in an otherwise polluted religious/political atmosphere. No matter where one falls on the faith spectrum, this is a much-needed program for everyone. Brilliant.

Regular Listener - Atheist

by McD4444 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thoroughly enjoy the content of this podcast. It's very insightful and respectful with some upbeat moments thrown in. Worth Subscribing to!

One of the best faith-related podcasts

by Matthew 9:38 on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just all-around great podcast. Very stimulating discussions and always worth a listen! It has greatly helped me on my faith journey.

Addictive!

by Rockin21Mom on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin is a skilled moderator and the shows and guests are, for the most part, a pleasure to listen to. This podcast has both challenged my faith and given me more confidence to defend it.

-Relevent-

by Katiebugglet on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is totally relevant and honest in its Q&A about Christianity. It grapples with tough questions and intelligent people on all sides. Highly recommended to anyone and every world view.

Good Concept But Could Be Better

by CCTakato on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the concept of the podcast and I enjoy the subjects they talk about every week but I alway feel frustrated by the obvious pro-evangelical bias. The show seems set up so to make the evangelical side look most favorably. The atheist guests are fine themselves but I often feel like they're being mismatched with the evangelical guest. Like one time they had a debate on the resurrection of Jesus between a theologian and a scientist. I'm sure the scientist knows a lot about his field and could make a good argument on a more science related subject but it was clear he didn't know anything about the history of Christianity or the finer points of Christian theology and was the wrong choice for the subject. It would have been better if they had an atheist scholar or someone more well versed on the bible than just a token scientist but that's how a lot of their debates go. I honestly find the debates between Christians to be more interesting to listen to. Again I like the concept and the show is professionally well made. I think Christians and maybe someone who's new to atheism would enjoy this podcast the most as it's a good introduction to the world of atheist/theist debates. But I feel like it would be a lot better if it was run from a more neutral perspective.

Listened for years-FANTASTIC

by BRYMMA on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You can't get this debate style informative interviewing anywhere else in christian media. They vary the guest so That you have representation from all beliefs.

Disappointed and turned off by it

by BradenLynch on Jan 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I could not even get through more than a few minutes of multiple podcasts. I heard stuff from the Christian apologists that were flat out wrong that made me turn it off.I applaud the effort to encourage dialog and exploration of topics, but when it contradicts the clear passages in the Bible, it is in error.Examples:1) On one podcast about evolution, the evolution proponent immediately rejected that there is an institutional bias and strong opposition to Intelligent Design. Look at the decades of evolution teaching and the fabrications lies, and distortions that are in the text books to see it. Just like AGW, the scientists are wedded to their ideology and are impervious to the facts and truth. Fail.2) On a podcast about the eternal punishment in Hell, the conditional position is nullified by numerous verses discussing the temporal duration (i.e. forever) of punishment and Jesus talks extensively about avoiding Hell because of the magnitude of the punishment. Okay, so that is the incorrecgt view. However, the defender of an eternal Hell started to make the argument that the Book of Revelations is full of symbolism and that if the passage in question does not comport with the interpretation of the contemporary readers we can dismiss it. Hello! The Bible is written for all ages and while there are time specific messages for certain audeinces, there are also dual meanings and other truths in the passages when read in context that are applicable today. Fail.Sorry, if in under a few minutes I hear poor biblical interpretation approaches I am going to dismiss the whole series immediately.

Great access to the cutting edge

by RAPrice on Dec 03, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to Unbelievable for 5+ years. This has to be one of the best avenues to access cutting edge discussion relevant to a thinking person’s faith. My son (MABS), a good friend (JD) and I (ThM) often discuss episodes, the guests strengths and weaknesses. We all tend to arrive at the devotional via the intellectual (historical, theological and philosophical). You serve up well-informed guests who can leave stuffy journal-speak aside as they converse with one another.

An Always Helpful Podcast

by kdave on Nov 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the only podcast I subscribe to that I listen to almost every day. The content is always helpful in one way or another and, even during the episodes where I am in total disagreement with what is being said, I find that the Lord is using those episodes too as a means for my sanctification. I appreciate what you do, Justin. God bless you in the years to come.

Maybe the most reasonable debate show on religious issues

by deetsjohn on Oct 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin brings the best out of the guests.

The Christian Dialogue Podcast

by Jon 24 25 on Oct 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievable is in a class of its own when it comes to addressing issues concerning the Christian faith. I have simply not been able to find another program that consistently invites top shelf guests, arguing from at a high level, and yet remain accessible to the average listener. The moderator, Justin Brierley, is an artist in keeping the conversations punchy and engaging. He always seems to ask the questions that are burning in my mind. Whether you are a committed Christian or an atheist, you will be bettered by subscribing.

Great discussion and moderator

by Made a son by Jesus Christ on Oct 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great discussion and informative... listen to every episode.

Refreshing

by Kevvvykevvv06 on Oct 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're interested in the questions being discussed on this show, it's worth listening no matter where you fall on the spectrum of belief. Aside from the occasional did guest who ruins the conversation, this show presents a healthy challenge to the beliefs of believers and unbelievers alike.

