Average rating:

4.5
out of 1304 ratings.

I Love This Show!

by BeachRVA on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to PHC when I was a private in Germany in 2000 and I never stopped.

The best.

by Kimbrubeck1 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to Garisson Keillor since I was a child.... What a blessing to be able to share this podcast with my own family and enjoy so many laughs together!

Love the new host

by dorada28 on Dec 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Feels fresh, new, guest and music centered. So good.

Love me some Garrison

by Rob Nick Pi on May 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

The best when the excerpt is the stream of conciseness stories.

Immensely funny

by Athena12114 on Apr 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show, and listen to it every day driving to work.

The greatest stories of all time

by #1Stephen on Dec 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE PHC!!! I can listen to it all day!! Sometimes I do.

best ever

by bigal3147 on Nov 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

you really can't get any better than garrison keillor...

A great American storyteller finally comes to podcasting

by BINCHFAN911 on Nov 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Garrison Keillor is vague about the exact location of the fictional small town of Lake Wobegon, Minnesota ("out on the edge of the prairie just north of here") but in truth it's really any small American town you could care to imagine. The place where your folks live or that little community that flashes past one one side of the highway. Each week Keillor brings all the news from a town where not much happens, but where the characters are instantly recognisable and the stories are heart warming, poignant and achingly funny. No other living American artist tells a story like Keillor: with dignity, humour, balance and perfect timing. It's a joy to finally here the most touching part of the weekly 'Prairie Home Companion' radio show online in a podcast: Keillor is surely one of America's greatest living storytellers.

It's OK

by My 42nd Attempt at a Nickname on Nov 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I give this three stars

Spread the love!

by TopTenComedyReviews!!! on Oct 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Fellow Comedy-Pod Lovers, I LOVE this show and to help you help yourselves, here is the list of the other similar shows I love!!! Here we go… ONE Superego TWO Mike Detective THREE The ManBuyCow Podcast FOUR As it Occurs to me FIVE Grownups Read Things they Wrote as Kids SIX The Thrilling Adventure Hour SEVEN Hello, From the Magic Tavern EIGHT The Adam & Joe Show NINE The News From Lake Wobegone TEN The Pod F. Tompkast ……Hope I’ve helped! UPVOTE my review and help spread the love!

great show

by PapaBearBigJohn on Aug 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I hope Chris Thile can continue Mr. Keillor's tradition, even though there will be some changes. Every aspect of the show is great, and I really enjoy the monologue that usually comprises this podcast, though I also like skits and stuff showing up as supplemental podcasts.Although I've missed a lot of episodes over the years (which also means I don't mind reruns because they're often new to me) the program has brought me a lot of joy over the years.

More Extra podcast, please!!!

by BushinRyuCat on Jul 09, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you SOOOO MUCH (misspelled due to happiness) for adding more material from your show! Such a treat to listen to...now all we need is Guy Noir!

Still no full show

by kendo musha on Jun 03, 2015
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why in the world do they still don't offer full episode??? It's 2015, for God's sake! People have different viewing/listening habits now. Get with the program! I guess I'll check back again in a few years.

Comforting and funny

by CursedTongue on Feb 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

The News from Lake Wobegon is like a letter from your kind uncle about the imaginary hometown you never grew up in.

Gem of a Podcast

by Bices on Dec 31, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Our family always loved to listen to all the Lake Wobegon stories on the radio so when I found this podcast I was so happy. I look forward to each episode. I laugh throughout each one. Garrison is versatile and so imaginative. I feel like I know the people and places of Lake Wobegon. This is absolute one of my favorite podcasts ever.

Visit Lake Wobegon any day of the week!

by KISSFAN1973 on Oct 23, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the "News From Lake Wobegon" monologues and think it's fantastic to have each week's monologue available in podcast form usually 2 days after it airs on NPR.

I wish the rest of PHC came in podcast form!

by upinthisbrain on Mar 29, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Still, we're lucky to get the monologues each week so we can keep up with the continuing story of the residents of Lake Wobegon during those weeks when we can't make it to the radio.

Last Week’s Episode

by 13ill on Feb 10, 2014
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Feb 8 episode is the same as Feb 1. The description is correct but the audio is not.

Love his voice

by donnaray on Feb 08, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the nicest podcast & I look forward to escaping to lake woebegone for a short time every week...

Wish it were the whole show

by ugogrrrl on Dec 01, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it. Earns five stars, but wish it were the whole show.

Shoulda coulda woulda

by Lacey Rachal on Nov 29, 2013
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love this show. Sometimes I miss it on the radio because I either have to work or go to church. So I never get to listen to the whole show. I found the podcast and was disappointed because they only posted a small part of the show. I would've given 5 stars, but because didn't post the whole show they only get 3 stars out of 5.

Legendary

by krs617 on Sep 16, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

This show used to make me want to move to Minnesota. Seriously. Small town, slice-of-life satire from the brilliant Garrison Keillor. I've been listening to this show since I was a child and continue to love it.(I do wish we could hear the entire Prairie Home Companion episode over podcast…)

A little snow… in August

by stranger in a strange place on Aug 08, 2013
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Maybe it doesn't matter to you, but I find it really disappointing to hear GK talking about May Day and a late snow from a podcast released in August. Do a 2-year old show, but at least line up summer with summer, spring with spring. geesh.

Fans for Years

by Malorian3701 on May 16, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

We have been Garrison Keillor fans for 25+ years, and we are delighted to be able to listen to him in a podcast.

Used to like it

by Sundevil99 on May 09, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The political agenda that Garrison has been incorporating into not only this segment but the rest of the show has turned me off from it. I used to listen because it seemed unbiased but now it's anti-gun and very liberal. It's like a lame duck president in the last 6 months of term, doesn't care what anyone thinks because they are leaving but this could hurt the brand going forward so that should be considered. Not everyone lives in fantasy land of Lake Woebegone.

