Average rating:

4.5
out of 138 ratings.

Thought provoking

by cookiemonster_sl on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First, I have to give my perspective. I’m a lost soul who disconnected from a “church” I never felt close to. I searched for analytical proof myself, albeit sporadic and not very dedicated. I have recently had some life changing events and decided it was Time to revisit my questions. “Full disclosure” I have listened to 20 or so podcasts over the last few weeks. So my review is limited. But I must add that there are noticeable trends in Jim’s approach to apologetics. First, it is obviously biased. Jim is arguing a point and I appreciate his stance as I hope anyone listening to this would be open too. That being said, he is a self professed previously atheist. It gives him a relatable twist on his apologetic approach. I love his historical/fact based testimony often involving antiquity. He seems to be systematically breaking down, what he believes, are falsities. All are backed up with evidence that he believes to be true. What is truth? That is a question I once heard josh McDowell ask. I would love to have Jim and josh in a locked room with the most devout and educated atheist and hear their discussion of Christianity. Tangent. Sorry. Anyway, if you are looking for someone to challenge your beliefs, strengthen your resolve, and educate you historically along the way, this podcast is for you. Whichever side of the fence you sit on. Ultimately if you believe Christianity is true or not, if you don’t answer the questions you have ( and if you don’t have questions then your just being ignorant) this podcast will challenge you In Ways that is healthy and righteous.Thanks Jim for offering up the time and effort that you have put forth to help others answer the questions that drive all of us.

Evidence not speculation

by Gabeskypala on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen. Take note. Dig into the evidence for yourself instead of taking a biased stab at the content from ignorance and prejudice.

James is a genius!

by Mandy040404 on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just wanna say that I have learned so much from you and your books. I have them all I think lol My little sister (she’s 32 now) is a proclaimed atheist. Her reasoning was: “It just doesn’t make sense.” I am learning your techniques to help her see that it does make sense and hopefully, if it’s God’s will, I can lead her to Him. Thank you for equipping me with the invaluable tools that I need. God Bless You!

When the Bible doesn't fit the evidence, he sides with the evidence.

by Seraphim R. Bauer on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I am all for evidence based faith, but Mr. James Warner Wallace has a fallacious and almost idolatrous bias towards "evidence." After reading from his blog and listening to him for some time, it has become patently obvious to me that whenever he cannot explain certain biblical passages that stand in diametrical opposition to mainstream science, he will not double down in favor of the biblical claim. Instead, he will erect foolish straw man arguments against the biblical passages to demonstrate why they do not really mean what they say, in order to make himself look "reasonable" as he painfully forces the biblical claim to line up with the current scientific consensus. And when the biblical passages prove too difficult for Mr Wallace to force into his evidential paradigm, he will pull out a bunch of legalistic loopholes (entirely out of thin air) that allow him to interpret the passages as being completely silent on the matter; anything to keep himself away from having to directly challenge the mainstream interpretation of the historical and empirical facts. This has lead me to conclude that the Cold Case Christianity podcast is more so an apologetic of popular scientific interpretation and it's unquestionable authority, rather than of Christianity and the authority of the Bible, since Wallace will not so much as dare to question any of the explanations offered by today's scientific community! However, Wallace does feel perfectly qualified and comfortable contorting, distorting, reinterpreting, and putting the Bible through a nauseating kaleidoscope diverse and mailable interpretations. All in all, I can not see how any thinking Christian who believes in the ultimate authority of Scripture would not find his apologetic lacking. I therefore cannot recommend it, and even caution against it.Similar to James W. Wallace are:Frank TurekAndy StanleyWilliam L. CraigMichael R. LiconaJustin BrierleyRichard Burridge

Fun

by radsabat on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A good show

My favorite podcast ever.

by Katherine Matthen Grinstead on Aug 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't say how thankful I am that you do this podcast. Every time I tune in I'm blown away by your answers and the thought you've put into them. I'm a chronic doubter and I really struggle in my faith and this podcast helps me so much. I like the way you teach us to think and criticallly evaluate information. Please don't ever stop doing this podcast.If you are struggling with doubt or have questions or need a way to defend your faith to people, this is your channel. I can't recommend it more highly. If you tune into just one apologetics podcast, this is the one. Detective Wallace is really terrific.

Intelligent and easy to understand

by Cajuntrucker on Oct 19, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr Wallace makes some difficult things very relatable. I find I am a much more well rounded Christian and defender because of this podcast.