Intelligent and Thoughtful

by Lachicaraquel on Oct 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

This will make you think about things of depth. Honest, thoughtful, gracious dialogue about differences of faith and belief. I really enjoy it!

Best show for the best questions

by Bfrederic on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has the most well respected guests in every field and from every worldview. Justin always does a fantastic job of mediating, steering the conversation, and clearing up confusion. Have been a listener for a couple of years now, keep up the great work!

Don't be put off by the Christian radio label. Great discussion show!

by NormPDX on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is not a typical conservative Christian radio program. The host, Justin Brierley, masterfully moderates complex debates giving both sides a fair chance while keeping the discussion moving. Although the show focuses on Christian themes, it covers a wide-range topics that are of interest to non-Christians.

Great show. A must listen

by Pleasantly humbled on Oct 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a real and wonderful show where intelligent people engage in discussions about a wide range of topics and issues. It has influenced my thinking and UNDERSTANDING on both sides of almost all the discussions!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU !!!

The Highlight of My Week

by tarmical on Oct 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening to the show every week. It is full of very civil and polite discusions on all sorts of religous and philosophical matters. Usually these discussions are between a Christian and non-Christian, but there is also some inter Christian discussions as well. The show has done wonders for me. It caused me to think very seriously about what I belive and why I believe it. If you have ever considered the Christian story as a possibility you should give this show a listen. It has been a catalyst in life transfomation for me.

my first podcast 4 years ago

by jlee96735 on Oct 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

and still my favorite.

PTL 4 JB

by MizLissa17 on Oct 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast EVER. Justin manages to be inquisitive, thoughtful, intelligent, humble, unafraid, forward-thinking, encouraging, open-minded... I could go on! I have learned more from this podcast than I ever could on my own with no guideline. So grateful for you and your hard work and dedication Justin, I have said prayers of thanks for your unparalleled platform! I wish you visited the US more!

Highly intelligent conversation

by Searey Usly on Oct 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The conversations cover a wide range of issues related to whether Christianity can be taken seriously. Opposing perspectives are presented by smart thinkers who themselves often represent today's best current thinking on the topic being discussed. An extra bonus is how politely the debaters are with each other.

Makes me think and reflect

by StevoPortland on Oct 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy the Podcast's Justin. Just posted Multiverse show the fine-tuning with Luke and Max on my facebook for friends and family to leason to.

Great!

by Zjb190876 on Sep 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great show, I always learn something.

Sharpening

by bbomber88 on Aug 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Stumbled on it today and I have listened to a couple of podcasts already. Thought provoking, civilized discussions and it helped me sharpen my arguments.

Love it!

by meghanthewoods on Aug 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast. I only just started listening, but I really do enjoy the diversity of topics addressed, as well as the diversity of guests. I'm a former atheist turned Chrisitan, and it's interesting to hear all the old atheist arguments that used to be my own, within the context of actual debates. I just wish Justin wouldn't make so many 'mhm' and 'right' noises while the guests are speaking. It gets pretty annoying, but otherwise he is a great host!

We need more debate like this in America

by Gamecock2285 on May 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This show welcomes debate between Christians, other religious folks, agnostics, and non-believers in a fair and balanced way. Justin doesn't take sides and it keeps the show honest. He represents a more reasonable and intelligent Christianity that is lacking in America.

It Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

by Scott Coons on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The program "Unbelievable?" recently proved to be everything I wanted in a podcast. Mr. Brierley is a great host. He brings an amazing balance of compassion, high-energy, knowledge, and passion for his audience. This show does a great job of exploring interesting topics that both support and challenge Christianity. Mr. Brierley goes out of his way to make his guests feel welcomed and respected.

At least one thumb up from an atheist

by TheREALDevilChef on Nov 15, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin Brierly is an outstanding host. He is extremely intelligent, fair-minded and excels at moderating discussions between people of opposing viewpoints. He is especially skilled at restating and clarifying a guest’s obscure or confusingly stated points, and does this even for a guest he obviously doesn’t agree with. He will also challenge guests he does agree with with tough questions which could undermine their argument. I think a lot of hosts could learn a thing or two from Justin. All in all, this show is refreshingly civilized, calm, engaging and intelligent.

A rare animal. A religious debate show that is fairly well balanced.

by TTKKane on Nov 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Its virtually impossible for either an atheist or religious made program to be balanced and fair to both sides. While very occasionally Justin shows his christian leanings moderating these debates (which is understandable!), he does a great job of giving both sides equal time, and guiding the debates rather than leading them in a pro-religious way.Kudos to him and the radio station for running this show! Highly recommended! (Oh and if you hadn't guessed it, yep I'm an atheist).

Love this show

by KFK101 on Nov 05, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really great show where serious discussions about the very nature of God are seriously undertaken. Keep up the good work. If the host would please stop saying “as it were” and "if you like” I might be able to listen the whole show through. Minor complaint in an otherwise excellent show.

Absolutely fantastic

by Tevotevo on Jul 27, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been looking for debates, debaters and conversations about the tough topics that go beyond the word games of a lot of apologia around. This show gives differing opinions a realfair shot and the conversational format of the debates are fantastic!!

