Average rating:

4.5
out of 27 ratings.

Thanks Dr. Dave!

by sanjosesongbird on Oct 11, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting and thought provoking... Thank you, Dr. Dave, for continuing to bring relevant topics and unbiased interviews.

Curious about this

by Sparta1978 on Jan 25, 2010
Rating: ★★★★★

Found transcript of your podcast on web.Rethink the title for your podcasts.All I can see is interview with ...Maybe lastname or some category guest fall in would be best.

Great guests and thoughtful discssussions with a hitch.

by This way please on Oct 04, 2009
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like the podcast generally and listen attentively but find myself put off at times by Dr. Van Nuys' criticisms of psychoanalysis which are at times sweeping and pertain to a version of analysis I don't think most analysts practice anymore, and to theory which has been elaborated, superceeded or just ignored to make room for more enlightened understandings. Therapeutic approaches are expected and understood to change over time whereas analysis, which led to many if not most subsequent developments in clinical work is routinely framed in terms of contradistinction rather than evolution. This is a disservice and ironic. Many people today frame our work in terms of expansion and inclusion of mental contents for which there should be room for attachment, neuroscience, sociology, hermeneutics, CBT, EMDR, DBT, Hakomi and anything else while not ruling out that sex and aggression remain surprisingly active among the interests that still seem to motivate behavior. The problem, I would say, is when we say this instead of that.

Excellent interviews of thought leaders and topics on interest in Psychology and Psychotherapy

by vickilord on Oct 02, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

The Wise Counsel podcasts are excellent and I HIGHLY recommend them. Thought-provoking and well-conducted, with many well-known guest experts.

Love this!

by Jos Berry on Sep 03, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

I have found that this podcast and also "Shrink Rap" has enriched my education experience. Having taken a class with David, I was exposed to his podcasts, and I have been enjoying them ever since. Thank you David for your ongoing support of higher education for all who seek it.

Gotta Love Dr. Dave

by littlepsych on Apr 30, 2009
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave both of your podcasts are excellent for psychology students like myself. I always have something to look forward to admist all my coursework. Thank you for presenting such wonderful topics and speakers I have enjoyed researching them in more detail and it provides with ideas for future research as well as being just plain fun. Keep up the great work!

Another Fabulous Podcast from Dr. Dave...

by honeyrococo on Jan 26, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Being a big fan of Dr. David Van Nuys's other wonderful podcast "Shrink Rap Radio" I decided to give "Wise Counsel" a try. Not being a psychologist myself, I cannot say that I really understand the difference between "Wise Counsel" and "Shrink Rap" except that maybe "Wise Counsel" seems to cater to a (more) professional audience. Indeed, many of the guests whose interviews I have enjoyed on "Shrink Rap" make follow-up appearances here to discuss their ideas, treatment practices and clinical (ideologies ?) in a more in-depth way. But this is just my subjective feeling of the difference. I can see that these interviews would be very enlightening to actual working professionals: psychologists, psychoanalysts, psychiatrists, counsellors (sp?) etc. to learn about new methods and theories that they could apply to their own practices. I however am an art historian with no training in psychology and yet I find this podcast to be always entertaining, enlightening and educational. Dr. Dave is an excellent interviewer who knows how to ask the probing or clarifying follow-up question to get the most out of the "session". Highly recommended.

Love love love the podcast!

by RickRocker on Sep 26, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Dave you rock. Thank you very much for the great show. Anyone with a brain needs to subcribe to this very enlightening podcast.

Thank you so much!

by Estudante da Vida on Apr 13, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't recommend your podcasts enough. Thank you so much for your contribution educating and informing just for the love of it. Me an average person aplaude your work.