Too "commercial" , too fast, too short.

by Corey Lambrecht on Jun 26, 2015
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Have purchased CCC and have ordered Gods Crime Scene. However, I am slowly getting annoyed with all the self-promotion, name-dropping and short podcasts. Jim is clearly part of an "elite" club of apologists/friends , no longer a "one dollar" apologist. Tired of hearing about all the speaking engagements, book promotions, and efforts at social media expansion..etc

Great Podcast

by JacobAllee on Apr 20, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim Wallace is an intelligent articulate apologist with a unique approach. You won't find a more humble guy who really knows his stuff. I'm thankful for the work he is doing.

Number 29 is a Must Listen!

by DeliveryGuy2 on Feb 01, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast about Creeds and Confessions, why they came about, etc., is a must listen and hints at exactly what is wrong with Modern Christianity and the false notion of "no creed but the Bible" and even what "non demoninational" or "just Christian" really means! Could this be why many are leaving churches where there is no defined (or a smorgasbord of many) Christianity or what is considered to be authentic Christianity on a firm foundation? Could this be why there is little compatibility in marriages also, where people date and marry those of a general "Christian" profession but which turns about to be a surprising difference later, ending in conflict and divorce?29 is very relevant to everyone's personal lives, marriages, and churches in every way!

Exactly what I needed!

by Nick October on Oct 30, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

As a 26-year old lawyer who's interested in Christianity, I was dismayed last night because I felt convinced that you cannot be a Christian without "blind faith" in things with no evidentiary basis in the real world, or that you cannot be intelligent and religious at the same time. Ten seconds into this podcast, and I'm hearing an amazingly well-done discourse on the very subject. I don't know if that's God or just good fortune, but I already feel with Christians like this show's host in the world, maybe I can call myself one, too. Five stars already!

Weak arguments

by Zinnerfonda on Aug 31, 2014
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This guy is very good at very confidently saying certain things that either are poorly thought through or just plain scatterbrained.If he was a cop, I'm glad that he's no longer a cop. He definitely doesn't have the intellectual horsepower to lead an investigation or anything else. Look elsewhere for smart, faith-based dialogue!

Very pertinent information

by Fourponds on Aug 22, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very informative. Information we need to understand why we believe. Thankful I found it

Awesome

by Kimmmyb on Aug 12, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Finally, apologetics I can understand. This guy is good!! Thanks!!

Solid apologetics teaching

by Yitzhak Johann on Jun 18, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes J Warner Wallace has a tendency of rambling along, but it's actually very good for the layperson to understand the thinking process. J is a solid teacher and is great along with the rest of the Stand to Reason staff.

Really great for detail and confidencance

by Henry Peter on May 31, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

good source of finding facts of the Bible

Please give it a listen!

by Big e-a on Oct 24, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent content and sound quality! I am privileged to be able to listen for 8 hours at work and J Warner Wallace's ministry has been a huge blessing to me and the people I converse with. Please give this podcast a chance, it'll bless you big time!

It all depends who your asking or listening to

by TPhizzle on Sep 18, 2012
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Every major religion has an apologetics and or theology discipline in it's fundamental core. Teachers, theologians, and professor's . Each of which has representatives that will go to the grave swearing with all the evidence they have accumulated throughout their career and higher education that their particular faith or religion is the correct one. Be it Muslim, Jewish, and Christian . So why subscribe to anyone faith when there are so many different versions of apologetics ? The answer is you cannot without creating polarization, division, and suffering . That is why I choose not to belong to any group that prescribes a man made dogmatic, hateful, and or belief system that alienates me from other humans. Hence all three major religions . If you want to see how good a tree is just look at the fruit it produces. Scripture from all three major religions. So now I ask you what type of fruit has the three major religions produced in the last two thousand years world wide ? The devil is in the details , if you even believe in a devil which I don't but you may. I may not understand you, but I understand we can coexist and live together on this planet . That is from me and not any major religion . Cleanse your mind of ignorance and what others attempt to force into it.

Really good on some subjects

by Cinnmn on Jun 15, 2012
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting on youth, house churches and things from a cop perspective. I'm burned out after hearing Jim host STR for 4 out of 6 weeks. I had to unsubscribe.

Great podcast

by Eugorable on May 11, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always been interested in apologetics (positive and negative) and defending our faith. I just discovered Jim's website and am listening to the first podcast now. I am enjoying it immensely! I also really appreciate the atheist who attacked his spelling and grammar, and spelled "grammar" wrong in doing so! :-)

Awesomely intelligent!

by Shaft1358 on May 09, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, popularly accessible podcast that is well-supported with tons of facts. I am addicted.

Super Greatful and impressed!!!!

by Christianrockenthuseist on Mar 19, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for a few months now, and i feel that it does a great job of going through just why it is we as Christias believe what we believe!