Fantastic!

by 16violets on May 01, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

No shouting or interrupting, rather, listening and seeking to understand each other. So different from what we experience in the U.S.. This show truly models Christian love, respect, clear thinking and emotional maturity. Thank you, Justin!

A can't miss

by HuberRx on Nov 16, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I impatiently wait each week for new episodes. Always impressed by the quests Justin gets for the show, there are a lot of heavy hitters (rarely, tho sometimes, there is a poor matching of guests, but that is just gonna happen sometimes). I've learned much from this podcast and look forward to what the future brings.

something americans can’t do

by Izzy cool on Nov 13, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Justin Brierley demonstrates how to have a fair and civil disagreement between denominations, across the conservative to liberal divide, between religions, and with atheists. He is such a good moderator you forget which side he is on.

Thoughtful, Intelligent Discussions

by Philip Heard on Aug 08, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing show that covers a wide range of topics involving religion, atheism, science, philosophy, etc. The archive is rich with all sorts of fascinating topics. Justin Brierley, the host and moderator, does an outstanding job and really takes pains to be fair minded.

Unbelievably Good

by rahmoeller22 on Jul 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Diverse subjects, top-notch debaters, and an amazing moderator make this podcast amazing!

Casual Approach

by Plainsmen on May 20, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy their sometimes caudal approach that mixes an in-depth knowledge of the information around the conspiracy they are discussing, with a healthy dose of "don't take yourself too seriously".

Great show for Theist and Atheist

by Didgya on Mar 23, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job Justin, first of all. He is honest about his belief but fair with all guest. Nice job of matching up dissenting views and having honest disscussions.

Courageous podcast. Great for Christians and Atheists

by yes_hua on Dec 27, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an atheist and I do find that the show leans toward Christianity (at least its listenership). However the guests are, as often as possible, the leading thinkers from whichever side is debating, which is usually a Christian versus and atheist. That means you don't get a leading apologist against a proxy invited to fail (not so sure about the 'Grill a Christian' segments though). For the most part the discussions stay on point and don't devolve into sophistry and personal attacks. Justin does a great job of moderating and bringing out the best arguments from both sides. And the courage to take on the topics he does and give opposing sides their time is a benefit to all listeners. I think this show is a great listen for anyone who wants to think through all aspects of their belief or lack thereof. Thanks Justin.

awesome

by khjbjb on Nov 16, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

awesome

Great, well informed debates

by RaterRay on Aug 23, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Great informed debates between Christians and non-Christians without animosity. I appreciate the tone Justin sets and how he keeps each conversation well balanced and fair.

Friendly US atheist loves this show!

by Pdxfullerton on Aug 12, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to a handful of shows so far and I really love the way it's set up. This is far better than the standard debate platform.. I feel all sides have a chance to be heard and to speak here. Great work. Keep it up.

Believe it... great podcast

by Troublewit on Jul 26, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Consistently thought-provoking discussions moderated on an even keel. Thanks Justin.

I love the tone and respectfulness with which the guests and host treat each other!

by brow1068 on Jun 03, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome show!

Really Really Good

by Steven Swaim on May 11, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

As a blogger I am constantly looking for sources that inform by giving both points of view. Even though I already have a stated worldview at Be Devoted Ministries I still like to hear what other scholars and those I might disagree with have to say. I like the format and the way Justin handles the topics as well as his guests. Those of us from the great state of Texas really enjoy hearing Justin.

"Unbelievable" Supposed To Be Ironic, Not Literal

by Codswallop on Apr 27, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was hoping to find a podcast with which I could really engage, that would challenge my current thinking on the subject of belief in gods. I listened to several episodes, including those purporting to be debates between theists and non-theists, "Ask a Christian," and so on. Questions to the believers are softballs that anyone can hit. (Are these people even aware of the more serious objections to Christian ideas?) All the believers' answers are just variations on the same tired old pat responses you can get from anyone, and the alleged non-theists were intellectual weaklings who asked the wrong questions and seemed perfectly satisfied with canned Christian-speak replies. In fact, the non-believers appear not to have thought very deeply at all about the questions they we raising. One might be forgiven for imagining these were in fact actors portraying atheists.I'm sure believers will find this show comforting, but insofar as the content purports to challenge nonbelief, it fails.

I have a very unique belief system

by Jkgfun on Mar 12, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

So I don't have a conventional belief system. I don't fit into atheism or theism, but this podcast is so balanced and insightful that if you contemplate about eternal questions,no matter what your beliefs are, this podcast will speak to you!

Good to hear thinking Christians

by Grammar Merchant on Feb 05, 2013
Rating: ★★★★☆

As an atheist living in the U.S., I appreciate Unbelievable? as the kind of show I would like to see take root in American soil. (Note: On those occasions when the show features William Lane Craig, I find myself ignoring or scrubbing quickly through the 'casts for lack of interest. I have no time to waste on Craig's tiresome self-promotion.) On balance, it's a thoughtful show that features thinking Christians, and which showcases the kind of biblical literacy I rarely encounter outside of atheist circles. As someone who has read (and enjoyed) the Bible, I appreciate anyone who can speak on the Bible from a critical perspective, whether Christian, Jewish, or atheist.