Great when he isn't pandering to Libtards

by hamiltonrrwatch on Apr 24, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Lose your agendas Garrison, especially your most recent one concerning gun control. People like you who send their children to tony private schools and live in no-crime areas are always ready to jump on whatever liberal bandwagon is coming down the street. NEWS FLASH: money didn't make you any smarter. I hope you're never the victim of a violent crime. If you are, here's hoping that neighborhood you're living in has a police department that shows up.Using the Wobegon characters to espouse this particular folksy brand of BS is like using Snoopy, Linus, and Charlie Brown to sell insurance; it's creepy.

Comfort radio

by KaylaC6500 on Apr 21, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening on a Sunday afternoon over the radio. Sometimes I miss it though so I am so happy I can down load this onto my ipod.

Boring is an understatement.

by DirtyNewYorker on Apr 05, 2013
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Boring is an understatement.

Old friend make new friends

by stink wagon on Apr 01, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

For years I have listened to the show and it goes from funny to poignant on a level that makes you as comfortable as your favorite slippers. Safe and family friendly, but when I want to unwind I listen to the bonercity podcast. They do things with slippers and floor coverings that will make you laugh and laugh.

Garrison Keilor is fantastic!

by gadroon on Mar 13, 2013
Rating: ★★★★★

Garrison Keilor is the greatest. I can't imagine life without him.

Why not the whole show?

by antidancer on Dec 03, 2012
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I enjoy the show when I have the time to hear it on the radio but would prefer to listen when and where "I " want. Please please please give us the full show podcast not just the crumbs. This is just not fully satisfying.

Wonderful!!!!!

by JStraw on Nov 20, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

These wonderful stories are what takes me back to the simple days when kids found joy by going out and exploring the world around them. The way I learned as a kid was by being outside and playing...constructing experiences that I could draw upon in school to make connections. GK takes us back through his stories to remind us of the simple days with his wit and humor - only a good story teller could pull this off the way he does. A visual experience through the spoken word. 🙏

Great

by El Stevedore on Oct 31, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

This is classic comedy and touching story rolled into one awesome package.

PHC is the best !

by Good Guy ! on Oct 25, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I was one of those kids that listento the radio before TV came outand this show I wait every weekfor his new show to take me backto yesteryear ! Thank you so much!You Have no idea how much theprairie home companion brings me back as the person before me said to yesteryear I can remember lay down on the living room carpet listing to the radio what a treat let your imagination run wild thank you

Thank You!

by Quawpah on Sep 30, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I already wrote a review (see below) but I just had to take another moment to say thank you! These stories are so wonderful! You & your imagination are an amazing gift.I love these stories and all the folk I Lake Wobegon. Garrison Keillor brings me joy and his sweet soothing voice is a comfort to my soul. Ok this is corny but I have to say it, when I listen all my Woes Be Gone. Thank you!

Why do short?

by ck1love on Sep 03, 2012
Rating: ★★★★☆

Absolutely love this podcast, but really wish it were the full show!

Tig

by CCoCoastal on Aug 26, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Garrison has made our Sundays special for years. Now, we can go to Minnesota any day of the week. Thank you

One word:incredible

by JerseyJim94290 on Aug 26, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this more than music, and I'm only 14 years old! I love all the jokes and gk is so insightful! I love it!

G.K.

by aqh2013 on Aug 23, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to those who made it possible to listen to the News From Lake Wabegon. Currently living in Canada, and I listen to G.K. Virtually each night before bed on my iPad.

Not funny

by Tayeri on Aug 20, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not funny.

The News

by Political.nick on Aug 14, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Garrison Keillor's incredible show, "A Prairie Home Companion." I'm so happy that "The News from Lake Wobegon" is finally available on iTunes. I only wish that APM would put up the entire show too on a different podcast.

NOT appropriate for children

by camdunson on Jul 12, 2012
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love Garrison Keillor and Lake Wobegon and so wish he could find clean humor these days. Seems for about the past 5 years, he's turned to the bathroom for most of his jokes. The podcast I listened to today not only included the potty humor, but an in depth description of activities at a strip club. NOT my definition of family entertainment.

Nostalgic for a past that I never experienced!

by tonitrobe on Jul 09, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

These stories are wonderful! Garrison's pacing is perfect!

Extraordinary!!!!!!!

by Hugo Esparza on Jun 19, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Extraordinary!!!!!!!

Hard to believe this is still on the air

by Iheartpuppies on Jun 12, 2012
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So many other great things that could be on NPR. Instead we get the same rehashed jokes and lame characters. This makes Car Talk seem cutting edge and cool by comparison.

Gen Gap

by The Voyerguy on May 24, 2012
Rating: ★★★★☆

Reading the negative reviews makes it apparent that this shows appeal is for the folks over 35 who have been exposed to traditional radio as kids. I don't think you can just tune in and listen and "get it" right out of the gate as there is a bit of character development involved. So if your idea of "really great entertainment" includes pre packaged bands and multi million dollar "movies" with no acting or creative dialogue, generally main stream swill, than go elsewhere for your comedic content.

LOVE👍👍!

by Zen_n_Texas on May 21, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

LoveloveloveLoveLove!

five stars

by Hilorious on May 20, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Would be better with the whole show, but still, this is just too awesome

=]

by future omish on May 18, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

Provokes a sense of nostalgia I didn't know I had... Amazing artist of the English langue...

Love the stories

by stitensor on May 07, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to Prairie Home Companion almost my whole life. It is a family tradition. I wish there was a podcast of the whole show.