Interesting!!

by Gina Jermasek on Jan 13, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim Wallace has a unique background that draws you in. Not only was he an atheist with mormon family members (I have mormon family as well), he also has degrees in architecture and theology. He is a working cold case homicide detective (and I am in the public safety field). These make his perspective well rounded and interesting in my opinion and I enjoy listening. He followed the evidence and found the biblical claims were true about Christ and became a Christian. He researches into a topic and informs us what he's found, but encourages all of us to do our own research as well. He also doesn't ask for donations of any kiind on his podcast or web site, which can relieve any of you who are skeptical in that regard. I am pleased to call him my brother in Christ.

Love it!

by Setfree98 on Jan 03, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes me wish school children were taught at least a course or two in cold- case detective work

Atheists believe in spellcheck!

by Zangzidamn on Aug 20, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Here is a free tip from a godless atheist. If you want to make an argument for your faith, please use spellcheck. If it isn't too much trouble, please use proper grammer as well. I read a few reviews and after careful consideration, I will not be listening any further.

Mahalo nui loa! (^O^☆♪

by CriticCritter on Jul 14, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

Love your podcasts! The one on the Anthony case was great. Thank you from Hawaii!

One of the best apologetics podcasts on the web.

by Almamu on Jul 03, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to Jim and I see his passion for the faith so much in his case-making. Although just a bit one-sided (he's making a CASE for the Christian faith by the way, so it's going to be a little bit one-sided), he takes into consideration all of the evidence available and makes his case. I like the way he makes his podcast very organized and easy to understand. It's nice to know that he was once on the skeptical side before realizing the validity of the Gospel and what it meant for his eternal destiny. I also like the way Jim presents objections to the faith and provides answers to them. Very good podcast, for sure.

Definitely a podcast that shows not only we have no need to divide, but to defend

by richmahn on Mar 24, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I have already thanked Jim for this podcast on his Facebook page, but just also put in my praise for God using such a man to show how we are to defend what we believe. "A man who does not defend what he believes is no man at all". While we may disagree over things as young earth/old earth, it is a breath of fresh air to hear how not only atheists should maybe once in a while actually take time to think about the defense for what they hate us claiming to be true, but also for us Christians to hear each other...and to defend this truth together. While organized churches and places of worship are God's way of working with us a Body, this podcast, amongst (sadly only) a few others shows us how we need to let our guard down about other Christians. Sure, there are deceivers among us, but if we really desire Truth, as Jim Wallace does, then Truth will prevail and we will know who are real Brothers and Sisters are that share that ultimate Truth. Thanks again Jim for showing us how to become apologists and to see the evidence that is more clear than the lies that schools and the world show us.I do recommend getting into this, and knowing that if it isn't us that atheists are using trickery to persuide, it is definitely our children. Yes, not to keep children away from it, but to also equiped them to defend what they believe. And atheists out there, who already I get slandered by for sharing what I learn from the Please Convince Me podcast, do take a minute to listen to this, and realize that it won't help to shoot down everything a Christian says to show why we believe what we believe, but may actually help you in your own peace of mind and heart.

Thank you

by O the blood on Mar 23, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

I just want to thank you for your work and dedication to helping others understand and know more about these topics.

Strawmen Burn Easily

by Tattered King on Mar 07, 2011
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I appreciate the show for what it is, a one-sided apologetics podcast. This is hardly a one stop shop. I would like to hear more dialogue with atheists and non-believers. The episode after his Berkley trip is what bothered me the most. He is essentially having a one man debate. He sets up a strawman atheist's view, then knocks it down. Generally though, there are well reasoned responses to his objections; if only he would allow it to be heard. What happened to integrity? Jim needs to have the strength of his convictions and actually allow some discourse. How many people actually walk away after one simple rebuttal?

One of the Best

by lllRMClll on Dec 28, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best, most informative, podcast available for the Christian thinker. Thank you Jim for your ministry and the concise analysis you provide.

Love it

by Jeff and Rachel Williams on Nov 30, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

You'll learn so much

Answers for those who think carefully

by Dbartmess on Sep 21, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim does a great job of carefully and objectively digging into issues faced by people today. As a former atheist and a cold case homicide detective, Jim has a scepticism that forces him delve into an issue and look at all the evidence, instead of just accepting something at face value. I really appreciate his objective and honest approach towards discovering truth.

Exactly what i

by ~Sf on Sep 15, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been searching for something as unbiased as possible that looks at Christianity and the issues or topics surrounding it in a proof, evidence based manner. This podcast couldn't be any more perfect for what I've been looking for. Jim Wallace, who hosts the podcast, is very educated and with his background as a homicide detective, former atheist and now a Christian he does an amazing just of really picking apart many questions that many of us have. Jim seems to be just naturally a skeptical type person and doesn't take things at face value. He wants to look into the REASON why something may be and does not just believe whatever we are told. This is what he does with the podcast. I learn so much from this podcast and I firmly believe that a person's Christian Faith grows from digging deeper into why we believe what we've been told (or don't believe) and this podcast is the perfect way to better understand what we may believe or have been told, or answer questions that we've perhaps always had. Give the podcast a few tries, I think anyone, atheist or Christian would benefit.

Great!

by Jesusfreak315 on Aug 15, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Thank you Jim for all of your research and hard work. Masterfully done!

Wonderful Podcast...

by cynjazz on Jul 22, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

...very clear, easy to listen to; and he takes the time needed to discuss the topics fully. I'm in the process of listening to every one.

Detailed, In-Depth

by jrbowens on Jul 20, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

The author of this podcast is deeply philosophical and widely educated. As a religious studies and philosophy professor, I highly recommend this podcast.

Excellent Podcast!

by Berean_315 on Feb 17, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best Christian Apologetics website and podcast out there (IMHO). Jim Wallace brings his background and experience as a cold case homicide detective into play in looking at evidence for Christianity. Definitely worth a listen. Highly recommended.

Can't Stop Listening!

by Paul Ottenbacher on Jan 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

As a cold case homicide detective, Jim Wallace makes apologetics fun. His evidential approach to Christianity brought him to a place where after being an athiest for 35 years, became "convinced" of the truth of Jesus Christ. I recommend this podcast to anyone who is seeking truth, regardless of current worldview. Thanks Jim!

Perfect for the Purpose

by RowdyCaveman on Oct 01, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim Wallace does an exellent job at presenting an introductory apologetics podcast, which is exactly what he sets out to do. There are better scholar-type podcasts out there, but this is fantastic for someone just getting their feet wet.

Time well spent for thinkers, Christian or not.

by ibrewhaha on Jan 25, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim Wallace is the most gracious podcaster I've heard. He defends his positions without bashing others and welcomes thoughtful comments, even disagreement. This is my favorite apologetics podcast and I look forward to it weekly and recommend it to my friends.

Very Thoughtful Podcast

by jjpete80 on Jan 17, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Jim's approach is intelligent, yet accessible to a broad audience. Very clear and insightful. Keep up the good work!

Excellent

by Songofjoy on Jan 01, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're looking for clear, concise and reasonable explanations this is the podcast to listen to.

Insightful

by KrlyQ on Dec 17, 2008
Rating: ★★★★☆

I just discovered this Podcast last week and enjoy it immensely. Mr. Wallace offers insightful information and critical thinking to his commentary. He's easy to listen to and motivating to Christians looking for ways to share the truth of the Gospel. This Podcast is a definate must for those with a Christan worldview.

Finally!

by smileyk on Nov 23, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Ever feel like you just don't have time to sort through all the things you need to sort through? Ever feel like even though you hear the arguments for christianity you don't get to hear the other side? Ever feel like you just can't get the full picture? Why don't they believe or why do they believe? Why is that significant? How did they reach that conclusion? How is that twisting things around? How is it that I am supposed to read the Bible? He explains the way he thinks or the rules he applies to come to his conclusions and he presents the arguments for the other side all at the same time. All I have to say is FEED ME!! :) Maybe he is just able to put it together in a way that is helpful for me but it works and I like it. He definately helps you to think about issues that you may not even know exist.

Thank You!

by 92681 on Aug 19, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate your podcasts! The Lord has used you to inspire many people, including me. Your website is spectacular as well. May God bless you, Jim!

alright a breath of fresh air!

by jeremiah humble on Apr 27, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts on the web . A great thinker.

Unique and Great to Listen to!!

by Chica4JC on Aug 15, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is awesome! It is great to listen to and covers a variety of fascinating topics. It is great for all ages! I have enjoyed listening to all the episodes. It is very encouraging and touching. Jim is an awesome commentator and knows how to discuss the pressing issues of the day. I know you all will enjoy it!! God Bless!!

I love this podcast - and the associated website

by Moondougie on Aug 14, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

insightful, thoughtful, logical information that helps me carefully consider how to think about matters of philosophy and belief

Finally, I found an intelligent podcast based on evidence of the Bible

by ManSeekingThe Truth on Aug 14, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate this great podcast. You are putting out the evidence in a logical manner like in a court of law. My background is in history and I wanted you to know that you are "Right On" with your conclusions. I can't wait until the next podcast. Keep them coming!!!